Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Manor Hotel 3 stars

Brecon Road, Crickhowell, NP8 1SE, United Kingdom

#12 of 16 hotels in Crickhowell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    A real treat, just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been better if the leisure club/spa was able to offer treatments - i wanted to treat my wife to a nice massage after her day being chucked around in an old sports car but couldn't. The Jacuzzi was good though

    Lovely comfortable hotel, excellent food , stunning views . I was particularly impressed that having given advanced warning of my wifes dietary requirements, these had been fully communicated to the restaurant staff and I didn't have to mention it at all, they made us aware they knew and had it in hand when we checked in, chef had also made some specials on the menu to cater for it . Excellent! One of the reasons I booked this place was for the parking as we had a valuable classic car with us - it diidnt let us down.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was a bit tired looking but good. The shower in the room was an over bath one an it was hard to get a good temperature.

    The view from the elevated position was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous views , good breakfast and the staff were excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom wasn't quite finished , back of the bathroom door hadn't been painted and had dirty finger marks and dusty. A final inspection would have shown this up . Sweet wrapper on the bedside table ???. Just needs a bit more attention to detail.

    Fabulous views , good breakfast and the staff were excellent .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    I would happily stay here again - highly recommended if you like walking / hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath would have been nice in the room. The hotel was a little dated in places (not to the detriment of the place, but just noticed). A fridge/mini bar in the room would have been nice.

    Attentive and friendly staff. Amazing location. Comfortable room and bed. Restaurant was of a high standard as was the food in general.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Loved the place despite bedroom needing to be upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom very 'tired', fittings need updating, having requested a twin room, they obviously split a wide double bed and put a winter duvet on one, summer on the other!

    Nice atmosphere, excellent breakfast, lovely setting & views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous hotel. Friendly and helpful staff but not impressed with the room for £105
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For £105 for the larger double room i was expecting a much better quality room. The room had a large crack in the ceiling, a very creeky bed much to our annoyance. Just turning over in bed. Tears in the bed sheets.The bathroom was ok but nothing special. Was expecting at least a bath.

    Staff were more than helpful. Very friendly. Views from our room were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the value for money with this hotel was not there. The outside of the hotel was not in the best repair.

    The room was big, the food was good (But expensive).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Radiators on in bedrooms and hotel in height of summer made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators on in bedrooms and hotel in height of summer made sleeping very difficult Flooring in room 23 very warm in places made room even warmer We were above the swimming pool and had a very uncomfortable strong smell of chlorine causing headache, ruining the stay Although restaurant food was lovely, very pricey for what it was Hotel very clean and lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect venue for a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities/ Baby changing facilities. Rooms were quite warm even with windows open, maybe some room fans would be beneficial

    View was amazing and staff all very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent short stay break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with a beautiful view of the garden, lake and surrounding mountains. Leisure suite was small but fine, food was excellent and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The location and gardens are excellent and the views are outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    The location and one lovely waiter are the only good thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was noisy, our room had a leak and the food was terrible. We didn’t get any sleep due to noise from other guests, a wedding and early music from the kitchens

    Location was good with the table mountain close by for a lovely walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went out of their way to help guest of a wedding party get back to hotel in town when they couldn't get a taxi to it which to me shows that they care 5 star service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    A real chillax time. We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    Everything! The hotel itself, the staff were awesome and very friendly, the pool, food and scenery were fab. A lovely relaxing break.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great- thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am gluten and dairy free, and it was easy to get alternative breakfast items. Also I needed a sewing kit and the lady on reception lent me her own kit!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, beautiful food, superb views and walks. A few gripes due to the Wedding Fayre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi out of use. Swimming pool water cloudy. Very low water pressure in shower/bath. Wasn’t informed of wedding fayre at time of booking, only to be informed the week before arrival that check in would be 2 hours later. Very busy on arrival due to wedding fayre which delayed check in. Wedding fayre visitors had obviously tried the beds and moved the ‘clean’ towels on the bed prior to us being allowed into our room

    The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast and meals were very nice. Views and surrounding areas beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location (perfect for the Green Man), really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, didn’t have everything on the menu, but wasn’t bad

    Beautiful location (perfect for the Green Man), really nice hotel, room was very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Lovely surroundings. Comfortable clean if small. Rooms. However let down by the lack of attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on reception on arrival. Had to ring bell a number of times. Lots of niggly things. Remote on tv didnt work. 1 biscuit each on tea tray. No bottled water. Only 1/3 of a toilet roll. No extra rolls. Didn't really want to ask reception for loo paper. Shower was hit and miss. Pump not operating properly. 1 hand towel for 2 of us. No robes or slippers. Surprised given cost. No changing cubicles in pool. Had to undress in front of total strangers. Uncomfortable. No lockers for personal belongings in pool area 2018? I am a drinker of real ale. The beer served in the bar was Felin Foel. It was deplorable. When I asked for a fresh pint the supervisor intervened and said it was meant to be like that. Nonsense. Flat and stale. I was shocked at his attitude and walked off.A lady stood at the bar next to me also commented on the flatness of the beer. Needless to say I only drank a few mouthfulls and we walked in to town for a proper drink

    The locaton was beautiful and set well back off the road so no issue with traffic. The decor was traditional but quite modern in the room. Spa facilities are included in the price of b& b.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    We very much enjoyed staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not good in the bedrooms.

    All good. In particular, the staff were very helpful, the beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the food was good (continental plus cooked breakfast) and pool changing room was clean (very important!). There was a bar, and a nice big lounge with a TV which we sat in to have lunch. The room had a TV, kettle (cups, tea, coffee, milk), hairdryer and iron.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant weekend. Will definitely be back in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to spend a lot of money. The Jacuzzi was out of order.

    Really comfortable bed, and very professional welcoming staff. Food was outstanding breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    The food was excellent, dinner and breakfast options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room. We were at the back of the hotel, facing a tree and overlooking a roof. We had limited natural light coming into the room because of it. Also the bathroom was functional but tiny. Not what we expected for the cost.

    The food was excellent, dinner and breakfast options Room size was good for 2 adults, a toddler and baby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a 15 minute walk into Crickhowell. This was good for us, but may be an issue for some guests.

    The views from the hotel are excellent, breakfast very good, rooms clean, modern and spacious (the ones we stayed in - some other reviews seem to say otherwise). Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We booked a twin room, but they showed us to a double on arrival. They said there had been a mistake from Booking.com, and so provided my friend and I with a double room each. Very pleased with the stay, drinks outside, enjoying the views are a must!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful break in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little too compact and the shower screen was ineffective.

    Lovely location Friendly helpful staff, Comfortable beds. Attractive public areas and a very well maintained property throughout. Well presented and varied breakfast menu. Would return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water tank in room 24 steaming hot kept the room stifling had to shut bathroom door to try and contain it, and the hot tap was permanently scalding. The plug was not holding the water in the sink, so difficult to wash with warm water. Shower was fine as mixer. Sounds moany, but it was manageable!

    The hotel is situated in a perfect spot with beautiful views. The staff are very polite and friendly. The breakfasts were good. Facilities good. The room/s were very spacious and comfortable. Perfectly lovely spot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.6
    Completely over sold and photos are not a good portrayal of the normal rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose this rooms because it looked fantastic and had a sauna , pool, steam room and jacuzzi, and we booked a mid-level room which was £99 per night. To our dismay we walked into what could only be described as a room in an old youth hostel, old and heavily marked furnishings and very tatty - the finish was ammaturish - we complained and for 2 of the 3 nights we were moved to a different room, equally dissapointing but it had a better view, so we decided to try and enjoy the break and not spend as little time as we could in the room. So we popped into the leisure facilities, wow, what a mega dissapointment, the condition was extremely dated and very tatty with a dirty feeling, it was like from the 1980's and nothing had been changed. The pool needed tlc, the changing rooms were tiny with no lockers and dirty showers and the steam room had a conservatory style roof. The roooms were not very quiet, you can here lots of road noise, people snoring, dogs barking and the usual TV's, Breakfast was a poor selection and heavily processed - again cutting costs Maybe our expectations are higher that the hotel owners but when you go away you want to feel comfortable and in a clean enviroment - unfortunately this isn't the hotel to enjoy that feeling - maybe they have a couple of nice rooms but ours certainly wasn't one of them. Also dissapointing was the attitude of the receptionist who when we asked about changing rooms was very rude, she basically told us in front of other guests that we should have paid more money to get a better room which didin't go down well - regardless of how much you pay, you do expect a level of furniture and cleansiness to support the star rating. This could be such a fantastic hotel but if I was an estate agent I could describe it as a renovation project

    The only real bous is the location - the hotel has so much potential but th owners seem to do everything on the cheap and completely oversell the accommodation and promote with photos that don't represent the majority of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Had a great day and evening , would defo stay again when in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft bed , shower takes a little time to heat up and a few minor repairs needed in hotel from wear and tear but that did not affect our stay in any way

    The location was superb, friendly staff, and good facilities food was fantastic , great room very clean hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor value , would not recommend to anybody !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no body offered to carry my bag up stairs several flights of stairs no lift, I had recently had an ankle replaces and was carrying a walking stick. No bath ! I do not like showers and if I am paying so much I expect there to be a shower and bath. Poor , very poor view from window.

    Breakfast was good, excellent view from dinning room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Another stay , will be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the gym could open a little earlier , minor quibble .

    Fifth stay here , love the place .Beautiful surroundings ,lovely walking country .Pool ,Jacuzzi and sauna to ease the aches and pains .High quality food at reasonable prices .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Room was spacious bed really comfy food excellent friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious bed really comfy food excellent friendly and helpful staff. Only one minor point room could do with air con only had a fan that kept circulating warm air

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days there, and Nicole and Chad were such helpful staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For what it is, nothing.

    I loved especially the location, and the character of the place. The odd creek in a floorboard, and the old style fittings are great The view is breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly personal, fantastic view, big familyroom, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom. It was very small. And the bad isolation of the boiler in the bathroom. the waterpressure

    Very friendly personal, fantastic view, big familyroom, very cosy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful country escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi through the hotel was either off or so slow and dropping out most of the time we were there. It was actually faster to Just use your own data plan.

    Amazing, friendly staff who gave us a wonderful stay. Food was outstanding, the views are gorgeous and at night it was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place, staff were so lovely, the views were amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The piece of glass that stops the water from running out of the bath while you have a shower, didn’t have any rubber on the bottom therefore the bathroom floor got soaked

    Amazing place, staff were so lovely, the views were amazing, very close to the little village and the view was incredible

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Fabulous location, very tired hotel with polite staff that could have been a lot more helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel I imagine 20 years ago was absolutely stunning, but it is very tired, rooms were okay, a bit “shabby” and basic, for the money, I would have opted for a travel lodge to be honest. I hate to say it isn’t a hotel I would re visit and I don’t think I have ever given a poor review, but the heat has been a problem in the country for the last 4 weeks, but the rooms were like sweat boxes, they provided a fan that just stopped working after a few hours, we advised the room was like a greenhouse as we had a fabulous large glass window, with all view that was amazing, but only two little openers at the top, so it was actually awful but we were told, yes quite a few people are complaining, it’s the heat isn’t it, and when I asked could they do anything to move us or offer anything to cool the room down, they replied, no.......we sadly had to check out early due to an accident my husband had later that day, (we didn’t get any money back) I advised reception I needed to settle the bill and check out then I had to go up and down stairs (no lift) to clear the room by myself as my husband had been admitted to the hospital, and I wasn’t offered any help what so ever....so as much as everyone there was friendly enough, they could have been more helpful...you know some people really go that extra mile to help or make things better, well that wasn’t the case here.... To sum up, great location, basic rooms, don’t go If the sun is out as they didn’t have any provisions for warm rooms!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.3
    Not recommended at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall service. Not professional staff . Despite being offered since the beginning and afterwards Resquested fan due to extremely temperatures four times and only at 11pm of the second day was delivered. Excuses (no enought fan for all the rooms) instead of solutions No senior management able to take decissions in the evening. Bathroom was really bad, shower platform was broken, and all facilities were as if mounted in a non professional manner. Acustic isolation does not exist and you can perfectly hear the party below same as termic isolation. Generally speaking, it misses lots of maintenance Might bé good for winter time.

    location and quality of food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down bedroom Too expensive Shower pressure very low Shower screen didn’t work so bathroom flooded Window broken so no through air

    Location Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Started off poor but breakfast was delicious. If I had a better room I perhaps would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was far too hot, small windows and a fan to blow the warm air round wasn't great. I was lucky to move to a better room but still hot. Never the less it was clean and comfortable. Then this piecing hiss kept emanating from time to time outside which woke me up constantly as I went off too sleep. I couldn't shut the windows as it was far to hot. Reception sitting area needs sprucing up. Dark and saggy couches. Water was scorching hot in the tap! Needs to come with a warning really.

    Staff were very accommodating. The view at breakfast was stunning. Breakfast was delicious. The whole dinning section looked stunning but as I arrived very late in the evening I missed dinner and didn't see this until the morning. Nice looking little swimming pool, didn't try it as it was closed on my arrival and was short on time in the morning. Nice little touches in the room. Cotton wool, ear buds etc. I would stay again if I could get a better room with bigger windows and it didn't cost the earth!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    The manor and its history are both interesting and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an unusually warm day when we visited, and our room, while thankfully equipped with a fan, lacked fresh air circulation & was uncomfortably warm.

    The manor and its history are both interesting and charming. The site and surrounding view from the patio are very special - and very Welsh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries not of the standard described. Breakfast order was wrong for more than one guest on our table so there was a delay.

    Beautiful view. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Simply - Enjoyed immensely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The complete experience was a delight from check in to a lovely room, bar and restaurant. Swimming pool, although small was perfectly fine. Staff couldn't do enough for you. If ever in the area again would book without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty with dog hair on the bedroom floor. The bath and bathroom were dirty. Staff were smoking behind our room which meant we couldn't open the rear windows on what was a very hot day. The breakfast for my vegan fiancee was very poor and staff lacked understanding of her needs. Based on the above and considering our 6 month old boy was with us we decided to leave early and not stay a further night as planned. The quality of the hotel and service provided did not match the price paid, very disappointed given this is our first holiday as a family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The location and the views were absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a very old building and some of the carpets and furniture could be replaced.

    The location and the views were absolutely stunning. Our room was really very nice, new bathroom but the shower was a little slow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Pedro and Kristen looked after us as if we were family. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    We were there on the Thursday 31st of May for afternoon tea and over night stay after our daughters wedding. It was excellent . When we arrived we asked for a few extras which had been forgotten, these were given to us immediately and with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent stay, with friendly staff. Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noisy toilet but to be fair we only reported it at the end of our stay.

    The bed was really comfy fluffy pillows and soft duvet. We had a lovely room with a view too. Breakfast delicious especially the porridge! We liked having the facility of the swimming pool and the gym.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    We were there for a wedding afternoon tea which was very...
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In places there could have been more attention to detail e.g. soap dishes missing from both shower and hand basin although we could see where they had been. Some re-decoration needed especially to ceilings.

    We were there for a wedding afternoon tea which was very good, helpful staff, nice atmosphere etc. In general the food was good, especially the breakfasts. The charges were certainly not excessive so we could forgive what I have put in the didn't like column.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    This was a dissapointing stay with the hotel and staff thinking it was better than reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The improvements to the property are of a poor quality not well thought through and badly executed. The furnishing to the room were inadequate and attention to detail by the staff poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality little hotel with views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym can get very busy to non residents and service in restaurant was a little too rushed maybe a bit more time between courses please.Celebrated husbands 50 bday but sadly they gave a complimentary drink to an elderly man on next table by mistake then told us but didnt do so for my husband, special occasion not recognised by the hotel

    Good pool and sauna with great view, the hotel was lovely and a nice small dining room made for an intimate atmosphere, although the rooms are a little dated very clean with great views.Good breakfast choice and fabulous evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The excellent staff my stay memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t object to anything.

    Warm, friendly & helpful staff on reception- Claire & Nicole. Fantastic scrummy breakfast & served by a waiter who ensured we were comfortable & were happy. All staff around the hotel were welcoming- absolutely excellent staff. Facilities were absolutely clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was amazing, clean, tidy and the view was amazing

    Friendly staff, the breakfast was lovely and the dining room was laid out "prefect" Would LOVE to stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Happy night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Arrived on a sunny week end. Warm welcome when we checked in. Beautiful grounds and lovely walks. Enjoyed a gentle swim in the small pool, but refreshing. Nice area to have a drink. Food was all delicious. Requested a quiet room and had a lovely large double room with great views. Plenty of car parking space. Nice sofas to sit on after dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    The room I paid for was advertised with 'Mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I paid for was advertised with 'Mountain Views' however I was put in room 15 where there was a view of the carpark. This room shouldnt be advertised as having 'Mountain Views'. The room itself was very nice. The shower needs to he changed as it takes a good 10minutes fiddling with the temperature gauge to prevent it either being freezing cold or scolding hot. The breakfast was fantastic. I gave this feedback about the room view and the shower to the woman at reception on checkout and she didnt take it very well- she abruptly said 'Well I cant give you a discount Sir, I'd have to go higher'. I wasnt necessarily asking for a discount I was just giving my feedback.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    No Wifi in the room and helpless Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room 19 has no WiFi at all! (When reported to the staff, they simply smiled at us and said sorry) - Breakfast is very disappointing - 20cm step between the room and the bathroom (poorly done)

    - Spa is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    The views from the rooms at the front of the property are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leisure pool was in need of refurbishment

    The views from the rooms at the front of the property are outstanding. The bedrooms very comfortable. Good food at the restaurant at both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location for a walking break, hotel and facilities in need of some tlc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was noisy, noise was from kitchen and leisure facilities. Loud music from 7am and banging coming from the back of the hotel, and a loud extractor. Had to have the window open because the room was very warm. Spa facilities very old, don’t expect anything flash. Rooms could do with a refurb.

    Friendly staff, and nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing stay with excellent food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a room with a view. Stayed in room number 1 and not much of a view! The spa could do with a bit of a spruce up.

    The bed was comfortable, views from the terrace were fantastic. Accommodation was clean and staff were really friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful, very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously couldn't fault anything.

    Staff were wonderful and so friendly. We were there to celebrate my brother's wedding, the venue was very generously donated due to him being terminally ill. Can't thank you all enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I'd finished my breakfast waitress assumed my partner had too and plate was taken away without asking, when in actual fact he had finished.

    Scenery

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Better than I’d expect for a 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities were a little tired,

    Good views although positioned on the main road. Near to the lovely little town of Cricklehowell where we found some good pubs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    The whole place was jaded with many things not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room 2nd room better had the view we paid for the noise was awful all in all our special occasion was ruined

    The dinners other than that it was poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above - annoyed

    We stayed on a Saturday night to take part in an event based at the hotel on Sunday. They had had a wedding on during the day so there was no space in the restaurant until after 8:30pm. The noise from the wedding guests continued into the evening and only stopped for a short while when we complained to reception. The room was small and was only equipped with a standard double bed. There was only 1 packet of buscuits (2Nr) between us for the tea/coffee making facility. There was no fridge and the television only worked on one channel. At breakfast which took a long while to serve the cleaners were hoovering the restaurant. All in all the worst value hotel my wife and I have stayed in in many a long while. Staff smoking under the hotel room window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in - number 16 was overlooking a roof top which had a very loud extractor fan on it that kept me awake most of the night. The room itself was lovely though and spotlessly clean.

    Beautiful manor house setting with far reaching views. Really peaceful and secluded. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too hot in rooms! Had to open windows in order to sleep!

    Huge bed! Lovely big room. Great leisure facilities - we really enjoyed the little pool and Jacuzzi. Breakfast was yummy. Staff were very friendly. Lots of local walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    An excellent hotel in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower took a while to get going.

    Excellent staff. Friendly, hard working and attentive. I fished the river Usk which was very close by whilst my wife enjoyed the pool and sauna. The quality of the food was excellent. I've eaten many a stake in my life but the locally sourced sirloin was superb. My wife forgot to pack her shoes but the hotel kindly sent them to our address. We'll pay them another visit soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing for us.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast and dinner menus were very good with plenty of choice while not being excessive. The room was spacious and well equipped. It's like an old country hotel with wide staircase that is imposing. Comfortable cosy bar and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Did what we wanted but will not add to list of hotels we really enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern wood flooring in bedroom. The whole building was a bit past it's best and some finishes were distinctly poor, the pool/gym were frankly shoddy but useful. Wedding on the first night was boisterous but fine and the disco (directly below our room) stopped at midnight.

    The staff and the food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed indeed. Wouldnt be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures on the website are very misleading indeed. I think the property is miss sold. The property is in need of a modernisation and update. The leisure facilities were poor the pool was tiny and not all like the pictures. The breakfast was plentiful but the quality of the cooked version was not good. I certainly wouldn't recommend or return. A shame as its a lovely area.

    Good location and views. We complained about the room on arrival which had flies of the alive and dead variety in residence. The receptionist moved us when we complained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    We wanted two days of country cossetting but returned home exhausted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first night's meal was functional and crude - soup missing the promised crusty bread, the chicken breast overcooked and dry, with no sauce at all. [Eat out - the Bear is much better, and so are several other options.] Lovely breakfasts were somewhat spoiled by cleaning staff being allowed to prematurely vacuum adjoining open-plan rooms and spreading foul chemical smells; staff taking reception phone calls whilst working in the dining area were also not conducive to a peaceful start to the day. Our second night's sleep was ruined by extraordinary plumbing rumbles from pipes in the wall near my left ear (room 3) - a valve was clearly malfunctioning and producing the noise of rushing water for one and a half seconds, then two seconds silence, then repeating that cycle all night. After I complained at 4am in desperation, the noise stopped half an hour later but started up again at 5am; at no point was I even offered the option of moving rooms. To add the crowning irony, when I gave up trying to sleep and went down for a session in the spa before breakfast, the water pump in the whirlpool had broken!

    The breakfasts were very good, freshly prepared and an exceptionally good range of options available (including having a sandwich made up instead of a cooked option, ideal for walkers). The spa facilities were nice to use but the ugly lighting and ambience desperately needs updating: the owners need to look at places like The Cliff Hotel in Cardigan for competitive guidance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Characterful country hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Excellent old style character hotel in beautiful walking country . Dog friendly too .Great extra facilities pool , sauna ,steam room ,jacuzzi and a very well equipped gym .Room service also available . Staff were very friendly and both the evening meal and breakfast were well prepared . The view of the surrounding hills from our room was stunning , even the weather was good .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.5
    The location on the edge of the Brecon Beacons was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa and gym facilities were tired at best; they were worn and unattractive. While I was there the jacuzzi was closed for maintenance. The grounds had broken and worn features, with a very sad looking pond. A shame as the views from the property were spectacular. Also, given that this is a Georgian property and the home of George Everest (after whom Mount Everest is named), I would have expected the decor and dressing throughout to have reflected that more - there were some disappointing features - particularly the dining room, whose ceiling height original windows framing the spectacular views, were covered in cheap Venetian blinds. A few small changes would make a huge difference to the property’.

    The location on the edge of the Brecon Beacons was superb. The booking staff were helpful at the time of booking, alerting me to the fact there was no lift, and describing the stairs so that I could make an informed decision regarding my mother’s needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Too short a stay in a friendly spa hotel with wonderful views and the best food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi. It was so bad, even downstairs closer to the router, that I wasn't able at any time during our stay to even just receive and read my e-mail. If we had to come for a longer stay, and the wifi hadn't improved, we might have to select a different hotel just for this reason, I'm afraid - which would be a great pity, because we like this hotel very much.

    This is one of our favourite hotels in Wales. It has a quiet location with stunning views, it's an atmospheric country hotel, it has spa facilities, very friendly and helpful staff, and the food is absolutely wonderful. Moreover, you can order anything from the menu for room service if you don't feel like going downstairs. And the breakfast is one of the best we've experienced. Some rooms are a bit dated, but the hotel has an ongoing renovation program. You may want to ask about the room before booking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decoration and very confortable bed. globally the hotel would need a « refresh »,especially the spa area which is very old and not very clean!! very bad wifi connexion which is a big -!

    Nice hotel with adorable staff...warm welcome and special thanks to the receptionist who upgraded us. Room was renovated,beautiful decoration and very confortable bed. globally the hotel would need a « refresh »,especially the spa area which is very old and not very clean! very bad wifi connexion which is a big -! the restaurant and food was good and the service efficient and nice. Definately,the whole staff makes here the difference,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing accommodation but wonderful walks in black mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room :( Room 3. I understood we had booked a better room and this could not be described as so. Peeling paintwork, very dusty throughout, hanging curtain from rail...we were very disappointed. I did complain to receptionist who explained we had in fact been upgraded but we clearly had not. We got a fair rate when we booked but it definitely stated this was for the better room. The pool was freezing cold so I didn’t go in. The pool area is in definite need of an upgrade.

    The dining areas were tastefully furnished and the waiting service exempelary. Pedro in particular was particularly attentive, knowledgeable and an excellent host alround. We enjoyed the full welsh breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Best might anyway and completely relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi and sauna rooms, the most amazing meal and attentive polite staff who made us feel right at home as soon as we entered the property. Comfy and bed and relaxed atmosphere. Couldn’t of asked for anything more. Defo 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall good, would use it again if there were a good deal.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in room 4 was disappointing.Shower over bath,needed a longer safety mat.Direct feed shower that was close to impossible to balance at a comfortable temperature.

    Staff friendly and helpful.Scenic location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable hotel to relax in and unwind with a swim and sauna after a long walk in the Black
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor choice of bed pillows. one too firm and high the other too soft and low. I guess if we asked for alternative the staff would've tried hard to find suitable alternative.

    Very pleasant helpful staff. Comfortable warm feel Lounge. pleasant dining room. Great views across the valley from guest room, lounge, restaurant and particularly the garden terrace. Good menu choice including local produce. Great little leisure suite. Bar snacks good particularly the whitebait and deep fries halloumi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Totally chilled out and revived!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs a bit of freshening up and attention to detail, it’s old fashioned which is great but just needs old grout cleaned etc.

    Totally relaxed atmosphere,great place to unwind and staff are just fabulous,so friendly and helpful,if you need anything just ask and they will help and then some!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: