Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mug House Inn 4 stars

Severnside North, Bewdley, DY12 2EE, United Kingdom

#3 of 9 hotels in Bewdley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I had really good stay, the staff were friendly and always helpful and nothing was to small to sort out. Location was perfect and cant be bettered. Overall a would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was spacious and comfortable with an excellent view of the river. Breakfast and evening meal were delicious in the main dining room. Staff very friendly bar well organised even though it was very busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was our room was up 2 flights of stairs, but we were informed to just let them know next time, a ground floor room would be sorted. With arthritis & a few ciders (!) not ideal for myself, however the view of the river from our room was lovely.

    A warm welcome. Our room was spotless, the staff were excellent. Dinner was delicious. Breakfast, large portions with a good variety of choice. I honestly don’t know how they do it for the very reasonable cost. Beautiful riverside setting. We went to celebrate my husband’s birthday & the pub had a cider and beef festival which was the icing on the cake. I would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady taking the breakfast order stank of stale cigarettes. Slumped onto the chair next to me and asked for my order. She didnt write the correct order down and hence came up wrong. She served my toast using her fingers, with very long painted finger nails, and said "excuse fingers, they are clean!" Enough to put you off your breakfast. Shame, because everything else was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was not as clean as it should have been and rather shabby in places.It was just the attention to detail; broken lampshades that need replacing, curtains hanging off the track and hooks,a broken bathroom blind. Also preferable to have pillowcase protecters on the pillows as well as a pillowcase. But rectifying these small issues would make a vast improvement to the overall stay and warrant a better review for the room. Despite these small oversights in the room it is still a gem of a place and would definatly recommend it.

    Location,location,location.... Next to the River Severn and Bewdley is lovely Georgian Town with a lovely park and museum. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and really reasonabley priced for the quality of produce/ingredients used .The lunch time menu is amazing added to which the bar has an extensive gin selection. We were able to sit in the sunshine by the riverside for lunch, superb !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    GREAT BREAKFAST,FRIENDLY STAFF,GOOD POSITION BY THE RIVER.OUR FRIENDS HAD THE DOWNSTAIRS COTTAGE WHICH WAS IDEAL FOR THEM AS THERE WERE A FEW STAIRS TO OUR ROOM AT THE TOP.REALLY PLEASED WITH OUR CHOICE OF ACCOMODATION

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was not very good, but given all else, no real problem at all

    Wonderful period Hotel, Inn. Location on the river. Excellent atmosphere, food. Rooms are outstanding and individually themed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not very good couldn’t access in our room

    Staff welcoming meals in the restaurant were excellent. View from the room outstanding. Would recommend to friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Plastic toilet seat that moved and could not seem to be fixed in Daffodil Room 2. Towel rail in bathroom needs fixing to stop pole falling out in Daffodil Room 3. Sealant round the bath/shower area needed replacing in Daffodil Room 4. Curtains could have been of a better quality material in Daffodil Room and Cottage Room 2. 5. Instructions required for operation of shower in Cottage Rooms 2 & 3.

    Liked the quirky rooms, and they had everything required (albeit no phone).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in local car park not ideal, particularly if no spaces available - but no alternative given the location at river's edge. Not thrilled with having to jam magazine in door of en suite to hold it closed!

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely spot overlooking the river. Quirky, interesting building. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath was extremely difficult to regulate both in flow and temperature. It would have been useful to have had meals available on Sunday evening but understand that the pub is very busy on that day and does serve up until 5pm.

    The room was spacious and very comfortable and the location overlooking the river made for a very pleasant outlook. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the food very much. We would certainly consider staying here again if in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaner. The sofa was very old and tired. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable. The floor of the room sloped, therefore so did the bed! Also the sliding bathroom door had no lock or catch and occasionally slid open of its own accord. Thank goodness for humour! Breakfast is quite late at weekends and no one told us, so we came down way too early. By the time we had eaten there was no time to look at the town before we needed to head home.

    The hotel location is excellent, right by the river. Great views. Lots of swans and other bird life. Room was a good size. The building is old and quirky and has been imaginatively updated. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good menu and our food was delicious. It was nice to have a fridge with fresh milk in our room. Parking was in a local car park courtesy of a free pass from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to connect to WiFi. An earlier breakfast (9 to 10:30 on Sunday) would have been better for us.

    Good breakfast and restaurant. Although there was no car parking on the premises there is a public CP very nearby which was used overnight and appeared very safe. A 10 minute walk from the SVR station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised that no food available on Easter Sunday evening Got great fish and chips next door!

    Lovely old room overlooking the river Maybe could have been a bit cleaner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor shower facility, dusty shelves and sills, lovely room in appearance but in need of some upgrading.

    Friendly staff. Good restaurant and bar facilities, excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is not very good, and doesn't reach to the top floor where our room was. The bed in Apple Blossom is a bit strange, with a hard white leather surround. The metal milk jugs in the dining room could really do with a thorough clean; traces of old milk round the spout every day!

    Great location right by the river. Warm welcome. Excellent meal at the hotel's restaurant the first night, and breakfast choices are very good and well prepared. Having tea/coffee, with fresh milk and water in the fridge every day, is a lovely touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    A very warm welcome on my arrival. A lovely real ale pub serving excellent beers. I tried the HPA which was spot on. My room was clean and tidy and furnished to a modern standard. Complimentary fresh milk and bottled water in the small fridge which I thought was a nice touch. Breakfast was of good quality but no black pudding as promised (tut). Friendly staff in a convenient location with the main High Street just around the corner. I was very pleased and intend to return when the occasion arises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit of a problem but this is not the fault of the Mug house and they can give free parking badge for the car park which is a short walk from the hotel.

    Nice location by the river with a short walk into town where there is a good choice of pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    disappointed that on going to en suite room and using toilet in night -the fan kept us awake for almost an hour as it did not switch off

    food as aforementioned was so tasty- lovely home made food- great portions and lots of nice extras such as bubble and squeak for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff were very friendly and ready to give information about the town and what might be interesting to see. Took an interest in us as people and no request was too much. Homely and friendly bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed to hard for me that's all I can say bad bout it..

    Food excellent breakfast more than enough room great size pub cosy with log fire great atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is like home from home. Drew, the owner and all the staff are friendly, helpful and they have a great restaurant. Breakfast has gotta be one of the best in the country.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft, room was too cold.

    The location is great with fantastic views over the Severn River. Parking is really just 1 min walk but you should first drive by the hotel, leave the luggage and get the free-parking ticket. Room was huge with a decent sized desk, good wifi and even a sofa in front of a TV with freeview and DVD player (no dvds available). Breakfast is made to order and cooked really well. The property has it's style and is well kept, definitely worth the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast waitress dropped a piece of toast on the floor, took it back to the kitchen and returned to give us the same piece of toast (it was cut in such a manner that it unmistakenly matched the other half).

    Lovely setting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Bathroom although large was a poor layout with not have enough shelving for toiletries. the local council sweep the road very early with a mechanical sweeper which passed outside our room lights flashing.

    Helpful staff. Large tasty substantial breakfast. The room had a fridge which was very useful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather 😜

    Rooms very clean and comfy. All amenities available. Lovely and warm and cozy after a cold day out walking. Food was beautiful and so was breakfast. Staff are very pleasant, polite and a credit to the mug inn owners.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should add a map to the (very detailed) directions about accessing the hotel and parking which they send by email.

    Fantastic location for visit to Bewdley - easy access to all attractions, right at the Severn river with fantastic view from the room. Very easy access by car with free parking. Great fancy food choice in restaurant and tasty breakfast. The room was very big and comfortable with nice selection of drinks and cookies - I even had my private staircase! Sleeping next to ducks and swans gives an extra touch, highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower it was red hot one minute the it go could the next min and then worm the next minute

    I love the room and the place and friendly staff and helpful and I would recommend the place to anyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower it was cold one minute then red hot the next and the just worm the next and about it

    I loved the room and and the place I sayed and friendly staff and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 3 rooms, and hotel asked if we would like to have the cottage next to the pub which was lovely. All 3 rooms are big and comfortable. Staff very helpful, and breakfast was so big we couldn't eat it all. Chef even sent out extra toast without asking. Will definitely make a return visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a birthday celebration close to nothing the management could do ,only apologies,bit of loud music!

    The "Rose" room was excellent,clean,tea,coffee making facilities a superb bed,nice view over the river Severn,would have liked to use the Angry chef,restaurant but was fully booked (speaks for itself ),all around very nice only one night stay .The staff were very pleasant,very nice experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a well kept room it came with a 4 Poster bed and the rooms style was roses hence its name rose room it was clean and tidy it had a very nice leather sofa a nice sizes bathroom with a shower over a bath and news over the river, the restaurant was of a good quality and the bar was a lively place as it says NO Children as ours are in there 20s I assume welcome but its for grown ups !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a couple of hundred metres away in public car park but still easy enough to locate.

    Great room lovely view of the river, Evening meal was great, breakfast extremely tasty and filling. Great selection of drinks and snacks at the pub, really enjoyable trip. Wifi was fast enough for business work.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much clutter. There is design and then there is kitsch. The Mug House does not need all the 'stuff' it is packed with, including the over-presentation of meals. It is a wonderful place and has the ability to stand alone without all the junk.

    Wonderful old building sympathetically restored and maintained, good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information that our room was at the top,of the building up three flights of stairs, not a problem for us.

    Superb breakfast,,excellent presentation .beautiful walks by the river on stepping out of the door. Would have been useful to,know you could get a free parking permit for the pubic car park which is very near to the Mug House before we had paid

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast poached eggs were hard and the toast slightly burnt. Hot milk with the coffee would have been preferable but I could have asked for that and I didn't so my fault. Didn't like seeing live lobsters in a tank whilst eating my breakfast....that's a personal thing I object to seeing lobsters in tanks in restaurants anywhere. Which is why we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, although this is not a criticism of the restaurant itself but merely my personal feelings.

    Mattress was wonderfully comfy. Windows opened wide so marvellous view over the river and lots of fresh air. Room very spacious and light and airy. Staff very friendly, I didn't have the cash for the parking permit to hand but was given the permit anyway several hours before we actually checked in. That kind of trust goes a long way and we really appreciated it. Breakfast quality was good overall, especially like the baked beans coming in a separate jug.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first evening, I spoke to the pub manager, as there was a persistent noise that sounded like some one loudly hoovering. It was in fact the heater in the hallway (attached to the main wall of our room) thrumming intermittently on and off. This was approx 8pm (we'd had enough after two hours) and the manager, though somewhat apologetic, looked at his watch as if to say, 'what do you want me to do?' and told me it was too late to 'get someone in' which was not what I was asking or expecting. He came with me to the hallway and turned off the heater. This was ok for us but was only a partial solution, as it resulted in no heating for the other guests in the block. My wife was in fact too warm and the room's freestanding fan was broken (which I also mentioned to the manager-it was neither removed nor replaced). Fortunately there was a wee plastic one which was functional. We found waste food (two fruit pieces) in the fridge. and a shoe box in the wardrobe. He did say he would speak to his cleaners. The room, though roomy and pleasant, had marks on the walls and a fair old crack in the ceiling. The toilet seat, though present, was too small for the loo it sat on. It was loose too. Best bit was next day at breakfast. The previously polite member of staff was abrupt and distant. She got my wife's order wrong for the second time in two consecutive days. The other lady, we suspect the cleaner, was polite but got an ear full off the first member of staff when instructed to put our vacated room to a twin (see above) and give it a 'thorough' clean. We felt distinctly uncomfortable the whole time. The setting was pleasant but ultimately too noisy. Creaky floorboards upstairs and vans driving by or parking outside our cottage room. At breakfast we sat through the pub's beer delivery rattling by......

    The bed though was in fact two singles put together, was comfy. The shower was a rainfall type, which was nice. The riverside view was lovely. The breakfast was delicious-and huge. The place was central for town. Listening to the ducks was relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Superb. Have stayed in many hotels over the past few years and will not find better, I'm sure. Will go back if in that area again. Staff were lovely, food was gorgeous, room overlooking Severn really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    As an OAP I found the bed in Apple Blossom far too low. However I did manage to get out of it and have been assured by staff that if we visit again all the other beds are higher.

    The informal cheerful atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge size of some of the meals was off putting!

    Beautiful building, river view idyllic. The breakfast choice was excellent and the staff really friendly and helpful. When an issue arose ( faulty shower) it was dealt with promptly - the staff really are great here

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband kept awake by people talking very loudly at length in the early hours outside our window by the riverside.

    View over the river, nice room with all you needed for a relaxed informal, comfortable stay. The jewel was the food in the restaurant which was plentiful and very good both each morning for breakfast and we ate dinner twice. Recommend booking a table. Compliments to the chef. Jo serving in the evening was very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little difficult as had to wait for a parking space, was free parking from the mug house but the town needs more parking....

    Well totally amazed the cottage 1 was amazing.....A wet room....Private garden......queen size bed......what a stay....Its really impressed me and my partner......Had to leave at 6am for work, We have a breakfast case with salmon, orange juice cereals....WOW what a fantastic location private garden....front door straight out at the river and the views was amazing. will be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a good clean. Shower curtains stained at bottom a lot. Around shower dirty. Lots of noise for upstairs rooms.

    Pub and staff were lovely. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and extremely enthusiastic staff in a splendid riverside location. Brilliant breakfast with a good choice and super facilities. Would definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet could have been cleaner, the bathroom door was a little stiff. Also the two flights of stairs could have been a problem, but we are quite fit for our ages (82 and 75). The weather was extremely hot and the lack of air conditioning would have been intolerable but two fans were provided which helped make it just bearable.

    The full English breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly. Location on the river stunning. The bedroom was large and little extras such as tea/coffee facilities, fridge, view from room were very much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    was about the hottest day of the year 35 degrees plus - so larger fan maybe!!

    The Most amazing location on the river and the breakfast to die for. So very friendly too and authentic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Queueing at the bar for reception. The narrow staircase [but it goes with the historical property]. The lack of an electric shaver point. The breakfast staff clearly not happy with the early shift.

    The spacious bedroom with a view over the river. Beds that were not brick hard. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub was very busy therefore there was nowhere to sit even though we were staying at the pub. There was no lounge facility for guests

    Good location but no parking facility on site. Food was good. Room was comfortable particularly the bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to see on Bewdley after a day or 2. Shower in cottage 3 was a wet room style in a small space, so water ended up everywhere and needed cleaning up with a towel every use

    The view from the room was amazing. The pub served very good ales and had a welcoming atmosphere. The included breakfast was fabulous, the salmon was our favourite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dark and old fashioned. It was located on the ground floor of an adjoining cottage so although the window was overlooking the river, for privacy it was necessary to keep the net curtains drawn.

    The location was good, on the river. The bed was large and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room décor was a little tired. It would have been nice to have had the offer of more tea/coffee and toast at breakfast.

    The bedroom was large and comfortable even though it had squeaky floorboards and uneven floors and had a lovely view of the river. The staff were all friendly and the food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location on riverside, cosy atmosphere, large comfortable room with 4 poster bed. Friendly staff and good food. Nice part of the world.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely place, very welcoming staff and nice locals. The Angry Chef restaurant serves fantastic foods and the bar has great ales and a huge selection of gins.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not served until 9.00am on Saturday/Sunday which is much too late for me. But the option (which I took) is a continental breakfast in the room, served in a lovely hamper! That was excellent so no complaints in the end. Booking.com website should make this clear though. Had restaurant breakfast Monday morning which was excellent.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Lovely room in the attached annexe. Proper local pub feel free to the bar. Perfect riverside location. Excellent restaurant for evening meal and breakfast (but see my negatives re the breakfast!). Overall highly recommended and I'd return like a shot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dispensers in the bathroom were almost all empty and I had to get into the bath to reach some soap which could not be moved from over the bath. Quilt was only as wide as the bed and there was no overhang which is ok in the summer but may be a little cold in the winter. Staff very helpful and friendly and the food and staff in the restaurant are very good

    Good location, parking on a car park not too far away, but you need to get your parking pass from the B & B so that you do not have to pay. Good breakfast, plenty (a little too much for me) to eat, choice of cooked or fruit, cereals and yoghurt etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My partner wasn't overly keen on the big spider in the stairwell - he met with an unfortunate demise! You really, really need to know about turning (as if entering the Tesco car park) after crossing the bridge, in order to discover the way down to the river's edge and the way to your destination.

    The friendlessness of the staff was more than enough to make up for the little quirks of the ageing (sash) windows which we struggled to close on our own, and the blinds in the bathroom that seemed to be missing the draw cord! Large rooms. Excellent location, the pub having many traditional beers on tap. The breakfast was excellent. Great place to visit and use as a base for the surrounding area. Will most likely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mug House was very clean and very comfortable, great view from Cottage Room 3, the breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was to die for, shame I couldn't finish it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the furniture and appliances in the room had seen better days, with bits missing off the legs so were even more wobbly than the sloping floor made them, but didn't really affect anything overall.

    We loved the quirkiness of the property with all the sloping floors and low ceilings and door openings. The bed although low down was lovely and comfortable once in it and the view from the front window over the river was lovely, looking out over the Rowing Club. The evening meals we had were very nice and all the staff were very friendly. Overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was perfect. Car parking was good. Had to wait about 20 mins.

    The room was lovely and clean. Loved the sloping room very quirky. The view from window was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building on the edge of the riverside. Good food, friendly bar with locals and staff. Just a really nice place to stay. We will definitely book again 👍😁

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glass table at the end of the bed, even though I had been warned, got my shin!

    Friendly welcome, helpful with regards sorting parking permit, comfy bed and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small issue but the toilet seat was too small for the toilet

    Cosy room well equipped especially liked the fridge which contained fresh milk and several bottles of mineral water

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was beautiful the amount of stairs was too much

    We stayed in Cottage 3 it was amazing home from home and the views from the window was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a little 'tired', bed linen ripped Breakfast was average, I was so disappointed as I had high hopes that breakfast would be fabulous! We had lunch here too which was very good

    Fabulous location right on the riverside in the centre of town

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed 1 night as we were fishing the river the following day. Great place to stay over looking the Severn. As we were getting up and leaving before breakfast started the host made us sandwiches to take with us which was a lovely gesture. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Will stay again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful pub overlooking river. Good sized room, comfy bed and a good bar downstairs. Free parking in nearby car-park (but you need to collect parking pass from pub first)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast! Extremely small slice of bacon which was very fatty, sausage tasted "off", toast was rock hard and egg looked like it had been cooked in old fat/grease as all the edges were brown! This was the fourth time we had stayed here and previously the breakfasts had always been excellent so I'm hoping this was a one off!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We changed rooms with absolutely no problem as the double bed was far too soft. Our second bed was much firmer.

    We thoroughly enjoy staying at the Mugs Inn, we have stayed before and will return in the not too distant future.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Rose Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Angry chef must've been on one of his bad days as breakfast was poor. The boiled mushrooms tasted of vinegar, no doubt in the same pan as my poached egg. Tables were sticky and cutlery could've been cleaner.

    Room was quite nice and the bed very comfy. B&B staff were very nice too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some elements stating to show need of work. Still great though and I will return.

    A great location in the town. Pub fantastic and staff really friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike - will visit again and will recommend to friends and family.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was beautiful and very convenient. Food was superb. Voucher for car park was appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit of an old fashioned place so don't expect a modern chic B&B. Breakfast wasn't that great but again, it was fine.

    Bed was super comfy and hot chocolate was delicious!! Right on the river so wonderful view and sound of birds. Staff were super accomodating and lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diner was not as good as it looked on the menu!!

    Wonderful location and accommodation, Angry Chief restaurant could do with updating and making more of.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was beautiful right by the river. We had two rooms and both were comfortable and looked out over the river. The inn has a good menu. The cooked breakfast in the morning was great and there was a lot of choice. Lisa who served us in the morning was lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best location next to the river 5 min walk to steam railway. pubs galore.be sure to book an evening meal fixed price for 3 courses excellent value.breakfast full English all freshly cooked to order.we stopped in the annex which was very big with a bed to match our room over looked the river beautiful weather too

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: