Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Hampshire hotel reviews
  4. Lymington hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Mill

Reviews of The Mill 4 stars

Silver Street, Lymington, SO41 6DJ, United Kingdom

#18 of 37 hotels in Lymington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    6.7
    Great location, 5 minutes from Lymington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very low pressure and not even pleasant let alone luxurious. The restaurant food was good but overpriced, but probably in line with the rest of the new forest restaurants

    Great location, 5 minutes from Lymington. The Mill has lovely grounds right next to a river and a is beautiful setting. The staff were very friendly and plenty of them during evening meal service. It has a lovely bar area to sit and be cosy, with plenty of board games and books if needed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    6.3
    Ok, but would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar staff unfriendly. Breakfast tasteless. Long wait at reception (had to ring bell 3 times. We felt that more could be done with the hotel.

    Nice atmosphere overall, but outside was unkempt. Probably due to the time of year, but clean outside tables would have been nice

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room and cold dinning area. No telephone in room when message in the room said phone reception. Missing items in breakfast menu. Unfriendly breakfast staff.

    Appearance of room and location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2018

    6.7
    Good but not quite good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed expectations in a few areas, and compared to expectations set by the high price. Eg amongst the group we had heating problems, toilet not working, cobwebs in the corridors. The Annex lacks the ambience which you look for in this kind of county hotel. Reception was unmanned when we arrived, and we had a bit of a wait.

    Nice place, great staff, lovely setting by the stream. Good food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    6.3
    well relaxing just what the doctor ordered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was nice but we were disappointed it was small we had booked a delux room so we expected more for our money

    the babbling brook and the gardens were great we wish we had been there in the summer to enjoy them more

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the mill and there was a lot of traffic noise.

    Very friendly staff and a beautiful setting. Rooms lovely and warm and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    Very relaxing would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water when running the shower in morning 🙁

    Great setting 😊 friendly staff very attentive 😊 Fantastic cosy rooms, comfy bed, nice decor, great food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice place, good location, staff appear to have no zest, not one smile in 3 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the waitresses on a morning, who were very friendly, the staff had no excitement and I didn't see them smile once in 3 days . Found the barman to be very pretentious and condescending with the personality of a damp cloth.

    Nice place, clean rooms and good food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 7 shower leaks under the shower screen so must put towels on floor to avoid a wet bathroom floor. Minor compared to all the qualities of this wonderful hotel

    Fabulous. It's gardens are spectacular, room large and v comfy. The standard of cooking is fabulous. Location close to great places to visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    We had been driving for over twelve hours when we arrived...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had been driving for over twelve hours when we arrived totally exhausted and too tired to freshen up and eat in the restaurant and even though the hotel doesn't do room service the chef still cooked us our choice off the restaurent menu and we ate it in our room, which was great! The wet room style bathroom was superb, including the underfloor heating.The bed was so comfy and I had the best sleep.It was one of my favourite hotels that I have stayed in and would highly recommend it !!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with a beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was too hot unfortunately and we made the mistake of closing the windows when we went to bed otherwise the hotel was super

    Interior decoration was very tasteful. Hotel was in a great location for visiting Milford on Sea and Beaulieu

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    A beautiful location for a magical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean, all the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food in the hotel restaurant was superb and the garden around the hotel was like out of a fairytale.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The location was excellent just a short distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The serving of breakfast ended early (9:30am) as we had just flown from Canada and we were still getting over jet lag during our stay at the Mill. Other than that everything was perfect.

    The location was excellent just a short distance from Lymington and on the edge of the New Forest. The property has tremendous charm and comfort. The meals we enjoyed and we were made to feel completely at home. The small pub was delightful and the beer was one of the best we tasted while travelling in England on vacation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.5
    Great location, the views from the orangery were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with being updated in the room.

    Great location, the views from the orangery were fantastic. Great staff. Thanks Octavia and Cameron for looking after us on our first trip away with our 10 week old!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Very charming and quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things only. But, nobody ever thinks about the practicalities of sockets, ie drying my hair near a mirror was almost impossible! Lots of cobwebs in our bathroom, on the curtains and above the tv. But these things didn’t impact on our stay or affect our rating either.

    Very charming and quaint. Nearby to Lymington and Beaulieu. Staff were amazing and the food was good too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed every moment would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was really picky I think the buffet breakfast could have been a little more substantial but cooked breakfasts was very good

    Friendly staff lovely room property comfortable lovely country feel beautiful gardens good parking easy to visit many other areas not to far away would recommend ideal for relaxing few days

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.5
    Nice hotel and helpful staff. Food variable in standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lounge area which is a big disadvatage. Told I could sii in the bar, but the bar never got the sun so it was chilly and uninviting. Food was pricey. It varied from excellent to mediocre. Not enough variety in menu for guests staying several days - ike myself.

    Very pleasantly furnished room and comfortable bed. Pleasant and efficient staff. Stunning garden!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Our stay was perfect in many ways. Thank you to The Mill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was dated and we mentioned this to one of the managers. We understand that all the bathrooms are scheduled for a major upgrade early in 2019. Once that has been completed, the hotel will be perfect.

    We particularly liked the peace and ambience of the hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful. In addition, the food and attention to detail were particularly appreciated by us both. We also liked the style of furnishing and decoration.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Amazing 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All positive.

    Everything was amazing at my first ever stay at a guest house. The room ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The staff⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The food⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The location⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The ambiance ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The best place to stay in the New Forest. Rooms cosy cottage feel. Food locally sourced. Friendly staff with a personal touch. Great ambiance across restaurant, bar, property and surroundings. Magical 😍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much unnecessary furniture in our standard double room which reduced the floor space and hindered movement when getting dressed/changed. Very small TV.

    Attractive small boutique hotel. Great location, cosy bar and nice restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'ham' with the eggs and chips menu item.

    Great staff. Lovely grounds for adults... but lots of water around. Amazing full English breakfast. Fairly pricey dinner menu but plenty of choice. Good drinks selection and prices. Loads of parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought some parts of the bathroom could do with a face lift ie grout round tiles in bathroom and sink ares

    The grounds were stunnin. The location was very pleasant. Staff very polite. Would recommend and retuning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The Mill is a very special place,a little bit of paradise in the New Forest & we can’t wait to retur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t say I didn’t like anything,but the room we stayed in was a little tired looking,but I know they are due to be updated.

    The gardens were amazing & the whole ambience of the mill is very special.The food was outstanding & staff were friendly & welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A lovely location for a few days cycling in the New Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely location for a few days cycling in the New Forest. Our room was bright and airy and very comfortable. The Mill's garden's were lovely and the conservatory was a great place to eat. The staff were all friendly and attentive, the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Delightful hotel and restaurant in beautiful surroundings with attentive and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took quite a long time for hot water to come through in the room and the shower never became quite hot enough.

    We loved the decor in the room and in the property as a whole. There was good attention to detail in the room eg duck soft 'toy' and reading material. Never before have I had the complete works of Dickens to choose from! The gardens were lovely and packed with art works - some easier to find than others but that was part of the fun. Staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. We ate there both evenings and the food was of a high standard, as were the breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Short and sweet but will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feather pillows but thats me being fussy!!

    We came for lunch as we were staying there also, food was very good. Our room was plenty big enough for the 2 of us and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Set in beautiful gardens with nice modern country house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the annex are rather small and quite a lot of traffic noise Understaffed felt they needed more , service slow Rather overpriced for the area and facilities

    Set in beautiful gardens with nice modern country house decor. Very comfortable beds. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    A real gem - add to list of places to come back to - soon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute gem of a place - extremely well appointed, gorgeous details in the bedroom and delicious food for supper and breakfast Lovely team throughout

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely New Forest experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom room 7 faced on to the street and early morning delivery vans woke us up at 7am.. too early for a lazy holiday break!!! Annoying!!!

    Gorgeous place to stay and the restaurant was superb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    The grounds were awe inspiring, a little oasis in a too noisy and busy world.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find fault with anything

    Everything, Bed very very comfy, wonderful to see figs from the tree outside the dining room in the buffet breakfast. Wished my stay could have been longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Our room was delightful and the gardens were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long wait for my meal to be served and also the meal I wanted was off that day. The poached egg I ordered was cold and hard on a bit of dried up toast. Also I do not like to see cracked cups on the table.

    I liked the gardens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and very hardworking staff, lovely gardens and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bolt on the balcony door was broken. The door from the bedroom to the bathroom needed a clean

    The bed was very comfortable although creaked a bit when getting in or out. The staff were all very pleasant and hardworking. The grounds were lovely especially the 'secret garden' which was a real surprise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and the location was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we ordered our food they got the order wrong a couple of times.

    Staff were friendly and the location was lovely. Room was clear and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Lovely room, very comfy bed and pillows, the bathroom and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, very comfy bed and pillows, the bathroom and shower were great and the toiletries are really nice. They also have lovely teas and home made shortbread biscuits in the room which is a lovely touch. The restaurant is beautiful as you can sit outside in the summer evenings by the mill pond and its really lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    Everything - this place is magical and truly idyllic. Amazing staff and such a beautiful location. We stayed in Room 1, balcony overlooks the stunning gardens. Fabulous evening meal and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Hotel, Shame about the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was incredibly slow. We ordered afternoon Tea and after an hour we were still waiting for the tea, coffee and scones to be bought out. Eventually we had to go so never did receive this. When I complained the staff member did not seem to care and simply offered to discount it, which we never got at the end of our stay.

    Amazing gardens, great food and rooms are clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall an idyllic hotel to stay at...beautiful grounds, friendly staff and stylish rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be that our room was smaller than I was expecting, but saying that it was still very stylish and we had everything we needed.

    The whole place was just very warm and welcoming! Absolutely stunning grounds...sitting in the secret garden with a G&T was a lovely way to start our evening!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall a fantastic place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came down for breakfast around 7.45 and ordered the veggie full english. As I had eaten the night before in the house restaurant expectations were pretty high. However the food that arrived looked as if it had been hastily put together in a rush- the potatoes were soggy, The eggs tough and the tomato under done and no fried bread as in the description which led me to think maybe they emplyed a different chef for breakfasts compared to the restuarant's a la carte . The next day I came down alot later for breakfast and there were more people eating. I ordered the same veggie full english and I was astounded by how the same plate of food could look so different! I would suggest that you not come down to breakfast too early as you more then likely will not get the same quality of a later timed breakfast!

    We were upgraded for free which was fabulous! We loved the walk- in shower, the comfort of the beds, the decor and the lovely tea casket on the side as well as as the bottle of water. The attention to detail was fab- things like an iron and a fan which I thought was great. Really enjoyed our stay here and my 7year old was enthralled by the 'secret Garden'. We spent a great deal of time walking around there in the mornings after breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    A lovely building in a special location managed and run by friendly attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only minor gripe was the quality of coffee available in the room as we would have preferred a premium brand.

    The bedroom was great with very nice double aspect windows overlooking the pond and gardens. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Croissants were not available at breakfast. Check out was a bit slow because of the online system that you use.

    The peace and quiet of the setting and the pleasant service from the staff. The dinner was excellent. The suite was very comfortable and cool even although it was warm weather.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price didn’t include breakfast

    Amazing place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff. The bed was one of the best I have slept in and room was modern and spacious. Added bonus of having a bath and separate shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The setting and the overall set up of the Hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, but would have liked to have a little more comfort food choice on the menu.

    The setting and the overall set up of the Hotel was perfect. The minute you drove into the drive, you knew this was going to be a relaxing stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Everything!! The staff were lovely the food was fantastic. The hotel and grounds were just gorgeous. This break came at just the right time!! I can not express enough how good the staff are at this hotel!! Thank you!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floorboards were very noisy, so couldn't sleep until our upstairs neighbours decided to.

    The food is excellent. The staff are lovely and the grounds are delightful to sit in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Truly lovely place to spend time and perfect for that special occasion !
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered 8.30 breakfast to be delivered which was a little late and there were no cups for the coffee so we had to use the mugs in the room. I’m positive the latter would have been rectified had I bothered to ask. Really minor issues and nothing to spoil the wonderful stay we had at the Mill.

    Lovely atmosphere - fantastic location and the surrounding grounds are idyllic. The ambiance in the orangery where we dined was truly lovely and we had drinks in the garden which, on the warm summers evening we were afforded, just made the whole thing perfect ! Food was excellent and as this was a “special birthday” break we chose room service for breakfast - again great food and well presented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good in parts, but it could be made even better with just a little more thought, at no extra co
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food was good, but when we asked for just a beef sandwich say at lunch time ,we were told that they don,t do such a thing. As we were eating at night, we didn't want much at lunch .A pity ,as it seemed that they didn't, want to put themselves out. They seemed to concentrate on a three course lunch ,and that was a ((take it or leave it. Hense, we went out and had lunch elsewhere

    The food was superb., the room was very good, l and the staff were helpfully.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall an excelent stay. Thank you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stayed in room 7 thought the bathroom was a little tired for the price paid. Not he fault of the establishment but no pavements on the immediate roadside should you decide to leave the hotel on foot.

    Generally well maintained, most of the staff smiling, breakfast excellent, (had the full English and the salmon and eggs), gardens fantastic, ample parking. Room 7, nice décor and very clean and spacious good facilities, bathroom see below.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice large wet room and bed pretty comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. More choice and the cooked breakfast could be cooked a bit longer. Twice we have stayed here and both times we have never been asked if we would like any sauce with breakfast unless they don’t serve sauce with a cooked breakfast.

    Nice large wet room and bed pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall a place I would stay again and a good location to get to most places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit disappointed with service at the restaurant. For both dinner and breakfast

    Location was good, beautiful grounds...the hotel provide all the necessary amenities. Dinner was top notch, breakfast was slightly disappointing. Didn't get what I ordered and the omelette wasn't what it said on the menu. Also my other half ordered the eggs Benedict and his muffin was soaking in water from the hard boiled eggs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Could not be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    We stayed two nights at this hotel and did not want to leave!. The staff could not have been friendlier or more obliging and seemed to do everything without us noticing they were there! We had a dinner party for 10 for a birthday on Sunday evening followed by a lunch for another birthday in the private dining room for 14 people the following day. The food was all excellent, well prepared and presented and all our guest were delighted. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable - would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much apart from the paintwork and carpet. Probably on their list for renovation - I gave them the benefit of the doubt.

    Pleasant ambience, not stuffy but very comfortable. The corridor outside my room could do with a lick of paint and the carpet was dirty. Initially, this was not a good impression but the room was fine and the rest of the place superb, especially the garden - great for sitting and reading, photos etc. Food very good - breakfast in the conservatory a treat on a fine sunny morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    nice little pub with excellent food menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was really nice the food was a good choice and breakfast was a good selection the gardens were lovely and nice to sit down and walk around the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is parking and nice to sit by the river and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely accommodation set in beautiful gardens with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody at reception either on arrival or when departing. Cleaners and workmen around during breakfast. Would have preferred room in main building as opposed to Annex building.

    Friendly staff. Beautiful gardens. Immaculately clean and comfy bed. Great bathroom facilities. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely but expensive for the service standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail and food and bar service lacking. More thorough management needed

    Beautiful grounds, friendly staff and beautifully furnished bedrooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    It was well worth it would like to return. The weather was also kind to us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities needed updating The shower was difficult

    Wonderful location. You could just relax in the gardens if you did not want to explore the surrounding area. Beds were extremely comfy must find out the make ?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Lovely evening food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work

    Restaurant was a lovely experience.. Staff first class, Very knowledgable Little extra for our wedding anniversary which was very thoughtful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The garden is lovely if you fancy eating/drinking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 5 is a bit tired but is apparently due for a face lift.

    The garden is lovely if you fancy eating/drinking outside or if you just want to find a quiet spot to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great accommodation and great food in a wonderful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check with the venue for current construction work on the property. Not all areas were accessible or quiet during the day. Okay if you're out and about exploring the New Forest, but not so good if you just want to spend the day reading quietly in the lovely gardens.

    Awesome breakfast. Lovely gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay and we will revisit in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Mill is currently undergoing various building works on the terrace which detracts from it’s overall charm at the moment. The work did not affect our stay in any way. Our room was a little tired and the water pressure was poor for showering but I’m told that improvements are planned.

    The location is beautiful, located by a fast flowing river and set in well maintained gardens. It is a very peaceful setting. The interior is dressed dramatically with bold colours and comfortable furniture. The staff were all extremely friendly and attentive and made our stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    just okay not value for money though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and being on the ground floor you could hear everything from the room above , even people walking around !! room price far to high for its size and value. No were to seat and enjoy a drink due to the main bar being refurbed. We were called to advise that a wall was collapsing at the rear of the hotel and the builders were in working, they never told us about the other works though especially the main bar area !! We did get a bottle of sparkling wine in our room Free of charge as a good will gesture ..

    The breakfast was the best thing of the stay...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Would not hesitate to recommend to friends or family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !

    Relaxed, comfortable, approachable staff, beautiful gardens and surroundings, sublime breakfast, lovely experience , local Lymington is gorgeous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Delicious cooked breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious cooked breakfast Very polite staff and comfortable surroundings. There was some building work due to start and we were offered an upgrade though we were very happy with our room with balcony Would definitely recommend The Mill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception was very slow and in particular when I was trying to just get my key it took ages while the manager took a couple off to view there room first

    Nice and quiet place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable hotel, very efficient & friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely comfortable hotel, very efficient & friendly staff. Probably the best all round hotel in the Lymington area. 2.5 miles from Lymington centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Pretty much what we expected apart from overlooking the kitchen service area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a large room with bathroom and a small sitting room which fronted onto the kitchen delivery area, so quite noisy in the early morning. There was also an extract fan from the kitchen which we could hear at the back of the bedroom

    Excellent staff all very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Just what we needed !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like although our room was a little on the small side but with a large comfy bed.

    The overall ambience of The Mill was excellent. The gardens are lovely and a very pretty setting. We had a lovely bathroom with walk-in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable old fashioned bedroom tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable old fashioned bedroom tastefully furnished with modern bathroom facilities. Lovely quirky touches. Staff couldn’t do enough for us. Loved the bar and dining area. Will certainly return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    The grounds are beautiful and excellent decor inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be cleaned more - cobweb behind the curtain and dust on lamp. But would definitely stay here again.

    The grounds are beautiful and excellent decor inside. Sunday roast is out of this world.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    A perfect escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    Delightful in every respect. Unique and quirky ( our room was over the working water mill) , attentive and friendly staff, wonderful food, and lovely gardens with pretty lighting - we can't wait to go back in the summer to enjoy the terraces and outdoor eating by the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Perfect overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived wet and cold on our bikes and JJ quickly helped us store the bikes securely and get checked in. His service throughout our stay was brilliant - st dinner, breakfast and checkout. We enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant room with a nice bottle of wine. We very much appreciated having 2 radiators in our room to help dry all our wet cycling kit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location will definitely return later in the year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central heating in our room was not working, possibly needed bleeding. We contacted reception and an electric fire was installed straight away.

    Everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location very close by to some great restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television in the room was so small it was a strain to watch it whilst in bed. The carpets was coming up at the corners and the room looked quite dated.

    Great location very close by to some great restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Gotta stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Lovely friendly service was made welcome from the minute i arrived. The rooms are lovely and a nice warm comfortable bar and resturant area. The staff are really nice and love to chat which is great LOL.. the food was lovely too.. highly recommended thank you for making my stay enjoyable if i am ever back in the area i no where to stay. Daniel from Newcastle

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel set in a beautiful setting with a stunning garden and stream running by. Room was super large and super comfortable. The bar area was cosy and restaurant great as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    A beautiful boutique hotel, great food and service, comfortable rooms in fantastic countryside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing I found I disliked at the hotel

    Lovely comfortable bed, room was lovely with fab shower and great toiletries. There's even proper leaf tea and home made shortbread biscuits for you to enjoy!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!