Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lion Waddesdon 4 stars

70a High Street, Waddesdon, HP18 0JD, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Waddesdon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot book in until 5 pm No food on Sunday evenings.

    A convenient choice for those visiting the nearby Waddesdon Manor and wishing to stay overnight without breaking the bank. Visiting on a Sunday, we were disappointed to learn that the restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings and were forced to eat at the local Indian restaurant (although the cheerful Landlady did offer to make us a sandwich "if we were stuck"). Rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had (room 8) was tiny, and really dark. There was onlly one small window, with barely any light coming in. For a room that small, it definitely wasn't good value for money.

    the restaurant food was lovely and the cooked brakfast was also good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its located on the A41, convenient, but lots of heavy traffic.

    The building is a little tired but the rooms in the barn were very nice (not huge) and the staff and food were great. We enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, no 8, was far too small. Basic size double bed and 1 bedside cabinet. Not room for us both to get changed at same time. Told that rooms in main pub were much bigger and surprised we weren't give one of these considering we booked many months in advance.

    Friendly helpful staff. Excellent location for event at Waddesdon Manor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    did find the room a little cold despite the heat of the day. we opened windows to try to get heat from the outside in but it remained noticeably colder than the main building.

    we had a room in what presumably used to be the coach house. lovely neutral décor. the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was really bad and noisy from a fan in the cellar. No sleep at all that night and because they lock the door you cannot get in touch with anyone.

    evening meal was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a main road (A41) facing room, unfortunately the noise from the road traffic through the night and early hours of the morning was too loud. So hardly any sleep. Also our bed was quite rickety and not very comfortable.

    Breakfast very good, service and help from staff was very good. Room was very clean. Hotel excellently positioned for visit to Waddledon Manor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath, just shower. Noisy refrigerators from pumps going all night but staff switched them off when we mentioned it and slept well that night.

    Comfortable bed. Lovely friendly staff. Great restaurant with delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dreadfully noisy bedroom at front of hotel on the main road due to heavy allnight traffic thundering past. [huge lorries]Bedroom shook and bed shook all night. Got very little sleep. Really pleasant stay only marred by the noise problemNo double glazing. But thankfully we were moved to another room at the rear and then we had a much better stay.Other guests mentioned the same problem

    Staff very helpful and food really good especially breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping on the side of a very busy road with lots of lorries going by all through the night. Very noisy!

    Very nice breakfast but the bed wasn't as comfortable as could have been and it creaked quite a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy hotel, we stayed before Christmas, lots of decorations and atmosphere. We arrived at 2.30 and hot bar food had finished, which was a shame. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and arranged some cold bar food. Good venue for being near the Waddesdon Manor wedding complex. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t informed restaurant was closed the day of arrival as they had a wedding the following day to cater for was told they were serving dinner in bar asked if we could have dinner at 7.30 was told all about other places to eat giving us the impression we were an inconvenience rather than a paying guest.

    Very comfortable bed, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I though the booking procedure being strictly adhered to was poor, (we'd booked in total something like 7 or 8 rooms! and wanted to cancel one), the breakfast was good, but the service was very abrupt

    The location, ease of parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so close to the main road the vehicle noise was horrendous all through the night and the building shakes when trucks hurtle past. I had a very poor night’s sleep

    Large rooms, comfortable and clean. Food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. We had an evening meal which was really good too.

    Lovely old pub in good location. Room was very comfortable. My daughter loved the Netflix on the TV

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family run Hotel was excellent in all respects. The room and beds were very comfortable giving a very goods night's rest. Breakfast's were very good with plenty of food served on hot plates.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise of the traffic, did not sleep much, would be improved with double/triple glazing. curtains and blinds not sufficient lights continually flickering across the ceiling from the heavy traffic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible TV reception - completely unwatchable

    Warm and cosy room & comfy bed. Lovely inclusive breakfast. Had a good evening meal in pub restaurant. Waddesdon Manor very close by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    did not like the cook breakfast on the first morning. was not cook properly and the toast was burnt, however we enjoy the other two morning breakfast.

    the place was comfortable. easy to find. friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is beyond anyone's ability, the road is ridiculously busy and our room was road facing!!

    Staff were great, food was great and good value too. Room was lovely, bathroom spacious and room facilities were spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough butter for toast. Didn't have range of teas as advertised. Cheap tasting sausages and beans and juice. No water made available. Overall very average food - I would rather have stayed in bed. Would have been good to be able to make own toast while waiting for breakfast with more than 1 Patti of butter. Key not available on arrival. Room far too hot and unable to turn down radiator Down even whilst asleep - felt like a sauna. Too noisy to open window. No late checkout available but put us last on cleaners list to get extra half hour.

    Breakfast to Order. Great staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lorries travel through the village with one brick in the back at 50mph at 3 in the morning. Very disturbed sleep, no problem if you are a deep sleeper though

    The staff were fabulous and food great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only mild annoyance, which I have learned to work around, is the 1700 check in time.

    I've stayed at The Lion many times. The staff are like family, and absolutely wonderful. Special requests or changes are immediately executed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was traffic noise from the A41, which could be quite loud at times. Of course the pub has no control over that!

    The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and situated at the front of the building. The ensuite was excellent. All fixtures and fittings were in good order and the staff were pleasant and attentive. Both dinner and breakfast were very good indeed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps some fruit at breakfast.

    Spacious rooms helpful staff friendly atmosphere. Restaurant closed at night due to beer and sausage festival weekend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it's being a bit picky but Our room had not seen a duster in a good while,cob-webs in light fittings and corners along with layers of dust on blinds quite deep Beadside lamp temperamental due to a possible loose connection

    Owner pleasant enough, Full Breakfast Good and American Lady staff member was extremely helpful Location could not have been very much better for Wedding party in Village hall 50 metres away .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of the hotel but the road noise was bad, but it. Was a very hot night so we had to shut all the windows. But you did provide a fan in the bedroom which was very useful. But the breakfast made up for the lack of sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located on very busy and noisy main road. Need to book bedroom at rear of hotel to avoid road noise.

    Food good, people friendly. Plenty of parking. Close to Waddesdon Manor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lion is set right on the main A41, and although the room we had was away from the road, you could hear heavy traffic all night. OK if you are a heavy sleeper! The double room we had was small with no space for a bedside light on either side of the bed. Decor of The Lion is looking a little tired now and needs a spruce up.

    Location for Waddesdon Manor good. It was handy to have the restaurant on site after a long jouney. Food was standard pub grub. Generally the place was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located next to a surprisingly busy road. There was traffic all through the night and whenever a large truck passed, the house would shake. Pub noises from the downstairs pub could be heard as well. Definitely recommend using earplugs. It didn't look anything like it does in the pictures, maybe we were given an old room that had yet to be refurbished? I do hope so, the windows were single pane, we didn't dare open ours in case it wouldn't shut anymore, and there were cracks in the walls.

    The people were nice and parking was easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is a good, simple pub: nothing glamorous or glitzy, but very comfortable and very welcoming. Room had all the essentials and was very comfortable and quiet (though I had a room at the back; the pub is on the main road through the village, so I imagine rooms at the front could be a little noisier). Wifi worked well, in the room and in the bar/restaurant. Good pub grub in the evening, and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only problem was the traffic noise - I was in a front room and the A41 is very busy at 6am.. So needs better sound insulation.

    Very comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, the welcome was non-existent - no engaging small talk about where we had come from, etc. Just a 'follow me' up the stairs to the room. Breakfast the following morning was unreal - they had no baked beans because, apparently, it was a bank holiday weekend!!! Better to be honest and say 'we have run out' rather than lie!!! Wouldn't return and would certainly not recommend.

    Easy to find. Good sized room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to do locally other than Waddesdon Manor.

    Fantastic little hotel in a pretty location. Good value for money. I stayed in room 2 - huge room, seperate dressing area and big bathroom at the rear of the property. A warm welcome, good food and a good selection of beer. The bar is 'very local' oriented which is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a Charity live event on the Saturday night to raise money for an excellent cause - this ended at 11:30 but then recorded music took over until midnight followed by everyone leaving which meant it wasn't quiet enough for sleep until 12:45 am. The landlady told me this event was arranged at late notice (2 weeks) and they normally reserve rooms on such occasions for guests attending the event so casual visitors don't face this noise situation. I accept her argument that had I cancelled there would have been additional cost to travel to the Dairy but I still feel I should have been informed that this was happening so the choice of making alternative arrangements would have been mine. Probably best to ask about this when you book. I also agree about the road noise especially when lorries go by but this isn't the fault of the property and it does make finding it really easy.

    Really convenient for the Dairy and Waddeston Manor (8 min walk) especially for wedding venues Breakfast really good - especially the scrambled egg and smoked salmon Loads of parking which I felt was really secure - easy to find the property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recently renovated room smelt of paint, blind fell down in the night! Outside of property very tired looking and messy. Needed a second lock on the room door as it was straight into the outside and the lock felt I bit flimsy. The road was a bit noisy too. The whole dining room was booked for a function so we had to go elsewhere for our dinner which was a shame because the whole reason we wanted to stay at a pub was so we could stay on site for our dinner.

    Good sized room, comfortable beds, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. However Road was very noisy. Would have like 2 Pillows

    Delicious dinner and excellent hot breakfast. Clean accommodation. Walking distance to Waddesdon Manor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the room - it should have been cheaper.

    We paid £100 for a Saturday night's stay, and from time to earliest check-in at 12pm until check out at 10am, it actually equated to only 22 hours that we could have had the room for. I believe that this was too much to pay as the Lion, abeit a very nice place and a clean and tidy room, is not a new build and does not have new fittings both in the room and in the corridoors. Although the staff are all very friendly there and the breakfast was very good, I feel they get away with charging a very high rate for their rooms as there is a popular wedding venue across the road and no other accommodation for miles.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near a busy road and not being used to traffic noise at night we found it disturbed us but there was no noise from pub itself.

    Room spacious, clean & comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really,just traffic noise from road at front A41,but you do get used to it lol.

    the staff were really nice and very helpful,the lady host was very nice and helpful indeed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    in need of redecoration. Paper peeling of ceiling. Staff ok but not the friendliest. Expensive for what it is.

    Located well for a wedding we attended at the Manor

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room noisy from outside traffic. Room 3. Appreciate this is out of your control. Fault with toilet which was reported to reception in the morning, the man on reception advised he would get the maintenance man to attend.

    Room spacious , plenty of cupboard space, and tea /coffee facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reason why I booked the hotel was a family event in this location. Overall rating 3 stars hotel with not very polite service at the reception desk (reservation service) and sadly not tasty Breakfast. Kids didn't like breakfast at all. As you have only 1 hour for your breakfast (8:30-9:30) we would prefer a proper hot and cold buffet instead of ordering meal which takes a bit time and it isn't tasty also orange juice tastes awful .....only one hot drink seems to me a bit poor ..... Service of booking was not very professional.....I´ve booked 2 double rooms and used my credit card received the booking confirmation as usual but 2 weeks later also received very odd email from the hotel where was writen: "We will call you in January 2017 to confirm your reservation with payment, if we can not get in contact with you by the end of January 2017 we will release your room to other guests who require a room." However, the booking policy says that it is free of charge till one week before my stay. Had to give them a call and make sure that rooms are booked and all is going smooth (an extra hasle). Anyway, they charged me the full amount on 19th December (1 month before my arrivals).

    Clean room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy with road traffic we had a room in the front and the room shook when the traffic passed breakfast was nice But would have liked to have had a sausage included on the menu would stay again but would asked for a room in the back Maybe double glazing would be a good idea

    Room was lovely and warm staff were helpful and friendly very cosy had a lovely evening meal

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Told upon arrival that there was no food as there was a private party - we had travelled for 4.5 hours Private party took over the bar and locals/guests were squashed into a small room Seated at breakfast table for 15 minutes before order was taken and coffee despatched

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was a little warm Windows in room don't open shower temperature a bit erratic

    Lovely well appointed room Big comfy bed The pub has a great atmosphere with good selection of beer and wine serving very good food - our steaks on "steak night" were perfectly cooked for dinner and good value for 2 with a decent bottle of wine costing just £30. Our breakfast was also lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub was a little basic, more of a local boozer. Staff a little impersonal. Pub is closed until 5pm and it's not possible to check in before this time. My colleague stayed in a room facing the road and was woken at 5.30am. No bottled water available in room.

    My room was huge and bed was comfy. It also faced away from road so no early morning traffic to wake me up.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road noise was deafening and constant throughout the night. Lorries thundered past every 10 minutes or so. We couldn't get out of the room fast enough in the morning. We had intended to spend the day out and about but we were so completely shattered we drove straight home. It totally ruined our two day break and we were like zombies for the rest of the day. We complained to the hotel, but they were not interested in our comments. They said we should have been aware of the road noise when we booked!

    Food excellent and room very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot. I tried to open a window but couldn't.

    The food was lovely both the evening meal and breakfast the following morning. There was a good choice from both menus. There was an excellent offer £30 for a steak meal for two inc a bottle of wine.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise during the night from the road and every time an hgv hit some defect in the road the building shook.

    Easy check in despite arriving early. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise and vibration was quite intrusive, very glad it was only a single night stay on this basis!

    Basic B&B but good location for wedding we were attending.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.Carpets quite old & not good. 2.Hole in the bathroom door. 3.The light over the wash basin didn't work.

    1.Location,close to the venue we were attending a conference. 2.Helpful staff at reception. 3.Old style charm etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of cleanliness in outside areas, having to enter the building after hours via a metal fire escape, a basic room with cracks in the ceiling and walls, a tempremtal shower, £100 charge which should have been £65 at most. A depressing place, one night was more than enough. If the five arrows hadn't been full we would have forfeited the £100 and stayed there instead. Food was average.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel meaning everytime a lorry drove past the windows rattled, the bed squeaked every time one of us moved, all the doors slammed shut creating a miserable sleeping space. We were made to feel like a nuisance by firstly coming down for breakfast and then actually ordering food.

    The bed was soft.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music in the bar on the Friday night was terrible and tailored to the manager's own taste with no regard to the customers. On our second night we were only informed that the restaurant was closed at 7.00pm when we asked for a table, there was no prior notice and very few other options in the village. The road outside was busy and the whole building shoock whenever a lorry went past. Our room was over the bar and the bar was very noisy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant open on the Saturday night (Private party) but not really a problem as good Italian restaurant down the road

    The room was clean and spacious which was all we needed as we used this hotel as a base for the weekend and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the price for the accommodation was just a tad steep, but perhaps it might just be the norm in the UK.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable, with the exception of some slight shaking every time cars go past, although I appreciate that this cannot be fixed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little bit much, but it was definitely the cheapest place in the area.

    The location was perfect! Just a short walk from where I needed to be.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only drawback to this hotel is its unfortunate location on a main road. very handy for Waddesdon Manor and proximity to Aylesbury. However noisy at night with lots of heavy traffic.Would stay again but request room at back of hotel.

    Lovely clean property. Excellent breakfast.Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road/traffic noise throughout the night meant almost no dleep for me Which was a huge negative. There were dead flies in eating areas on sills and radiators.

    We were delighted with proximity to our function at waddesden Manor. Breakfast choice and standard excellent. Plates and food was hot and gluten free toast available

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at the front which was VERY noisy with traffic, and although a fan was provided it was very hot.

    Very comfortable bed, good sized rooms, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room - water leaking onto Bathrron floor from ? Couldn't get breakfast order right and only one piece of bacon two pieces of under cooked tomatoes Not really a £100 a night accommodation - well short of r expectations. Taxi turned up 20 minutes late and didn't turn up at all at 11.30 - we got the impression from Peter at Waddesdon 'Manor that the Lion would sort this for us - perhaps if they could meet up and find an English speaking service - that would help!!!!

    We liked Matthew very much

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy room at front due to being on a main road with a heavy flow of traffic, the room vibrated when a lorry went by so a long night. Could not check in at the arranged time as the place was locked up until 5pm even though had told them we would be there at 4pm.

    Nice sized room and ensuite, which was well decorated and comfortable, large car park at rear of pub. The waitress at breakfast was very pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to mini heatwave the building would benefit from air conditioning.

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Perfect location for the places we wanted to visit.large free car park no restrictions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to have windows open as very warm and road traffic noise was terrible. It is on the main road. May ask for back room in future.

    Excellent quality sausage

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was very poor for cost of room, better breakfast from hotel chains. Increase portion sizes and it would definately improve ratings

    Rooms were tidy and well thought out. TV could have been better placed but overall very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location next to main road & if you're unlucky enough to get a room overlooking the road it's really noisy. The heavy lorries passing frequently in the night actually shook my bed so had little sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Defects in road outside caused HGVs to hit the defects causing them to rattle passed and the building to vibrate. Maybe a room away from the front of the building would have helped.

    Friendly staff and excellent piping hot food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the two nights we stayed we needed to be up and out early. No facilities for early breakfast and very inflexible so went without both days and no compensation offered.

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast on a sunday not till 8.30, we had an early start, they did make us cheese rolls to take but we were still charged for a full breakfast, an expensive roll!!

    excellent staff and fascilities, beautiful village location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near main road

    Had an evening meal & was excellent. Atmosphere was good as was service . All in all a relaxing evening with good food & drink .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no plug in the wash basin. Complementary biscuits had been opened and were stale! Road noise not good, but unavoidable.

    Food in the Pub Dining Room excellent for dinner and breakfast. Room spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point, I had to ask for an iron twice before one arrived. Admittedly, a minor point though

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall place had a very warm and friendly vibe.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely stay, thank you very much, I look forward to returning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very close to wedding venue at The Dairy. Staff friendly. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: