Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Longcross Hotel And Gardens 4 stars

Trelights, Port Isaac, PL29 3TF, United Kingdom

#7 of 17 hotels in Port Isaac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 538 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect little haven for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Set in a beautiful and tranquil garden with views of the sea - sunsets were particularly spectacular! Easy drives to Port Isaac, Polzeath and Tintagel - each place offering a variety of sights and activities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Tranquil country stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    l

    Location stunning, room was fabulous with comfortable bed, lots of room, fridge was handy and water in the fridge was a nice touch, bath was great. Dinner was excellent and views from the balcony were spectacular. Breakfast was good. Walks from the hotel were great and gardens on hotel site were beautiful. Overall peaceful and relaxing place to stay with great food and facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location. Very comfortable hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful. Coped admirably with power cut on our last morning. Will return. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lanes leading to the hotel itself were quite narrow, but this is no fault of the hotel

    The staff were really nice and very friendly, very good food and a excellent comfy bed the

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, beautiful building, clean and comfy room, fabulous service and breakfast was delicious! Staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful place tucked away with stunning views of the coast and wonderful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything.

    The food was fantastic. The breakfast selection was brilliant. Lovely service. And very friendly helpful staff who were very welcoming. Including welcoming our dog. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a wonderful stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceptionally well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the best country hotels we have stayed inn.Exceptionally well run by manager and staff.attention to detail and good service all round. Food to a good standard. We had sea view room,plenty of storage space and comfortable bed. No hesitation to return to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Tranquil location with great sea views.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a tranquil location with amazing views towards the sea. The house/hotel has been tastefully refurbished, with a lovely bar, restaurant and outside terrace, and comfy lounge area. Very friendly and attentive staff. Good food too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A quiet relaxing place with beautiful views of the countryside and the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was better than we expected

    We stayed in the Stable Suite. The staff at the hotel are warm and welcoming. It was like being home from home. We dined in both nights and enjoyed really well prepared and delicious meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Good food and location for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above kitchen so had the extractor fan buzzing and radiator was playing up and noisy throughout the night

    Good food and location for what we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Good in parts but plural improvements required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No replacement light bulb available when requested. Terrible WifI reception. Insuffiecient interval between end of breakfast and clear bedroom deadline. General refurbishment possibly required.

    Very good dinner and very good waiter

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure from the shower could have been better

    The hotel is in a great location. Just a couple of miles from Port Isaac with beautiful views across the fields to the ocean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great food especially the two evening meals we had there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    We are used to better in this price bracket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the attic room banging head on beams in bedroom and bathroom. Disappointed to have to cut frozen bread and stand in a queue to make our own toast. No sheets on beds. Uncomfortable mattress on one bed with buttons digging in when trying to get to sleep. Cheap and nasty cutlery.

    Location. Good selection of beers. Parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a more comfortable mattress.

    Spectacular views from the spacious dining room made dining a pleasure, but the menu could have changed occasionally.The manager was especally helpful when we had a medical emergency one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    A fine place to stay if visiting Port Issac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no towel rack in the bathroom. New towels were left on the bed each day.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was excellent with cold and hot entries. We had cocktails on the deck and we had two dinners at the hotel in their lovely glass enclosed dining room. The food was imaginative, well prepared and priced fairly. The on-site garden was pleasant to walk through. You are a distance from the town center and would most likely need a car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic best short break we have ever had, highly recommend this hotel and the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better was the shower in our room, needs updating as you could not control the temperature dial kept turning itself up so was too hot. Shower looked a bit tired compared with the rest of the room.

    Food was fantastic, hotel and gardens are beautiful staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Friendly, helpful staff. Food was excellent and they catered for my gluten free needs. Bed very comfy. Lovely location with wonderful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming and idyllic spot, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t anything nearby to walk to, just FYI.

    Gorgeous Victorian home converted nicely into a hotel. Good blend of restored vintage features and modern conveniences. Lovely views, the staff at chef at the restaurant fulfilled a gluten free and vegetarian meal deliciously! The bar was lively and not a dark pub - a bright, high-ceilinged parlor instead. I had a charming third floor room and wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    It was quite a basic room would have liked a nicer room with a view for what we were paying,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view. Carpet was not vacuumed at all. Service for breakfast was very slow on the third day. We were over for a wedding and our family stayed in other hotels which were cheaper but had better facilities.

    Bed was very comfy and water pressure was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly and loved the gardens. Also pets allowed love that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous Victorian house with beautiful garden and unforgettable sunset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awesome.

    This is a fabulous property, very stylish and comfortable. We had a gourmet meal at the restaurant while watching beautiful sunset. Staff was very nice, friendly and helpful ( particularly taking my heavy suitcase to our room). Garden with a fountain was very beautiful. We had also very good breakfast, with fresh tasty strawberries at the end. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was foggy for most of the time we were there. That was a rare event we were told.

    We were in the lodge. Everything about this place was top class. The Lodge is set in the old garden. Bird life is amazing. Everything you might need for a self catered holiday is there. It’s spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic. Port Issac was a stone throw away. Hotel location was ideal with view of ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator for upstairs room.

    The location to Port Issac was great. The hotel was old with lots of character and charm. The king bed was great as well as the staff. The dinning room was beautiful with a fantastic view of the ocean. Jamie was a great host. He was very informative and charming. He also posted my ring that was left behind to California. Brilliant experience. Would stay again if we ever come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    If you stay at the Longcross, you will be very, very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - wish that portion of our trip had been longer!

    We found the Longcross on line and were absolutely delighted to find a beautiful inn with lovely grounds. The food was delicious and the views from the restaurant and especially the spacious deck were spectacular. In addition to all this, the staff was first rate. Hannah and Jamie (and others) were more than ready to please, professional and appropriately friendly. Would I stay there again, despite the long trip from U.S., a resounding yes!! (Be sure to take a walk in the gardens.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay was well worth the journey from Manchester to Stay here .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Really enjoyed my stay at the Longcross. The location was excellent with a fabulous view and fantastic sunset. The room was clean and comfortable . The food was excellent well presented and delicious. All the staff were friendly and couldn’t do enough to make our stay comfortable. Will definitely recommend and will absolutely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Quiet location, close to a number of interesting places. Good breakfasts and evening meals, friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable. Excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plug socket not convenient no where near a mirror when using the hair dryer .The shower took a long time to warm up and the power could have been stronger,.

    Friendly helpful staff. Lovely big room with four poster bed. We enjoyed the walk into Port Issac from hotel. Liked having a fridge in room.Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but not a ‘wow’
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited menu as it is early in the season. Also it would have been a nicer setting to have breakfast in the restaurant, the breakfast room was a bit functional.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay at the Longcross. Would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff. Room was comfortable and of a high standard with good cleanliness. Breakfast was high quality with plenty of choice and a lovely bar and restaurant also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    3.8
    Shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in the bedroom is in the wrong place. No bar No food in the evening. Toaster was complete rubbish took forever to get any colour on the bread. Tea was awful and cold.

    Shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Budget room could do with a clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was dated and overall the room was very unclean. We had to complain about the smell of the drain at first which Jamie the manager kindly rectified but the grout was dark, the floor sticky and dirty and the room very dusty. It could do with a deep clean!

    The bed was comfy. Came with a mini fridge and the shower was powerful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Lovely location and very comfortable and cosy on a cold Winter day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At this time of year the hotel offers no catering facilities so it's more like self catering - a little inconvenient but the manager personally made sure immediately after booking that I knew this was the case. Maybe some of the furniture in the suite is looking a little tired but, out of season like this, the hotel offered outstanding value for money.

    The Longcross Hotel is a lovely characterful building which offers a great location with lovely sea views. Chose to stay at a very off-season time and was rewarded with a great upgrade to a very spacious suite which was more like a self-catering cottage than a hotel room and would have been ideal for a family since it had a separate bedroom with two single beds. The Stable suite was warm and comfortable, lots of seating, huge comfy bed, lovely hot shower. The manager was very helpful during my stay and, despite being the only guest on arrival, made sure I could contact him at any time should I need anything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely romantic getaway hotel close to "Port Isaac" with beautiful well-established garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No clothes hangers in cupboard. There were a few spiders and cobwebs in the high-up arches of the suite's ceiling (bedroom & bathroom). That apart - all mod-cons available in suite.

    Good rate for "Love Shack" honeymoon suite - as the hotel was actually closed for winter, so no breakfast or service to room. That was fine as we were pre-warned. Met owners/managers briefly who were very friendly and welcoming. Gorgeous and extensive old established gardens outside our suite. Mod-cons included, tea, coffee, kettle, fridge, own suite modem, umbrella, torch, iron and ironing-board. Friendly local cat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a big room but the furniture was a little dated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room could do with a little freshening up.

    We had a big room but the furniture was a little dated, however the bed was very comfortable. I’d say not luxurious but definitely comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay, Food was fabulous and a good choice of wines.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed was a little uncomfortable.

    The friendly and very helpful staff. The food was excellent although the menu could do with changing over the course of our stay.The room was lovely and everything was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The food is amazing and the staff priceless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like

    The hotel is warm cosy welcoming and run by excellent staff There are lots of areas to be private but a pleasant bar area should you like to sit with others for a drink

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    If you don't like annexes, take care to get your room details here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It not being made clear we would be put in an annex.

    Nice facility and grounds - the annex was just OK - pleasant staff - good breakfast - nice location for visits along the coast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a fantastic location with friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in the perfect position for exploring Port Isaac and surrounding attractions. Parking is easy. Beautiful gardens, and fantastic, friendly staff who made us feel very welcome, especially Karen and Garfield. Our dog was welcomed with open arms and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay albeit short, I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred to have had a room in the main building, however the annex was of a good standard.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a very good meal and the entertainment in the bar in the evening. The next morning we had a very nice breakfast. The provision of a small fridge in our room with water included was a surprise and a great idea. I had a walk round the gardens even though it was raining and was impressed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.6
    4 night break which was 1 night to long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2/3 miles from anywhere down narrow lanes. Our room had a bathroom door hanging loosely (difficult to shut). No towel rails in bathroom. Extractor fan did bot work.

    The food was very good especially the breakfast . Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel in beautiful setting close to beautiful walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More fruit selection at breakfast

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Welcomed dogs in room.Very helpful in providing Vegan dish for my wife by prior arrangement with chef at Dinner. Good choice of Dinner menu well executed and presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Convenient for Port Isaac. Not the best value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For over £100 for one night we expected a proper double bed rather than two singles, pushed together. I would rather have mentioned this when checking out, but nobody asked.

    Nice atmosphere and good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we went for our Golden Wedding with our dog,The room was comfortable and very clean,the food was lovely and the staff were so helpful and made sure the 3 of us had a great weekend. Will go again and recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Hugely disappointing and poor value, so much so we check out a day early at our loss financially
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small, cramped, no view, two small windows providing little light. The details showed a lovely old country house but it seemed other guests and ourselves were accommodated in a rather tired uninspiring gate house with little or no soundproofing, we could hear everything from other guests and were constantly disturbed by banging fire doors and people entering the building and walking on the wooden floors. Our door to our room opened directly onto the bed affording no privacy. The owner did apologise saying we ought to have asked for another room, but we had already been told they were full! The food was ok but there was a distinct lack of polish and finesse.

    Struggling to think of anything that stood out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We had very good stay and would not hesitate to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room in top roof space which was chilly but did ask to put heating on which was no problem and shower was not very good but we had bath which was ok.

    The hotel was a lovely place and the staff was excellent very good breakfast and had evening meal was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    the lady who was on at breakfast each day was lovely.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we have been to a lot of dog friendly places and whilst they accommodated our pooches, we didn't get anything for the extra £10 per night per pooch that we paid, £80 is what it cost us. no dog bed for them, no bowls provided, no little doggy treat on the bed for them (we've had this in some places) - nothing. I felt that the surcharge was a bit steep.

    the lady who was on at breakfast each day was lovely. the pooches appreciated the sausage they had for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    Old style, old fornitures, it seems a patchwork hotel, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quite position.

    Old style, old fornitures, it seems a patchwork hotel, no harmony inside. For the price there ask for, what they offer is very low.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Stunning views, exceptional service and Cornwall quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the beds could be a bit comfier. A warmer duvet would have helped this cold frog from Australia.

    Breakfast was lovely. The home made muesli was exquisite! Dinner was also lovely. The views were stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.5
    Good location, great staff, poor accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the annex and did not feel we were staying in a hotel--we felt that we were renting someone's front room. Also apparently the hotel is `pet-friendly` and there were dogs in the room above--as we could hear!! We got what we paid for. Won`t make the same mistake again.

    The staff were friendly and efficient on arrival and throughout our 3 day stay. We chose 3 different breakfasts each morning and enjoyed them all. Good location as we could visit plenty of local coves etc without any problem. Again, well done staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant enough. The restaurant was superb. The staff were friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't realise the property was as far out of Port Isaac (10 min drive) as it is. Probably my fault for not checking, but.......

    Staff, particularly one member, were very good indeed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Great one night stay, good view and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in a prime position with a great view but if you want to leave you have to drive or keep fit with a 30 minute walk down to port Issac then a steep walk up but this should not put you off!

    We arrived and had a upgrade to a superior room - the bed was comfortable and the room had a great view! Breakfast was also included and good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Very pleasant and restfull. inor problemms were swiftly put right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No porridge for breakfast No hook behind bathroom door Chain on bath plug broken Loose toilet seat All above were repaired by second day

    Nice room, beautiful gardens. Location is good for North Cornwall coast. very pleasant clientele

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    OK but could have been better if more attention is paid to making it less tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom shower head needed descaling and cleaning. Bathroom was tired and needed repainting and plugging gaps/holes. It would be good to have a power shower. Carpet had lots of stains and room needed a repaint to freshen things up.

    Prompt breakfast service and nice full menu. Friendly staff. Nice interesting gardens. The food we had was good. Wifi worked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    A very enjoyable 4 nights. We would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would suggest that the hotel ask you to sign your bill after the meal before adding it to your room. A small mistake is usually remembered.

    The beds were new' clean and extremely comfortable and the hotel was warm at all times. We had some very enjoyable evening meals and breakfast was lovely...plenty of choice. My husband liked the cooked breakfast but for me the homemade granola, very good fresh fruit and cheese was perfect. Above all the staff were not only helpful but very pleasant and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities were poor. Room was located in its own single story brick built building at bottom of overgrown garden with no telephone connection to the hotel. Heated towel rail was dangerously hot if touched. No bedside tables were provided for the double bed. TV was old and difficult to operate. Accommodation was considered overpriced and not value for money.

    Proximity to Port Isaac. Nothing else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Very Disappointing Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was terrible. The bathroom had mould which smelt, around the widow and bath. The bathroom door was loose on hinges and difficult to close. A light bulb in the bedroom was missing. Small bedroom for the price at the back of the building near car park, which meant we were woken up early by guests walking past.

    The gardens were beautiful. The main lobby and drawing rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous find! Great service and exceptional rooms and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked very last minute after not liking the place we were originally meant to stay, we were thrilled when we arrived at the hotel as it was so beautiful, the gardens are perfectly manicured and the staff very friendly and welcoming, we had a fantastic lodge with everything we needed and felt very comfortable, they have the most beautiful beach 5 minutes away and the breakfast in the morning was fabulous, would highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Clean, large, scenic accommodation. Breathtaking views of the ocean from suite and restaurant. Excellent, reasonable food. Beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean. Have travelled all over and one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    We were in Cornwall for a family wedding at Trelill so 'Longcross' was conveniently near.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Warm and friendly members of staff, lovely food, and everywhere spotlessly clean. It was our first visit but we would love to stay there again sometime.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Easy parking - lovely setting friendly staff, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Setting was good. Easy access from car park to hotel. Outside of the town but after a long day touring it had all that was required. Good restaurant, comfortable lounges and exterior seating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Had a lovley stay port issac fab hotel good food very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four poster was slightly noisey when u moved in the bed kept partner awake and he me apart frm that very lovley stay

    James was an excellent host he had a arm sling on but he still gve excellent servicefour

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Good accommodation in isolated location ; handy for Port Isaac
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a woodland lodge, should have been called a wood louse lodge as we had an infestation - I mentioned this to the receptionist when I went to pay the bill, expected some comment or offer of a reduction but no reaction whatsoever

    very well equipped 2 bed lodge; we stayed 3 nights, the kids loved having their own tv in their bedroom;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Road trip August 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4* hotel I found the room we were allocated sadly not up to par. No welcome pack to greet us and a wobbly toilet. According to staff if booking through a third party you'll get given the lesser quality. This statement is true! £240 for two nights in a tired, tiny, shabby quarter wasn't a pleasant stay. We had previously stayed in a 4* property in Bude, that was stunning in every way. staff at The Longcross Gardens though nice enough didn't give you the personal touch. They were more attentive to the locals.

    The gardens were pretty and the staff at breakfast were accommodating. The reception welcome was to standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom in the hotel was a very good size with great views. The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. Overall enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in rooms so a little stuffy.

    Nice Hotel, close to Port Isaac. Rooms comfortable with top floor having sea views. Dinner at onsite restaurant is very good but pricey, great views from the deck. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location, food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and TV screen size.

    We only had the breakfast as we ate out in a different place each night for no other reason than seeing the locality on a broader basis. We sampled the full Cornish breakfast, continental and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and they were all delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent views and recommendable cuisine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mediocre room. Lack of privacy as Room overlooked another.

    Excellent large conservatory restaurant with stunning panoramic views over the bay. Delicious food, well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay longer.

    What a lovely hotel in a fantastic location. We were touring around Cornwall so only stayed for one night, we would have definitely stayed longer if our trip had allowed. Lovely staff, very efficient. A large room with a very comfy bed and fantastic food in the restaurant. Great value for money. We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Quiet location, good for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost is high for the overall standard of hotel and rooms. Minor issue, our room (4) but lacked electric sockets in suitable locations. No room safe, although crime seemed unlikely. Not within easy walking of Port Isaac, but only a short drive.

    Nice location, very quiet with good views (if weather allows). Outdoor dinning areas provides good panoramic views. Polite and helpful staff, clean rooms and common areas Reasonable but basic facilities. Large Victorian garden, with many surprises. Good parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    ****** Great hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed some cleaning as cobwebs around light fittings. Table and chairs in bar needs repairs as legs are broken. Dog friendly but no area to let the dog off lead and one water boil which was empty the whole time.

    Beautiful hotel and gardens and amazing, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfy without being exceptional, nothing wrong, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault, but the sat Nav on the rental car consistently placed Longcross about 1/2 mile away from true location, we had to ask locals for re-direction

    Comfy without being exceptional, nothing wrong, just didn't stand out from the crowd.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Room in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to the room is it could have done with a bigger window fitted for a much better sea view, not sure if the little building is listed if not its missing a great view opportunity!! and although the room was fairly clean there were parts of it that weren't could do with a deep clean.

    We stayed in the room in the garden it was nice and quiet. Breakfast was good and we ate in the restaurant both nights as the food was so good the first night, cocktails were also really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Our stay at the Longcross Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Regrettably the hotel had booked a wedding party which clashed with our stay and we were only informed of it a week before our arrival and too late to cancel under the terms of the agreement. Laughably we were told on our arrival when the matter was raised that cancelling would have been ok however this option was not offered when we were contacted the week before and in any event as a group we had planned and very much looked forward to our well earned break at Longcross away from very busy jobs. To make matters worse we were also told that the use of the hotel & its facilities would be off limits during the night of the wedding so not having the use of the bar or the ability to book a meal is rather perplexing and also acceptable, however to be fair the hotel did offer some compensation and were apologetic, both being accepted but too little to late and definitely not something we were prepared to stress and affect us as a group more than it did. we made the best of our stay. On leaving my friends settled there bill in full my wife and I had already paid in full the month before. But the hotel made an error which only came to light when I checked my credit card statement they had undercharged my friends but decided to charge the shortfall to my card. again not acceptable a phone call to discuss the matter would have been more appropriate but to go ahead and charge me when I had paid is unfortunate the matter was brought to the attention of Booking.com again apologies were belatedly given by the hotel but in light of the first error a little more could have been done. I would sum up by saying our positive attitude got us through a frustrating weekend thankfully on another weekend it could have been a truly memorable weekend for all the right reasons.

    The hotel was in a fantastic location for us central to the areas we wanted to visit. The area was great to explore with some wonderful walks and fantastic coast line. We arrived early and hoped to just leave our luggage thankfully our suite was ready and we were allowed to use it straight away which was a plus. I had booked the large suite for my party separate from the main hotel a short walk across the car park which was ideal and exceeded our expectations it was well kitted out the beds were very comfortable and the lounge upstairs was great for a get together to relax enjoy our own space The hotel itself had a nice bar and lounge area the breakfast was very tasty and the staff serving it were very pleasant and accommodating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Would recommend the restaurant to anyone, FAB!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (15), must have been next to a generator or fan of some kind that seemed to hum all night this coupled with THE worst pillows I've ever slept on, did not make for a restful night. Lots of cobwebs in our room, which we mentioned on the way out...this got a frosty response so didn't feel we could mention the noise or pillows!

    The staff were friendly and professional, the overall standard of cleaniness and decor was excellent. Wonderful food and great service, the restaurant had a great atmosphere. The bar area and sitting room were welcoming, bright and comfortable. The breakfast room was a little noisy but great breakfast. We would stay again but would make sure we would be in a different room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Welcoming, relaxing and a good central place for visiting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I missed was a flannel was not provided - I had forgotten mine. But this is the only thing I can think of. There was nothing I didn't like

    Lovely quiet location, perfect for walking and sightseeing. Staff were really helpful and attentive and knowledgable about the area . The rooms in the other buildings allow the venue to be pet friendly without disturbing other guests . The Victorian garden is interesting and a pleasure to walk round.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Would go back !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe hanging space was limited. If you were to stay for a couple of weeks you would struggle for space, but there were plenty of drawers. Our room was at the top of the hotel in the eaves and having a shower was a little cramped.

    A short drive to many other locations. Excellent breakfasts and evening meals. Staff were all lovely. Bed was comfy. The gardens were very interesting - a bit like a maze.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Longcross Hotel And Gardens traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: