Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mary Mount Hotel

Borrowdale, Keswick, CA12 5UU, United Kingdom

#6 of 21 hotels in Keswick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 735 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location but that's what you pay for!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food gave us both dodgy tummies and our outdoor seating area smelt like drains when another guest flushed the loo.

    The location was unbelievable and really beautiful. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    great room - great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the main reasons i decided to book this hotel was because of the location and for the array of birds that come to the bird feeders when you are in the restaurant. I have been to the hotel on several occasions for a drink or something to eat in the day - I love watching the birds at all the windows and thats why i decided to book the hotel for a stay. I thought the hotel staff would fill the bird feeders up each morning before breakfast so all the people having their breakfast could watch the birds. the bird feeds were empty so i was quite disappointed with this. I know its only a petty reason but I do think this is one of the great things about this hotel. Thank you for reading .....

    this is only showing as a 2 star hotel - our room exceeded my expectations - it was fab

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    A beautiful property in a beautiful location; we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although tasty with generous portions, the menu was quite heavy in terms of dishes available. A few more veggie, salad and healthy dinner options would be even better. We would probably have eaten there both nights, had this been the case!

    Very quiet and peaceful. Extremely pretty and well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location and evening meals are fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not as friendly and welcoming as other establishments in the same price band. The breakfast selection was also poor compared to what we are used to.

    The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay, great food and lovely walks - perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I couldn't fault a single thing!

    A gem of a hotel in a great location for lovely walks and stunning scenery. Staff were very helpful. Food was excellent. We'll be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was ok, however, the removal of some cereal items after the second day was strange, when asked 2 it's because people eat them" ........ No yogurt either. Other items were spot on though.

    A warm welcome, good food, great room. Brilliant location for walking round Derwent Water and travelling round the Lakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel in idyllic location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables & chairs for sitting outside in the evening watching the sun set over the fells. The location is perfect for lakeside walks, fishing or boating. Lovely & quite especially during the night. The quality of the food was very good. Friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Superb corner of the World
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing can be faulted!

    If you are looking for a cozy little place... with no fuss... then look no further! Superb location, great staff, fantastic food, reasonably priced! Will be back! God willing...thanks for making kayaks available all day... just great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location but staff needs training
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not very attentive during check-in. Breakfast choices were limited and staff did not replenish buffet in timely fashion despite the restaurant not being full.

    Cozy little hotel in a beautiful location and very nice views across the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    An excellent choice for a short stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was you did need a car as the hotel is some way out of Keswick.

    We had a very comfortable room, very spacious and clean. The staff were all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was excellent, food very good with very generous portions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay on the whole but felt a bit disappointed re ‘ moneysworth’
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted continental breakfast but told not available. Bedroom very small and only one chair. Nowhere to store suitcase.

    Dinner was good, bed really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location with great views and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little noise insulation between rooms and into hallway. Conversation in the next room over (not loud, just regular volume) kept us awake.

    Very nice location with great views and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it once again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giving it a good review, as it means more people will book and there might not a room available for us next time.

    As returning guests we really think this location suits our requirements. Once parked we can either walk some classic routes from the hotel or hop on bus into town. The restaurant always had a good choice of menus and cooked to our liking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great rooms, amazing food and even better views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I would change about this beautiful hotel. We were super impressed with everything.

    The hotel was amazing from start to finish. Staff were super friendly, food was amazing, can not complain about portion sizes! Room was great, just the right size for me and my partner and the bed was super comfy! Great location, especially with the boat going back and fourth to Keswick and surrounding areas. We have already decided that we will be booking back in at the hotel in the future!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    A perfect and totally dog friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything :)

    Fantastic hotel. The staff are very friendly, our room was lovely. Our dogs loved it especially when they were asked at breakfast if THEY would like sausages! They didn't turn them down :) The location of the hotel is perfect and the walk into Keswick along the shore line was lovely. We will return. Thank you for making us (and the dogs) feel so welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    will definitely be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom and bathroom were excellent. View from restaurant was also excellent and the hotel is only a few yards from the ferry landing. The food in the restaurant was good but the portions are too generous and resulted in waste.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Superb location with wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were not so good, though they were very big.

    Seeing the birds feeding in the garden at breakfast time was magical. The breakfast specials were first rate, as was the coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    A comfortable hotel, very peaceful and nice views. Nothing extra special but great for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service is a bit mixed, with some staff being friendly and helpful, whilst others are just rude. The location means that it would be very hard to get around without a car. The staff don't really offer a lot of help in terms of ideas or advice, pretty much leave you to yourself.

    This is a nice hotel, set a little outside of Keswick. The rooms are big, comfortable, clean and offer a lot of privacy. Breakfast is nice and the restaurant has a lovely view. The hotel is very peaceful and offers gorgeous view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing as we were looking to book next year for a large family group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests leaving their rooms early morning. Floors creak causing bedroom door to rattle loudly. Some of furniture in public area dirty and tired needs replacing.

    Bathroom was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Not too bad, but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no sound insulation between bedrooms, so the neighbours’ television kept us awake in the evening, and woke us up in the morning, even though it was turned down when we asked.

    Breakfast was excellent, service good. Staff friendly and helpful, and the location was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great, loved it and we have recommended it to our daughter and her partner.Would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well although the comfort of the bed was adequate I have slept in more comfortable beds however I don't see it as a real problem. There was no milk in the room when we arrived however we had brought some with us.

    I loved the scenery through the window in the morning and of an evening when we were eating. The birds and other wildlife were a bonus. I liked the room ,we were in the property situated the grounds of the hotel which at first was a disappointment but we grew to really like it, rooms were a good size as was bathroom and it was cosy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent family run ,laid back.friendly nothing to much trouble if you ask
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in room to ring other rooms also no central heating ,but do provide electric heater .small niggles really

    The staff and the views from hotel restaurant also very friendly atmosphere also location can get boat into Keswick

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Room lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to ask how bacon and sausage cooked i.e. Well done. Also scrambled egg sloppy

    Room lovely. Staff especially Donna outstanding . Location and hospitality exceptional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.0
    Great location for visiting the Lakes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was below standard. Tomatoes and mushrooms too long on hot plate; "cumberland" sausage of dubious heritage and poached egg with stone cold yolk! Disappointing.

    Great location, great views and pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    To be totally honest I was disappointed overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals were always an attraction for me in the past when we have stayed however this time the evening menu was more like pub grub and my starter was below par (garlic mushrooms). I also felt the breakfast was average compared to the last few times I have stayed. Sorry !!

    Always loved the location and atmosphere in the dining room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend in a warm and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we found not very comfortable was the bed. Did not sleep very well the first night as the bed creaked every time we made a move. Did have a word and this was rectified somewhat but would suggest new beds for extra comfort.

    The hotel was in an excellent location, it was quiet and the staff friendly. Our room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was very good and breakfast great. Walking around the hotel was also enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location beside the lake. Excellent service. Good breakfast. Very peaceful setting. I have stayed in the hotel a few times and I always enjoy the experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location though not used optimally
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food not the highest quality and a little over priced for what it was. Very few facilities, no room service or phone in room no washing service. The grounds were not well presented and this hotel if improved could make good use of the fantastic location by improving the quality and modernisation of rooms to market it as a luxury hotel. It is currently let down by some aspects but still i think remains a reasonable base for experiencing the lakes.

    The location is potentially excellent but let down by the poor use of the grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Rural retreat .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The construction noise ! Plenty of cobwebs on the ceiling .

    In a rural area in Borrowdale, great wildlife and enjoyable to watch the variety of bird life at the many bird feeders whilst having breakfast. Bathroom to a very good standard , looked quite new !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing bad to say about the hotel

    The Mary mount hotel is a very friendly place to stay. Staff are very friendly and always about if you need anything. Delicious breakfast and lovely meals. The view over the lake is to die for. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Location was wonderful, food was great but room was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small with creaky old beds. The room had been redecorated which helped to compensate for small size. Lovely bathroom.

    Dinner was very good value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value mini break in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very hard, but no real issues.

    Excellent breakfast, choice of cereal, full English or a daily chefs special. Also croissants/ pastries. Small hotel, staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Only downside was there was work being done in the hotel (rooms opposite ours) it would have been courteous to inform us of this prior to our arrival. As we were out all day, it only really impacted us in the mornings, so we let it go. Overall a good stay and would def return, we chose to eat our evening meals elsewhere as there are some excellent places to go in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    The Mary Mount was lovely and warm when we arrived after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In it's superb setting you can't dislike much about it.

    The Mary Mount was lovely and warm when we arrived after being out walking on a very cold day, I deserved a pint and a lovely pint it was, the room & bathroom had recently been refurbished to a high spec - again lovely & warm. We stayed for our evening meal excellent choice and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Idealic setting in a beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ONLY ONE thing was my partners WiFi didn’t work but tough luck couldn’t see the football...

    All we could ask for and more stunning location very friendly and helpful staff beautiful food AMAZING BREAKFAST. 100% be back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Nice Peaceful Hotel with Good Views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors in the Main building look a little tired but did not impact on the judgement of the Hotel overall.

    The hotel is set in a quiet location about 3miles outside Keswick. We found the staff very efficient ,the meals were good and plenty of parking available. There are opportunities for walks from the Hotel which is quite near the lake also the Keswick launch boat is handy if you want to use it for a trip around the Lake. There is also a bus stop near the hotel . Lounge / Dining Area has nice views towards the Lake/ Mountains .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointed through lack of sleep and a useless shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first night of our two night stay there was a noise like an air horn once an hour till 3.30am we couldnt get to sleep.the shower was the worst one weve ever had it just trickled out.

    The setting and the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed staying here, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room was slightly larger than expected; comfortable bed and updated bathroom. Ate at restaurant. Wife said her fish was best fish she as ever had ( And we eat a LOT of fish). My meal was also excellent. Location was good, away from hustle of town. Only wish trees didn't block view of lake; but views still were very nice. We would have kayaked if available, but not available this time of year. Try to get a room in the newer part, its supposedly is nicer. At breakfast, they put birdfeeders outside the window that attract all kinds of birds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite there being a radiator in the room which was on, the room was cold.

    The room was furnished to a good standard and the bathroom had been newly fitted out. Lovely views of the lake and the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic, they are quick and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main hotel and some rooms are separate buildings which means waterproofs are needed to go to breakfast.

    The staff were fantastic, they are quick and efficient. The food selection and quality was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Short break ,couldn't have spent it any better place,we really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very satisfied with all aspects of our stay ,it was great value for money ,and the views are stunning.

    Food was excellent but breakfast could be a bit more varied ,is selection of jams,some yogurt

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Another gem of a place in the Lakes !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Stunning location on the hillside overlooking Derwent Water, room 38 was spacious, modern and well equipped. The view was stunning. Staff excellent, very helpful, the restaurant comfortable with lovely views, the bar warm and intimate with a real wood fire.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    A hotel we would definitely stay at again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were a little bit hit and miss. However when we raised an issue one evening it was resolved efficiently and amicably.

    Room was lovely, spacious and very clean. Staff were efficient and friendly. The breakfasts were very nice and set us up for a good days walking. A lovely small hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    A relaxing and very comfortable hotel in the most beautiful setting close to the lake and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To get to the walks the first hundred yards are on the main road with no verge or pavement, although there is a 20mph speed limit which is very good.

    We were in the woodlands annex, which was excellent. The architect and builders have done a fine job. The setting was lovely, close to the lake and mountains, with excellent walks close by. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive, and the meals were very good, to the point where we did not eat anywhere else. Room and meal prices were very reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, lovely staff, delicious food and drinks,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, lovely staff, delicious food and drinks, good value for money. Everything was perfect. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Super scenery. Great views from bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature adjustment. Did adjust down but room still hot. Would have liked bath as well as shower but not big issue.

    Staff friendliness and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Our two night stay was perfect with lovely room,good food and convenient location.Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location,ideal for walking in the area. Good choices for breakfast. Comfortable room with view over the lake. Bonus the birds feeding in the garden from the bird feeders.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.6
    The views were lovely and the staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t as clean as it could be, we found human hair on the beds. The beds were very uncomfortable, horrendous mattress and pillows, the worst bed I have stayed in which was obviously years old. An expensive night for the standard of accommodation.

    The views were lovely and the staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel and very well located to explore Derwent Water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was well appointed and comfortable. The location was excellent being on the shores of the lake. The food was good homely fare and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely festive weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was cold the first evening and then again on our last morning it was a very cold weekend though.

    Location is fabulous. staff friendly and helpful. Meals very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    The Mary Mount hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Mary Mount hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The scenery is absolutely stunning. The Hotel staff were fantastic. The food was top notch and at very reasonable prices. We will definitely be returning soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    i upcraded from single to dub
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i upcraded from single to dub but got treb roon no 11 not for me I stayed 5 weeks ago with my dog stayed in main hotel 10/10 no probs at all I will stay again but in main hotel its well worth a visit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Good sized clean room -lovely peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No drinks service while dining- order at the bar only! Not good to be waiting at the bar while your mains go cold on the table. However the quality of food and drink is good.

    Good sized clean room -lovely peaceful location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we had breakfast in the morning, the room provide for people who had dogs was a bit cramped. However we did a appreciate that we were allowed to take dogs to breakfast with us.

    The staff could not have been more helpful, a very dog friendly hotel. The Food served in at the bar was amazing. The local taxi into town was very reasonable. We had a lovely stay. The views of the lake and mountains were spectacular. The rooms were very clean and cosy. There is no reception for your phone but free WIFI is provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot of choice for breakfast, either porridge, full breakfast (which are very nice but no beans) or the special of the day, basic cereal and fruit & small cake like pastries. Would like a continental choice and some other cereal choices. But all very nice and this is just personal preference.

    Lovely spacious room, powerful shower, lovely view for breakfast watching the birds on the feeders, helpful friendly staff, brilliant evening meals, excellent location, handy for walks to Ashness bridge & Catbells & the boat launch is just a couple of minutes walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location, great views, friendly staff and nice breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the most lovely room! Clean, warm and very roomy. We arrived after dark so opened the curtains next morning to a really amazing view of the lake and surrounding Fells. Next time we will book-in for longer than one night to really appreciate the lovely location of this hotel. :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable. The room was spotless and the bed was really comfy . The food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest avoiding room 5, which is located below kitchen and I would assume laundry room. A little noisy with good being prepared and at one point whilst in bed the headboard was actually vibrating when I can assume washing machine was in spin!!! Also found single bed rather small

    Great location situated on the edge of Derwent water. Just a short walk to the jetty for the ferry. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay at hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, good food and rooms very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed with the bathroom, my husband likes a bath after a day out walking. Some rooms have a bath but unfortunately ours did not. Apart from this slight gripe room was very comfortable and spotless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    One of the best breaks weve ever had. Will be returning soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was absolutely stunning, fantastic views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Easy access into town, food was fantastic and very reasonably priced. All of the staff were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Evening meals good quality.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit “dated” feel to room and dining / bar areas - needs updating. Gents public toilet poor. Bed not very comfortable. Quite expensive.

    Evening meals good quality. Great location. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our brief stay - pity about the weather,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast towards the end of breakfast time. Some of the hot food could have been fresher.

    Staff were helpful. Room was pleasant. We enjoyed the evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rain, but not a lot you can do about that!!!

    A wonderful stay with our 2 dogs. We were looked after by all the staff who were friendly nothing was too much trouble. The food was really good and very reasonably priced. The breakfasts were lovely, sausages the best we've had in ages. We will certainly return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely - my daughter and I really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely return. hotrl staff good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, which was quiet. The bird life was fantastic. It was near enough to Keswick for it to be easily accessible whilst still set apart from the town itself

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Relax in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit overpriced,but still thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    It had everything that you needed. Accesable to Keswick. Very welcoming staff.Although not a dog owner, extremely dog friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    The hotel made it a dissapointing first visit to the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we booked through booking.com we were made to feel like 2nd class citizens by the hotel. The trip was booked for a special occasion( birthday) and although that was mentioned on checkin no attempt was made by any staff member to offer any acknowledgement of that fact during our stay. We visited the Lakes Distillery on the birthday itself and the staff in the restaurant there made more of an effort by just putting a birthday candle in a pudding we had - I expected more from the hotel we were staying in. The hotel was geared to what seemed to be regular visitors there as opposed to new clients. We had a room overlooking the kitchen with daily food deliveries arriving early morning which disturbed us every day. Although the room was clean it's location left a lot to be desired for the price that was being charged.

    The location was lovely, the accessibility to the Lake District was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    A friendly warm welcome - excellent food - delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed watching the birds on the birdfeeder, while having breakfast, and the badger feeding around the base of the birdfeeder, while having dinner while we could see him, he evidently was completely oblivious to us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyable but over-priced for the facilities offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too small. Th most expensive we stayed in during our 5 day break in the area and really over-priced for the facilities offered

    Very friendly staff who demonstrated that the hotel really is 'dog friendly' as advertised

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Paradise away from Hustle and Bustle.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving at the end of my stay. Wish I'd booked to stay longer.

    A friendly comfortable hotel. In the most beautiful surroundings but just a short drive to Keswick and it's ammenaties . My companion, Murphy my dog, was made so welcome. Plenty of places to exercise him right in the grounds of Mary Mount Hotel. He absolutely enjoyed his holiday there. Even given a lovely treat . I love the scenery in the Borrowdale valley where this hotel is . The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them and even though I was a lone traveler I felt I was among friends. The hotel has such a welcoming feel from the moment you step into the door right up to leaving. I am just planning when I can next go having come to realise it's good to book up early as they get fully booked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Had a lovely weekend in a perfect location. Will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments to make.

    I have only positive comments to make about our stay. Staff attentive & friendly & one of the best dog friendly hotels we have stayed in. Perfect location & very comfortable& food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    A great spot to take in the beautiful Lake district.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in our room was tired and could do with an update.

    This was a very friendly hotel for humans and animals. The food was excellent (the poached haddock for breakfast was very tasty!) and they catered for my dietary needs (dairy free) without a fuss. The staff were really friendly and kind. The access to the countryside was without fault, we did two long walks straight from the property, with our dogs and it is in a beautiful spot, right on the water, the Derwent Water ferry is just a skip away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    He staff were all very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way, if you wanted to explore you had to drive back to Keswick on a narrow road.

    He staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and plentiful. A very quiet and peaceful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Perfect Lake District retreat. As ever, cannot fault and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was spacious, clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and we had a relaxing night sleep. What more could one ask for? The staff were friendly, welcoming and accommodating and the dining area, with its views over Derwent Water and Cat Bells, is just beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff informative and friendly Breakfast excellent Location perfect A lovely break thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stopped in room no 39 and we could have done with an opening window and another chair The b.b.c on the television poor reception

    The Bed very comfortable The breakfast good The staff who served very friendly and helpful The location lovely Plenty of places to park watching the birds as we had our breakfast was lovely Watching the changing of the landscape from our room was pleasing Thankyou for making our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was great

    The Staff are so friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. The food is fantastic well presented and good value. Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Close to the lake easy access to the boat trip. Great location. Our room was lovely extremely clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, very attentive staff- friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We do not like dogs and other guests appeared to have them in their rooms. If we had known this in advance we may not have booked !

    Good value for money, very attentive staff- friendly and eager to please. Everything on the menu was properly prepared and presented, tasty and good portion sizes. Breakfast was really good and service was efficient. We enjoyed lake side views and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: