Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Marquis 5 stars

Alkham Valley Road, Alkham, CT15 7DF, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Alkham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t understand why I paid £79 for the first night bed and breakfast and £49 for the second. £49 was very good value and I would have thought it could’ve been charged for both nights. Lady taking the bill wasn’t interested in giving an explanation and I found her manner overly professional to the point of standoffish.

    Food completely amazing. I asked to change rooms and was upgraded as the room was free, at no extra charge, very helpful friendly staff on the evening I checked in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not the cleanest , cobwebs and dust everywhere . Food was good standard but exspensive . Needed some cheaper like pub classics.

    Spacious room, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant slamming of doors all evening, after a long drive I wanted a comfortable sleep before evening meal but either staff or inconsiderate guests were coming and going without any consideration to anyone else in the small hotel.

    Nice room, good food in restaurant and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been cleaned better. Terrace hadn't been cleaned. Small repairs and maintenance required (e.g. toilet flush, shower sealant). Staff should give more/better suggestions for dinner, and offer steak knives for lamb (also suggest that cooking lamb to well-done would make it too chewy).

    The deluxe room was spacious and comfy. Lovely cosy restaurant (quiet and spacious) The breakfast was lovely and the service great. Dinner was very nice and reasonably priced (very nice Malbec wine, delicious pig cheeks, lovely desserts). We had a small problem with the door key, which was resolved instantly. Spacious parking at the premises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really hot night and it was a shame there was no air con!

    Stayed here for a wedding nearby at old Kent barn. They were very accommodating with checking in late at night. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The open plan layout of the room incorporating toilet and shower in room was not to our liking. Next time will ask for room with separate bathroom. Entrance to car park tricky.

    Quality of the food in the restaurant was outstanding. Staff and service throughout the hotel was exceptional. Room was clean and had excellent coffee and tea facilities. Good sized flatscreen TV with good range of channels. Car parking is adequate and the location is approximately 10 mins from Euro Tunnel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cramped and right by the extractor fan for the restaurant. It meant we weren't able to open the windows despite it being a warm sunny day. Disappointing considering the cost. Could also hear the people in the room next to us.

    Amazing food in restaurant for dinner. Breakfast not to the same high standard though. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was just a little pretentious and slightly over-priced, but we enjoyed our meal. The wine list was, in general, ridiculously expensive, with just a handful of bottles in the £20-30 bracket.

    A good place to stay with easy parking. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area provides comfortable seating in a relaxed atmosphere and, if the weather is right, there is an outdoors terrace for a drink in the sun. The bedroom was perfectly adequate for a short stay. The restaurant did not quite have the ambience I would have hoped for, with perhaps a few tables too many.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that the bill was wrong on checking out.

    The hotel is comfortable and well placed for the ferry port. The food served in the restaurant was of high quality but one has to bear in mind that the "Nouvelle Cuisine" style means small portions. We were allowed to leave one of our cars in the car park for 4 days without any charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows were not double glazed letting in cold air and noise. Noise from the bar/restaurant played into the room late and early attention to detail was lacking Bulbs had blown and no fire lit in the bar lacking atmosphere. food portions were small cooked breakfast (£12 seemed expensive for what was served) was missing ingredients - no black pudding as advertised. Continental breakfast was also not quality ingredients Overall I felt that the hotel was expensive and did not live up to the expectations of an award winning boutique hotel

    The bed was comfortable and the views lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom in principle very nice, but after >10years of use could have a brush-up: rainfall shower dripping off cold water and silicon seals all mouldy, general cleanliness a bit neglected (bath). The country road quite busy at times.

    a medieval old house coverted nicely into modern functions, comfortable room. Good restaurant on the premise. good WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here previously, I expected a higher quality of food, the breakfast was below average.

    The room smelled quite nice, spacious and the bed was comfortable. Staff were fairly accommodated and tried quite hard to make our stay comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in and check out slow. Staff, although friendly, prioritise the restaurant/kitchen over paying guests. Quite irritating after a very long journey in terrible weather and also irritating when one has to depart to go to a funeral

    Room (comfort, lighting, facilities, location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In continental (or international) terms the conditions of the room (the suite) were below standards. Notably: ridiculously positioned cheap doors and frames (unless you are below 5.7ft/175cm), the claustrophobic low cealings (7.2ft/220cm) + the annoying steps/level difference between every surface (i.e. at nights!); poor acoustique floor isolation; single glazings+heavy curtain "solutions" vs. drought, moisture, traffic noise etc-etc... You may call these "the local charm" or "traditional building heritage" or similar clishes; maybe it is OK for a B&B, but definitively not for a 5 starred - and 5* priced! - booking.com hotel "suite"! There are much smoother and (!) cheaper options in Kent.

    clean; warm; comfortable free-parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager moody on the phone when calling to confirm reservation. Room a little tatty. Toilet wouldn’t flush and 3 bulbs not working

    food and staff were very good. Room was pleasant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area smelt of the toilets which were right next to the area. Lots of paintwork needed updating as there were lots of marks and chips.

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole ambiance was wonderful. Staff extremely helpful and great service all round. Lovely dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend. Will be returning as soon as I can to explore and walk some more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is great, I cannot fault any aspect of our stay, the staff, food, comfort all outstanding. The hotel is in a village with no other facilities that we saw, but for us that was not a problem as we were only staying one night. The location gives you easy access to Dover, Folkestone etc. so could make an ideal base. When you enter your room there is a fluffy dog (not a real one) on the bed waiting for you, it is such a cute touch, our dog was Hopton and he was lovely. Outs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have no negative comments to make

    Very good food but a little pricey. A convenient location for Dover Car Ferry if you have a morning crossing. Essentially a restaurant/pub with rooms. Not a hotel but has very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The Marquis was fantastic! The room was a great size, & very clean and tidy. We arrived late at night and the staff were very helpful and made the check in process very fast and easy. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds not working in room.

    Comfy bed, nice decor although blinds were broken so couldn't shut them and our room had a large window which meant it was quite bright in the room in the morning. Staff were extremely helpful and looked after us. We would definitely return hopefully to try out the restaurant which unfortunately we didn't have time to do.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and the bed was really comfy. The shower was amazing as well and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding reception on the night we had our stay which meant the restaurant was not available for an evening meal. We could have been informed of this as I made this booking based on the reviews of the dining !

    The deluxe room had an excellent bath

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not told the hotel was given over to a wedding party so no restaurant after a 200 mile drive I was sent to a local pub which by then 2040 had stopped serving food Had I known there was no restaurant at the hotel I would have booked elsewhere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and very warm even with the window open. We used the fan supplied which was very noisy and was difficult to adjust as the adjusting knob was missing. The food was ok but not as good as last year when we first visited.

    The location was excellent with great walks. The bar area was ok but a little small and the staff were all fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Friendly helpful staff. Very accommodating. Lovely cooked breakfast. Soft clean comfortable beds, and our room had a choice of bath and shower! Lovely stay thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside is currently a rat run, with quite heavy traffic all night. The receptionist told me that there are moves afoot to put in speed bumps to fox the issue. The bill for the dinner included a 10% tip, which is cheeky, and I was not given an itemised bill for the dinner either, so it was not possible to check. The food was good, but those things annoyed me.

    The food and atmosphere were good. The room was also good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this as a surprise for my husbands 60th so paid for deluxe room with added robes etc but when we checked in was given a basic room with no extras so I had to get this changed. I wanted to do an afternoon tea for my husband but was told was not possible...the afternoon tea finished at 5pm but when we asked for it the time was only 4.30 so was not impressed as this surprise for him was getting worse we had to get back in car and find somewhere who could help..

    There are plenty of places to visit nearby. beautiful big bath.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gardens and terrace were rather sparse & bland. The view from our room was a bare grass lawn and a brick wall.

    We liked the breakfast and the lovely lady who served it! We phoned to advise we would arrive late, and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a very warm day the room was quite airless. Window only openable at the top but inadequate. Lady at front desk in the morning lacked hostess charms. No good morning, no smiles. Would expect hospitality from what seemed a senior member of the team.

    Cheerful, helpful staff both on check in, at dinner, and breakfast. Instant response when tv wouldn't work and a fan provided for very warm room. Dinner menu interesting. Food very good. Breakfast fulfilled expectations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wait staff does NOT get the "discretionary" 10% service charge that is automatically added to your food bill. (Make sure you tip them directly. They pool all of their tips nightly) Room was well worn with paint peeling in shower ceiling, walls and furniture scraped, stained and marred, room immediately adjacent to very busy road (ask for a room other than the Granby), 11:00am checkout (earliest of all our stays in over three weeks of travels in Ireland, Sweden, Poland, Estonia and England), personal safe in room did not work and staff could not fix, etc

    Staff was wonderful. Excellent food and service. The best Belgian waffles I've ever had (ordered them both mornings!) bed super comfy! Nice coffee service in bedroom with tasty cookies each day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money is poor. I'm not sure why the rooms are that expensive, our shower attachment was broken, we couldn't open the blinds and the rooms was quite snug, despite it meant to be a 'deluxe' double.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, beautiful rooms , great food and very close to Dover , although you wouldn't know it .lovely friendly staff , can highly recommend .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing in particular that we didn't like. Yes the bed was a tad too soft for us both so possibly a new bed could be recommended. Breakfast was very good although one slice of toast each is somewhat on the mean side and it would have been nice to have been offered more (but we could have asked for more in fairness).

    We were attending a wedding at The Old Kent Barn and this hotel was one of the nearest to the venue at around 10-15 mins drive away. We were hoping for an early check-in and the hotel obliged which we were thankful for. It gave us a chance to relax and enjoy a pot of tea on the terrace before our cab arrived. We stayed in the Granby Room which had all the amenities you would wish for in a good quality guest house. The little village of Alkham is beautiful and the scenery around this hotel is glorious especially in good weather (which we had).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends had a front bedroom and slept badly because of the traffic. They need to invest in double glazing

    The dinner and the breakfast were excellent and the bedrooms were very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fantastic food- both dinner and breakfast very friendly and helpful wonderful decoration of the room great walks around the area- do visit the old church and cemetery

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Located just a few minutes off the M20 at Folkestone, down a few country lanes this is gem of a place to stay. The rooms are fantastic, beautifully Decorated and the bed was soo comfortable. The restaurant was exceptional. We realky enjoyed our stay here

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We love the place. The rooms are individually decorated, the food is very good and all of the staff are so friendly and helpful. We have stayed here several times and we have always enjoyed our time here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This quaint hotel restaurant is set in some beautiful rolling hills, with great views. It's a little off the beaten track, but well worth taking the few minutes detour. The restaurant serves some fantastic food, the wine list was exquisite. The room was cosy, comfortable and warm. Spacious bathroom with an excellent shower. We will most certainly return here when taking the tunnel of ferry to France

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very poor service we received when we arrived. We were given an inferior room to the one we booked. There were no apologies about this and we had to confront the staff in order to get a £20 reduction which was the cheaper room offered at the time by booking.com. We should have had a patio, a seating area and a sofa but we had a room with a double to kingsize bed, with a bath in the bedroom rather than the bathroom and a view between the houses from the window!!! This was very upsetting as I had gone out of my way to make sure we had the room with patio etc. I have complained to the hotel manager by email as well as written a complaint through their Contact at their website. It was four days ago when I sent the email but I have not had a reply yet!!!!! This spoiled our visit and we didn't like the fact that the staff told lies about the room in order to cover up a mix up with the room. We were first taken one way to our room and then another way and when we got there we found a welcome note to some other guest. We never did get a welcome note!!!!!!! So as stated above our treatment regarding our room spoiled what would have been an amazing stay!!!!!!

    The food was amazing. The fish was so fresh it just melted in your mouth!!!!!!!! The wine menu was amazing and the wines exceptionally well kept!!!! The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful as well! The breakfast was lovely. You were offered such a wide choice of cooked meals and everything was so fresh - the orange juice and fruit salad etc!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Couldn't have been better!

    The Marquis was a great place to stop for a night or spend a week. My mother and I stayed there for one night on our escape from London to see Leeds Castle and the White Cliffs of Dover. We had to leave early the next morning to catch a flight and the staff made sure breakfast was set up for when we needed it. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was cheery and helpful. And the building was super unique. At an hour and a half from London, this is a much-needed trip for anyone headed to London.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast sausage of good quality, but not quite to our liking. Good breakfast overall though.

    Outstanding dinner (set menu). Could not fault the stay. Staff very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote control didn't work for TV. The safe in the room only had 3 batteries and there should have been 4!!! Did not complain at the time due to it being a birthday treat!!!

    We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too soft; noisy as our room was facing the road; double glazed windows works fine but that means you have to sleep with the window closed and it was very hot this week end. They provide a fan though, but it's a bit noisy. Breakfast a bit disappointing, little choice on the buffet; you can order hot food but some of it with a supplement and it took quite a while to be served. Check out at 12 rather than 11 would be appreciated.

    Clean, good cookies, nespresso machine in room, excellent food at dinner, nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities certain things like flashing the toilet shower and cracked sink room window not closing. Sunday lunch was good but the tiny meat portion which consisted of two very thinly slices of meat not good enough.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked a little bit tired and unloved for example the carpet was all worn and thread bare in places it just needs some t.l.c.

    The beds are super comfortable and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    . Meals, Dinner and Breakfast excellent. Room excellent. Cleanliness excellent Staff excellent. I would recommend for a special dinner Anniversary etc and deluxe room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location great experiy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door from hotel room led directly on to street

    Hotel room was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it difficult to understand the receptionist.

    The room was very clean, comfortable bed, very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything was great: location, design, armosphere, excellent service, great food!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in bathroom would not turn off and made it very hot in the bathroom

    Very comfortable bed and lovely having our own terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac in the room didn’t work, dead fly on floor

    Bed very comfortable, staff very very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly, helpful and considerate as we were attending a wedding near by and all our rooms were ready when we arrived

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ala Carte menus were nouveau cuisine as although very tasty the portions were Very small

    Staff were very friendly, the place was spotless

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food sent one of the dinners back and refused to pay .tiolet paper run out and had to report to the desk that our toilet wasn't flushing away

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit slow

    Lovely large room and facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not disabled friendly

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am having a problem thinking of something

    Staff, room, restaurant [ exelent ] will be staying again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the fan in the bedroom needs replacing and also soom light bulbs did not work in toilet and shower

    location and restaurant food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous exit onto road

    Closeness to channel tunnel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent the rooms were very nice but the traffic was noise, but would stay there again, very staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Noisy from traffic Evening meal sirloin of beef so tough you could not cut it . Furniture and carpets looked shabby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from coffee machine didn't work but that was no bother just used kettle.

    Everything. Very welcoming had great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress was soft, that was the only thing that was not perfect.

    Great service. Very attentive to detail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a gorgeous Alkham village , The rooms and the menus are divine and we felt like a king and queen!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the main road at the front

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con , room facing south to hot

    Food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room wasn't the best. No hairdryer in room.

    Very comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast. Lovely staff. Lovely homemade biscuits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No screens on the windows, to keep them open at night.

    Walking around the grounds, church, gardens etc. Very Charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water bottles in room were not sealed. No biscuits in room. A lot of traffic noise

    Bed was comfy, staff very welcoming and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent tea and coffee making facilities nice to have a terrace room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wasn't feeling to great in the morning and was able to get breakfast in our room

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: