Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Daviot Lodge 5 stars

Daviot, IV2 5ER, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Daviot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 123 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions to the property are poor on booking.com had go to property website to find the directions.

    Quiet, clean, great presentation, amazing, fresh milk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Daviot Lodge is in a superb location for touring Inverness and surrounding area. The accommodation is simply first class, and the owners very attentive in maintaining this very high standard. We enjoyed a beautiful New Year break at the lodge. Was lovely to see that unlike other local establishments, the daily B&B rate was not inflated by the time of year. We cannot recommend this lodge highly enough. We will certainly return in the future...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I stayed again because I loved accommodation, location, breakfast and hosts last time and made full comments then. Just as happy and have since highly recommended all aspects to colleagues and friends. Many thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The distance to restaurants. Needed to use the car. Nothing to walk to.

    Liked the privacy, the comfortable room and bathroom. The location was good for us, parking on site, and host very helpful and appropriately available when we need something.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather?

    Margaret thinks of everything. We had washcloths for the first time on our vacation. Yes, no other hotel and we stayed in 7 others had washcloths or an extra sheet on the bed or special chocolate treats.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was amazing using locally sourced produce.The premises are set in a Quiet countryside location ideal for a relaxing break away from it all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit out of the way / city with not much around but great spot if visiting Culloden

    Lovely hosts who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable; great breakfast; very comfy beds and room - we had a great stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for one night, but it was such a pleasant stay. I still want to know what sheets they use because it was like sleeping on a cloud:) The breakfast was delicious, there were binoculars next to the window so you could watch birds. And the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, first class room, beautiful view. Easy parking. Our host recommended a tavern for dinner and booked it for us and also had chocolates and candles in our room upon our return for our anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like about Daviot lodge - the place and the people are 10/10 - though you do need a car!

    Alex and Margaret are fabulous hosts. The breakfast was amazing and the country atmosphere so close to Inverness was a lovely experience, watching the variety of birds visiting the bird feeders in the garden each morning was a treat. The bed was comfy and there were lots of welcoming touches, like sweet treats and sherry. We followed the hosts recommendations for places to eat and were not disappointed, The Mustard Seed, Inverness, was great. Mum and I also travelled to Loch Ness and Isle of Skye from here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast, lovely, comfortable room and bed and facilities - all top quality and beautiful surroundings and decor. Great attention to detail. Very friendly and helpful owners - no problem re late arrivals - they were so accommodating to other travellers whose flight was hours late.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Daviot Lodge is one of the best bed and breakfasts I ever stayed in. The place is beautifully decorated with every need catered for, the decanter of sherry and chocolates in our room was most welcome! The delicious breakfast with high quality produce was a highlight, particularly as we were entertained by the birds feeding outside the dining room window. I highly recommend Daviot Lodge and would have loved to have had time to spend more than one night there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    situated off road, need own transport

    1st Class. Nothing was of any trouble,just ask. tea/coffee/chocolate/biscuits /sweets. en suites facilities/comfy beds it was all there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cold welcome ( Especially when i compare with all other B&B during our trip in Scotland).

    Traditional Scottish Breakfast. Host has booked for us a table at the closest restaurant (Thanks). NIce Bathroom and Bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, but a drive to any services.

    Beautiful location convenient to Culloden; good breakfast; good restaurant for dinner @ 10-15 minutes away. Well maintained property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location. Hosts that go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. A wee night cap in your room - what more could you ask for! We will definitely book again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is in the country. We like that. It is quiet and peaceful. But you must have a car. The owners were very helpful in getting us reservations for dinner in Innverness. Breakfast was excellent and the room is light and looks into the garden. Close to Culloden battlefield and about 25 min form Cawdor castle. The carpet is a plaid that represents the family-neat touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    This guest house is sheer luxury and well deserved of it's 5 gold star rating, if only every guest house could follow the Daviots example. From the cleanliness to the larger than usual bedrooms, little touches like chocolates and Sherry in the room....and our hosts were very amenable.....just perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay long enough to soak in all the delights offered in the beautiful home and surroundings

    Everything from welcome to leaving was an absolute delight, absolutely faultless

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had just booked a standard room which was very very nice but only "allowed" us to have a middle table at breakfast despite being the first ones down there. The tables seemed to have been allocated depending on the type of room you had booked - the deluxe rooms got the tables with a view into the garden. This is a minor detail but made us feel a bit less valued - I don't think that kind of separation would be necessary.

    Delicious breakfast, beautiful B&B with lots of little welcoming details (cookies, Sherry, little lit candles at night when we got back from dinner, nicely heated room).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really appreciated the fresh milk available for tea and coffee in the evening. There wasn't a restaurant (so not sure why there's a question here on that) but the staff were super helpful at getting me a place at the local Culloden Moor bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Met both Margaret and Alex who were great hosts. Place is so well run, impossible to find fault! Excellent breakfast, sitting room is lovely. Would stay longer next time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little firm for my liking but that is just a personal choice.

    The room had high quality furniture. The location was very good. The hosts helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This is a beautiful B&B, the hosts were so lovely, the room large, well appointed and very comfortable, the bathroom was huge, the breakfast setting exquisite. Congratulations to Margaret and Alex for the best B&B we have ever had the pleasure to stay in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle was a little cramped. Road sign difficult to see in dark , better if lit.

    Comfortable large bed. Welcome greeting excellent, facilities well presented and explained. The complimentary sherry was a nice touch. Breakfast choice and quality excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower cubicle was on the small side

    alex and margaret were superb, friendly helpfull hosts. breakfast choice and service was superb room and accessories were as expected for a 5* establishment. extra little touches were appreciated - sherry in room, fresh milk available for tea/coffee in rooms, individual toiletries, candles etc. Would recommend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All perfect.

    Four poster bed was lovely. The bedroom and en suite were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Great breakfast in the morning. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, hospitality was excellent. Would recommend to friends. Candles in room were nice touch in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful accommodation. Our room was lavishly furnished with towel heating racks, shortbread, sherry, and other amenities, and the view from our room was beautiful and peaceful. We took advantage of the sumptuously furnished and comfortable common sitting room. We appreciated the Lodge’s proximity to Inverness, especially the Culloden Museum and Clava Cairns. Our hosts, Margaret and Alex, were extremely hospitable and the Scottish breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big twin room & bathroom. Out of town location on farm land which was nice & peaceful. Hosts helped us organise dinner close by when we arrived late in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and homey b&b/lodge. Super clean, big, comfortable rooms. Very friendly owners, made a special effort to provide us a delicious vegan breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Mrs Margareth is a special women. Thank you for your support with my group. See you soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism was the noise coming from below my room late at night.

    Lounge facilities cosy log fire and little extras.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely calm and private

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Incredible hospitality made even better by the warmth of Margaret and Alec. Great place to spend a weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of town so not for everyone.

    Superbly maintained hotel. Breakfast excellent. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ATTENTION TO DETAIL. ROOM WAS SPOTLESS AND WHEN WE ARRIVED IT WAS SET UP BEAUTIFULLY. LOVELY HOSTS

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and delicious local produce

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the sheets on the bed. great size room, lots of extras like chocolates and tea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention to detail was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Approach road from public road could be better. This being only a minor complaint.

    Attention to detail.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    peacefull and just what i needed to chill and do some sight seeing. very friendly awsome views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accomodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle in au suite to small

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was to our 100percent satisfaction!!

    Very friendly staff, taking care in any case . Very,very recommendable👏👏👍👍

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Farmhouse with clean and spacious twin room, huge and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming host, comfortable accommodation and awesome breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful nights sleep, lovely hosts, large comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great porridge by Alex. A little night cap in the room-they leave some sherry on the dresser! Easy drive to the battlefield

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of extra touches like a decanter of sherry and chocolates in the room. Beautiful breakfast with locally sourced ingredients.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quality of the furnishing and fittings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't think anything needs to be improved

    Everything sheer quality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very clean. Wide and confortable bedroom with complementary sweets, coffe, tea, milk and liquor. The breakfast was very good also.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome and hospitality were excellent. The decor and facilities were top notch. 5 star accommodation for sure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    path indication to reach the location could be improved

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    knot a thing

    being out from the city. perfect hosts. grate breakfast, perfect seating.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, great hosts and really nice bedrooms

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My husband especially liked the small decanter with sherry for us to enjoy😄 Everything was lovely and the room had a lovely view

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no croissants or butteries for breakfast. The room was rather warm to sleep in considering there was no heating on.

    It is was in a lovely quiet spot. Very Clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - separation walls insufficient to absorb noises from neighbouring rooms - Internet connection often slow or failing (- missing blinds that would have extended our sleep... but then we experienced that in other places in the country, so it seems to be a regional given- in which case we ought to have eye masks with us next time)

    - personalizable rich breakfast, with nearby wildlife to observe ;-) - good bed, clean room(s) - friendly owners - good location to explore nice places nearby (whisky trail, Inverness, Black Isle, Corrieshalloch Gorge And Falls Of Measach etc.)

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Marvellous breakfasts (smoked salmon with scrambled eggs or full Scottish) with a beautiful selection of fresh fruits. The rooms are so comfortable and there are sitting rooms at your disposal as well.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Daviot Lodge felt warm and inviting. Margaret & Alex have done everything possible to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Looking forward to staying there again. Thank you for making my stay so lovely.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to say goodbye.

    Margaret and Alec are the nicest couple you could ever meet. Our room was gorgeous and I particularly liked the extra little gestures such as sherry, chocolates, fresh baked shortbread and fresh milk for tea/coffee. Margaret was ever so helpful with her local knowledge and making dinner reservations for us (the Culloden Moor Inn was a fab pub, but meal sizes were huge....but good honest food). Breakfast was a total highlight also. Fresh fruit options were plentiful and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Makes sense after knowing how many years they've been in the BnB business.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Davit Lodge is no doubt accommodation of the highest standard. Everything thing about the premises was first class and I think you would have to go a long way to get better.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accomodation lost in nowhere. Accomodation advertised as a five star hotel as it is only a clean bed and breakfast. Much to expensive for this kind of accomodation

    breakfast was good but no expresso and very restricted schedule for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful throughout. Wish we lived closer to be able to stay more often. WONDERFUL ATTENTION TO DETAIL. HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. KIPPERS DELICIOUS THANKYOU

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little details, like fresh milk and Tunnocks tea cakes, sherry and shortbread in the room made the stay great. Excellent room and breakfast. Hosts were really nice.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great location with marvellous surrounding arounds. Typical Scottish house in characteristic features and delicious breakfast was the most we liked while we stayed for our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Exceptional service all round. Everything is done to perfection and yet is tastefully understated and not in one's face. I cannot recommend Daviot Lodge highly enough.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Last minute booking easily accommodates. Quality throughout the experience. Definitely the nicest place we stayed. Great advice for dinner reservations!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My stay at Daviot Lodge was most pleasant. The room was very comfortable and the amenities and sweet details made the lodge all the more comfortable. I would recommend this place for someone who wants the quiet and beauty of the countryside along with the convenience of being very close to Inverness.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi wasn't great but I really don't care.

    There wasn't a fault with this bed and breakfast, the perfect place for a quiet nights sleep in a comfortable bed, with the best cooked breakfast I've ever eaten.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a complaint, but a suggestion. Room-darkening shades at the windows would be helpful in summer months when the sun rises very early in the monrin.

    The B&B is located in a quiet setting and is exquisitely decorated. Margaret has provided all of the usual amenities, plus a lot more (like biscuits, chocolates, complimentary sherry, etc.). The cooked-to-order breakfast is wonderful and the housekeeping service flawless. The owners' three decades plus of running a B&B certainly shows.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: