Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Morritt Hotel 4 stars

Greta Bridge, Barnard Castle, DL12 9SE, United Kingdom

#10 of 12 hotels in Barnard Castle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and lounges were quite dark rooms,

    The view from our room which was at the back of the hotel was the garden, green fields and the only noise was birdsong and sheep basing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit chilly in the bedroom. No bedside tables.

    Location convenient and nice garden. Breakfast waitress was very warm and friendly. The bathroom was always warm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like hot toast but were offered it with our main course,but were brought some h0t toast later. Dawn was very kind and helpful.

    An excellent menu choice especially to have the full English when we don’t have this at home.Good choice of fruit juice too.Tosst

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room standard facilities and cleanliness was very disappointing considering it was classed as a upgraded room, I had emailed the hotel to enquire about adding a little added extra and they never responded, the spa couldn’t fit us in on day of arrival to use facility’s seemed closed when we arrived, breckfast was extremely early so didn’t get chance to enjoy that and we where never asked if we had enjoyed our stay by reception staff checking out

    Staff in the bar excellent, Surroundings of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very good but showing signs of getting tired, We stayed mid week and the hotel was quite but at weekends when they have a wedding that might be different.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, the menu in the restaurant was a little limited. the breakfast menu was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a car to travel to nearby villages/towns- we didn’t mind this, but bare in mind, it is very secluded:

    Big garden for drinks in the sun Affordable prices Big field for dogs Big rooms for a small dog to wonder Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more care with room facilities. We had to ask for towels and a hairdryer. Also, breakfast, which came as part of the booking, was ok but a bit ordinary.

    Lovely building and room in a great location for travel to/from Scotland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would've been handy to have a fridge in the room for our bottled water to be kept cold. Was a tad chilly in the restaurant during dinner - a wee fire on the go would have been a nice touch!

    Salmon and scrambled eggs for breaky were just delicious! Not enormous portions but enough to set you up for the day! Loved the outdoor space to enjoy our drinks in the sun!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked two rooms, an Executive Room and a Deluxe double, for a two night stay. Room three was sold as an executive room but had none of the features of an executive room e.g. four poster bed, spa bath etc. It was pleasantly decorated and spacious, but did not look like the picture on the website. Disappointing view of the road. I didn't find the reception staff very friendly. The Manager agreed that the room was lacking at least one of the features advertised and offered to reduce the price to that of the Deluxe double. Apparently, this was on the too difficult to do list, through Booking.com. When I settled my bill he had deducted just £20.00 from the total. Not very satisfactory! On a positive note, my daughter was very pleased with her Deluxe double, room 8, a very comfortable room with lovely garden views.

    Parking convenient, pretty gardens, comfortable reception rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a bit silly but it is sometimes what us girls look for when we we stay at a hotel. There was not enough space to dry hair or do make up near the mirror. It got a bit awkward as the mirror was on the side of the wardrobe and there was the bathroom door on one side and the plug was behind you so wires wouldn’t stretch and you had to move out of the way so friend could go in the bathroom. This was not the case in my friends double room it was just in the twin room that we were staying in. It just got a bit cramped when you’re both rushing to get ready for a wedding.

    It was just off the A66 and very close to Barnard Castle. Plenty of parking spaces. Felt really comfort for it being a small hotel. Wish I’d had time to experience the spa as I have heard it is amazing! Great selection of gins and alcoholic beverages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am disabled (walk with stick) and fell down the stairs. Staff didn't help on reception but other guests did, breakfast staff made sure i was ok after. Maybe invest in a lift. Breakfast was cold on arrival and needed attention, overcooked eggs, cold in general. However could not fault main meal the night before. Points made for advice as overall happy with stay.

    Hotel overall fantastic. Bed really comfortably. Fantastic views. Evening meal was Devine!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar food was reasonable, although a bit overpriced. £9-50 for a large glass of wine seemed a bit over the top compared to other good hotels.

    The quality of the hotel exceeded our expectations. Our beds were comfortable, the size of the room suited our one night stay. The bathroom/shower facilities were good. The bar facilities were good. Staff from reception/bar/breakfast area were very attentive and professionaL

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terriible and ultimately spoilt our stay - way too small for two adults and very lumpy, really bad nights sleep. There were loose tiles in the shower which made the bathroom feel shabby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toiletries left in the bathroom were surprisingly sparse. As we were only away for one night I didn't bring soap or shampoo with me as most hotels provide plenty. The stuff in the bathromm wasn't great. Breakfast was nice enough but I ordered smoked haddock. The piece of fist I was given was disappointingly and unnecessarily tiny.

    Nice room with comfortable bed and good decor. Great location near but not next to A66.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was "tired" needed updating .The room was not very clean at all,and had to send meal back as Luke warm.Husband found a hair in his meal which we didn't mention as had just sent my meal back.Young waitress had my meal reheated,but did not manage the situation well.Came across a little defensively.No ice available for ice bucket for champagne or our drinks.Not a four star establishment. I rang a few days before and asked for an ice bucket in advance for a birthday celebration.The staff were polite and apologetic but seemed young and inexperienced.Reception staff were polite and helpful.The hotel was almost empty with 3 couples booked in including us.There was no yoghurt at breakfast (had to ask for some) and no serving spoons for the fruit/prunes. A disappointing stay.However my husband had a massage at the spa which was excellent and the staff were lovely even though they were short staffed due to illness.The Spa closed at 4.30 on the Sunday afternoon which was early as we wanted to look around and book treatments for the following day.It was due to close at 6/7 I believe.

    It was set in beautiful gardens and had a lovely spa next door

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt get the bedroom we had asked for and been told we could have but didn’t want to create a fuss

    Everything was lovely staff couldn’t of been more helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family room which was good value, it was quite basic and needed a little tlc, but on the whole it worked for us and our 5 year old.

    Comfy and cosy hotel with some lovely personal touches. Very close to the motorway which was ideal as this was just a 1 night stop over on a long journey. Staff were friendly, breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold, half the light bulbs did not work. Had to pay extra to use the sauna even as a hotel guest and also it it had been fully booked by day spa guests and thus hotel residents could not use it.

    Good staff and food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were treated like royalty! As the only guests that evening alongside a function for young farmers we were never ignored and made to feel just as valued!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath in the room would have been nice however the Spa makes up for not having one.

    Lovely hotel with excellent Spa facilities. The room was good and bed was super comfy. Would definitely return

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not too supportive it would be better to have one soft and one stiff one (lol)

    Brilliant friendly clean place very period, staff great and friendly food was brilliant Inc breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff when checking out of the hotel trying to say I hadn’t paid. Embarrassing as I was there with family for a wedding.

    The food was lovely and wedding planners where excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head needed cleaning/replacing.

    Excellent value for a family room (wouldn’t stay at the other hotels/B&Bs in Barnard Castle who charge more and don’t provide anything better). Great breakfast and surroundings are lovely. Just 6 min drive and you’re in the centre of BC.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After Waiting 10 mins at bar, I had to inform reception to request service for us and other waiting customers. Waitress serving food did not bring vinegar and other sauces until after my 2nd request for it. She seemed more interested in conferring in banter with the duty bartender. Bar and lounge open fires not lit making this beautiful old English hotel less inviting and lacking warmth.

    Location good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are getting tired, my bed definitely needed a new mattress ( .could feel the springs) . And the hot tap in the bath room was stuck and didn't get mended even though I did tell reception. (. Bath took upwards of an hr to fill such was the flow of hot water) . Also the wifi was completely down for 2 days, which is even more of a problem in this location as they are in a mobile reception black spot. Apologies for having to give this feedback but facilities else where in this location are a much better standard at this price point.

    The food here is excellent, you can taste that they use really fresh local produce. Every single ingredient is superb. And the staff are friendly and helpful. Location is good too and easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room and got double bed and sofa bed Sofa bed had no sheet on it only quilt cover and mattress was stained so not happy Tried to book table in restaurant for 8.15 pm they said no you must come at 7.30 We'd only just arrived so had no time to freshen up Came down at 7.40 to be told to wait in lounge for someone to take our order. Waited 20 mins. Finally they took us in the restaurant at 8.15 so could not understand why they said 7.30 and no later!

    Location is beautiful Friendliness Food. Great breakfast and dinner was of a high standard Staff very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't feel welcomed by reception when we arrived, there was a wedding on and they basically took over, which wasn't the wedding party's fault. The bar is practical rather than comfortable, the bar and lounge area were being used by the wedding guests too which made us feel in the way. There is no separate loung for guests staying here who are not attending the function. We asked if we could book a table for dinner in the dining room but were told it was full (I don't think that was the truth, they just were not serving dinners in there) We could have eaten in the bar (which we don't mind and we did this on quite a few evenings of our holiday) but it was so noisy with the wedding party we really didn't want to. Also we were notified by the bar staff we couldn't order food before 6pm because of the wedding!! In the end we took a drive into Castle Barnard to have a meal, it wasn't the nice relaxing evening we intended having. The breakfast was fine and the breakfast staff were lovely, reception should take note of that. This was the most expensive place we booked as part of our touring holiday and it was the most disappointing.

    Our bedroom was gorgeous the bed was comfortable the bathroom was fine but the shower leaks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't listen to requests, they said that they would put Prosecco and flowers in the room, when we arrived neither had been left in the room, staff weren't helpful at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a lovely place to stay, suited our purposes really well and the breakfasts were stunning. The staff were really helpful, swiftly removing feather pillows and duvet within minutes of the request

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An apology for such a long wait for bar meals but the restaurant 'was busy'! If told this earlier, we could have sat comfortably elsewhere until being served was likely. We didn't enjoy the bar meals. On arrival the shower gel was already used! At reception, I was told a replacement was forthcoming ..it didn't materialise!

    In a lovely location: we choose this hotel for its proximity to Bowes Museum. The breakfasts & restaurant meals were beautiful. Nathaniel, is friendly and served restaurant meals with aplomb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very very tired and dissapointing. No desk as such to work at. Uncomfortable and broken furniture and no bedside tables? Very odd

    Lovely looking hotel with very nice downstairs facilities and gardens

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had booked a family room on arrival this hadn't been arranged, however was sorted quickly. On our first day the room was not refreshed nor bed made whilst we were out. This may have been an oversight as once pointed out it was done. The information booklet in the room stated there were board games in the lounge which the youngest member of our party was interested in. However, the games weren't available when we asked which caused some disappointment - perhaps better not to advertise in the room information!

    Friendly and helpful staff, lovely dining room, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom.water penetration has caused grout joints to crack and black mould has built up on a small area

    Excellent breakfast and a very comfortable bed. Lovely countryside views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and fantastic food. Staff were lovely and all went the extra mile, especially Emelia-Rose. We went to celebrate our anniversary and I would definitely recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    This was situated close to the motorway but felt as if you were in the country. Beautiful old fashioned hotel which was originally a stopping place on the stage coach route. Staff were extremely helpful. The area was gorgeous and near to the Yorkshire Dales and Barnard Castle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so uncomfortable and the room was dated and needed to be updated. Considering this was supposed to be the superior room I was very disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small for two adults. The bathroom lacked somewhere to put clothes when showering, more hooks would have been a good idea. Our second room was a little dusty, but had a good view of the countryside.

    The position of the hotel was lovely. The garden area was a nice addition. We ate in the bar in the evening and the staff along with the food was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar servery was dirty, reception was cluttered and seemed continually overmanned with people standing about, welcome was virtually non-existent; bathroom toiletries were not replenished, guest water was not replenished on the second day, room was tidy but bed linen did not look clean.

    Breakfast was excellent and served hot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Decor in need of update. Kettle dirty. Scared to touch shower curtain in case it fell. So no showers taken. No elevator. Good exercise to reach second floor. Poor value for money.

    Bed comfy. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired the rooms very dated. The decor and soft furnishing in the rooms beginning to show there age . Most hotels now have king size beds as standard .

    The staff were all very courteous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was quite cold, but a heater was supplied by the staff so not really a problem.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu poor wine cheapest £19 bottle.

    Hotel fab I requested a Bath only got a shower, food and wine in gilroys very expensive but menu was very poor nothing I liked. So we went out every night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable. There was too much furniture in the room which made it cluttered and caused bumps when a family were in the room. The restaurant was really expensive. Top floor accommodation and fully accessible windows made me nervous with a young child around. Child safety cords should be fitted on the blinds in the family room.

    Breakfast was good. Nice coffee and selection of foods on offer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a couple of issues - dodgy pair of socks in the wardrobe and a disgusting stain on the chair. Bathroom fan didn't work.

    Excellent food and first class service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our friends room ...as already said....was not up to any standard at all...would say a 2 star as the carpet was badly stained,wrapper of some description under the bed,a large cleaning cloth left in the bathroom and no soap or toiletries.Even when told of this still no extra toilet paper or shower cap, but they did apologise!!!Would have thought that a 4 star would be better and of course should be.

    Our room had obviously been refurbished and was very pleasant.......but we had booked two rooms as we were on our way to Scotland with friends . Unfortunately their room was not very good at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom (No 11) was very small, tight squeeze to get into the bathroom. Not very clean and grubby carpet. Not a great deal of choice on the menu, restaurant not open so had to eat in the bar.

    Lovely quiet hotel with lots of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Described as a Country House Hotel so dark furnishings in public areas and hunting 'n shooting references. Had lunch in the bar area. Again, fine but menu rather limited and unimaginative. Couldn't get the shower to work (but bath OK) and a bulb was missing from a bedside light. There was no yoghurt at breakfast. Didn't bother me but I heard other guests asking.

    The hotel is fine. Friendly relaxed staff. Attractive gardens with seating and lighting , looks really nice at night. Good walking from hotel and nearby and easy access to Barnard Castle, Darlington and Richmond.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin curtains, was woken up when the sun came up at 4am. Carpet stained. Cheap ikea furniture in the room. Lumpy pillows. In need of a coat of paint in the bathroom.

    Great staff at dinner. Excellent food. Really enjoyed the spa

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked here to stay the night before my wedding and the staff were so helpful for our group staying. The staff were very attentive and helped with all aspects of our stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in hotel we were in a cottage away from main building not what we expected. Very cold and had a damp feeling to it. Switched heating on and it was ok after a couple of hours

    Reception and other staff very pleasant fury manager another story! Food good breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very soft, difficult one to please everyone I appreciate but my back was killing me when I woke up !!!

    Lovely welcome when we arrived, friendly and helpful staff. Had a couple of beers in the garden which was lovely and ate our evening meal in the bar. Good service and good food. Breakfast was excellent and again, the service was good. Plenty of parking and I was happy to leave my motorcycle out front.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was closed for dinner on the first night because of a wedding reception and we were directed to the bar where a limited menu was available. Unfortunately the bar was heaving with thirsty wedding guests and although the 2 barmen did their best , service was pretty slow and mildly chaotic. Management need to look at this and ideally have staff dedicated to caring for the diners.

    All the staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Our bedroom was pleasant and the bathroom was large and nicely set out with a good in bath shower. Breakfast was served to the table individually by the cheerful staff and was of a high standard. A welcome change from most self service facilities with items swimming in grease. Dining room was bright, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    ate from bar menu.food good but burger undercooked so risk food poisoning.asked for sauce seperate to pasta came on top ,asked for no potatoes with one dish and no beans with another but all came as per menu rather than as requested

    great breakfast.lovely bar and beer garden.near a66 but hotel felt quiet and tranquil.good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding function had taken over the whole hotel, therefore Gilroys was closed! The main reason I booked was to eat at Gilroys!! Was not informed of this on booking, very angry. Was offered a meal in the bar which was very untidy, noisy and the wedding guests had trashed the area, tables full of empty glasses and plates. Wedding guests stood at the bar very loud and swearing at the top of there voices. Made the decision not to eat at the hotel and left to find a fantastic Italian in Barnard Castle. Therefore unable to enjoy a drink with my meal due to driving into town. Not what I expected for an anniversary night away. However i would return if there was no function on. I can imagine that this is a little gem in winter.

    Salvador was very professional and friendly for breakfast. A credit to the hotel. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the property is just off the main road it maintains an atmosphere of pastoral peace with views of lambs in the fields and farmland. Sitting in the garden in the evening with a glass of wine and the birds singing was very restful after a day of driving. We have stayed here before and definitely will do again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and rooms at the back of the property were a long walk. Bar small and very dark - the Dickens theme could have been enhanced with subtle lighting. Bar staff made a lot of noise throwing empty bottles away!

    The hotel was very convenient on a main route into Scotland, yet retained a tranquil countryside ambience. Very pleasant grounds to enjoy a drink. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated in keeping with the country hotel style. Very friendly and obliging staff. Good breakfast - wide choice and very well cooked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few miles outside of Barnard Castle. Spa facilities available. Helpful, friendly staff. The Dickens bar had excellent food choices. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the room (Deluxe Double) was very comfortable and spacious, the bathroom was not of the appropriate standard (needs to be modernised).

    Very friendly and obliging staff. Restaurant food high standard nouvelle cuisine. Very good atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was a little curt and forgot to book our table for the evening meal. However the restaurant manager managed to fit us in.

    The room was very pleasant and comfortable and the food was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask (twice) for soap and shampoo for the en-suite. A little more attention to detail may have helped

    An old coaching hotel with lots of character and very good rates for this standard of hotel. Food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was of a high standard and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the bistro! It took ages to come, even though there were only a couple of tables in, when it came it was only just warm and I have to say, I'm sorry, but it was pretty average food for the price.

    Fab room, special rate as it was Sunday, it was huge and over looked the garden. Big comfy bed, clean and had nice decor. Staff were very friendly and professional throughout our entire stay, in particular the lady who served us at breakfast. breakfast was one of the best we've had in a hotel/BnB.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Salvadore was a real star: We arrived rather stressed having got lost and Salvadore calmed us down and made us feel welcome. The other staff were really helpful as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a major gripe, but when we arrived we were told that we could eat in the hotel bar without booking a table. When we arrived at the bar it was very busy and the person on duty seemed a little overwhelmed and it appeared for a while that we wouldn't be able to eat there after all. We waited for a table to become free since we couldn't reserve one and then were able to sit and had a really nice meal. Shortly afterwards most of the tables became free so there was no reason to worry after all.

    Staff were really friendly, and helpful. We had a couple of mountain bikes with us and when we asked if we could store them somewhere, the receptionist and other staff were pleased to help us find somewhere suitable indoors. I had a really nice burger and chips in the hotel bar. My wife was less impressed with the omelette especially considering the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glad it wasn't raining as the accommodation was not in the hotel but round the corner. Single bed rather small and the 2 beds were facing each other which was a little weird.

    Great shower. Car parked really close to the accommodation. Very friendly staff. Dog welcome in the bar and bistro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Splendid fourposter bed, but a better quality mattress would have been much appreciated. TV reception irratic.Traffic noise in main building.

    Good ground floor accommodation in cottage annexes.Lovely bathroom. Very quiet. Delicious cream tea. Lovely setting for hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we would have loved to have stayed longer , will do next time

    Lovely hotel and very comfortable , staff were very helpful when we were deciding where to go next , nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (8) was lovely, but noise from the restaurant below carried directly into the room. Fortunately once the restaurant closed this was not a problem. The restaurant was very nice with crisp white tablecloths and was well patronised. Amuse bouchée was a nice touch and the salmon starter was delicious. The main course, however, was disappointing. The beef was undercooked (for my taste) and tough.

    The room was very comfortable, well maintained and warm. Location was excellent as we wanted to find the meeting of the waters and were able to walk from the hotel. The hotel provided a set of maps for us which was much appreciated. All staff members were helpful and pleasant, but special mention should be made regarding restaurant and bistro staff who could not do enough to help make our stay enjoyable. The meal in the bistro was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV aerial wasn't great therefor couldn't really relax to watch the TV.

    I liked the fact it was so peaceful and quiet. The spa is small and unique, therefor isn't over crowded with people as numbers are kept low. Breakfast was nice. Friendly, helpful staff. Thank you, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast at the hotel was really lovely. We arrived late in the evening so didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it was really well located close to the A1 and the perfect stop off for us on a long journey. We didn't have chance to check out the spa facilities but would definitely recommend to check them out if you stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room freezing cold, manager was told. Waited 1hr for to order food then when it came it wasn't what we asked for. We have been several times and was lovely but this hopefully was a one off x

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have done with the heating turned on before we arrived as felt a bit damp (in one of the cottages), but once the radiators were on it was great.

    Friendly staff, good bar and beer, lovely building. didn't see a lot more as at function elsewhere. Fantastic kipper for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did find that there was no 'solid' soap for hand washing which we prefer but otherwise everything was well organised and very comfortable.

    We thought the hotel was a gem, very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, the whole ambiance was excellent and we will be returning whenever we travel up to Scotland. I wish that we had longer in the area to make use of the Spa.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the Hotel on Mother's Day evening and bar staff and venue seemed to be recovering from a busy lunch period + dining room closed that evening. However a meal was provided in the bar and it did exceed expectations. Wifi signal was poor. Room average but to be fair not overly priced.

    The Breakfast and staff serving it were excellent - a much needed 'plus' to the over- all experience. Reception Staff also to be commended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection in the cottages no connection Phone no connection Food not many choices Prices very high for 2/3 stars hotel Location mile of no where Marketed as 4 stars A sheds as cottages? Cold beds under Windows No locks in doors? Security 0 out of 10

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was poor and dull. A killer for romance and not sure if the heatind bill had been paid...take a jumper!

    Bedrooms lovely, clean, very comfy and superb shower....old style is still better than the modern day rubbish.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: