Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Montana 4 stars

21 Belgrave Road, Torquay, TQ2 5HU, United Kingdom

#49 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    very pleasurable experience owners very friendly and helpful clean and comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    for the price and service we received there was nothing to dislike very pleasant stay with friendly atmosphere.

    Very clean and modern. Host's very friendly and helpful excellent breakfast freshly cooked to your liking room cleaned and tidied every day.Located just a short walk to the beach and also close to shops and other local attractions, would highly recommend staying there as we plan to re-visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Lovely guest house, very comfortable, nicely decorated and very hospitable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have some food allergies and they made sure I had everything I needed. There was gluten free cereal, bread, sausages and almond milk. I felt well looked after.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money and great location to visit Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a very comfy bed, quiet neighbors, great breakfast. William texted us to find out when we will be checking in and he gave us some tips regarding parking and restaurants in the area. Overall a great experience. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Guest House close to the beach and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully decorated - the dining room and hall way are equivalent to many 4* hotels I've stayed in. Great quality bedding/fluffy bath (towels/sheets)/handmade locally sourced body wash - can't fault anything. There is a hairdryer in the room/tea/coffee making facilities. Great menu choice for breakfast. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    William and Hannah were excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    William and Hannah were excellent hosts. Breakfast was beautiful and the location was great, close to the beach and town centre. Really glad we stayed there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    It’s very clean, modern decorated and a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very clean, modern decorated and a short walk to the town. There is a bar accessible 24/7. The hosts are very easy going, friendly and easily contactable even when they are not in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    the best in torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing not to like ,perfect

    perfect hosts ,hannah and will were very helpful the location was perfect ,will cooks a good breakfast, all in all a perfect stay and would certainly stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    A great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    From the moment you arrived, you were made to feel welcome. Very modern and clean friendly hotel. Well worth the money. I wish them all the best for the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Character guest house, friendly helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is just on the street but host did make sure there was a place for us to park. Room was hot (no cooling). Had to get luggage up 2 flights of stairs but male host kindly lugged it up for us.

    Character old guest house. Basic facilities in room but clean and comfortable. Lovely couple running the accommodation, very friendly and helpful. Excellent cooked breakfast included. Only 10 min walk to beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Host where friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host where friendly and helpful. Hotel was spotlessly clean and modern. Rooms where a good size with all resources you would need including tea and coffee. Breakfast was plentiful with a good variety to choose from. Located perfectly, close to town and the beach with a bus stop right outside. Would recommend hotel and will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful,welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful,interior was modern,bright and very clean.The owner Hannah was very welcoming and helpful.The food was excellent well worth what we paid.We will be back xx

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Truly wonderful stay in excellent accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing not too like!

    Hannah & William were excellent hosts, accomodation was roomy and very clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked to your requirements with plenty of choice, also wide range of fresh fruit , yoghurt and cereals. Location close to public transport and sea front

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    A good one night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was rather basic. Outside terrace had dirty ashtray in am still there in evening

    Very friendly welc9me with good lical info. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely people, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hannah was a wonderful host. Extremely friendly and so helpful when giving us ideas of what to do and where to go. Her recommendations of places to eat were spot on! The room was lovely- we slept so well. Fan included because the weather has been so hot. Breakfast was delicious- the best sausages! We were told that everything was sourced locally- including the drinks in the honesty bar. Great easy walk to the beach and nicer end of the harbour. We were able to leave our cases there after check out as or train wasn’t until the afternoon- meaning we could still make the most of our day. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great last minute couple of days away in lovely Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we would have preferred if we had stayed longer was a bigger bathroom. Saying that we were happy with what we had at such short notice. We had a shower and wc, the hand basin was in the room. Totally fine but if we had stayed a week we would chose another room. Not a fault of our hosts at all. Everything else was perfect.

    Location was great,check in times were great for us. We liked not having to break up our day to check in. We only stayed one night so wanted to make the most of our day of arrival. Found on street parking easy. Ideal for an evening stroll and close to lots of nice “eating out” places. Lovely young couple and little Charlie ( he was so well behaved and lovely to see him having his breakfast) really doing a good job of getting their business going. They are still planning renovations but we had a nice ground floor room and even though it was a last minute booking it was fresh and clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the full English was top marks. They even had an honesty bar which we used as we had great weather and liked the idea of a cold drink available. My husband had a couple of beers ( he chose from several available) l thought it was a good idea having drinks there if you wanted them. We had a great weekend and visited many old haunts that have happy memories for us. We will be back for sure. We love The Torbay area 🌴❤️🌴 Well done Montana, thank you Hannah, William and Charlie x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for beach etc, lovely rooms and fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is the guesthouse is on a very busy road, so can be a bit noisy at night.

    Rooms very clean and comfortable, including a fan which was much appreciated on one of the hottest days of the year. Breakfast excellent. The owners were lovely, obviously keen to make your stay as good as possible and very helpful. Location very close to beach, restaurants etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastically clean! Lovely people, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hot in the room, but a fan was provided. Young ladies decided to break into song at about 3am but obvs. this was outside of the hoteliers control.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Splendid guest house run by a young couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners fantastic Hanna very helpful , decor lovely & modern for a Victorian property bright & clean . The bed very comfortable . A very nice touch as it was our 1st Wedding Anniversary Hanna gave us a card & a bottle of prosecco on the day at breakfast made our day .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    excellent, lovely, wonderfull
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cooked breakfast started at 8:30, as we were working and had to leave before this we missed out on this.

    Beautiful rooms, opulent with period features and high ceilings. would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Lovely renovated hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely renovated hotel in great location. The hosts were lovely. Very flexible and helpful. Amazing breakfast in a lovely dining area included in the price. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    good clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is 7 pound at a nearby hotel

    Nice family run b and b the place has been done up nicely the breakfast was good and the trust bar was a good idea we would love to stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Hannah was lovely. They just need to work on the breakfast choice and ingredients eg better sausages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast choice was limited . We both had full English and the quality of the food was very average

    The décor of the property, the light and very pleasant dining area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great few days in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hannah was one of the friendliest hosts I've ever met, it was such a wonderful experience staying at her guesthouse. The room was tastefully designed and immaculately clean. They use locally sourced products for breakfast and the toiletries in the bathroom are made in Devon too. The Montana is in such a convenient location, close to the sea and the centre, the train station is just a short walk away. Great value for money. Will definitely be returning when back in that area. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Nothing short of excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I found everything about the Montana excellent. The only issue, which is common about all Hotels/Guest Houses in Torquay is the lack of sufficient car parking, but this is not the fault of the hotel. I ended up in the Riviera Hotel car park which is reasonable £7.00 for 24 hours, which is only 5 minutes walk from the Montana. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Hannah and will fantastic welcoming Hosts s .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hannah and will fantastic welcoming Hosts s .beautiful very classy Bed n Breakfast...Facility excellent perfect breakfast....cooked by Hannah ..Proporty was spotless every were..Hanahha had a grear eye to the detail...we will defiantly back...lovley to meet them beautiful family..and there adorable little boy Charlie ....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to stay next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a problem but once we got parked we didn't use the car much.

    The property was very clean and kept to a high standard, with a friendly family atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    A young couple who have recently purchased this establishment. We wish them well for the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No lounge / area to sit in (during poor weather). Parking is not available on road outside Montana and where parking is available it is "hit & miss"

    Immaculate . Bedding / towels . Clean room/ areas, very good Decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom could have been a bit brighter.

    Hannah and Will were excellent hosts and we were always greeted with a happy smile. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    great go stay there you will be happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This place was really worth staying at, It was spotlessly clean great breakfast with lots of choices. Hannah and Will, really nice couple highly recommend you staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hannah the owner was one of the nicest people Ive ever met, her guest house was immaculate. We wish both her and Matt every success. Will visit again soon. Oh and Matt cooks a great omelette.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Happy to bring breakfast time a little bit earlier to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little bit soft - perhaps time to be renewed but we slept ok - have had worse.

    Happy to bring breakfast time a little bit earlier to accommodate conference start at 9 am

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Conference weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access keypad very hidden and difficult to locate. Bathroom shower soap empty.

    Well decorated and comfortable room and dining area. Very pleasant host and service. Great location for conference crntre. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous weekend .can't wait to go back to Montana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was exceptional ☺mu

    Very high standard ie deco. Very welcoming. Lovely family run b&b. Freshly cooked breakfast .would recommend highly ...definatly going back ☺

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Thank you Hannah for making our stay so pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thank you Hannah for making our stay so pleasant. You have a wonderful Bed & Breakfast - I loved the decor. We could walk to Beach front and had a choice of places to eat in area. Breakfast selection was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Made special by Both Hannah and William. Would not hesitate to stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather.....but that can’t be helped!

    Hannah and William are brilliant. We saw more of Hannah during the morning time but both were really friendly and Helpful. The welcoming was brilliant and made our stay in Torquay amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing not to like about this b/b

    From the friendly check in to the calming clean enviroment this b/b was great the room was fresh clean good size bathroom . The b/b was very well presented . Breakfast was very good and value for money . Everything was within walking distance shops takeaways harbour etc would not hesitate to recommend this b/b to anyone we cant wait for our next visit we would like to wish hannah, will and charlie a lovely christmas and a very full booked new year x

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Hannah was amazing and super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hannah was amazing and super helpful. We arrived outside of check in times and she made sure the heating was on in our room before we arrived so it was nice and cosy when we arrived.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Will be back very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tight however we knew this beforehand but location was great

    Warm and friendly. Beautiful comfy bed. Fantastic hosts. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably just the parking issue having to find a space in the streets around the hotel.

    Friendly host lovely clean room and communal areas. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Exceeded expectations Mandy and dean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything thing was great

    The property was clean warm and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and well presented. I would give this bed a breakfast 10 out of 10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    lovely people but no parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at the property had to park on the road if you could find a space if not you would have to park far away. The towels for the shower were really small like little bit bigger than a hair towel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly and welcoming. It was in a great location, right by the beach and shops. Lovely rooms and food was delicious. Would stay again if we were going to torquay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Felt very refreshed after stay and put that down to good nites sleep and lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been up dated however very clean. Parking could be a problem but imagine that's the case for most hotels due to lack of space in area.

    Lovely entrance hall and the lady of the establishment was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.5
    The Montana was very clean and the hosts were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we would of preferred was to of been in an upstairs room. We had a room on the ground floor, but we didn't request a certain room and we did book it in short notice.

    The Montana was very clean and the hosts were friendly and helpful. Very close to sea front, pubs, restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend this place to family and friends. We would also stay again. Also very nice breakfast 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of downside issues. Parking was one. Had to park my car two streets away for three nights. The traffic noise, early morning if you had a front facing room.

    The property is lovely and clean. Apparently this is a new venture for the owners and they're doing a great job at it. Its newly refurbished to a very good standard. The breakfast was great and was more than plenty. Its located about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the shops and bars. Our room was a bit on the small side, considering we were staying there for 4 nights. But not a big problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    We loved and would definitely recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front and the traffic is quite loud in the morning. The windows are original and lovely but not soundproof.

    Hannah and Will were very good hosts. Breakfast was excellent, we didn't need to eat again until the evening. The hotel has been decorated to a great standard. Loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    It's decent enough and plenty comfortable, but I don't feel it was worth the money I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't very keen on coming back each day to find that not only was the bed made and clean cups given etc (which you expect) but that also my things had been moved about to where they obviously thought they'd be better placed!!!!! My cotton scarf had been hung over a toothed hanger, this pulled several threads from it when I took it off the hanger, my bags and shoes had been "put away" in the wardrobe, my hairdryer tightly wound up and my things moved about, I didn't like that!!! If I'd wanted those things put in these places, I'd of done just that!!! It's nice to have the room serviced etc, but moving people's belongings about is a little to invasive for me.Also, the no smoking essay on the window felt like a lecture for something I had no intention of doing anyway!!! It was ranting on about how "they knew all the tricks" of smokers, and they'd know if you tried to sneak one out the window, they'll smell it because they don't smoke and you'll be asked to leave and blah blah blah!!!! I'm a non smoker, and I found the notice over the top!!!! There was a strange smell of urine in the room most nights!!! We were unsure what on earth that could of been coming from and I wasn't keen on the camera in the breakfast room!!! This also felt a tad invasive!! And the shower taking up to 10 minutes to warm up was pretty frustrating. Overall, it's a decent enough place, Hannah is very pleasant and friendly but I feel they need to chill out a little, it all came across as a little overbearing and control freaky.

    The owners were friendly and helpful enough,breakfast was good,cleanliness acceptable,decor really nice and up to date and the bed was lovely and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a great stay at the Montana and would definitely stay again as it was great value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we were in was very small and the ensuite was tiny with not much gap between the shower and toilet which was a problem as my hubby is a big man .we would definitely opt for a bigger room next time , but in all fairness we did book the last room available at the time . The bed was quite low even though the mattress was comfy . Breakfast could have been until 10.30 at least but finished at 9.30 .

    The hotel was lovely and clean and the breakfast was 10/10. The owners were really friendly and on the ball with excellent service .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel , would fully recommend & wouldn't hesitate to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight downside is traffic noise if you have a room at the front, however the hotel provides earplugs which is a very thoughtful touch. I wore them on the 2nd night and they made a Big difference

    Lovely hotel, bright & airy & well decorated. Convenient location . Hannah was very welcoming & friendly. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Probably the best hotel in Torquay. Value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site parking but the I was able to park on the street around the corner which was safe and free.

    The hotel is in a excellent location. The hotel is exceptionally clean, warm and inviting. The room was well equipped. The food was exceptional. Hannah made you feel as if you had known her for years and nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very clean and well maintained hotel,excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and well maintained hotel,excellent location within a 5 min walk of centre/sea front.very comfortable bedroom with tv,tea and coffee facilities.fantastic breakfast of cereals and cooked with vegetarian option.would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Torquay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    This hotel gives you more than you expect for the price you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Very helpful pleasant owner. Breakfast far exceeded expectations for the price we paid. Coffee was very good - help yourself as much as you like. Very convenient for Torquay theatre. Will certainly rebook next time we visit Torquay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected but had everything you needed. The shower wasn't very powerful but minor things.

    Great location. Excellent value for money. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    short weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, very well looked after, new, comfortable and bright. Thank you Hannah for making our stay relaxing and memorable. Hope we can come back soon. Regards and good luck to you and your family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Most enojoyable and brilliant hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at The Montana very much and would definatley stay again. The breakfast was brilliant and set us up for the day. The room was very comfortable and had a great night sleep at the end of the day. Hannah, William and Charlie were brilliant hosts and could not do enough for us. I would recommend The Montana to everyone. We hope to visit again in the near future. Thank you for making our break most enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the Montana with my mom and Oscar. I have to say its the best hotel I stayed in Hannah and will were perfect hosts and so welcoming for me mom and my little boy who was 2 years old . The rooms were perfect clean spacious. The breakfast was the BEST breakfast I have ever had We are allready planning on comming down next year and are excited :) thank you Hannah and will and of course like Charlie.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    We have visited Torquay numerous times and this was by far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    We have visited Torquay numerous times and this was by far the best B & B we have stayed in. Staff / owners were excellent, the decor was very modern and stylish, breakfast was 10/10, we look forward to going back! Location is great as it's away from the centre so that you don't hear noise but close enough to walk there and back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Modern, decorated to a high standard , friendly b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit of a chore. No parking with the b&b. Parked in a side street, which to be fair, the owners did email details beforehand, but took awhile to find a space, and never moved the car as spaces never became available. Bus service was the saving grace. Buses run every 10 minutes to surrounding Brixham and Paignton.

    Cooked breakfast were small, but you had cereal toast and fruits to fill up on. I'm vegetarian which I forgot to mention, and on the 2nd morning, they'd been out and got hash browns for me, which I thought was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Great hosts. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of road noise but didn't keep us awake.

    Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Good choice and good quality. Room was clean and had all we needed. Overall great experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    The Montana had a modern feel to it which was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower switched a lot from hot and cold - couldn't get a continuous temperature. Wardrobe door was awkward - hard to pull open, and did actually come out sliders at one point.

    The Montana had a modern feel to it which was nice. Staff (of who we saw) were friendly. Easy walk to restaurants, harbour, shops etc. Good breakfast offered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Quick stay in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick on anything the Room was hot as there was no air conditioner or fan and the TV was small

    Overall the accommodation was cosy and comfortable and an enjoyable breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful building and wonderful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Montana for our wedding anniversary, a beautiful building done up to a very high standard, Hannah was very welcoming, comfortable beds,good size bedroom, a great breakfast and in a great location, would definitely go back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay. However plenty of other areas to park within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site parking was available.

    On arrival at the Montana we were grated with a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner. The accommodation was very clean throughout. We had booked a double room for three nights which was comfortable, however we had to have a room transfer, because of this we had an up grade to a better room with no extra cost which was superb. The room was very nice, bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Both Hannah and Will were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble The location was great with only a short walk to the seafront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Lovely welcome at a fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negatives

    Hannah & Will are a lovely couple, very friendly & helpful without being intrusive. The location,decor, comfort, cleanliness etc are brilliant and the breakfasts are fantastic. Will definitely book there again next time I'm in Torquay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Good value place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the shower in room 6 needs an upgrade to power shower , minor observation only. The room was fine.

    Good value bandb nice and friendly people that run it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Perfect little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hannah was very welcoming! And the breakfast was great! Filled me up for a long day ahead! Room was perfect! And the location was great! Next time I'm in Torquay I won't even look at other places to stay, will be booking stright back here

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    A great find of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was absolutely nothing not to like.

    I loved the freshness of the guest house and the warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious and freshly made. The room was bright and beautiful. The property was ideally placed for absolutely everything without my having to take the car. A great spot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of Parking

    We liked everything the room was clean and comfortable good choices for breakfast and Hannah was a brilliant host. Looking forward to going back later in the year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Very clean and newly refurbished place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean, newly refurbished and spacious property with most firendly staff and walking distance to town centre. Very professional approach to special dietry requarements. Extremely recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Great B&B- highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just 15 minutes from town along the waterfront. Good communication before arrival, I received a txt from Hannah explaining the best parking which was very helpful. The house was modern, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was lovely, especially the poached eggs. Thanks for your hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, staff were friendly and helpful. The whole place was immaculate inside and out, lovely decorated with lovely furnishings. Good location, close enough to walk into centre, not too close where noise would be a problem.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    A lovely base in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and nicely decorated. Lovely couple running this guesthouse. Breakfast cooked freshly to order. Places to eat nearby. Within walking distance of the station, and a short walk down to the beach. There is a bus stop opposite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    The Excellent Montana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very warm welcome from Hannah but she was a bit shocked when 4 of us turned up. We had booked for 4 but booking.com had only given us a double room. She soon put that right and made another bed available for us at very short notice, breakfast was great and the rooms very clean and extremely well priced. We will def recommend and will be staying again. Good luck on your family run B&B.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    In the words of our grandaughter ,Millie,age 3.....AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    leaving....

    well positioned for beach ,town centre and bus stops to all of Torbay ..hotel spotless ..breakfast excellent...owners always cheerful and helpful ..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very relaxed and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, very clean, close to the shops and harbour, breakfast lovely, cosy room just for a couple of nights,

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75