Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Marine Hotel 3 stars

The Front, Hartlepool, TS25 1BS, United Kingdom

#9 of 14 hotels in Hartlepool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 373 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    All in all good value and what a breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place had the smell of a dirty chip fryer, a real shame. also the staff were talking to each other while i was waiting to be served twice during a one night stay, and it wasn't about work! even if they had acknowledged me would have been better then nothing at all.

    Breakfast was really fantastic.......room good size wifi fab

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    brilliant staff couldn't do enough to help you out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing i can possibly comment on is that the carpet could have done with a clean.

    excellent value for money, the hotel and staff were fantastic. the pillows in the room was really lovely, we had a brilliant nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    A ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our window was right next to the kitchen ventilation meaning all night it was humming and and making a racket and the toilet seat was not fitted correctly bed was very uncomfortable

    Room was big staff was good food was okish as we ordered chips and burger to share chips was undercooked and burgers had way to much seasoning but still filling

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    One of our favourites but a bit disappointed this time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this as a treat for my parents because we often call in for a drink when visiting Seaton Carew and we have ate here a few times and the meals have always been nice. Unfortunately, we were really disappointed this time. We were given a set menu to choose from (this was because we had booked through booking.com) so we couldn't pick anything off the main menu, this meant the half board deal I paid for was not really a good deal afterall. Everything on the menu was on a 3 course for ten pounds offer. When the food came the hot starters were only luke warm. When the mains came, straight away I knew they were not going to be very nice. The 3 half parmo's ordered were burnt and dry, the thick cut chips were very pale and nearly all bad, the salad had no dressing on so was dry and one had a mound of mushy sweet potatoe wedges on which over loaded the plate. The gamon that my husband ordered was pale looking and had a lot of fat on but he said it was ok apart from the chips. The girl who came to clear the table could clearly see by the amount left on the plates that we hadn't enjoyed it. She was really apologetic and said she would have refunded the cost of the meal but because we had booked half board through another site she couldn't do this so she offered us a round of drinks which was nice but obviously still at least £30 short of a refund. This really spoilt the evening for me worrying that the treat I'd booked for my parents was spoiled and it has put me off booking half board in the future incase this happens again. I wish I'd have just booked b&b and took my parents somewhere else for a meal.

    The reception and bar staff are nice. The location is great being right across the road from the beach. We had a sea view room which was nice for a short break.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location for the beach and splash park - we checked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Perfect location for the beach and splash park - we checked in early and the staff couldn’t be more helpful . The food looked so good we upgraded to breakfast and it was delicious. The room was spotless and quiet. Definitely will be returning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Sea view was very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food served cold and overcooked. Room was on the top floor and there were no lifts, difficult to access with heavy bags.Decor very tired looking and shower very slow and luke warm.

    Sea view was very pleasant.Ideal situation sad that it looks shabby and uncared for.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable spacious accommodation, will return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet style below temperature. Served 8am-10am, we arrived to a lovely looking self-serve full English breakfast at 9.30am, but sorry it was only just warm.

    Good location in Seaton Carew. Ample car parking available. Comfort and cleanliness throughout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable bed, very friendly staff, beautiful location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thick layer of dust in wardrobe on the shelf, pull cord in bathroom was brown with dirt, used soap still in the shower and the blinds had brown splashes all over them. View of the back alley wall was a bit disappointing.

    Comfortable bed, very friendly staff, beautiful location, value for money, easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    A friendly place to stay. Clean. Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were quite happy with our 2 night stay here.

    Spacious room. Comfy bed. Shower was either too hot or too cold no happy medium but we had a bath so not a problem! Staff very friendly. Bar area nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Very lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I never liked we had a lovely room

    We really enjoyed our room it's our 2nd visit we will be staying again very soon. Our room was over looking the sea lovely feeling waking up to see the sea highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    Nothing won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy were awake most of the night due to noise from other occupants. Decor poor, bed soft, shower horrendous and hotel very tired.

    Nothing won’t be back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.8
    The hotel was cheap but no excuse for the worst bed ever and general tackiness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were awful, noisy and the worst I have ever tried to sleep in. Very hard, and well past their 'sell by date' and extremely uncomfortable. Croissants were like leather and breakfast very restricted to full heart attack. The only fish is kippers only only 'by request and if available' but how would you know to order in advance as no notice in the bedroom. The metal rubbish bin in the bathroom was covered in so much rust and a cheap carrier bag sticking out it looked disgusting.

    The hotel position

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.5
    Friendly helpful staff, good food reasonable prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably needs redecorating, but the staff & prices made up for that!

    Location spot on. Sea views. Staff very friendly. Prices very reasonable. Food & drink were spot on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like.

    The whole experience was excellent. The room was lovely, the staff were excellent we can’t tell you how good it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    This old hotel has been beautifully restored/updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeeky floor. At times we could hear the people in the room above walking around.

    This old hotel has been beautifully restored/updated. Our room deal came with dinner/bed/breakfast, a great deal for us as a couple. The dinner was duck spring rolls; a carvery of pork, beef, about six different baked vegetables, as much as you can eat; dessert was sticky date pudding. Each course was well prepared, substantial and delicious. Breakfast was cereal, milk, Scottish breakfast, as much as you want, again well prepared and delicious. Room was comfortable , spacious, bath/shower, well decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money , great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have stayed longer to appreciate more.

    Ease of access off A19 , car parking on site , huge room with spectacular views over beach and sea , comfortable bed , excellent value for money , with attentive friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very good, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The full breakfast was a bit cold and dry so I just ordered poached eggs on toast for the next 2 days which was good. Stayed in room 19 and you can't use your phone charger as edging on dressing table is too high and too close to the plug sockets, so had to charge phone's in the car :(

    Very good, you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Weekend Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, in desperate need of updating. Toilet seat slipping off to one side, grout in shower orange.

    The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the room itself was really nice, the breakfast very good. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay here was disgraceful to say the least for £54 I had the worst night ever!! Nothing but noise all night long and the bed was so uncomfortable can't say I woke up because I never got to sleep!!! This place was filthy couldn't even have a coffee in the morning as there's no way I could have boiled water in that kettle for £54 this is a disgrace you should be ashamed of yourselfs. Won't be back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall good stay- right by the beach, but bed and sound can definitely be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two gripes I had with the hotel, one was that the floors were so thin that anyone walking around could be clearly heard. Made it slightly uncomfortable to sleep in. Took friends with and they couldn't sleep as it felt there was someone either standing outside the door or literally like someone is walking in the room. Suggestion: Get sound dampening under-carpets or something along those lines. We were on the ground floor so it was the people above us. Second issue was the bed wasn't that comfortable. Slept okay in it, but slightly hard and not flexible so I wouldn't advise it for people who have back problems.

    Good food in the hotel's restaurant and you get a nice full 3 course meal which includes a starter, main and dessert. It was a lot of food and fair warning, if you go there, give youself ample of time to get hungry before hand. We all had the carvery option which was delicious, but for the menu they have quite a bit available to choose from if you go for the package that includes dinner and breakfast. The room was clean and very spacious, I liked it. Good clean bathroom and excellent extras to make sure you can have a good shower after having visited the nearby beach. Nice ice-cream places nearby and for a night time adventure, probably a good place to go out for a drink or two- everything is around it so location great. Reception was really friendly and helpful when I needed milk, so they get 10 out of 10 stars from me. Even the staff in the restaurant was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really uncomfortable couldn't get to sleep at all and floor was horrible uneven and really squeeky every step you made a horrible stay to be honest would never go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant stay in a welcoming hotel, conveniently located on The Front, Seaton Carew.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfy armchair in the room would have been useful and there was certainly sufficient space for one. Windows could do with a regular clean and possibly some of the double-glazed units will need replacing in the next while.

    No croissants available, but there was plenty on offer for the healthy breakfast option. Southerly aspect, with restricted views of the park and beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    the staff bery nice the room just needed a bit of T.L.C
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were too hard The bathroom shower head didn't stay up grout was missing from tiles gaps between the bath panel and wall both are breeding ground for bacteria

    The location was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.8
    Absolutely horrible will never return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold Bed very cold forced to sleep in clothes Towels ridiculously small Scum in coffee cups Tv not working Very poor WiFi no access to internet Mentioned to staff in morning and completely ignored Invoice unavailable in morning due to untrained staff so had to return later for invoice

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Would have enjoyed stay more if room not cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited when weather was very bad, snow and windy. No double glazing draft coming through windows making room cold even though heating on.

    Bed comfortable. Good english breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Traditional seaside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the decor- bit too dark brown for our liking. And the pillows, which were rock-hard.

    Good, traditional seaside hotel, just in need of a little updating/TLC. But it was warm, we had a good-sized, clean, room, side sea-view, loads of hot water in bathroom (a bath, which we prefer). Reasonable breakfast & very friendly staff. Felt safe & secure staying there and it was right opposite lovely Seaton Carew beach. (Had Sunday lunch at carvery- the 3 meat-eaters enjoyed it, but there was no veggie main option, so I had to eat off main menu. Noticed that the carvery customers had dessert-sized plates, whereas I had dinner plate!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Despite horrendous weather we enjoyed our stay in a spacious clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Added little details would have made a big difference. For example, a book or magazine library, a wider variety of bread at breakfast e.g. croissant, non slip bathmats! In that size of room a king-size bed would fit well..... and maybe a comfy chair?

    Two minor problems with our room were resolved very quickly on Easter Sunday. We thought thst was good. Large room with plenty of storage space. Lots of hot water. Plenty of off street parking space. Friendly staff; one even remembered to congratulate us on our anniversary. Gideon Bible in drawer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, Enjoyable and would definitely stay here again. Food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a meal in the restaurant and had the lights turned off on us at about 1030. We had to make our way out in the dark. This was an oversight but just hope in future the area is checked before turning off the lights. Also on the Saturday evening I returned to the hotel around 1220 and it was all locked up but the bell didn’t work. I had to knock the window to get attention for somebody in the bar to notify the security man to let me in, again unfortunate but a little worrying at the time as I believed I was locked out.

    The rooms were clean and nicely fitted out with everything you needed. The room was nice and warm. Staff were friendly. Food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and will come back, possibly using restaurant too next time as food looked good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, although we all struggled ( in different rooms) with the shower controls and getting it to right temperature

    Very comfortable , nice bar area, very welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    first visit to hotel , not impressed hopefully will improve .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and uncomfortable , floor boards creacked excessively, room was over kitchen could here all noises extractor fan running , no hot water one night .

    Staff were helpfull and friendly meals were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    I think Hartlepool is cash starved which may account for my disappointment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was not high class. crusty bread with soup definitely was not crusty. Chicken fillet looked like it had been under a steam roller first. New potatoes appeared microwaved. underwhelmed

    room was cold - radiator was on full but could not keep pace with cold air from wind and single glazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    The stay served its porpose , I would think twice about booking again because of the breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast the first morning was terrible , dried up and cold. The second morning was a bit better as the buffet ran out, so they made it fresh for us having said that it was not great , fatty bacon tough sausages. The breakfast girl on the second morning however was friendly and chatty .

    The location Is great, The room was comfy and warm, The bar and bar staff were very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for business location of meeting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meal ordered on the first night did not go through to the kitchen so when I had waited 45 minutes, I checked to find this out. Meal came quickly after that. Speed of service on the second night was fine.

    Friendly staff. Large room. Sea view. Free car park. Food was fine and portions large.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are to the back (room 9) so no view to speak off. There was noise from below sounded like a swing door maybe to the kitchen. My evening meal was basic and was obviously bought in Yorkshire pudding and I think microwaved vegetarian sausage so not as good as it should be.

    The location was perfect for my trip and on the front at Seaton Carew so good for a walk. the room was comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and generous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    staff were freindly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    floor boards in bedroom very noisy thats on the ground floor .so room above us all we could hear was the noisy floor boards.windows old and drafty. bed not comftable. not enough towels for two people

    breakfeast was a buffet food was cold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely room spoilt by no heating in bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towel rail heater in the bathroom was not working. Snow inches thick outside and the bathroom felt just as cold inside the bathroom. Spoke to reception but message not passed on. When I asked later on was told could not get hold of 'the person' and therefore would have to wait until the next day which was after i booked out. Was offered the use of another bathroom if i wanted a bath but impractical really. Breakfast, though plentiful was sufficient. The egg whites were cut into interesting shapes and the eggs themselves were rarely runny. The carvery meat was extremely dried out by the overhead warming lights but when you have had a long tiring day you will eat anything.

    Off street parking available, but you must put your car details on the screen at booking in or you will get fined. The room was warm and the bed was cosy. The room was massive!! Had an issue with a light bulb not working, replaced immediately. Breakfast staff were very friendly and if you fancy your eggs any way other than fried, they can be done on request. Plenty of food on offer at breakfast time, cereal, tinned peaches, yoghurt, croissants as well as fruit juices, fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast. Meals are available at other times in the day either in the bar area or the restaurant in the evening where there is a choice from the menu or carvery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband loves this room, especially with the sea view! The location is perfect, easy to find it. The parking space is big and just beside the hotel. The staff is nice and friendly. Super comfortable for this stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.6
    overall not bad our could have been cleaner could have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    overall not bad our could have been cleaner could have signed my name in the dust in the wardrobe, breakfast was another thing they forgot to bring us any toast and not chance of a refill of the tea pot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar shut at eleven maybe to early but you have to think of the staff I suppose

    The atmosphere and cossiness room was nice sea view and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    nice night away rooms ok food vile(breakfast was ok)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was vile

    hotel was clean and comfy however the food was an absolute disgrace to start the cutlery was dirty when we got it we got our meals they were both disgusting worst meals weve ever had and when I challenged the barman about the meals he admitted they were not fresh and gave us our money back would stay in hotel but id rather eat dog food than the muck they serve

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Great value, great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, ideally situated for local attractions, a little dated but for the price that is a small point. Will definately stay here in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Will i return to this hotel? No no no
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noone at reception to check us in i had to ring the hotel for someone to answer the phone god knows where and they came. One towel in bathroom... i paid £78 if id gone premier inn id got more than one towel... bedroom floor boards creek! Fan extractor in bathroom makes hell of alot of noise so soak in bath was a quick one! Raidiator bangs too so sleep was not good ... breakfast was lovely. Lady who served us breakfast in morn was lovely. Will i return. No. Never. £78 👎

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing good staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is old and it shows despite the best efforts of the staff.

    Right on the Sea front...so wrap up, it's cold. Very friendly and helpful staff. Warm in the hotel and a great fish and chip shop and Gelato shop just up the road and a great Italian restaurant on the car park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Decent stay, value for money barring a few little blips
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Up returning to the hotel after a night out, it took us over 30 minutes to get back in to the hotel as the night porter was asleep in room 2 - despite saying he was otherwise engaged - we saw him on the bed!!

    The room we were originally allocated had not been prepared correctly but this was an oversight, however it had not been heated and in November in the North East, a big room is going to take AGES to warm up, so we moved. The 2 rooms we were then allocated (at a small price increase) were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The size of the room was brilliant! Staff were wonderful and helpful wed love to come back. The only down side was the telly for the size of the room was very small nd full freeview with good remote needs updating. But on the whole it was a great experience! so THANKYOU to the staff and hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Good older hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem during our stay was on booking I requested a dinner reservation which was never confirmed by the property. So we ate on our journey up. Then on check out we were charged for the dinner reservation. However this was quickly resolved and refunded without a problem.

    The Marine Suite was spacious and clean. The four poster bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a bath and a handheld shower, which was fine for me but my husband had a few issues! The reviews here and on another travel website are slightly unfair. It is an older property and as should be expected it is dated in places. We had a perfectly satisfactory stay. The breakfast was fine and all of our requests were met without hesitation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast with a lot of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was far too hard for my taste. The floor creaked loudly & weirdly when in bed it sounded like someone else was in the room walking about. The shower temperature was either scalding hot, lukewarm or freezing cold, couldn't adjust the height of the shower either.

    Good breakfast with a lot of choice. Friendly staff. In room tea/coffee facilities. Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Big spaciious room with high ceiling, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a saturday nite and loud music on ground floor pub blast till 12 midnight, so early sleeper need to make sure this is not happening every nite.

    Big spaciious room with high ceiling, lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    The children loved it ... clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the road it could do with a revamp.

    Staff great food great room and bathroom very clean.my 7 year old told us not to judge a book by its cover ... how right she was .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, lovely suite, good value and lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soft furnishings & fittings need some attention, curtains, taps, TV, decoration etc.

    The suite was huge and very comfortable, having said that the site has seen better days and is tired in places (broken taps, scuffs and a very small TV) but it was a lovely place to stay. Breakfast was very good value and there was a lovely 'family' feel to the place. Hotel has views over the sea and although we hadn't heard of Seaton Carew before we will go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thermostatsecond in our rooms were not working so we had to sleep with the windows open all night as it was roasting. In an effort to open the romantic blind I pulled the cord and it fell off. Although mainly very clean there were cobwebs on the walls.

    Beautiful old building. Nice big suite (upgraded). View of the sea from our room and the location is amazing. Right on the east front. Parking was very easy. Loads of room. Breakfast was fab.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    All round great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really enjoyed our stay here

    Very welcoming & great charm to the building. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Beautiful sea view room & tasty breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Good enough to lay your head for the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, needs a bit of refurbishment, however, this is reflected in the price. This would not stop me staying here again, as my room was clean and the food was good.

    The staff and food were excellent at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Hello, my English is not very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hello, my English is not very good. I am from Lithuania. But I liked hotell very much, good lokation, good car park, everything was excellent. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Good central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy outside my room after bar closed, but didn't go on for long. Squeeking floorboards noise from next door.

    Good central location. large rooms. Good wi-fi. Secure parking. Decent breakfast too. Didn't eat in the hotel as there was a superb Italian restaurant next door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Room was very large (standard double) and very clean, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very large (standard double) and very clean, staff were very helpful, polite & all seemed happy (always a bonus I think), food was fantastic (breakfast & evening meal) really very little I could say that was detrimental, overall very enjoyable experience (and my wife enjoyed her birthday treat !)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Okay for one night. Were only there to visit friends so needed a clean comfy bed, which it had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast disappointing. Hot food was available but we were not offered any. Waitress friendly enough but needs to do a bit more to make guests welcome.

    Very big room, sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Restaurant was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seaton suite needs some attention stains on carpet, sofa was very tired and uncomfortable, radiator in main area didn't work, one bedside lamp didn't work.

    Restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    The stay was a pleasant weekend break at a friendly Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes.

    The breakfast provided was very good with a good choice offered by very friendly staff. The room was clean and tidy and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was also clean and tidy and fully functional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very poor. Too hard Decor of hotel dated and dingy. Coffee atrocious. Some staff a little brusque and some very polite. I would not stay there again. Hotel needs some investment

    Room was clean and a good temperature. Nice cotton sheets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Excellent car parking - big and only for guests. Location on the sea front Micro brewery next door and a good Italian restaurant the other side

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Toilet had been left with faeces in when I arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable. Very hot in bedroom. Pillows very hard and tired as if they have been used for years.

    Ability to park. Breakfast staff were very good and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    A lovely weekend, super weather spent on a beautifuly clean seaside resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel overall needs a little tlc - paintwork re done, new carpets,, the bathroom was actually not good at all - the water pressure in the shower was almost non existent. Very outdated needed a new bathroom.

    Very clean, lovely staff, excellent right on sea front, well stocked bar - food was also very good both in the restaurant and bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Restful, good food, handy location for local sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike, would and will return for another stay

    The staff were friendly, helpful and caring. The hotel was professional and run well, the room was large and had all facilities needed, the breakfast was complete and well served with no restrictions on amounts. The evening meal was excellent and lots of variety on the menu. Bar staff very helpful and the bar was clean, pleasant and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Loved it apart from food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was hurendess wasn't cooked propely and hated the fact our room was at the back so quiet noisy would ov loved a room with a sea view

    The bedroom was amazing loved the bath

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel but poor nights sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't stop in room 9 which is located above reception. Very noisy. Could hear conversations below and main hotel door opening and shutting up to early hours in morning, then again as soon as people started booking out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the size of the room there could have been a bigger bed as me and husband over 6ft so didn't sleep well

    Breakfast was lovely good choice of alcohol and the room was very clean and spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful suite, clean and comfy. Easy to find on the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, breakfast sausages were of poor quality and detracted from what was a decent breakfast.

    The location, the friendliness of the staff and our suite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    the staff were very friendly and accommodating with requests...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a massive let down, the standard of the items was poor. The hotel could do with a bit of a decoration over haul.

    the staff were very friendly and accommodating with requests for equipment and information. Had a meal the first night in the bar. I had toad in the hole and my partner had steak pie. The meals were very nice, the toad in the hole was a very small portion for some reason.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Good value for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not told when the restaurant closed at night, but no major hardship as the bar had more atmosphere. As mentioned in other reviews the floorboards could be noisy and upstairs movements easily heard.

    The hotel was easy to find and park my car, staff were friendly and welcoming. The bar served a nice pint of cask ale, the bar meal was tasty and good value. For the first time I saw my son eat the crusts off his sandwich, but he did say there wasn't enough turkey on it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Good for a short stopover.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no complaints.

    I just stayed one night as I was passing though. It was clean, comfortable and good value for money. It would probably be very nice if it was summer with the nice beach just over the road. Actually, it was summer but I'm used to Australian summers, it wasn't hot enough to swim :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room we had is ready for updating as is some of the decor. It was all very clean and serviceable though

    Size of room was fantastic. Sea front position is spot on. Bar and restraunt were very good food good value. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay for a weeks holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The TV could have been larger, and work a bit better, but not a major issue when on holiday Car Parking was a little awkward at times for a guest, but not a huge problem

    A large clean room with a bath, never needed to ask at reception for any replacement items Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    2.5
    Great value with airy and clean rooms. Just the ticket!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    modern windows as those in place were old and although frequently painted were tired. Lifts to upstairs would help as many rooms would be unavailable to elderly or infirm.I would put an extra sofa/chair in the rooms as ther is plenty of space.

    Airy and comfortable with decent space. Most modern apartments and restaurants do not have this space. Food was decent and locally sourced and rooms were big and clean with great views. Staff which included receptionists, bar staff, catering staff and cleaning staff were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only provided one towel for two people. Shower temperature kept fluctuating as had mixer taps so couldn't easily be regulated.

    The staff were very welcoming. Attended a function and Dilllon was absolutely brilliant, a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: