Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grange Boutique Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kents Bank Road, Grange Over Sands, LA11 7EY, United Kingdom

#6 of 18 hotels in Grange Over Sands

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 453 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    Had an issue with check in - no one available for around...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in was awaiting refurbishment and although clean was very dated

    Had an issue with check in - no one available for around 10-15 minutes. Didn't get a chance to sample breakfast which I'm told was good as it doesn't start getting served till 8.30am so if you are in a rush to leave in the morning don't pay for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything, Jacque is one lovely lady and she definitely knows her stuff! She’s so friendly and overall just a genuinely lovely person. The Boutique exceeded our expectations massively, and the rooms are absolutely beautiful. She has done a wonderful job with them. We will definitely be back! The breakfasts are fab! So much to choose from! Thank you so much! X

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel. A little pricey but after staying here we could see why. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The local shops in the village weren't open on Sundays apart from the little Spar & Co-op.

    Jackie, the owner, was so welcoming & friendly. Very knowledgeable about the local area & things to do, & the local history. The hotel itself was an amazing building & Jackie showed us the new apartments downstairs that they were refurbishing. They were absolutely amazing & we were wowed by her vision. Room was lovely, lots of space, very clean & comfortable, as well as a huge bed. Breakfast was very tasty with a good variation of choice. And ingredients were all fresh & locally sourced. Thoroughly recommend this place, we would definitely stay here again if we were visiting the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Everything, the room was well furnished, warm &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike the place was excellent

    Everything, the room was well furnished, warm & comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are a lot of very nice finishing touches in this hotel that make it feel a cut above the rest, from plush carpets in the bedrooms to nicely laid tables at breakfast, even the sausages are from a local award winning butchers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    A really pleasant supprise will return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just wish we could have stayed longer

    Superb we were upgraded to suite newly refurbished fantastic facilities inc jacuzzi, under floor heating ,two large screen TVs ,etc etc has to be seen to be appreciated Lots of room to relax in real style

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave after 3 days.

    Fantastic hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Jackie and her knowledge of the area was amazing. Beds, breakfast and facilities were all spot on. Will Definitely return soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel,good nights sleep,good breakfast.Highly recomended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent staff,running 1st rate small hotel.Rooms excellent,with 5 star bathroom facilities.Locally sourced well prepared breakfast. A pleasure to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    10
    The Grange Boutique Hotel is already fabulous and will only get better in the coming months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Everything was fabulous.

    We are not hotel inspectors or food critics, so this review is simply based on our personal experience. Our stay was for Sunday night on a bed & breakfast basis. We only booked a few days before our planned visit to the Lake District as a way of extending our holiday and avoiding the Monday morning journey from Suffolk. We had never visited Grange-Over-Sands before and had never previously heard of the Grange Boutique Hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the hotel owner, Jacqui. A very warm and informative welcome including a brief tour of the hotel where we were shown two of the lower floor suites. One is finished and one is nearing completion. We were quite simply blown away by the standard and facilities in both. Our own room was lovely and we really enjoyed our brief stay. Breakfast was absolutely superb - the best brown bread toast either of us had ever had. Jacqui informed us that everything was, as far as possible, sourced locally. If you are looking for absolute luxury, The Grange Boutique Hotel is well worth a look. The forthcoming changes that the owners are planning, converting more of the existing rooms into suites with self-catering facilities, will appeal to many people. We would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Grange Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good

    Very comfortable quiet room, in a great location. Excellent breakfast sourced locally. Great service, very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Took up the suggestion of a trip on the lake leaving from Lakeside - no issues with parking and had a lovely day. Hotel in the middle of extensive renovations and will be stunning when complete at no time was the work detrement to our stay. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit hard for our liking

    Very friendly staff, welcomed from the minute we arrived. Breakfast was also good. Fan was supplied in the room else the heat would be unbearable. It is a lovely house, we had breakfast in the lounge with the dogs. Nice place to walk around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    7.9
    Spacious and clean with wonderful breakfasts and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View over the backyard from the room not the best

    Spacious and clean with wonderful breakfasts and helpful proprietor who was really helpful in giving advice as to places to eat and visit. Cartmel was great and the sticky toffee pudding shop a must see

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Unexpected luxury and a friendly helpful host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rain shower is very nice but not practical if you don't want to have wet hair. Either a shower cap or a flannel would have been useful.

    The improvements to the building are ongoing but the completed rooms are of a very high standard and spacious. The furnishings are lovely & the rooms very comfortable. A perfect place to base yourself to explore this part of the Lake District & for Cartmel racecourse. The home cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    5.8
    Billed as a boutique hotel, more like an average b&b.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room stuffy, view of the back yard, sound of mechanical saw from business next door.

    Our room was, we were told, 'the worst' so can't give a full picture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stop in very clean & comfortable room ideal for exploring the Southern Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clients need to be aware that currently its nearer to a B&B than Hotel - though a very good B&B. This was not a problem to us. The main issue people may encounter is the lack of restaurant for evening meals - The landlady will offer recommendations - though we struggled to find good places to eat in the town and the surrounding villages.

    Good sized room, very clean, great breakfast and very friendly and informative host. There is ample off-street parking. The location is close to the town centre and the promeade is in easy reach. The hotel is in the process of having its rooms upgraded to a superb standard. Our room was one of cheaper rooms but perfectly adequate with plenty of room, very clean, large modern TV, good working WiFi. Our room had dual aspect - great for getting a cool draft through the room as we were their in the July2018 heatwave. It was also quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    A friendly, comfortable and good value place to stay in Grange.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    We only spent one night at the hotel but it was nice to have a good-sized room with a separate area for sitting and watching TV. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the hot choices were cooked to order and excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    A very good hotel in a good location for staying in the lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Manager was very friendly and professional. Good size room beautifully appointed. A very good place to stay if holidaying in the lake district. Located in a very attractive interesting little town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    Nothing was too much trouble for the owner which helped make a very relaxing few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A fridge in the room would be welcome as would larger bath sheets in the bathroom and a new shower curtain

    Extremely comfy bed, good choice at breakfast and well cooked, good location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Renovations were underway in the basement and Jackie showed us the planned work. Can't wait to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Jackie our host was very friendly, informative and made us feel very welcome. Arranged taxis for the races, guided us to restaurants etc. Nothing was too much trouble 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    great hotel, great location, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think it's important that people understand the hotel does not offer evening meals, even though this is suggested on the website. However there are several local eateries to suit every pocket.

    Lovely comfortable room and bathroom, the owner is very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of local facilities and destinations. The breakfast is to a great standard with the best local produce which is cooked and served with loving care. The owner is obviously passionate about the hotel which is currently being converted to a boutique style and this is being done with excellent taste and to a high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Boutique hotel five star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Black pudding for breakfast.

    The room was very spacious and clean and tidy the bathroom was awesome his and hers wash basin nice touch. The receptionist was very good knew alot about of places to go and visit and where to dine! Which really good considering it was my first time to the lake district . Parking was okay on site but be careful of bigger cars four by four one they take up too much room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Good location, great hotel, superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel manager Jackie was very friendly and made us feel most welcome. The hotel location was perfect, peaceful and quiet yet on the edge of the town. Our room had been recently decorated / refitted to a high standard and was very clean. Our bed was the most comfortable I had slept in! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice for location and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disabled access not brilliant.

    The guest house was originally a private mansion sized house and is being refurbished and extended to a high contemporary standard. Our bedroom was brand new and very large with a similarly new en-suite. Both well planned and high quality. The owner is very attentive and obliging. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.2
    Really nice place to stay and central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice place to stay, arrived late and was greeted by really helpful owner who obviously knows how to run a professional set up and make guests feel welcome. Good size room and newly refurbished bathroom with comfortable bed and good wi fi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Easy to find, very comfortable, clean and in a fantastic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very hot when we were there and air con would have been good.

    Lovely place, great breakfast and very pleasant owner. She was very helpful and easy to talk to. Gave us some excellent tips and was very knowledgeable about area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    3.8
    FOOD POISONING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Myself and my partner had booked for 3 nights at the hotel and went home after 2 due myself getting food poisoning when I had only eaten at the hotel itself when I informed the owner we were going early because of food posing she would not refund at all for the night we did not stay which I find strange as the reason we had to leave was due to there food.

    The hotel room was okay but not worth he price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Spot on for my needs.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having breakfast in the lounge, because of the dog, was not a problem, but a slightly higher table than the one used would have made eating my lovely runny egg a little tidier!

    The breakfast sausages were amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Room was large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was all very good.

    Room was large and comfortable. Shower in the bath good very large bed. All very very clean and the breakfast was first class. The host of the hotel was absolutely excellent informative and friendly. I really would visit this hotel okay, excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    We were sorry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would only say that the stone stairs at the front of the hotel might prove difficult for some people, carrying luggage, etc.

    We very much enjoyed our short break at the hotel. We had a large, spacious comfortable room with ensuite. Breakfast was outstanding, food sourced from local suppliers and the best poached eggs ever! The property is being renovated to a very high standard & the newly renovated self contained suite has the wow factor. We cannot speak highly enough of our "host" Jackie, (husband & wife owners), she is helpful, informative & always meets you with a big friendly smile - they deserve much success.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    I loved everything, staff very friendly, good quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved everything, staff very friendly, good quality of food, beds very comfy lovely bathroom, the location is good too, near to restaurants, shops and places to go for a walk. I definitely come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay. Little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too firm for me but no problem for husband.

    Room was spacious, airy and well equipped. Jackie, the owner was very welcoming and friendly, recommended places of interest to visit and offered to ring ahead and book restaurants and taxis if required. Would definitely recommend. Xxx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    5 star treatment, breakfast was out of this world, all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    5 star treatment, breakfast was out of this world, all locally sourced and cooked to perfection, Jackie is amazing and catered to our every need from the very start. Very helpful and friendly with good local knowledge. The deluxe suite is absolutely beautiful. Was taken back because the pictures don’t do it justice. Perfectly clean not a spec of dust anywhere and bed was very comfortable. Couldn’t recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely accomodation very interesting to hear about it's history from Jackie the owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photo on Booking.com does not show the correct amount of steps to the property which are actually quite steep and difficult for people with mobility issues. Disappointed to discover there no evening meals available as the restaurant was being updated.

    The proprietor was very friendly and informative about things to do in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    The Lymehurst - a hidden Gem in Grange
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Lymehurst is in a brilliant location to explore the Lakes and surrounding area. The facilities are superb, in actual fact, the room is that great you feel torn to leave it. Staff excellent, breakfast amazing - would I stay again - without a doubt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in the lilac cottage for my partners birthday, hotel owner Jackie sent a glass of Buck’s Fizz with our breakfast to celebrate which was a nice extra touch, spa bathroom was amazing! Such a gorgeous suite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Despite a major refurbishment there was little inconvenience to the guests and everything remained clean, tidy and accessible.

    Large room, comfy bed, plenty of storage, piping hot water, excellent staff, quality food and good selection to choose from at breakfast, , good parking, good location, lots of brochures, spacious bathroom, Gideon Bible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Convenient and quite hotel with good prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good breakfast. Comfortable rooms and beds. The hotel has quite rooms. Shops, pubs and the promenade are in the nearby (few minutes). Railway Station five minutes walk. Fast wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have a key to access the front door so you can come and go as you please! The owner is very helpful and willing to offer advice on local food, events etc. The queen suite is lovely, the bed is super comfortable and the bathroom is lovely with under floor heating! The breakfast was delicious and they were very happy to accommodate our requests. We didn't spend much time in the hotel but what we did was amazing! We will be visiting again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend this small friendly beautiful Victorian boutique hotel for a warm welcome and r
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Jackie our host was friendly and helpful. We had a complimentary upgrade the first night and enjoyed a relaxing spa bat in the beautiful Cartmel suite. The breakfast was delicious with a fantastic choice of fruits and local produce including the local award winning Cumberland sausage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Lovely and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I were to nitpick...the bathroom products were great but I think many females would like a shampoo separate from a body wash cum shampoo.

    The bed was SOOO comfortable...lovely towels....and a delicious breakfast! Great shower...and a mirror that lights up & heats with a gentle touch of the hand. Our suitcase was very heavy and there are a lot of steps up to the main door of the house...then stairs up to the room (no lift)....when I remarked on this we were given one of the newly renovated suites on ground level... and it was terrific!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the deluxe king room and was able to pay extra and upgrade to the apartment so glad we did. It was amazing. The double spa bath was so relaxing and the bed was comfortable. Jackie was so friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Would highly recommend staying here. Breakfast was good and set up for the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.7
    An absolute rip off!
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked three nights here as I was worried about my mother who lives nearby, and i cannot stay with her as she has no room. So i booked in the first night and when i got to my mothers she was extremely poorly so i called an ambulance and spent almost all night in A&E with her. She was finally admitted to hospital at 4am in Barrow in Furness so i got a taxi back to the hotel. I literally laid on the bed for 2 hours before i had to get up and get back to the hospital. I explained what had happened to the owner and she was very sympathetic but said she couldn't refund the next two nights because i had booked through booking.com. At the time i was so distressed about my mother i don't think i really took in what she was saying, and she didn't ask for my credit card so i thought she had only charged me for the night i had stayed. However two days later as i sat with my critically ill mother in Barrow she took a further two nights in payment. Shes not a charitable person. I would happily have paid something for the inconvenience of cancellling but i fail to see how this is anything other than pure profiteering. An absolute rip off! And i also paid another £400 in hotels in Barrow to add insult to injury, so am £700 worse off because my mother is poorly!

    The hotel is nice, and the new rooms will be lovely. Its the owner who is not nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Recently refurbished our room was gorgeous- spacious &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Recently refurbished our room was gorgeous- spacious & very comfortable with large tv which made for easy viewing. Friendly staff who made you feel welcome & a mind of information. Delicious breakfast dishes to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    10
    What a great hotel, amazing room, with a free upgrade to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe tell people on arrival if doing food from the main menu in the room or just limited choice

    What a great hotel, amazing room, with a free upgrade to a jacuzzi bath, very informative lady co owner, couldn't do enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Recently modernised rooms that were clean and very comfortable! Massive smart tv's, big shower and bathroom, with decor and finishes done to the highest of standards! Breakfast included was Awesome and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. They couldn't do enough for us, not to mention their 6 month old puppy called Charlie who was super cute!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Nothing but perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything about this night at the Lymehurst was perfect. We had the apartment for the night and it was just amazing. Jackie was lovely and made us feel so welcome. Loved every second.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    We were made to feel like welcome guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would benefit from a little freshening of the decor but this is already happening.

    The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. Room service menu was extensive and there were nice little touches such as wine and beer available in the room. The owner was extremely welcoming, friendly and provided plenty of useful local information. The breakfast was very tasty with ingredients locally sourced

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms in a lovely area, will definitely be back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautifully done and the bed was very comfortable. We loved that we could bring our little dog yet still stay in a really smart room. Jackie was really helpful in making arrangements for us for the evening and we had a lovely stay, we will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful I couldn’t think of anything that may of improved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was small

    I was upgraded for deluxe double to the lilac cottage I don’t know why I was chosen to be upgraded but I am glad, the room was amazing. I’ll definately look at stopping again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    10
    Very romantic and relaxing night away and location was lovely cottage was outstanding service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I carnt say I didn’t like at all

    Had a very warm and friendly welcome from Jackie owner and greeted with a friendly smile I had requested a rose for valantines and Jackie went above and beyond for who’s stays with her for requests and to make you stay so special I was overjoyed how she done rose with petals on our bed for us lovely and relaxing wax definitely the word 😊absolutely outstanding 🥂🍾

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay ,very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and service was 1st class. The minute we arrived jackie was very helpful & explained the full room in detail .The apartment room was one of best we have stayed in especially the two seater tub which is a lovely touch .We will be returning back soon.Jackie also took the time to explain about the local places to visit and walks around the area. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and was delivered to our room too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable! Extremely friendly staff, couldn't be happier to help make our stay better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet location - however staff organised taxis for us to pubs in the next village

    The complimentary rose petals and swan towels and then breakfast served to the bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    A cosy, comfortable and wonderful stay! Highly recommended!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some vegan options on the breakfast menu would be nice!

    This place is beautiful! The owner is very friendly and the apartment we stayed was just wonderful. Amazing spa bath, luxury bed and kitchen and we could bring our dog! Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.6
    clean bright and frendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing not to like

    the room was large and airy and very clean, we stayed in one of the pet friendly rooms as we were traveling with our dog. there were plenty of towels and the hot water was almost instant. the owners were realy friendly, helpfull and knowlegable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing stay in a quality hotel - so handy for the train staion and Grange town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like

    The Deluxe Queen room was very large and comfortable with a 3 seated settee, quality fixtures and fittings and so lovely and quite. It was a real treat to stay with a supper host in Jackie, and fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely return , was undergoing a refurb done to a very good s but did not effect our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drinks were overpriced

    Beautiful newly refurbished room . Very clean . Staff friendly and helpful. Good variety of food at breakfast all locally sourced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    We had a very perfect weekend break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fantastic and staff were very helpful. The landlady's knowledge on things to do and places to eat is second to none. The facilities in and around the hotel were great. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel has recently been bought by Nigel and Jackie who seem to be passionate about making it as nice as possible. It shows! The service was absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and although we only ate the breakfast here it was beautifully cooked, good quality and very tasty. The room we were in, the flamingo room, was spacious, light, and airy whilst being warm and cosy at the same time. The house prosecco was well chosen and we enjoyed a bottle in our room. I really couldn't fault the room and the service if I tried to! Aside from the hotel, Grange over Sands is lovely and if I were to come here again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. Five stars from us!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    8.8
    Great place and very relaxing surroundings!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a great time celebrating my husband’s birthday. The owner,Jackie, makes you feel really welcome and she will go the extra mile for your needs and comfort! The place is so quiet and the rooms are all unique! Will definitely come again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and well run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows didn't open not a problem when we visited but it would be an issue for me if the weather was warmer.

    Spacious comfortable room, excellent breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Jackie. Had a thoroughly good visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.3
    First Class Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit of a problem but Jacky explained it was being addressed and should be better on the next stay.

    We arrived early, but it wasn’t a problem. A very warm welcome by the owner Jacky. We stayed in the Silverdale room which was really lovely, but not much of a view from either windows! Had very much needed coffee & tea facilities and complimentary water. The breakfast was excellent. All in all a really nice stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Comfortable, Friendly & Inviting Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very nice & large sunny room with a lovely comfortable bed. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts throughout our stay & the breakfast was good too! The Lymehurst is perfectly situated in Grange over Sands, nearby to all the facilities & the Promenade. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable and relaxing stay in a high quality hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The excellent service and the quality of the decor and rooms. No expense has been spared by the new owners while upgrading the hotel. There was a good selection of foods for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Out of this world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn't like is that we didn't book for longer.

    We had the private apartment for a night,and it was absolutly amazing,could not find fault,and had everything you could ever need.double spa bath was so relaxing,large walk-in shower.heated floors.super comfy bed with proper duck feather pillows and quilt.Jackie was very welcoming and helped with any questions we had and recommended places to eat,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was a little tired looking but understand that the owners are new and undertaking work and after being show a newly refurbished area of the hotel would definitely go back!

    Made very welcome and the owner was really helpful and informative about the local area. The breakfasts were brilliant!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    would recommend, owner and staff both friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed the whole experience

    We enjoyed the package booked. Due to current upgrading evening dinner was not always convenient, but found a local hotel close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely & would highly recommend breakfast was lovely too 5 star thank you x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The boutique room was gorgeous, it could have done with a small sofa in the room as there wasn’t anywhere to sit apart from the luxury comfortable bed.

    Jackie was very welcoming, friendly & pleasant, told us all about local & nearby restaurants etc. Her staff were also very nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.5
    Hot breakfast ingredients of a very good quality.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only toiletry was a dispenser of dual usage body wash/shampoo. No conditioner, no facecloths. No croissants or real continental breakfast offering. Very limited amount of fresh fruit. Not a problem but not top-end/boutique.

    Hot breakfast ingredients of a very good quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    Fantastic views, hotel was great and the food lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    Room was fantastic, breakfast was splendid and generous. All the staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful. Sounds a recipe for success but lots of places forget these little things make your stay all the better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    excellent - would stay again and strongly recommend the location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower is in the bath and could do with a grab rail in case you slip

    the bed was excellent and the room was very large. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms (#1) and it was warm, generous size and good bathroom and good views out over the bay. A little noise occasionally as close to the front door but the benefit is it was easy with bags etc. The hotel is really well positioned, and a short walk to the promenade. It is also a really easy drive to Cartmel - great meal location and to explore Lake Windermere etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    This was a fantastic short break in a great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If anything, the parking was perhaps a bit tight.

    The accommodation at the Lymehurst was excellent - large comfy bed, beautifully decorated spacious room with very clean en-suite. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and for me, the fact that they catered for gluten free meals was great. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was excellent, room was extremely comfortable and owner was knowledgeable of local area and very friendly. Highly recommend as a base for south Lake District.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hosts, nothing too much trouble. Gave great advice on area and local transport, also cook a fabulous breakfast! Room immaculately clean and comfortable. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.6
    Delightful location with charming and helpful landlady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The landlady was charming and extremely helpful, pointing out local places of interest and helping us make the most of our limited stay. We had a fantastic two days, packed with great things to do and wonderful food, due to her input. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    We were make most welcome, gave information about area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were make most welcome, gave information about area and where was good to eat etc. Room was beautiful bright clean with good furnishings. Would def stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking - although outside the property parking was a little difficult at times. As there was no central heating on, although this was not needed, the towels in the bathroom never dried properly.

    Very nice bedroom with a large comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful host. Conveniently situated. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75