Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mowbray 4 stars

Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne, BN21 4BJ, United Kingdom

#35 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Eastbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 642 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff excellent location and breakfast choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot summer's day and th3 room was a little warm despite a fan in the room

    Very friendly staff excellent location and breakfast choice was great very accommodating staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    What a find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Darren was an excellent host - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic and possibly the best ever. The Mobray is a great place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay in Eastbourne, albeit the room was quite hot overnight on the Saturday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night outside of the hotel. Clearly this is not the fault of the hotel, but it slightly spoils the stay at the hotel.

    Very good breakfast with wide choice of foodstuffs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Paid for breakfast at time of booking. Upon check in I was told that breakfast was served from 08:15-09:15 only. I had to leave the hotel no later than 07:30. No breakfast abailable and times of breakfast serving not available. The reception informed me I should have check breakfast details at time of booking! TV in room very small - should provide binoculars to see TV.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Bonus was a lift, also dressing gown and slippers were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tired. A little bit more attention to the dusting needed.

    Bonus was a lift, also dressing gown and slippers were a nice touch. Comfortable room, breakfast excellent. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    I wouldn't recommend to foreign tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff's attitude. As soon as they realized we don't speak the language we could've seen it on their face they did not enjoy talking to us. They felt uncomfortable when talking to us which made it really awkward to us to stay at the hotel. My partner sent a text with an inquiry and she received a rude reply with no followup. The first set of towels we were given was dirty and there were a lot of spider webs under the window blinds.

    We liked the numerous options of pillows and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    On the whole we were very satisfied - friendly, helpful staff and superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift old type - probably difficult to shut gates by old people. OK for us considering it's age. Stairs down to dining room - not easy for me

    Excellent breakfast - comfortable - clean - near bus routes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    This is a fantastic place to stay in a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was fully satisfied

    Marvellous location for sea front, town, tennis and theatres and many eating places nearby. The room was wonderfully comfortable - the views great and the breakfasts were stunning!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok a weird sort of L shape which made viewing the tv interesting! The ensuite might be challenging for big people so be careful with room 6.

    The breakfast was exceptional. I love my breakfast and this must be in the top 3 in the world! Great welcome and Darren was a great host. Location was perfect and parking arrangements very straightforward.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, the owner was super lovely, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, the owner was super lovely, the room was clean and comfy. We only stayed for one night, but would definitely stay longer next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location, felt the guest house could do with some updating and found the host very flat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tight for space with a double and single in it, but add a travel cot as well and it was almost clostophobic! Bathroom was grubby ceiling light hanging out with noticeable dust and dirt on the floor! My pillow was lumpy and although there is an option of a pillow menu, I felt they should be checked and disgarded when they get to this stage!

    Breakfast was really good, waitress very pleasant! Tea making facilities were nice! Location was great very near to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful! very relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and always asked if you wanted more toast, coffee etc. Room was clean and modern. Very near Devonshire theatre where we enjoyed a show and the promenade & pier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent with a great breakfast menu.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable big bed, quiet considering the central location. Just sorry that our stay was so brief and rushed due to moving house the next day. Thank you for the upgrade Darren . A lovely hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Perfect little place in a lovely area - definitely worth a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like!

    Everything was great! Welcomed warmly, room and en suite shower were comfy, spotless and homely. Liked the big window which just happened to look out onto where we parked the car (on the street and free as you get given a parking permit, nice touch).Al Breakfast was amazingly good. I particularly liked the fruit selection in separate help yourself bowls, plenty of yoghurt, cereals, juices. And the cooked breakfast was perfect - the eggs, if you go for nothing else, go for the eggs!!! Literally two mins to get to the lovely beach and we were recommended the Holiday Inn Fish & Chip shop round the corner.....and yes they were good. Also liked the help yourself to drinks/snacks/ice cream in the lounge (not free but write it in the book to be added to your bill).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    We will be coming back soon!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seems harsh to moan about anything but being in a Standard twin room the basin in the bathroom was small. Not being very tall I managed to bang my head on the shelf above the basin several times!! On our next visit maybe we will upgrade to a Superior room.

    The Breakfast was excellent, easily on a par with a 5 star hotel. Darren is an lovely host , was most helpful and is not a bad cook!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and ensuite small but this is not a complaint as it was very good value. We would recommend it and would be happy to stay again next time we are in Eastbourne.

    Excellent value for money. Breakfast excellent couldn’t fault it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, clean and comfortable beds and a delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many do’s and dont’s in the information leaflet.

    Wonderful breakfast with fresh fruits and berries, cereals, nuts, youghurt and great hot meals made on order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet system was not working properly in my room.

    The breakfast was excellent! The position of the property was fantastic only a couple of minutes walk away from the beach. Staff were friendly and competent, overall this B&B stood out from others that I had stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    my stay was very pleasant ..when in eastbourne i would stay threr again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for the price there was nothing to dislike

    the room was very clean ..the host was very polite..the breakfast was first rate ,,for what i had it was very very cheap..would i stay there again ? yes i would

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable stay at the Mowbray!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was in the basement and I was unable to use the stairs, but Darren, who was very accommodating, was so helpful and set up breakfast for us upstairs. My partner selected the ‘cold’ foods such as cereals & fruit and brought the tray upstairs. And then the waitress took an order for the cooked breakfast. It was s lovely breakfast.

    Loved the beds in the room. Did not expect two beds, a double & single, to be in the room. So had the double to myself and my partner slept in the single. Both were really comfortable. The hotel was also an easy reach to Beachy Head, which was a short car drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attentive staff. Very polite and couldn't be more helpful. Possibly best "value for money " hotel/B&B have stayed in. Certainly exceeded normal B&B standards. Breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our two nights stay & look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found parking easy. Friendly welcome. Good size clean, ensuite room, with everything we needed. Full breakfast menu nothing lacking. Great location, bus stop near for catching bus into Brighton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Ideal location, 5 minutes to the sea front and 10 minute walk to the centre of Eastbourne. The room was clean and comfortable. We were given a cup of tea and biscuits when we arrived which was a lovely welcome. Breakfast was great - a large selection and freshly cooked to order. They went the extra mile on the morning we left and organised an early breakfast for us. Fantastic customer care. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    A great value stay in a warm friendly comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave!

    The shower was a good size and the water always hot, everything was very clean and the towels were great. The room itself was very bright and airy and the bed and bedding were clean and fresh and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and served by friendly efficient staff. A great hotel to return to and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast an the choices available were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has the name HOTEL but is in fact an excellent run GUEST house. All rooms vary in size unfortunately ours (room) was v small as was the bed. Unfortunately the bed did not give us the comfort we were looking for a comforter would have helped. In addition all our electrics tripped at 4:10 in the morning which was a pain

    Breakfast an the choices available were fantastic. Darren was a helpful host especially when I financed were tied up due to the previous hotel we were in for business during the week not having released the funds back to my account that they were holding. Position to theatre could not be closer and beech is at the other end of road. Parking permit saved massive expenses for parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    57 years old but felt like a kid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many rules and CCTV not particularly relaxing. Warned of charges if make up on towels etc.. never known this. Also told that they were not 4 star even though plack says it is. Also what you payed isn't going to give you that quality. All strange.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff who could not do enough for us including helping with travel arrangements for the Brighton Marathon and providing a packed breakfast the last day when we left very early. Beds are very comfortable although not huge rooms they were very adequate. Location is amazing for theatre tennis beach and lovely walks. Breakfasts choice was amazing and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We originally asked for the room to be set up as a twin but when we arrived the beds were in a extra large double formation. We didn’t worry about making a fuss as we were close friends. But if you require this maybe make sure they are definitely aware before you arrive. This could have also been a communication error from Booking.com

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. We felt very at home here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Very very very disappointing by the way I was treated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged £10 because there was some make up on the towel. I felt victimised and ripped off and would not go there again or recommended to stay there. Very disappointing and spoiled my time in Eastborne. They should inform customer's better with their rules and not assume or hope they read all the information provided.

    No nothing special about the bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would of love to have different selections of coffee as I do not like nescafe of decaf.

    The breakfast was lovely and the room very clean. Was well informed of where everything was. Was supplied with money off vouchers for local attractions and informed of opening times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Value for Money - would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small 22” TV in a large superior room Disappointing Power Shower

    Friendly welcoming Staff Honesty Bar Perfect Location Easy Parking Lovely Buffet Breakfast Reception , lounge bar & Restaurant decorated to a high standard Spacious Airy Room Massive Bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Simply a lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, we’ll be back again.

    Lovely welcome from he lady who I believe was the duty manager, nice room, comfy bed. Awesome breakfast. Just a really great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The warm welcome friendly smiles of all the staff and owners. The location is amazing only 10 minutes and your in the town centre. Would definitely stay her again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Good value, good location, good room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Muffin with eggs benedict a bit tough. Hardly a crisis...

    Great breakfast options, nice touches like honesty bar, nicely decorated, big shower, compact but well presented room...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Great staff. Fantastic food. Brilliant location. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Everything. The breakfast is fantastic. Excellent value for money. We liked the hotel so much we have booked to stay again in June. Can't wait.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel, Brilliant value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was brilliant, but if i have to be petty, the window was broken in my room and i couldn't open it.

    Everything! Great location, nice decor. The bed was comfy. Great staff and amazing food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff and room size exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was FREEZING cold! We did stay when it was minus temperatures and were supplied with a heater but we used that for the room as that was slightly cold too.

    Room was larger than expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great guest house, great service, great price, well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there was a slight thing it was the pillows in the bed were a little uncomfortable.

    Excellent service from the minute we checked in. Breakfasts were fantastic. Rooms were large with excellent facilities - tea - biscuits - bottled water. Large comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    All perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On website information - car park free, however their is not car park owned by hotel just a road side if you lucky with space you get car park space.

    Very professional service. I had a problem to find car park space took me 45 min.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable, friendly Guest House with a lift, a small lounge bar and 3 mins walk to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's been many decades since I slept in a room without some type of double-glazing or secondary glazing at the windows so, I found the noise and chill (in March) took a bit of getting used to; thankfully I'd brought along my ear plugs :)

    Excellent choice for breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the selection of freshly cut fruits every morning, as I don't eat a full english breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a twin room facing the front. The bathroom was tiny and cold. You can't move when you are in the cubicle. Never seen a wash basin (sink) as small as the one in there. The shelf just above the sink was a nightmare. I couldn't bend over to wash my face. Terrible room planning. The wardrobe was place in between 2 single beds and we couldn't talk with each other while sitting on the bed comfortably. The hotel has single glazing windows and it gets really noisy in the early hours of the day. The curtains aren't blackout so the light from street lights still coming through even after closing the blinds and the curtains. Thanks to my ear plugs and eye mask I managed to get a good sleep. The metres wasn't comfortable either.

    Our room was ready when we arrived around 11.30 am. Staff was so friendly. Breakfast was excellent. There were more options than just standard continental and full english. Free parking just outside the hotel and £1 for 24 hours after the check out worked really well with our plans. The hotel is within very close proximity to the beach and town. Convenient for everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    This place was great cheap, comfortable right next to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place was great cheap, comfortable right next to the theatre, with free parking, great internet, good size rooms and descent bathroom with good water pressure. Great internet in rooms, a lift in the building and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great guest house with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such great value, cannot really say there was anything we did not like.

    Booked accommodation after reading reviews and it was as good as people said it was. Great staff, very good choice of breakfast, very good location, easy parking as given a parking permit on check in. Had a superior room and it was excellent. Would recommend this guest house and will return one day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been a bit warmer but I don't think that was there fault, it was the adverse weather conditions

    The friendly team and the great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small the TV was small the room was a little small compared to what we're used to

    It was 2mins away from the beach walking about 10mins to the shops they had a dvd selection that you can choose from and watch in your room the breakfast was good but my boyfriend wanted 2 sausages and they said there would be a charge for the extra sausage we also had a nice view of the Southdowns

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps to front door were tricky; due to my particular mobility problems. One owner a bit too perfunctory - a little warmth / better eye contact would have made us feel more genuinely welcome. Other staff were friendlier though. Maybe a bad day! One hour slot at 8.15am for breakfast was too limited for us.

    Location, lift and very comfy beds. A lot of attention to detail. Little lounge was a lovely addition, with bar and honesty book service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great location, good sized room for the four of us- loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good sized room for the four of us- loved the bowl of fresh fruit in our room . Lovely breakfast , service very good. Staff friendly. Honesty bar a nice touch too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Hotel good but management need to be more honest obout noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From about midnight onwards there was terrible banging and crashing from lorrys loading and unloading to the theatre on the corner oppersite the hotel ,i feel, as the hotel manager new of this it would have been nice to have been told in advance so I could have made my own mind up whether to stay or find somewhere else.

    Tea on arrival very friendly room clean and tidy breakfast lovley

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    2nd Stay and will stay again if we are in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee could do with improvement but otherwise very good breakfast. Queen size bed - very comfortable and lovely duvet. HUGE shower though shower head might need a bit of attention.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Highly reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely light bright building. Tastefully decorated. Very clean. Very good selection for breakfast. Close to shops restaurant and seafront.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Central, clean, comfy, friendly & great breakfast. Recommended.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast with choice of fresh fruit, cereal yogurt, Danish pastry and cooked breakfasts from full English to pancakes, waffles etc. Really helpful, friendly staff who greeted us at the door with a smile. Helpful guide to the hotel and surrounding areas. Comfy king size bed. Coffee pod maker and additional teas, coffees and kettle. Fresh fruit in the room. Free on road parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our door lock didn't seem secure but when mentioned to Darren he said their was a nack to it which seemed easy enough. Im a coffee lover and there was only the filtered coffee as an option for breakfast, a cappuccino option for would have been good but the machine in our bedroom was good.

    Fantastic breakfast! Very friendly and attentive host on arrival. Gorgeous hot chocolate :) great location with easy access to the beachfront and pier. Great coffee machine in our bedroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, superb breakfast very secure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on both nights of our stay we were disturbed by very loud noises . The first night lasted about 2 hours. We spoke to the owner the next day and he curtly told us he had been made aware of the problem and he had also been up since 4am. He wasn't rude but we would have like him to have a better understanding of paying guests. When we came back after a night out my husband cut his finger whilst opening the front door. There are protruding nail heads around the door frame. We would have liked to have fed this back directly to the owner however our previous experience made us reluctant to do so. We cannot fault the accommodation but we feel that the owner should develop his interpersonal skills - this may be because of his previous occupation.

    The breakfast was exceptional. The beds were huge. The room was clean. the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room with easy access parking, walkable to the beach/town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Greeted on arrival by Darren who was very friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable room with a hot, powerful shower. The guest house had good security an is quiet inside at night, we didn't hear anyone else returning to their rooms. There is also an honesty bar with wine and ice cream - what more could you ask for? Breakfast was very varied and tasty as well, hot, cold and even gluten free options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay home from Home
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from idiot foreigners staying two doors down the road early hours of the morning.

    Extra comfy bed and good decor with plenty of tea and coffee provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Always nice to be in Eastbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local in town cinema could do with some help in upgrading it’s seating and decorations, Could ask hotel chains local businesses to help as it’s good to have entertainment with out driving. Very important to have a good in town cinema specially in walking distance to all hotels & BBs . Also like to mention the pavements out side main shopping areas are not very good , uneven and hazardous block paving. It makes the town look scruffy.

    Everything about Eastbourne, always can find something to do what ever the weather. Hotel is tip top place to stay .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Tea and mince pies on arrival - very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and mince pies on arrival - very welcoming. Great breakfast. Great location for theatre and sea. Parking on street was very easy and hotel provides a free parking permit. Great value money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Lovely, cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very minor improvement could be better toilet paper. It was a tad rough.

    We would definitely book to stay at The Mowbray again. We were greeted with tea and coffee and mince pies. The room was beautiful. The choice of pillows meant we had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    We came away for a break from home life and despite the weather our weekend was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 9 was a little uncomfortable but we only stayed 2 nights so I managed

    Such great customer service and the staff are all so kind and friendly and we will be returning and recommending this to friends

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Small friendly hotel in good situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything! Will definitely stay again.

    Excellent breakfast. Staff very attentive. Room was small but good for price and one night. Will stay again and book larger room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Our stay was most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much not to dislike. Maybe the parking could become an issue.

    We liked the comfortable room and bed. The breakfast was excellent with a very good range to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    lovely quiet break near shops and town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothink

    bed very comfortable shower brilliant honesty bar nice touch hope people do not take advantage also ice cream fridge staff very good could not do enough for you will definitely be going back it is a Band B but have been to 5 hotels in Eastbourne and enjoyed this the most

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice, cosy family stay in Eastbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing particular, we would stay there again.

    Happy to deal with our late arrival. Great breakfasts. Large room with recently added on-suite bathroom. Homely feel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful - will definitely go again when weather is warmer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was awful, gale force winds and rain, but The Mowbray was warm and comfortable so it did not matter.

    Breakfast was fantastic with every variety of breakfast food you could imagine. Room was clean and huge bed very warm and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the experience staff very helpful and friendly accommodation spacious breakfast spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not too pleased with the 22" screen TV, smaller than preferred. The shower facilities were a huge disappointment badly installed and jet stream nozzles broken. Cheap toilet seat and fixtures and fittings in bathroom were either broken or stiff

    I loved the comfy big bed and multiple pillows and the tea and coffee facilities in room. The breakfast was impressive the options for continental and full English was a great experience, beautiful spread.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good value and good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near seafront and not far from the station Breakfast was very good. Wide choice of both cereals fruits yoghurt etc and and freshly cooked choice of hot breakfast Also could borrow dvds. Nice touch having sweets, drinks, crisps and honesty box

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed wasn’t very comfortable, quite a noisy street, also didn’t realise it was a guest house and not a hotel.

    lovely place, staff were great, i loved the honesty bar. plenty of parking, 10 minute walk into town and 2 minute walk to the beach, breakfast was really nice. We were put in the ground floor room as it was the biggest room with the biggest bed but we asked to be moved as didn’t like the thought of the all the foot traffic getting down for breakfast early and all the street noise. they moved us with no hassle, showed us the other two rooms they had and gave us the choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommended. Will book again next time in Eastbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable Nicely decorated Excellent breakfast Nice welcome offered cup of tea in lounge on arrival. Parking 1€ a day 😁 Cosy rooms Lots of tea/coffee/biscuits in room Honestly bar in lounge crisp/ice cream drinks etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable - would recommend to friends and use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little warm in my room. BUT I did have bad cold and temperature !

    Wonderful breakfast choice better than lots of bigger hotels. Nothing too much trouble. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Ideally located small hotel close to town, restaurants, bars, theatres and seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Requested large bed and that's what we got, with clean, crisp bed linen. Excellent breakfast to meet all requirements. Provision of a parking permit for street parking outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and pleasant stay in a very good small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy room, Staff were pleasant and professional. Close to all local events and amenities. Breakfast was out of this world and such a varied selection. A very pleasant place to stay and would recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    A great location with very good staff and good add on facilities. Let itself down with the basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tired . We were in the Ist floor superior room. Headboard was worn, shower heads were broken, Duvet cover was worn. Cushions past their best. The room suffers from lack of ventilation

    The room facilities were good with tea , coffee , specialist coffee and fruit when you arrived Very good size room The Manager was very good Breakfast was excellent !!! Honesty bar was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    I would stay here anytime, it was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout time could of been a little later!

    I didn’t expect it to be as nice as it was for the price! To have breakfast included in the price was amazing! Breakfast was lovely and had a wide selection to choose from! The bed was massive and very comfortable! Considering we were on the ground and it was a weekend you couldn’t hear any noise from outside! The staff were lovely and spoke to my niece about the show we watched! If I was to stay in Eastbourne again I’d definitely be staying here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel and staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best selection of fresh fruits at breakfast I’ve ever seen, lovely cooked breakfast, Excellent duty manager, made me breakfast after I arrived back from work late, would recommend to all my friends

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more fresh air in the rooms and more attention to dust especially on window ledged. our bathroom had a fantastic powerful shower but the cubicle was far too small for such power. had to open door to turn on shower which then shot water over the outside floor. more sensible to have walk in shower with such a powerful shower head.

    First room very basic up graded at a cost to very spacious comfortable room with very comfy beds

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Mowbray traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: