Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Melbreak Country Hotel 3 stars

Winscales Road, Great Clifton, Great Clifton, CA14 1XS, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Great Clifton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Good performance/price ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is 20-30 minutes from good hiking routes. You need to have a car.

    The hotel is renovating the rooms at this moment (July ‘18). The new renovated rooms are nice. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff were so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undergoing renovations so some areas show this but there’s notices explaining and apologising which was appreciated. The newly refurbed rooms are fantastic!

    Staff were so helpful! I was attending family funeral nearby and they let me use my room for extra two hours to change and shower. Very friendly. Food fab. Standard room had everything you need. Really clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom on the small side. Marks on the duvet cover and looked like a tea stain on the throw at the bottom of the bed.

    Comfortable bed. Reception staff extremely helpful. Full English Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    My stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    What a place I have to say. Very quiet and peaceful location. The staff were fantastic and the food was excellent. I stayed for 1 night and it was absolutely spot on. The room had everything I needed and they had a good bit of forward planning by providing a fan in the room as it was a hot day. I don't expect every hotel in the UK to have aircon installed as standard as how often do we have good weather. But the fan was a nice touch :) I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    View of skip from our room was a problem for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of skip from our room was a problem for me. You don’t rent a room in the Lake District to look at a skip. Staff were not very understanding but manager was and gracious and helpful. She kindly gave me £25 off my nightly rate and a complementary gin & tonic. It was ok after a long day but I wouldn’t stay there again. Just not Room was tired looking and there was gaffa tape around the bathroom sink pedestal...a bit tacky. Restaurant food (dinner and breakfast) was ok but overpriced for what it was. Location not in Lake District about 14 miles from Keswick.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extractor in the bathroom not working and the shower head was loose and could not be positioned correctly. Limitation on mains sockets for powering and/or charging different units

    Located in the country, comfortable and clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulously powerful shower lovely Juliet balcony with view...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some effort has been made with the grounds but cuttings and weeds where left all over. Get a new Gardner.

    Fabulously powerful shower lovely Juliet balcony with view of mountains.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Good comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit airless. Motel-style layout of rooms (access wouldn't suit everyone)

    Good comfy bed. Nice standard of ensuite facilities. Good use of floral troughs to disguise rather bland external walkways. Good sound-proof glazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault this hotel!

    The staff have thought of everything! The hotel is handy for Cockermouth, and easy to spot from the road. There was ample parking and a warm welcome - the receptionist came out to meet us! The room was clean, although there is some refurbishment going on - no problem, but a notice explained what was happening and apologised. Our room had good access for someone who walked with a stick - the hotel were happy to accommodate this. Nice toiletries, clean room, though not large, but well furnished. Lovely shower! Fluffy towels. We had a meal - good range of choices at fair prices - and breakfast, which was included, was excellent. The dining room is pleasant and well organised. But the staff are the undoubted highlight. There when needed and nothing would seem to be a problem. A really pleasant and comfortable stay. I will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Just a lovely, relaxing stay & would Definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all lovely 😊

    The beds were so comfy & the food was amazing, It was so peaceful & quite & the staff were very friendly too .We loved our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    A very forgettable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the restaurant for dinner. My parters meal was not very nice however the staff member was quite rude and kept repeating why we did not say anything before. She made us feel really uncomfortable.

    The reception staff and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    AUSSIES FROM QUEENSLAND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dusty all along the top of the bed head and ends and carpet needed a clean

    Great meals also my brother asked to change rooms because of a blocked drain in the shower and was all done with a smile, no problems

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place in great scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Came back to this hotel after a couple of years to find the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. As always the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I'd happily stay there again when in Lake District area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel gorgeous breakfast the staff took time to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel gorgeous breakfast the staff took time to talk to us I had afoot accident and the staff were very attentive would deff be back next year thankyou

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Sadly I was at melbreak because my brother was at end of...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sadly I was at melbreak because my brother was at end of life - all the staff were very supportive and Understanding, they were all very caring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it. Lovely clean hotel not far from the lakes. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to soft for my liking. I like a firm mattress. The food in the restaurant was lovely but abit pricey

    The hotel was lovely. Very nice. Abit isolated I thought but next to main roads so easy to get to where you need to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    The food at the restaurant was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. There aren’t any other restaurants around so you have to go to the hotel one or get a taxi.

    The food at the restaurant was amazing! Staff really friendly and helpful. Room cosy and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, good home-cooked food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasnt a true king size as advertised, but was two large singles zipped together - there was a ridge in the middle. The hotel is currently being refurbished, so the areas where this was ongoing (such as the corridor outside the room) were very scruffy.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, good home-cooked food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great location with welcoming staff, the food was prepared and served quickly and good quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have a full size table or desk but this is minor and the only point.

    The room was great and the staff could not do enough to ensure I had a good stay. Breakfast was good with a good choice and requests met by the kitchen were dealt with quickly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.8
    slightly below expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    damage to the room - toilet roll holder hanging off the wall - hole in the wall to the rear of the dressing table and rooms nothing like those than are used to market the hotel on their website etc

    Easy to find and staff reasonably friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely evening meal.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk was so small in room with a large mirror on so was unable to work from it. Should have been a double bed but was two singles pushed together,so not very comfortable. Hallways had plaster and paint falling off.

    Lovely evening meal. Nice breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    This hotel is fabulous and would recommend it wholeheartedly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can honestly say that there was nothing that I can find fault with.

    All of the staff were friendly and helpful. As I have a mobility issue I had requested as few stairs as possible and was impressed to find that the room was on the ground floor in the annexe across the yard from the main building. The room was very large and had a real luxurious feel to it. The bed was a super-king and was very comfortable. The bathroom was really good size and the shower was a good size. The bath towels were a really generous size which was lovely as I often find that this is not the case. The dining room was in the conservatory and had good views across the fields to the hills. The food was very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    The staff are really pleasant, friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on one of the rooms that have not yet been upgraded and it is definitely ready for its upgrade.

    The staff are really pleasant, friendly and helpful. The dining room has been upgraded and looks really nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant. Would stay at the Melbreak again if we are ever in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in our room was very tired looking. We do appreciate that you are in the process of upgrading therefore this is quite understandable. However we would prefer to know beforehand (when booking) that the bedrooms were separate from the hotel.

    We had dinner on Saturday evening and it was excellent. Compliments to the chef. The staff at the Melbreak were all extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Superb hotel with professional, friendly staff, great location, easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing not to like

    The entire place was excellent. We were upgraded - to a smashing room, lovely balcony and views, superbly furnished, and finished to a high standard. The evening meal was excellent with excellent service, as was breakfast. Couldnt fault a thing, exceeded our expectations, and we would definitely recommend, and/or stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Staff went above and beyond , would def recommend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a large man, beds could have been bit bigger but will be back .

    Staff went above and beyond , would def recommend. Food was exceptional and plenty choice. Made my little travel companion very welcome .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Would definatly return, if they had a offer on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive and was not up to our standards

    The bed was extremly comfy, room nice anx warm, water lovely and hot in bathroom, basic room bed and telly just what is needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    A quiet night in the countryside, in a great property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked more electrical outlets in the room, as well as a computer desk.

    The environs of the hotel were beautiful. The service by the staff was excellent. The room was clean, comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. The food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice Hotel just outside Workington
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had was a mix-up over payment. Partly my fault (I forgot I had prepaid), but the hotel should have known not to charge me. I have now been refunded and these things happen, but it was inconvenient.

    Large, comfortable room (incl. bathroom). Good value. Nice restaurant on site. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was going through a refurbishment at the time of the visit didn't show the hotel in its full glory.

    Comfortable room, friendly helpful staff and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just had a great time Thanks to all at the Hotel

    Breakfast and Dinner were great found the staff very helpful and friendly would defo use the hotel again overall great stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    very restful break with great food and very peaceful even with the road so close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it would be nice if the bar had a nice cask ale but that is being very picky!!!

    location is great staff are wonderful nothing at all too much trouble food allergies are not a problem here really enjoyable stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    A hotel which meets all basic needs of a clean room, great food and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a net curtain as all ground floor rooms can be seen into from the car park. No safe to keep valuables.

    Clean room and comfy beds. Fresh towels daily. Helpful staff. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfy atmosphere of the staff they were lovely and very welcoming made our stay very relaxing food and cleanliness was excellant would recomend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay👍👍👍👍 Sandeep....birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming, great location, room was perfect clean and tidy, had everything we needed.....food in restaurant was amazing. Would deafinatly recommend to anyone.....hope to visit again one day.....thank you so much for a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Best bike shed and drying room you are ever likely to see.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A VERY minor criticism is the small and poorly illuminated desk. Breakfast is not as good as Premier Inn., however in all other respects the Melbreak exceeds their already high standards.

    Set back from the very busy A595 this place is independent, yet has the atmosphere of a successful chain. Much work has been carried out recently, with some ongoing improvements. Bedrooms are described as motel style; this does not mean that you park outside your door, rather that you walk to a separate building for reception, food and drink. Our refurbished super king-size room was an absolute delight. Spacious, really clean, comfortable, warm and tastefully presented bedroom and bathroom were linked by our entrance lobby. Less expensive rooms were also available. The restaurant and bar ensure that all needs are met on site. The secure motorcycle parking is impressive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay as it was a much needed break for my wife and I but we wouldnt stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly but at breakfast time they were very slow. They forgot some of our order and we kept having to ask. The breakfast food table wasn't being topped up quick enough for the amount of guests so we did have to wait rather a long time for basics (like fruit juice and water for tea!)

    We had the suite room which was great having all of the extra space!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff and amazing food.
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't wait to give my review. We honestly had such an amazing time. The staff were fantastic and the the food was absolutely delicious. I cannot wait to return to this place. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    very good, would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nightlight to get to the bathroom without disturbing your partner by switching on the main lights

    Comfy bed, cleaned everyday, good food, friendly staff, easy to find and good location for sight seeing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Melbreak stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dislikes.

    A very good all round family run hotel. Dining room very nice. All staff very friendly, smart and helpful. A very pleasant stay. Gardens and surrounding area well maintained and lovely display of flowers outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was perfect.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the narrow stair leading to the room.

    The room was perfect. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely brilliant. I'd stay again in a heartbeat!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Absolutely everything, we stayed in one of the two suites which had a separate lounge area which was excellent. the room was cleaned daily and it was spotless. the room was decorated to a high standard and was extremely comfortable. We ate breakfast everyday (part of the room rate) which again was a high standard and set us up well for our days activities. we ate once in the restaurant on the first evening and I had the Venison which was in the specials which was outstanding. the only regret we had was not dining in the evening enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpful staff Room superior king was lovely Great breakfast and plenty variety Ate dinner at hotel great choice and everything we had we enjoyed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Great stay and great base to visit the Western and Northern lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great stay at the Melbreak Hotel. The facilities were nice, and it was all very good value for money. All staff were lovely and very attentive. Breakfast options are varied and the food is of good quality. Dinner options are also plentyfull and everything we had was delicious. A car is required to go everywhere, and you are only about 30min drive from Keswick, and it is a nice drive with great landscape

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows lumpy depends on where room is not very private our room was on the ground and every one walking passed can see in the room bathroom could have done with a lick of paint and a better clean

    nice friendly staff nothing too much bother for them room was nice bed very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    RELAXING. LOVELY FOOD AND SERVICE FROM THE STAFF AS ALWAYS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERES NOTHING NOT TO LIKE IN MY OPINION.

    WE STAY HERE EVERY YEAR CANNOT FAULT THE HOTEL, FOOD OR THE STAFF WHO ARE LOVELY. THE ROOMS ARE SPOTLESS AND THE LEVEL OF CLEANLINESS THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL COULD NOT BE FAULTED.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable short break, with the hotel exceeding expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful, the food was excellent, and overall the hotel offers very good value. The choice for breakfast was very good, and the helpings very generous! The location was ideal for our purposes, as it offers good access to the Northern and western lakes, and to the coastal region. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Good sized bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suites were up outside steps. Down stairs corridor had a smell in it. The buffet breakfast was limited.

    Good sized bedrooms. Liked the fact that the dining was in the conservatory.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    I didn't get a good sleep for a long time until I came...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get a good sleep for a long time until I came to your hotel. The bed was really comfortable. Size of the room was just enough for 2 people and what I loved you had a iron in room as well:D

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable place to rest and work when on business, and I am sure fine for leisure trip too!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to a busy road, and the "superior" double with balcony did have great views of the Lake District fells, but looking across the busy road. If noise bothers you ask for a room at the back where noise is minimal.

    Helpful, welcoming staff; Good range of food at reasonable prices;

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Good va
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable which was a big disappointment considering the excellent quality of everything else. mentioned

    Great staff who were very efficient,food was excellent and we'll priced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location (for the lakes), helpful staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suppose if I was being picky the only issue was that the hotel wasn't really near anything. There is a small village nearby, which can be walked to, there are a couple of pubs there but I didn't go in to either of them so I can't really comment on them. I would suggest that a car is probably a must.

    There wasn't anything about this hotel that I didn't like to be honest. I did have one of the modernised rooms, so I can't comment on what the older rooms are like, but mine had excellent facilities. Everything I needed was in the room; iron, ironing board, hair drier and tea & coffee making facilities. A comfortable bed (however, that's always subjective) and a large screen TV.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Friendly Hotel with Excellent Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although rooms at the back and quiet, restaurant looks out over busy road. View of fells obscured when leaves on trees.

    Best hotel shower controller I've ever found. Easy to use and control temperature. Staff and fellow guests friendly. Good food in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Half an hour from Keswick for half the price of Keswick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a criticism. The carpets were so new, the room had the smell of a carpet shop and set my partner's asthma off. I was fine.

    The room was decorated to a high standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit cramped but space used as well as space allowed. Tv signal a little hit and miss. But not a big deal.

    Bed very comfy. Breakfast very good. Plenty of choice. Staff very friendly. Location was scenic. Views were good. Area wasn't too busy or crowded. Plenty of storage space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Great stay will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting to the road entrance of the hotel. It was very difficult to see in the dark.

    Enjoyed the comfort of the hotel, large soft bath towels and tap water being available in the bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.8
    Feel ripped off with the price we paid.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot believe how much they charge for the rooms! I have had places for half the price that I have preferred. The whole place could do with a repaint it looks very tatty around the back. Our rooms looked like we walked into university dorms. Possibly may have been a smoking room in the past. My room smelt like someone had been smoking in it in the past. Bathrooms where tired looking could do with an update. Breakfast was very basic expected more from the price. Bed was uncomfortable. Very thin walls I could practically hear my neighbor breathing. Its in the middle of nowhere. Ask for a different glass if you have a Peroni, the beers came out flat in Peroni glasses, however when the glass was changed it bubbled as expected. Bathrooms were quite small.

    All the staff were very polite, we had a nice conversation with the reception lady. Large beds. Restaurant food was nice, nothing special though. Looks nice from the front (just don't go around the back!).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Amazing views with great comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could complain about.

    The room was incredible, the view was something else, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Very Comfortable Hotel With Great Food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor quibble, the shower curtains could have done with being a little longer. They only just reached the bath and as the shower was nice and powerful it made it difficult not to end up with a wet floor.

    The breakfast was excellent - the full English used really top quality bacon and sausage. The food in the restaurant in the evening was also really good, the Chicken Jambalaya was full of flavour.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Everyone was more than helpful and went out of their way to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals were very large and I wasted a lot of food in my first meal because I didn't realise I needed to ask for a small portion! Road noise was a lot more than had anticipated.

    Everyone was more than helpful and went out of their way to make sure I was catered for. Really spacious and comfortable room. A little old fashioned, but extremely clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Gift from a relative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find anything to fault

    Lovely furnishings in the bar area, conservatory dining room has lovely views and the food was amazing. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast. We had a superior king room with en suite bathroom and enjoyed relaxing and watching wide screen TV on our king size bed. The cleanliness was evident from the moment we arrived untill we left. Thank you to the staff who were very friendly and attentive. We would not hesitate to stay here again .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Friendly helpful staff - good location and quiet rooms .good choice at breakfast . Travelling by myself I felt quite comfortable . Lots of business user from seeing check in book as good access .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Lovely warm welcoming hotel couldn't fault anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel the room was comfy and the staff couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. Food was spot on, would be more then happy to stay again. 👌👌

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Stay somewhere different in the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needed a full length mirror in the newly refurbished room.

    The room was warm and cosy when we arrived. Lovely extra king size bed. Location good for North Lake Towns. Went to Grasmere and back, 64 miles, calling at Cockermouth and Keswick. Breakfast was very good and both evening meals we had were delicious. All the members of staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location for a break in the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a bit more expensive than a lot of other hotels

    Extremely friendly staff; even stayed late for us when we were delayed due to roadworks and traffic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    A nice break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will book direct in future. You get exactly what you want then. We did have a room in the older block which I feel is why the special deal is offered. There is no parking infront of the entrance to the rooms if you have health problems. Parking is at the side of the refurbished block or around the back which is dark, this did not bother us.

    The family who run this hotel are very welcoming. Great place to stay for driving to the many popular surrounding areas. The breakfast is great. Had lovely evening meals twice during our stay. The bar is very resonable and well stocked. We will return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are in a separate building to the actual hotel where breakfast was served . This is not a problem unless the weather is bad.

    Small but comfortable rooms. Breakfast and meals served in an attractive and comfortable conservatory. Food in restaurant was good and imaginative.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel for a quick stay in the Lakes
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a littke smaller than expected but still very comfortable.

    Excellent service, evening food beautiful and breakfast second to none. Just great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    Friendfly place but check the hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi was patchy. I was only given a 3 hour card. Reception said I could have got more and was given the wrong passcode but how do you know? Room had no hot water but there was a feeble electric shower. Reception expressed surprise but was checking out by then. Should be checked when room cleaned. For the price, you expect hot water and a permanent wifi connection.

    Nice restaurant, good breakfast, friendly staff Nowhere else around without a drive anyway. Loads of parking rooms in a separate block, comfortable although some were up narrow external stairs I had to move on after one night but would have stayed more esp if teething issues were sorted.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.5
    Food was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness in bathroom let you down. Design and position of toilet roll was ridiculous. bit of anti mould spray would go a long way.

    Food was really good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    Quick trip to anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there is no smoking in the rooms, residents who do smoke do so outside their room and invariably the smoke wafts up into other rooms and / or non smokers have to walk through the smoke to get to their rooms. Unfortunately, this is not the first place I have found this.

    Location, central to places of interest. Delicious menu in a great setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Great stay, worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff where so friendly and very helpful, the owner of the hotel even gave us a lift back to the station so we didn't have to get a taxi. The food was lovely and breakfast was very tasty. They went above and beyond, would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be visiting again. Thank you for a lovely weekend.. 😁😁😁

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    4.2
    Not the greatest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, the room had damp in it which meant that there was wallpaper hanging down, the website said ironing facilities would be available in the room - they were not, we had to ask a member of staff who struggled to find the irons and ironing boards! The duvet cover and pillow cases had rips in them that had not been repaired.

    The breakfast was nice although a little overpriced for what we had.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    Lake district weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were three flights of metal stairs up to our room which could have been better maintained.

    Oue first night the staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was lovely. The second night was still good and overall we liked this hotel. The view was lovely despite the weather.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.5
    A short break at the Melbreak fits the bill.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dairy free milk and Gluten free bread should be available - on the menu. The Hotel seemed to be occupied by Contractors and may not be suitable for Families. More a Touring hotel than Country retreat.

    Good breakfast lovely Bacon and poached egg. Bed was comfortable and room was a comfy temperature.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: