Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of White Rabbit Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, SO43 7AR, United Kingdom

#18 of 21 hotels in Lyndhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 912 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was too hard, the pub menu wasn’t as varied as I expected as it was all heavy meals with no light options for the evening

    Staff were amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in need of some attention and looked very tired rooms were not that clean cobwebs in bathroom and bedroom

    The staff were very helpful at all times

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for us, would love to have had a mini fridge as we had babies who needed milk but not a deal breaker. Food and service were fab. Would definitely come back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel needs renovation in bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, rooms need renovation. Cobwebs in the rooms and dirty floor in the bathroom

    Friendly staff, beautiful restaurant serves good food, nice location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the room, dark grubby depressing. Booked 3nights stayed 1,if the linen had not clean would have checked out there and then!

    Bed linen was clean. Otherwise nothing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again, but in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit smelly and damp due to it being a wet room, which had no ventilation.

    The setting of the hotel was good, staff very friendly and a good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Everyone was so friendly went out there way to please us 😊...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was so friendly went out there way to please us 😊 room was massive. Food was lovely and was in a great location. Beautiful property, we are definitely going back next year 😃

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable hotel, well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A comfortable hotel, well worth the money. Located in a lovely part of the New Forest. We ate at the restaurant on both nights we stayed and found the meal to be very nice for a pub meal. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and roomy. We found all the staff to be pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location, Lyndhurst is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness a concern in regards to the carpets and the windows. A lot of cobwebs in the rooms in the corners and around lights and fixtures and fittings. For the price I and the pictures on booking.com I expected a much better room.

    Great location, Lyndhurst is stunning. Hotel staff / reception / pub staff were excellent also!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was in a perfect location for us as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a perfect location for us as we were visiting peppa pig world so literally just down the road, the staff were so friendly and couldn’t do enough for us especially one chap who’s name was Sam I believe, our evening meal wasn’t great but breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice, the room was massive and perfect for people with children

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    We would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and hallway could do with updating. Cooked breakfast was very slow to arrive.

    The room was a good size, and the breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice place to stay, big family room but beds uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. It would have been useful to have a put me up bed so that 2 children didn't have to share a bed.

    Very good size room. Good shower. Restaurant and bar staff very good. Excellent food for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Great all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from both windows of our room was poor, one looked out on to the roof and one onto the generator / fan shed

    Good location, near local amenities and good road access. Also right near open green areas if you fancied a walk like we did. Good bar and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfy and great location to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choices of food in the restaurant ,there was quite alot of food that was not available plus no pink gin only the expensive makes like sip Smith's

    The bed was very comfy and great location to town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    For the price we paid, the room was extremely small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid, the room was extremely small. The breakfast so so . And we had to wait 10 mins.to check in as staff were busy serving on the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    White Rabbit hotel near Paultons Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs some tlc and money spending to improve the rooms. A grass area for kids playing would be handy too.

    This is a large and old building, no doubt in need of some updating throughout the accommodation areas, but the pub itself is nice and the staff are very helpful and friendly, trying their best with what they have. The food was ok, a little disappointing but we hit a busy period which may have affected things. Ideal location for Paultons Park, only 10mins up the road!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable, comfortable and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a little lacklustre. Bacon, beans and sausages were somewhat cheap. But the rest of the meal was OK.

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, great price and very friendly and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked and they run out of blackberry and apple crumble pie.

    Super friendly staff, very helpful and attentive. Room was substantial and suits how much we paid. Restaurant was great quality food and big portions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Super Location - Customer focused team - shame about poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor in as much that one has to make ones own coffee, no fresh fruit and limited yogurt. Full English felt greasy and sausages were tasteless and poor quality. Rather a shame, as we ate the night in the restaurant and the meals were rather lovely.

    Room was excellent size and beds were comfortable. The team was welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    AWFUL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AWFUL. Basic and ready for a refit. Fans and plant equipment running all night, windows don't close, windows with no clasp for security, tiny tv on a side all, gaps under doors so large you hear many other guests, creaking floors, dirty shower trims where they don't clean below the concertina shower door, peeling paint in shower cubicle. The beds are clean and well made, - but the overall experience is disappointing! (The management should sleep there and shower in every room to understand what they are selling).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely friendly staff in a good value hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tatty between pub and bedroom, windows in need of replacement but that didn’t put us off, it’s an old building and it looks like some areas have been updated. Very good value for money

    Lovely staff, friendly and helpful Good location just off the high street Large room, bathroom huge! Big bed, hair dryer, iron and ironing board

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    3.8
    Beyond dreadful. Do not stay here. Your rating of 3.8 is more than generous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead wasp and insects on windowsill, cobwebs around window, flaking paint and mould around window. Not being able to see out of the window (covering on it). Thick dust on light fittings. Room had not been properly cleaned for months. BeyonWater stained bathroom flooring and leaking water leaving puddle on floor. Out of date yoghurt, fresh fruit that had started to ferment, stale croissants, inedible cooked breakfast, stench of drains,

    Nothing - do not stay at this property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall very nice Hotel .Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was stated on web site that our room had a shower and a bath. There was no bath. Very disappointing.

    They done us a meal that was not on the menu which was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location but wouldn’t stay here again. For an extra tenner we’d stay back at the Crown ma
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room. Cobwebs and dead flies on the window. Someone else’s finger nails on the floor. Carpet dirty. Bathroom smelt bleachy. Corridors smelt of wee. Stayed in Room 12. Dirty walls. Chain on the bedroom door broken and half missing. Think the breakfast gave us poorly tummies too!

    The bar area looks nice. Staff extremely lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay near all forest attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a basic double and we are used to King size but it was comfortable.

    Great location, free car park, lovely staff and food. Coffee and tea in room .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Lovely staff, very poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was dirty, walls and paintwork scuffed with cobwebs and dust everywhere. The toilet was stained and so was the bathroom floor and there was no mat to stand on. In fact we have never been in such a badly presented room. Also the banisters on the stairs were unstable and unsafe. When we complained we were told that a refurbishment is due, so Good Night Inns need to get on with it ASAP!

    The staff are a real asset to this hotel, especially the waiting staff in the restaurant, very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Don’t think I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not at its best Faulty toilet seat Faulty bath overflow Room not as clean as expected

    Location is good not far to walk to the lovely village

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Good rooms fantastic staff nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower flooded when used? And WiFi wasn’t very good. Also, a few of the meals ordered they had ran out of items, and instead of telling us, they just put it out without that part of the meal? However they did try to accommodate that when we raised it to their attention. Just felt a little bit naughty to put the meal out with parts of it missing?

    The staff where amazing! We had a couple of minor problems with the shower and the room but the staff where happy to help in any way they could. The room was a decent size beds where very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Friendly stuff, everyday room cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (small double) is too small for 120 pounds per night, on photo it looks quite bigger and lighter. Despite of the heat in about 30 C degree window was blocked and enabled to be open and we have to sleep with open door. The bed is too narrow but quite comfy. It was seems like we live in a rabbit warren. Sorry, but it is one of the most unbalanced money / comfort staying in my life

    Friendly stuff, everyday room cleaning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect family stop-over in the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was huge with two sinks and two showers in the bathroom; so perfect for us all getting ready in the morning. A very good breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Home from home see you again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing I can think of is that the paintwork to the windows could do with a freshen up bit otherwise quite comfortable & clean.

    Although it was hot outside a fan was left running for our arrival. The same quiet room was reserved for us that we had the previous year which was very thoughtful. Same staff and great Asst manager. Altogether a lovely stay like home from home. Food good as well. See you next year 😎

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    FRIENDLY, OBLIGING STAFF AND A HOTEL IN THE NEW FOREST. PLENTY OF CAR PARKING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a, ALTHOUGH A PLAY AREA WOULD OF BEEN A BONUS EG SLIDE/SWINGS. PLENTY OF GRASS TO PLAY ON.

    lovely sized room for a family with 3 children aged 9, 9,10. bath and shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Good family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family room had lots of heavy traffic roaring past during the night probably from Southampton docks. Room and hotel were good but a shame about the noise. No view just a roof !

    Good family hotel, close to the New Forest, great shops and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.2
    The restaurant/bar staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was terribly small, tucked away in what felt like an attic with a ridiculous amount of stairs to climb to get to it. The only small window overlooked a very small roof With a humming extractor fan.

    The restaurant/bar staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    It was ideal for our pupose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't your best room we've had better and it was the most we've ever paid at 92 pound

    We were on our way to pick up our ship to go cruising use this hotel all the time so handy for the port. The beds are quite comfortable too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasurable stay in a beautiful part of country made even better by all the excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good but quality could be better.

    Staff were excellent. Very helpful and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Special mention to Samuel, Dave( had beard) and lady at breakfast- from N. I.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Stayed here a few times before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time we have stayed in the ground floor rooms. Door connecting room 15&16 is not sound proof to say the least! I really like hotel, but because it was school holidays we paid a lot more than our other stays and got a far less superior room which seems a shame.

    Stayed here a few times before. Always like the facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Not a Good Night Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. The security chain was broken on the door of number 12 so our toddler kept escaping out the door. The carpet needed a good hoover. Children were screaming outside pub directly outside our room until 10.30pm . The food wasnt great

    The staff especially the man that checked us in was a delight and very helpful. And let us use the fridge for our baby food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was understaffed, the first night we ordered dinner, after our starters we waited 30 mins for maincourse and when it arrived the veg was still cold so we sent it back and went elsewhere for dinner. Due to the lack of staff (3 that we could see) empty glasses built up both on the bar and tables which was very unsightly, queues at the bar were also a regular sight - all in all a poor experience.

    The location was excellent, a 5 minute walk into the town centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a revamp and look a bit dated.

    The staff were excellent! Everyone was so friendly and made us feel so welcome. They were also very thoughtful, as we were travelling with a 2 month old baby and they had put us in a large room at the quietest end of the pub and had made a travel cot up for us. The room was cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels each day. The bed was comfy. The location is fantastic, a 2 minute walk into Lyndhurst town centre. Also if you ask Dave (a member of the team) he will tell you excellent places to go and see the ponies. The food in the evening was excellent (the chorizo avocado and chicken burger was very good!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Ideal location for a short walk into the main shopping street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and very hot which made sleeping uncomfortable.... There was a small fan provided but did very little to cool the room down.... View from window was of a flat tarmac roof....

    Location was good... Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.... Lots of outdoor seating area where we could relax and enjoy a drink in the evening... Nice decor in the pub.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice 2 night stay, good sized room and friendly team in a great location for the New Forest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first night I was limited to food choice(it being after 8pm due to a long journey), so the salad I chose was a little 'limp' with not much salmon and the new potatoes side dish I ordered didn't turn up. However, being constructive I fed this back to the team and they were extremely apologetic and offered me a glass of wine, Irish coffee etc to compensate. The second night was better - more choice and I dined before 8 which I think helped. Not really a complaint as it was fixed immediately so would definitely go back - its the ones that you feedback to and do nothing that you don't go back to.

    On arrival I was greeted by a friendly team member called Becca. She was very helpful and enabled me to check in with ease as there were other customers around the reception - I was laden down with luggage and she had spotted this. A good sized room with twin beds, a little dated but in character with the hotel. My room was No7 which is on the main road and if you keep your windows open at night, be aware that the traffic starts going past around 6 am, what compensated for this was the lovely view of the green from the window. Clean and presentable throughout and has a restaurant on site which is reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    We wou;ld stay agin but would try to book ground floor rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation just a bit "scuffed" and no lift to rooms but staff helped us readily. We were near to main road which was noisy but would be fine in cooler weather with the double glazing

    Staff are just wonderful. Beds very good and big electric fan available for the very hot weather when we stayed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Big family rooms, perfectly located near Paultons Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, all windows were left open and a small fan provided, but it could really benefit from air conditioning ! (It was a very hot day and the hotel staff did all they could to help)

    Big family rooms, perfectly located near Paultons Park. Also has the bonus of the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    The evening meal was good enough but the full English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast was terrible

    The evening meal was good enough but the full English breakfast was terrible. Cold shriveled mushrooms, cold baked beans, watery scrambled egg, raw grilled tomato, horrible mass cooked and reheated bacon. Awful coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant ran out of food. Day staff most unhelpful in arranging baggage storage. Rooms rather grim and quite a climb to get to them

    Night staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    It could have been a lot better run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath ran out of fish on Monday night also ran out of milk so was unable to have tea in the morning on the Tues no food at all after 7 30 also toaster did not work in breakfast room on all 3 mornings.

    Although very under staffed staff who were there were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Would not recommend for a Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 6 people - 2 adults and 3 children. We arrived to a room that was not big enough and had to put my 2 year old in a pack and play. We were in what seemed the most far away room which was very difficult with both adults being heavily pregnant - asked why we were given such a small room and told it was booking.coms fault as booking only said 2 adults. Also only 2 towels so had to walk all the way back to the bar to ask for them. Tried calling from my phone but no answer! . Kitchen closed at 7.30 due to an issue. It was then a big rush to check in, get our bags to the room get back down and order. Sat outside to eat as Was nice weather and very rude family sat right next to us and started to smoke whilst we were eating - asked if there was a non smoking outside area to be told no. Room was so very hot and was very difficult to sleep asked for a fan but only plug socket on other side of room and didn’t really help. Came down to breakfast at 8.30 hardly anything left - toaster was so low it took 6 times to get my toast even a light colour! No pastries left and not replenished- the juice lids kept falling off, no bowls. Had to keep asking for stuff which was really frustrating - also all squished into a small table. Morning staff not nearly as helpful as the staff the evening before. Overall it was a bad experience and I would not stay again!

    Evening food was lovely and the breakfast was NOT value for money at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, great location. Hotel could do with an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a double room with a bath but room given was small dark and had a shower. Hotel needs a definite update to fixtures and fittings and breakfast quite meagre but cooked ok.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen had to shut early as so hot! Had to eat dinner elsewhere. Had a 'snack' the following day with v. small prawn cocktail and teapot with no lid as none could be found!

    Room, small double single occupancy. Perfect for one night. Bit noisy with kitchen fans a/c?? right outside but not a problem. Staff very friendly and helpful. Allowed me to leave my car there for the day after we had checked out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Lovely rooms, gardens and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening meal wasn't the best, unfortunately though the staff were fabulous. Breakfast was good but definitely needed more than one member of staff serving.

    Lovely rooms, gardens and location. Staff were brilliant. Would highly recommend to stay there. Perfect location to visit Paultons Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were lovely at first glance. The windows hidden behind the curtains were mouldy and mildew probably due to being old as the paint was falling off. The bathroom was dirty in places especially the shower.

    The hotel was in a fabulous location close to everything. The terrace was beautiful. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    horrid.....glad to leave early and get away, I Think some sort of refund should be offered.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was filthy ....no drawers ...no vanity mirror above dressing table.....carpet dirty...no headboard on bed...absolutely no view from filthy window...on arrival toilet bowl was dirty....walls were stained....rubbish in corners, shower head ill fitted...wall paper in passage hanging off....stair case dirty. certainly not value for money.....195 pounds for 2 nights...felt dirty for family wedding after travelling 300 plus miles

    not much at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Really lovely hotel, staff really attentive and helpful. Few niggles, but will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resturant food could have been better, modern coffee machine in the room would be nice.

    Bed was really comfy, shower was dated but really powerful. Staff really friendly and helpful. Decent size mugs in the room for that morning cuppa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    Quite expensive and below average quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not very clean - the radiator was caked in dust. Piles of laundry was left outside our room in the corridor. The bathroom didn’t look clean, there had clearly been a leak. Plastic cups wrapped in plastic, why is anyone still doing this. Breakfast finished too early 7-9am mon-fri. No WiFi. Breakfast wasn’t very nice, scrambled eggs were powdered. Our room had a strange smell we think coming from the toilets. We could hear someone in the room next door snoring, paper thin walls.

    Location was good for Lyndhurst - easy walking distance to pubs and some small shops. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Good friendly pub, great restaurant and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no real bar area to relax, although there were plenty of other pubs close by

    Our booking details were not available (this could have been caused by Booking.com); this did cause problems checking in and checking out but the hotel Kindly compensated us for the difficulties caused. The food was very good and the hotel was in a good location for exploring the New Forest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.0
    A warm welcome from super staff but the inadequacy of the adapted room made this hotel unsuitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am a Powerchair user and my adverse comments come entirely from the inadequacy of the adapted room. There were no sockets near the bed to enable me to charge my equipment. A small extension lead was produced but as the sockets were on the far side of the room, this meant trip hazards and obvious Health and Safety breaches. The room had obviously missed the recent renovation. The shower seat was peeling with patches of rust. The carpet was an old fashioned design that looked dated. The room was in the basement with short windows which were too high for me to see out of. Therefore the room looked dingy and uninviting. There were no lifts so I had to come out of my room proceed outdoors along the length of the grounds to re-enter the hotel for all meals. Not pleasant in inclement weather.

    Excellent staff delivered a warm welcome and provided excellent service. Pleasant grounds and the large terrace to enjoy the sun and take refreshment. Location on entering the village so avoiding the notorious all-day traffic queues. Parking right outside my room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think our bathroom could have been cleaner

    The location is perfect for exploring the new forest and you can walk into Lyndhurst for a change of venue

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaking shower head sprayed water over the ceiling and dripped onto the light over the basin and then onto the floor. No room available to move to so had to leave after 1 night, offered to fix shower but confidence in our safety was gone and doubt it could be sorted in time to stay another night.

    Returned the room cost with their apology.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in Room 5 which is in a wholly unacceptable state. Frosted, wired glass is like being in a prison. Very noisy with kitchens and no double glazing. Whole room was old and shabby with dirty carpets and dreadful bathroom. We left without staying the night because of this, making up an excuse so as not to offend the staff who are not to blame. Simply awful and not acceptable for a group like chef and brewer. It has ruined your reputation in our eyes. We will put this on trip adviser and social media

    The fish and chips

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Having the restaurant incorporated in the structure was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, I was expecting a slightly more refurbished/modern room, which instead was a bit basic. This aside,the room was clean and spacious

    Having the restaurant incorporated in the structure was great, especially after a long day walking and the staff were really friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is good, generally disappointed with hotel, expected better for the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected the room to be better for what we paid, bathroom looked like it needed a good clean. I'm glad we was only there one night Dinner in the restaurant wasnt very good , bland and not a lot of taste, breakfast was OK

    Great location, pub and drinks were good, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location, great staff, good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain on our shower was very slow, meaning we showered while standing ankle deep in water. While the bathroom was very spacious, the tub was very narrow. While showering you were always standing on the curve from the tub (no flat bottom at all).

    Ideal location, great staff, good value for the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Couple of nights in the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming, helpful staff both on reception and in the pub/restaurant. Very spacious room and all requests were accommodated. Perfect for walks into Lyndhurst and to visit Poultons close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    A Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good sized room, with plenty of space. The hotel was quiet and you could hear no road noise. The food was excellent and staff were extremely friendly and were happy to help from the moment I arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Mostly friendly staff, comfortable beds, average food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nosiy room as close to main road and could hear traffic easily through single glazed windows. Over priced for very average food. Breakfast was not great, my husband dodnt eat his cooked breakfast as it was cold. Mine was ok but i was very hungry.

    Location good and beds comfortable inc sofa bed. Good size room woth good soze bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    The location and the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the pub was awful. Really poor. The handle on the bathroom was broken and the remote for the TV didn't match the TV. Quite expensive for what we got.

    The location and the staff were excellent. The room was very big. Building itself was great. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff friendly and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quite hard. Also room quite gloomy felt like a basement . Had steps as soon as you opened door in to room bit dangerous with a 3 year old in the room. Also tv didn’t work. No where to put your stuff in the bathroom

    Shower good. Nice location near to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant, we are looking to visit again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Great sized family room. Staff were really friendly and welcoming, and very knowledgeable. The village was pretty and the forest was just on your doorstep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient and beautiful property. Great range of food available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely but unfortunately ours were slightly cold. Our room backed on to a roof which was very close to the main road which was quite noisey but I appreciate we had paid for a basic double so it was fine and it was extremely hot outside so we had our window open.

    Amazing property, beautiful building. Rooms were adequate with tea / coffee facilities & hairdryer. Lots of parking available. Staff were all chatty, helpful & friendly. Great parking and easy to find right on the outskirts of Lyndhurst an easy journey from the M27. Great location to use as a base to explore the new forest and all it has to offer or a pitt stop on the way down to Dorset from Essex which is what we used it for. Would recommend and would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff helpful and friendly, hotel functional and adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower head not fully attached although functional, tiles watermarked, cleaning not sparkling. Air conditioning unit outside window, constant hum. Food available in restaurant standard stodgy pub grub, real fresh food for breakfast would have made me want to eat there - what is advertised pretends to be fresh and healthy but it isn't

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was well situated for a walk to shops and restaurants. We had an enjoyable stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole of the upstairs needs refurbishing.

    The welcome and friendliness of the staff especially Sam and Dave. The breakfast was good - always piping hot and served quickly. Restaurant meals were also good with a good selection .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely venue, the smell of drugs let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of drugs was present within the hotel, i mentioned it to the staff, however there was no follow up. The breakfast was not very good, still frozen hash browns and limited choice.

    Staff were very friendly, parking was easy, good walking distance to the village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Old, musty and full of dust
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was not adequate for a family of 4, the oldest sofa bed I’ve ever slept on, under bed and other very old furniture clearly hadn’t been moved for months the dust was a good 1/2 inch thick and the bathroom was old, musty and just not nice

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Value for money hotel with old worlde charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needed a clean around the taps and bath overflow, which was loose. Lack of easily reachable soap in the bath,if you were bathing and not showering. Room 11

    Nice size rooms. Beds were comfy. Staff very helpful. Close to Poultons Park which was our main reason for visiting the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: