Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3 stars

Seafront, Torquay, TQ2 6RQ, United Kingdom

#33 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    The one good thing was the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Double Bed and Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful! Sausages were raw...The saute potatoes were just new pototaoes put in oven. Not good. Also witnessed a staff member give a women a glass of wine which was wrong and she drank from it and sent it back and then he poored back into the bottle to re-use.

    The one good thing was the view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location great breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff overcharging on newspapers and final bill, not knowledgable on the area more information needs to be available for dog places to visit and go to as its a dog friendly hotel more info to hand would of been very useful private hotel beach was closed off

    The evening entertainment was super, the breakfast was wonderful not hurried in or out the bar food was good value for money the portion size so big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    It had a sea view and was right on the beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea/Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old and dated.. could do with a good modern update, doesn't take much to modernise the place

    It had a sea view and was right on the beach front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Not all bad, but no Cigar : o )
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very tired and in need of new bathroom

    Breakfast was good - Staff very friendly parts of hotel nice and work being done to improve- location excellent and on a sunny lovely terrace and patio area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    It was a boiling hot day, and I stayed overnight with my...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The original bathroom was rather tired. But it was adequate.

    It was a boiling hot day, and I stayed overnight with my spaniel on the way dog event. The single room that I had booked was stifling and I decided to leave and drive home to Dorset in the cool. I was moved quickly and efficiently to a large room on the side - with a seaview, which was much cooler. We left early in the morning, much refreshed. Good food as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall pleasant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't what I expected for a Best Western Hotel, very dated, needs some TLC, was like walking back into the 70's.

    Staff very helpful, Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    A very good price for an overnight stay in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor in the standard single room was in need of updating.And being at the back of the property the noise from the extraction fans was disturbing. Some public areas were also in need of a little tlc

    Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great feature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with air conditioning in rooms as it was very stuffy in them

    It was very nice friendly staff other holiday makers was friendly and food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant because of location but little niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Livermead needs badly updating. It seems to be lost in the 1980,s. I am sure the ceiling tiles in lounge and dining room are polystyrene. Surely they are now banned. Also twin rooms in any hotel are three quarter size not single beds. I think Bst Western need to spend some money there. I also wonder how disabled people cope. Everywhere in hotel has steps either up or down. The lift is so antiquated and frequently not working!! Food for thought!!!

    The hotel is near to both Torquay and Paignton and easy for the buses.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and not to the standard I would expect. Photographs online appeared much nicer than what I experienced. The poached eggs on toast I had for breakfast was tiny, I would not have paid £12.95 for hot breakfast if the cost was not included in my room rate.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Worst stay for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously over priced compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Torquay. In need of serious renovation. Very dated. The room was not what we saw online when booking. The ancient lift which barely fitted 2 people was broken more often than not.

    Location by the sea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    It did what we needed from a one night stay, but it could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is pretty tired, rooms not quite as good as they look in the web pictures, outside area for rooms which had access to large / shared balconey was very dirty, this could be such a nice bonus for these rooms if it was cleaned / paved / had planters / plants / flower and decent tables / chairs / parosol's etc The anitquated lift (room for two with no luggage only) is a scary affair (you have to be in it to understand)

    Location is great, staff were friendly, parking good, bed was comfortable, breakfast fine, reasonable price, probably would stay again but my expectations would be lower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    It met our needs for 1 night but wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs upgrading externally, untidy and the seagulls do leave a lot of mess, understandably on the coast but constant maintainance needs to addressed.

    Location. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Really beautiful setting with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nesting seagulls outside our door! Very hot room, very noisy seagulls in the early morning. Sadly not a good nights sleep.I think it might have been good to be told that there were nesting seagulls next to our room, possible option to be elswhere in the hotel might have been an idea.

    Lovely setting, lovely terrace from our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sometimes parking lot gets overcrowded with wedding parties, but we always found a parking spot.

    Have returned to this hotel over 5 times in last 6 years it has always met with our expectations of great accomodation, cleanliness, food, service and value. Great sea views. Extremely reliable each visit. Will return again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly reasonable hotel. Check on size of room and facilities before booking.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (73) and en-suite incredibly small, and I mean TINY. (Very good though if you’re a Munchkin or a Hobbit). Mattress uncomfortably soft (possibly aged). Hotel decor dated /tired and could benefit from a re-furb.

    Staff excellent. Location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few areas could do with a little updating e.g. the single bedroom.

    The relaxed atmosphere, comfortable sitting areas inside and outside. Beautiful location, very friendly staff.Good food, loved the coffee with home made shortbread! Will visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift needs modernising. The gates are too heavy for elderly people especially when on their own and trying to cope with a suitcase and the lift doors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    My stay was OK. The staff were very nice but overall I would expect a bit more in terms of comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water situation in the bathroom was dire. Had to have a cold shower and it was already freezing outside. Not impressed at all

    The view from the hotel overlooking the harbour was stunning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Wonderfull hotel and staff will be staying again shortly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    paid cash at bar and for food, should have had a tab and paid by card, because card would not be taken for luxury goods on display.

    The position of the hotel is its main selling point, get a sea view if possible. Peter and his staff offer every courtesy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for our short stay. Reception and restaurant staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little dated and could do with a makeover

    The staff were really helpful - the hotel in general could do with a makeover but overall we were pleased with our stay. It is on the main road and the bus stop is very convenient just across the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Could have been better if i had the room with the sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been better if i had the room with the sea view that i requested when i booked it online. The room i had was near the road, in which i can hear all the vehicles passing by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little tired. The room was exceptionally hot. We opened the windows on arrival but this did nothing to prevent the heat during the night. As a result a very uncomfortable night with no sleep.

    Room was spacious and clean Staff were friendly in arrival

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.1
    All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated. Food a little disappointing and overpriced for what it was.

    All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Lovely location at water's edge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    It provided exactly what we needed on the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no suggestion here.

    We had a good comfortable room and the hotel was quiet. The meals, one evening dinner and one breakfast, were both very good. It was very relaxing after having driven 210 miles to get there to attend a funeral.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Location was great and the sea view was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double room with sea view but could only it by standing up as window was so high - not at all as it appears in the photos. Window was also dirty on arrival. Staff cleaned inside on request, but couldn't get rid of cobwebs on the outside and the aluminium window frames were filthy. Shower in bathroom was just a shower head on the wall controlled by a mixer tap on the bath. This did not work properly, even after staff tried to mend it - water would only come out scalding hot or freezing cold. Wifi was very slow.

    Location was great and the sea view was very good. Breakfast was fine. Staff responded promptly to any requests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Good staff, good location, mediocre food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food and wine list. Everytime you ordered a drink in the restaurant a member of the bar staff had to come in and get you to sign a chit. Felt like they thought you were going to do a runner! Their internal accounting cost centre systems convenience over-ride any guest experience. Food for thought?

    In need of a large overhaul in terms of the fabric of the building and catering offer. The restaurant food in particular is very old fashioned and mediocre quality. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Best thing; the cappucinno and biscuits.Thanks goodness they haven't found out about a press button "bean to cup" machine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Such a lovely location and such lovely staff. Just let down by the serious need of a revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was probably great in the 70s or 80s. It's such a shame. The hotel is crying out for a makeover and updating. The bed in our room was a double but felt smaller and had seen better days many years ago I would suggest. Granted, it cost 125 for the night and includes breakfast but the room was a similar size to that in a Travelodge but far less comfortable.

    The location is lovely. The staff were fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was lovely and very attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated rooms and bathrooms. The view from the terrace to the back of the hotel is very care home looking.

    The breakfast was lovely and very attentive staff. There was a domestic late on the Friday night/Saturday morning between some guests which caused some concern and having said something to Reception they just said they were aware of it but no apology came. The hotel is very dated and the rooms could do with a makeover. The views are lovely and the terrace is actually very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and lounge need updating; looking rather dated for 21 century; Evidently caters more towards elderly visitors expectations and taste.

    The evening meal and breakfast was excellent ; Friendly and efficient staff . The view of the Bay was superb room very comfortable. After the numerous travelling guests departed after a breakfast check out the Hotel was very relaxing environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location poor accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a shrine to the 1970's, very tired and desperately in need of some updating. We did not realise it was more of a coaching hotel when we booked, we paid a premium price but was treated to the same budget costings as if on a coach trip. Breakfast was not good, poached eggs had to be returned as they were solid, English breakfast was a real budget affair with poor quality ingredients and minute portions.. I did ask for what wanted 2 eggs 2 sausage and bacon this was met with raised eyebrows... I felt like saying I had just paid £460 for 3 nights !!! And was not on a budget coach tour.

    The location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Our stay hear was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above

    The staff were excellent. and the hotel on the whole is good. Just one minor comment that the bedroom was a bit 1970s. The room might also benefit if it had new double glazed windows. The room was nevertheless spotless and the beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    This was my first holiday by myself and I was comfortable at the hotel because it was not too modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked in, I would have liked more explanation about breakfast. I had to pay upon arrival and was put down for 2 full English and charged accordingly. I was not told about continental which I prefer and was cheaper. My bed was not very comfortable but adequate. For a longer visit, the hotel needs some more entertainment such as box games, table tennis, a swimming pool or fitness centre.

    The hotel was slightly old worldly which suited my age group. I liked the choices at breakfast and mini Danish pastry selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows we hard.

    The bed very comfy. The view from the room was stunning. You could see Torquay see front. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. You also had a kettle with tea & coffee plus biscuits a very nice touch. The location was perfect we walked to the Theatre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    It was the best break i have ever had ,the staff are amazing so friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didnt like

    The food was amazing we tried nearly everything on the menu it was great and delicious.There was a great surprise was preparing a delicious cake for my husband birthday.The staff are so freindly starting from the reception to the waitress and waitresses

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    A Lovely relaxing weekend, comfortable hotel and friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms (well the one we had) need updating, as slightly old and run down.

    Lovely staff, very nice coffee! Breakfast was fresh and good selection. Beautiful view from terrace and garden. Bus stop right outside door which was a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    If you like old and completely outdated hotels with weak and malfunctioning shower you found it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.) not good value for money 2.) shower very weak 3.) internet doesn't work - very weak signal and speed 4.) everything is old and falling apart 5.) no facilities at all 6.) breakfast not included

    Location is not so bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    This hotel provided a seaside location with access to amenities; but we are unlikely to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The children's twin-bedded room turned out to be the better of the two that we booked but the showers in both en suites were ineffectual and difficult to adjust. The double-bedded room was small and stuffy. It was not possible to keep the windows open in either room owing to noise from the adjacent main road. So many sirens! There was a scorch mark on the carpet at the foot of the double bed, left by an iron. In fact, the whole hotel was very 'tired' and desperately in need of refurbishment.

    The staff are this hotel's best asset. They were unfailingly helpful and friendly. The children enjoyed exploring the adjacent beach. .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Good trip, beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not great. Breakfast was ok but didn't like the fact smoked salmon was only available at a quite high surcharge. For what it is in general, the rooms are a bit overpriced, guess cos of the holiday season.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    The location was good, right next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - staff seemed miserable and didn't want to be there, wouldn't talk to you unless they had to - apauling smell - room would become very hot, the window wouldn't open very far and there was no fans to call the room down - loud music from the hotel till early morning - drinking glasses were dirty and put on the toilet

    The location was good, right next to the beach. There was onsite parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the bedroom was very heavy and difficult to open.

    The lounge and garden were the best parts. Breakfast options were great. Excellent views of Torbay from the lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant place to stay but needs updated especially the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were allocated was difficult for us to access as there were steep steps and a heavy fire door to negotiate and we are elderly However we requested a change and this was done promptly though the room was not as good as the first one We did find the room very hot and the outside temperature was only about 19 degrees

    Staff were helpful and pleasant and there was a good atmosphere generally

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.2
    Don't stay here!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am extremely disappointed with my stay. The hotel decor is dated, the room smelled damp and apart from opening a small window there was no way of cooling the room down. The bed was old and very soft and lumpy. I went to the restaurant and by the standard menus, was expecting a reasonable meal. I decided to eat in the bar and ordered a Caesar salad. I was given a plate of iceburg lettuce with a dollop of mayonnaise and grilled chicken, not a Caesar salad!!!! My replacement was a very "out of the bag" scampi and chips with a side salad that looked as though it had been on the side all day. To be honest I was waiting for Basil Faulty and Manuel to turn up. Considering this is a Best Westrn hotel it really was the Worst Western hotel and will not be staying there ever again. This definitely was not worth £120 for the night. Premier inn is much better value.

    The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable hotel but dreadful food at dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast served each morning was excellant with plenty of choice .We decided to dine in one evening but never again , we each had a different dish ,my friends was appalling and had to be sent back,and mine was only just better. We had two courses for 29 ponds an absolute rip off.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    The western great location great staff thereafter lacking in just about everything
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was run down facility was poor value menu simply eat out.

    Hotel was ideally situated by the sea private beach was lovely a good walk in to town but doable. Room was a let down paid extra for a sea view double glazing has blown windows all misted up. Bathroom needed refurbishing very tired. Bed was old fashion spring mattress my wife moved in the night I moved to. Decor was ancient for £190 per night just poor, the hotel could be really done up well in summary the western has the feel of an old people's home. Working mans stop off not a couples retreat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, Hotel needs sprucing up to make it perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amenities are dated and need bringing up to date - There is no Aircon and it was hot outside, around 26 degrees, and the room was about 50 degrees - we got a fan off the staff but it simply was not enough to cool the room properly. The shower/bathroom needs replacing, I have not seen a shower on hot & cold taps in a hotel like that before, it needs replacing with a proper shower unit that does not pull to the side all the time during a shower. The rooms themselves are in need of a lick of paint and a clean behind the radiators.

    The location was the reason we stayed here, it is situated in the middle of some lovely beaches, 5 to each side which are perfect for taking pictures and skinny dipping. There is a lovely cove behind the hotel and a nice beach to the right, literally a minutes walk away. The staff were great, very helpful and accommodating. Even though there were things not to our liking, the place itself is perfect, and we cannot wait to go back, hopefully taking my parents next time :) We did only book 1 night but we ended staying for 2 this time around. There is some lovely restaurants a mile away to the right overlooking the beaches and sea and just before that is a big park and an old Abbey to visit, all on your doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel overlooking the sea 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive drinks

    Fabulous hotel overlooking the beach. Staff very nice. Room a little hot and drinks a bit pricey. But worth it to have a view like we had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    Dated and tired decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired. The room we were given on arrival was small and claustrophobic and also smelled musty. It appeared to be in the basement. It was a sea view but was too low down to appreciate it. We were glad to get out of it. We were moved on our second night and although this was much bigger and smelled fresher, it was still very dated in many ways. The bath panel was cracked and broken and was avocado colour.

    Some of the evening/night staff were very helpful and managed to move us to a better room on our second night- namely Audrey and Peter. The sea views were very good as long as you managed to get a room that was not on the ground/basement floor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    The staff were all lovely and the meals we had were fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and the bathroom smaller than a cloakroom - very bad. The shower was very old and not very good either. Pillows were rock hard, as was the mattress. I would use the hotel again but would expect a better room.

    The staff were all lovely and the meals we had were fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Great view, not worth the £119 for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced room worth £79 not the £119 I paid, outdated decor, pathetic shower, traffic noise was a nuisance, noisy mattress springs, naff hairdryer and the tea and/or milk tasted off.

    Gorgeous views from raised seating area Friendly staff £6 taxi to town centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Think twice if you're old or infirm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is archaic, and certainly not suitable for elderly and/or infirm people. In fact the hotel is unsuitable for anyone who is elderly and has mobility problems. The rooms were uncomfortably hot, and made worse by the fact that the heated towels could not be turned off we were told.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Because there were few reasonable eating places close by, we ate from the bar menu every night. There was a good choice and it was pleasantly served.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely and friendly staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant menu unimaginative particularly in current location better options outside. Bathroom could be refreshed, Lift access and use not practical .

    Lovely and friendly staff very helpful. Location is stunning , King size beds are superb and comfy, views from hotel room are superb , I will come back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great stay for a lon weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size a bit small for a standard size. Maybe just the layout of the room though.

    Good selection breakfast menu. Helpful staff. Close to public transport facilities and ideal for the older generation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel but avoid weekends due to noise levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were very thin so rooms very noisy. Kept awake by a loud party in the bar until 2:00 am

    Rooms a good size with a south facing terrace. Food very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    My WIFE and I had a very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't like part of this questionnaire. I visited with my WIFE. I find it offensive not to offer wife/husband as an option.

    We liked the young staff, who were, pleasant, attentive and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone at the hotel from reception throughout the hotel were very friendly and curtious. Had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    Poor
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated, room to small for a couple , bathroom tiny and noisey, windows dirty in bar area, bar prices way over the top, 75p for a dash of soda water, the list could go on

    View

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    2.9
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very tatty not worth 147 . Staff only spoke when taking money not , interested any other time . Fixtures hanging off wall broken furniture, broken bath panel. Not very clean . Wouldn't of stayed if was allowed to see room first .. but option not given. Was so bad we packed and left by am . Never again. ..

    Absolutely nothing ... apart from the view .Staff were rude . Hotel noisey. Room was substandard does not warrant 3 star rating pictures are misleading out dated and very tatty

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    6.7
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel badly needs updating- very old fashioned. Shower was faulty- we were given more towels but wet ones which we used to dry up all the water from the floor were just left. Shower wasn't fixed. Expensive cooked breakfast but ok Would not stay again

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, carpet was faded and worn, material headboard on twin beds were both dirty, mattress was hard and no spare pillows. Curtains wouldn't pull too and window was very draughty. Bathroom was very outdated shower was useless and toilet didn't flush well. We were offered an upgraded on arrival for extra money, but felt we had paid enough for a twin room.

    Breakfast room was nice and staff very friendly, the hotel was well heated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    4.2
    The room was cold and there was no extra blanket.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and there was no extra blanket. There was a cold draught from the window, especially in the bathroom. The bathroom suite was very old (avocado) and the shower didn't work.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Staff very helpful comfortable room good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food Quality and choice poor would not recommend eating at the hotel. Lift far too small would not take a disabled wheelchair.

    Staff very helpful comfortable room good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.1
    Beware of what is included in your booking price !!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the second time in quick succession I was led to believe that I had breakfast included in my tariff. This was not the case and you should be more lucid with your details. This caused me more than a little embarrassment at a crowded hotel reception and left me questioning whether I will use your services again

    Good position over the sea

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress! Had to ask several times for it to be changed as it was so uncomfortable.

    Relaxed atmosphere. Staff were helpful in advising about bus timetable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    5.0
    boiler broke/ old mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room had paint fumes so they switched us to another room. Unfortunately that had an old mattress that gave me a backache. They said they are half way through changing them all. Then there was no hot water in the morning. Everyone was moaning about it at breakfast. I think it was fixed quickly but too late for our 1 night stay. The staff were good but we had to fight for a discount.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    One of Torquay's finest seafront hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One room which faces the busy road was too noisy. It could have done with a new carpet. The window frame was an old aluminium type frame which needs replacing with a pvc tripple glaze to reduce the road noise and drafty cold. Breakfast was well cooked but only had one rasher of bacon and only one small egg. Could do with a more generous serving.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful Excellent location Quality of the food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Short notice booking for this Best Western Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was an option I chose and this was a little bland, but others would differ on my opinion of course.

    Excellent location the staff were friendly and took the trouble to explain basic information all were knowledgeable about the services for customers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    Helpful staff after initial disappointment with first room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated decor.

    Helpful staff after initial disappointment with first room offered, which was very small for a double room and a minuscule sea view. Good food.Sligh

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Relax in this comfortable, friendly hotel and enjoy stunning views over the bay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot except a bit more attention to small maintenance issues in the bathrooms eg. shower heads that are not always secure and sometimes come loose. Beds are reasonably comfortable but some attention to the pillows would be good and the duvets are rather heavy and hot.

    The hotel offers a good choice of fruit, croissants, cereals, yogurt , fresh and tinned fruit as well as cooked breakfast. I like the general atmosphere of the hotel with it's slightly old fashioned but charming service. Furnishings in the bar/lounge are starting to look a bit worn but are comfortable enough and the stunning views over the bay make up for any small shortcomings. All staff are obliging, friendly and efficient and obviously try hard to please..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    Reception staff poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff poor customer service..did not acknowledge you..no greetings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    They were so helpful and great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were so helpful and great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Superb location, very clean a tidy. Would certainly consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little noisey

    Location and sea views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and enjoyable and lots of great views and walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful. Good room clean and comfy . Great views and location. Relaxed feel. Great that you can use neighbouring hotel’s outdoor pool too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Taking our dog, and the sea view
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was uncomfortable, very soft.

    Taking our dog, and the sea view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The amazing Perry Suite and the service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The amazing Perry Suite and the service!

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: