Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Manor Guest House 4 stars

1 Watt Place, Cheadle, Cheadle, ST10 1NZ, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Cheadle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 408 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    We very much enjoyed our stay and would consider a return visit if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast, though very tasty was just a little on the small size (one slice of toast; tiny sausage).

    Very friendly staff; room generous size and beds comfortable. Attractive garden.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Easy location to find, cosy room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked a semi skimmed milk option for the hot drink facilities but that’s just me being fussy.

    Bed was really comfy, staff were polite and friendly and provided great recommendations for food and a lovely garden.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    Friendly, basic accommodation, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much could of been done but walls are quite thin can hear other guests very well. Got woken up in the middle of night by inconsiderate guests shouting and laughing. Then sat outside our bedroom window for half an hour. Maybe should be an after hours policy for no noise.

    Beautiful garden area peaceful, friendly staff and owner lovely range for breakfast good service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    The staff were great and we enjoyed our stay but the comfort in the room needs to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not comfortable, we could feel the springs and it squeaked with every movement. The TV was too small for the room.

    The staff were excellent. Friendly and professional. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds, good shower and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television was old and too small. We stayed in the bungalow and would have liked to have parked next to the property rather than in the car park.

    A hearty and delicious breakfast. Great location for Alton Towers.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Excellent stay and a warm welcome. Great beds and crisp bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really lovely place, very warm and welcoming on arrival. Brilliant breakfast good quality ingredients. Good place to stay if your visiting Alton towers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Very polite friendly people, lovely bungalow with plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren’t allowed to move in lol.

    Very polite friendly people, lovely bungalow with plenty of room, very nice breakfast and in such a pretty little village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place for an overnight before Alton towers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic but that was what I expected for the price range. Super clean though, and everything new.

    Lovely garden, super clean, friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was excellent. Family room very comfortable. Lovely garden. Warm rooms. A lovely welcome and our welfare was their concern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    Average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty average. Breakfast was very frustrating as we got up early and needed to leave. However they had no system and we had to see other people come in after and get served first despite me asking multiple times. All in all breakfast took nearly an hour. Rooms very dated. Bathroom pretty dingy. Seemed like not a lot for our money tbh.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly warm welcome disputes arriving at 9pm - room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly warm welcome disputes arriving at 9pm - room spotless and staff very friendly and helpful - breakfast excellent and all dietary needs were catered for without hesitation - highly recommend :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    The Stables...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were quite uncomfortable which really ruined it for all of us as we were there for 3 days visiting Alton Towers so we were shattered by the time we left. Very spacious but could do with an extra toilet as accommodates for large groups. Furnishings were quite dated and the tv’s need to be bigger so you can see the picture. Also no plates or cutlery, but they are very happy to accommodate your needs.

    The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Everything was very clean and quite spacious. Close to places to eat out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Excellent service, well looked after, very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice and comfortable and breakfast choice was excellent. Lovely helpful staff and a genuinely lovely place to stay as it's great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    An utterly fabulous guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An utterly fabulous guest house. The garden is just gorgeous! Then... the host revealed what was inside the cupboard!!! WOW. Stayed here with my little boy night before going to Alton Towers and it was excellent value for money. Didn't book breakfast but it smelled wonderful and there was a lovely continental selection too. Will definitely be going back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    It done the job.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too happy with the service of staff members, mould on walls, WiFi not working, no air con like it said and I got a shock in my hand when switching bathroom light on and off,

    It done the job. Comfy bed and clean towels. Food was okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floors, tired decor which was sloppy - paint on tiles, poor grouting in shower, cracked ceiling. Breakfast didn't start until 8 so delayed departure.

    Nice garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Went as a family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went as a family of 4. Was greeted by Peter and my girls loved him! Beautiful garden! Ann even came out and gave my girls some fish food to feed the fishes after breakfast (which was perfect as they kept asking me if they can feed them)! Will defo recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location and beautiful garden, relaxing environment,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The the access to the rooms, steps up to the 1st floor and corridor etc, felt like accessing a chalet block.

    Great location and beautiful garden, relaxing environment, good breakfast selection. The outside of the accommodation block appears like a stable conversion and is very nice, the room itself comfortable and well furnished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Would defo come back again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is there isn't much to do in Cheadle at night time in the surrounding area but that didn't affect us too much

    The hotel is lovely, the rooms are just what we requested and the garden is a lovely peaceful area to sit in, the staff were great and the breakfast was lovely, the eggs beneduct was especially excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is situated close to Alton Towers, it has a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Room 5 which is part of the annex to the main Manor House as a family of 4. There was 1 double bed and 2 singles squeezed in there which meant one side of the double was against a wall, which isn’t ideal. The Room was very dated, with Artex on the ceiling and a shower cubicle fitted in the 90’s. Very small tv. No Fridge. The bed and pillows were very firm which wasn’t the best for me. We Would not stay there again and didn’t feel the £129.00 per night was worth it.

    The hotel is situated close to Alton Towers, it has a lovely garden and the staff were really nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for Alton Towers theme park, we stayed in a family size room (1 double and 1 single) staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and bright and well presented. beautiful garden to sit in. Breakfast great the next day. Would definelty recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Good value for a nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    More like a motel than a hotel. Our room smelled of smoke and there was a lot of coming and going in the night.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice clean and tidy room - fine for a nights stay. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra toilet please . Lovely sized family bathroom, but only one . Only one toilet and one shower / bath for 6 people was a struggle in the morning !

    Beds were very comfy , rooms a good size . Owner - created a lovely surprise of a cake , banners and balloon for my sons 16th birthday - very well done . Lovely Indian local restaurant ( within 5 mins walking), bring your own alcohol- bargain booze shop a few doors away was ideal . Huge tasty portions .friendly staff Welcoming Staff for breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good location for Alton towers being only a 10 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on accept for the bit of mould in the bathroom but that is the only bad thing we could find. Everything else was spot on we will certainly return again.

    Very good location for Alton towers being only a 10 minute drive away. Perfect for a short break away if that’s where your heading. Weatherspoon’s is only a 3 min walk down the road. Very quiet location no trouble at all. Would 100% return. Nice breakfast in the morning to start you on your way as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Very recommeded!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The place is gorgeous, with a beautiful garden. The owners are lovely; the bedroom was perfect: very confortable and clean; breakfast was amazing and staff are lovely too. And has a huge private parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The property was in an ideal location for my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in an ideal location for my stay. It had plenty car parking space. It was ideally located for shops, eateries & fuel. I had a superb breakfast both morning’s great menu.....and pancakes for my grandson. I was greeted with a warm welcome by Peter on arrival, Ann and the rest of the staff made my stay very very pleasant and I would not hesitate staying there again. Thanks to all Lawrie

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location for Alton towers, very friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 bathroom/toilet. We were a group of 8 so next time we would book separate rooms to avoid this problem.

    Great location for Alton towers, very friendly staff and very clean property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warm welcome, large comfy room with a good shower, breakfast was perfect, close to local town centre, I will definitely stay at the Manor House again if I get the chance

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Alton towers trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is only a personal preference but i could have done with a more comfortable mattress. Nothing against the hotel...

    Staff were all extremely friendly, breakfast was great and a lots to choose from.the black pudding was cooked to how I like it. The hotel booked a table for me and my family at a local restaurant which was also great...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    All in a wonderful wee find, beautiful yet handy location, excellent value for money, will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s difficult to find a fault, the only thing that I would change is that there is no kettle in the bedroom meaning we couldn’t make coffee/tea however, at breakfast the waiting staff ensure your cup is constantly full if you're a coffee lover like me - They keep you well topped up!

    I stayed here with 2 friends during our annual trip to Alton Towers. We had previously stayed last year and were blown away with the service we received so we decided to book again and we weren’t disappointed. Peter and Ann are very welcoming, exceptional breakfast, many options to choose from we were never disappointed. We also heard another table asking for adaptations to the menu which Ann and Peter were very accommodating and done so. The gardens are beautiful and very tranquil - makes a lovely place to sit and relax. The Manor is conventiently located a few minutes walk away from a local Wetherspoons (The Wheatsheaf) which also makes for a great wee night. The beds are super comfy- we all slept right through on the two nights we stayed over. The room was spacious with modern decor. The bathroom was a good size shower was great, very clean. Overall a wonderful wee find. Will most definitely be returning again next year!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and attention from hosts, comfortable rooms and lovely garden Would stay there again if we are in that area, not too far from Alton towers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was perfect for our trip to Alton Towers,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool after using the shower x

    The location was perfect for our trip to Alton Towers, literally 15 mins down the road, also set in a lovely little town with friendly locals, would defo stay again x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Short driving distance to Alton Towers, the beautiful garden...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of rooms could be improved. quality of breakfast must be improved, although selection and service is good.

    Short driving distance to Alton Towers, the beautiful garden, staff, nice beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant surprise from the garden area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing cooked breakfast, muffins tasted stale. Ordered scrambled egg and smoked salmon, but the salmon had been chopped up and mixed into to it which looked like sick and made the egg taste fishy, so didn’t eat it. But it wouldn’t stop me from staying again!

    Beautiful gardens, cosy family room right outside the fish pond. Lovely owners. Really nice selection from the help yourself breakfast buffet and moreish fruit salad and pancakes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing after a busy day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing a peg to hang the towels after use. Shower system broken.

    Very comfortable beds. Warm welcome from the owner. Amazing garden and also very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Fab guest house!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldnt fault our stay at the Manor Guest house anyway, however I would advise that if you are looking for somewhere modern and state of the art then this guest house isnt for you. It was clean, well maintained, the rooms were decorated lovely but the bathroom was slightly dated and the tiled floor is rather chilly under foot but saying that, it fit with the character of the guest house and i wouldnt of expected anything else.

    The owners were fab! Friendly, informative and helpful! Breakfast was delicious and made to order with a great veggie full english which didnt have to be preordered!! There was also the usual fruit, yoghurts etc. The garden was beautiful and was a definite selling point...we enjoyed sitting out with a bottle of wine we bought from bargain booze after our meal out! Location was fab too, just 13.4mins from Alton Towers which was the reason of our stay. Amazing value for money, would stay again and would reccommend it highly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay overnight after Alton towers. Perfect to relax after a busy day! Would go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were lovely and big - clean and bright, comfy bed and pillows! Owners were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice and cater for any needs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A totally relaxing, enjoyable experience!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like. If you want a pool or a gym or a restaurant go to one of the big chains. But if you want a truly relaxing inviting break then this place is for you.

    Peter,Ann and indeed all the staff were so hospitable and friendly! The garden is superb and adds to the relaxing feel of the place. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat. We’ve already recommended it to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay at the Manor in Cheadle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be the one hour breakfast service window from 8am to 9am. This is quite limited particularly at weekends when a longer morning lie in is possible.

    Very warm welcome from Ann, Peter and all their staff. Lovely breakfast each morning. Bedroom was very comfortable with all the amenities that I needed. The garden is also soectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay and have a rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely experience! The owners are very friendly, the breakfast was excellent and the room very comfortable! I would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice main house and gardens with an impressive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit noisy from other rooms/floor boards but everyone went to bed early so not a problem.

    Very nice main house and gardens with an impressive collection of fish in the pond . The host was particularly helpful and friendly. Nice to have own door opening to the gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Delightful find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy floor boards outside the rooms but didn't deter from our stay.

    Lovely and close to Alton towers. Peter was very welcoming and friendly which made our stay. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a family visit to Alton Towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do in Cheadle itself so best to drive to a pub or restaurant out of town.

    Nice and close to Alton towers. Nice garden to sit in and excellent breakfast. Peter, the owner is extremely hospitable and staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have visited The Manor Guest house twice now and been very pleased and happy with our stay. Guest rooms clean,comfortable with tea,coffee etc. Breakfasts were excellent,great choice on menu. Cannot fault it one bit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely garden and scenery. Good location close to supermarkets asda and Morrisons. We stayed for a trip to alton towers as it was only a short 15 minutes drive to the park. Warm welcome when we checked in too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Really pleased with this booking, the property was fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    Really pleased with this booking, the property was fab! Beautiful setting, lovely garden, comfy bed, nice hot shower. Breakfast was delicious!! Staff really friendly. We used this hotel while visiting Alton towers and the location was brilliant. The town of Cheadle was nice too, a few bars and restaurants to choose from. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Perfect can’t wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all friendly and lovely... rooms were to a decent size ... ideal location shops restaurants and pubs all on your doorstep ... we stayed here for two nights and couldn’t complain about anything! The garden was beautiful and only a 15 minute drive from Alton towers .. we will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    An enjoyable stay would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was first class

    We stayed in the bungalow which was very clean, the beds were comfy, nice big bedrooms, ample toiletries and towels in the bathroom. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. The garden was beautiful and the owners were very welcoming and the staff at breakfast were very polite and attentive. It was great location for going enroute to Alton Towers would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently located for Alton Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating was on despite the hot day. While this could be turned off; the lack of air conditioning and somewhat small windows led to an uncomfortable nights sleep. Don’t let this put you off staying here though as with typical British weather it’d have been fine!

    Conveniently located for Alton Towers Very clean Lovely garden Friendly staff Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and made us feel v welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were warm when we arrived which was fab as it had been wet and cold, however we could not turn the radiator off in our room & it was way too hot to sleep. My boy had to pull his mattress off the bed to move away from the rad.

    Very friendly staff and made us feel v welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Budget hotel, lovely staff, lovely breakfast, not the best nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a first floor garden annex room and EVERY SINGLE STEP you take in the room the flooring REALLY SQUEAKS !!! The bed was also rather hard and uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Staff were really friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and accomodating....went out of their way to help us with directions and road closures. Staff at breakfast couldn't do enough. Food was cooked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great place, lovely staff, awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a complaint at all, and it’s purely down to taste, but the decor is a little old fashioned. Again, doesn’t detract from how nice the place is.

    Great place, lovely staff, awesome breakfast. We stayed in the outbuilding which was fantastic for our family of 6. Would easily sleep 8.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Well maintained and very very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cold and damp night and the radiator was broken. Quick to react and provided a portable heater, just not ideal for a family of 4.

    Well maintained and very very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Everything was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous. We had a great couple of days here; food and accommodation was lovely. Don't hesitate to book this great B&B which is not far from Alton Towers. Thank you Peter and Anne for everything. x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a lovely welcome, excellent room set in a beautiful garden. Great parking in the middle of the town, but felt like the middle of the country side. Perfect breakfast. A very professional but friendly experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Manor Guest House totally exceeded all my expectations. With such inexpensive rooms, my partner and I were unsure what to expect, but we were overwhelmed by the staff and the accommodation as a whole. Breakfast was delicious, the rooms were comfortable and clean; the Guest House staff were excellent, going up and beyond to book a table for us at a local Indian restaurant. Would wholeheartedly recommend and happily stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay, nice room, great service and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant stay, nice room, great service and breakfast was good! Would of loved to see the bar open, but Peter had great suggestions for dinner and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, Wonderful Owners, perfect for families travelling together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stable could probably do with a slight update- but it didn’t detract from our stay at all! All 8 of us said it served our needs perfectly!

    The owners were incredibly attentive and friendly- also very accommodating- we had to change our booking to another date due to the adverse weather, and it was no problem at all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peter and Ann were very helpful and friendly. I have medication that has to be kept refridgerated and this was not an issue for them. Bonus was the vegetarian breakfast, not just meat free as is in a lot of establishments but quorn sausages and bacon, nice touch The hottest and most powerful shower I have ever encountered in a B&B,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff and beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little outdated, a little mould on the ceiling. Unfortunately the shower was hard to get to the correct temperature and would go very hot or cold without warning.

    Staff were great, very helpful with tips for dining out and directions. Lovely village with great restaurants and easy access to Alton Towers. Beautiful view of the hotel grounds from our room window. Breakfast was amazing with full English, as well as cereal, pancakes, endless tea/coffee and more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a group of 6 adults and one child aged 3, the two girls shared a room within the hotel but the rest of us shared the outside accommodation which included a lounge and kitchen area. Beautifully presented and ample room for the group and the two girls joined us for drinks and chat. Very spacious and comfortable, brilliant place to come back to after a long day at Alton Towers. They also adapted the menu to accommodate our Vegan exceptionally well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    2.5
    Horrendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mannerism of the staff leave a lot to be desired, man who greeted us had been drinking and stank of alcohol, was very rude and we were made to feel like an inconvenience rather than paying customers! Would definitley not recommend to anyone, not what I would class as a 4 star hotel, i’m absolutley disgusted.

    Decent facilities, clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Good accommodation in separate building so we could come & go without having to go through main building. Close to local shops. Lovely garden. Very convenient parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great facilities great weekend we had .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities , breakfast great lots of variety , rooms very clean bedding great. Peter and Anne excellent hosts very friendly and staff very good nothing a problem .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was a lot of noise from upstairs from the smallest of feet. Suggest maybe putting the more energic on the ground floor, save the noise.

    Owners were friendly and helpful. Lovely garden with pond, full of fish. Nice, clean room and en suite. Breakfast was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Great for a local stay at Alton Towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really creaky floor boards feel sorry for the people downstairs. Other than that is was clean and good place to stay to be only 15mins drive to Alton Towers.

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming. Good advice of the local area too and info on where to eat etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent little B&B with fab food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was beautiful. Plenty to choose from and so fresh. Rooms very nice and beds very comfy. Made to feel at home from the minute we walked through the door. Looking forward to going back next year

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, good location, amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Manor Stables
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the bungalow which is separate to the main house - lovely with lots of space, cosy and warm and the breakfast was amazing. Probably one of the nicest included breakfasts I’ve ever had. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on an English muffin. Definitely went above and beyond given it’s a free meal - wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant chat to Peter and Ann about the problems etc of running The Mansion, no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was, as before, brilliant! Fried to perfection for me and given extra because I didn't want black pudding. Served hot and by a delightful young lady. Second visit and will be here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Stayed here for the night after spending the day at Alton Towers. Very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great little place to stay for the night. Lots of guidance on dinner and drinks in the area. Make sure you check out the curry in the high street!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great value for money in a great location, thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t much space to manoeuvre in the shower room, however, we still managed

    The room was very comfortable and spotless. The poached egg was perfection! And the pancakes very tasty The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly The garden was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxed and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we could be even remotely critical of.

    Very welcoming, helpful and friendly host and hostess. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman that ran the house wasn't very informative when we rang to ask for directions. On Saturday we had to leave at 7:30 and all we were offered was bacon sandwiches but still charged for the full breakfast. The sandwiches weren't very nice to add to it all.

    We were very disappointed with the experience at The Manor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Really good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the people moving above and the condensation on the window.

    Excellent breakfast and really friendly staff. Brilliant location for Alton Towers

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: