Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Malt House 3 stars

Marybrook Street, Berkeley, GL13 9BA, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Berkeley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 80 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome, friendly staff not afraid to engage with guests. Food was excellent and a very adequate breakfast. Room was comfy with a good bed and the hotel is situated in a quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. No lift upstairs though so you may encounter stairs and corridors.

    Comfortable for our overnight stay. We ate dinner there...large portions!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom has the most awful smell, very dated and dirt around the taps. Had a double bed which nowadays is odd to see and difficult to sleep in so we made another bed on the floor as luckily had extra bedding in the wardrobe

    Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I disliked really

    The room was cosy warm and provided us with an extra duvet if needed.very light which was needs as I suffer from panic attacks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation, though spacious was fairly basic and the breakfast was distinctly average. I found out afterwards that I could have stayed in a de Vere stately home nearby for the same price. No contest.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed had a very rattly headboard, minor detail but did keep me awake during the night. Also, noise from skittle alley was quite load in my room until quite late.

    Lovely meal, and a breakfast prepped for a 6am departure. Much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was quite old fashioned and slow flowing. Extra extra picky.... bit mouldy around sealant on the bath and quite dusty under radiator in bathroom. But on the whole lovely homely environment.

    Fab breakfast, comfortable bed, friendly relaxed staff, provided excellent taxi recommendation, room warm and cosy, lovely “local” atmosphere,room and bar area clean, close to Berkeley Castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with more pillows only 2 on a double bed (there was 2 of us). I'm sure if we had of asked they would of bought more. But we only stayed for the 1 night anyway

    Friendly staff. Good location for the high street and the castle. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dispenser toilet paper in bathroom.

    Nice 'country pub' feel. Good standard of food (evenings & Breakfast). Friendly staff. Comfy bed, Quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a lovely old building. It is close to Slimbridge. Staff were extremely welcoming, even offering us a meal after they had finished their normal dinner service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was in perfect working order but needed a little uplift. However we were told that the bathrooms were getting refurbished in September.

    The bed was amazing and the room was very spacious. Berkeley is a great little town and the B&B is in the perfect location. Especially for events in Berkeley Castle like we did.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location of this pub is wonderful for visiting Berkeley Castle, it is literally within a few minutes walking distance. Slimbridge is 4 miles away. There is ample free parking. I had an extremely friendly reception, and the room was lovely, scrupulously clean and with a huge, comfortable bed. The bathroom was large, clean and had a bath and shower. Even though the pub closes early on a Sunday, I was offered a cooked meal if I wanted it (I had already eaten) and my breakfast was cooked for me at exactly the time I requested, and was excellent. I cannot fault anything about the accommodation provided at Malt House. I would definitely stay there again on future Cotswold visits. I thought it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite expensive.

    Breakfast was delicious. All staff members were friendly and accommodating. It's ideally situated close to Berkeley Castle for stay overs whilst attending a wedding or visiting the castle for walks in the deer park etc. Excellent parking facilities and they allowed us to book into our room early. Great customer service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cushions which were placed on the bed needed washing. The bathroom has stains around the toilet (Dark stains like the start of mould) a quick clean of these would remove this. Expensive for what you get.

    Easy check in Wifi Parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a golfing party staying at the hotel and they were not very good at observing the hotel's requests to respect other guests. Not the hotel's fault

    The rooms were very large, the bathroom particularly. very clean and comfortable, couldn't have wished for better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems to report

    Location to the castle was good staff were helpful and friendly. Food excellent. Bedroom clean and comfortable. Services excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is the only place to stay if you have a wedding at the castle, they have a monopoly on the price. It was very expensive at £109 and the official check in time was 5pm, a lot later than most weddings (tho' see below). Also for that price you would expect decaffeinated tea/coffee and biscuits in the room (there is none), the decor is very tired, bathroom suite and tiles are old and the "free" wifi doesn't work because the "walls are too thick" (they are apparently trying to sort this out). If this had been half the price you might accept such things but when you're paying these prices, these issues are not acceptable.

    The room we had was spacious and the bed was comfy. It was also a perfect location for the wedding we were attending. The owner accommodated our request for early check in and was happy for us to stay a bit later than check out time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had no blind or curtains up , only a net curtain, so unfortunately I woke up at 5, and could not get back to sleep then because it was too light, mattress could do with a topper on as could feel the springs coming through

    Evening meal, simple but very tasty

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom looked a little dated, but was ok.

    Beds were very comfortable. Made to feel very welcome. Would be happy to stay as a solo guest. Good carpark.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not having a good wifi signal in the bedroom was frustrating but they did have several routers to try and overcome the impact of the thick walls. Downstairs the signal was fine.

    Staff went the extra mile in ensuring we could have a good meal, even tough we arrived after normal eating hours. Nearby Berkeley Castle an awesome place to visit.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the lady was a bit abrupt as she said I have booked a single occupancy room (which I originally did by mistake but I emailed booking.com who assured me that they had changed it to a double - which you obviously didn't). She was fine after I explained that. More booking.com's fault for not making her aware of the change.

    Nice, little quaint room. Lovely, friendly lady behind the bar.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water pressure was non existent!! so a bath would have taken a year to run. Just about got a shower. Rooms are over priced compared to others of equal quality. I guess it must be the area?

    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom was not in the bedroom but across the hall. We did get £10 knocked off the price but would have preferred an en suite.

    Lovely location, within walking distance of Berkeley Castle. Friendly welcome and shown to room. Room was clean and warm, Breakfast was served at a good time and although a limited choice was very good quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and can't do enough for you. Good selection of pubs around, with skittle alleys which is a good laugh. Very comfy beds and good hotel bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and in need of renovation especially the bathroom. Hugely overpriced for the standard of accommodation- I've paid less for many 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was a little bit pricey for what it was, however, I should admit we did book pretty close to our stay, and there were 2 weddings on in the area on that weekend...

    Great staff, very accomodating (we were arriving quite a while before actual check in as we had a wedding but they made arrangements for that). Great quirky building!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed very comfy Very friendly Loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated, shower poor.

    Clean room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfortable and the location was excellent - only a 10-min walk from Berkeley Castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a comfortable but very spacious room with a lovely, friendly lady who checked us in and a tasty breakfast included.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and clean. Excellent location for Berkley Castle wedding! Also provided with loads of tea in the room. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not very good and at £119 a night would expect a little better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty turning shower on/off

    Breakfast and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rubbery pillows

    Lovely landlady. Food excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Freshly cooked to perfection

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    decor not in keeping with the cost of the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff,home from home

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV temperamental an bathroom a bit tatty with noisy plumbing.

    Lovely staff, good menu and lovely food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vegetables a little over done for my taste with the evening meal

    Location was good for my visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little overpriced

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was just wonderful

    It was relaxed but efficiently run and very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor mobile phone reception

    room was clean and very comfortable. evening meal excellent, breakfast set you up for the day,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and efficient staff, excellent breakfast and quirky old building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel this is not 3star but 4star wonderful place to stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom fittings need a revamp. Also the windows let in a lot of outside noise.

    Good choice and very well cooked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a brilliant size, bed was very comfortable, cleanliness was excellent. Our overall stay was fabulous. Will definately stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were very friendly, evening meal and breakfast were both excellent and the pub has lots of character.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and good facilities. Overall excellent choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made me feel at home

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi sadly didn't work.

    Beds supremely comfy and room very spacious. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great full English breakfast in the morning (with a vegetarian option). We went for a friends wedding and the location is only a short five minute walk from the castle. Friendly staff and comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing I didn't like about the hotel except there could have been individual toiletries instead of refillable pump bottles in the bath room.

    Clean and comfortable spacious room. Quiet area around the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1980's decor in room, office-style chairs in bedroom. Tatty Bathroom. Expect much more for the money. Would not recommend

    Very convenient location to enjoy the area. Lovely Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a "executive" room. I don't feel we were given this as the facilities were not what would be expected with that description and price. Breakfast should be included for the cost not paid separate. Needs updating.

    The location for Berkeley castle and to motorway for travel. Meal in bar was tasty with good choices . Callum the staff member who was friendly and served us.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For guests who are arriving on foot (who would not be aware there is a car park around the back) it might be helpful to leave a note to highlight this at the main pub entrance as this was a little confusing. The owner seemed annoyed that we hadn't understood this.

    Great location. Room was very comfortable with plenty of space and very well equipped. I had a good night sleep and the hotel was quiet. We were generally pleased with our stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Berkeley. The hotel was beautifully clean and tidy and the staff excellent. It had all the little extras we enjoy when staying away.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were told there was WiFi in all the rooms. However, we were unable to connect using any of the networks for the 3 days we were there, unless we sat in the public areas. The owner gave us a modem to plug in our room the last night, but this did not work either. The morning we were leaving we managed to connect to the WiFi in our room. The rooms and hotel were clean and adequate, but very tired looking and would benefit from a thorough refurbishment. Overall we felt it was over priced at £100 per night.

    The owner and staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel does not open in the day during the week. We arrived in the morning at 10 am having travelling overseas to attend a wedding near by. The housekeeper was there and our rooms ready to use. Sunday evenings there are no meals, but we were offered the option to have something cooked for us.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower/ bath did not work; only a trickle of water coming out; was told to leave it running and it would be ok, after 20 mins I gave up; I at least expect to be able to shower when staying in a room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No real complaints as we were quite comfortable, but just felt that the pub is a little lacking in atmosphere. Food is basic pub grub & not very interesting, though reasonably priced. Puzzled by ref to free WiFi as I signed into hotel's WiFi but had to go outside to get a mobile signal.

    Good location for exploring the pretty town of Berkeley on foot & visiting the wonderful castle & the equally interesting Dr Jenner's House.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little pricey, captive market for the castle I guess. But we didn't mind we had a lovely weekend

    the staff were amazing, so kind and friendly, comfy bed. Good shower, TV coffee tea in room. Nice room, Very quiet and dark at night. We slept well. 2 minute walk into town. Excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was spot on nice and clean very quite bed great breakfast was just right parking nice and safe

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Family with older children

    Bed not so comfortable

    Early check in for wedding that we were attending was excellent Service was very friendly and helpful Breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower wasn't great

    Very friendly barman

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great landlady Breakfast was amazing

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to wait 45 minutes for our evening meal.......

    Closeness to the centre of the village.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, clean room, great location for attending a wedding at Berkeley Castle.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit dusty in places

    Very good breakfast and also enjoyed pub meal in evening. Good choice of food. welcoming landlady.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wendy was so nice! We arrived on Sunday and most of the restaurants were closed. She readily offered to fix a dinner for us and it was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was so comfortable and the staff were friendly and my husband loved the full English...

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: