Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Millstone At Mellor- a Thwaites Inn of Character 5 stars

Church Lane, Mellor, Blackburn, BB2 7JR, United Kingdom

#5 of 9 hotels in Blackburn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay - clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom looked tired and dull and need some updating / repair

    Linen, bed and bathroom clean and tidy. Downstairs areas a lot better than my room. Ain't had a great meal and good beer, just need to improve the bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't go again but the breakfast food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature outside was 27 degrees. There was no way of turning off the heated towel rail in the en suite which was intensely hot and made the temperature inside the room less bearable. There was very little spare room and yet four cushions from the bed 'display' to find space for so that we could use the bed. The staff at breakfast were terse and indifferent. There wasn't a please, or a thankyou, or a smile from any one of them.

    The rooms was very clean and stylish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    when we need to be in Blackburn area again, we will stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing, we did not expect a meal of this quality in this part of the country, but were very pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable room, although right beside road it was quiet. Staff very helpful, happy to sort out any problems. Even a small area with comfortable seating where we could sit and chat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay with very friendly staff and clean sheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a message up asking us to speak with reception if we needed milk. Didn't see it, could be clearer or even have the small milks that don't need a fridge.

    Room small but comfortable, extremely clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nothing like advertised on the website. We paid extra for the upgraded 'executive' room which looks nothing like the pictures. The decor was dated, the room was a lot smaller than expected, there was black mildew around the bath, the bins had not been emptied in the room, our room overlooked the car park which was noisy. The car park itself was not great, very small spaces and not enough of them. We had high hopes for the breakfast, the continental selection was okay and not a large hot food selection. The full English was rather small, we were brought a pot of tea but no cups, the milk was half empty and not replaced from the last couple that had sat there before us and their dirty tea spoons were left for us to use. We were not asked whether we would like any toast and expected it to be brought out with the food, it wasn't and we realised as we left that everyone else had been asked whether they wanted white or brown toast as they sat down. The breakfast was definitely not worth the £14.95 that it would normally cost but was okay for a free breakfast included in the room rate.

    The pub/restaurant and the surrounding area are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Fine but not good. Restaurant service a real let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea how they achieved a five star rating. Nice decoration but only slightly better than average and service, in particular in the restaurant, was pretty poor

    Nicely decorated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The property was in a nice village location and from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good

    The property was in a nice village location and from the minute you walked through the door you felt at home and looked after. Good breakfast choices and well cooked. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to write

    The room was really good value for money, the breakfast was excellent, the staff are really friendly and accommodating. We would DEFINATELY stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean and staff customer service was excellent -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church Bells chiming every 15 mins from very early Sunday morning wasn’t great for an attempted lie in!

    Nice and clean and staff customer service was excellent - all very attentive and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.0
    Nice building & location, but book your dinner time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy for dinner at weekends, didn’t realise as staying guests that we really needed to book a table in advance. Attracts the posh crowd, not always a good thing if you just want a relaxing stay.

    Nice old country pub in a atmospheric location. Excellent food, modern rooms. A bit formulaic at times, but pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Not quite living up to the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in location at the bar, in the way of the toilets was poor. Parking isn’t great. Very expensive drinks for a bar surrounded by working men on the way home.

    Great coffee and herbal tea with a nice breakfast. However, one rasher of bacon in the full breakfast was stingy and left me wishing I’d had the Eggs Benedict.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 30 is just at the top of the stairs from the bar so a little noisy. The toilet seat had a weird pink stain to it- didn’t really make any difference but when they’re easily replaced it’s a shame it hadn’t been.

    Nice comfy bed, fair size room, great breakfast served on a ridiculously large plate! Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.5
    Really comfy bed.
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fire alarm overnight. This made us get up and leave our room at 0455. Allowed to return about 45 mins later. No problem found. Would have been nice to recieve an apology or even an acknowledgement from the memeber of staff taking full payment as we left (no apology overnight either).

    Really comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    The location was ideal for a wedding in Stanley House Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was an issue for some who ordered the eggs bendict

    The location was ideal for a wedding in Stanley House Hotel and the surrounding area was lovely for stroll

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel but please do something about the floorboards in room 44.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room above our's had extremely creaky floorboards and the occupants arrived in the room at 1.45am and were moving around until 3.30am, we eventually got back to sleep at around 4am - not good!

    Extreme courtesy and friendliness of the staff and the excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Staff were really friendly, helpful and accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly, helpful and accommodating towards individual needs. Food was great and breakfast was the nicest we’ve eaten. Overall we wouldn’t hesitate in recommending The Millstone to family or friends and will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    The perfect place to get away to on a cold, wet winters day, a warm welcome and roaring fire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet seat in the ensuite was of flimsy cheap plastic.

    This Inn of character is off the beaten track and worth a visit, even if it is only for supper. The food was excellent and staff serving on a busy Saturday evening efficient and jovial.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely coaching house style hotel. Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bath towel provided in room for both us.

    Breakfast was very tasty and I did not feel rushed eating toward the end of the breakfast serving time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Clean, cosy, good food and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    From the moment we arrived the staff we very helpful, food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms was lovely, modern and clean. Breakfast was good and you were not rushed. 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice....
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a twin room and one of the mattresses was lower than the other and probably needs replacing...wake up call was late but these are very small issues.

    Excellent food, service, atmosphere was wonderful. Room was very clean, quaint and upgraded. I can not say enough about the staff. Friendly and outgoing. Would differently stay there again and highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    overall very enjoyable and we have eaten and stayed there before with family. My parents came
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were not placed on our chosen table for dinner on Monday. The waitress brought the wrong wine and we did not have time to inspect it before it was poured out. A lesson for her needed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Room very comfortable and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really say anything only wish there was plug sockets at the side of the bed

    Room very comfortable and clean .. everything you needed was supplied

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, would recommend and would stay again :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room did smell quite musty (old person's house sort of smell), and the walls were quite thin so you can hear people in neighbouring rooms sometimes but this is not a huge problem. Maybe airing the rooms out would help :) When I first arrived and tried to check into the hotel it was not clear who to speak to/where to go so I was hanging around unsure what to do, which could be improved upon.

    V comfy bed, cosy room. Bar and restaurant area were lovely and decorated in a modern country style. Food was FANTASTIC, could not fault. Some of the best I've ever had. Breakfast also great, good selection of cereal, fresh pastries, fruit, juices plus cooked breakfasts to order. Wifi fast enough to stream video.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff are excellent, very switched on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are excellent, very switched on. Food in pub is superb, both dinner and breakfast..... cooked to order, great choices, hot and quality ingredients. Cracking gin menu! Decor in pub is good. Rooms are a little dated but place is about to go into a 3 week refurb. Had to rate as is so 8/10 feels fair for now, but if rooms are done to same standard at end of refurb as everything else, this place will be 10/10.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but it needs to have improve is vegetarian optione
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menus dis not include any vegeatarian option. Given the image the hotel is trying to project this is a serious omission. Most good quality hotels now incude vegetarian breakfast options

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    A great atmosphere within the inn , got speaking to a couple of friendly locals .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if im being picky the bedrooms could do with a paint , marks on walls etc . doors have marks also and bedroom could do with a dusting on trims as they are full of dust .The bathroom blind was full of dust . But overall a pleasant stay

    The food and hospitality . The staff were very pleasant and loved the log fire a truly homely place x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Good Inn - with excellent food and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Greater attention to the detail of customer service. Perhaps staff were doing too many roles (reception, bar, waiter).

    Very good room for an Inn-style hotel. Very good meal in the evening. Friendly and helpful staff Our room was nice an quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing made us happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fault but stairs are no good for us so next time will request downstairs bedroom and there will be a next time.

    The staff so friendly food great evening and morning ..needed another hand towel though in bedroom and maybe another bath towel. Otherwise great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    warm, hospitalable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Contempory hotel, nice bar and restaurant. Lovely fires. Staff are polite and attentive. The only down fall is noise ;levels between rooms which led to disturbed sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    New Year's Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the Christmas decorations were very sparse when we went for New Year's Eve. Also, although our room was clean there were just little things which could have done with more attention such as skirting boards full of dust and bathroom tap needed replacing.

    It feels very cosy and comfortable. Love the log fire and the atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    We thoroughly enjoyed our night, the food and entertainment was excellent (NYE). Room average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was ready for an upgrade, grout and silicone around the bath / shower was black and there were some damp spores on the shower curtain.

    Breakfast and our evening meal were excellent. Bedroom was average, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Loverly and friendly place to stay, I would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom walls are very thin and you can hear the conversations from the surrounding rooms,but that could be that it is a oldish building

    Staff very helpful, polite and cheerful, great shower 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Lovely comfortable room with good shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a certain price, I like the addition of a small hand-held shower attachment when there is a fixed head. However, that is a small point as the shower was good and powerful.

    Lovely comfortable room with good shower. Food and drinks very good. Service was very good, especially so when considering the time of year and a couple of Xmas parties in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Beer was not well presented and I rejected one pint.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beer was not well presented and I rejected one pint. The manager told me that he personally looked after the beers and that the two I tried were the end of barrels - very disporting. He promised me next time they would be excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Millstone at Mellor, great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay, comfortable, generously sized room, outstanding breakfast and charming village location. Cosy pub with good ale. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The superior double room on the top floor (sleeping one person) (41 I think) wasn't as nice and quite small also the window was odd! I need of a bit of a makeover compared to our other room. There was only a £6 discount for a single person, when the breakfast is £15 that doesn't make much sense?

    Overall a fantastic stay and would come again, great location for what we needed lovely food, wonderful friendly staff and very clean. Our twin room (23) was excellent! couldn't have asked for more :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic - will def stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism - a lady hoovering the dining room on the Saturday morning whilst we were having breakfast.

    Very quiet through the night, lovely comfy bed. Fresh milk in the room for the morning cuppa! Lovely!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A wee gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The inn is a traditional building in a pretty village location. It has been modernised with great character, to create a series of informal and inter-linked bars and dining rooms, with restful colour schemes and delightful wall treatments. Add to this, the friendly and helpful staff and you have a gem of a place, warm and truly welcoming. Our bedroom was in the annexe, which has been created by converting a house adjoining the inn, and decorated to the same design standard as the main building. The beds were very comfortable, and the food was excellent, indeed we were so pleased with the whole experience that we changed our travel plans and stayed for an extra night!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    A place we will come back to.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast on the second morning could have been a little better. Had to remind them about toast and had finished breakfast by the time the brown sauce came.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. We have stayed before and will probably stay here again when visiting family. Able to get sandwiches after returning from a funeral even though after time for serving food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Cosy, comfortable, friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great although I would have liked a hand getting to my room.

    The room was small, cosy, attractive, comfortable. A jug of fresh milk was offered for the tea or coffee in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    The pub restaurant was lovely and our meal was delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in the industry myself i'm quite critical but my comments are meant as constructive criticism. Although the downstairs (pub / restaurant) was very nicely decorated the mood was all wrong. The music level was too low and almost inaudible and because the lighting wasn't dimmed inline with the time of day i felt like you were being interrogated which felt uncomfortable given such pleasant surroundings. When we saw the bedroom we were very disappointed. I booked an executive room at an extra charge and it was was anything but. I appreciate that its not always possible to list photos of all the rooms but this room looked nothing like the advertised executive rooms! The decor was mediocre and whilst it looked clean, there were lots of areas that had been neglected, especially in the bathroom. There were 2-3 light bulbs not working in key places which was quite annoying, especially for my wife when getting ready in the morning. The extractor fan in the bathroom didnt work which meant when we showered in the morning the whole room steamed up even though we had all available windows open. To say we booked this accommodation based on previous reviews we were very disappointed. Lovely place for a meal and a drink but check your room if you decide to stay!

    The pub restaurant was lovely and our meal was delicious. The staff were very pleasant and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    In spite of several significant and repeated hiccups, we would not hesitate to make a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Multiple confusions and errors in booking and billing - but these were always graciously corrected once pointed out. Restaurant billing was incorrect on more than one occasion, but again put right without any unpleasantness. Slow service in restaurant during busy times - breakfast and dinner. Several members of our group did not get breakfast items that had been ordered. Fried eggs were rather too greasy - pools of oil on the egg whites.

    Good location. Welcoming, cosy ambience in bar and restaurant. Noises from vibrant bar did not penetrate to rooms. Good lighting in room. Comfortable temperature. Fresh milk for tea and coffee in room. Good menu - varied and seasonal. Dinners were very well cooked and presented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Get us a big bed and it would be a 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor complaint would be the shower curtain is too tight on space such that it tended to cling to a wet body in the shower. Curved shower curtain poles take no more space but afford more room to the shower user. Finally, I couldn't get a decent night's sleep in the bed, it was just too small!

    Good first impressions, efficient and friendly check in. Room, though small, was well appointed and clean, bathroom largely likewise. Bar busy, good atmosphere with a good selection. Thoroughly enjoyed 2 evening meals in the restaurant and cooked to order breakfast is far superior to the breakfast buffets now standard in many "better" hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The hotel was very nice and we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was a perfect setting for a short October get-away; the surrounding village is absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfy room, excellent food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor point but I was served a glass of red port in a brandy glass with ice! Quickly corrected by the staff - and gave me a smile.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Bed was comfy and the room had ironing board, trouser press, a proper bath and bath robe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Pleasant and stress free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In this location, the church bells must be an issue for people trying to get a good nights sleep, as they chime on the quarter hour and seem to run through from 6.30am to 11.30 pm most days.

    Staff were very welcoming and efficient, from booking in to serving breakfast. Room was clean , with a comfy bed, and plenty of hot water in the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    I don't agree with booking evaluation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't agree with booking evaluation. Too me this is at minimum 8,5 rate hotel. Nice place to stay, super restaurant. good staff. Price/quality ratio 10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a very pleasant and professionally run establishment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated with great extra touches like a fluffy robe, DAB radio, fresh milk available for tea and stylish toiletries. The restaurant had great ambience and the food was very well prepared and presented by courteous staff. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable but the room a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and in particular the bathroom was a little disappointing in view of paying extra for an executive room.

    Excellent food and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Warm, cosy, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around 8am my husband was still sleeping and I was enjoying a morning coffee in the room when music was put on in the bar just below our room. It was a little too loud for that time in the morning. It was eventually turned down.

    For me it's the small details. The fresh smell of the room. The comfy pillows. The selection of nice teas and coffee in the room. The breakfast selection and the quality of the food. The room and hotel had a warm cosy feel. We could only stay one night but I would love to go back and explore the area as the surrounding views were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous Food and Accomodation- Must Book!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you stay here you MUST book a table for food. All homemade and absolutely delicious. Room was large and comfortable, slightly warm and little breeze from the window as in a covered spot. Staff were all friendly and amenable. We made a couple of requests during our stay and both were accommodated very quickly. If you are in the area do not hesitate to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    A comfortable small hotel with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A comfortable small hotel with friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent. Mellor is a beautiful village, only a few miles from the centre of Blackburn and with easy access to the M61, M65 and M6.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant and food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very young and not very well trained did not respond to requests very quickly and slow at taking menu choices .Breakfast toast and coffee arrived 15 mins before cooked breakfast

    Beds comfy room stylishly furnished,food good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    ~The food was excellent, staff friendly and we loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred to stay in the main part of the Inn as we had a room in the annex across the car park

    ~The food was excellent, staff friendly and we loved the field sport themed decoration in the pub it had a real warm and cosy feel, great as a winter venue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    A good base for us to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The under sheets did not tuck in. The shower was pathetic due to low water pressure. Several small items in the bathroom needed fixing. Service in the dining room varied from very slow to adequate. Having refurbished the front-of-house Twaites now need to up-date the bedrooms to convince their public that The Millstone is a good hotel and restaurant rather than a restaurant that has rooms.

    Comfortable beds which hadn't been separated into the twin beds that had been booked. Meals were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been going to the milestone for 35 years it has recently been refurbished although we prefer the way the reception was on right when you first entered. It has been altered to make room for more covers. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The restaurant service was good but the we found that the personal touch has been lost. It was also the little things that we found had changed like the tables missing cutlery and we had to ask for them. All in all we were a little disappointed but then times change and I suppose to keep going in this day and age something has to give.

    The location and have a meal on site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately room just in the corridor from the fire door and it was very noisy in the early morning as the door kept getting slammed shut by people leaving/going to breakfast.

    Food was very good. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - County
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldnt find a parking space when we arrived and had to park on the road away from the Inn. I know its because they have a busy restaurant and it was a Friday evening, but maybe have reserved spaces for residents. As we were attending a wedding the following day we had a fair amount of luggage to transfer from our car. Also it would have been good to know that there was not a lift in the annexe we stayed in. No problem for us climbing stairs but may not be good for people with less mobility.

    Breakfast was lovely. A good selection of cereals, fruit etc as well as cooked food. The food at dinner was also excellent. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints but I'm not lean on feather pillows I like a firm pillow but still slept well

    The breakfast was amazing ***** Would highly recomeythis place lovely stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Wedding weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great country location yet convenient for motorways. It hasn't lost any of its character. Rooms were good sized nice clean bathroom. Easy parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Restaurant food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bell rings every 15 minutes through the night. My room in August was warm so had to have window open. So interrupted sleep. Not the hotel's fault

    Restaurant food was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    disapointing. Has the wrong star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy night sleep. Main bar area decor lovely. However when you go into the room area, all the carpets need a very good clean. And our bedroom which was supposed to be a duluex need a good bleach around tiles and decorating skills where poor. I am struggling to see why this is a 5star. I was expecting a lot more for my money. Disappointing. Fantastic 3star.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff a credit to the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so dated and the worst bed I have slept on.It was such a let down after seeing the bar and restaurant decor

    Staff were excellent and do was the decor in the public areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Overnight stay for a local wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church nearby rang the bells every 15 minutes from about 6:30am. These were quite loud in the room we stayed in.

    Lovely room, excellent breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check in early as we were going to a wedding, which meant we didn't have to worry about getting to the hotel to check in/drop bags off between the ceremony and meal. We would go back if ever in the area again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    A little gem of a small, but very popular Inn- Hope too many people don't block our next stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to moan about, staff very helpful and attentive Would go out of our way to stay again if we could.

    Help with cases from car to door was appreciated, best stay we have had for a long while! Would certainly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Millstone at Mellor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable inn in a village location. .very quaint. Lovely setting, the food was excellent, the room was comfortable with tasteful decor and the staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Room unsuitable for more than one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As stated above.

    The rate above is in regards to our bedroom (Room 32). Room very small for a double and requires redecorating. Bathroom small and needs redecorating and updating. Shower over deep bath unsuitable for elderly person who requires a stick to get around. Room had not been checked properly before re-letting as underwear had been left in drawer by previous occupant. Only one bathrobe. Built-in wardrobe housed large chest of drawers, trouser press and ironing board. Not much room for clothes. We did not complain as we were only staying one night and did not want to spoil our stay. I would say the room was adequate for just one night and for the price paid. Had we booked for a longer stay we would have requested a better room. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly and hospitable. The Millstone has a lovely ambiance and the public rooms are nicely decorated with comfortable furniture. Had it not been for our room it would have been a perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location and dining experience Pity they forgot that the room needed to be serviced !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our stay was for 2 nights -Unfortunately our room was not serviced on both days !! the bathroom was not cleaned and the bed was not made disappointing when you arrive back after a day out !! The bedroom only had a small window so the room was stuffy We were offered a small discount as compensation but after visiting two other hotels on the same holiday it was just such a disappointment

    Staff very friendly Meals very good dining room staff excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Inn ,good rooms and superb restaurant.
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the Hotel, restaurant and location exceeded our expectations based on the photos on the website. Rooms were well appointed, there was a homely residents lounge (not often found in hotels these days) all the staff were friendly and professional . The restaurant had an excellent menu, amazing food all at reasonable prices. There are country walks with great views to walk off your meals!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Blackburn trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not as close to Blackburn as we thought, and the home-made burger was very disappointing as the meat was pink (though to be fair, I was asked if everything was alright!).

    Room was very clean and comfortable, and a bath is always a plus! As the weather was extremely hot, the very efficient fan in the room was also greatly appreciated. It was not as close to Blackburn as we thought, so the restaurant was a lovely addition to the accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    I stay here very regular for my companies UK site.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay here very regular for my companies UK site. The standard is extremly high, rooms are lovely and clean, food is excellent, the staff are absolutley lovely. If you stay here you wont be dissapointed. Ps..the village Mellor is a really nice peaceful spot, very relaxing and quaint.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    We would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice and standard of breakfast was lovely. The only point to make was that the staff did not clear away dirty dishes before bringing hot breakfast to the table and so had to juggle dirty and clean plates! No toast was offered to us either - although we were too full to eat it anyway!

    Lovely bedroom. Very friendly and attentive staff in the evening when we had our evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    the staff was very helpfull and pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would stay their again but in a different room don't think the room was worthy of £190 for 2 nights it was very small and dated. needs updating.

    breakfast was very good. bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    Good points and bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- County
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was dirty in places and obviously hadnt been cleaned that day. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and down on one side so nearly rolling out of bed. Being promoted as an executive room! I think not,not worth the money

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The evening meal was very nice and the restaurant was nice. The general appearance of the building from outside looked lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: