Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The New Inn 4 stars

German Street, Winchelsea, TN364EN, United Kingdom

#2 of 8 hotels in Winchelsea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 324 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing Negative. If we have to think of one it would not be true.

    LOVELY ROOM WITH COSY BED. Quiet Location. Top Rated Breakfast. Friendly Staff. Welcome change from run of the mill B&Bs. Relaxing and Homely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a sandwich in the evening and was told “don’t do sandwiches in the evening” - how difficult is it to make a sandwich? They were able to provide additional bread and butter so not a million miles away from a sandwich! Also, couldn’t book drinks or meals to the room, which is one of my pet hates.

    Lovely setting and handy for visiting Rye.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travelled alone so bed was fine for me. If two people occupied it, it could be deemed on the small side. Foam pillows let it down a bit.

    Fantastic topper on bed. Great nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It got a bit hot in the room but the fan helped. The mattress was a bit soft for me.

    Staff were very chatty and helpful. We were impressed with the quality of the breakfasts and the cooking of the fish we had of the first night. The Inn is in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors were quite tight to get in and out of shower. Nothing else to dislike.

    Staff were friendly and quick to help. Easy to converse with. Food was good. Portions generous. And you can never go wrong with a fruit crumble and custard. Rooms were excellent. Would visit again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was bad weather that weekend, we were very disappointed that the lovely log fire was never lit. One of our favourite features. We heard other people saying that they were surprised it was not as cosy as usual.

    Very comfortable bed and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only slight criticism is that breakfast doesn't start til 8.30, so you can't get an early start. Also the loud piped music at breakfast is tiresome. Also please add instructions of how to insert pods in coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advised on check in that they had debited card when, in fact, we had already paid via Booking.com. Failed to make room up and had to do it ourselves. Asked to speak to owner/manager on a number of occasions but he refused. Left message for him to call me but he has not and will not take calls.

    Good location in a pleasant village

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather disorganised evening meal in pub - young men servers were disorganised on reserving table and a bit slap dash - lack of experience

    position, breakfast good room as expected

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While most staff were friendly, I felt that the manager could have been more welcoming. I feel that a pub stay is different from a hotel and you do look for that personal touch. When we arrived she was too busy counting up the till to welcome us properly and when we left there were none of the niceties you might expect eg enjoy the rest of your trip etc

    Clean, good looking rooms. I thought the bed would be too soft but it was very comfortable. Nice bathroom with good toiletries

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No anti slip mat in bath which I mentioned at time. Really hope that they fon’t Do away with log fire to jam in a few more tables.

    Very helpful staff - could do with more training but there enthusiasm made up for lack of experience. Nothing was to much trouble. Great big room with huge comfy b d. Great ambience in pub area and food is without doubt good value for money with huge portions. Good choice for veg and non veg gor meals

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed felt a little too soft for our liking but this was not a big issue.

    Perfect location for a relaxing weekend break. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My partner thought the bed was a little uncomfortable for him although I found it very comfortable.

    All the staff were very helpful and happy and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have done with more white sugar for my tea in the bedroom!

    The whole ambience was great. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the breakfast was very tasty. Altogether a good experience and one I would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I was staying for business. I was not able to take advantage of the cooked breakfast which starts being served at 8.30am. I needed to be on the road just after 8am. However, I was offered cereal and a coffee to go. Hopefully, next time I stay I can taste the bacon which other reviewers mention!

    Room was very nice and comfortable. Check in process was very quick. I had the fish pie for dinner which was very tasty. I am normally a light sleeper when away from home. However, I had a good night sleep as the bed and bedclothes were of good quality. Also, the village of Winchelsea is very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a little small but we are both quite large! Nice and hot Though!

    Breakfasts were brilliant. Room was great. Pick Room 1 if you want space and comfort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving! We were very tempted to book another night & were quite envious of the friendly couple we chatted to at breakfast, as they were staying a further two nights. If our commitments had permitted, we'd have stayed a lot longer!

    The service & attention from Vicky during the evening was excellent. She maintained the right amount attention to us and the other guests, with a friendly and amiable manner. The food was delicious & generous, (both dinner & breakfast) was all very satisfying & well presented. Cosy decor throughout, as expected for a pub of this age & character, with an open log fire. With the snow falling, it really did look quite stunning looking out from the window in the bedroom, across to old St Thomas' church. We were delighted with our chance find for our mini weekend away. The New Inn was very welcoming on our Wintry weekend & provides easy access to many areas of interest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was a real disappointment - both meals I had were very poorly cooked, especially the vegetables, which were overcooked and tasteless, the sauces were watery and unseasoned, and the steak and ale pie stodgy, dry, and could not taste ale. The portions were large (too large, really), piping hot, and served fast, but I'm afraid it was not the good homemade pub fare I had hoped for, and I cannot recommend anyone eat dinner there; the breakfast, however, was nice. Staff were all lovely. Such a shame. I always like to eat in when I can after a long, tiring day and I was incredibly hungry both days. Hope this nice inn will review the cooking, as everything else is so nicely thought out there.

    Wonderful historic inn in a perfect location with beautifully appointed and modernized guest rooms overlooking the church or side street. Lots of thoughtful touches. Friendly, accommodating staff. Nice breakfast menu with both traditional English breakfast and hipper selections such as avocado toast. Pub ambiance is pleasant and safe for solo travelers. Excellent off-season room rate for two nights, and I enjoyed the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was fine and served quickly, perhaps some 'specials' might vary the menu.

    The room was spacious and warm with all the usual facilities. We experienced no noise from other parts of the building. The bar and dining area was comfortable with an open fire.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups of tea at breakfast weren't up to much , looked like the tea bag was only in the pot for seconds , backed up by no one drinking it while we were there

    Friendly , homely very welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Assured we could stay an extra night by manager. then at approx. 1900 we arrived back at hotel to find our belongings had been packed and not all of them..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, but you should be aware this is the only Inn or eating establishment in this tiny village but the food is excellent.

    Goregous little Inn with excellent food and ale. Very comfortable and friendly staff. Interesting tiny village. Due to its isolation the place is quite romantic. Winchelsea has a really fascinating history if you are willing to delve a little

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    although we were warned we found room 5 noisy as it’s situated over the kitchen however the room was cosy and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again

    The staff were very efficient friendly and welcoming. We ate in the bar for the three nights we stayed and were very surprised by the quality of the food. In particular the sea bass and scallops were cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no information pack in room about The New Inn facilities or emergency numbers.

    Warm, cosy atmosphere especially with the Christmas decorations and log fire. Clean comfortable room. Comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious food. Central for Winchelsea, Rye Camber area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street lighting coming into bedroom. That’s all.

    Bed comfortable. Staff friendly. Pub lacks a bit of atmosphere. Food good, only two ales available. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds maybe could be a bit softer as could the pillows, the location of the New Inn was right by a main road so for example if a bus went past the people on it could see through your bedroom window but that's no fault of the venue, more just to make people aware privacy wise. In addition be aware if you're reasonably tall you could easily bang your head on the low beams if you're not paying attention, especially if you need to get up in the night. Unfortunately due to the location of this venue there were no shops/entertainment to speak of nearby so this is not a venue if you want to stay somewhere where there is plenty going on within walking distance.

    The meals were amazing and well cooked, the staff were really friendly and it was a very nice quiet village, the pub itself was a lovely relaxing venue and the decor was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full of character, lovely room, extremely helpful, pleasant and courteous staff Clean ensuite shower, good tv, wonderfully comfortable bed, lovely bow window with glorious view of the church and beyond to the sea. Great walking and cycling. Off read car park and a safe place to store my bike. Good cooked breakfast included. Good service and food in the restaurant. Friendly local atmosphere in the bar. Village with character. Rye and Camber in easy walking/ cycling range.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Beautiful old timbered building located in a peaceful, picturesque and historical village. The New Inn is a fabulous old Inn with friendly staff, a nice pub / restaurant (Good selection of ales & wines) and good quality pub food. The room was tastefully decorated and furnished with all the requirements and the bathroom had a marvellous shower and great quality shower products. There was a comfy bed, coffee machine and characteristic wonky sloping floors! Excellent location close to Rye, Hastings, Dungeness and Camber. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful with a nice choice of hot and cold food. Great value for money. Will certainly highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com need to make payment more advertised as when booking said pay at property when you read it can be taken any time and was .... not a problem for us but if expecting to pay at property it takes from your card days before your visit

    Amazing breakfast and staff were so helpful .... lovely room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs being allowed in where diners were eating. where the bar is there are 2 tables opposite so when people sit to eat there is very little room to pass between tables and bar.

    Bar facilities are good for size of Inn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ad warned there could be an element of noise and this was from a generator I believe but it did stop at 10pm as promised. The property is 18c and the sash windows are rattly and let in a gale so be prepared to stick some paper in the gap to stop the rattles and a towel to stop the draught.

    Good facilities for a small standard double room, ie coffee machine as well as kettle, alarm clock, very comfy bed and lovely pillows, large towels. Helpful staff in a well maintained cosy pub that also does cream teas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, we enjoyed our stay.

    A nice spacious room in an historic inn. Although we overlooked the main village street, it was very quiet. The food - both dinner and breakfast - was excellent, and the coffee machine in the room was a useful bonus. The inn is located in the historic town of Winchelsea, which is interesting to walk around and is close to other sights in Rye and Hastings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cushions on the bed (a pet hate - what's the point?). Window frames could use a lick of paint.

    Position in the centre of a lovely quiet "town" that's no more than a village. Spike Milligan's grave is in the church yard across the road with his epitaph "I told you I was ill" written on it in Gaelic. Decent food and beer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a couple of the staff were a little offhand

    very comfortable large bed; good breakfasts; decent evening food; real ale; pleasant beergarden; friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking the little extras no soap 1 little bottle of shower gel for 2 people for 3 days good job I brought my own and 1 packet of biscuits for 2 people theses things let down a good room at £100.00 a night you expect at least some soap to wash hands after you've been to the toilet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Staff were friendly and helpful, food was good and room was very comfortable. Breakfast was only from 83.0am and I have to leave a bit earlier than this, but thy were happy to give me a takeaway coffee and a bacon sandwich for the road which was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor points - the bathroom could do with hand towels and soap.

    Spacious and comfortable room; good bathroom - breakfast great value. Good locationwith off-road parking. No other restaurants in the immediate area, so book your evening meal(s) at the New Inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more of a selection of fruit, yoghurt and pastries for breakfast.

    The food was very good. The room was small but comfortable. Winchelsea is a lovely little village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds bolted together left a ridge in the middle and excessive furniture left us unable to swing a cat. The dinner menu was weird ( liver pate on a cooked meats sharing plate) and the breakfast was below average- no fresh fruit, catering hollandaise sauce, and sad English cooking at its worst.

    Location opposite the churchyard where Spike Milligan is buried but quite a busy road. The New Inn has the potential to be a charming place to stay, but improvements in the decor, staff training and food quality are required. The people who run it lack the heart to make it great, except oddly for the fab well maintained plant pots and beer garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was excellent, large and roomy and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel which was excellent as was the breakfast. We were sadly only passing through the area but given more time we would have liked to have explored a bit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the staff were friendly and helpful, they didn't seem too clued up about the local area. A very small complaint though. Generally excellent.

    Very comfortable. A lovely little hotel in beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we did not like

    The whole place was brilliant, bed very comfortable , food was also very good and breakfast was superb, their bacon was the best we have tasted for a long time. All the staff were pleasant and very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like leaving!!

    My partner and I stayed at the New Inn for a peaceful weekend break. The staff, atmosphere, decor, service, attention to detail, cleanliness, food quality & quantity were all wonderful. The pub garden is gorgeous. The town is beautiful and the neighbours so friendly and welcoming. The room had everything you could ask for and the local information provided was a lovely touch. We felt immediately welcome and at home, the staff were ALL so helpful, even when the restaurant was busy nothing was too much trouble. We ate two 3 course evening meals and 2 breakfasts during our stay, each dish was delicious. Every inch of the bar and restaurant has been designed to be warm, intersting and beautiful. We were so impressed and would recommend the New Inn unreservedly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on second morning was terrible scrambled eggs had no flavour and was not presented well. Not enough drink options at the bar no Malibu or Bacardi. Only two tea bags left in the room

    It was a reasonable priced room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were unfriendly, did not have us booked in for evening meal even though I'd rung and booked. Breakfast time didn't suit us as we had to be leave each morning at 8am and there was no attempt to accommodate us at all. No one asked if our room was OK, no one told us how we could leave early in the morning and so we unfortunately set off an alarm which I'm sure didn't go down too well with other guests.

    Large, comfortable bed and nice bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear music from the pub below starting at 8 going until late. Not such an easy walk to/from the station - would suggest going to Rye and calling a taxi if you don't have a car (£9 trip from Rye, about 10/15 minutes).

    Very friendly staff. Well placed in the centre of town. Bed very comfy and room spacious with a lovely view of churxh9/cemetery. Lovely old building. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The overall experience. The rooms were clean, airy and spacious. The bar and restaurant were both very comfortable. Food was excellent, would recommend eating at the restaurant. All very reasonably priced. A very good choice of breakfast options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't dislike it but I was surprised at how early the bar closed on Wednesday night and at how late the breakfast was served in the morning on Thursday.

    Nice food, nice beer in nice garden, good location, ideal for my appointment the next morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very comfortable. Enjoyed having the coffer maker. As it was a hot day, the room had been cooled with a fan which was much appreciated. Breakfast was delicious with some nice choices on the menu. Dinner fantastic, and we loved the comfort of the wing leather chairs when we had our nightcap. Staff were fantastic especially Charley who booked us in and gave us a very warm welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two items which didn't go well during my stay were disappointing. In all other respects I really liked the New Inn but I thought these two issues both reflected a level of care which could have been much improved: I stayed at the New Inn during the June heatwave. I appreciate that many people up and down the country may have found sleeping at night difficult in this weather but one goes on holiday to relax and my room was really uncomfortable due to heat which had been absorbed into the room. I think this may have been due to a lack of blinds on the window. The hotel had provided a fan on a stand which was well intentioned but did not make much if any difference to the conditions in the room as it was simply moving the hot air around the room. I went on to stay at another hotel in Kent during this hot spell and the room was beautifully cool perhaps because it had good quality blinds to keep out the heat. The night I arrived the kettle was not working despite the kettle and an extension socket both being switched on. I left a note for this to be looked at but it was still not working the second night I stayed there. I then found that the plug attached to the extension lead was hidden with various other wiring out of sight behind the television and had been unplugged. It was disappointing the hotel had not checked this before I arrived or looked at it when I left a note.

    The New Inn, a pub/hotel, is in a lovely location for a quiet break. In Winchelsea, opposite the church, views to the countryside nearby and Winchelsea Beach easy to reach by car or bicycle. The walled garden is really delightful and hotel guests can relax there at any time of day. Breakfasts are good and the evening meal I had was very good and good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheer roller blinds at the bedroom window would improve privacy (from the buses and pavement!). Some refurbishment still to do on communal areas but keep up the good work!

    The room (1) was lovely and obviously recently refurbished. The sofa and coffee/tea making facilities made it very homely. The food was good and this place is a good alternative to more expensive boutique hotels in Rye that we have used before. The view across to the church is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some kids play equipment in the beer garden would have been a bonus. Rated safety low as the bedroom window had a low cill height and no restrictor was fitted, we had to keep it closed to ensure our 3 year old didn't fall out.

    Overall a great place to stay, friendly staff, great food although slightly pricey and lovely enclosed beer garden. Breakfast included in stay with a good choice and well cooked. Nice village location with country walk nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very attractive location overlooking the picturesque church and churchyard. Peaceful oasis of calm. Restaurant was fine and well presented. Staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive. A very relaxing break.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a weekday breakfast did not start until 08.30am. This is to late for business travellers, although I was provided with fruit, cereal and a fruit juice to have in my room.

    Great village location and splendid real pub atmosphere. Room was comfortable with a good shower. Plenty of free on site parking available. Good evening meal. Staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the last available room which was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable but very small. Unfortunately, we stayed on the hottest two days we'd had this year so the room got extremely hot and we roasted in spite of a huge fan supplied by the hotel. Nobody's fault, it was just one of those things. That side of the hotel has the sun on it all day so they could do with air-con if only in this little room. It wouldn't put us off staying there again, just not in room 5 in a heatwave!

    Staff were great. We had a warm welcome and they did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Winchelsea is a pleasant town, very quiet, but a good base for trips. We enjoyed our meals and we would be happy to stay at The New Inn again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    with a better more interesting menu (i.e. Local produce & seafood) this could be a first rate weekend break.

    Location, accomodation & staff were excellent,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the restaurant and the food was ok but not great.

    Lovely location, rooms overlooking the beautiful church, staff really friendly, free parking, good breakfast, very comfortable rooms large enough for a big sofa and space to relax. Very quiet. Great base for exploring the local area - Rye less than ten minutes away, Bodiam Castle not far.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally situated in a pretty and interesting village with good walking and views to sea or over the valley towards Rye. The staff were always very helpful. Food was seasonal and well prepared (great ice creams), room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The garden was very nice to sit in on sunny afternoons and is well looked after.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only stayed 2 nights and found the breakfast was rather lacking. The 1st morning there were cereals plus yoghurt and fruit as well, cooked breakfast was quite good although my husband found the fried egg was rather undercooked on top. We were given one small pot of tea and were told that we could definitely get 2 cups out of it which was just about true. But there was no problem when we asked for a 2nd pot. 2nd morning there was cereal but no fruit or yoghurt. Cooked breakfast was much the same. We were served 1 pot of tea each this time which was better. There were plenty of individual pots of jam but a choice of raspberry or raspberry or marmite, no marmalade and one strawberry! We got the feeling that the 2 waitresses were not morning people, a smile and a "Good morning" would have been nice!

    The welcoming staff were friendly and helpful, kindly carried our suitcase upstairs. Very comfortable bed and room nice and quiet with a window you could actually open properly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, when we ordered dinner there were several items unavailable and considering it wasn't a huge menu it was quite disappointing. However what we has was nice.

    The ambience was great, really friendly place to say, nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A difference of opinion between staff as to at what point people staying had to settle any bar bills. It was a little embarrassing for me.

    Lovely room, nice meal and excellent cooked breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible noise from kitchen fans which made staying in rooms unbearable and the unfriendly staff members - mainly females who were not helpful or friendly

    Comfortable rooms and very helpful and friendly staff member Steve.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks selection for ladies were poor especially if you don't drink wine no Malibu or no orange cordiall or fuzzy orange

    Comfortable bed clean and friendly staff and local community very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice of food at breakfast and dinner. Main courses were cheaper than I would normally expect to pay in the south east. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a superior room which appeared to be good but was let down in many ways. It was above the restaurant from where the music could be heard The fixed shower was set at 5 foot 10 so neither of us fitted under the shower. The cost of the room was charged to my card 4 days in advance of our stay despite Booking.com saying that I would pay at the hotel. The window had been left open so the room was cold but we couldn't get the heating to come on despite opening the control valve. We told the management at dinner time. Nothing had been done 2 hours later when we returned to the room. We complained. The waitress was sent up to our room and saw we had turned on the radiator and agreed the room was too cold. She said the manager would come to our room but he didn't. Eventually some heat came to the radiator at around 10 pm. Too late. Next morning we asked to see the manager. He kept us waiting of half an hour in total and the person who originally said he wasn't the manager turned out to be him. Our complaint was judged by him to be too vociferous and he threatened us with the CCTV recording to prove his case ( his words). We told him he should be more customer aware and this time he told us to leave and never come back. He agreed that we would not be required to pay for our evening meal as compensation but then insisted in escorting us off the premises in front of guests eating their breakfast. This man had no clue how to treat people.

    Excellent location Olde worlde Inn Breakfast was superb despite being served in a churlish manner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we were very happy with it all.

    The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the food at both breakfast and dinner was well cooked and delicious. The inn was full of history but our room was well decorated and modern and we were very comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the water from the shower was cold on the first morning and when it was fixed it was far too hot. The Owner was aware and was going to deal with the problem

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like!

    A most enjoyable stay in lovely Winchelsea. We received a very warm and friendly welcome from the staff, the food was excellent and the room was extremely comfortable and cosy. Thank you - we will be back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of being a hotel within a pub. Tasty well presented food and the log fire ...always a big plus. Friendly and helpful staff. A most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather no fault of the New Inn!

    Staff very friendly,rooms clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast. Had a meal in restaurant on the Saturday which was very enjoyable and good value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For our tastes we would prefer smaller pillows but wasn't bothered enough to ask hotel to change them.

    Breakfast was very good and Steak and Ale pie at dinner was excellent . Dogs allowed downstairs only, which we totally agree with. Would definitely recommend, this 5star accommodation and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked the comfort and ambience. Also the staff were very friendly and helpful. Winchelsea is a beautiful village, and great for a restful break, but there's more to see and do in Rye.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a warm welcome, the staff at the New Inn did everything to make us comfortable. Breakfast was yummy and we ate there for dinner too, no regrets at all. The village is beautiful, and well worth a visit

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passengers on passing double decker buses looking straight into bay window room - not really a problem though. (draw curtains) Booked online , with agent, for 3 people but hotel was only expecting 2. Had to pay extra £15 -still not sure why! Suggest booking direct with hotel to avoid this.

    Large comfortable bedroom with coffee machine. Large TV . Olde worlde feel about the place in this historic setting. Good view over churchyard to church. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Free wifi. Log fire in pub, good beers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Super King or Twin with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath was a bit big as I walked into it ocassionly and couldn't stand under it without crouching, no rubber mat either to stand on as everything was shinny and slippery. I've slipped in a bath before and it really hurts.

    The location was spot on. The room was nice although felt a bit cramped with too much furniture in it. Overall it was nice and comfy.The Inn is perfectly situated in the small village of Winchelsea with no heavy road traffic ot noise that you might notice

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: