Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mansion Lions Hotel 3 stars

Grand Parade, Eastbourne, BN21 3YS, United Kingdom

#28 of 36 hotels in Eastbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Would not say again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The help from desk was very poor TV was not working from beginning they did not fix it and did not care also welcome was not very friendly

    Food part was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money if expectations are modest. Will stay again at the price I had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit tired, almost shabby, in need of a wee bit of sprucing up, just basic facilities.

    I had a sea view room, good views, cooling breeze, close to the bandstand and enjoyed free live music up till around 10pm. Free WiFi. Good enough breakfast included in the price. Central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, no plug for bath, unhelpful staff could not get me one so had to plug it with a plastic bag. Complimentary tea and coffee was not topped up for second night. Very tight for breakfast so did not bother second morning ,not worth the hassle.

    Sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was alright and adequate provided that you like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions of the hotel in the entrance hall are of a grand Victorian style and quite welcoming, after checking in we were given directions to the double room on the first floor. Our room was larger than expected with high ceiling overlooking the sea front, the room was adequate for our stay but all was quite shabby and unfortunately desperately in need of refurbishment and updating, on close inspection of the bed the mattress was disgustingly filthy with stains and dirt and was ripped and covered with a tatty matress protector. On complaining at reception we were told that we could change our room but the only one availabe was the sovereign suite, we were moved to this room at no extra charge and this room was much better.

    Breakfast was alright and adequate provided that you like smoked bacon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent budget seaside break - as close to the beach as you could get, great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit of freshening up of paintwork in corridors and rooms wouldn't go amiss.

    Excellent staff, good breakfast - you could have virtually anything you wanted if you asked for it. Different eggs, kippers, porridge... The room was as expected for the price, a little tired but perfectly acceptable. If you want luxury don't expect it at budget prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    good for a short stay in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff needed a bit of organisation at breck fast the set up did not work very well and cleaners were bit early on our check out time felt a bit rushed,

    Seaview .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent position and very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was expecting old hotel in need of tlc but was surprised although old was spotless .Was given room at top with sea view which was great for viewing both sea and bandstand concert .The thing that made hotel was staff especially reception I think lady was Alana .All waiters were very pleasant and would visit again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Not as good as we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given room key no explanation where room was or where to go. Room was very dated and needed a lot of attention (ie no net up at window,holes in the nets,cracks in the walls in bathroom and peeling wallpaper and damp in bathroom

    The friendly staff at breakfast and choices given

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Fair and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Our room was spacious. And even though there were holes in the wall and a couple of stains, it was mostly clean. The Wifi worked, the staff was very friendly and the rate was a steal. We noticed a lot of seniors are staying at this hotel. As a matter of fact, we must have been the youngest folks at the breakfast. But that was a rather pleasant experience since it is very calm and seniors are definitely more chillaxed than younger travellers. We don't regret out stay at the Lion Mansion. It's close to the action and we felt very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Location , Dinner and staff **** GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom , Breakfast ** POOR Room ** FAIR Noisy Hotel room mainly due to creaky floor boards from guests of room above on 2nd floor and water system needs attention, continual thumping when in use maybe air in system. Also some guests noise levels unacceptable, mostly from National Holiday Coaches guests, no consideration for others.

    Location , Dinner and staff **** GOOD

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    The view out to sea from the dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not easy parking, but that is the local council's fault not the hotel's. Discount voucher available for on street parking

    The view out to sea from the dining room. An excellent location for the seaside A huge bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    This LIons hotel was not what I used to enjoy several years ago. Where's the big boss nowadays?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cobwebs on upper window frames and tall ceilings. Window stuck, with paint maybe. Painting required, too many flaky/chipped wooden surfaces. Dining staff need to pay more attention to availablility of dishes, if fruit juice jugs empty, to check a guest standing in the middle of the dining room is requiring attention and not walk by - maybe being short, female and over 50, makes one invisible (it's a common problem in society). Housekeeping did not see that eaten biscuits mean you want that type again; spare toilet rolls not provided when appropriate.

    Receptionists helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    I feel sorry for the staff who have to work in a place in desperate need of repairs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in such a bad state of repair. Curtains falling down. Wardrobe door falling off the hinges and several holes in the bathroom walls and wallpaper peeling.

    The staff is lovely and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    Many better places in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was tired and stained, really needed a complete makeover. The food was indifferent but priced highly. The service was indifferent and sometimes unintentionally rude.

    The room had a new carpet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    A Lovely charming stay at a somewhat worn Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an old Hotel with a lot of Victorian Charm...The Guests seem to be slightly elderly. It doesnt have the Standards of a New Hotel, its all abit worn...But that is to be expected at such a busy Sea front Hotel from Yesterjear!

    Fantastic Room view to the Sea, Bed was comfortable but small. The Staff were pleasent and friendly. Just across the road to the Beech..Parking was Only One Pound! Top!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    very disapointed. this hotel is in need of repairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    service in dining room at breakfast, not enough staff. room was wet as water was leaking down the walls from gutters and inside the window. moved to another room where the paper was hanging from the ceiling, the curtains were fraid with light coming through.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff at breakfast were helpful and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff unhelpful, especially after a bag went missing from our room. Even the duty manager wasn't helpful.

    Staff at breakfast were helpful and polite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A good value for money hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor wifi - either none or very poor signal in my 1st floor bedroom, at breakfast on Easter Sunday all guests were left an Easter egg at breakfast, apart from where I was told to have breakfast in the conservatory which I thought was a bit mean

    Staff, breakfast, cleanliness, comfortable bed, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location. Nice staff. Cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering the mobility of a lot of guests, the hotel could probably do with another lift.

    Good breakfast - plenty and good quality. We were upgraded to seaview without asking or any extra charge. One couple moaned constantly about the breakfast. Considering what they charge - pay five star and then expect five star. They were understaffed and the young waiters tried to accomodate everyone quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    a nice short break , would go again when a little warmer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice hotel but could do with a little t.l.c , lots of cobwebs and windows very old in which let's in a lot of cold air , the room was very cold.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, Very close to the pier and the shopping centre. The room was very cold but we ask for a heater and was given a small electric fire thankyou it warmed up the room .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    I will look for this hotel again if we return to Eastbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that it is could do with a bit of modernisation. It did not worry us, it is an old building and to be expected, especially for the price.

    The mattress may be too soft for some but I liked it. The location was great over the road from the sea and a short walk to the town. We arrived before noon but were allowed to check into our room early

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Wouldnt stay here again, its quite a run down hotel. It needs a lot of work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very run down hotel. The room was roasting hot and we were told that the heat would be on until at least midnight. We turned the radiators off and turned on the fan in the room but it didn't help much. The windows were filthy and even though we had a sea view, it didn't matter, we couldn't see through the window. The bathroom was cramped, the floors were uneven and the general shape of the room was shabby and run down.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for abreak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used to serve breakfasts with waiters ,but now buffet style some things get dried up quickly. Excellent

    Staff so pleasant food excellent, surrounding s good plenty of places in leisure area been going to this hotel twice a year for last 8 yearsnot so keen on buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was a disappointment, I thought it just coped with the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although superficially clean, the room was dirty in the corners and the net curtains were very dirty as was the bed drape. No comfortable chair to sit on and watch tv and as I suffer from arthritis and back problems it was very difficult to be pain free sitting on the bed. The general appearance of the room was drab, none of the furniture matched, neither did the curtains or bed drape which were old fashioned and well passed their sellby date. The window catches were broken, one window couldn't be opened and the other one was very difficult to open. Plugs in sink were not attached. Cooked breakfast had few choices and was luke warm and greasy. Had to ask for coffee which was look warm and undrinkable.

    I stayed at albany lions hotel as my booking was changed at the last minute because lions mansion didn't have enough clients. Room was quiet with a nice sea view ( this was an upgrade due to change of hotels)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    2nd time here, would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bar was closed friday night, but plenty of options close to the hotel, so no big deal

    Excellent breakfast ( be early to get hot though) given a very large family room a bit dated but very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    You could forgive the 'tired' appearance if the service and cleanliness was of a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovations. The room had wallpaper coming off the walls and water stains with furniture that my nan had in the 70s. The bathroom was dirty with a stained shower curtain and had no toilet paper, which unfortunately we didn't realise until the middle of the night.... We were out late and there is a night porter to open the property of you come back to the hotel after a certain time, however we were standing outside for 20 mins before someone responded to the doorbell. The breakfast experience was interesting, not an entirely comfortable experience we seemed more of a hassle to the staff when requesting plates. For a while no one was attending the breakfast buffet and you were not allowed to serve yourself! We were also seated at a larger table despite smaller tables being free but didn't have cutlery placed at it, this would have been ok but then the staff sat a family with us making the table over crowded in an empty dining room and refused to sit them elsewhere as moving cutlery is just unheard of. The family seemed just as uncomfortable as us in the situation. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.0
    Not happy they say I will get re found
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paid 30.00 extra a night for the best sea view room it was old with wall paper lifting dirt in the door jam window broken would not lock. Carpet needed clean and then found. Staine on the matresss I left a night earley as we could not stay there when we found the stain no management in the hotel. Got a phone last week and the say they would re found the extra cost of £120.00 Regards Alan Barnard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Very very unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room tiny cramped and very tatty, as we were paying top Dollar we asked to be moved but we're going to a wedding were told to pack our stuff and it eould be moved , we got back late at night to find a receptionist who couldn't speak english couldn't get into new room and then eventually got in but no luggage ! So had to find receptionist again. I phoned reception and restaurant in and the emergency number non stop for 10 mins waiting until it timeed out each time and no one answered . Had to go down and get key to first room and move ourselves, reception then phoned at midnight to ask for key card back ,! Not good service, very tatty and dated rooms , all of them, in better room there was blood on bathroom wall ! Food for breakfast luke warm with indifferent young girl serving, do not go there unless you have a very cheap deal as they are not worth the money they charged us! Which was way over the last min.com on that day znd they had told us we were getting a discount as we're were part of a wedding

    The reception looked good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay, a couple of mins from the pier. 5 or so mins to shops and testaurants. Excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar needs more than Bud light on tap. Or perhaps get bottled lager in. Perhaps fosters or carlsberg? Other than that, nothing to complain about at all.

    The single room that my mum and i both had was huge compared to the normal stuffy room you get in hotels. Lovely and bright with a side sea view! Bed was comfy as were the pillows. The hotel obviously prides themselves on the customer service of all their staff. They couldnt do enough for us to help us with lugguage storage at reception. Email them first via booking.com as this is not advertised. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were excellent. Very friendly people. Bingo and quiz on a monday night and singing entertainment the rest of the week. Bar food was great value and very reasonable. Breakfast is buffet style and plenty of it! You wont go hungry! The bar was open 11am-11pm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    we loved the fact that the staff are helpful and friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    over all a clean and friendly hotel would like to go back again at some point

    we loved the fact that the staff are helpful and friendly, the hotel is clean and the food is good too good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice for the money - we'd go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired décor, bed a bit uncomfortable.

    We got what we expected - it wasn't the most expensive so it wasn't first class but it was ok. Staff were really friendly, breakfast was fine, décor was very tired and the bed was quite uncomfortable. But room was nice - I asked for a seaview and we got one - excellent location for all amenities and practically on the beach. I'd go there again :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel put on entertainment for the elderly but they a lot of students there and they had to,pass the room to go out

    plenty of restaurants to suit everyone they put on enter

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.6
    We would ask that the owner urgently spends some capital on revitalising the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needed a thorough clean - there were cobwebs in the dining room, the (quite modern) lift was dirty, the lounge areas were uninviting and drab. The garden area to the rear was neglected. The food provided at breakfast was exactly the same each day - no variety whatsoever - and, for example, the bread was standard sliced bread and the fruit was all out of a can, rather than fresh. Moreover, there were many shortcomings in our allocated bedroom - room no. 103. It was in great need of redecoration, relighting and general modernisation (even the television was beyond its sell-by date!). The en-suite bathroom was a disgrace, with ill-fitting floor covering, badly adjusted wash-basin taps, ill-fitting toilet seat, damaged wash-basin unit, temperamental hot water supply, no operational extractor fan and inconsistent supply of clean towels. We could not recommend the hotel to anyone else in its current state.

    The hotel staff were helpful and eager to please. Our only use of the restaurant was at breakfast time and, again, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the food just about acceptable. The location of the hotel on the seafront, yards away from the the bandstand and only a short walk from the main shopping area was excellent. The parking permit scheme provided by Eastbourne Council via hotel receptions was useful and provided good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was over run with noisy teenage language students. Breakfast was very poor choice and once brought out was cold, the hotel was very run down and in serious need of a revamp. The only thing it had going for it was the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    Minor disappointments....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't close a window. Toilet very cramped...had to use sideways! Bar was not open at any time...we were just told it's not open, and not going to open. Room was in need of a tidy-up overall...screw holes in walls, window glass nailed in in one window instead of being sealed in. Hotel was full of noisy students. Couldn't get evening meal without booking it apparently?

    Location was good, some staff excellent, parking was acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Our stay was good, but not because of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed all afternoon and evening when it stated it was open all day until at least 11pm. When asked to see the manager, the manager wouldn't come out and see us. The room was okay, in need of decoration, flaky paint, curtains didn't fit the windows so the light beamed in at sunrise keeping us awake. Breakfast was cold and I had to return mine as eggs weren't cooked ( the white of the egg still clear jelly). The rest of the hotel was very tired in dire need of redecoration.

    The location was very good. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1] Bar opening hours - is that a lottery?? 2] The coffee machine was still not fixed from last visit 3] The sugar-cube tongs for table 25 was on the floor for 2 consecutive days! Why? 4] Where was the brilliant barman Hassan ?

    The nice terrace and the garden at the rear! Excellent range of fruit juices at breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Stunning hotel needs a little work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with some updating as side of bath and toilet seat was very shabby, curtains in bedroom need hanging properly and base of bed was very very tatty a little bit of money could make all the difference to a beautiful room

    Loved the hotel felt like we were entering some where very classy, staff were amazing location to town and beach was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Friendly clean hotel but very dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very dated, in urgent need of modernisation. No air con, tv was tiny for the room and often lost digital connection. Room was cramped with too much furniture so difficult to move around the room.

    Staff were really friendly, service with a smile. Great location and breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Lovely view, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to move room because the key didn't work in the room we had first. At breakfast the sauages wasn't good all the way through.

    I love the views you get

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    A fairly pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bedroom bathroom looked like a porter cabin with a deep step no yellow health and safety tape just a sign on the inside of the bathroom door nowhere to put your bathroom stuff very small space deep cracks all over the walls

    The staff were freindly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.8
    What a dump!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst hotel we ever stayed in and luckily it was just one night. Way overpriced! The room was so outdated with big cracks on the walls, curtains hanging and rock hard bed. We couldn't open the windows because they were jammed. TV remote control was missing and when we asked for it, they said they didn't have one. 3am in the morning two people checked into the room above us, leaving nothing to the imagination, very noisy and loud and we could hear everything they were saying.

    The staff were polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    OK for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar shut at 10 pm . Not a Hotel to relax in the lounge as its more of a corridor. Parking a bonus for just £1 . Have to drive around a bit to find a parking space but I did arrive at 7.30 pm on a Friday night. WiFi only works in Public area. One can hear people walking about upstairs ( I was on first floor ).

    location on seafront convenient. My double room was large with very large high windows (non seaview). A bit old fashioned with a mixer tap as shower but excellent endless hot water at high pressure. Rather like the boilers of the Titanic, took a while to get hot but strong head thereafter. Excellent full English breakfast with seaview

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced and needing some TLC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only people I would recommend this hotel to are those that I dislike!! The negative points are: There isn't actually a car park.... you just get something to put in your windscreen but that means you have to hope that there is a space nearby 24 reception unmanned for at least 20 minutes on arrival Room had chunks, dents and cracks in the plaster The water pressure barely managed to get the water to the shower head, but forget about it jetting out so you could actually have a shower Every floorboard seemed to creak The aesthetics of the room were just awful The bedding was 'grubby' and not pristine white For the price, the room wasn't worth it in the slightest. This smacks of a hotel chain more concerned in the bottom line than actually giving customers a fantastic service. I would really struggle to think that they would ever get return business. Where you expect to pay £60-£90 for a Premier Inn, £40-£60 for a Travelodge this should easily be in the £20-£35 bracket, but isn't, by a long shot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Super Friendly Staff and Fab Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The state of the room could be better and the cancellation policy more flexible as couldn't stay the night due to my partner's illness the day before

    The friendliness of the staff number 1 followed a close 2nd by the location overlooking the bandstand

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with being updated.

    It was a pleasant stay value for money,if you want 5*then you pay 5*prices,Breakfast was nice plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.8
    glad our stay was for only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast,not cooked properly, not very warm, our allocated table was in a very tight fitting corner with no room to get in & out. bad nights sleep due to very noisey doors that kept banging all though the night

    good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    This hotel COULD be SO nice, turn a blind eye and enjoy the good points!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very shabby and scruffy. Very run down, desperate for an overhaul! An awful shame as location is great. Not very clean either.

    Nice staff, very helpful and pleasant.great breakfast, amazing view from our room.bed clean. We did enjoy our stay because of these points.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Value for money + beautiful sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely stuff! I came on the motorcycle (you can leave bike on park bay free of charge) and they didn't mind that I've left my luggage in the hotel for the next few hours after check-out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Monday the heat was not on and as it was a cold day I asked the receptionist why not; to be told it might be on a timer. Did she not know how the hotel which employs her is heated? On Tuesday early all the heaters were on: so who was accountable for the omission on Monday?

    Excellent bar man Federico! Why was your own brand Lions beer not available?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    An ideally located Seafront Hotel with excellent facilities and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which could have been better would have been a slightly larger Bathroom, but this was not a real issue.

    We requested a room on the 1st or 2nd floor of the Hotel with a Sea View and this was exactly what we got. The room was extremely large for a family room and quite luxurious. On street parking was available very near to the Hotel at £1.00 for 24hrs. Breakfast was excellent and the whole experience was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    3.3
    faulty towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold - heating not able to be turned on until 6pm. Windows blew in a gale. so much I had to place chairs to stop windows opening during the night. Lift wasn't working.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Good location with ample parking opposite the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms lack maintenance some care and attention to bathroom would be recommended. The staff are helpful and very friendly.

    Good location and plenty of parking opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Ideal for a one or two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the room was clean and comfortable the windows could not be opened and the cabinet above the wash basin was dilapidated. A simple mirror would be better. The décor of the hotel was a little old.

    Friendliness of staff, position of hotel, quality of breakfast, good sized room which was clean and warm and shower was efficient and hot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    The staff made every thing very easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was not open and no food at lunch time We like to stay at the hotel in the evenings so we also like some enter tament

    The staff made every thing very easy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.7
    Could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not available at advertised time on 30/09/2016 Bar closed early on 30/09/2016 & 01/10/2016 Town events ongoing but hotel had partially closed down for the season.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar open in the evening and it was a Saturday evening . Had to use hotel further down the road and had to go out in the rain. Bathroom enormous and no where to put clothes and toilet bags could do with a chair and some hooks. Had to return teapot at breakfast as it was cracked and not washed properly.

    Hotel clean and in a good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Shabby like the rest of Eastbourne!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wfi did not work in room no kettle so unable to get a drink until after breakfast was over Decor in areas shabby with beds furniture and other objects in corridors Needs a complete makeover as paint work/ carpets shabby Cooked breakfasts were luke warm

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.6
    Do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel really shouldn't be open to the public in the condition it's in. Filthy! Mattresses lining the walls of corridors. Extremely run down. Staff were extremely friendly and attentive though. Felt sorry for them having to work there. Felt ashamed to think what overseas visitors must think if they ended up staying here. I have no idea how it retains a three star status.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    2.5
    will not be staying again even though we visit Eastbourne regularly
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hole on bathroom door, unclean bedrooms and linen. Old and worn-out carpets and furniture. Hotel being used as a hostel for 70 students loud and noisy. Unfriendly staff. Waitress dropped spoon on floor and then gave to guest to use.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    10
    Apart from breakfast it was a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beakfast very dissapointing.... Servery not good Long wait to get served Only fried eggs . had to order after joining queue at busy servery... Bacon and sausage not very tasty Shame as staff were polite friendly

    Lovely comfortable seeview room. Very clean .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Really loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the sea view! And close to the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    When we go to the tennis next time we will use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central position on the seafront and handy as we were there for the tennis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access for people of limited mobility

    Location. Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Great position close to everything we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem. Staff disagreed on use of loading area use on a sunday. it was a bank holiday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking place.. had to keep searching around.. and just not enough hash browns in breakfast..

    Location is excellent..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant enjoyable stay. Also beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really But could have done with a little painting up here and there through age.

    Liked the large spacious room with direct sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel Nice breakfast lots of places to sit and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was just a trickle 😒

    Lovely staff and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Would visit again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old, dirty and needs serious updating

    good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location but hotel is very tired and needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs updating and decorating and a deep clean. Wanted toast for breakfast but a slice of bread had turned green.

    Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    All staff was happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not open but Still could get a drink

    All staff was happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lick of paint

    Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Visit there a lot ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visit there a lot ideal location

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: