Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mill House 3 stars

Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel, PL340HD, United Kingdom

#10 of 15 hotels in Tintagel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 338 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely food, welcoming staff , enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and creaky which isn’t a major issue but due to the heat the people above were wandering up and down a lot so quite noisy. Man next door to us was snoring so loud felt like he was in with us! Room lovely but small felt quite claustrophobic.

    Nice hotel stands alone so nice to sit outside at night and see the trees nearby. Staff helpful and welcoming. Lovely meal . Good options for vegetarians including my breakfast so impressive when hotels go that extra mile to ensure all residents are catered for. My husband had kippers for breakfast they were fabulous he has ever had very nice. Clean and comfortable. Enjoyable stay even though only one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Ccould be very nice but lacks value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs galore, skirting boards very dusty, free standing mirror had broken stand and was propped against wall, long dark hairs in bathroom...not ours, barndoor to outside of bedroom top half wouldnt lock, hot water tap in kitchenette not working

    Breakfast food was good akart from some out of date cereal Bed was comfy Immediaty swapped pillows for non feather tyoe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff, history, architectural charm, breakfast, dinners,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was unusually hard. Room was small & hot with no fan (and no a/c of course). Could hear conversations & TVs from all rooms nearby.

    Staff, history, architectural charm, breakfast, dinners, location, and value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Serious clean up required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not clean when we arrived and was not cleaned during our stay. It had dirt from several guests on the floor, in the room and clear traces in the bathroom of other people’ use... The whole house needs a serious clean up. The house is not well kept. Even though the location is great, wewould not return to this place...

    Great location, placed in an old mill. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A hidden gem amongst the beauty of the Cornish Coast and countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only it was rather warm on the night but we were right in the middle of a heat wave.

    When needing a last minute place to stay that was close to Port Issac found availability at the Mill House. Whilst the road we took down into the hotel was a little tight (there was another that we found on the way out) the place itself was a hidden gem with lovely food for dinner and breakfast. The staff were extremely welcoming and did everything to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Good and bad !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good ! The way that the hotel took £482 from my card without my knowledge for a room not even booked on my card. When I questioned why I had a bill for £482(on top of the bill for my room which I paid) I was told that a hotel guest left without paying and they have charged me as I was seen having a drink and dinner with them ! When I explained that I didn't know the people but my colleagues and I had just got talking to these people at the bar. We were all working at the Royal Cornwall show so we all decided to eat together. I was told by the hotel that they assumed I knew these people so the hotel charged my card as the guests left without paying. The hotel then told me I had to find out who the people who didn't pay were and get the money back from them !! I have since taken the matter up with my bank who are looking into the possibility of fraud. I have also been advised to contact trading standards regarding this issue. If you do stay here I suggest you check your bill when you leave just in case you have spoken to a local in the bar and been charged for the locals bar tab !! This experience is a real shame as the hotel and bar is in a lovely location. Up until I got charged for a guest I didn't even know on a booking that was not even mine I was happy.

    Lovely location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Nice walk to a fantastic beach and pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Hand held shower over bath, not the cleanest of room, it was supposed to be superior, took money as soon as I booked £130.00, months in advance, far too much for the room.

    Comfortable Bed, Quiet Location, Good size car Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Really lovely setting and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in room 2 needs updating. Seals and grout black. Doesn’t look nice. Menu in restaurant very limited.

    Really lovely setting and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    well located but would have to stay in a different room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    double bed mattress hard and uncomfortable,furniture looked tatty and dust and wrappers under the bed hoovering might help.i have a walking disability so the stairs did not help at all.so be really clear about the suitability of the room at booking.

    good breakfast and the staff were friendly and approachable.pet friendly accomodation but it did cost us per three nights for the dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, shame we had to leave! Will definately be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed could have been a little softer, quite hard mattress.

    Location was beautiful and perfect for couples. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Hannah and Nicki.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a short break, close to Tintagel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mill house is a little gem, lovely location and great food. The room was large and comfortable and had all the facilities I'd expect for a short break. Added bonus of sunshine and a lovely patio for a late afternoon drink. Would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great stay- great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Especially loved the friendliness of all the staff. They could not have done more to make our stay a pleasant one. Food was exceptional. We had a meal on the first evening and it was so good we decided to have it on the second evening as well! Breakfast was great too. We will definitely be recommending to friends and will go back ourselves.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room no5 has a large window with clear glass, and when u sit on the loo you can see straight into the restaurant. If you can see the restaurant guests then they can see you. A piece of net would be a cheap and effective solution.

    lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful remote location, cosy hotel, great pub (we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is VERY noisy. Three of the rooms (our room as well) are exactly above the pub (music and noise until 00:00), which wasn't mentioned before or at check-in. Although I was in the pub myself, I think that definitely should be mentioned. Breakfast only one hour, could use a bit more healthy options but nevertheless good enough.

    Beautiful remote location, cosy hotel, great pub (we had live music from a douzen local (semi-amature, but good) artists) on a Thursday night, absolutely brilliant. Restaurant/food is great value, staff is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice area good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was right above the bar and they had music that night. There was no one else staying but felt bad about asking too move so we got no sleep and would not stay in that room again.

    Nice people very good food at a good price, big breakfast could not ask for more there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Great staff, location and bar, let down by the room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was poorly furnished and maintained and cleanliness was below standard, despite paying extra for a premium room.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, good food, the bar had good atmosphere, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude male staff member - other guests commented too. All in the room were shocked by his rudeness. No shampoo/conditioner/shower gel, bad-smelling hand soap. Expensive dinner menu with only two vegetarian options, almost the same ingredients, both curry. They didn't have kippers on the second day.

    The Scottish kippers were absolutely excellent! Wow!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely Inn in a great location, just cleanliness of room needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a bit of TLC, scuffs on walls, wallpaper peeling. Expected a bit of dust as it is an old building, but there were cobwebs on the ceiling and quite thick dust on kettle and TV, which shouldn't happen even in an old building if you're cleaning a room after every occupant. Water left in the kettle from previous occupant.

    Great location, within walking distance of the sea and plenty to see and do around the local area. Good choices for breakfast and staff were friendly. Wifi available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Tranquil and close to the beach
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a dog friendly hotel (which is paid extra for) there weren’t any facilities for dogs. No poo bin, water bowl in the bar was mouldy, no dog treats or dog towels My room had a shower over bath but no curtain, so as a 6’ man, water went everywhere

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was beautiful and large!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    good location. good breakfast but room was the worst we have every stayed in in over 40 years of tra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no hot water. after running for some time no water at all. Bed was on a slope due to old room but they could of levelled it out. The mattress was so lumpy it was like trying to sleep on rocks. every move woke all up including next door. Bathroom door has a shed door latch and noisy. windows had not been cleaned for at least 12 months. Yard outside the window looked like a recycle yard. room 3 was where we stayed. Not aware of other rooms but other guests said no hot water either.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Sadly we won't come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as clean as we expected. The carpet was full of pet's hair and lookd grey. The heating was turned off for hours during evening time. We could not see through the windows due to dirt. Mould in the bathroom.

    The breakfast which was included to the price was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    excellent, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the road coming down to the Mill, very tight and steep apart from that it was excellent.

    we stayed in the queen suite which was detached from the main property, it was quaint, clean and comfortable, a stones throw from the main building where we had a lovely meal and enjoyed drinks at the bar. The staff were very friendly, we would definitely recommend The Mill House.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    The mill house is a beautiful building in an amazing setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the eaves and was chilly to start with but staff happily provided an extra heater. Cant fault venue or staff

    The mill house is a beautiful building in an amazing setting. Great value for money and the breakfast made to order was outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    It was truly lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything...

    It was truly lovely ... Room was cozy and warm ... Dinner was excellent good choice of dinners ... Staff were talkative and friendly... Breakfast was a very high standard... Would certainly return ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly, the room was warm and had character. Great to have a bar and a restaurant as not many restaurants in Tintagel just pub food and the food was really tasty and well presented. They had a guitar player in the bar Saturday evening which was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic night away - couldn’t fault the Mill House at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic night away - couldn’t fault the Mill House at all. We stayed in the cottage and it was gorgeous, clean and well presented. Staff on site were so helpful and couldn’t do enough for you, genuinely friendly and welcoming. Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was excellent! Just booked to go back in the new year! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small for a couple and a dog. We had to take it in turns to get dressed so that we didn't poke each other's eyes out.

    The location was fabulous - right near some very wild coastline

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    A very civilised way to take a rustic break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wi-fi was down after a big storm although reception wi-fi was still functioning but a bit difficult to join. A temporary glitch.

    Instantly made to feel welcome, lovely spacious room and bathroom with a proper bath. Service was always attentive and the food was excellent - especially the English/Cornish breakfast, all cooked to order. Paupers Night on the thursday yielded a superb steak and all the trimmings for £10 and was followed by live music in the bar. The bed was very comfortable and the venue very quiet apart from the rush of the millstream cascading past, which we liked. It is hilly in every direction and we had several long walks along the coast path straight from the Mill, so definitely good for walkers!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    I would always recommend the Mill House and stay there again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a little small for two persons with hiking equipment and barely place to hang up wet/ washed clothes. Especially when you're not a couple one 140cm bed with one blanket is a little tight, but it worked out well and wasn't uncomfortable. Also there were some (quite big) spiders in our room - it didn't bother us too much, as we knew we spend the nights in an old mill in the middle of nature, but for people afraid of big spiders it might cause some trouble. Also the mill is hard to reach when you don't arrive with your own car - it is a 45 -60 min walk from Tintagel, as the paths near the coast aren't too easy to walk on (with luggage close to impossible). Public transport is also rather difficult, but the staff was really friendly and helpful in organising a taxi.

    The breakfast was excellent, fresh and of very high quality. Also the staff was helpful and friendly, there was entertaining programm at the weekend. If you want to you can also have lunch or dinner there - as we spoke to some locals they all said it is a great place and they were a little jealous of our stay ;) Other than that it was very clean and cosy, the furniture and style of the hotel fits very well to the old mill. The bar downstairs is just what you expect of an english bar and it was a very special place to stay at. The location is amazing. The Trebarwith Strand is only a couple of walking minutes away and the mill is a good place to stay if you want to watch some beautiful sunsets on the cliffs/ the shore. As well it is a good place to stay for some hikes - to Port Isaac, to Tintagel, Nectans Glen, Boscastle... beautiful area!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    I would go there again and recomend to others
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and landing are not inviting and basic but clean. It is an old mill and the rest of the Inn has a lovely setting to it

    Lovely quite location near busy places to visit Very welcoming, friendly inn, bar and restaurant very nice Food excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Some of the staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right at the top and there was no lift no one offered to help with the cases and my father is 89 years old Food wasn't great at dinner but breakfast was okay

    Some of the staff are friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Forest with a view
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's kinda puzzling reaching the Mill, but definitely worth that curvy road (beware of the leaning bushes!)

    An hidden gem in the forest. Silent, outstanding spot with the gentle babbling of the river upon which the Mill had been built. Great view, Great staff, fabulous restaurant, terrific breakfast, cozy bedrooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay but eat elsewhere, menu does not change at all and is in the higher price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Steep staircase to access rooms, very poor noise insulation from bar below rooms, could hear conversations let alone the loud music on one night. Music so loud TV had to be turned up almost to maximum to be heard. Road access is via very narrow roads including a sharp turn in one direction that cannot be made in one go.

    Non chain type accomadation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Very friendly staff, very good location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old and broken bed, made out of parts of several different beds. No shower, but only bathtub with no shower curtains. No to minimal cleaning of the room during a 1 week stay.

    Very friendly staff, very good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic jam on the dual carriageway going home - as if going home wasn't bad enough!

    Quaint, quirky Millhouse with modern extras, a short walk from the sea. Spectacular rocks. Super chef provided Great evening meals and Devine breakfasts. Best kippers ever! Atmosphere was quiet and friendly and Thursday night music was great. Local musicians banging out every baby boomers favourite songs. I loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    A great location and we would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant however as there were no other diners at the time we went in (7pm Sunday evening) it did lack a little atmosphere

    We were made to feel very welcome and the staff gave helpful tips on where to go in the local area, there were also plenty of leaflets & maps available in the lounge. The pub had a nice friendly atmosphere and the breakfasts provided in the morning were fresh, tasty and good quality. The mill is only a 10 min walk to the beach so very well located and a short drive to other places of interest e.g. Port Issac and Boscastle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was really good, same for the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really good, same for the restaurant. The building itself is quit old and outdated, but that has it charm as well. There is an outdoor terrace which we enjoyed, could be even better with comfy chairs or something instead of only picnic tables. The surroundings are very beautiful and quit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, friendly staff and amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our 3rd trip to The Millhouse, we just love the place, its quiet with no phone signal (fantastic news when you want time alone x) the staff are very friendly and very helpful, food is amazing and the bar is great. Roll on next year!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful, tranquil stay and location. Love it at the Mill House at Trebarwith Strand's superb beac.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could be a little cleaner but I'm not fussed as the dogs were so welcome. Maybe just needs a lick of paint now and a little updating of the furnishings, of course in keeping with a Mill House!! Some locals come in regularly and are a little noisy on a Friday night. I don't really begrudge this as they are the bread and butter of the pub. Recommend room 1 or 5 for dogs, easier access with dogs and luggage etc. The standard rooms are nice and have character but too small for two dogs.

    I love old quirky buildings, the rooms are varied and we realise there are bigger ones which would suit two dogs. Staff friendly, dog friendly, property and grounds great for dogs, we spent alot of time outside with our dogs. Beautiful, tranquil, grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    very welcoming hotel with plenty of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    rooms comfortable, staff excellent, food excellent, olde world mill. could not fault it will stay there again , recommend it to all friends. very friendly locals in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    A unique and pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Access to the mill is only by very driving down narrow single-track Cornish lanes which are sometimes a bit difficult to negotiate, but that is to be expected in this part of the country. We stayed a week and were glad to get back on normal roads by the end.

    The accommodation was good, but not perfect as this is an ancient mill building converted for guests. The breakfasts were excellent and the restaurant food was good, but a little pricy for us. All the staff were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay in a very special part of the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very satisfied with our experience at the Mill House

    The Mill House is a charming former corn mill in a beautiful setting . Our room was clean and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant on site for dinner and were very impressed with the menu and ambience. Breakfast was also a delight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Authentic & charming .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low doorways in some places can be an issue for tall people but only a small negative. Be prepared for pets having been in your room.

    Authentic & charming . Great restaurant food and live entertainment Friday night at the. Bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Ideal base for touring the area - comfy establishment offering good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and evening dinner (varied choice) were very good - choice of 3 Real Ales + plus St.Austall Stout was pleasing. A pet friendly bar & breakfast room as well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway retreat, amazing peaceful location defiantly recommend friendly staff brilliant food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to say everything was perfect ! Amazing stay

    Excellent friendly staff great location amazing surroundings very peaceful would defiantly go back and recommend perfect get away retreat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Country Pub with a top notch resturant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like but some things that could be better. WIFI ok but wouldn't work Skype and there was no GPS so I struggled to contact home , although I'm sure I could have used the phone in the room had I needed. The room was small, decoration and cleanliness adequate, bathroom pleasant and newly fitted. Like many small independent places they could do with new carpets in the public areas and a professional decorator /interior designer , this would set this fab old property up a huge notch

    The public bar is lively , used by locals as a pub as well as visitors and guests for dinning. Welcoming and informal. Dinner in the restaurant was superb, the menu was interesting, the food fresh , local well presented and tasted incredible. I would recommend staying here for the food .Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was also great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Not what it says on the adverts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were promised beautiful views but did not have one, as the photo shows. Toiletries consisted of an overused refill of body wash. The plastic toilet seat was not properly attached. The restaurant is lovely, but we had to send the steak back as it was inedible. The chef refused to give us both a refund, and would not leave the kitchen to discuss it, so we spoke to the manager in the morning who apologised and refunded us. We had been looking forward to staying here, and were disappointed by the discrepancy between the advert and the reality.

    The bed was very comfortable, the shower was good, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking could be difficult in high season although it wasn't a problem for us in June.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was good, not spectacular, but for such an old building is to be expected. The hotel backs straight onto the harbour with it's beach and is great to watch the boats come and go from the outside patio. We also had a really good breakfast. Enjoyed the place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely place, lovely people fabulous food!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable I didn't sleep (room number 3.) The pain in my hips lasted for most of the day! Suggest they buy a good matress topper or new matress. The bed was obviously new and looked good. This did spoil my one night stay over. Fire doors were propped open!

    Food was fantastic! Staff were really lovely! Sound of the mill stream was relaxing. Room very quaint and well designed. Loved it! Some of the garden and sourounding area looked neglected and overgrown!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    A wet few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly, the Cornish weather did not welcome us and we were forced to spend quite a bit of time indoors looking at the rain on the trees. One of our phones had no signal whatsoever but we did have a wifi signal most of the time. The right turn into the property is scary - wish a sign had warned us to carry on down the road and turn round to come back up and turn left!! Our bathroom had no bath and was a little cramped. We would have liked to be able to order bar snacks as well as restaurant meals. I think anyone with walking difficulties would struggle at this property as there are lots of steps and stairs. but we did have a wifi signal most of the time.

    The staff are all very welcoming and friendly. Our room at the top of the mill was clean and comfortable if a little small and lacking in storage space. The bar and restaurant are obviously popular with locals and there was a lively atmosphere in the evenings. We had one evening meal at the property which was very tasty and well presented; breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. The mill is a short walk down to the small but popular beach where there is a small café, a shop and a large hotel with a bar and restaurant. It is a good base for touring the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.6
    If you want comfort and peace and quiet you should avoid this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every sound from the bar could be heard in the rooms so if you want peace and quiet this is not for you. We not told in advance of the live bands playing on the Thursday night which went on till midnight had we been made aware of this prior to booking would not have booked.

    Breakfast eggs were good but the rest of the cooked breakfast left a lot to be desired. Tough hard bacon obviously microwaved.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.8
    It was a nights break in a nice part of the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly things like pillows (not cover) were smelly and really dirty for the sake of getting all new this is surely a must I would suggest.. Dinning room floor while having dinner peas and food sadly strewn about this was not clean. The outside needs love and attention untidy looking. The noise from the bar below live music felt so loud in the rooms you felt it was in the room with which did not stop until 11pm (not a weekend night )

    The staff, breakfast meal very good, dinner fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent restaurant, hotel can improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - We took the cottage and were a bit disappointed: it is big and comfortable, but it overlooks the parking lot, which is not much of a view and is noisy until late on week-ends for this reason. - The dining room looks good, the decoration of the other sitting areas / cottage could be upgraded, it is a bit basic / worn out.

    - The big asset of the place is the restaurant, one of the best in the area, with carefully and freshly cooked dishes from breakfast to dinner. - Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Choose the scrambled eggs, yum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my bed was very hard, but my daughters was perfect.

    The breakfast was excellent. Especially. The scrambled eggs. The quietness and gentle sound of rippling water from the stream.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay at a lovely place. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband was unable to connect to Wifi on his device although I had few or no problems with mine. The alarm clock radio didn't work but it didn't matter. The over bath shower was a bit wayward and without realising it my partner flooded the floor whilst showering! I think the little jets just needed adjusting and descaling. I gave up on showers and had baths! A shower curtain may have prevented the water on the floor! Some prepared maps at reception as to how to get to the coastal path would have been useful.

    The location was good and the stream nearby with the running water was lovely. The room was spacious as was the bathroom and we were comfortable. The breakfast was great, and when we had an evening meal at the restaurant we really enjoyed it. All the staff were kind, courteous and welcoming. We used this as a base for travelling around North Cornwall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Ideal for coastal path walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As this was a special offer we got what we paid for. However, if I had paid the original price for the room I would have felt very disappointed as the room was very small, at the top of the building and, although there was a window looking out over the roof, very little air came in so the room was hot at night.

    The location was excellent as we were doing some coastal walking and the hotel was just along the lane from the start of our walk. The food was delicious and well presented and staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A beautiful hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The building and location were beautiful. The cottage was just a lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice place if it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, spiderwebs, and spiders, in the room. Kitchen bench looked liked it had been 'cleaned' with a dirty cloth, and no tea towel to dry dishes. Only radio channels on the TV in the room. Wifi didn't work in the room, and when we asked the fella in reception he said' yeah, it doesn't work well in that room'. Easy fix if you know what you're doing. Bathroom was however clean and the bed sheets and towels were clean so that was good.

    Food in the restaurant was good, the bar was nice. Location was excellent and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Great pub with great food in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I had to be a little picky, I think we all found that perhaps the mattresses on the beds were due to be renewed.

    Really nice pub, in a great location. The landlord Mark was excellent as were all the staff. The food was really top notch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Welcomed from the start, rooms comfortable, staff a delight and food excellent and varied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing the whole experience was delightful.

    Staff were first class discreet and helpful. Food was excellent, beautifully presented and very tasty. The position was effectively beautifully rural with a delightful large tide dictated beach a quarter mile away. The Mill House had a delightful setting in a deep wooded valley.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Worth a Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small double bed.

    Clean accommodation. Small double bed but very comfortable. Great food, friendly and helpful staff. a few minutes walk to a small bay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Two pre- teen boys and a small dog on an overnight stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs were hard work, poor wifi signal and charge for the dog which was not advertised when booking.

    Really warm and welcoming, great food, great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Loved the quirkiness of the place, and the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suppose this is a bit nit-picky, but the bathroom fixtures and shower glass could have used a bit of scrubbing.

    Loved the quirkiness of the place, and the bed was very comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.0
    The mattresses had seen better days and was uncomfortable a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses had seen better days and was uncomfortable a bit of updating is now needed as hasn't changed since we first went there five yrs ago Ago apart from that a lovely place with friendly staff would still go again .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    The Millhouse Inn, near Tentagel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and right above the pub/restaurant area, so quite noisy. The bathroom was a single shower, toilet and sink. The extractor fan didn't work and so it smelled very musty and damp.

    The location was excellent. We had a lovely dinner at the Millhouse. The fish and chips were very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old building in a peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor criticism was that the bed was a bit harder than I would have preferred but I do understand that is a case of personal preference and you can't please all of the people all of the time.

    Friendly staff, nice restaurant and small pub. We were warned of the potential for noise before booking was confirmed but this was not a problem at all when we stayed. A really lovely old building converted to a high standard. A lovely peaceful location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Highly Recommend place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was exceptional.

    Breakfast was outstanding, and the steak night on Thursday was amazing, highly recommend eating here. We stayed in the cottage, bed extremely comfy, great bathroom with bath and shower over. It was so lovely to have our own space with the lovely lounge and wood burner. Very cosy and romantic. Everyone who worked at the Mill House were so friendly and helpful. Even down to the chap who was gardening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Friendly and informative great food spacious bedroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it's what we expected and more.

    Friendly and informative great food spacious bedroom and bathroom excellent location for walking visiting or chilling and relaxing . Would go again. Free water bottles in the room with tea coffee facilities. Wonderful place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu repeated daily, although specials nights, i.e. Thursdays, had steak. Rooms a little tired.

    Plenty of tea and coffee and bottles of water in room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice chilled pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to be honest, I know it's an old place but our room was very tired, and the cleanliness wasn't the best, there was black mouldy on the bathroom window, around the architrave hadn't been wiped for a long time, I feel bad saying this as I have like the place but very disappointed with our room, also wifi was intermittent

    The staff were all very nice and the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Lovely location, great staff and delicious breakfast!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband found the bed a little hard.

    We were made to feel very welcome. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating (providing rice milk and vegan options for breakfast). The room was small but that wasn't a negative. It had some original features but had a modern design and was very comfortable and cosy. Would thoroughly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi, We wanted to stay at a traditional English cottage and this stay covered exactly everything what we expected. Cute, cosy, good service and beatiful surroundings. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was a little snug for two adults for more than a couple of days. Also we had to request extra pillows for the bed as the ones on the bed had hardly any stuffing. The staff rectified this quickly when asked.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was really very good, particularly breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in excellent location for coastal walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could have been a little warmer in the restaurant.

    The shower was particularly good and breakfast excellent. A typical old building with small bathroom but overall excellent value for money and we would return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Perfect rustic base for exploring
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very 'rustic' - could do with some updating and tlc in the bedroom but this didn't ruin the stay in any way.

    Breakfast and dinner were lovely, staff were very friendly and helpful and really dog friendly. Had a small issue with the housekeeping and it was sorted immediately and very professionally. Lovely atmosphere with the bar and restaurant which is used by guests and locals alike.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: