Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Loch Leven Hotel & Distillery

Old Ferry Road, Glencoe, PH33 6SA, United Kingdom

#6 of 11 hotels in Glencoe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 503 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    EVERYTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms varied greatly, if you’re okay with taking the stairs I suggest the views from room 6!

    EVERYTHING! We loved returning to this hotel after a day of hiking, Henry makes the most amazing G&T. Service was truly excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location let down by room and poor Wi Fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a small room on top of the kitchens, room was very hot ( fan was provided which was good) the bathroom smelt of cooking fat all the time. Bed and pillows not too comfortable. Restaurant staff could do with more hospitality training, booking a table was rather “by the book” even when plenty of tables were free. Wi Fi was poor and no mobile reception.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice location by a loch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had not been updated. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was very loud and piercing. Room was small.

    Nice location by a loch. The main course at the restaurant was very good but the desert, a crime brûlée, was stale.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.0
    Nice room, but avoid the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electrical safety in the room could have been much better. There were bare electrical connections on the central ceiling light and 'gaffer' tape around the electrical connection to the towel rail in the bathroom. We had a meal in the restaurant, which scored 6/10. My wife's salmon was dry and my venison steak came with mashed potato that had almost a whole jar of hot mustard wound into it. My wife's Creme Brulee was burnt.

    The room was ok, small but with a lovely view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Hotel was lovely, nice little quirks with the layout,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely, nice little quirks with the layout, reading room and chess board. We tried a fair few gins in the well stocked bar and enjoyed one of the finest meals ive had for a long time. Bed was comfy, staff were friendly and views were spectacular. If you get the chance then id definitely recommend the adjoining gin school/distillery experience, we thoroughly enjoyed it and are looking forward to cracking open our very own made gin!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Loch Leven was a great place to stay for one night on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loch Leven was a great place to stay for one night on our trip through Glencoe. During our entire seven day trip, the hotel restaurant was one of my favorite places to eat; the food was delicious! The setting was beautiful, and we were very happy with our time there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable single night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very willing but are not well trained. Eg very noisy when clearing near by tables and these sort of finer details of a great experience

    Nice and warm

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice but not awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had high hopes of this hotel but concluded that it's in transition? The little things that make the difference between good and great were just missing......slow service in the restaurant, and over breakfast, lack of attention to detail in general. An example....Portobello mushrooms with the steak. Of three two were nice but the third was burned to a crisp. Yet it made it from the kitchen to the guest. Other guests waited so long for their food and on arrival it was cold or wrong. Yet the staff were so willing when they put in an appearance, maybe just too few of them and not motivated to go the extra mile by the management. Who knows? Worth a second chance though as the location is lovely.

    the location is lovely alongside the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Heavenly Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a single room and the bed was very cheap and hard and the pillows were thin and cheap. Made for a very uncomfortable night sleep for £100. .

    Friendly and nice facilities and the food was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Good enough for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny and old rooms, Toilet didn't Flush right, Name leads to misunderstanding, there is no distillery to visit, restaurant bad with long waiting times and poor quality

    Breakfast was Good, nice bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Cute and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t very soundproof - could hear lots of noise at times from other people in the hotel (we were right above the bar)

    Nice views, good food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Unavailable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was unavailable (espresso machine, lunch at the day of the arrival, distillery tour) and the hotel need a strong refurbishment and maintenance.

    Gin and tonic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff not as helpful as they could have been. They appeared very preoccupied. Room was not ready when I arrived, even thought it was 30 minutes after the advertised check in time. Breakfast was ok, however buffet was not replenished thought service so when people arrived late there was limited choice.

    Amazing views from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Views were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very helpful. Owner wasn't in so distillery was closed. We wanted to buy an expensive bottle of scotch up to £500 but because owner was out we weren't offered any service in this area.

    Views were amazing. Food at dinner was also of a very high standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    This was a real gem of a find! They have small gin distillery and it must be tried..delicious!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed requires renewing it was sagging a bit in middle.

    Was very well looked after as a single traveller. The food in evening was very tasty and so carefully cooked. Service was friendly and professional.. I had poached eggs for my breakfast and they were cooked to perfection, I have never had an egg cooked in a hotel like this before!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful setting along the River Coe. The patio provides nice & quiet moments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pulling luggage through the gravel parking lot. Non-functional windows in our room: half of them would not open.

    Somewhat non-urban setting, adjacent to the Coe River/Estuary. Flexible food service: breakfast, nooner/afternooner, dinner. On-site parking. patio overlooking the river, good food. Close to Ft William for shopping or restaurant options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellt hotel for a stopover on the way up to the Highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the bar and staff. Especially the Devils Staircase Gin which is distilled on-site by the man behind the bar. Restaurant was good. Couple of locals were a laugh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    A decent Hotel with good food and bar.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a good Hotel which we would recommend. Price was acceptable for high season though we did stay in a better hotel in the area (The Lime Tree) with a nicer room Inc sofa and window seat plus smart bathroom for the same price

    Pleasant hotel, nice restaurant with friendly staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Views of the mountains and the loch excellent from our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked it because there was a Gin Distillery but no mention of this was made. I hoped for some enthusiastic staff who might tell us about it? Nothing was made of it except that by reception they sold bottles of their own for £37. The bar man did say they had 50 varieties and chose one for me but I would have liked more info. Thought it odd we had the ground floor disabled room but perhaps it was the best they had to offer. Staff had no idea what the connection with the author Alexander McCall Smith was even though there was one of his books in our room and pictures testing to his books lining the hallway Some of garden decking needs replacing.

    Views of the mountains and the loch excellent from our room and also from the bar and restaurant. Very good standard of restaurant, popular so you do need to book a table at busy times even if you are staying there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    An independent gem with warm and friendly welcome and service. Super setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    This is a gem of a hotel. It's independent and charming with welcoming, friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Good food and stunning views over the river. I wouldn't hestitate to stay here again the next time we pass through.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable room but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and poorly fitted out. Shower was ineffective and the temperature was not controlled ( I did mention it to reception)

    Food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Quaint, friendly, cozy small hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about it.

    The room was and bathroom were large with a great view, the little bar was cozy and friendly and the restaurant was convenient and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Only 1 hour window for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower poor functionality. WiFi doesn't work. Room definitely overpriced. The biggest problem from my point of view was the limited breakfast serving time, 1 hour, 8 am - 9am. I do not believe this works for early risers, who are in the area to explore, nor those that might enjoy a lie in. I needed to leave by 6.15 one day, 7.30 the next, so was therefore unable to have breakfast for the duration of my stay. For this reason and the poor internet connectivity, I would not stay here again.

    Nice hot chocolate and shortbread in the room! Good housekeeping. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    I can recommend this excellent hotel and restaurant, with wonderful staff in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was such a great find. It really ticked all the boxes. The location was perfect and in a very pretty setting by the water, the staff were incredibly warm, friendly, funny and helpful, and could not do enough for us. We had an excellent evening in the hotel bar and restaurant; the dinner in the restaurant was outstanding (we're a family of foodies). Our room was spotless and very comfortable. After a nice breakfast we went for a walk in the bluebell wood beside the property and back along the beach. Idyllic. Highly recommended - we will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location but poor poor quality and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standard room . Noise from the bar below. Poor quality food . Breakfast stations not refilled Squeezed into a table to eat with elbows touching the person next to me.

    The location and the views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, great food and views from sun deck at back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit shabby in places, bathrooms need work but most frustrating thing is the lack of interest in keeping their outdoor areas looking nice. It all looks neglected and it’s not a difficult thing to put right(Get some new gravel cheap as chips for a couple ton bags!!). I work in hospitality myself and it annoys me when I see such laziness. Overall a nice hotel that just needs owners to wake up and invest some money in the rooms and outdoor areas.

    Perfect location, great food and views from sun deck at back. Nice selection of spirits, gins etc in both bars. Nice friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice room and view with polite staff. The pleasantness stops when you enter the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant where you are treated like you are a steerage passenger.

    Hotel was very nice, but the restaurant was not. We were shuttled through the restaurant, past tables with white table cloths, and into the back where the seating was inferior and the staff, with one exception, poorly trained. Food was just adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall one of the best experiences of our trip of 10 days,will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cosy but a bit small,Double not King Size

    Location very nice,excellent views over Loch and Mountains.Restaurant excellent,nice food and friendly service.Patio over Loch great and Bar was very well stocked over 40 Gins and 50+ Whisky's.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    after completing the NC500 this was the ideal place to stay before home to Glasgow. superb setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    the view from the dining room...simply stunning looking over the loch to Ballachulish and the beinn a bheithir munros. very helpful in storing our cycles. great selection to choose from re beer n gin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor things: Bearing in mind the age of the building the bathroom needed a little tic. Very few toiletries provided. The room overlooked the distillery where there seemed to be a generator going most of the night so could be noisy if the window was open. Pillows not very comfortable. Stairs not good for anyone not very mobile.

    Attractive hotel with good views particularly from the dining room. Very good food sensibly priced with friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant . Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the location & the price better coffee, jam, marmalade quality for breakfast. The jam in Lidl & Aldi is way ahead which surprised me. Just short of the potential to be excellent. Some staff were very good, and some needed more training. Attention to detail lacking in some areas. Maybe more a management problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, food and staff but a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other hotels on our trip the room was over priced to the tune of about £50

    Superb location, excellent food and great staff. Probably the best location overlooking Lochs and views towards mountains and the iconic Bridge at Ballacuilish. We had a great stay here and although over priced in my opinion I didn't regret paying for such a nice experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly, the food was utterly amazing. Our room (4 poster bed) with a view of the loch was fabulous and the surrounding area of Glen Coe absolutely stunning. I think its safe to say we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Charming, quaint family owned property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming, quaint family owned property. Right on the water with 360 degree views of the mountains. Breakfast delicious. We had wine in the deck and watched sun set. Dinner was amazing. Wonderful Chef and great staff all around. We hiked along waters edge. Rooms are small but very cozy. Lots of history charm and character

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fantastic. The view was jaw dropping. This was just perfect. Staff was so nice, i got in late because I missed a bus and they were very accommodating. I was visiting Glencoe and headed to Fort William.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    There was a very nice reception area and dining atea, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and remodeling seemed to be done by someone not very skilled. For example. Our towel warmer had a duct tape repair and plumbing wasn't the best.

    There was a very nice reception area and dining atea, as well as an onsite bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place, friendly staff and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area needs an upgrade, our dining experience was mixed; my steak was awesome and my wife’s lamb wasn’t great.

    The view from our room was outstanding and the staff were keen to please.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated but this provides a nice bit of charm in its own way

    Sensational view from the restaurant, comfy beds, perfect location. Restaurant fodder was also fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    A great overnight stay on our return home to North Yorkshire from the highlands.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and friendly staff, excellent evening meal and recommendation of a gin, which was fabulous. The views were awe inspiring and a handy walk to the loch for my dog.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    wonderful, comfortable, traditonal friendly feel , great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ran out of Soy milk but not a problem - nothing to complain about.

    The rooms we had were very comfortable and the views amazing - loch and mountain view on two sides.. ( room 2) and our 19 yr old daughter had the same in a single( room 5) - The breakfast was generous, the hospitality ( great bar and speciality gins from their own distillery )was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. This is also a great rambler and dog friendly hotel but it feels traditional luxury and not at all "doggy".. - Large Comfy bed and facilities. This is a wonderful location for everything outdoors and if you want to experience the essence of the Scottish Highlands on the shores of Loch Linnhe - you Must come here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.0
    Not worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is very poor, not in the sens of efficiency but in the friendly and welcoming sens. Nothing personal... not warm! Rooms are a bit shady (our rooms, it could be some better rooms though), windows were not closing and wind was passing by, it is quite small and sofa bed are quite inconfortable! Not worth the price...for sure... breakfast is ok, standard for Scotland. The cleaning Is done but not quietly, doors are banging all the time... and during one breakfast, they use very strong smell cleaning product just next to the dining room... The commun rooms is stuffed with cartoons, no fire in the fire place... not welcome at all, even though it was very cold the days we went. The surrounding (garden etc) is not really maintain. The ashtray outside is full... (I do not smoke! But I could notice!). Our conclusion, it looks like it has been a very beautiful and comfortable place but it is not anymore! All in all just ok! But we will not go again there.

    Location is really nice. Just à the foot of the loch and the mountains. Close to many trail, things to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Superb gin bar with an open fire!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the entrance/reception area could be modernised/freshened up a bit.

    We got upgraded to a complimentary 4 poster bed room with beautiful views to the Loch. Our main reason for staying was to go on the gin school and make our own gin in the small distillery they have on site, we weren’t disappointed. Craig was very knowledgable and we were happy with our very own gin that we made and got to take home with us. The evening meal was delicious as was breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Excellent - Will return!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean with adequate enough space. The food in the bar was good with a good choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Loch Leven hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Beautiful location. Staff were extremely helpful, polite and enjoyable to be around. Room was great with a large bathroom. Food in the restaurant and bar was delicious. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay with excellent dinner near Glen Coe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear quite clearly the people in the next room having a bath - and as our room was just across from the fire door to the floor, the door was a tad noisy at times. That said, it didn't keep us up as we were shattered and so we slept fine.

    Excellent food and very nice staff - fantastic location right on the water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay ,superb location will revisit next time for more spoiling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather always pot luck. Managed skiing at Glencoe & Nevis where hotel mid point

    Welcoming,most helpful and informative staff. Excellent locally sourced cuisine ,stunning views & walks.Definately on return list.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Great food, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    We were warmly greeted and shown our room. After a long day exploring we went to the bar which was well stocked and cozy with a roaring coal fire. We very much enjoyed our evening meal which was delicious. The hotel is a in a very beautiful position with beautiful Glencoe only minutes away by car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was of a high quality but a bit on the small side. I ordered rack of lamb and only got 3 ribs from the rack for £19!!

    Breakfast was exceptional. Location and surrounding spectacular

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing myself and my partner had the tiny bit of an issue with was that on the restaurant menu in starters it didn’t specify what was raw! I ordered the grouse starter and it came raw which it didn’t say in the menu. Apart from that everything was perfect!

    The room was perfect! So well decorated and extremely comfortable. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, friendly staff and good food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all. The staff at the weekend were exceptionally friendly and appeared to work well together.

    Great choice for breakfast. Evening meals very well cooked and presented especially the venison.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    great , would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi crashed for a couple of days , no drama , bathroom could be nicer

    friendly staff with a good breakfast , excellent location , we only stayed one night as we were passing through , a great little hotel , the bathroom was a little tired but was reflected in the room rate which was great value , they now have their own gin still which is even better

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an unappealing smell in our room, I think due to the location of the bedroom over the kitchen.

    Well proportioned room with comfortable beds. Staff were very friendly and nice gin and cocktail bar on site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it. Location by the river was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was good, although a bit formal and a bit pricey. It would be good to have an option of a simpler bar menu too.

    The wifi was a problem, as it wasn't working.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, friendly hotel with excellent service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower casing could have done with a bit of tarting up but otherwise fine.

    Bed was fabulous. We had a great night’s sleep. Henry at the old ferry bar was superb - customer service at its best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner and breakfast and both were lovely. Highly recommend. The black pudding-stuffed pork belly was very good. The porridge had a lot of texture and flavour and was not runny - just how I like it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    Food and staff really fantastic, room very uncomfortable and poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the attic room in the back(poorly painted, not very comfortavle bed) and particularly the bathroom, very old and cheap Lino flooring.

    The staff were excellent, so was the food. The room really let the hotel down, it was very out of date and the bathroom and loos didn't look touched since the 1980's. There was a really nice snug bar though with a lovely open fire and the staff and food counterbalanced the poor facilities. Great potential if the place was refurbished. Compared to other places we stayed on this trip, the room was poor value for money. The evening meal and service were Michelin star quality!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Stunning location and easy access to the hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy dogs in other rooms. Not enough choice for vegetarians on the evening menu.

    The location is stunning and the staff were incredibly helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Huge disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was awful, the bathroom a disgrace. The kitchen was next door as was the bar, so no hope of sleep before midnight and after 6am. This was the most expensive place we stayed in during a week of travel, 4 star price 1 star room.

    The breakfast was very nice, the view was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location, good food but hotel is a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with refurbishment: the bed is quite small but comfy, the rooms need soundproofing as we could hear any guest walking in the corridor. We would have like a better choice of wine at diner.

    Nice welcome, lovely dinner and very good breakfast. We had Scottish porridge and smoked salmon and scrambled egg and they were both delicious, good coffee too.good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic views of the loch and mountains from the dining...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was slow in arriving and of moderate quality for the price. Appeared under staffed but those working were very helpful.

    Fantastic views of the loch and mountains from the dining room and bar. Staff friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location, friendly staff and delicious food and drink - would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window in bathroom didn't open but nothing else - great stay, would recommend.

    Amazing location right on the edge of the Loch, great outdoor seating area with view. Rooms large and clean - very nice and comfortable. Breakfast and restaurant are great and food very very nice. Staff very friendly and enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel on the water with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    Nice hotel in a great location. Service and food were good. Help with heavy suitcases appreciated. Cosy bar and good ales. We enjoyed our stay at the Loch Leven and would recommend it to fellow travellers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing from food to service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was amazing, but we did not know (it wasn't explained) that for 25 pounds as a guest of the hotel we had a three course option included! This is my only complaint, because we would have each gotten our own scallop starter- and they were the best scallops we have ever had!!!!

    Everything was amazing from food to service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    Lovely hotel - room spacious, clean and modern. Staff fantastic. Fun, friendly and helpful. Dinner very good. Staff genuinely care. Great bar. Wish I could have stayed longer. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with some upgrading.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We checked in quite late and there was no problem to get a sandwich brought to the room for us. When we got into the bed it was like a cloud, it was so soft and lovely. I would also recommend eating dinner there, you won't be disappointed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Had a very nice stay at this hotel. Just a little bit attention to detail required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff kept making small mistakes i.e.. serving scrambled egg when fried egg asked for. Bed room looked a bit tired. It was a premium room at a premium price. Not worth £150.00 PER NIGHT.

    Although a very traditional room it was very comfortable with a spectacular views. The restaurant staff were very good, very help full, and very polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Lovely place lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't arrive until late , they were so nice they organised some food for us it was such a great thing to have after a busy day . We were off early the next day and they organised some breakfast for us to have in our room as we were leaving before breakfast to climb Ben Nevis. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location and enjoyabe stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't what I expected as a superior room. Ii was nice but probably not worth the price we paid.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was nicely decorated and the food was tasty. There was a great outlook overlooking the loch with a nice walk along the shoreline.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    North Ballachulish
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a little tired. Very stingy with bath supplies. You must have a vehicle to stay here unless you want to use public buses or taxis.

    Staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loch View Double
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrimpt on fresh toiletries and toilet rolls we ran out more than once. Had to ask for tea and sugar also one day as it was not provided.

    Great views. Good gin selection . Henry and Josh are brilliant at suggesting Gins. Hotel has a nice decking area over looking the loch to have afternoon tea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    we would quite happily stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift but the receptionist on duty picked up our bags and whisked them upstairs in a flash. At breakfast there was only one member of staff on duty and although she did her very best, small details like missing side plates we felt was quite poor

    The weather was gorgeous so sat on the terrace with a Gin & Tonic overlooking the loch was superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff and brilliant food.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A group of friends, six, joined me for evening dinner in the hotel bar which we all enjoyed especially the fish and chips.

    Brilliant breakfast - full Scottish set me up for the day and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Good hotel in a wonderful situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have anything negative to say.

    The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and the staff were friendly. The chef altered one of the dishes on the menu to suit us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, friendly hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel was very cosy and welcoming, some parts look a little tired and need a bit of paint

    The staff were very friendly and really accommodating. They were really willing to help and had great sense of humour!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Great overnight stopover in the area of Glencoe from Glasgow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are a bit dated and could use a makeover.

    The amazing flower garden over looking Loch Leven and east to the town Ballachulish. The chef was incredible and the dining room was fantastic with amazing views of the bridge and Loch Leven. The waitstaff as well as the owners were very nice and friendly. They have a great relationship with the locals who are genuinely friendly! Definately a place I will return .

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Loch Leven Hotel & Distillery traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: