Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Lonsdale House Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

11 Daltongate, Ulverston, LA12 7BD, United Kingdom

#10 of 15 hotels in Ulverston

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot room. Could really have done with a small fridge in room. Also the bedding wasn't fitted so tossing and turning with the heat became tangled up quickly!

    The hotel staff was amazing. Friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.5
    A bit of trickery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact that they sold a room with a spar that has clear not been working for ages. I think they should remove that option completely because it doesn't even look like it ever worked. There are also no lifts but this was never mentioned anywhere

    Staff were very friendly. Nice neat location with paid parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great location nice and clean with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had no air conditioning and being on the top floor the heat was unbearable due to the outside temperature. Never used the bed just lay on top

    Great location nice and clean with good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were pleasant and of good size ,the bathroom clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea making facilities in the room

    The rooms were pleasant and of good size ,the bathroom clean and again spacious - Shower - no bath. The breakfast was very good Local car parking excellent and proximity to the town centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.0
    Location, friendly reception,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast cold pre toasted and left toast, hard fried eggs, pre cooked and reheated sausage not a good breakfast, waitress not very friendly

    Location, friendly reception,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Great little hotel in a beautiful place....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The streets are a little noisy at night time - i think there is a pub close by!

    The family room was a great size - ample room to move around in There were 2 beds - the main bed was huge....all 3 of us slept in it! All staff were really helpful - the woman at reception and the lady who served our breakfast were great. The gardens and breakfast are fantastic and the hotel is a stones throw away from the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's dated could do with a face lift. Gardens need attention breakfast was like faulty towers. Ordered tea and toast also our hot breakfast service was so quick I didn't even get a chance to finish well even start my cereal. Told staff member who laughed. Think there are training needs . Sat watching other guests going through same experience not good. Location is fantastic however.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.0
    Lacking customer care and any interaction with guests, poor value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No customer care whatsoever. Room smelt musty. Uncomfortable bed, duvet so thin and old, the cover ripped when I turned over. No extra blankets and no staff available at night so nothing to be done and after a 14 hour day this wasn't ideal. Noisy as no double glazing and a band was playing in the pub opposite. Didn't stay the second night as had no sleep - eventually got to sleep at 7 am so missed breakfast. Complained as thought I would be offered a refund - they couldn't have cared less - disappointing as lovely building and gardens.

    Location Shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.3
    Proximity to town centre and low price were the redeeming factors for the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor rather threadbare and dated. Mattress was almost like plywood on springs (maybe I'm spoiled at home). I'd specified a room with a view and my view was a solid wall 10' from the wndow.

    Proximity to town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel with excellent freshly cooked breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit dated decor. Room was good size - comfortable four poster bed. Big bathroom. Tea, coffee and biscuits in room. Excellent breakfast. Lovely garden area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    It was a pleasant building and the staff were very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that it did not have its own car park. However this did not pose any problem as we could park very close to the hotel for £1 per 24 hours

    It was a pleasant building and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    all in all a lovely week-end and would possibly stay again but lack of facilities let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Okay, the hotel is a lovely building but needs some TLC, our room could do with a bit of sprucing up, the hotel website mentions a bar and food available - ideal to have a drink in the walled garden - unfortunately no bar which was a shame, also the garden is lovely but needs attention, it would be a real asset so to be honest I think we paid over the odds

    The location is excellent, close to all the shops and bars but no noise at the property. The room was nice, four poster, very comfy, room was spacious, the bathroom was also large with a whirlpool bath. The view into the garden was lovely (room 310). The breakfast was very good, lots of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay just for one night it was as one would expect close to town for the local restaurant s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s an old building and it looks tired however it was clean

    Our room was really nice the staff were really helpful and I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Always enjoy staying here!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con and the plug to the shower struggled to drain and overflowed

    Staff are so friendly and welcoming. Fantastic location, in the heart of Ulverston but luckily don't hear the noise. Good quality breakfast, with and a great selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not fault anything and considering it was Bank Holiday weekend and school holidays, the hotel was excellent value for money.

    Excellent customer service from all staff. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and vegetarian options. Lovely little extras like biscuits in the room together with plenty tea, coffee and milk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for what we got and over rated and a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress was lumpy and duvet was skimpy. Hard to sleep well. Was a noisy bar opposite which had live music late at night. Little things like overhead reading light was missing a bulb.

    Very good location. Lovely walled garden. Breakfast included which was adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.5
    location, cooked breakfast, lovely back garden needs looked...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    carpet, kettle, toilet sink unit had two separate taps one for hot water and one for cold water

    location, cooked breakfast, lovely back garden needs looked after

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    5.8
    Won't stay this hotel again
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear whoever was above us everymove they made, no a good nights sleepas bed was uncomfortable and very noisy

    Liked the area were we stayed as it was central to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything!

    Staff were very helpful and friendly and welcoming. Lots of choice at breakfast and freshly cooked. Lovely selections of tea / coffee in rooms. Car park nearby (not the one opposite as that is expensive - the receptionist showed me one just a minute up the road) Very comfortable beds. Very spacious bathroom with lovely shower. Strongly recommended, hope to stay here again. Lovely garden too. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money with s special
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park just over the road and not expensive but not free as booking.com advertise unless you arrive after 6 pm and leave before 8am. We believe we left a mobile charger in the room and rang the hotel. I specifically asked if room had been booked out again and I was told no. Cleaned my staff reported it was not there but we think it was still plugged in by the door and no one seemed prepared to specifically go and look. Also on arrival receptionist was insistent we did not have breakfast included. I challenged this with another member of staff who apologised saying all rooms rates come with breakfast no matter how much you pay. Stayed st another hotel the following night and staff far more helpful but not such a nice hotel.

    The room was as it said in details and very clean and comfortbke. Very comfy bed. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.8
    Bedrooms in need of a refresh.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels and sheets were old and worn. Pillows and duvet looked old and felt well used and a bit dirty. Furniture in the bedroom was old, dated and worn. The chair in the room was thread bear and looked dirty.

    Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. There was convenient parking outside the hotel. The room was a decent size. Bathroom had recently been upgraded and the shower was very good, although it was over the path.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    It was comfortable, with friendly staff but would not want to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking.The breakfast.Parking was either a walk up the hill or with a charge.The coffee was lukewarm and the toast served too soon so was cold.

    Bed very comfy and clean. Pillows particularly comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel need a overhaul the decorations and fittings dated The hotel is really clean do t let this put you off The bed in our superior room was a small double which was disappointing and a hard mattress so didn’t get a good sleep The shower is rubbish it runs off the bath so there is no water pressure so only sprays out a bit of water a small tv in the room for a superior room we were disappointed should of been bigger

    Good location clean hotel Breakfast was good £1 for parking for 24 hours behind the car park at the front that’s £15 for 24 hours The garden at the back is really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    3.3
    Dirty and outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdated, dirty, poor facilities, poor staff. Wallpaper and paint peeling in both rooms and all corridors. Booked superior double rooms - 2 single beds in one and a small double bed in the other. Waited 25 minutes for breakfast. Hotel photos do not represent the current state of the hotel. Terrible hotel.

    Only positive was the location. Right in the centre of Ulverston.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    We had a short trip, Going Fishing and Playing Golf and we will be Booking to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    The bedroom was clean and fresh with a large shower room. The Breakfast was fantastic with a wide selection on the table and a English Breakfast to die for. With great service from booking in to checking out. This Hotel is a credit to the Tourist industry, and we will be back Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.9
    Central but quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central but quiet location. A little tip dont park your car in the car park directly in the front of the hotel its complicated and too expensive. Drive UP the hill 60 yards first right then second right another 60 yards the Stockbridge lane car park there and it is just £1 for 24 hours parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged for the breakfast when we didn't have it for two mornings

    Great location breakfast was lovely garden was pretty and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    6.3
    Functional place in a charming town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced for what you get . Some of the carpets and chairs are getting threadbare. The hotel is on a narrow lane , not so easy to find

    The hotel has a lovely walled garden. Also a nice lounge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Good and would consider again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was on top floor so a few flights of stairs. No bother for me but could be for other people. Some of the decor was tired but did not detract from the plus points.

    Room was big and the staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The location was in the middle of town with plenty of choices for dinner. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.3
    Overall an enjoyable stay and would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to park on a Public car park a few hundred yards away. Not ideal if you have a lot of luggage and have mobility issues.

    Good access to the Town centre. An excellent, well cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Wonderful. Couldn’t have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave!! :)

    Everything was wonderful. The room was lovely and clean and gorgeous for the price. The location was ideal for the Laurel and Hardy Museum and The Stan Laurel Inn, which was perfect for a pair of Stan and Ollie fans!!! Totally exceeded my expectations for the price! Excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the above the hotel fully met our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were told that we were too early to occupy our room. We asked to use the toilet but were told this was not possible as cleaning was in progress.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    3.8
    very grubby hotel and room very bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very grubby throughout The bed matteress was old and battered, thge bathroom was dirty, bath was full of hairs!! not clean very noisy room from 7am in the morning , you could here all the staff talking, staircase was very loud avoid this hotel and stay somewhere else

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.1
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed updating, decorating and painting, single glazed window got a bit cold, only a small electric heater in room, curtains had to be clipped with pin as they would not close together.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.1
    Lonsdale House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor needing updated in room - rather old-fashioned and worn. Breakfast was basic but ample (no menu, just asked if we wanted a 'full English'). Upon checking out, not asked about whether or not we were satisfied with our stay. Overall, rather expensive for what was on offer (£75 for one night stay for two in early April) - especially when £5 for parking in council car park opposite is then added.

    Very comfortable four-poster bed and large Jacuzzi bath. Easy access to the main part of the town, but far-enough away not to be disturbed by weekend partying.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    4.6
    Bed should have been better too noisy for a quite stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music noise only stayed the one night went elsewhere. Bedding smelt odd . Mattress badly worn and too soft Springs moving and noisy Please note only used room no other facilities Tv old small and sound poor

    Plenty hot water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was far off from the center and we don't get buses, trains or cabs on the Easter sunday for the Goape booking.

    Breakfast was awesome ! Rooms were neat and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfasts had exelent variety, the staff were amazing and went beyond their time cut off to help us feed our baby something proper before we left for the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t plug kettle in on the tea tray. Room was. On top floor so unsuitable for people with mobility problems (not advised at time of booking). Although comfortable the hotel does need a little tlc

    The room was larger than normal and had whirlpool bath. Breakfast was very good. Lady that greeted us on arrival and departure was really good and advised that car park around the corner was only £1 for 24 hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.5
    okay, will look for other options next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely poor internet connection. Shower facility not very comfort - the shower ejects water at an extremely fast rate.

    Room, food, location, staff, view from window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great staff and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size was a little on the small side. Views from the room weren’t great.

    Would’ve been excellent if the room was a little bigger however the four poster bed and jacuzzi bath really made our experience an enjoyable one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dry cold very hard toast for breakfast.Wobbly table requiring support which we provided.Badly painted window frame in bathroom. Ill fitting net curtain in bedroom. I had to place electric kettle on floor in order to plug it in socket.I am 80 years and boiling water on the floor not acceptable.Simple remedies.

    Comfy bed.Nice bathroom and shower.My son had excellent full English breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff extremely friendly & helpful with parking & advice where to eat & where to visit.The room was spotless & breakfast fantastic choice,& the cooked breakfast (huge)👍😊 kept us going all day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.8
    Shame about the noise we experienced in that room, we would stay again in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was too firm for me, also in our room (309) there was a lot of walking about in the room above us late at night, during the night at times, and in the morning, which disturbed my sleep unfortunately.

    The staff were friendly, and the central location was very good as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for starting the Cumbria way the next day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location for starting the Cumbria way the next day and breakfast from 7.30am which is ideal for an early start. Great full English with generous portions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no bar.it does not say this on its website.l would not have booked if i had known.the phase sharp practice comes to mind.

    Service friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, comfortable, amazing staff - decor and facilities outdated. Excellent price :)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was very tired, with old décor, fittings and storage heating only; the description said that some of the top rooms had stair access only, but there were no lifts at all, so had to climb 4 flights of stairs - a little misleading. The bathroom needed attention paying to maintenance. Very poor wi-fi

    Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was incredible, hotel very quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Our weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Think breakfast could be a little later on a Sunday.Its weekend and when your up early all week it's nice to have an extra 30 minutes.

    Like the survey clean friendly staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Ulverston was a very pleasant and relaxing Market Town with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ulverston was a very pleasant and relaxing Market Town with some great pubs and restaurants. The Lonsdale Hotel was a great location with terrific staff and although the car parking had to be paid for it was opposite the hotel and entireably reasonable. For the walkers it's the start of the 'Cumbria Way' and we thoroughly enjoyed a gentle journey and stop-offs along the coastal road to Barrow. The Bosun's Locker Cafe on Roa Island was a 'Little Jewel' on our travels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Had a lovely time in a nice clean comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar could have been open.

    The young ladies that worked in the hotel were a credit to them. The couldn't do enough for us. Great value for money right in the center of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything....wasn't what it said it was Room dirty Bedding dirty Bathroom unclean shower broken Damp in the ceiling Doors slamming in middle of night Put in complaint no feedback from hotel....restaurant and bar were closed were not informed when booking

    Nothing Leaving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great location to the town centre everything within a couple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar and restaurant were not open during our stay which was disappointing

    Great location to the town centre everything within a couple minutes of walk. Room was large and very comfortable and the spa bath was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    7.1
    Smashing family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other than breakfast there was no catering facility the town was very busy and it was impossible to get anywhere to eat without a reservation maybe the hotel could advise the need to book a restaurant on making reservation?

    Clean, friendly and breakfast was lovely 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower a bit tricky to get the temperature right!

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Our family room was spacious and the beds comfortable. Good breakfast. Good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    7.9
    Staff always very polite, hotel clean and comfortable, excellent location
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was very small, shower not that good and hot tap on sink not working , stayed 3 times now in the hotel but this has been the worse room

    Staff polite and friendly, bed very comfortable, excellent breakfast, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    6.3
    Lovely friendly staff, fab location and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are desperately in need of updating and realistically are not worth the rates being charged. This hotel is crying out for a refurb - I would love to take it on !!

    Lovely friendly staff, fab location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay for 1-2 nights. Ideal location for driving to The Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car park - you have to use the pay and display car park opposite. Windows did not block out noise of revellers in street below. Bed was comfortable but creaked at the slightest movement. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast time 7.30am to 9.30am a little early for a weekend.

    Great location for visting the surrounding area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable One Day Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is a community car park close to the hotel. but would have expected that being right in the center of the city. The shampoo packets are not great.

    City Center. The omelette for the breakfast was very nice. The room was perfect and we had the four poster bed. Room was vey cosy, big and warm. restaurant a bit small and not fancy but good food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.3
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park is across the road from the hotel and on a dark wet night the payment machine isn’t lit. Not the hotels fault I know, but be prepared.

    A good central hotel. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was superb!

    The location was great. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Cant fault anything. The breakfast was also excellent. I would recommend this to anyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    7.5
    For one night it was satisfactory .
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiators went off in the room in the evening & it was chilly, this meant the bathroom was cold when I was showering .

    It was central to the town . Staff were very helpful , room was well equipped , breakfast was good & the price was very reasonable .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.2
    Nice value for money hotel with exceptional breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there is no bar or restaurant. However there is a fab pub next door which provides exceptional meals so that wasn’t a problem. The room was lovely however my husband is 6ft 6 and the ceiling was extremely low in places which caused a problem. The tv didn’t work but that was just minor overall it was a lovely clean place to stay.

    Lovely staff, very comfortable bed. Breakfast was huge and freshly cooked Very good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel very near to all shops and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water top in room 312 where we stayed was just trickling but we forgot to tell the staff. There was no bar open during our stay but not a problem as a 1 minute walk to the centre.

    Very comfy bed and excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    It's the second time that I've stayed there and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative thing is that we booked a double room with a spa bath tub and we got a normal bath tub. But we were happy with our room anyway.

    It's the second time that I've stayed there and everything was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant location for visiting family, comfortable beds, lovely food, staff are polite and friendly
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was adequate but a lot smaller than the last one I had when stayed there previously, no shower cap in bathroom not a problem but had one last time

    Staff are always polite and friendly, good choice for breakfast and nice and hot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a superior room which was very ordinary. Expected a bath and got a shower in a very small bathroom. Only thing in the room was a wardrobe with hangers but no drawers or shelves to put jumpers etc. anywhere in the room. No bar or restaurant as they were both closed.

    Lovely breakfast and obviously cooked fresh. Staff at breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    We would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am sure the old style sash windows will be replaced in due course but it wasn't a problem.

    Staff attitude was very helpful, efficient and welcoming. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    Just ideal for what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff where excellent, could not have been more friendly, and the breakfast, superb. Bonus £1 for 24 hr parking on public car park only 100 yards from hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Had a very satisfying one night stay and we would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints about the hotel or location but the parking though directly in front of the hotel was a little expensive if you were there all day if there was a cheaper alternative we were not informed about it.

    Great breakfast good clean food and with plenty of options if you didn't want a full English. Spacious and spotless rooms ours was warm and cosy when we got there on a cold wet night. Staff busy but very friendly and found time to answer questions. Great location with ample places to eat nearby we had a lovely meal at Betulla's Italian restaurant around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay in a lovely lakes town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault anything.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. Our room was lovely, with a big comfy bed and nice en suite with shower. We were on the front, but it was nice and quiet. The cheaper of the the two car parks was a very short walk from the hotel, which wasn't a problem. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and nicely set out. We had booked bed and breakfast, and Ulverston provided plenty of places to eat in the evening. We ate in the Kings Arms, where the food was delicious. All in all a lovely stay. The Buddhist temple is worth a visit too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for last minute booking
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom facilities needed updating Heating in bedroom not easy to control Not aware when booking of the situation on top floor, too many stairs

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay and improvements easy to implement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room decor needs updating particularly the bathroom only issue 're breakfast is that chef cannot cook eggs!....ps. would have been a nice touch if hotel offered to pay car park costs (£6.00 p day)

    Comfortable but basic room good choices at breakfast staff all helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    8.3
    Good but disappointing to go downstairs to our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked for opening window which we had as we sleep with it open. Unfortunately every morning the deliveries to nearby places were very loud.

    Very clean and lovely staff. Also lovely building and garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.8
    Loved it! Will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real negative coments It's a lovely place could do with a little modernisation,

    It was Clean and tidy and the staff where very nice the room was lovely and warm very big room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    8.8
    Nice rooms, good breakfast and beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    30 mins drive away from the main Windermere attractions.

    Nice, spacious rooms with a pleasant decor. Clean bathrooms. Breakfast was really good. Nice garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: