Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Master Builder's House Hotel 3 stars

Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, SO42 7XB, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Beaulieu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 770 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forgot any drinks with our meal or that is was my husband's 40th birthday. Felt lacking in personal special touch to help mark special occassion. Disappointed. Bathroom suite in need of upgrading. Small bedroom next to car park hence noisy and no view at all.

    Great food in restaurant. Amazing power shower....so powerful it flooded bathroom!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floorboards above our room very creaky and noisy. Mirror light in the bathroom didn't work and was really dirty. Toiletries in the room not replenished daily, which for £175/night seems a bit mean. The 'free vodka' in the room was a miniature and only there on the first night of our 3 night stay. The staff whilst really friendly and helpful were sometimes a bit keen to get the clearing away done. During a meal in the restaurant they were sweeping up around us and prepping tables for breakfast. Spoilt the ambience a bit.

    Superb location with very friendly, helpful staff. Really peaceful. Great food and a nice bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had fish and chips in the bar but there wasnt much fish in the batter! Breakfast staff seemed a bit put out that I arrived at breakfast at 07:30 i.e. when breakfast started! WiFi seemed a bit hit and miss

    Great location, nice room and very quiet. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we couldn't stay longer.

    The staff were excellent, it was just like being welcomed into someone's home it was a very warm welcome. In all a lovely place to stay with stunning views and surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, but it was very hot due to the west facing window, the very warm weather and the lack of through ventilation. We were provided with an electric fan on request which helped a bit. I honestly think without it I would have considered leaving. Some thermal window film might help, and maybe some large potted trees on the flat roof outside the window for shade, (there is no view from the window) I really think air con would make this a 10 out of 10 experience. I think it must be lovely and cosy in the winter, and I am sure we will return to find out! Overall we loved it.

    Great location, a beautiful building and grounds, and a piece of maritime history. Worth a visit in its own right, let alone the many places to go to in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing was creaking floorboards at night but I guess that goes with the building!

    Stayed in the old part of house, spacious room with view onto river. Lovely meal in restaurant with very attentive staff, had a drink on the terrace watching the sun go down. Breakfast was good. Very relaxing, quiet spot. Easy walks along the river to village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little not to like about this hotel. If anything, the shower pump was very loud.

    Buckles Hard is so picturesque, and the view from our room was perfect. Large double bed helped us to rest. The room was cool even though the temperature outside was hot and humid. Restaurant staff could not be more supportive. Reception staff give a fantastic first impression.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The busy public bar needed clearing more often.

    The excellent quality of the cooking in both restaurants exceeded expectations. Well trained staff. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was the in Henry Adams wing. We slept with the window open as the room was very warm. Unfortunately this overlooked the gravel car park, which was fairly noisy.

    A very comfortable hotel, full of history, in a beautiful location near the river. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bar. Obviously couldnt cope with a hot Bank Holiday. Menu is limited and didnt help that come evening many items had run out. Service was slow and poor - staff disappearing to talk to friends when there were queues . Both tap lagers were off - apparently cellar was too hot!!!!. Decided on cheese topped flat bread and pizza, however had obviously run out of mozzarella as served with Cheddar cheese instead - not nice. Unfortunately nowhere else to go

    Reception was excellent with staff showing us around the hotel, then to our room and showed how everything worked. Room was clean and bed huge and comfortable. The location is excellent as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There always seems to be a long queue at a small bar, so it can take a while to get a drink there.

    The location is fantastic and the scenery is stunning. The rooms are comfortable and homely, although ours was not one for tall people! There were minor quibbles, but we cannot really fault the hotel - we had a great stay, the staff were helpful and always smiling, the setting is picturesque and the history interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms got very hot overnight during during warm summer weather.

    We had a fantastic stay during our long weekend break. Beautiful setting and a great hotel, we were made to feel very comfortable and the facilities were great. Very much recommend the restaurant, if the weather's good make sure you spend some time on the patio before your meal where you can get drinks a lot quicker than the public bar which gets very busy in sunny weather. We will definitely return to the Master builders!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs benedict had no taste. Bar staff a bit offhand not listening to our request. Room was not as nice as the pictures and soap marks left on the sink. It was a surprise for my husbands 60th birthday which one of the staff made a note of when I booked the evening meal so I was expecting something nice but nothing materialised

    Dinner in the riverside restaurant was nice but they got our bill wrong . Cooked English breakfast was nice and waitress very pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the Hotel is beautiful the staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay the hotel and we will definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We preferred the newer rooms where our friends stayed to the older original ones in the building. However that is a matter of taste. There was no view from our room unfortunately.

    The hotel has a lovely setting and garden on the banks of the Beaulieu River at Bucklers Hard. The lounge and dining room are lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little improvement necessary Hot toast so that the butter soaked into the surface would have suited me better.

    All we chose was well presented and tasted great. Mustard on the table would be an improvement.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor bedrooms in main house are very characterful but up very steep stairs and with bath but no shower. Avoid second floor if you have any accessibility issues. Annexe room was fine.

    Great location, friendly service, relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our second morning, at breakfast, i had to find the waiter to take our order. He wasn’t at all ‘on the ball’.

    The hotel is charming. We were greeted with a very warm welcome & given some history of the place. Our room, Pandora, was delightful. The food & service was generally excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very clean, quite large and actually had a coffee maker in it as well as a kettle. Food and service in the Yachtsman's Bar was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit corporate. (Henry Adams wing) with great view of the car park! Unfortunately there was no cozy atmosphere in public bar, felt like a cafe, the tables were left dirty and our food was disappointing. Public areas of hotel not very clean.

    Location perfect. Breakfast excellent. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room, next to loud ventilation unit and without view. Restaurant was empty every evening, but we were nevertheless urged to book to eat there when checking in.

    Nice breakfast and beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room safe and second chair would have been good. Very busy public bar/bar food and terrace with queues and no priority for residents.

    Great atmosphere and location. Hotel Parking plentiful. Modern, spotless room, very comfortable bed, excellent shower plus in room coffee maker. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had food in the bar on our first night and it wasn't great, the goat cheese pasta was pink?? the fish n chips were over cooked - but we have stayed here before and the food in the bar was excellent on that occasion so maybe a blip, it wont put us off coming again due to the location we expected to pay more for drinks but the wine and spirit prices were exceptionally high...

    Weve stayed here before and love it, the food in the restaurant and the breakfast was excellent the team are always friendly and the location is ideal we will be back again for a short break, Beaulieu vintage car museum and grounds are superb, the room was lovely and clean and its just a beautiful place to be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More private space could have been provided for Hotel residents in the garden and/or patio areas. To be fair to the hotel it was a steamimg hot bank holiday monday, so outside areas were ultra busy.

    Nicely appointed room and beds and pillows were very comfy. Loads of hot water and pressure in the bathroom. Good breakfast options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little basic for the money but the location makes up for it, but the hotel has still not got an efficient WiFi setup and even with a booster we had to request, WiFi was very erratic.

    An excellent hotel and location. Comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second evening meal was poor, staff very surly. Third night in Pub meal Expensive for pizzas... The noise from upstairs rooms in modern extension going on until after midnight. Polite notice on corridors might help people be more respectful.

    The first evening meal was great, the room was comfy and clean, we were in the modern extension. Staff very helpful on last morning re my breakfast. Also contacted booking.com to stop is having to pay for a night that we could not use for to an accident.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were guests at a wedding ceremony at the hotel and as such our room rate was 'preferential'. However the rates on the days either side of the wedding were less/same.

    Great location and that's what your paying for-£175 B&B on a Thursday. Room 11 'Illustrious in the Henry Adams wing was comfortable and clean as expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the pub food was overpriced for what it was. The house salad was especially disappointing.

    The room was very comfortable and there were some lovely extra touches - a complementary bottle of Elderflower spirit, a Bose bluetooth speaker, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Although our room looked out onto the carpark, the location was lovely, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We even slept through a massive storm and we had the window open!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unseasonably hot in mid April and the bed had a thick quilt on it. So I could be cooler, I removed the quilt from its cover so I could just sleep under the cover. Once removed I could clearly see that the quilt was heavily stained.

    Beautiful location. We didn’t eat in the restaurant but the food in the bar was great as I’m sure the restaurant would of been too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant- very expensive and vegetables were priced as extra! Food was poor.Waited an hour for food. Not impressed with the food at all. The waitress bought the wrong vegetables and by the time the correct ones had arrived the food was cold! Poor service. Manager did offer free puddings when we complained - he was very apologetic. The puddings that came were awful. The cheesecake did not look like a cheesecake but a plate of dried biscuit topped with a quinel shaped blob of I am not sure what! It was my 60th birthday aswell - so you can imagine my disappointment. The staff need training in customer services and relations. We had to ask for the wine menu and what time was breakfast.....I could go on and on.

    Lovely setting, clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small details needed attending to. Weak flushing toilet, no walk in shower or shower screen round bath, toast at breakfast soggy not crisp, chose a wine for dinner then told I’d been given ‘wrong wine list’ and they no longer stocked it.

    Brilliant room with wonderful views worth paying extra for. Coffee at breakfast was delicious and the options both on the buffet or cooked allowed for blow outs or a more healthy approach. Fresh fruit salad much appreciated. Enjoyed both bar and restaurant food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that some guests did not consider others when returning late to their rooms in the annexed rooms

    The fabulous food and service. The quirky rooms and the position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the vegetarian options in the restaurant. However we ate in the bar because the rest of my family could not see anything they liked. Probably the options on this occasion were not to their taste. We have been there several times and have loved the restaurant menu so as above down to personal taste.

    Atmosphere, lovely dining room with excellent view. Lovely, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor checking in procedure. No information on time for breakfast or procedure. Bar menus very limited when restaurant unavailable.

    Room clean. Breakfast ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing. Portion size just right, well presented and great quality ingredients. Lighting in bedroom could have been better. Room was superb apart from that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was comfortable but quite small and the extra large bed was not particularly big. Overall the room was overpriced and not good value for money.

    Good location on the river with plenty of good walks close by. Older part of the hotel has plenty of character, not so much the extension.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the bar area was very mediocre and in the restaurant service was slow and the desserts were very small and poor. The room was quite cramped and overall quite expensive 😘

    The position of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we weren't allowed to wash the dog in the bath, it would of been helpful to know where we could clean him up after a muddy walk, is there an outside tap anywhere? Where we ate our breakfast (doggy friendly room) looked like it could of done with a good sweep of the floor and there were crumbs on the seat pad that I had to brush off before I sat down. We complained about the bread roll with my soup being inedible on the Sunday evening, to the front of house reception staff. He said it would be reflected in the bill, but when we went to pay it hadn't been, so we had to explain all over again. This was rectified and we receive a refund for the soup/roll cost.

    Location is amazing and its doggy friendly - which is why we booked this hotel. Our room was contemporary, clean and bed was comfortable. Liked the doggy bed and bowl. Breakfasts and dinner were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom could have been cleaned better and one of my hand towels were dirty.

    relaxed atmosphere friendly staff. wonderful views and walks. close to motor museum main reason for our visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather - but no fault of the hotel! Also, the hotel is a popular wedding venue and was a little noisy on the Friday night.

    We had a very comfortable room in the Henry Adams wing. Good car parking, restaurant and bar. The hotel is located in a lovely spot with excellent views of the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fabulous location, lovely attention to detail.Staff were excellent and food was delicious. We were celebrating our 60th birthdays and had always wanted to stay there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was close to the car park so some vehicle noise at times but was not unnecessarily intrusive.

    Menu for dinner was excellent and the dining room was very comfortable Staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in “Victorious” - a lovely period suite but the bathroom facilities are dated and need an upgrade. To use shower you need to stand at one end of a sloped bath which is difficult, failing that you move the shower head and it then washes you and the whole bathroom.! Some of floor tiles in bathroom are cracked. Although you can ask at reception for more, it would be helpful for guests staying more than one night if more pods for coffee machine could be left. Even with the above commentsbwe would stay again.

    Location is amazing and so peaceful. Staff are helpful. Views from the room were gorgeous, very comfortable room. Coffee machine very welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for toast at breakfast which didn’t arrive at all, I had to ask for tea and coffee for my husband 3 times before it finally arrived We left the bar area in the evening on the mon night as there was no one serving so we went into town for something to eat

    we really liked the location of the property however we were on the ground floor next to the car park which was a little noisy in the evening

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had a lovely big room overlooking the water with every comfort including a big bed with an excellent mattress and quality linen. We ate in the cosy bar after walking around the village on a bitterly cold day. The staff were very helpful and helped us with our luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection choice in restaurant. Small portion size for price. However, food cooked well and high grade.

    Modern clean rooms in an historic building. High grade amenities in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to say anything negative. If anything noise from car park and we felt the right side of our bed was not supportive.

    Everything. Location, value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel fixtures could do with a little update. Our room was lovely, very comfy bed and lux bed linen but curtains and carpet need help and leave you with an uncomfortable feel of dirt

    Location, atmosphere, breakfast and food, lovely old building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast menu was confusing. My wife did not want a cooked breakast just the continental buffet. But she was given "The Continetal Breakfast" which was something different and not what she wanted.

    Very comfortable bed. Helpful and friendly reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were neat tidy - but almost clinical. Lacking in character. I found the hotel to be expensive and did not see the where the “value add” was. Reception staff not overly friendly and I waited a few times for help.

    Breakfast was good. Staff efficient and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in bathroom - toilet and shower - was poor. Instructions were followed but I think depending on the competition for water with other uses on our floor substantially reduced over the time of use.

    Well located, pleasant staff and good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was February, and the weather cold, so dinner in a sparsely filled room meant that the temperatures were low. Must go later in the year next time.

    Good location with wonderful walks to Beaulieu. The standard rooms we had were of a high calibre and well presented. I have never seen so many breakfast options before , they truly are amazing, and the cooked breakfast was a work of art.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor gripe was I was in the room with the highest traffic!

    Location was stunning, lovely place, and the hotel had so much charm and character. The breakfast was exceptional too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very thin and soft. No sockets near the head of the bed, provided an extension lead when asked. Buffet breakfast lowered the quality

    Big comfy bed in a functional room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are thin so you could hear the residents next door but we were only there for 1 night so it wasn't an issue

    A good selection of food....location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in our room Bar and restaurant menu very disappointing Call for room service but no one replies so had to get dressed and go downstairs

    Lovely clean rooms . Check in staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding party which limited the facilities on the Saturday and caused confusion at breakfast time

    The beds was soft and bathroom large. The breakfasts are good with lots of cooked and continental choices

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good dining room and comfortable lounge. Our room was in the modern extension which provides good modern accommodation, good bathroom facilities and comfortable bedroom. All in all, an extremely nice hotel we would like to revisit should we be in this part of the world.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I first applied I asked about taking the dog on the form given on your website but did not receive any reply, therefore didn't take the dog. On arrival we were asked where was the dog as had been allocated a room that could have had the dog, although in view of the appalling weather and the pure white bed linen it was probably a good thing! I did tell them at reception and so hopefully they will reply either way to people who make requests in the future. We also found the menu a little bit limited and so did not eat there the second night.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant let it down but we have been informed that the chef was away and that we are welcome to a free meal next time.

    The decor was fantastic, really fresh. All the staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower,rooms,heating,cleanliness.

    The whole place was dirty.The service was poor,it was very cold,the rooms were poor and the shower didn’t work correctly.Including a poor evening meal it was in no way a £200 experience,rather a sub standard one that I would have priced below £60!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything. The location is great to relax, the room was comfortable, the different area of the hotel make you feel welcome. They also have nice fire places to warm up by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the size of the room, the size of the bed (said large double, was pretty small!), no very interesting discounts for local things to visit, the noise in the rooms.

    the location - but no room has views of water. the fireplace in main living areas the speaker in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was overpriced and average

    Cosy yet very spacious room. The bed was incredibly comfy! We loved sitting by the fireplace in the shared common room. The outdoor scenery was also lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room electrics were out, breakfast we were asked to sit with the remains of the food from a wedding breakfast..waited 2 hours to be served so dinner ( but it was nice when it arrived)

    Nice location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no view, near enough to hear boiler cycling all night, lights dim for reading, thought blind did not provide enough privacy during day time, fairly near to walkway. menu very disappointing, one member of staff very friendly, others polite

    bed comfy, room very clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good. Hair on plate sausages missing off two. Took 3 attempts to get the correct eggs. Bacon under cooked and cold. Shower was powerful but two of us had a cold shower in the morning.hot water must have ran out. Pillows were very soft no support. The wooden flooring was lovely but could hear everything from the room upstairs.

    Lovey room the bedding is of good quality. Staff were really helpful. Nespresso a nice touch. Liked the tour on arrival. Evening meal was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer to stay in the main house, also not a lot of room in the lounge prior to dinner, we went in plenty of time to have a few drinks but very little room

    Loved everything, however we have never stayed in the annex before and can’t say I loved it, would recommend staying in the main house, rooms are far more comfortable, I don’t like wooden floors in bedrooms especially in the winter, loved the toiletries, coffee machine etc but did feel the room felt cold even though it wasn’t.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a night at the master builders hotel through booking.com for my husband's birthday. When I contacted the hotel to book a table in the restaurant I was told the restaurant was shut on the night we were there as there was a wedding taking place. Very disappointing that this information was not disclosed on booking.com website as I would never have chosen this night - we cancelled the booking but are unable to get a refund or transfer to another night even though we weren't given accurate information when we booked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi in the room which ment I had no reception on my phone which ment I could relax as I had to keep leaving the room to pick up signal.

    The room, staff and food were great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in annexe on a par with Premier Inn, comfy bed but pricey for size and level of furnishing. Bathroom could do with a deep clean! Bar food was pricey for what you got - poor - fish swamped with butter, undercooked potatoes, partner's chips arrived already heavily salted. We decided not to risk the restaurant on the next night. If you're in the annexe you probably won't get internet access and there's no phone signal - good if you want to get away from it all though! For somewhere in such a touristy location, some info leaflets about places to visit etc would be a nice touch - some books on local stuff could be left in the guest lounge perhaps?

    Location. Historic site. Very quiet, off road. Main building full of character. Fabulous views, nice dining room and a good choice for breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too few staff - service was extremely slow in the bar and restaurant and no afternoon tea available on arrival (even though it was advertised in brochures and within the hotel)

    The bedrooms were well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While breakfast was fine, the dinner was poor for the money. In particular the ribeye steak was more like shoe leather than succulent beef

    Staff were excellent in all areas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a deluxe room and the bathroom was rather small. This is an 18th century building so the rooms in the main house are not uniform which is great as they are quirky but that does result in our case a small bathroom and very creaky floorboards so soundproofing not great.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was excellent for evening meal .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been hotter, especially the cooked breakfast.

    There are lovely touches in the rooms such as The White Company toiletries, coffee machine and liqueur. The lounge areas are snug and homely with large open fires. Very quiet at night even though we were on a ground floor room. Hotel is in a beautiful setting with lovely walks around.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: