Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The New Beehive Inn 3 stars

Westgate, Bradford, BD1 3AA, United Kingdom

#5 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Bradford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 225 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    2.9
    Didn’t look the same as pictures shown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was smoking in the other rooms that filtered through the hall. Not sure what was happening in other rooms but doors were opening and closing all night and someone tried to enter our room. Sheets had cigarette burn hole in single bed and makeup on the pillow case, very wrinkled(didn’t look clean)

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    Would definitely not go there ever again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On entry I noticed the place was very tired. Check in was ok but then I was taken to my room. The stairs up to it had old, worn carpet and there was a smell. My room was tired and the smell was in there too. Not a clean smell. The shower was broken. Comfy bed but slept fully clothed.

    Welcome was good but to be honest little else apart from the location. I was meeting some clients the following day at the Premier Inn. I wish I had spent another £20 and stayed there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Okay if you just need somewhere to sleep last minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very old pub, which hasn't been updated in years. There are a lot of stairs up to the rooms, which are pretty tired. The water pressure is quite poor. Food options around aren't good. The wifi didn't work

    We were after accommodation late in the day and this fitted our budget. Good to be able to make a coffee in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Great for a few nights stay, quirky establishment but good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too hard no double glazing meant the traffic noise was annoying and my blind was broken so it wasn’t dark enough for me to sleep. The smell of gas from the lamps downstairs in the pub was disconcerting, could do with more choice of food besides curry!

    It was quirky easy to get to the shops etc from , and had an excellent ambience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was terrible Beds could have been laundered better Taps and plumbing poor You get what you pay for - don’t feel hard done by.

    Location was ideal for our visit Easy to find and decent parking Staff very friendly and helpful You get what you pay for - don’t feel hard done by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room want clean enough. Found some rubbish under the bed. The toilet has been blocked while using only toilet paper. In the morning around 9 nobody in the reception or dinning area, checked out without breakfast.

    The bed was very comfortable. Was very worm in the room for all night, really appreciate that. The environment was very quite, nobody disturb during the night. Not any noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    I made the best of things but I should have stayed somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold and shabby. The heating was adjusted to come on earlier in the morning when we commented on being cold. My friends room had a very bad smell, his toilet did not flush well either but he did not inform the owner so denied him to chance to try to sort it out. The hotel is not in a nice area. The security was quite casual- no lock on the door to the hotel rooms from the bar area. The door from the fire escape had a lock but was easy to close and not lock. The locks on the bedroom doors were basic. On my last morning I found a person asleep on the corridor floor just inside the fire escape door. There was a used syringe on the floor next to him. He was polite when he woke up to be fair to him but it was not a pleasant situation to find just outside the room that you have slept in. I would not recommend staying at The New Beehive especially not for any lone female travelers.

    It was good to get free parking in the town centre. It is an easy to walk into the town centre and to either train station. The room and bathroom were just about clean enough. The bed was comfortable. The wifi was good. The building and bar are interesting, there are working gas lights in the bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value and clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money: all fine.

    Clean, comfortable, great location and MUCH quieter than you would think from being on top of a pub on a main road. Have stayed here a few times over the last few weeks, great value and staff friendly and helpful. If you want new/spotless, then pick somewhere boring: it's clean and comfortable, good size rooms in an old building with great character and works in progress to improve.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. All the corridors and rooms smelt strongly of cat urine, which was apparently because the carpets had been cleaned, but it was incredibly strong. Within an hour of our stay the room started to smell of smoke, we feel this was coming through the walls. We requested to move rooms and the next one smelt better. In the morning my friend stepped out of the shower and on to a large piece of broken glass, when we raised this on check-out we were greeted with an ‘oh dear’ father then a sufficient apology as the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned thoroughly to miss that alongside the shards of broken glass on the window ledge. Luckily it didn’t cause any injury, but I advise future guests to thoroughly check the floor/ wear flip flops on the shower.

    Beds were reasonably comfortable. Affordable for a night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Worth visiting for the pub but I would go at the weekends when there will be more real ales on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in the bathroom. Kettle didn't work and unfortunately unable to see proprietor to rectify this before leaving Pity there were only two real ales on (but it was Wednesday)

    A pub on the national inventory of pub interiors - what's not to like about that ?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location but average rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub and room is looking a bit tired now, needs a bit of TLC... Also, it opened late which then made me late.

    Nice location opposite Bradford Brewery and next to a small indian restaurant. Only ten minutes walk from the station and the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    The bar downstairs was quite cool and even the place , like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The are was a bit scary I must say ... however so close to the city which is Good . The place had lots of stairs and so difficult to carry a laguage and the carpits ... so dirty :( . Didn't feel safe at all

    The bar downstairs was quite cool and even the place , like the style Once You Get Inside .. not from outside !! People working there were ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    I only stayed here because of the proximity to the venue I needed to be at but I did not feel safe .
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee, no hairdryer, poor cleanliness ( light bulbs filthy) poor shower and poor lighting, spot of blood on one pillow case An attempt to get in my room whilst I was inside.

    Sheets clean Friendly reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    3 nights of very little sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor had not been hoovered, no door on bathroom, blinds did not close properly, boiler in bathroom kept turning on and off all night and made an awful noise so very little sleep was had and had to leave window open due to smell coming from it. Very noisy as could hear floors creaking when other guests came and went due to wooden floors and stairs and very loud music from the pub.

    Parking was easy. I chose the hotel as I prefer places with charm and I thought that's what I'd get when I arrived...however...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    If you're okay with character, the pub is great and I hope the rooms don't get too modernised.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cheap, so you get what you pay for. The man said they're upgrading, which may mean less character and more cost. I didn't know I should have approached round the back as main door was closed, and they didn't answer the phone till much later. Wifi existed, but didn't get any internet at all.

    It was cheap. It's a lovely pub, beautifully preserved interior, and I was there for an event in the pub itself so convenience couldn't be bettered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    A cool place if you want to return forty years ago, old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cool place if you want to return forty years ago, old furniture is the appropriate atmosphere. I was there on Monday and it was such a feeling that the hotel and pub were only open to me and my family, it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff was so polite that they gave us a large room for that money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    A great pub and place to stay. It's reasonably priced too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city of Bradford is not a place I particularly liked. This was a stop gap for us en route to Cleethorpes. It's exactly as it states. No pretentious expectations. The staff were very accommodating and replied quickly to my emails.

    The room itself was very roomy. A large bathroom and clean. The same goes for the other room which was occupied by my partner. The decor is in keeping with the building. Personally I like vintage and liked this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Good value, decent room, bathroom/toilet needs updating
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was adequate, shower just about adequate. Main problem was that there was a distinctly unfresh odour in the bathroom/toilet.

    Good value, great traditional pub, very nice bar, good beer, landlord helpful. Room itself was fine and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Trip to Yorkshire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a lot of activity with people coming in right into the early hours of the morning and slamming doors.

    The room was spacious and had a very comfy bed. The bar sold real ale and the pub itself although a little tired still had its character. The landlord and his son were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    3.3
    we were having a weekend away to see friends and booked and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were having a weekend away to see friends and booked and paid for two nights.The place was very old fashioned gas light bar .The bedrrom was at the top of the house and was clean but very basic the windows didnt open in this room or the landing and the fire doors didnt close properly.we were asked that if we were coming in after midnight we would have to access our room by walking up a fire escape across a flat roof and then put a code in the door not ideal way of entry we would definately never go back and stay here im sure it will close soon as their hospitality was no good either .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent historic pub with modern rooms and amenities. Ales in top form, food can be ordered at next door indian restaurant. Friendly landlord. Good price for a night. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Price reflected the hotel fairly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old dated and not refurnished at all. Windows were painted shut and the area was questionable.

    The old feel of the hotel was fun and unique for a one night stay. Bar guests were locals and interesting to be around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless it has a dramatic change !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I booked two rooms which completely unhygenic. They seemed as they hadnt been cleaned in a long time. Spiders were lurking on every corner. We were not able to sleep all night as we were itching and felt uncomfortable. The bed was horrific as it was made with a spring base and kept bouncing. There was crumbs in the drawers and the carpet clearly hadnt been hoovered. The stair case to the rooms was unsafe as it was such a tight access space to the rooms. There was no staff around to ask for any extra facilities. We couldnt wait to leave first thing early morning as we could not handle the uncleansiness. This put a strain on our holiday mood as everyone was stressed. I would not complain like this but this is how my family and i really felt. Collective opinion - really dissappointed and would have prefered a refund for the unneccessary pain and uncomfort caused!

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Quirky interesting place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky interesting place to stay. Staff were lovely and friendly. We stayed here as a stop over for an early flight the next morning, only 20min from Leeds/Bradford airport. Went to Sheesh Mahal for dinner in the evening. Its just along the road, gorgeous food, and amazing value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    nightmare
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to fill the form again to stay in the hotel, because the hotel has no printer to print the form from Booking.com. (Wasting time) The reception guy takes copy of our ID (very unusual- that’s sensitive data). On the form to fill they asked question - what breakfast you will like for the morning – Continental or English. Doesn't mate what you like – they will give you only English… The kettle to boil the water for the coffee in the bedroom – very dirty inside! Be careful everyone! If you scare of Rats – Don’t use the back door to go to the hotel parking!

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay, but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole place felt a bit cheap, worn out. Including creaky floors. To be honest I did not like the city of Bradford very much and would not stay there again - but that has nothing to do with the Beehive Inn, which met expectations.

    Friendly staff. Above a pub, with good G&T.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    My stay in bradford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt arrive till 11oclock on night beds werent made and a take away meal was still on floor next to bin !! View out of our window was onto grass land over the road where we watched 20+ rats running around

    The pub was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location for a short walk in to the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor in the room was a bit tired and could do with a bit of a revamp. Beer selection was a bit poor for a CAMRA Good Beer Guide pub

    Convenient location for a short walk in to the centre of Bradford and the Media Museum. Gas lamps in the bar add to the charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable overall stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of smoke and shower room could do with a new floor. The hotel still has key doors which aren't very secure.

    Good position and parking. Room was clean and the owner was helpful. Shower good so all satisfactory. You are on top of a pub should the need for a drink arise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Second time at the New Beehive and I thouroughly enjoyed my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time at the New Beehive and I thouroughly enjoyed my stay. I love the qwerkiness of the building, the friendly staff and my room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Hotel for beer lovers without high requirements to the comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty windows from the outer side.

    This is a hotel and simultaneously the pub on the ground floor. The pub was opened 1911 and working till nowadays. The pub looks old and allows you to fill 100-years atmosphere. A furniture in my room (like table, chairs, cabinet) is retro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    2.5
    Simply a no go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was horrible, with mould in every corner. TV cable was simply lying down on the carpet through the middle of the room. Our double was tiny, you could hear pub guest till late night. The hotel is in the same building as some sort of emergency social housing. We've had an individual begging for some spare change and walking back into the hotel building. Not something you enjoy when you try to relax. On upper floors low water pressure won't allow you to have a comfortable shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.3
    Not impressed..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    I was incredibly unimpressed. The "front door" wasn't even in use and when I rang the front desk to see how to get in, a worker came out through the back to come get us. Went through the back to go into the place where r took a while to get he door open to "book us in". We had to wait 15 mins while he finished cleaning our room. And the room was substandard, clean but old and not very impressive. The door to the room looked as though it had been broken out of before, the "door stop" was two nailed nailed into the floor. The jug for tea was on the carpet, the valence around the bed was dirty... although it was rather "tidy" I definitely don't think it's worth £48 a night or a 3.3 rating. Also the manager wasn't there both days and it was just the cleaner that booked us in then out. He was nice though, but that was the only thing nice about this place..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.9
    Don't stay here
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception door locked so had to call staff on the phone to get assistance Room not being ready and having to wait 3 hours for cleaner to return to do job Patio area not looking anything like photo in fact signs of sexual activity taking place Not Edwardian in design if anything more like 1950 run down establishment

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice and comfortable olde worldy charm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go looking for staff to check me in and none available to check me out. Only a slot in a door to push my room key through. Possibly the steepest staircase I've ever encountered anywhere and no lift. No tea in the room and a milk capsule was off. I thought there was an option for breakfast but I didn't find any. Although it is claimed to be on CAMRA's recommended list, I was given no ale discount using my valid CAMRA membership card. The room got a bit cold during the night though I'm sure if I'd got up to turn the radiators on it would have been fine. Perhaps an extra blanket would be welcome? Once the pub downstairs was closed and locked up, I was disturbed from 23:00 till 02:00 by residents shouting up to the owners accommodation on the top floor.

    The building is characterful and evocative. Rooms very tasteful and large. Comfortable bed and bedding. Plenty of fresh clean towels. Located very close to the City Centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Great value - good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom furniture and shower not great but we were told that new management are expected to refurbish the rooms.

    Easy to find. Staff friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. Bedroom and en-suite bathroom large and spacious. Good wifi and tv, comfortable bed and linen clean. Pub a lovely old building with interesting decor. Good selection of beers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Value for money was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really had to ask for things which we're adequately provided

    Actually I could have done with some decaf but they didn't have it in the roo

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Stay at a real ale pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit overpriced. Rooms at the front might suffer from a bit of traffic noise.

    Atmospheric pub with log fire and gas lighting. Good choice of real ales at the bar. Room was large, clean and comfortable, if a little bit dated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Another great stay at the beehive - never disappoints and great selection of beers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay at the beehive and I was again impressed with the friendliness and ambience of the place, the building itself is fantastic and retains its original features including gas lights. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. Will be booking again'

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is extremely tired not very clean and there is obviously a drains problem to the rear and the smell in the bar area is not pleasant. Bed not comfortable although the room was clean.

    Nice welcome

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Bags of character
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I could sum up this hotel in one word, it would be character. The inside is wonderfully decorated and manages to pull off the antique feel without coming across as forced/false or past its sell-by date. The owner is a very nice/interesting man who showed me up to my room, which was fine - comfy bed, desk, TV, hot shower etc. Before hitting the hay I popped down to the bar for a pint of ale and enjoyed the decor/artwork and the historic feel. Staying at the The New Beehive is not just about somewhere to stay the night for good value, it is also a very interesting experience because of the bags of history the place undoubtedly doubt has. You won't find many places like this left, and I hope it continues to welcome guess for a long time to come.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Great place for a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. Was a little cold, but you can't blame the host for that. It was February.

    Lovely warm room and a piping hot shower in the morning. Close to the city centre, with shops and restaurants/takeaways only a short walk away. I enjoyed my short stay at the New Beehive. I feel sure that you will too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Great place to stay and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent great beer and great customer service. A very welcoming atmosphere thankyou

    The staff really friendly great room and comfortable bed great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    2.9
    watching the floods prostitutes up down road flagging cars...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    freezing cold no heating draft that bad blowing curtains very dated slept with clothes on shower was red hot or freezing cold bath had no hot water can't believe charged for to stay there am contractor for 10 year stopped around whole country this was worst

    watching the floods prostitutes up down road flagging cars made up for horrible stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.4
    A lot of potential but could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in the room till late afternoon. We checked in and the room was absolutely freeeeezing. We were given a fan heater and then the heating eventually came on but took a while before the room got a bit warmer. The bathroom could have been much cleaner if I'm supposed to be honest. The place has got a lot of potential and as a room above a pub is ok but it was a shame that it was cold and therefore not very inviting.

    The bed was comfortable. We got a better room when we complained about the cold in the one we were originally given. The 'better room' was still cold but it was much bigger and the bathroom was bigger too. It was OK for one night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Lots of character for the traveller who likes things interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was near the upstairs door to the roof which was a bit noisy at times, but no big deal. The shower drain was pretty slow - if I'd been there longer, I would've asked and I'm sure they'd have fixed it.

    The location is really interesting, near the Indie Quarter with a diverse covered market, lots of different foods. The place is full of character. Dave and William were super nice, easy-going, and helpful. Very generous about scheduling and such.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    Something a little different
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs can be difficult if you have any infirmity with mobility.

    The character of the property is great, with a lot of original Victorian fixtres and fittings still in use. Rooms are warm and comfertable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    3.3
    Only the owner was kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First initial contact was with the staff who was too busy , to listen to us the minute we got to the place when we drove 5.5hours to get to the place 195 miles away , the room wasn't clean atall , bathroom was smelly , sink was dirty with hair in it , shower was dirty , teaspoon for the tea wasn't cleaned properly , when we checked out at 9.30am all doors were locked , no one was on site to check us out the proper way , so we got out thru the fire exit and threw the room keys thru the front door letter box , this all was a bad experience , apart from the manager being kind and helpful everything else was a disaster I will not recommend this place to anyone nor I will stay here next time , if I was to rate this place I would say even 1/10 was too much I'm sorry to say after travelling 195 miles away I would expect way better service and room and cleaninesss

    Only the owner was kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    2.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complaints cause my son was crying even though i was trying my best to calm him down... Also the manager complaining he had been woken up by my son... This hotel should not accommodate for children if they are going to complain about the crying of a child..

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Quick, cheap and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pretty good value for money, I would only add that the surroundings were not nice,but Bradford is not particularly a pretty city so overall a good place to stay.

    The place was located in a quiet area perfect to rest after a hard day of work. The staff were really friendly and seemed keen to attend the guest needs. Also it was nice to have a pub right below the rooms area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    A real traditional English inn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cozy place. It felt like a real traditional English inn. Excellent staff, very welcoming. Provided help for navigating through the city. Very close to restaurants. There also is a very nice pub downstairs. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    Was nice old fashioned look to the room was clean and fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was at the top and was lots off stairs to climb no good if you got a little one with you like we did

    Was nice old fashioned look to the room was clean and fresh

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    A pub with real old-style character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent breakfast is provided but no evening meals. However they will order in food on request.

    Lovely old style pub. Full of original features. Excellent selection of local beers. This is a place with real original character. Friendly staff . Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.3
    OK Stay but wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems to be a rundown area couldn't really go out as it didn't feel safe Internet continually falling out Shower poor and unusable Lots of noise from neighbouring rooms

    Separate entrance Free car park

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.0
    Basic but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle lid broken. Bedding, shower screen broken, telly remote broken, Windows not great, no hairdryer, wardrobe door dodgy, steep stairs

    Comfy bed and big bathroom, spaciuos

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.3
    Cheap and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was hard to control and needs the head replacing. I only had one bad night of noise but it didn't go on till late .

    When booking I was a little sceptical with the reviews but I'm glad that I did . I received a warm welcome . The room was adequate with plenty of storage. It was easy to come and go. Bed was comfortable but squeaky . The room was serviced daily . If you only need a Base for sleeping then this is the perfect place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    wonderful stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing! they have got it right. I will be back there as soon as i get a chance, Thanks for a great stay.

    Fantastic value for money, Lovely people, friendly and on the ball. Great bar with lovely beers and service, great breakfast, the staff are friendly and helpful. and the place is spotless.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Good value stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower in the room was more of a dribble than a shower, but the water was always hot.

    Beautiful, quirky, old building with lots of original features in a good location for the city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. It is what it is - a room above a pub, not a corporate hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    6.5
    It is wat it is for wat you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night was great for us but the second night we wanted to stay in for drinks as the frist night was brilliant but unfortunately the second night they had no drink left that we had the first night and was just cask beers left and didn't suit us nor did they have a choice that we would of liked

    We liked the rooms and the accomadation itself

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent Budget Accommodation - I will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The character of the property from the early 1900's with artist paintings and period furniture and wall hangings

    It was a quaint and period hotel, unfortunately I could not take advantage of the bar. I was not disturb by the bar or road location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Lovely gas lit Edwardian pub with very economical rooms upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I returned to stay at The New Beehive Inn as I really enjoyed it last time. I've noticed some negative reviews which I cant understand as in my experience it is clean and comfortable. Also the staff are extremely helpful & I am sure they would address any issues given the opportunity. This is an old gas-lit Edwardian Pub/Inn. If you want modern or like contemporary pubs this is not for you. If you like characterful, quirky and historic give it a try, it is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful, if a little dated inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inside was a little bit dated, which in itself is fine however, I am guessing stale smoke from the past is unfortunately still making the environment a little unpleasent.

    Great Value for money, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    3.3
    Good pictures bad hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture portray different hotel to what you turn up at. Room size ok, except had to wait for owner to get out of my room on arrival as he was watching tv. Window glass falling out, noisey as hell. Roof door when opened rocked my room.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    3.3
    Staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need of updating badly .. No breakfast for what you pay .. Steep flight of iron steps to get bk in over the roof to get in through the fire escape when returning back to hotel late at night for what you pay id not stay here again.. I will stick to a premier inn.. Rooms smelt damp n musky .. And a noisy hotel with people coming bk n a club opposite. Playing loud music and people shouting as they are leaving the club at 7am not in the nicest location ..

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Historic gem of a building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic gem of a building! Friendly bar man upon arrival. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Good location being close to the town. Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    6.3
    Overall we were looked after the place is a bit rough h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The party that dragged on until 530-600 in the morning 30 min before we got up....big fail

    Overall the experience was ok the staff were polite and the room was ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to be honest, my room was services daily and I didn't want for anything!

    The hotel was well located for my work needs, with the bonus of free car parking. The owner was/is a delight to deal with as my stay was extended and this was delt with very easily! The bar downstairs is a bit of a gem, guest beers and a whisky lovers heaven!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    3.3
    Please don't stay at the Beehive Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. All surfaces were sticky. The bathroom was disgusting including black ground in stains in the toilet. I stuck to the carpet when I was walking on it. I stayed 15 minutes before making an excuse to leave. I had already paid, but it was worth it to book somewhere else that was clean.

    the owner was a nice man

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.4
    Good location, very near the centre and station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a moth the size of a bat in my room, the cleanliness could have been better, it was a very dated room. And during the day it was very very loud because of the bar downstairs.

    Good location, very near the centre and station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.7
    Recuperate in Bradford with food and free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the entrance was a bit tricky - you have to walk around the back through a courtyard and then a few interior doors.

    William was very accommodating throughout my stay. A nice pub room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.3
    Shoddy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty underpants on the bedroom floor, bin not empty and no staff around on checkout to complain too.

    the only thing we liked was the proximity to the city center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    ideal for our one night stay in Bradford and staff very accomodating and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and showeroom/toilet could be updated but at the end of the day it was comfortable and clean which is all that's needed.

    lovely sized room, although quite a trek to get to it. tea/coffee making facility. although we didn't need it there was plenty of cupboard/wardrobe space. only a few minutes walk from the city centre. nice full English breakfast served at our requested time (early sunday morning)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    8.3
    A traditional B&B with character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was made to feel very welcome here, William is a good host, friendly and approachable. The New Beehive is a traditional style of B&B, the building has character and the rooms are a comfortable size.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    fair
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too cold

    Room size and beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    The whole thing in.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    RIEN

    The whole thing in.Fourth World Britain ! The manager id doing à fantastic job on thé neighbourhood

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: