Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge 4 stars

1 Hunt Street, Swindon, SN1 3HW, United Kingdom

#10 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Swindon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Very clean and comfortable with pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, I have nothing to complain about and that’s the truth

    I was impressed with how clean the whole place was, the staff and the owner were very friendly and helpful. Very relaxed place to be when your away from home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    A trip down memory lane
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication with the property was not good as phone calls to the property are directed to the owners mobile, and this system did not seem to be working.

    This is an old house that has been adapted to provide bed and breakfast accommodation. Consequently the rooms are quite small but adequate. The place is homely and the staff lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Fine, good location - but you need to have the breakfast to get value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower had plenty of hot water but very low water pressure - it took me ages to wash my hair. Had to pay for inclusive breakfast although I did not have time to eat breakfast at the venue. Made the property seem less good value for me. From other reviews the breakfast seems excellent so this would certainly make it worth the money. There was WIFI but the signal was very weak - just enough to get some emails - eventually - but not enough to browse the internet / use Iplayer etc. The mattress was not lumpy but it was very hard. No full length mirror. The lighting was very dim - difficult to see to put on any make-up etc. Just a different bulb in the light over the mirror would make all the difference.

    The host / owner was excellent. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Good to have the use of a microwave and fridge. Parking close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    A very good b & b - to be recommended to anyone wanting to visit Swindon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some preparation of the room had been missed, but this was rectified as soon as I mentioned it, so perhaps this comment should really be in the "like" box.

    Tony was a marvel - breakfast perfect, including supplying my odd request of instant coffee. Location spot on - did not have to use my car for the whole weekend as everything I wanted was in walking distance. Also car park space in enclosed garden at rear of property. Great view of tree tops from the breakfast room, you could almost imagine yourself in the countryside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    2.9
    Horrible Hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not anything

    I did not like anything, everything very old, floors that sink,very noisy,O stayed with my pet where he says he accepts pet the hotel and has no instructor to receive, hotel informed me by telephone that I would not charge and they changed me, it does not qualify as a hotel .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Lovely English B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very much

    The owner/staff was cheerful (very important when traveling) and helpful. Where it may have fallen (only a little the fruit was not great) it more than made up in cheerfulness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed the parks and scenery and some great pubs with live music in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the shower in our room as the water pressure was quite low but there was a nice bath to compensate

    As vegans the hotel was very accommodating with soya Milk and asking what we required to eat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had all the facilities we could have wanted and you could ask for anything you weren't provided with as standard (eg dressing gown). Staff were friendly and always on hand. The bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful little hotel with superb service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty cold to start with, but warmed up with a heater, which was readily available.

    We came to participate in the Swindon half marathon and The Lodge was an excellent place to stay. The room was comfy and the fridge came in handy. The host seemed to take care of exactly everything, but kept on smiling from morning to night. He prepared a tailored breakfast according to wishes and we very much appreciated our vegan porridge, which was ready exactly when agreed. We can warmly recommed this homely, clean and personal little hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place, pity about the towels, sheets and breakfast order.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst things - No large towels, spotted a sign saying 'bath towels on request' on 2nd day. Medium towels were not replaced after my dog and toddler had fallen in the pond that is covered in water clover, heading for the stairs on the other side which just go down to the water. Bedsheet and cover to single bed not replaced after I stripped the bed as they were dirty, and rinsed them. Breakfast order forgotten on second day so I just got tomatoes and mushrooms and had cereal again instead. The host had said no when I asked if they had free range eggs, so I didn't order a full English the first night, but the menu says free range so when asked what we wanted the second day, I asked for 3 full English breakfasts but the chef forgot. The nearby park doesn't allow dogs and has blocked entrances.

    Best things - Lovely rooms, pleasant hosts and comfortable beds. Breakfast was tasty and on the first morning was as I requested. My daughter particularly appreciated the hot chocolate in our room. The curtained child's room was lovely. Big bath. Patience with families. Other guests seemed friendly too. The nearby park is beautiful with a pavillion (but doesn't allow dogs, and watch out for the pond under the water clover).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Cosy, clean and friendly B&B. Great for access to central Swindon or Uffington and Avebury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Strange given all the many little thoughtful things provided that I only had one pillow. I kept forgetting to ask for another. I've no doubt that it would have appeared if only I'd remembered to ask. The car park is a little awkward to get into for some people, making parking a little tight, or you might need to ask Tony to get a fellow resident to move a little. However it is a private car park and it's free.

    There were lots of little things that you didn't need to ask for - an iron, tissues, face-cloth, cutlery etc etc and Tony would help you out with anything you lacked or needed. No sooner had a said I had a problem with my light than it was replaced. This is obviously a hotel that was updated to a high standard a long time ago, but everything is very clean and and obviously constantly maintained (e.g. fresh paint). Tony will cook your breakfast exactly how you like it if you ask.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Brill place so handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The man who runs the place was very friendly helpful breakfast will brill you could chose what you wanted all cooked fresh . the Jewel in the crown was a good place to eat only 3 mins walk from the B&B

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great, the only thing I would comment on was the shower pressure was quite low but not a massive issue.

    Tony and Annemarie are the loveliest welcoming hosts. So friendly and helpful throughout my stay, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Very nice guest house clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues Staff kept texting me for arrival time due to train delays I had to keep texting them back, was unaware I had to give exact time which made me feel a little uncomfortable at first Breakfast was early finish time being a Sunday Couldn't stand in shower as ceiling was to low Toilet lid wouldnt stay up which was awkward when using it Beds were to soft which mean one of our group decided to sleep on floor as it hurt his back Overall these are only minor things and wouldn't affect me staying here again but these issues could be easily fixed

    Excellent location and in a quiet area Very clean everything clean and spotless Staff were friendly and were helpful at all times Close to town and breakfast was very good Everything worked in room apart front bedside lamp which was not needed anyway Flannels provided and good choice of drinks in room Overall nice play to stay would recommend anyone to stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    A good location unfortunately didn't make up for the bad night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds weren't comfortable at all, a very hard mattress and bed creaked every time you slightly moved which meant very bad night's sleep The wifi just didn't work in our room, even with a booster The parking was tricky as it's a narrow lane to access the parking and we have a long car Toilet seat was broken and the hot water was either off or scalding

    Tony, the manager, was friendly Location good for access to shops/bars/restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower - no good, Poor lighting in the bathroom - had difficulty in shaving.

    location is good. Breakfast was okay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cozy place. They treat you like a King...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Lodge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice breakfast, good location and pleasant helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely host & breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small

    Lovely host & breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    It was definitely an experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water shower was tough to manage

    Place was warm and service was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Handy place for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was cool.

    Enjoyed the place very much, John was extremely friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    It was exactly what I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lodge was cozy and welcoming and the breakfasts were extraordinary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location Clean and tidy Great service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Good size room & comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight

    Good size room & comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    All in all satisfying!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not always easy locking my room from the outside.

    As requested, I always had an English breakfast - very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very Friendly Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very Friendly Staff. Delicious breakfast. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice accommodation. The host is really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t reach my room

    Lovely hosts, very accommodating and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    Friendly manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a dribble

    Friendly manager

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Very lovely experience.. indeed a homely place to live and very welcoming staffs.. Tony was a gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small

    Very friendly staff. I booked a single l room but it had all necessary stuffs ..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.5
    Accomadation was as expected for the actual cost expect that beds had springs hanging out of mattres
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable ,kno window to open for air!!,locked and glued up !..more lights could be in room a

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    5 outof 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably stay somewhere else next time.

    Room was too noisy from constant traffic?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Sleepless in Swindon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small. Think it was designed for a pair of borrowers to sleep in. Facilities a bit basic.

    Breakfast was mmmmmm delicious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Just the job!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked the breakfast to have been a little later, especially on a Sunday.

    Very helpful housekeeper/receptionist (Tony).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Lodge is very clean & the staff very friendly, welcoming too. The breakfast was very good & very fulling too. we would go again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Served a good purpose, easy to find, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit too small for 3 adults although very nice room for just 2

    Enjoyed food, chats with manager were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    The breakfasts were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a tad cleaner, especially the carpet.

    The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    The Lodge -always warm and welcoming staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a snug fit sometimes

    Loved the welcoming staff. Room clean. Food tasty. Bed comfy. Bath awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    I enjoyed my stay. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Served promptly and with a smile.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park our rental car on the street, despite being told there was parking available

    Overall comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    The lodge was as good has we could have wished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Evry thing very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Great place close to eating venues, brilliant cooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place close to eating venues, brilliant cooked breakfast, very friendly staff...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    6.7
    I really liked my room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was not cleaned my first day of the 4 days, I stayed there, like the rubbish bin, and the empty bottles of water and vine. Milk for the coffee not replaced, when it was finished and the wash cloth was not replaced with new one, when it was removed the day before I left. Things like that matter. It´s not comfortable for the client, having to go and ask for things all the time. Also, they could have wider breakfast time. There was a little complaint from the chef, when I got to breakfast 8:40, but the breakfast is announced from 7:30 - 8:45.

    I really liked my room. Big room. Nice furnitures, comfortable bed and pillows, a lot of extra pillows and blankets, big luxurious bath tub with shower. The landlord is attentive and friendly. The room was warm, although it was temperature below cero.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    6.3
    The chef/stand in manager.
    • Solo traveller

    Room too small, window didn't close, shower very poor pressure. Cooking facilities right next to the bedroom door, a bad experience.

    The chef/stand in manager. He was friendly and respectful and always offering help.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.9
    Able to accomodate a ground floor room for my disabled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast times were very early when there for a weekend of leisure.

    Able to accomodate a ground floor room for my disabled mother, and 2 separate rooms meant my brother also travelling with us had some privacy.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Management was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The water temperature of the shower for room 7 was not ideal. The staff was kind enough to direct me to the private shower room upstairs where the temperature was perfect. If the shower of the ensuite had hot water (it was lukewarm even after an adjustment from management), it would have been perfect.

    Management was very friendly and helpful. I stayed for 4 nights and the stay was comfortable. I looked forward to breakfast everyday!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    3.3
    Damp room, poor access through a wet fig tree and a ground...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Damp room, poor access through a wet fig tree and a ground littered with fallen fruit and mud. The breakfast wasn't available until 7.30am too late to be of use and the building was often unstaffed.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Great location, less than 5 mins from the old town (best...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't extend to my room (room 6, top floor) although not a major issue.

    Great location, less than 5 mins from the old town (best area for restaurants). Off road parking was to the rear of the B&B there were only three spaces but not a problem during my stay. Self catering facilities were good, a communal microwave and fridge in the hallway although I didn't make use of them. Room was a good size with a kettle and a good stock of tea coffee and hot chocolate! The room had modern new furniture with a TV and dressing table / desk. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    family room ok for toddlers but no space for older children and bathroom not spacious at all and a little shabby :( advertised car park not adequate

    staff.. location and breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    6.3
    Clean and nice hot shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hard uncomfortable bed and pillows. Room had roof windows with inadequate shades. May in England meant that room was in daylight most of the night and made it very difficult to sleep, especially with uncomfortable bed. Non existent wifi in room 6 - had to sit on stairs outside room to use.

    Clean and nice hot shower. Pleasant room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.8
    Well, the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly and the bed wasn't made particularly well. The bed I can forgive I suppose, but cleaning the toilet oneself instead of housekeeping doing it is asking too much. I complained to the proprietress and she made sure that things improved, but I'm not inclined to stay again unfortunately.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    6.3
    Quiet enough location and easy enough to get to local shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds, breakfast very average, lots of creaky stairs. The fact that we HAD to leave by 10.30 am on our departure date. Breakfast VERY early and no way around it other than not have breakfast.

    Quiet enough location and easy enough to get to local shops. Ann Marie helpful and nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    We visited Swindon for a family celebration, and The Lodge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free car park at the rear could be a bit tight if there are a lot of guests staying with cars, but it was fine for our visit - good facility.

    We visited Swindon for a family celebration, and The Lodge was a good choice. Small touches like umbrellas to borrow if it rained (it did!!), plenty of tea / coffee - and extra fresh milk - in our room were much appreciated, as were the excellent scrambled eggs as part of the plentiful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    3.8
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpet in the room was dirty and covered in bits. The furniture tops were stained and had crumbs in the grooves. The bathroom ceiling had thick black cobwebs on it. The television had very little signal and kept cutting out. The bed was ever so hard and uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was very good. Glad it was only one night in the room.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    Stayed for 5 nights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed for 5 nights. Everything, including the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the vast amount of information available(especially for a newcomer) was awesome. Many thanks!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Nice/ cosy / clean/ manager friendly/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice/ cosy / clean/ manager friendly/

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    i liked my room very much ,because it was so comfortable and...
    • Family with young children

    i liked my room very much ,because it was so comfortable and there was everything you needed.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    the host was extremely friendly and made us feel welcomed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the host was extremely friendly and made us feel welcomed from the very first minute. Breakfast was very nice and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    Convenient location and the hosts were most welcoming.
    • Family with older children

    Convenient location and the hosts were most welcoming. Added bonus the breakfast was lovely freshly made for each individual.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very enjoyable. Room facilities very good

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.6
    Manager went out of his way to help with breakfast early etc
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Manager went out of his way to help with breakfast early etc

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    5.0
    Breakfast was good and Manager very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness was poor, cobwebs everywhere and bathroom dirty.

    Breakfast was good and Manager very friendly.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: