Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Manor Hotel 3 stars

7 Beach Road, Mundesley, Mundesley, NR11 8BG, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Mundesley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Such a fabulous place - we'll be coming back very soon.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    Fantastic beachside location - brilliant sea view from room 9 . The staff were super-helpful and friendly ( especially Phil on reception ) Our dog was even given a special welcome at breakfast with her own table.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Quite pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very hot and window frames were a bit dirty and floor boards creaky.

    Very friendly staff. Service in restaurant rather slow. Food OK. Room decent size with lovely sea view but a bit old fashioned. Good TV. Bathroom large but needed a blind. Good shower. Breakfast quite nice. Plenty of parking and easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel could use a facelift. Hairdryer in my room was broken when i reported it i was told they couldnt do anything. I went out in the evenings with wet hair!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.0
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t bad but not keen on buffet brekkie

    All the staff extremely friendly and helpful especially the young man on the check in I didn’t get his name though, our dog was welcomed and on the whole I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable and quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for dinner at 19.30hrs, ordered a bottle of wine and given menu.20.00hrs later still no wine and nobody had taken our order! Cancelled our booking and went and had dinner down local pub.

    Bed was comfortable and quiet room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    A bit shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have visited the manor hotel Mundsley over a period of 10 years ,I have seen it grow and improve over this time but unfortunately it is in an unkempt state with moody staff.

    I love the location and the Victorian romance of the building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    OK for a 1 night stay - would not recommend for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paint and wallpaper peeling off in public areas. First impressions - needed a lot of TLC. Room small for a Premium room, no chair at dressing table. chairs by window not very comfortable. Only 1 lamp in room - Not good for reading.

    Bed very comfy and location couldn't be better. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice but bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t in the hotel itself which was a bit disappointing.

    The location was good as we met up with some family who were staying on a caravan site nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but could do with a deep clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is very dirty. My room was thick with dust, like it hadn’t been cleaned for weeks. Such a shame as it could be a beautiful hotel.

    The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Giod location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in room. No air conditioning in room. No wifi in room.

    WiFi in reception. Great breakfast choice, nicely cooked. Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant 24 hours at a traditional English seaside hotel in an unspoilt spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room and view were great. We felt well looked after. Phil on reception was exceptionally welcoming and professional. All staff were great. The evening meal was hearty rather than arty.. but did the job and very inexpensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    2.9
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Staff, absolutely filthy rooms, meals a joke, price of £159.00 per night is a rip off. Evening meal worse than McDonald’s, breakfast we had to eat before 08.30 due to staff training day that actually was a go kart day in Cromer!! Lucky them!! Breakfast food terrible selection of greasy bacon fried eggs and dried beans. We were never asked how our stay was because they knew what our answer would be!! The bar in the evening turns into teenage friends of staff kindergarten so be aware. Evidently a new owner has taken on this place-better they shut it down until fully refurbished and new quality staff trained in dealing with customers.

    Leaving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    I loved the views over the sea and the access to the North...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in the bathroom didn't work so we were without light for that night, we were both too tired to walk down to the reception to report the fault. The selection at breakfast was poor however the service was good.

    I loved the views over the sea and the access to the North Norfolk walk. Great base for exploring the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the problem at dinner

    Food was good especially breakfast( special mention for chap cooking breakfast) Main issues were at dinner where it took far to long to take orders and deliver food - in our case over 45 minutes - in their defence it was a bank holiday but they could not cope with the number Room 24 was great Reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a lot of TLC overall. Although it seemed clean on the whole, the cups and saucers in the room were not properly cleaned.

    The hotel is lovely but needs a lot of TLC. The position of the hotel is excellent. The staff were very accommodating and sorted out a problem with my daughter's booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    It's in lovely spot staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In fabulous spot but faded round edges shower and bathroom were terrible shower had no power either to hot or cold

    It's in lovely spot staff were nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    The family rooms are detached from the hotel in a grubby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family rooms are detached from the hotel in a grubby area near the chip shop and a closed down launderette. It had a dirty front door was not part of the Victorian Manor House. This isn’t clear on the web site. The room needed hoovering and there were no towels on arrival. The top bunk bed did not have fresh sheets so we changed them with another bed that was in the room. Dated grubby furniture, a shower that had to be run for 5 minutes before getting hot water. Breakfast finished at 9:30 - at 8:50 hoovering was going on in the entrance to the breakfast room, the coffee pot was empty, all the tables needed clearing. I was unable to make a cup of breakfast tea - this was delivered to my table, there were facilities for other tea to be made but for some reason breakfast tea was made in cup behind the scenes. All in all it was not a pleasant stay and not value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    It was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are scruffy. The bathrooms have mildew and don’t function very well. They don’t have enough staff The wait time in the restaurant was so long we walked out and went to the chippy next door. They lost the reservation for one of our party and he had to bunk in with two others.

    It was in a great location. The staff were friendly. They have a god range of beers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    a relaxing carefree
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    on one night they held bingo session with lots of young children playing around the hotel foyer and bar area they were very noisey

    excellent buffet breakfast with a friendly chef nothing to much trouble for him Comfortable seaview only complaint toilet in bathroom slow to fill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    good location nice room friendly staff fantastic breakfast charlie never stoppedworking on the go all the time nothing too much trouble will recomend to others thank you tc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely dirty toilet - poo from previous guests!!! As I traveled with my elderly mother - I started with cleaning toilet! Hairdryer doesn't work. Loose shower. Filthy room.

    Friendly staff and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in fabulous location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This was my third stay at The Manor and I will probably return many times. For a walking holiday with a dog it is an excellent place to stay as the hotel is very dog friendly and the location is brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    Am disappointed as we love Mundesley and came back for our 10th anniversary, not good memories made!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy neighbours staying in room 9! Told we couldn’t have room 9 when booking as already booked! But the noisy people chose the room 9 on arrival!(receptionist confirmed) Very unfair. VERY over priced room @ £132.50 for 1 night, only 1 set of towels in the room, 1 teabag and 1 bottle of water for 2 people, cramped room, bathroom very noisy as couldn’t turn extractor fan off! Breaks fast was ok, but didn’t appreciate hearing staff talk about what they don’t like about there jobs and the swearing from the bloke with the blonde spikish hair! Unbelievable, even with kids in the restaurant!

    The sea view. That’s its

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    The shower not working completely spoiled the experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff must have known, shower not working, only scalding water would not adjust, so completely spoiled what should have been value for money.

    Good bed, clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid for a double, the room wasn’t clean on arrival. I think the price is a little steep for the rooms, need a good update.

    The staff was very friendly, the building is lovely and obviously old but has plenty of character. Lovely location, right on the sea front!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Family weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and tired. Not very clean at all. They put us in two separate rooms away from main hotel that had a very horrid drainage smell

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    Dogs are us hotdl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was a shambles. The second room was ok but dogs barking their heads off either side of our room.the third room was ok. After speaking to the man in charge he told us every room he has he allows dogs to stay. Most hotels you speak to they have a few allocated rooms for dogs which i don't mind. But many people suffer in many ways with pets and dogs. I came to this hotel in October with old owners. They wouldn't let dogs in every room. We will not stay again at your hotel.

    The old owners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed shabby furniture,whole place needs updating ,although we were told they were aware of problems with the hotel , they were now under new management , and were slowly sorting problems out

    friendly staff , breakfast was good also had evening meal which was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Not clean, warm, relaxing and certainly not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This stay was really disappointing, the hotel is very dated and the rooms are basic and in need of some TLC. Our room was above the kitchen,resulting in an alful smell all in our corridor and bedroom late at night and throughout our stay. The bathroom was freezing and we had a flooded floor even unused, so when going to use the bathroom you got wet feet. The walls are marked and dirty and the ceiling had cobwebs in each corner. There where towels payed across the windows,I presume to keep the cold out as again freezing but a heater was luckily provided.

    The breakfast okay, this was all you can eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    A nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to tidy up reception office as first impressions are important. General smarten up in the communal areas. Shower system was pretty poor in room 1. Towels and linen could do with renewing.

    Very near the beach, free parking, good bar, pleasant greeting on arrival, good value for money at £91. Breakfast was very good with a big choice available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    We did have a good time, staff friendly very helpful. Room clean. Lovely view.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power shower, inadequate hot water. Web said there might be a charge for your pet, but you are not told what it is until you arrive. It would be nice to know what you would be paying. Not introduced to a manager, didn’t seem to be anyone running it.

    Bed comfortable. Staff friendly View excellent Very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    So cold no heating on in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So cold no heating on in rooms. Bathroom cold. We did get a heater but did not help with the rest of hotel. Staff crowded around the fire no hope for guests to get warm. Breakfast quality not great and self service. Staff great and friendly. Would not stay again as hotel is very dated Standard of room needs needs attention do not expect tv remote like this in room for £130.00 per night !!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    Not to our expectations by any means.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We do not like sleeping on an unprotected/uncovered mattress... Sheet straight on to mattress, so you felt all these "bobbles" under you. Pillows were like sleeping on a folded blanket...ancient and thin. .I know the new owner had only taken over the week before... but boy does he need to upgrade many areas within the hotel. and also his people attitude. Not a gregarious "mine host". Shower..(just off the bath taps ) was either scalding or stone cold....could not face a second shower, so waited until we came home!!! Hair dryer.. a Boeing 747 would be smaller, Breakfast...well...buffet style...had asked at check in, if they had blue top milk (as opposed to skimmed/semi skimmed) response from owner.. "dont know about that" (Spar grocery 15 yards away)so we went to breakfast, fully expecting to go out and buy blue top milk... but... loand behold..it was there for us, so redeemed in that area!!!!! But why do hotels not offer choice of milk, as they do with butter/margarine. Healthy breakfast or fried breakfast???? We initially booked the hotel with a dog....but subsequently, cancelled the dog, and asked for a sea facing room, with 2 arm chairs. This according to brochure, would be with a king size bed. This did not happen.

    Liked the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel in fantastic location, attentive friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mundesley is a great dog friendly location and the stay in the Manor was as ever very comfortable and enjoyable

    Lovely Hotel in fantastic location, attentive friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly basic ensuite, but nothing to moan about

    Location is superb. Friendlyness of staff was exceptional. Breakfast and dinner very good. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant location and food. Spoilt by not being able to have a simple soak in the bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water at all in our room. There quite clearly was a problem with the radiators because they did not come on until 6PM and were then only barely warm. The receptionist said when we arrived that there was an electric heater in the room and if we needed another they had more so this problem was known. When this was all pointed out on checkout it was met with little interest with the gentleman even trying to tell me that there was no problem with the heating or water.

    Food was nice. staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced for condition and grade of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Executive room booked fell short of expectations. Upholstery torn and worn, peeling wall paper, large water stain on ceiling, poor lighting( impossible to read on bed), TV off centre and facing side of wardrobe, no non slip bath mat.

    Bed was comfortable. Sea view good. Food average to good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    sadly i thought i paid too much for the standard of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sadly hotel is in desperate need of upgrading,no heating in room a convector heater supplied in cupboard for you to plug in ,i know this is a victorian property but needs windows doing,bathrooms are tired.staff in restuarant area need smarter dress code.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Marvellously relaxing and comfortable in a property of character.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Although old the property is well maintained and very comfortable. The bar area and restaurant are well positioned and the staff are very helpful. There are excellent views over the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Food was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom facilities would benefit from some updating. Although everything was clean, just tired.

    The location was very good. The bonus was that there was a very good restaurant on site. The choices were limited, but of very high standard. The room was very basic, but had everything there. The furnishings are very tired and would benefit from some modernisation. Everything was very clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable and there was a seaview. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style but that is good for choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was warm and welcoming. Staff were extremely friendly, breakfast was excellent and the fish and chips too. Very close to the beach. All round value god money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Most of the staff were nice and friendly, the place was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arriving there were no towels in the room, after four requests we were given two bath sized towels, both were meant to be white, but one was more of an off-white and the other was a deffinate shade of grey. At least twice on our stay we returned to our room to find the bed unmade and the supply of biscuits was intermitant.

    Most of the staff were nice and friendly, the place was generally clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Fare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Book a luxury room , but not what I call luxury, more a standard double room. Plastic toilet sent and a piece of ply under the toilet , not even treated, Shower took 5minutes to warm up, and bathroom light was on a sensor and kept going off while on the toilet .So would have booked standard double and saved money,

    Staff was pleasant , food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Happy with my stay & would use the hotel again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms location suffered a little from passing noise being next to the main staircase & entry to the floor, shower facilities need an upgrade, difficult to control temperature when other demands on the water were being made,

    Standard Double comfortable, Staff that I dealt with were very polite and willing to help, only there the one night so little time to report more, enjoyed the stay & the breakfast before setting off.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    The staff were open, warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were open, warm and friendly. We felt immediately at ease and very welcome. The sea view from the bedroom is amazing. It is worth staying here alone for the view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    overated overpriced and dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced at £225 per couple for 2 nights , rooms old and tired . Our room smelt of chip fat from the ventilation , hallway stank of chip fat . My friends didn't have a working shower for 2 nights we complained to the owner Terry who is unhelpful , disinterested and dismissive . Eventually he knocked £25 off of one bill as a gesture

    Location by the Sea . Victorian building so nice external look to the place , Hallway period look and breakfast ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.3
    The hotels maybe over a hundred years old but it needs to cater for the 21st century visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The executive room no24.broken bed side lamp,not enough light to read by even when the lamp was replaced. Bathroom shower head needs serious cleaning,trim on bath broken also. Bedroom furniture seating torn and dirty and hidden under tatty throws. Windows filthy. Restaurant has never seen a Chef. Fresh vegetables appear to be only boiled potatoes, peas and carrots. Restaurant staff willing but seem to be all teenagers and not very well trained. meals do not appear to be freshly made but of a boil in a bag variety, and of course you can have chips with everything inevitably at an extra cost. do not try the chicken salad unless you like cold pre boiled/steamed chicken.

    The view of the sea and beach was so close, great!!,and breakfast had a very helpful kitchen hand and was well cooked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    It was nice to return after a long period to Mundesley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu was a bit limited to basic food like carvery, steak and chips, fish and chips, burgers etc. Wi-fi was a bit 'hit or miss'.

    very friendly staff and nice room with sea view. We returned after a long period to the area and were not disappointed with Mundesley or The Manor which provided adequate accommodation. We stayed on a b&b basis so we could sample other dinner venues in the evening in Mundesley.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Not again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has seen better days, it needs a lot of maintenance work and fixing up. It is stuck in the 70's and there is not much done since. They love their laminated notes, they are all over the hotel, it looks so tacky. If you don't like your full English breakfast, too bad, as there is not much choice beyond that. The whole hotel smells muff, the bathrooms are horrible and not in a good working order. Beds feel a million years old and no mattress protection covers on them. The food during dinner was ish ok. It was not value for money.

    The location was good and that was about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    met all our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed in a complete muddle evening meal time no one was organised No one to lead the team it seemed

    Clean and meal very nice. Breakfast chef very nice and helpful breakfast cooked very well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Love the staff & would happily stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms looked a bit tired & could do with freshening up . Comfortable & clean but tired .

    Do not know about disabled access . Staff very friendly & super helpful . Restaurant food at night was very good . Great cherry crumble especially. Lovely bar area .Love the star

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Mundesley magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm struggling to think of anything really.

    The sea view ,the cliff top location, the older style Victorian property with its high ceilings ,large rooms with period features and wide staircases. Plenty of car parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some windows in the room were sash type and let the wind in when a storm passed. Room was a bit lacking in space. Not a lot else.

    The staff were very efficient and extremely friendly. The Sunday carvery was really good and the pint and pint night very good value for money. The view from the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    short stay was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was very dusty when we arrived especially the back of the drawers so we couldn,t put our clothes at the back of the drawer or they would have got dirty. could do with a shelf or cupboard in the bathroom . the tv was situated on the wall and was imposible to view from comfy chairs

    the staff at manor hotel from cleaning to bar and restaurant were excellent. couldnt have made us feel more welcome. food was excellent.bed very comfortabl

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    enjoyed our stay an old victorian hotel but in need of updating stay again yes but would up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    E We stayed in room 15 the room was at the back of the hotel cold and a bit miserable in need of updating towel rack in bathroom headboard on the bed.

    The meals were outstanding Staff excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom toilet -poor several flushings required. Reported this on first day but nothing done . Water in wash basin very slow to drain

    All staff professional, friendly and helpful. Good location with lovely sea view. Very good breakfast. Had two evening dinners both good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Good traditional hotel and resort...offering good food and friendly service, in great location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a few technical problems...sorted very quickly though.

    Traditional Victorian old charm hotel...situated on a cliff top overlooking the sea. The staff (all local) were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast excellent. We ate there in the evening also....the specials very good and all freshly cooked. Lovely unspoilt Mundsley...hope to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    Lovely breakfast and sea view but a bit too pricey for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived Saturday afternoon and left Monday by 11am and there were 2 of us, but in all that time we were only supplied with 1 loo roll which I found not good enough as I was afraid we would run out. Not nice if you are a woman. Also, they only supplied one small bottle of shower gel between the 2 of us for the 2 nights - not enough! Apart from that, and a bit of dust in the room, it was pretty good, but I did expect better as I had paid over £100 for each night. A bit disappointed, but the sea view and excellent breakfasts made up for it.

    Although our room didn't have a sea view, when we went down to breakfast we could wander outside and gaze at the sea or even have our breakfast outside. The breakfast was delicious, especially the wrapped waffles that you could toast if you wanted to. The room was quite nice and the bed was cosy. I found an old guest book on display in the lobby and was amazed to find my date of birth in it (over 50 years ago!) and could read who had stayed in the hotel on the day I was born. The games available in the lounge were good and we had a great game of Scrabble one evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    Not good at all apart from location
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I changed the booking to 2 adults and a dog. Arrived they knew nothing about it. They suggested that we moved to a annex as larger. But never informed me it was at a much extra cost. When we got all our cases in the room she then informed us that the boiler had broken and there was no hot water. This was a major problem as I had to boil kettles of water for a wash. When we checked out I asked what the compensation was for no hot water but was told by the owner that a different boiler supplied the annex! So no compensation!

    Location on the sea front

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    We had an enjoyable, relaxing time in this quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get a Wifi signal in the bedroom. Couldn't find the TV remote control. In the bathroom, the toilet roll holder was missing and the towel rack over the bath needed cleaning.

    Calm, pleasant service. Good views of the sea and sky. Easy access to the promenade and beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing stay, will definitely return to this Hotel in this charming; traditional, unspoilt res
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Friendliness and positive attitude of staff. Very relaxing stay. Whilst property is 130 years old, it has obviously well loved and staff seem to care. Happy atmosphere. Offered to pay on arrival, as requested at other hotels booked via Booking.com and was told to wait until check out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    It was fab that we could take our dogs, it was their first...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only disappointment we had was at Sunday evening meal, we ordered a dessert waited 40 mins it did not show up on inquiring found our order had not been put through to the kitchen, so we could not wait any longer as the dogs needed walking . The restaurant was very ,very busy.

    It was fab that we could take our dogs, it was their first time in a hotel and they were made to feel very welcome . The hotel is a very old building which for us added to it's charm ,our room was lovely and being on the first floor not to far from the stairs was great for the dogs ,it was a quick down the stares for a walk. We will definitely be going back soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bath. Breakfast not served until 08:00 and I had to leave at 7:30.

    The location was excellent. The room was large and airy, and had a view over the sea shore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Quite simply a relaxing place to stay with personable staff and a good restaurant & bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Second visit to this hotel. Takes some beating in the area and central to a wide range of coastal attractions (Wells next to the sea, Happisburgh, Sheringham, Waxham, Cromer) and a nice resort itself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice people, Nice place - shame about the bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was relatively new but the mattress was poor. The mattress was a four inch thick low density foam pad and the plywood base of the bed could be felt through it. The staff attempted to improve things by putting a duvet under the bottom sheet - but this did little to improve things. Since the most important thing about hotel accommodation is the comfort of the bed, in my view, the hotel would do well to consider upgrading mattresses at an early date. Also, it was almost impossible to balance the temperature of the shower - it was either scolding hot or freezing cold. Lastly, the toilet seat wasn't well fitted and slid around when used.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The lift was a blessing since we were on the second floor. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Good Hotel well positioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was appalling, could feel the springs only glad I was staying there for two days. Felt staff could have been more friendly!

    Situation of the Hotel was great.Fabulous Breakfast, Good sized Bedroom. Very Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a lovely time, the location was good and the staff were all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the ground floor in an adjacent part of the building to the main hotel and looked like it had originally been used for something other than accommodation in the past, maybe a bar which had been converted, which in terms of its location for us bringing a pet with us was perfect, but without wishing to sound over picky the renovation and refitting work was extremely amateur. If the owners read this review then please look at the pipework to the shower and the shower fittings in general to give you an immediate example. If I'd used a professional builder to carry out work in my home and it ended up like that I'd have been mortified as it looked like the work of a happy amateur who tried hard and failed and I'd have had it all ripped out and redone. That being said everything worked and we did have a good laugh looking at some of the bodges in the conversion but for £150 a night I'd expect professional finishing. The hotel is in a great location with lovely staff so unfortunately let itself down a bit with the quality of the finishing.

    The room was perfect for a family with pet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing and not worth the rates they are charging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a superior Double Room. Allocated room 23 which is a single room with a double bed squeezed into it. Plenty of drawers, but no room for a dressing table or desk. Reception notified of problems at earliest opportunity, half hearted offer of a change of room but nothing positive actioned. Sea view from one window was OK, but view from other windows was of the roof tops of Mundesley. Bathroom not adequate, extremely small wash basin mounted very low down and no shelves for items required in bathroom Restaurant food did not match the description on the menu. Shrimps served as King Prawns. So called chef didn't seem to know the difference. Duty manager was not interested in resolving complaint. No experienced supervision of young waiting on staff. They did their best but didn't have the experience to deal with running a restaurant. Choice of meals on restaurant menu has been reduced considerably.

    Not a lot, as standards have fallen considerably since we stayed there last year. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay, excellent and first class, as good as any five star hotel. Bar staff were very helpful, pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Characterful charming comfy stay with spectacular sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impressive Hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Supurb sea views,5 mins walk from award winning beach.Excellent breakfast&Carvery home made food, lunch available, good bar. Character Hotel with Chesterfield sofa's,& Chandaliers, lift to help with luggage.Good value, we loved it & will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.2
    Overall our stay was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shabbiness of the room; many little things which could easily be put right and bigger things, like mould caused by damp. Servicing of bathroom overlooked. Overpriced.

    The sea view. The building, which could be wonderful if cared for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable for a mini break with your furry friend. Beaches are lovely & enough space for all.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower, the water pressure was very low & the temperature could be a bit hit & miss.

    The fact that when they say they are dog friendly they really are dog friendly, as is the whole area, we were not made to feel unwelcome with our dog at all, backed up completely by the amount of people in the area with a dog. The food was also of excellent value & tasty too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice views of the beach and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit small but ok and shower screen didn't want to stay closed. Hot water can be a hit and miss. Cleaners standing outside the rooms early morning having full blown conversations even though you have a do not disturb sign on your door.

    Nice views of the beach and close to everything. Food and menu were excellent and plenty of choices. Staff really helpful and can't do enough for you. Rooms nice and clean with plenty of storage. Great Friday night pub quiz. Dog friendly so great for pets to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was located on the side of the Beach in a raised...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was located on the side of the Beach in a raised position with fantastic views over the sea. warm and friendly atmosphere and breakfast was very nice with a wide choice, spacious room and warm, nice place to rest your head after a long day driving or walking along the fantastic beach below, will be back when I next visit this area with my job travelling all over UK . not a lot to disappoint

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we encountered was the key in the door didn't fit very well but that was a minor detail !

    The staff were lovely and genuinely wanted to help us and make our stay a happy one my friend and I had a lovely two days and benefited from a lovely break 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great stay as always 👍
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other people who let their dogs foul in the car park and don't pick it up, it's easy to carry bags like we do!

    We been here lots of times, always lovely 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: