Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Old Priory 4 stars

Church Square, Midsomer Norton, BA3 2HX, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Midsomer Norton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast aside, was pleased and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked part of the breakfast was disappointing/poor. It was not freshly cooked , which was a shame as were the only guests to breakfast .

    The hosts were great/welcoming and went the extra mile. The accommodation was full of character features. Cold part of breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    A lovely few days away in a quirky place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The host was particularly friendly, chatting about the area, asking if we'd had a nice day. She was there to meet us on arrival and to say goodbye at the end of our stay. Breakfast was excellent. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay in a beautiful old house with friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Lots of things. Spacious bedroom and bathroom, very large comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, excellent breakfasts, good car parking, lovely garden and very helpful and accommodating hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    a lovely place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit difficult to get luggage up and down in the stairs.

    All the rest : very friendly staff, comfort, quiet, cleanliness, breakfast. An exceptionnal old building. Thank's for all !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    Interesting but I would not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable, the base was a wooden board and the mattress quality poor. The duvet had no cover just a flat sheet between you and it, and then an American style quilt. The bottom sheet was fitted but there had been no attempt the press it.

    It was an interesting house in a pretty location. The owners were pleasant, but this was more of a 'party rental house' than a B&B or a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and peaceful town centre location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like. I might add a word of caution to anybody taller than 5' 3"-ish as my bedroom had quite low timber beams. Only to be expected in a building of this age.

    This is a very beautiful old building with lovely, well kept grounds. I only had a one night stay so couldn't really take advantage of all the facilities. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The owner warned me that the walls are very thick so the wifi might be temperamental, however I had no problem streaming programmes from my Sky Go app. The breakfast menu was good though I only wanted cereal and toast so can't comment on quality of the other options. There was a good selection of cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. I was working locally for the day and the location was ideal for me. The owner allowed me to leave my car in the car park all day and I had a 5 minute walk to where I needed to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was very comfortable, the owner was extremely pleasant and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been a mirror over the dressing table so that I could use my hair dryer. Also we had to place the kettle on the floor as there was no plug near the table so that we could have a coffee in the morning.

    We were attending a family funeral. The church was literally a few yards away from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant B&B full of character and a warm welcome from the proprietors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No major dislikes. Shower was adequate and as expected in a UK B&B. TV in room was quite small, however a very large TV was available in the common lounge room.

    Beautiful, characterful building. Lots of heavy oak and uneven floors. I didn't take advantage of full English, so can't comment, but the poached eggs on toast I did enjoy. I could have eaten them twice over.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful we will definitely recommend to family and friends and will stay there again very soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The overall ambiance of the place, lovely historical building with a lovely walled garden. Easy commute to places of interest i.e. Bath, Wells etc. Also Midsomer Norton town centre within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    The character of the property it was very quaint and as I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest house met all the requirements that I had on this business trip.

    The character of the property it was very quaint and as I was travelling on business it was a refreshing change to stay somewhere that was not corporate and in keeping with the lovely area. Very personalised and welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful old building with huge gorgeous rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only possible remark was the somewhat iffy WiFi at certain locations, due to thick medieval walls.

    Beautiful old building with huge gorgeous rooms. Very nice breakfast. The couple who runs the place were very helpful. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing we had a brilliant stay and the place was so family friendly, they were also very accommodating for our children. I couldn't fault this Place in any way will 100% be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Journey in south of England
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the bed was not so cofortable. As the house is old, the floor is not horizontal, the bed as well.

    The breakfast, the kindness of the owners, the charming rooms. It was very calm and near to vey nice towns : Wells and Bath.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bed, clean and tidy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, clean and tidy. Very friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Local restaurants were closed but I'm sure they're normally open. Good old domino's pizza do delivery to the Priory or there are shops just a short walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Step back in time for the night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With it being a very old property if you get noisy guests on the floor above you, the sound really travels.

    Had a fabulous meal at Ole BBQ in Midsomer Norton centre. Host friendly and informative. Hotel was olde worlde obviously with heaps of history and period furniture. Bed was super comfy and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Great place, run down town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Midsomer Norton is a bit run down. We bought a picnic dinner to eat in the grounds of the Old Abbey rather than eat in the town, but there are plenty of options if you are prepared to do a short drive

    Loved our hosts, friendly and breakfast was better than advertised

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Basically very sound and acceptable for a one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cable that connected kettle was not long enough to reach any plug with kettle in safe position. and no BBC television reception at the time of our stay.

    Cleanliness was really good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    One night visit in June
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our visit coincided with the end of the Glastonbury festival and we were disturbed in the small hours by late returners - and goodness, those historic floors do creak! What a shame there is no bar or restaurant on the premises.

    The Old Priory is in a lovely part of Midsomer Norton village and is a beautiful building with a lovely walled garden. The interiors are interesting, comfortable and very pleasantly decorated. The beds were comfortable and the room well appointed. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. The hosts were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly welcome in a historic building with a beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was too weak to use in room (old walls are thick)

    Friendly welcome in a historic building with a beautifully kept garden. Excellent English breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    It was convenient for us as we were visiting Shepton Mallett...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The non-slip bath mat was very dirty and there were no handles to assist getting in and out of the bath/shower as this is a problem for us.

    It was convenient for us as we were visiting Shepton Mallett Flea Fair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic break in Somerset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all great

    Excellent host and hostess. Lovely old house with wonderful garden with crochet lawn. Superb breakfasts. Friendly atmosphere. Would return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Perhaps the oldest building in Somerset? - lovely and quirky & very friendly hosts. Spotlessly Clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    beautiful old property, nice and quiet, lovely location by the church, ample parking, amazing breakfast, good Wifi despite the thick stone walls! Really enjoyed my drive in the sunshine in my old Ford Capri and was made to feel very welcome at the other end after a four hour drive!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful property in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky bed - did not bother my sleep though

    convenient location from the places we visited - Bath, Longleat safari park and Cheddar gorge. Grade 2 listed house with a beautiful garden, well maintained by a friendly couple. We enjoyed the freshly prepared full English breakfast; it was very nice of Melody and Mathew to serve us breakfast early on request.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hosts with a first class property and customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.....

    Melody and Matthew are the perfect hosts. A beautiful property in a lovely part of the world with quiet, clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time. I will be back....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Too expensive for the service received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is ver run down and there is absolutely nowhere to eat unless you want a kebab or a sky sports pub. Tea and coffee seemed to beationedin the room so we had to ask for more.

    This B and B thinks it is more upmarket than it actually is. £100 per night is considerably too much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely Grade 2 listed building, very warm, dressing gowns & fluffy towels. Good choice for breakfast all freshly cooked, Lovely welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and Comfortable. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Lovely location run by lovely friendly couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location run by lovely friendly couple.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Property was historic, info about tits history available on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was historic, info about tits history available on the laminate available in our room. Loved the beams and low doorways.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    The cooked breakfast was good quality products, but a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was good quality products, but a bit more care in the cooking would have made it perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Loved the inter leading family annex rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the inter leading family annex rooms. Perfect for our family of 5. Excellent breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host. Fantastic atmosphere. Great place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    The location, stunning building, stylish interior, fuss free check-in, breakfast, fuss free check out and our hosts. All of it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Really really lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The building, everything really lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good indeed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Beautiful building, great location. Comfortable, delightful staff. Good breakfast. Good value for money. Would certainly use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, nice clean room and lovely breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, nice clean room and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    The host was very friendly and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. I would definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely character old building in quiet location with comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Quiet location on edge of town. Helpful owners pointed us at local restaurant options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent character property, great room with good facilities and on suite bathroom. Friendly staff and very good full english breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with friendly staff ideal for local amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great location for local amenities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    I felt like I had travelled back in time with friendly innkeepers to greet me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    -the owners -the breakfast _the deco

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    beautiful building - delicious breakfast and charming hosts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Medieval Marvel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The medieval history and ambience was very interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent stay in a lovely old building. The staff were very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Bed comfy, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfy, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Midsomer comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming and helpful hosts; great breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very pleasant!

    Character property. Beautiful setting. The Host is amazingly friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly hosts. Great breakfast .lovely building with interesting history.everything just right.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, excellent breakfast in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was poor but this property is ancient and has very thick walls .. which was explained to me on check-in

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Bed somewhat uncomfortable and very squeaky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed somewhat uncomfortable and very squeaky.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Unique accommodation with very friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners made us feel at home from the start and were very friendly and accommodating. The property was full of character and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    comfortable beds. water hot . hosts very pleasant. breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was a bit patchy.

    Great old building, fantastic breakfast & staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    Charming B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get a proper evening meal anywhere in the village.

    Atmosphere . Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old property
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi Fi a bit limted due to old property (thick walls etc)

    Breakfast exceptional Staff very nice Property very atmospheric Easy Parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming hostess in abeautufi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More milk in bedroom

    Warm bedroom. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found bed a little hard.

    Everything. Host and hostess were friendly, polite and helpful. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    The suit and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The suit and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Super place to stay, friendly and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay, the host was friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, we would visit again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious full English breakfast, and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Perfect Priory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to think of anything!

    The hosts - amazing and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    An unexpected delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe towels softer. Nothing else to improve

    fantastic welcome. Good advice regarding local restaurants. Wonderful breakfast ,charmingly served

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been better if we had had the time to stay longer!

    It was all good. The proprietors were delightful and knew their history!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    The house is old and charming, it dates back form 12th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only problem we had was that we headed there on Easter evening so every place to eat around there was shut, but it is not Old Priory's fault by the way! Make sure you book somewhere if it is bank holiday!

    The house is old and charming, it dates back form 12th century! Th surrounding are also quite characteristic! Melody was lovely with us, breakfast excellent, everything was good quality and tasty! We booked the top floor room for 5 people and happily we found out that it was huge, very very clean and recently refurbished. They also provides you with massive bottles of orange-scented shampoo, bathfoam and handsoap, that to me are really important as I always have to carry mine from home, as some hotels give you just a hint of soap each! They also provide you with all the names of restaurants around there. I would highly recommend this place, also for parties and weddings!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.6
    A stunning old world property brimming with history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A minor point, well two: - On Booking.com it said the distance to Bath was less than 9 miles; it was nearer 12 - The Wifi in our room wouldn't connect though to be fair...had I alerted Melody to this I'm sure she would have sorted it out for us!

    A stunning old world property brimming with history. A very comfortable, cute and cosy room with a great breakfast the following morning. Melody - the landlady - couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful if she'd tried...we'd definitely recommend and stay their again!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, lovely old house,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, lovely old house, friendly hosts. The Old Priory is probably the nicest building in a not very attractive town.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.6
    Lovely old building with flagstone floors downstairs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be nice if there was somewhere within walking distance to eat in the evenings. Perhaps there are in the summer months. However, good restaurants within a short drive from a list supplied by The Old Priory.

    Lovely old building with flagstone floors downstairs and thick stone walls. The room I was in at the front was large and comfortable with good central heating, it was -5C outside! Large comfortable bed, quality linen and a good shower. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Fantastic gem of a building and the welcome was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic gem of a building and the welcome was exceptionally warm and friendly unlike the large corporates where the welcome is much less sincere. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very quiet and comfortable and fantastic power shower. Booked again already. Well worth searching for.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Lovely location , very quiet, short walk into the town,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely location , very quiet, short walk into the town, Excellent WI FI connection, plenty of parking, very good breakfast, well appointed and very clean room, perfect for my needs

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Great house with great rooms and ensuite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all wrong with the hotel but limited restaurants around town midweek. However the Simply Thai restaurant was good.

    Great house with great rooms and ensuite. Excellent cooked breakfast too with local produce being used.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    The owners were delightful and the property was magic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The village itself is not magnificent but the surounding area more than makes up for that

    The owners were delightful and the property was magic ... 11th century history with 21st century comfort. Stay here if you can

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful ancient property with lovely gardens and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Beautiful ancient property with lovely gardens and tastefully decorated lounges - very cozy. Wonderfully delightful Melody and Matt owners, great breakfast with best scrambled eggs ever. prepared by Matt. Comfy large family room as well.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic luxury spacious room with all the mod cons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic luxury spacious room with all the mod cons. Exceptionally clean and well presented throughout. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was amazing! Accomodated all 5 of us with ease.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    The family who runs the Priory are really pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The family who runs the Priory are really pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    9.6
    Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and my room was very clean and comfortable

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: