Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Ned

Reviews of The Ned 5 stars

Poultry 27, City of London, London, EC2R 8AJ, United Kingdom

#37 of 1,030 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2255 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have expected breakfast to ne included for the price we paid

    Nice room convenient location excellent choice of restaurants very helpful staff Also corridoors very noidy tbroughout the night with other guests returning

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    7.9
    Multi eateries and bars within you can easily stay in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought for 500 per night the room was decidingly average but functional and clean

    Multi eateries and bars within you can easily stay in the hotel hotel for the night it’s bustling.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Amazing experience loved listening to the jazz in the open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beware though if you book through a 3rd party agent & not direct with the hotel you are not automatically allowed access to the club areas including the vault, this is an additional £20 p/person you would pay upon check in as long as there is availability at the hotel.

    Amazing experience loved listening to the jazz in the open planned restaurant/ bar area and feeling part of the buzz of the hotel! Reminded me of the Roxy in New York but on a bigger scale! Felt like we were walking back in time, the rooms were well equipped with every amenity you could think of with luscious cowshed products! The vault club was great too with some good DJs and waiters ordering drinks for you so no visit to the bar required even when on the dance floor! upstairs stays open until late with atmosphere still buzzing so a great stop for a late night eat after visiting the club!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    5.8
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not greeted at reception. Was given a disabled room. I have stayed at many of the London hotels and this wasn’t the same experience. Not impressed that breakfast wasn’t included and it wasn’t a continental buffet as in most hotels. Both myself and my partner are over 6 foot the bed in our room was far to small and uncomfortable. This also hasn’t happened in any other hotel we have stayed in.

    Loved the live music.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.6
    We cannot wait to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was exceptional. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and felt that we were looked after so well. All staff we encountered were friendly and kind. Food was incredible!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant hotel and so much choice to eat and drink, we would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    No be totally honest - we could not fault our stay at all as we loved it, apart from at the bar, if you do not specify your drink to be a single then you are automatically given a double! I have not experienced this anywhere else before. Normally if you would like a double gin and tonic you would ask for one not the other way around.

    We were going to a function nearby so thought we would stay the night locally. I saw The Ned was nearby and had never been before. It was such a pleasant surprise, we loved it!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.6
    Check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I have regarding the property relates to check in. We were newly weds on check in and as we were lucky enough to receive cash for wedding presents we chose to cover all costs with cash as let's say cards had been a little stretched the week before! The property would not allow me to check in until I produced a card with the full amount available. I didn't have this however offered to pay in full upfront aswel as leave cash for security incidental costs. They would not allow this. Myself and my husband were forced to sit in reception for 2 hours until a friend arrived to put her card up for the cost. This put quite a dampner on the whole experience as we felt as if we were left there like a spectacle for staff and passers by.

    Once check in was sorted, everything that followed was amazing, the steakhouse, the bars etc.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    10
    The best hotel main floor lobby (band and energy) bars and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The best hotel main floor lobby (band and energy) bars and restaurants combination, along with the service, of any hotel I've ever stayed!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.2
    International Rugby @ Twickers, atmospheric Jazz, and perfect accommodation, what’s not to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Club auto membership and associated privileges being withdrawn from staying guest, and now has to be purchased separately. Please review !

    Everything, other than .........

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    7.9
    Everything, other than .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Devastated that you now have to become a ‘Club member’ to use the facilities that were free to guests on our previous visits ........ please look again at this, and reconsider Ned.

    Everything, other than .........

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    Magic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent the whole time commenting how excellent the staff were. The front of house on the rooftop (didn’t get his name, kindof mid-thirties, tall?) was absolutely fantastic! Adored our stay. Will be back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.2
    Pure Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the grand look of The Ned. Food and service are great and the rooms look amazing. My favourite bit is the live music throughout the day and evening as well as the luxurious pool.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    10/10. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Neds Club/Lounge downstairs - unfortunately some of the club members/users/guest weren't very friendly, and gave an air of elitism which was unfortunate. The front of house for Neds Lounge/club however were wonderful and friendly though. You cant do much about fellow guests though which is a shame! I wouldn't use the lounge/club again - we much preferred the main public bar which had a better atmosphere, music and was great for people watching!

    The Ned is amazing. We were treated so well. the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. We received a number of extra touches as the trip was a surprise for my friends birthday and this 'going the extra mile' meant so much. The scrambled eggs are amazing! Location excellent for the tube

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    7.5
    Bring your earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ground floor food and beverage area, which is huge and offers a range of different restaurants and bars all within one large open space (sounds like a good idea) is uncomfortable due to the extreme noise levels. All hard surfaces with many patrons shouting to be heard by each other, the decibel level is similar to that of a building site. We attempted to sit for a drink but I could not hear the other person I was with, and we therefore left and went instead to another less noisy venue both for drinks and for dinner. Shame, because it is a good idea at the Ned, which is flawed by lack of attention to this drawback. There was also a Tom Petty tribute band planning from a central bandstand in the lobby, which only added to the din. Arriving back to the hotel around midnight, the noise was still as loud, with many people having chosen this as a late night drinking venue. I would suggest consideration be given to introducing some noise reduction measures including baffles and soft flooring and furnishings might help. Also, in the bedroom, much attention is paid to selling products for taking home to the guest, including toiletries, minibar items, even bedding etc. This, while ok, lends the air that this hotel is anxious to part the guest with as much additional money as possible, having already paid a fairly stiff price for the privilege of staying.

    The bedroom is fitted and decorated in a period style, 1940s I think... Attractive, but with design featuring above comfort. The period bathroom fixtures and fittings are attractive but things do not fall to hand the way one would expect in a newly built hotel in this category. The receptionist was very friendly and receptive to guest feedback. Bedroom was quiet, despite lots of noise from the ground floor. Everything clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    8.8
    For those who like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not the impression, that the concierge is a pro. In our room, there was no chance to hang our coats to. The mirror in the bathroom is too far away which makes make-up and lens application of lenses difficult. Impossible to get a drink on Sunday 11:50 p.m. Friday/Saturday really noisy in all restaurants.

    The entrance hall and style is really impressive, the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    8.8
    Highly professional and trained staff, beautiful hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the club downstairs did not want to let us in at first because they claimed we don’t have access with booking, which is not true, It was not polite of them to not believe what I’m saying and checking if I’m telling the truth, that does not feel welcoming- they let us in in the end, but complicating was unnecessary

    Highly professional and trained staff, beautiful hotel and rooms, very comfortable and perfect down to the last detail, great vibe in the lobby, cool spot to stay at

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    9.2
    All the soap available and the warm tiled floor.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place available to sit and work downstairs. I found this very difficult. A big focus on food without a work and collaborative space.

    All the soap available and the warm tiled floor. The bed was heaven

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.9
    Great ambience, entertaining hotel, will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa not included in the rate that at 300 GBP per day is not cheap it should be included; twin bed available only upon request

    Amazing location, Great choice of breakfast and drinks, Spa even if not used, ambience, band playing every night, people, staff at the Millie's

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    9.6
    Great atmosphere when you enter the hotel - eight...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy about having to pay extra to access other areas of the hotel.

    Great atmosphere when you enter the hotel - eight restaurants, music, lots of people. The room was small but well equipped and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    A fantastic experience... great staff, fabulous cocktails, wonderful food and amazing rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - large
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our experience at the Ned was first class... from the moment we checked in until we departed, we had a fantastic time! I was keen to see what all the fuss was about having heard such great reviews. I'm pleased to say it exceeded our expectations. The whole place is brilliant, from reception, to the bar, the restaurants, spa and private members club in the vault. There was a lively, fun, stylish and buzzy atmosphere throughout. The decor is stunning and the rooms amazing (including the huge array of pampering Cowshed products). The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. As you'd expect in a 5 star London hotel the selection of food and drinks was pretty impressive! We've stayed in many of London's top hotels, but this was without doubt one of the best! We'll definitely be back! Can't recommend it highly enough! :-)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely weekend made all the special by our sons surprises it was a lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t as luxurious as we expected even though we paid for a cosy room we thought every room would be lovely so we were disappointed

    The staff were so lovely especially a lady called Marion frodeau who helped my son arrange special surprises for us thank you Marion hope to see you again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    hotel was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff constantly remind us that we had booked with Bookings.com - my son in law went to use the gym facility and was told it was a memebers club so he was not entitled to enter as he was with bookings.com and and they do not want the likes of peolple like him just walking in - but then were happy for him to pay for a 24 hour pass to use facilities. we found the hotels comments refering to people like us that use bookings.com - as if we were lower class citizens

    hotel was lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was much larger than we expected.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting was a bit dingy.....but we are both over 50 so we do prefer brighter lighting for reading and general day to day tasks. Staff in rooftop bar were a bit scruffy. Disappointing in a 5* hotel.

    The room was much larger than we expected. Really comfortable. An amazing selection of Cowshed products in the bathroom. Fab! Breakfast was really good too and the service in restaurant was impeccable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    I would happily return and enjoy the hotel again. It is a place one remembers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no coffee shop and no place to get a simple breakfast. I came to the hotel with the expectation that I might have a simple cup of coffee. As a guest I would have liked that. There were so many outsiders at the restaurants that I could not find a seat. I highly recommend a simple coffee shop or restaurant reserved for guests somewhere other than the lobby. It is a wonderful hotel however it makes absolutely no sense that a guest has to fight for space to sit for a cup of coffee or a simple pot of tea.

    The quality of the room. The beauty products provided were astonishingly varied and good. The shower was wonderful. The towels were extra large.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay, warm and welcoming, sad we werent able to experience the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very disappointed that booking the Ned through booking.com means that you don't have access to the spa/ swimming facilities. This was a stay for our anniversary and the Ned was aware and even though i overlooked this detail on booking.com it would have been a lovely gesture of the Ned to allow us access to the pool

    Overall was very welcoming and the breakfast delivered to the room was amazing. Room details from the designed light switches to the small touches of accessories and the cake to celebrate our anniversary on arrival

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel, with lots of goodies, although you have to pay for them, but well comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved all of it, sorry!

    Everything, we stayed here the year before and it was just as good. Just wish this time we could have gone to the rooftop, The Ned changed their criteria. The atmosphere here is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very despointed. 5 stars delux prices with service of 2 stars. The Monday night show opens the gates to everyone with zero door policy-makes Camden Town feel like the Dorchester.the stuff is rude and annoyed with every guest. If the hotel considers itself as a music place than at least have a proper sound system-this is a joke. most over rated hotel I have ever been to.

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.0
    Disappointing in some respects but excellent in others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with plumbing - the toilet flush was temperamental. Also we had a lot of water noise from upstairs when the toilet was flushed or the people took a shower - not what we would expect from a hotel of this category and price. We did complain on our second day but nothing was resolved.

    Location, uniqueness, history.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautifully decorated rooms, fantastic range of organic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the rates charged, it’s offensive to be refused access to the roof top terrace on the pretext that it is for members only.

    Beautifully decorated rooms, fantastic range of organic personal care products in your bathroom, excellent Porter service and a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Very upbeat, inviting vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - large
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wasn't so keen on the retro room interior and found the lighting terribly dark, particularly the bathrooms.

    Very upbeat, inviting vibe. Alway action and entertaiment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warning - if you book via booking.com your stay does not include access to the Ned Club, you need to pay extra at the hotel. Next time I'll be booking direct with the hotel.

    Really nice hotel in City of London.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel, the room is stunning and the bed is so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was annoyed that I booked this in March for a stay in September hoping for good weather (which it was) and knowing there was the rooftop pool as advertised at the time of booking, but on check in was told it’s for members only! Not very good when it’s advertised at the time of booking. Apparently the policy was changed in April!

    Amazing hotel, the room is stunning and the bed is so comfortable! The added touches like the toiletries and gorgeous mini bar and the turn down service were lovely!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main bar area / reception unfortunately resembled a nightclub in full swing at 7pm. Stayed that way and noisily so until 1am. Not much help with parking.

    Fantastic food selection and very good room service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Unexpected, unusual in the most fascinating way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to purchase an entrance “ticket” to the spa facility in addition of your treatment. Nonetheless it’s still an amazing property

    Live jazz at the lobby, amazing amenities in the room, the whole art deco interior .. it all felt like being in The Great Gatsby movie !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    2.9
    The food quality at the restaurants was good, although, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stairwell Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff don’t care for their guest at all and have no customer service sense. You think you are entering a nightclub not a hotel with the bouncers standing and questioning who you are and what are you doing here.There was no proper lobby, it was like a cheap shopping mall food court entrance from the 80’s. The whole hotel smell of kitchen including the rooms.Too busy place for any guest to relax, because of the other customer who comes to use the restaurant and bar facilities. They had sex protection in the bathroom, this tells you the kind of hotel they are and what type of guest the host. I would happily say it is the worst 5 star hotel in London. I did not stay long and left to the Goring hotel. A hotel which they can learn something from when it comes to customer service. I will never go back their again. Don’t waist your time or money on this hotel, if you want a good advise. Go to Soho, ham-yard or the goring, by far better than this cheap hotel.

    The food quality at the restaurants was good, although, we only had breakfast, because it is always busy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Had to pay £20 each so that we could enter the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay £20 each so that we could enter the bar/lounge downstairs (Vault area) - ? I did not see what was so special or what warranted the £20 fee ? It’s just a bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Amazing hotel! Unfortunately staff care more about private club members than guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t expect to be asked to pay $25 per person to use the pool when I’ve paid over $300 for a hotel stay. Staff don’t care about hotel guests - everything is focused on private members club.

    Amazing hotel. Excellent refurbishment. Great facilities. Awesome place. Great music. And restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Luxury night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - large
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water unless you paid £4 a bottle from the mini bar. Only one bath robe. But the rest was lovely

    Lovely room staff excellent. Expensive but never mind. Good breakfast in bed. Our wedding anniversary and cake a lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice treat. Worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper lighting or mirror in the room to do make up. Not being allowed in the pool considering I was a hotel guest

    The unique hotel lots of lovely amenities in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    I have fallen in love with the Ned and its breathtaking architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it’s located in the City, some taxis can’t get close to the area before 7pm

    Great choice of restaurants with live music, clean and comfy room, the view from the roof bar was fabulous and my seven year old niece enjoyed the swim in the upstairs pool followed by a delicious breakfast in the (roof) beautiful restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, a shame about being viewed as a second class citizen because you haven't booked direct!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customers booking through booking.com are not necessarily able to access some very important features of the hotel, namely the iconic rooftop terrace and the leisure facilities in the lower levels and the cool Vault bar. I was refused booking breakfast at the rooftop terrace and had to pay extra for the facilities on the lower levels because I had not booked direct with the hotel. I suggest everyone check the T&Cs of their booking before confirming to avoid embarrassment at the hotel reception!

    A wonderful and historic location, pleasant bedroom, plenty of bars and restaurants but your guests must be aware of some serious downsides of booking through your excellent website, see below

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A fantastic weekend City stay for anyone wanting to escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 gripes were the live music noise at 2330hrs and the roof-top bar. Fully understand the building being as fantastic as it is means that they can't change the structure such as windows to help with soundproofing etc however, the lack of pre-warning was the issue. Front desk were helpful dealing with this upon check out. Other minor was the roof-top bar. Service felt cold and distant and not as comprehensive, (we were asked to hurry up when taking a selfie with St. Pauls Cathedral in the background). We looked around and a group of people (clearly members who regularly access the bar) were having multiple pictures taken) which made us feel isolated. Unclear what the purpose the roof-top bar is apart from filing under "all the gear, no idea" and lacking soul. This feedback is certainly not representative of the rest of the Hotel.

    We've just visited for our first wedding anniversary. Reception staff were excellent. Small wait for check-in but a great welcome. Treatments were top notch. We had a couples massage and I enjoyed a cheeky beard trim. Service was friendly and relaxed. Tom the Barber was superb. My wife said was it was the best massage she'd ever had. I mailed the Hotel some weeks ago and they organised a beautiful dessert for the room with a note congratulating us. My wife was so happy. The room was superb. The attention to detail is probably the best I've seen from a Hotel of this size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Its nice but compared with the other standard of places we have stopped lacks that inclusive touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Ned doesn't make you feel inclusive when booking the hotel. After paying a decent price there are too many extra charges for clubs and restrictions on quiet drinking areas. When we arrived on Friday the main bar area was chaotic, a cacophony of noise and people just filling off the street. To get better value of their clubs with all the caveats, I would probably book a cheaper hotel nearby then use all the money you save on using the full Ned facilities.

    Rooms are lovely and toiletries. Very clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Lovely hotel but party with loud music thumping till early hours in the morning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel but beware when you book your room the price just includes your room you are not able to use the gym swimming pool or the vault restaurant these are all 'members only' We also requested a bath in our room but when we arrived we was told our room didn't have a bath and if we wanted a bath we would have to pay to up grade our room which we didn't do i had booked this stay 4 weeks prior enough time for them to see our notes and give us a room with a bath. We returned to our room around 10pm after an evening out to loud thumping music that went on till the early hours of the morning from our window you could see opposite flashing lights and balloons so clearly a party going on not really what you want to hear when you get back to the hotel room to relax! We made the staff aware on check out which they replied 'oh no i hope it didn't ruin your stay'

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Stylish Farewell to my Kiwi lover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! In fact my girlfriend and I are only miff because we forgot to visit the Vault during our stay.

    This maybe sound cheesey but the whole ambience of the evening did it for us, the music from the podium, the buzz of the crowd and the excellent waitress service, made our evening, but hey sharing the evening with the most beautiful women in the world made my evening anyway! Should also point out at the excellent collection of products in the bedroom, I was pushed at stopping my girlfriend piffering all of the cowshed products, until I pointed out these had to be paid for... Ned could you offer a mini gift set of the products, would make an excellent gift?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    great choice of restaurants
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    check-in and luggage service very slow. room - especially bathroom - was dirty and hallways need revamp. good 4 star but not 5 star quality

    great choice of restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The location, the styling, the restaurants & the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really quite upset that even though I had booked well in advance I didn’t receive the upgrade on the room & also that I wasn’t able to go to The Neds Club. It states that all of this should come under the room booking however, as I booked through booking.com I didn’t receive any of those perks. Quite annoying given it doesn’t state that anywhere & that I didn’t pay less money through booking.com. That sort of trick doesn’t seem befitting of such a beautiful hotel.

    The location, the styling, the restaurants & the rooms were fantastic! We had a great stay at the property & would definitely book again! However, see negative comments, as it could have been made extra special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Really great hotel, wide variety of restaurants/bars, unique rooftop area, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stairwell Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much of a place for kids - indoor pool only available for adults, limited time to use roof-top pool for kids - should have read the smallprint more carefully ...

    Restaurant was amazing - great live music every night - perfectly designed rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    No need to stay in the West end ,City is fun now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)The shower water and the sink water do not empty easily 2)the electric light switches are fiddly 3)really need a chest of drawers of some sort to place folded clothes for those stay several days 4) Although good ambiance in restaurants acoustics of hall are bad and cannot hear music. 5)this thing about needing to pay 20 pounds to use among other facilities the roof restaurant not positive.

    A)excellent staff and service B)location location location C)facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because we booked through booking.com we were not allowed to access the indoor pool and were not told this when checking in. Very disappointed!!!

    The Lobby!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    1920s glamour in central London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful and made check in easy. The location of the hotel is great with bank station being just outside. The facilities at the hotel were excellent. As soon as you walk in there was a buzz in the atmosphere with all the restaurants and bars. When returning from dinner outside the hotel there was a swing band performing and such a fun feel in the hotel. We used the spa and gym and both were so relaxing and had great facilities. Changing rooms were well equipped. We had a drink in the vault bar and which was very relaxed and staff went out of their way to make us the drinks we desired. Our room was spacious and bed was very comfortable. There was such lovely touches in the room with all the tolietries and well stocked mini bar. As we were celebrating my boyfriends birthday we had a cake delivered to the room at no extra cost which was a lovely touch. We loved our stay and felt thoroughly relaxed on our departure. We would definitely return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    it was overpriced and not up to expectation on all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we booked a medium room. when we arrived we were told we could not go on the roof terrace as we did not have a high enough graded room ? is this based on a class system like the titanic. if I was made aware before we would of purchased a suite

    it was overpriced and not up to expectation on all

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable the live music was a wonderful addition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had paid quite a lot of money for the stay and we we could not use the roof top pool, needs to be accessible for all patrons.

    Beautiful building with quality furnishings, fabulous ambience and wonderful service, the breakfast was 5 star.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Treated like leper's for having booked through booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff treated us like leper's for having booked through booking.com. It was mentioned several times with disdain. Consequently we would never stay at this hotel again. This ruined a very special occasion for us. Our excitement and high expectations, slowly turned to disappointment, but more significantly, overwhelming embarrassment.

    The Cowshed Spa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Must be the best place to stay in London right now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s all good!

    Fantastic! Awesome! Wonderful! Such a cool, great place, great staff - experienced, lovely, cheerful, knowledgeable. Sort of place you need to go back - and soon - because there is so much to see and do there - and made to feel so welcome. We will be going back and stay longer next time - soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    After staying in some of what I thought are the grandest and luxurious hotels in London The Ned really did take me by surprise it’s outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Neds dead baby. Neds dead
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Signage to lifts/stairs in the corridors is terrible ! - Restaurant constantly texting for credit card details for reservation despite concierge twice confirming that they weren't necessary as hotel already had them as resident (and had been given at booking weeks beforehand anyway) - None of the published prices include VAT so be prepared to pay 32% extra for everything after 12% service is also added

    rooms, food, pools, roof terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the design, the bars, the staff....EVERYTHING was perfect. We stayed for two nights to celebrate our anniversary and can not fault anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Quite a vibrant lobby scene.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was nice. It had all the amenities, but it was very far from the elevator. The decor was elegant, but looked quite dated. The floors in the hall creaked, leaving me with the unusual sense that the place was not well kept. (Absolutely not the case in every other sense. ). The place is an enigma. Regal and a bit posh, with a beautiful crowd. And then at times it seemed a bit worn.

    Quite a vibrant lobby scene. The live musicians were a real bonus. Overall the facilities had the feel of a landmark that has come back into vogue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    2.5
    Big disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - large
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel does not know if it is a bar/restaurant destination or a hotel. The service is appalling, and the staff don’t care. Don’t expect hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall, very pleasant. Beautiful hotel with fantastic facilities. Plenty of dining choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff in the roof top club area were a little unwelcoming to us as Hotel residents as opposed to club members

    Large comfortable and well appointed suite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Management is exceptional which made our stay particularly pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - large
    • Stayed 1 night

    No valet parking or parking of any kind. Fortunately we know our way around but it would be helpful if valet parking was available.

    The refurbishment of this iconic building is fantastic and a pleasure to see so much of the original retained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Expensive waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am afraid my stay at The Ned was nothing short of a waste of money and won't be happening again / recommended. I stayed at the Ned back in March and it was fantastic, hence why I booked it again for a weekend with my mother. However, from the moment we arrived until we checked out, it was a highly frustrating and uncomfortable visit. You asked for feedback on 'what's on offer at the hotel' which made me smile. There is absolutely nothing on offer for such an expensive hotel if you are not a 'Club Member' as I was told several times. Below I have highlighted what I tried to experience, and the reality. 1. Roof top cocktails - apparently the policy has changed and guests of the hotel are not permitted on the rooftop, only 'Club members' as the 'Club members' had complained there were too many guests... this is the main reason I booked the hotel. 2. Spa - I tried to book several treatments for myself and my guest but I'm not allowed access to the spa either - as above. I can pay an extra 20 GBP to use the pool etc. if I like though... hmmmm 3. The Vault - if I can't get a drink anywhere else (as the reception is loud and busy also with 'Club members') then let's try the Vault, another attraction for a guest. Nope, not allowed in there either. 4. OK, let's go to our room. I booked a disabled room as my mother is disabled. It's the last room in the building (useful when you can barely walk), the lift doesn't work and the rail used to take bags to the room is blocking the door. By the time we get to the room, my guest needs a rest. But NO, you can't rest in The Ned as there is a full blown pool party and band on all day and night that shakes the room it's that loud. 5. On the above point, this went on until past 12.15 even though we were told it would stop at 11.30.... The only benefit I had for all this money was a place to lay my head and I didn't even get that. 6.

    Great location and an interesting hotel as the history of the place is great. Cowshed products are nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    My first stay here and I would go back again, but price for the room was high.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was disappointing, rather dark and a lack of lights for working.

    Fantastic location and the indoor areas are incredible - it is Midland Bank's old banking hall. Superb range of bars and restaurants. Great bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfy bed, lovely looking room and bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some strange noises in the night, not sure where they were coming from. Bit noisy. Shower wets the whole bathroom floor when you use it, either because the drain is not big enough/in the wrong position or because there is no curtain/screen to stop it.

    Comfy bed, lovely looking room and bathroom. Free tea and coffee in room. Well-equipped bathroom. Very good room service menu.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    Deceiving 5 Star status
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked a 5 Star Hotel , on arrival we found we did not have access to the pool or gym . If we paid an extra 20% more on our price per day we could have access. This is totally deceiving. This hotel models itself on old establishment to get away from room and bath refurbishments which it is definitely in need of. Staying in 5 Stars worldwide I would not rate this in that category.

    The restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The Ned is a luxurious step back to Edwardian times - highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in was quite dark and the corridors reminded me a bit of the Hollywood Tower of Terror ride at Disney - but they are beautifully appointed if you like this style!

    Extremely comfortable beds, Cowshed toiletries are a delight, minibar is luxuriously different, towels and robes are super soft. Room service was excellent. I was upgraded (without even asking) from a Cosy Room to a Medium Room which was a really good size. Location in the City is second to none, right outside Bank tube station. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    A little disappointing when we arrived as the door people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Cosy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointing when we arrived as the door people failed to greet us and didn’t ask if we were checking in. We asked a member of the waiting staff where the reception was and she didn’t know! However we had a great experience, food, wine and atmosphere totally brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic facilities, food and amazing bank vault bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were completely disjointed, concierge x2 on x2 different occasions were rude as well as the receptionist. Breakfast staff didn’t communicate and left you wondering what was going on. This really put the whole experience backwards, massively disappointing considering the price paid for a weekend break is the same as a weeks holiday. We left thinking that it could be a truly amazing place, sadly the staff seem disorganised and really not on point. This drags it down from being one of the best in London to just average... This really could be in the top x3, sadly it’s miles away...

    Fantastic facilities, food and amazing bank vault bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Style over substance - looks great, staff lovely and friendly but operationally poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clear where to go to check in on arrival in the melee of the foyer. We were advised we could upgrade our room for a “small supplement” which turned out, when asked, to be £50 - this seemed more than “small”. Upgraded nonetheless as a treat and found ourselves in a room on the back stairs which locked you out from the main hallway once you’d got to it, so you couldn’t get back to the lift - had to use the service stairs to access the lobby - really odd. The room was nice enough decoratively; a bit claustrophobic and dark with lots of low bulkheads. Cluttered with merchandise so there was very little space to store or put anything. Ate at Cecconi which was expensive (£240 for dinner for four with only one glass of wine between us; no puddings) and disappointing - dry veal Milanese, no olive oil with a similarly dry carpaccio and had to ask several times for things to come; even had to get up at one point for some milk for a cup of tea. No English breakfast tea in our room, only herbal - had to dial down for it. No apology on check out at the fire alarm going off at 2.30am - not the hotel’s fault, but a mention would have been nice given we were heading down the stairs in dressing gown and slippers in the middle of the night. As we left, they brought us the wrong bags when they’d been storing them for us - nice looking luggage, but sadly not ours. Pretty shambolic all round. Sorry - I so rarely put bad comments about hotels but this was simply not good. Couldn’t wait to leave.

    There’s certainly a busy buzz to the place. Staff were lovely and helpful even though they got so many things wrong. They are trying their hardest but the management just didn’t seem to be there - too busy, too manic. Nice to have straightening irons in the room and great toiletries, nice minibar nibbles. It looked on first impressions absolutely amazing - fantastic refurb as I know the building - this used to be my old bank. Great band in the foyer in the evening and super pianist in the daytime. Kindly sent us a complementary pot of tea when there was no English breakfast tea in our room. But mainly, style over substance. If you’re a city boy on a night out it’s your perfect place. Not for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the middle of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service from the moment we arrived, took them up on the upgrade to a Medium room which was well worth the money. Very spacious room, excellently furnished with a super-comfortable bed with more pillows than we own at home! Fully stocked mini-bar if it took your fancy plus a bathroom where no amenity has been forgotten.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Wifi was super strong on any area you're at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is definitely not for families or young children - the lobby was VERY noisy - it was blended in with the restaurants and have live band every night. Location was also quite hard to reach if you're calling uber or taxi - the Bank junction is closed on most days and mornings.

    Wifi was super strong on any area you're at. Facilities were top notch. Love the amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The staff was beyond excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was beyond excellent. When we were checked out there was a marathon that’s course circled the hotel. All traffic was closed around the hotel. They took our 6 suitcases through the underground to where a taxi (which they called for us) was waiting. They escorted my daughter and I across the path of the marathon (there was no other way. We were literally surrounded) and they saw us safely to our cab. We hated leaving!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    After our initial wait all was fine as usual...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stay at The Ned regularly, we always request an early check in where possible... say 1.00pm - 2.00pm in order that we freshen up after our flight to London. Every time there seems to be a problem with our room... UNLESS we upgrade. Just once it would be nice if this could be achieved. If this continues we may need to find somewhere that can accommodate our request. Thank you

    All good...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Great facilities, many restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - large
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very very expensive, although the room is spacious and great facilities. And its definitely not for families or quiet couples - the lobby is very CROWDED and noisy every night. The location is quite hard to reach if you’re by car or try to catch Uber- they always close the Bank junction and it becomes inaccesible.

    Great facilities, many restaurants. Nice members and guests only club.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Browse The Ned traveller photo gallery