Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3 stars

Great Langdale, Great Langdale, LA22 9JX, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Great Langdale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 206 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel, great location great food - go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we could only spend two days there!

    We stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday and our 20th Wedding Anniversary. It is in a beautiful location with amazing scenery. the hotel is smart, clean and well cared for. The bar was good and the bar meal that we had excellent. We booked a restaurant meal for the second night and has a wonderful 5 course meal. Breakfasts were great as was the packed lunch which enabled us to get out on the hill straight away. The local walking guides are great as is access from the hotel onto the hills. We were incredibly lucky with the weather but after 7 hours of walking sitting outdoors in the sunshine (in October) with a cold pint of cider was idyllic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price selection in the menu was fixed, in the restaurant, there could have been a different price group in the choice.

    Great location nice staff comfortable lounge & rooms. There was a very good guitarist playing in the bar on the Saturday night. A nice finish to a busy day. The restaurant service was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    A reasonable hotel in a remote location, expensive when compared to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lifts avaialble to get bags up to your room and no staff available to help, basically left to get on with it.

    A quaint hotel in a remote location great if you were going to walk the hills and wanted a base to start out from and return at night. Food was basic but filling

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel/pub in superb location with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Packed lunch was nice but sandwich was too small (at the size there should have been two sandwiches) and it would have been nice to have cake rather than a breakfast bar.

    Superb location. Nice food. Very friendly staff. We arrived late due to traffic, slightly worried but late check-in was not a problem and the barman was very happy to serve two thirsty travelers a drink even though everyone else had gone to bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay, would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was spotty in some parts which wasn't the best when trying to download a driving route home.

    Great food, lovely bed (fell asleep in seconds) and excellent service at both the reception and bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Probably the cleanest hotel room I’ve stayed in, simply...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the cleanest hotel room I’ve stayed in, simply spotless, bedding fresh and new, nice wooden furniture, a spacious bathroom, friendly and helpful staff. The whole place very much up to date. Wifi access in the room. An incredible and isolated location, fields, farmland, walking trails on the doorstep. Fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty Coke bottle and an empty tea wrapper left in rooms.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Room 15 gorgeous with very comfortable bed and fantastic views. Bartender awesome personality, great with all customers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, friendly staff, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Very friendly staff and a superb location for outdoors enthusiasts with extensive walking, cycling and climbing right outside the door. Good selection of beers in the bar and friendly, knowledgeable bar staff. Hearty breakfast and lovely, clean, comfortable room. Good car park in an area where parking is at a premium.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could hear the neighbor snoring through the walls, either the walls are a tad too thin or just the neighbor snoring too loudly. Some sort of generator/machine outside was quite noisy, but hardly an issue.

    Perfect for hikes out in the Langdale Valley. The room was clean, comfy and I loved the shower (nice pressure and closed so you don't create a mess!). Food was good (breakfast was excellent and the dinner menu is great value for money)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Walking in the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most enjoyable stays at any hotel. Great location for the heart of the Lakes, very comfortable and clean facilities. Staff attentive but not fussy. Atmosphere great with mix of residents and visitors to the Walkers Bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely spotless. Our room I think had just been refurbished. We were up early and went outside to see all the tables on there side drying and the floor was in the process of being scrubbed it was the attention to detail that made it a wonderful break

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food after 9- in a remote location like this some access to food would have been good The staff made some sandwiches which helped But a microwave and providing food that can be warmed like pasties or boxed food,etc would have helped

    Great staff Rooms were small Really struggled to get any food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for walking or climbing hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls too thin and floors noisy. I could hear a phone vibrating in the room next door as it's alarm went off. Could hear people speaking quite clearly. Window wouldn't stay open, had to prop it open with a tea spoon! Their blurb states that Scafell Pike is less than 5 miles away. Yes, it is - as the crow flies!!! It's actually about 20 miles via the Hardknott Pass eeeek!!!!

    Good food, good beer and great location. I can recommend the hummus starter and for a main the cumberland sausage!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive for what you get, Old Dungeon Ghyll gets my vote for next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not told beforehand that scaffolding was over half the building for new roof and this covered the window of our room so the view was limited. Paid £117 for a very small double (too expensive. )The shower tube leaked, there was no heating in the room(neither radiator nor towel rail worked) and the bathroom fan is controlled by reception and only on for a few hours a day!!!

    The location is amazing, right in the valley of Great Langdale. There is a residents garden to sit in and enjoy the view and the peace and quiet. The establishment is being modernised inside and offers upmarket dining area aswell as Walkers Bar picnic benches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast menu did not mention that they provide a veggie option. Ask and they will provide veggie sausages.

    Great location for walking. Very comfy room and a pub and dining room downstairs. Nice staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Check out problem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out Booking.com had to be rung as the hotel receptionist insisted we hadn’t paid despite being shown PayPal and Booking.com confirmation. I recommend that you check your bill before paying therefore.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    no alternative for feather pillows which I am allergic to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no alternative for feather pillows which I am allergic to they did make the bed up with blankets which helped but my asthma was bad due to feather pillows and duvets .This needs to be addressed as it is a health issue..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very good hotel in a stunning setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi could of been better and no phone signal however not surprising given the location. This is not the fault of the hotel just the remote location

    Great service, food was excellent, Superb location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would return but would love to see better seating and furnishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside light wasn’t working. Pillows on bed were a bit hard. The decor is a little bland for my taste. Could do with a bit more personality and comfort - particularly in the lounge and bar.

    Staff are delightful. Great location. Dinner was delicious. Would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Really pleasurable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Milk from coffee selection was missing first night & cups the second

    Remember the building before the current owners took it on. They have done an amazing job with a lot of hard work. It was nice to see they usiong local staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in fabulous location with lots of walks right on your doorstep. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Meals were really tasty especially the breakfast. The friendly staff made it such an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place, people and area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire hotel was way to HOT! we turned the radiators off and opened the window for 2 days, but it was too much throughout the hotel. Wifi access points and performance limited. Bar setup setup for food, limited atmosphere, but functional

    location to hike, breakfast, modern, parking, opposite Sticklebarn bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value room for short break in fantastic scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superior room was still quite small with limited views of mountains.

    Fantastic location for mountain views and walks. Variety of places to eat and drink within walking distance. Friendly, helpful staff. Drying room available and good hot shower in the ensuite bathroom. Just what you need after a wet day walking on the fells. Comfortable double bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    It was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole ambience of the hotel and its location were excellent. The staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel, would love to stay again. Easy to find, great breakfast. Very good facilities.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll holder beside the toilet. I know this seems small thing, but! It's a girl thing!

    Staff were exceptional. We were sadly in Great Langdale for a family funeral, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    A nice change from Camping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar area was a bit basic but not unexpected for the area.

    The staff were excellent and really friendly and enhanced the trip. The location of course was superb. A nice place to base yourself for walking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Fantastic location, great food but very disappointed with our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was full of insects including loads of green flies, spiders and a cricket. Was unable to sleep on the first night due to the fear of waking up covered in bugs! Was unable to voice my dissatisfaction as left the hotel at 6.30am. I had walked for 13hrs so was too exhausted to care on the 2nd night. Felt it was overpriced for the experience we received.

    The staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Walking with your mates, great place to set off from and return too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in a special position. One of the best places to put on you walking boots and walk. Low walks, high walks. Even sit around doing no walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location for walking straight out of the door and up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too soft but otherwise a fantastic hotel

    Great location for walking straight out of the door and up the fells. Great pub onsite (and worth a visit to the National Trust pub at sticklebarn next door as well)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly, the food. My evening meal in the Walkers Bar was one of the poorest chilli con carne's I've ever had and whilst the breakfast in the morning was mostly excellent, the sausage was a bland chipolata - in a part of the country famed for its flavourome meaty sausages.

    This must be one of the best situated hotels in the country but it doesn't rest on its laurels. Both the public areas and the rooms are presented at a high standard. The staff are great. The decor is tasteful and well maintained. The cost of my overnight stay was very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff friendly and very efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Inane Babble of DJ on breakfast radio in the dining room. Wi-Fi a bit erratic and slow.

    Bar Food and Service was very good. There was a drying hut for walking kit. Access to a Gym & Pool at the Langdale centre in Chapel Stile. Newspapers delivered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enthusiasm of the staff a little loud at times. We all knew exactly what everyone was having for breakfast. Overcharged but mistake rectified immediately.

    Excellent location for walking in the Langdales. Stunning scenery, peaceful. Loved the number of walks of varying difficulty available from the front door of the hotel - something for everyone. Leaflets on sale in reception, nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    The location was brilliant staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a minor issue the bed was too soft and it was not a double but two singles pushed together.

    The location was brilliant staff were very friendly and welcoming.The hotel was very clean and tidy. Breakfast and evening meals were very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Loving Langdale
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of very minor points. The mattress on my bed probably needed replacing and the grouting in the shower needed some attention. Also, the Wi-Fi was non-existent as was phone reception (the latter was very welcome for a few days)

    The hotel has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff are polite and helpful. The bar meals are tasty and good value. And, finally, the location and views are simply stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    walked from the door and forgot the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when the hotel is full getting a table in the bar to eat is a matter of pouncing on a free one - it is a small bar

    excellent location for walkers. Left the car in their car park and walked from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely quiet hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit pricey for a B&B but location, comfort and peacefulness made up for it. Restaurant selection for vegetarian diners was limited although bar menu alternative was very good. Despite being residents we couldn't eat in the dining room as we chose meals off the bar menu, but the lounge eating area was ok

    Fantastic location, very quiet and comfortable, good sized room and nicely equipped, good food selection, very useful clothes/boots drying facilities!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Walk this way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No adverse comments.

    Comfortable old world charm hotel ideally located to start hill walking from the front (or back ) door! Friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast and dinner service. Bar meals and local ale also good. Wi Fi ok in the room. No adverse comments. Would definitely stay again if visiting the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic short break. Can't wait to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to our room we had to leave the hotel and walk around the corner of the hotel not so nice in the rain. Another minor point was because our room overlooked the garden when our curtains were open anybody could look into the room.

    Big wide choice for breakfast. Excellent restaurant with options for the number of courses you wanted. Great entertainment on Saturday evening in the bar which also had good food. Lovely view from our room over the garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cramped, the bed was not a double, there was a generator running all night that could be heard in the room. The fire alarm went off at five in the morning and the evacuation procedure seemed rather haphazard. Staff told us the alarm gave false alarms regularly in the summer! The breakfast was disappointing fora hotel charging £150 a night. This was the most expensive hotel in a trip with six hotels on the itinerary -- the breakfast in all of the less expensive ones was measurably better. When we arrived the hot water system had failed and staff did not mention this when we booked in.

    The views were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely spot with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed a little uncomfortable - perhaps needing a new mattress.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Staying alone was made very easy with good tables for meals - which often isn't the case in other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    OK hotel for walkers in the area, but remote so have to use hotel facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, especially manageress, very gruff. Not willing to help and made to feel we were nuisances for asking questions. Ignored our request to avoid stairs and were put in a room which was difficult to access because of stairs.

    Comfortable and largeish room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel. Will definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I completed my booking I was asked what time I would arrive. I stated 1.00pm and this was confirmed on the booking form. When I arrived at 1.00 pm I was told that I could not check in until 2.30! I had to wait 1 and a half hours. What is the point of having a confirmed arrival time if it means nothing?

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    First visit, would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older female staff member at breakfast on Friday morning 26May, quite loud and unfriendly. Asked questions from across the room instead of coming to individual table.

    The garden for residents only was excellent. All staff, except one, very attentive and polite. Young staff excelled.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really friendly and welcoming but did not think it was necessary to call me sir all the time. Change from formal to informal during visit/conversation would have been good.

    Staff excellent. Hotel excellent. Beautiful location. Great for couples.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never makes calls to a mobile from your room! It's about £1 a minute!! 😁 Make wifi calls in the lounge instead!

    The gardens, the surroundings, the quiet - the perfect place to switch off! The most gorgeous walks in the Lakes on your doorstep. The perfect hotel. Be prepared to switch off tho! Wifi is only available in the lounge. Telephone reception is not good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great location, great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is only available in some areas of the hotel. I have stayed there twice and once had wifi, once didn't. You don't realise how much you miss wifi until you don't have it! But it's only a minor thing really

    Staff are always helpful and friendly. Location is superb. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic trekking retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With no signal reception the wifi coverage has to be better. Basically limited to one room in the whole hotel! Not good enough in this day and age.

    Amazing rural retreat and location for trekking. Really nice staff, cosy and relaxing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't flush the toilet, we spoke to reception but it was new years eve so I appreciate they couldn't fix it. They had had problems with it in the past and thought it was fixed. I did tget it to work on the final day so an on/off problem. When you've paid £190 a night you expect a working toilet. Everything else was great.

    The staff were great, the food was really tasty, a great atmosphere. We went for new years eve so the room rate was probably higher than normal. We also stayed in a room which was accessed via outside. The bed was quite soft (loved by my wife but too soft for me)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Very pleasant short stay with excellent hotel in superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Food and wine excellent. Staff friendly, and obviously comfortable with walkers. Bed very comfortable and shower excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location and a warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a room at the top of the stairs - just right for getting you in trim for a walk from the hotel the next morning.

    Since the location was a bit more remote than most hotels in the Lake District I was expecting a pleasant but basic fell-walkers hotel. Not at all - the food was good, the place had been comfortably refurbished and there was a warm welcome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Dont hesitate, stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A perfect place, the poor WiFi in this and other valleys is both an irritation and a blessing!

    This is a great base for a lake district holiday, its also a wonderful one night stay as well, but you would be missing a lot of what is on offer. quality and comfort abound.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Hikers bar, staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What could have been a good experience was somewhat strange. Breakfast staff were not very friendly. e.g, We were not offered further toast or tea, however I'm sure that if we had asked it would have been available. When visiting other hotels Ive always been asked.

    Hikers bar, staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed th food seved in the bar. The guide books to purchaseare very detailed and well written.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The bed very comfy staff great and views the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed very comfy staff great and views the best

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a magic setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay in a magic setting! We’ll definitely came back in the future!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Location, staff, food & room all good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Spoilt by the overpriced food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the bar way overpriced

    The garden room was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    5 star review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel was great, bedroom was massive, good shower, nice bar, great breakfast , awesome location,friendly staff, will definatly be back soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating on when we stayed and weather was really cold.

    Everything about the experience. Hotel, staff and food was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, very friendly staff, beautiful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very pretty but far off the beaten track

    Very clean, very friendly staff, beautiful food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Mini lakes vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location and comfortable, welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and comfortable, welcoming hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall a super location with good accommodation. Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, especially for vegetarians.

    Great location for the walking fraternity.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Farm dogs barking in the night with windows open ..but otherwise above expectations for the price

    Location...friendliness..clean Location...location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Loved it! Beautiful room, great view, lovely food and very friendly staff! Will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't provide fans in hot weather Rooms are very small

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant surprise. Would recommend it and look to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, especially home-baked bread. Lovely ambiance with great photos from across the Lakes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The venue and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The venue and the food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    great stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, good food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Location and hotel was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and hotel was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect weekend with my husband and adult children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited on at breakfast. Lovely views. Quiet location. Great walks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable accommodation on Cumbria Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on Cumbria Way

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful property in beautiful surroundings on a beautiful weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was satisfactory but no more than that. Cheese and coffee were very disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Will be visiting again amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Hotel and grounds with Idillic views. Well run Hotel lovely staff who can’t do enough for you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: