Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mill at Conder Green 4 stars

Thurnham Mill Lane, Conder Green, LA2 0BD, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Conder Green

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 686 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Excellent for a relaxing stay in the countryside or if on business in Lancaster
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will definitely need a car if as the place is out of town. Some vegan options would be nice.

    Excellent stay for two nights at The Mill - Lovely new rooms with tasteful decor and comfy bed. Very clean including bathroom. Breakfast (cooked), pastries and some cereal options plus fresh fruit was very good too. Food in the evening was very good too. Nice location with many walks available. Would definitely return (hopefully we can bring our dog).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet location and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the bar area could have included an area with window views and when we ate later in the evening some meals were not available. But the hotel has a popular restaurant and, clearly, non-residents were using it, hence, by the time we were seated some things were sold out.

    This hotel has either recently opened or been renovated and has a fresh feel. The restaurant is very good with nice views of the canal. Location-wise it's remote and peaceful, immediately adjacent to a canal. Our room was tastefully appointed and very clean and staff were helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Fab find,see you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good,we stopped over night on route to The Lakes. Would stop over longer next time. Very comfortable bed,good food and lovely quite countryside location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The setting idilic, watching swans on the canal from the dining room window as you eat breakfast was lovely. All the staff we met were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff especially Rebecca and Josh. Lovely food. Great room although it's only a double bed not a king size, unusual, but we did book a double so can't complain. Great location on the canal. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Quite location and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here before, but the hotel has now been extended and is even better. We had a nice big room. The location next to the canal lock means you can go out for a quite walk along the water side. Close to Lancaster. A good place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Night Away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like but a little disappointed that several things not available on the menu at dinner.

    Lovely accomodation in a picturesque and peaceful area. Staff friendly and room comfortable. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely setting, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew there was kitchen vent outside window but as you couldn't have window open due to noise and it was warm, it was so stuffy-needed an air conditioning unit. Also shower was luke warm

    Lovely setting, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay in countryside near Lancaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Eggs over cooked both days, would've preferred brown/seeded gluten free bread. Luxury Room was at back of hotel over terrace and by car park, so quite noisy in the warm weather. Although the room was big there was a distinct lack of useful things normally found in hotel rooms i.e. No luggage rack, Pen and paper, wash flannels and shower/ bath soap or shampoo. The luxury element was missing as the floors were vast but without rugs , the huge shower had been terribly designed without a door so bathroom floor gets wet through and hazardous. An ice bucket to take to the bar would also have been useful. It felt like the details were unfinished.

    All staff were laid back and friendly. My request for gluten free toast had been noted and was served when asked for. Room was very big. Atmosphere was very pleasant and I noticed a member of staff was particularly helpful with customers that didn't speak English . We had a nice meal one evening and service was very good even though the kitchen was short staffed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    We would use The Mill again probably but I would phone and check shower and bath functioning first.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not very good ... thermostat on shower not working - just very hot water coming out of the shower .... scalded my scalp. Told a member of staff but they didn't seem particularly concerned. I had to wash my hair in the basin.

    Walks along tow path to marina .... staff were very helpful on the whole ... nice size room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, good food ,excellent staff just minutes off the M6
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was excellent

    Receptionist brilliant - I was a late arrival but a hot meal was ready for me on arrival and she could not have been more helpful Food was excellent and staff very attentive Bedroom comfortable and tastefully decorated - ideal stopover A very well run small Hôtel - would not hesitate to recommend the Mill at Conder Green and will definitely go back A short drive from junction 33 off the M6

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stop-over if you are travelling to the Isle of Man.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The establishment is in the country with little around it. One member of staff seemed to be doing everything when we arrived, serving table, serving behind the bar and booking in new customers. There were obviously some delays due to this.

    Great cooked breakfast. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location, excellent food and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one negative point was the mattress did not support you properly, my wife and I felt as though you were falling out of the bed and did not get a good nights sleep!

    The location, decor, room size, restaurant, food, staff and walking tracks were all fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All my previous booking.com visits have been pre-paid. I had to pay again here? Confusing... Breakfast finished at 9 which made things a rush in the morning.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 50 minutes for our meal. If waitresses dealt with there own area she would have realised before we complained that our drinks and meal order had somehow deleted off their system. Meal was lovely and was given free due to the wait.

    Lovely location in beautiful countryside. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    This was a little gem in an ideal setting . I will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negatives.

    I did not have s coffee so I could not rate it. The room was a good size , beautiful views and bed very comfy . I had the roast dinner when I arrived and the breakfast was beautiful cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing & enjoyable. Lovely quiet hotel in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing! Bath took an age to fill & difficult to control temperature

    Bed very comfortable. Room very spacious. Breakfasts superb. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Luxurious stay in a beautiful English town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was well thought out and perfect!

    The hotel was modern and luxurious run by lovely people. Several lovely walks to travel. First rate service- they go the extra mile with a smile!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set in a lovely location, nice and peaceful. Friendly helpful staff, clean and spacious room. Breakfast very tasty and well presented. Liked it that much have booked again for a few months time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room with excellent views, for fabulous canal walks and countryside escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was great, a good size with nice furnishings and the view from the window was fabulous. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great-tasty, plentiful and flexible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    First class in every way and exmxcellent value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old converted mill in rural area beautifully decorated . Understated and very relaxing , fresh and tasteful . Luxury bedroom upgrade was first class value and breakfast and evening meal delicious. We have stayed here before travelling from Glasgow to London and love this accommodation .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of our room faced the steps on reception not very private but beautiful room would definitely pick another room but gorgeous place to stay

    The location perfect lovely breakfast staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A surprising gem, we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent, always pleased to help, always friendly and informative. Thoughtfully decorated, peaceful atmosphere, beds comfortable. Evening meal & breakfast were fabulous. Local foods where possible, all cooked and presented beautifully. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and would return but choose different facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed standard side which we found small and impacted on our comfort and sleep..most hotels we stay in offer king size as basic....intrusive noise room 10 which was constant through afternoon and evening but gone in morning....reception noted this and will investigate

    Staff..location...décor....breakfast first class

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist a little pan faced and finished her typing before attending to us. Yet the same lady was very accommodating at the bar later. Minor detail.

    Very good room decoration and really comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom with deep bath. Had shower also. Thought it was a cold room but turned radiator on and was cosy in no time. Nice late night drink in bar who served us at 22.58. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Our seventh visit and we look forward to coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given Room 3 - vibrated a bit with noisy kitchen fan which vroomed on at 06:30 am and rattled away all day switching off about 10 pm. However was offered another room for our second night - very helpful staff anxious to help. Have suffered worse fans in other places but was less tranquil than previous stays.

    Breakfast is amazing and staff are all friendly. Lovely clean rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    best place we have stayed in the uk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much really.we enjoyed every minute.i would have been prepared to pay more for a more sophisticated cuisine but that is not so easy to find in England .this is personal and not a criticism

    excellent rooms, clean,newly built, luxurious bathroom,quiet with great views, very comfortable bed, new tv which worked well.restaurant was good English quality both in the evening and at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place for a meal, drink or short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking.com sent a request to the hotel for a double room for 2 adults despite my booking clearly requesting a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel didn’t have any family rooms left however rectified it quickly and without fuss by offering us a large double and put 2 extra beds in. The mistake was clearly on booking.coms behalf so beware.

    Friendly staff and beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful! Would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The scrambled eggs! All other eggs were excellent. Otherwise the food was delightful. Soiled towels were taken away and not replaces and so one had to ask. When we asked they were quickly provided.

    Great staff. Comfortable room. Excellent food and drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    an ideal pace to break up a 600 mile long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been better, noise from the corridor as the door was not a good fit and rattled most of the night with the window opened, it also let a lot of light in around the frame. No view from the window.

    Location, friendly staff, great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst this is a minor issue, there was no shelf space in the bathroom which is poor for a luxury suite

    Good food, nice location next to a canal, nice good sized rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Ok. Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room 4 very poor Breakfast waited 50 minutes Not enough breakfast selection to cater for the number of guests. It was very clear not enough staff

    The bar area is very relaxed and lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay, close to the Isle of Man ferry at Heysham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a criticism but it would have been a nice touch to have bath robes and toiletries e.g. bubble bath in the bathroom. The hotel was obviously dog friendly with numerous dogs (with owners) passing through the bar area.

    We stayed in the Luxury Suite, which was spacious and comfortable. Nice bar with real ale and comfortable seating. Good breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The room was lovely but we couldn’t find the light switches...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely but we couldn’t find the light switches for the bedside lights: also if you turn the main light off it’s difficult to navigate to the bed - only found the extra towels the next day and could do with a table the other side of the sofa as on one side you could use the chest of drawers to put down a tea cup - we were in room 12

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Location was good, idyllic surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Understaffed. There was no one on reception when we arrived and had to find someone from the bar area which was also unmanned another patron wandered in the kitchen area to summon someone so they could be served and us checked in. Several of the fire doors didn't have effective soft close fixings hence they would slam shut during the night.

    Location was good, idyllic surroundings. Pleasant bar and restaurant area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    As always, an enjoyable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, large comfortable rooms and excellent food. Best overall hotel experience in Lancaster if you don't need a pool/gym. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Very comfortable but like I said small double bed where we was expecting more from the photos,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and small with a double bed, we was expecting a lot more with photos, not really used to a double bed more king size or bigger, but was ok for 1 night

    The meal was lovely and nice walks around the area, and lovely views from certain places

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Romantic rural getaway with beautiful spotlessly clean rooms good food and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t anything to dislike. The only disappointment wasn’t linked to the place itself just the canal side walk to Glasson Dock was just too muddy.

    Lovely canal side rural location. Staff welcoming and friendly. Food was delicious. Place was absolutely spotlessly clean. Lovely big comfy bed, crisp white sheets and plenty of plump pillows. Lovely character to the decor. Bathroom was spotless and modern with a cast iron bath in our room as well as a walk in shower. Appeared to be dog friendly as saw a few well behaved furry friends. Would imagine in the summer it’s a beautiful spot for weddings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect and relaxing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not warm enough. Bed a little too high and hard. Bit noisy outside room.

    Staff were so attentive. Room was lovely and welcoming. Loved it so much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at The Mill...wish it had been longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service just needs tweaking to make it a first class experience. Attn to detail items...but still very good.

    Lovely stay at The Mill. Beautifully clean and an amazing room. Views are first class and the staff...in the main...were lovely and very good at what they do. The restaurant is spot on and the fabric of the hotel/bar/restaurant is beautiful but the restaurant service just lacks a little something that means it does not 'fit' with the overall experience. However, The Mill is lovely and we will be back....really enjoyed our stay and we do wish it was longer. Dog friendly too. I would highly recommend The Mill in every way...just fine tune the restaurant service and its an 12 out of 10. Food is excellent by the way! Breakfast amazing too. Get yourself booked for a fantastic, quiet and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    lovely staff and room in a relaxing, pleasant environment, with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Lovely spacious, spotlessly clean room, great hot food and a wonderful location. A perfect location to visit our son who is at Lancaster University. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    All staff were very friendly and attentive, especially Liz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff were very friendly and attentive, especially Liz who ensured myself and my Husband were well catered for (we are both vegan). Room was very comfortable with very nice views and there was a good selection at the buffet breakfast, and the hot breakfast was quick to appear once ordered! Would 100% recommend. Lancaster is under 15 min drive away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location, great staff and food, very clean - even the corridors smelt lovely!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't any information in the room about the restaurant menu or food serving times which would have been helpful, unfortunately the phone didn't work so I wasn't able to contact reception. There wasn't a bath mat to step out onto and there were a few maintenance issues such as the bottom of the bath panel needed repairing and a lamp shade had been smashed and glued back together. The heating was off when I arrived and I had to scramble under the desk to try and turn it on (which other may not be able to do), however, it very quickly warmed the room well. These were only tiny niggles and don't detract from the comfort, cleanliness or value of my stay.

    The staff were very helpful and quick to offer assistance. The location was beautiful and it was in an ideal location to get to the M6. The food was lovely with great service in the restaurant, breakfast was lovely with local produce and lots of choice. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stop over!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set in the countryside with beautiful views. We ran in the morning & it was just perfect! The staff were lovely & the food fab. We will definitely stay over again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    The food is always excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food is always excellent. The peacefulness and the beauty of the setting is wonderful. The reason I keep coming back is the people. There is a consistency of staff who have become friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Really lovely place, well cared for, the food is tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stopped working half way through and there was a really loud fan that was outside of our room that only turned off after 11pm and came on again at about 5.30am. Also the rooms are quite cramped ... so don’t book if your claustrophobic.

    The breakfast is always delicious and well cooked. The staff are incredibly friendly and helped us when my husband had a funny turn.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Lovely peaceful location with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Quaint and comfortable beside a canal. Great staff and food. Beer garden too. Peaceful location. Visited several times. Each time never disappoints.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    I'll be shocked if you don't enjoy your stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one small thing, and it's an observation more than a gripe, I have noticed before but not mentioned. The wonderful wooden floors in the bedrooms are sometimes a little grubby. Not visibly, however I do have a habit of wandering around in bare feet and it's then that you notice it. I should point out that the rooms are otherwise kept immaculately, so it may just be a issue with settling dust. Maybe a rug or two would help... just a thought.

    I love this place and always try to stay here. I've extolled it's virtues many times. I'll be shocked if you don't enjoy your stay here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was lovely, a wide selection of drinks and the staff are really friendly and nice. Would definetly go back. Even considering as wedding venue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Excellent value with excellent staff and kitchen - what more can you ask for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Saturday night - well, we were above the function room! BUT the music stopped promptly at midnight - appreciated!

    The bed was most comfortable and the en-suite perfect! Staff are ALWAYS most helpful and polite AND VERY welcoming!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Extremely enjoyable would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That booking.com gave us the wrong quote for a luxury room l was quoted£75 and it was £120 rather embarrassing but we left a good tip to make up for the short fall

    Everything was perfection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed very comfy,views beautiful,breakfast a prize winner,staff very welcoming,piping hot water,cosy warm rooms.Staff even organised an impromptu birthday toast for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Tricked into paying more than I had agreed.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed with the customer service. Prior to making my booking with booking.com I phoned the hotel to ask if all the rooms were dog friendly and explained I was going to book using booking.com. I was told that all I had to do was leave a note asking for a dog friendly room. I did this and received a booking confirmation immediately stating that the total price for my stay was £65. 7 days before arrival I was sent a reminder of my booking. On the day of arrival, shortly before I checked in, I received an invoice from the hotel via email for £80 that had been charged to my credit card. On arrival I asked why I had been charged £80 instead of £65. I was told that £15 was a charge for having a dog friendly room. I explained to the member of staff on reception that I hadn't been informed of this charge and that the amount had been taken from my bank without my approval. She offered no apology or reason for hiding this charge from me until after it was too late to cancel the booking, or in fact for charging my credit card £15 more than I had agreed to. I felt angry at the way I had been treated and did not enjoy the remainder of my stay as a result. I was also disappointed that I had been sold a 'room with a view' but that view was spoiled by discarded building materials and litter.

    The property was clean, nicely decorated and in a lovely spot. The bedroom was quite small but met all our needs for a one night stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've have stayed here 5 times now. Twice we were upgraded to room 12 which we loved. This time we got room 11 which we got the same room last time we stayed, unfortunately the shower is still very slow, hardly any water comes out. That is my only complaint

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    The pub and food are what made it for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very poor and barely worked. Room quite small but fine for our purpose.

    The pub and food are what made it for us. Lovely staff, great bar area where you can relax on comfy sofas, nice atmosphere. Nice location, next to a canal for nice walks. very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING TO DISLIKE

    THE STAFF WERE EXCELLENT AND ALWAYS HELPFUL. THE ROOM WAS GREAT AND AS DESCRIBED. THE RESTAURANT IS EXCEPTIONAL AS IT ALWAYS HAS BEEN. THE HOTEL AND ROOM WERE IMMACULATE THROUGHOUT. IN A BEAUTIFUL SETTING AND VERY QUITE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE MILL, AND IT REALLY IS FANTASTIC VALUE.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel located next to a canal lock gate.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Mill is full of character. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food served is good quality using local produce. Perfectly located for parents visiting students at Lancaster university. Lots of lovely walks right outside the door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful friendly staff.Great room and fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole stay at The Mill was superb.This was a very short notice short stay. As we had a lot of personal issues going on, we decided that a night away may just re charge our batteries.We cannot fault our stay and have already recommended it to friends and family. We will visit The Mill again. Thanks to all the staff front of house and behind the scenes to make this stay wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Unforgettable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be perfect if the rooms have better sound proofing.

    A modern hotel in the countryside, easy to park. Walking by the canal in the morning will definitely make your day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in quiet surroundings for a peacefull stay, disabled access is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in our room was a double, we prefer the larger bed, they do offer these in some rooms on request and when we return we will request these rooms.

    I was travelling with my blind wife and her guide dog Candy, the staff were very helpful with us all, taking time to understand the restrictions it brings, little thing like waiting for me to read the menu completely and discuss her selection, even adapting the meal to accommodate her diet due to kidney dialysis issues. The property has a lift that goes from ground level to all floors for easy access for disabled guest. The evening meal in the restaurant was exceptional we really enjoyed the dining experience, the staff were friendly and very helpful with visual awareness like explaining where they were putting the drinks and cutlery in front of my wife.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Good food and very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window leaked in extremely heavy rain.

    Good food and very helpful staff. Our room was clean and comfy and we were given an automatic upgrade because a dog had been kept in the room we had been booked into

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Have used this hotel a few times and think its the best in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lacking in storage space . Bedroom had no where to put items out of sight . Large bathroom but no shelving ,so nowhere to leave toiletries. Shower over the bath ,which was quite narrow and against the window ,so items there got wet.

    Large Luxury double room , with double aspect views ,spacious bathroom, king size bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing stay at the end of a working day
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to really complain about but I would have liked a socket (for my hairdryer) near the large mirror in the dressing area, otherwise it was pretty perfect!

    Wonderful large room with king size bed, leather chairs and a chaise! Sea food platter evening meal and a very nice mushroom omelette for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Well placed quality elevator to all amenities making easy access for those with less mobility abonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First Impressions DO count !! A little more Bonhomme hospitality at reception would not go amiss. NB. Its "clients" who have arrived >Not travellers lucky enough to have been "accepted".

    Almost everything. Tastefully furnished. Well prepared food. Dog-Friendly. Peaceful pleasant rural location. Prices circa 15% OTT.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The Fabulous Mill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A way out from town (Lancaster). We did not have our own transportation and had to rely on our daughter and son-in-law to drive back and forth for us from town.

    Lovely views. Great views. Very pleasant staff. Would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant getaway with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pleasant but very warm, and a little sparsely decorated - could have done with an extra picture on the wall and a rug on the floor.

    The luxury suite had a very comfortable king size bed and a good sized bathroom. The food in the restaurant was excellent at dinner and breakfast, and a good choice of wine and ales were on offer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    A real gem at he price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit spartan - no rug on the floor but this is a minor criticism

    Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere and good food and beer - what’s not to like ? Good walking along the canal as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved the place and recommend it highly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was too hot. Room No 2, where we were, had an odd window looking into a strange leaded roof area.

    Fabulous place, wonderful staff, super food, gorgeous location. Pets very welcome and allowed into certain public areas. The fried bread at breakfast was delicious. The Lancashire Hotpot was second to none.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Amazing time and amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Everything was beautiful, very friendly, stunning location, amazing room. We had a wonderful time would definitely recommend. If I was back in this location I wouldn’t stay anywhere else. 😀😀👍🏼👍🏼

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.0
    Excellent place that covered what I needed; I shall use it again when in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point - putting my glasses on a side table from the bed was not possible

    Excellent staff who wanted guests to have a good stay. I also left an item which I had to return for and the staff could not have been more helpful or efficient in dealing with it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff member who booked us in was very abrupt. There was 2 of us and she declared the price I was paying was a single occupancy room. I assured her I had booked a double room but she still stated that rate was single occupancy. I had to show her my booking.com confirmation for her to allow us to have a double room. Upon this she then told us that only double room that was left was the one with the kitchen extractor unit outside, which was very noisy. I am still not sure whether this was true or because I had argued with her about the room occupancy.

    The pub was very clean and welcoming. They also allowed dogs in which I thought was great as it is a popular walking destination. The breakfast as lovely although it didn't include beans!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent except noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an all round very enjoyable stay, but for one sad let down at least for me on the night I stayed, that being noise at night. I can only speak for the room I was in, of course (room 3), but from there the hotel's loud heating can be heard until it stops at 11 p.m., before starting noisily again at 7 a.m. Additionally we were disturbed by a lot of creaking floorboards, doors closing and general noise from other guests in the hotel, and on top of that a dog in the room next door barked early in the morning. The dog may well have just been our bad luck, of course, however the heating and the bleeding through of noise from other rooms should be taken into account when booking this otherwise excellent hotel.

    This is an attractive hotel in a wonderful location, the restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy as there was a function going on underneath our bedroom. If I was staying here again (which I would) - I would ask for a room away from the function room if there was something going on. We also got unlucky with a boiler failure which put pay to a shower in the morning !! Manageress very helpful though.

    Friendly, capable staff. Very clean. Food and beer/wine good. Recently refurbed in parts so nice fresh feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    The dinner and breakfust were very good, the room was large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was not attende all the time, the hotel was short of staff.

    The dinner and breakfust were very good, the room was large and comfortable, the location along the canal was good for having a walk before dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    the best place in the North west but dont tell everyone!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect for me here

    The hotel is absolutely fantastic- a grem of a find the rooms are superb and so comfortable and the decor wonderful the food is fabulous and the breakfasts to die for well done the staff too-especially Liz, Gill, Alan and Siobban

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Mill at Conder Green traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: