Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Market Inn Hotel 3 stars

7 Queen Street, Castle Douglas, DG7 1HX, United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Castle Douglas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room 6 was poor - just over roof tiles - made it feel a bit claustrophobic. Other rooms might be fine. The hotel does host many events (eg parties etc) particularly at weekends so can be a bit noisy but only up to midnight. Some fresh fruit with breakfast would be nice.

    Staff were really good, welcoming and friendly. The “Full Scottish” Breakfast was enormous and very nice. Restaurant offered just pub type food - but well cooked and nicely presented. Room was on the small side but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant already closed at 2030 when we arrived so it had to be a take away meal from town for us. They did let us sit in the dining room to eat it at least!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed an update, the coffee cups in the room had lipstick on them and the breakfast bowls weren't washed properly. Breakfast was not included with booking and the staff weren't aware that we had already paid for our room.

    I attended a party held in the premises and the food was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the en-suite was useless - it was really noisy, hardly any water was coming out of it and it didn't heat up. Also, there was a lot of noise outside the hotel at night until about 00:30 because it was a Saturday night and our room was facing on to quite a busy road in the town centre.

    The staff were great, all were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was of a good standard, as was the breakfast. Our room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    The hotel is ideally situated for the town centre. The staff were all very friendly. We had evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and both were excellent, would certainly stay here again when in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spent four days in the hotel and were made very welcome. the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy and there were plenty of towels. Food was top class both breakfasts and dinners, great chef. Staff were helpful about info. in the area and there are plenty of places of interest to see in the area. This was our second visit to the area and there will be a another especially to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired and the shower incredible small, as was the room, but I can live with the room size. After all it is 'pub accommodation. Bar staff still 'under training'.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The option of a 7.30 breakfast would have been ideal. Breakfast room decor was dated. We opened a double-glazed window in our room (on the first floor) and then couldn't work out how to close it again! So we had a bit more noise from the road than would otherwise have been the case. But it wasn't that noisy, in fact. Shower room was adequate but cramped.

    Staff were very helpful and accommodating both at check in and the next morning. We stayed over on a Thursday night, and needed to be up and away by 8.30 to reach a nearby destination, but the cook wasn't coming in to do breakfast until 8am. We made arrangements to get downstairs before 8 and start with cold cereal (the cleaner brought us milk and juice) so we had a start on breakfast and then a very speedily-prepared cooked breakfast ordered at 8am sharp, so we <just> made our 'getaway' time. I was interested to see they had dinner options, including for non-residents - we may go back sometimes, just to try a meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Didn't find hotel too noisy as it said it might have been. Bit of bar noise but certainly didn't keep us awake. Castle Douglas a lovely wee town with some lovely shops & a splendid Greek restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Twin room ok, refurbished relatively recently but let down by the ensuite: extractor fan not operating; lighting was a bit blinky; shaving light was broken (but was reported and to be attended to); servicing of room bins could have been more frequent.

    Central - only two minutes away from anywhere. Immediate external visual appeal from the street; Welcoming staff - all staff were very attentive and welcoming, from reception through bar and meal service during our stay; Meals and service can't be faulted other than the fact that being a very busy place, table booking is essential on some days, being so popular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked out onto rooves, Check in staff rather vague but adequate Online prices for a single occupation was more than advertised at the (very quiet) hotel

    Location good for touring area , Breakfast staff very cheerful and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet roll holder, broken bedside light.some mould ain bathroom which could do with a little updating

    Friendly atmosphere,staff very helpful.good food,comfortable bed,tea and coffee facilities in room.easy access to wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road noise. Smallness of room. We got charged for 2 breakfasts when only one was consumed. All I had was a cup of tea.

    Central location was good. Food and staff was excellent. There was some road noise that affected my sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise on the Saturday night we stayed due to disco, music and street noise until the early hours. Couldn't complain when we left because no one there to check us out!!!

    Friendly staff,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity about there being no ground floor rooms. And there is no lift. The Ladies toilet is also upstairs. This would not normally bother me, but I have been ill and at the moment stairs are a real effort. However, staff were very kind and helpful.

    Location was excellent, room was clean and spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent and well-priced, but he portions are enormous. I had to ask for half-portions. One note of caution - there are no ground-floor rooms in this hotel. Apparently there are no ground floor rooms in any hotels in Castle Douglas.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was rather small and the washbasin in the ensuite was one designed for a cloakroom.

    The breakfast was very good with a choice of freshly cooked food. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault a thing!

    An excellent place to stay. Staff are all so friendly and welcoming and especially made a fuss of our dog, Sam. The room was lovely and the food exceptional!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little chilly for our liking but is was middle of February!

    The staff are particularly happy jolly and welcoming, really made us feel welcome and talked us through the excellent choices on offer on the menu. Food plentiful and tasty and hot

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having difficulty finding anything to put in this box

    The staff were brilliant, food Very good and big portions The atmosphere for a New Year stay was superb

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. As I have a gluten allergy it can be a bit difficult to get a choice of food. However the staff were very helpful and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too warm. Had to turn the radiator off completely.The bathroom ( en-suite ) was a bit on the small side. Very little shelf space.Tv a bit on the small side.

    Excellent meals. Nice draught ale on tap. Very welcoming staff. Cosy atmosphere.Excellent location at the top end of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in need of refreshing and there was a bit of a musty smell about it. Cobwebs were on the wall ceiling junction and using the toilet was a bit of a struggle especially if you need to sit (Saying no more)

    Staff were very friendly and the food was lovely and portions were generous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room at front of hotel and at times it was very noisy when guests were standing outside smoking and congregating etc.

    Food was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I disliked about the hotel.

    The staff were all very friendly and the food was delicious. I have food allergies but they coped marvellously with me. We ate 3 breakfasts and 2 evening meals there and there was a great choice of food, even for a vegetarian visitor we had with us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed 2 nights, bed not made up for 2nd night or would have rated higher.

    Traditional Inn, well situated for all amenities in Castle Douglas. Good food, staff very helpful and room clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel so there was some noise from the road but nothing to be too concerned about.

    We had our evening meal in the restaurant, food and service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not available at the time we arrived. Apparently misinformation to the chef about our required breakfast time. Not a major problem as we were not in a rush.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old uncomfortable mattresses Old linen Disposable plastic 'glasses' Shower refused to work for 2nd guest Noisey bar just below bedroom windows, ' beware weekend music'

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well cooked breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy beds and quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The vibration of the kitchen fan

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was fabulous, especially the gluten free fish and chips

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything spot on for me and friend

    Excellent location,staff very helpful good scottish breakfast and nothing seemed a prblm for staff and owners

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper holder no screws in ,toilet seat my husband mended ,shower needs new silicone round bottom all black not very inviting,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good food, comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff were brilliant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full Scottish breakfast was very tasty. The staff were very helpful and the service was great,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a good airing. Couldn't open window properly because the curtain rail was in the way

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and helpful. Evening meal was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disco music till 12 pm, then noise in hotel and outside till after 1 am. No chance of sleeping.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    The staff and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed when we returned to the hotel after dinner out

    Breakfast choice was good and food was delicious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black pudding for breakfast to spicy.

    It was like it says on the TIN .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet rolls

    Good service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, my fault for booking a pub but loud music and noise til after 1am. Damp on the walls too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasn't great

    The room was really warm and cosy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor mattress

    All fine

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    Staff, food, location all excellent , highly recommended. Convenient free on street parking. Lovely small town

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large comfortable room in lovely old-world pub.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was old, not very powerful and not really up to the standard you would expect in a hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting

    The bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous weekend, beautiful accommodation, very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    perfect location and hotel for our journey to cairnryan

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was cramped and room was not set up properly

    Staff and food were good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little small

    Excellent full breakfast; great friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and were happy to cope with our various dietary requirements . The food was very tasty and very ample portions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent service and fabulous food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities electrics. Lights

    Staff were good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and the meals were good. The staff are very friendly..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large crowd of people in the bar who were very loud and also swearing

    Staff very helpful! Food was delicious also!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms very small. Shower had only scalding water or cold water. Nothing in between.

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not inform on arrival that bedroom lamps did not work, this made it difficult to put on make up.

    Good value for meals.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great central location. Room was excellent and lovely staff couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were friendly & helpful. Meals were terrific. Great location with a little walk into the main part of town for restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good menu and food. Nice clean room. In a central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were neatly turned out and very helpful. everything beautifully clean and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The light above the bathroom mirror used a pull cord to switch on. The cord was hanging by a thread and broke the second time I used it to help shave by. Very slightly inconvenient.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view out of our window was the roof.

    Very efficient and friendly staff who went out of their way to help us. We were rushing to a wedding and we were offered a lift. Room was comfortable with everything we needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast kept us going all day long.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 5! The room itself is fine, and it does look over the a green space BUT, don't stay n this room on a Saturday night!!! Its above the bar, which gets extremely lively and noisy. On the bright side, the 18th birthday party boys and girls went home at 12.00pm, so we had a sound nights sleep after that.

    The staff were really nice and welcoming and keen to make sure we were satisfied with the accommodation. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cannot think of anything.

    Room was well appointed, bed was very comfy, room was warm & facilities are good. Breakfast was very good indeed. Little or no traffick noise from the road. Good place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a very popular pub so it was noisy but managed well. The room could have been bigger.

    The steak was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: