Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Newburgh Guesthouse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

14 Scarborough Road, Torquay, TQ2 5UJ, United Kingdom

#64 of 119 B&Bs and inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 319 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Great short stay break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Adrian and Marie were very warm welcoming and friendly made us feel like family. Adrian cooked great breakfasts to each ones ones pre selected choice. Gave us helpful advice and suggestions i.e to take the ferry into Brixham instead of going by bus which we did and it proved a worthwhile trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the size of the room and the ventilation could have been better, it was very warm but the windows don't open much.

    the friendly atmosphere. and the food was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing we disliked.

    Very accommodating.. nice and friendly people.. Had everything you needed in the room.. very comfy bed and clean room...Looking forward to going back next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hosts, food, bed and cleanliness🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have done with a comfy chair in room, but there were two other chairs available. I slept a lot because of pain, so partner was sitting a lot. But..... would be very happy to visit again. 😀

    Gluten Free breakfast was excellent. Very helpful. Checked us in early 'cause I needed to lie down. Great people. VERY comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Brilliant !! So many things to do and places to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Family Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were able to check in as soon as we arrived and were contacted while we were on our way to find out what time we would be arriving and availability of carpark spaces . Our room was great nice and clean and fresh , the breakfast was brilliant , we were made to feel extremely welcome nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I may have rated the area badly. The score was based on the fact that there was a seriously drunk girl screaming outside in the street in the middle of the first night and a there seemed to be a couple of unsavoury characters in the area, again late at night. (about 2am). We personally experienced no problems.

    Adrian and Marie were very attentive and took an interest in the reasons why we had come to Torquay. They couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    It was a very last minute booking (booked 15 minutes before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very last minute booking (booked 15 minutes before arriving)the room wasn’t ready as you can imagine but they turned it round very quickly and it was of great standard. Hosts were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Warm welcome and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Possibly darker curtains. As the sun was bright.

    The couple were very welcoming and could not do enough for us nothing was too much trouble. They even cooked fried bread for my husband.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    All you need for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely guest house, clean rooms with very comfy bed, tasty breakfast and very friendly owner, can't fault it, would definitely come back Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    It was ideally located for everything we wanted to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Torquay was busy so we found it difficult to park the car and had to do so a few streets away from the guest house

    It was ideally located for everything we wanted to do

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hosts..value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water very slow to go down in the shower cubical. Room 6 Tea brand in rooms not pleasant.

    Lovely friendly guesthouse...Adrian and Marie have time for their guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Newburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's quite a walk to the seafront if you have difficulty walking but no problems if you're able bodied

    Very clean and comfortable easy to park the car and it's fee parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Adrian’s breakfast are truly amazing, he was able to cater for special diets and a good selection to choose from. He gave us advise on places to visit and places to eat. Very friendly welcome. Would recommend this guest house and would happily stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Fab weekend away . Excellent food . Loved the area and our hosts .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small but Adrian e plained all the others were booked when we booked. Also a light stopped working, which couldn’t b fixed. But we had another anyway .

    We loved Adrian he was v helpful and told of the nearest and best attractions. Friendly and approachable . Food excellent fried breakfast .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    The owners were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were very friendly. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful (& as the cooked food was grilled it wasn't greasy.) Lots of cereals, fresh fruit and toast, filter coffee and pots of tea. It is about 10min walk to the bars along seafront (and then another 10min walk to the harbour.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, everything was great.

    owners were so welcoming and treated us as friends and couldn't do enough to help, they were also very helpful in helping us with local knowledge, absolutely loved our stay and will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    5.8
    Was a nice break but was glad to get home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked this B & B on the reviews and was very disappointed, room was very small, not enough plug sockets to dry hair etc, too much furniture, damp patches on the walls, bed was very low and the room was REALLY cold, on one occasion we had to tell Marie that the heating had gone off, on day 2 we realised that the heating is probably set to go off at around 16:00hrs, breakfast was average.

    The greeting was very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.6
    We will be back again - The breakfast was superb :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only reason not 5 stars all through was the mattress (Nothing wrong for most people but I prefer a softer mattress)

    The hosts were fantastic, both chatty and warm. Would recommend this accommodation to everyone, great location and price. Very clean and quiet accommodation. On street parking but we had a spot just outside and road is not busy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    made to feel very welcome.
    • Couple
    • En Suite Family Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i think that had i phoned direct i could have got it cheaper, as there was only two of us i the room not three.

    made to feel very welcome. and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    Awesome, just the fact it's got tea and coffee making facilities and warm to come back to is fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, don't need to change a thing.

    Host was fantastic, superb grilled breakfast which makes all the difference to us slimmers, bedroom lovely and warm to come back to after a day out. Yes and coffee making facilities provided with a biscuit too. Spotless clean with a five star rating and just a ten minute walk into town. I loved this guesthouse and would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Thoughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The breakfast was excellent with choices of other things.Fresh fruit and yogurt available also .We met Adrian on arrival who showed up to our room.He was very friendly and welcoming.The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Newburgh hotel torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. The place was clean. Pleasant. Hosts amazing. Nothing to fault .

    Nice location. Very clean lovely breakfast . Hosts where very helpful and pleasant. Will stay there again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    10
    Would recommend this guest house. Gave great advice about were to eat and its only a short walk in t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was well cooked and plenty of choice, we opted for the small double room which was just right for us. Bed was comfy room was lovely and warm. Owners were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    10
    Brilliant unexpected quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited parking at the back of the property, but managed to get parked out the front.

    Adrian was very welcoming as was his wife. Very homely room. Comfy bed and lovely fluffy white towels. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast was as ordered and nothing too much trouble. We would definitely book again. As a small establishment it exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Torquay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    Everything was perfect! It’s a little walk down to the beach and town, perfectly located. The breakfast on both mornings was gorgeous! The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious. Marie and Adrian were lovely, had a chat every time we saw each other and was happy enough to help with absolutely anything. Wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else in Torquay, definitely be staying here every time from now on!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Lovely place,lovely people,lovely break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING TO DISLIKE.

    Couldn't fault the stay/visit at all,hope to be able to stay again.The owners,Marie and Adrian were very obliging and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.5
    All in all, the stay was positive and really appreciated the owners friendly and helpful service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit of an issue with limited street parking outside. Also the room was a little small and the toilet and shower facilities were a bit tired and outdated (although all very clean). The bed mattress was rather unsupportive for me (I suffer from a bad back at times so prefer a firm support)but this is probably not an issue for the majority. The double bed was a bit small with a footboard at the end too which made it a challenge for my 6'4" partner!

    Friendly owners who were happy to oblige a late check in time for us, (thank you so much). The breakfast was a very good standard too and our room was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.8
    We were very pleased with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    good supply of toiletries Adrian and Marie were excellent they were friendly hosts and couldn't do enough for us the room was clean and tidy very value for money we will deferentially stay again we stayed in en-suite on the ground floor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The hosts excellent, breakfast tasty & fulfilling nice comfy room & hotel ideally placed for all amenities, ample parking on road or on site parking to rear lovely stay with thanks 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    3.3
    Old fashioned decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old fashioned decor..tiny bathroom with a shower door that was broke and the window blind didn't pull down...creaky bed..tiniest dining room only another couple there and the owner seemed totally confused over breakfast order

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.6
    Great host in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating was switched off at times and no control in the room to switch it back on.

    Very friendly host and lovely breakfast. The hotel is less than 15 minutes walk from the centre of Torquay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Brilliant Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great

    The breakfast was cooked fresh and you could order what combo you wanted,the owners were very informative about were to eat and visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    Would i stay here again? Yes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Squeaky bed which I was assured would be next on their list of things to change as mine was the last one not yet to be changed as they are new(ish) owner's.

    Friendly accommodating owners , nothing was to much trouble. Fantastic breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Home from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's nothing not to like

    Great welcome couple where lovely clean friendly breakfast great loads to eat home from home will stay there again no problem

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a critisum but bedroom and bathroom a little small, but they can't do much about that, it is what it is.

    The location was good, the owners were very accommodating, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Loved it, loved it, loved it !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely genuine people; such a fabulous welcome from Adrian and Marie and their son, , nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent - I could even have my slimming world cooked breakfast, Really fresh produce with plentiful supplies of tea and toast. Room was comfortable and on Sunday I really did not want to get out of my comfy bed !!! Location meant that on the Friday we could walk up the road for an Indian sit down meal and then on Saturday walk down the road to the seafront and the theatre which was the purpose of our visit. I would recommend this place and intend staying again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking space at property was small and not Always free. Parking in the area was only available at approx 300-400 m.

    Very friendly staff. Personal approach. Nice breakfast. Clean rooms, but small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent from start to finish and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Ground Floor Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners (Adrian and Marie) were both very friendly and knowledgeable on the local area, and gave excellent advice on where to eat. The guest house is a great location and only a short walk from the beach, and Torquay centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value for money. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Marie and Adrian made us feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble, we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming hosts, fantastic breakfast, we will definitely be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Landlord and landlady are incredibly friendly and welcoming. Nice size room, hot strong shower. Tasty and filling breakfast. Even though the room opened out on to the street the place is so quiet and peaceful, even on a bank holiday. Incredibly cheap.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely clean rooms and well maintained always clean linen and towels slept well and breakfasts to die for 10/10 will definitely be going there again in future.

    It was situated perfectly between all amenities and beach but in a quiet area. They made us feel at home and welcome and friendly owners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.8
    guest owners friendly. good solid breakfast. does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Went with other family members who had room one. shower not as good and side panel broke .window wouldn't stay open held up with a wooden block . walls very thin could here everything from other room next to them.

    Bed comfy, nice quality bedding. Shower good and hot. We were in room 4 out back lovely and quite and cool it was very hot the weekend we were there. Breakfast was good plenty of choices and all you want to eat, though dinning area small. Nice quality towels tea and coffee always stocked up. Friendly owners

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.3
    Affordable guest house in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The light in the bathroom was not very good.I had to put a lot of effort to flush water in the toilet.I could smell plastic from the kettle which should be definitely change for a new one.

    Great location and very tasty breakfast.Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Lovely hosts and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming, the breakfast was great and freshly made, the location was perfect. We had a lovely long weekend there. And also a good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Warm and welcoming perfect little break away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A We were very happy with everything!

    The hotel was amazing! Just what we wanted, very homely, always a nice welcome from the owners! Gorgeous breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    5***
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved every second of our stay here from check in to breakfast departure, there is so much do whilst staying here! The guest house is located around 10-15 minute walk to the beach and seafront. Marie and Adrian are so helpful and nothing is too much to ask for from personalised breakfasts to daily room cleaning to offering advice about things to do. I would 100% recommend staying here again, and will definitely be back! The guest house also has their own WiFi and car park which is an added bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.3
    Good hosts, good value, good breaky
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a didn't like but more of a personal bit of feedback. We felt the bed would benefit from a mattress topper to give some more added comfort. This did not detract from our stay tho.

    Lovely atmosphere and hosts were very friendly. Good breakfast. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    Our first visit to torquay and was thoroughly enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was real good especially poached and scrambled eggs,the owners where very welcoming and helpful planning days out local amenities and places to eat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    nice and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room we had n0 6 was comftable ,Adrian and marie were excellent hosts nothing was to much for them. food was excellent ,will definitely return next time in this area and recommend a visit to anyone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    Booked for my parents the communication before hand was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Booked for my parents the communication before hand was great, Couple at B&B were really attentive and very informative. Couldn't have done enough for them. Breakfast fantastic so all in all an amazing week.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    5.4
    Visit not to be repeated
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In fairness I omitted to ask for disabled accomodation. The room we were given was on the ground floor - directly opposite dining room. Noise from anyone passing very loud as unusually creaky floor boards and heavy tread. Noticeably late at night or early morning. Bed was small and uncomfortable, although owners said it was 4 foot 6. Walls papered over uneven plaster painted white. Hand basin cracked around tap and actual sink part. Wet room had small shower, (no bath), with stale water smell coming from drain, not draining well. If anyone upstairs had shower their waste bubbled up into our shower tray. Heated towel rail not working. Had to leave light on in bathroom to charge toothbrushes. Space between walls and bed very small requiring sideways marketing. Leg caught on two prominent pipes protruding g from wall nearest back wall and bed. Television small but would have been O.K. had we been able to watch it without it fractionation every few minutes. Also noises neighbours. We were not sure if the bass vibrations, reverberating around the room up until 12:30 one evening and each night until 11:15, was from guests or owners. An experience we will not be repeating.

    Good breakfast well presented. Owners welcoming. Clean towels and bed linen, hairdryer, complementary soap, hair shampoo and vanity set, coffee / tea, ( two packets biscuits). Owners helpful providing information and when requested, another set of towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    ENTHRALLING STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing comes to mind!

    We have been to a few B&B's in our time and the friendliness, hospitable and accommodating nature of the proprietors were 'second to none'! Especially the efforts to help us in our adversity (broke down and didn't arrive until 1.45 am and they were there the let us in). Excellent service!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    10
    Would be happy to stay again, hosts very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could have been better, but only a small niggle really.

    All good, parking was at a premium, accommodation was good along with breakfast, would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    Newburgh guesthouse is Beautiful & very clean, situated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Newburgh guesthouse is Beautiful & very clean, situated within walking distance of all you need...beach, shops, pubs, supermarket, cinema. Marie & Adrian were really friendly and helpful. Adrians full english breakfast every morning is the perfect way to start the day. Highly recommended to everyone, we can't wait for our next visit :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    10
    Great guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location: walking distance to Torquay city and beach, free parking on the street - we found one right in front of the entrance; good price, very lovely and helpful staff - we've been given city maps and guides, delicious breakfast! :) Thank you ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    10
    Great value ,Great food ,Great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very minor one but extra socket for phone charger etc.

    A lovely cooked breakfast and we chose to have a not too early one at 9.30 which was just ideal for us. The most comfortable bed we have had away from home. Plenty of space for clothes . Very warm hotel even with the wet weather. A great couple as hosts and check in easy .Very clean and quiet .Short walk to sea and 10 minutes walk to the town. Would return again and recommend to friends , a big thank you to Adrian and Marie.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    Delightful guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found nothing to dislike.

    Adrian and Marie have got it spot on. They know how to look after their guests and make you feel very welcome. Everywhere is beautifullly clean and very comfortable. They provide an awesome breakfast with lots of choices. We would recommend this guest house to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2017

    8.3
    Friendly & Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I rely on wifi and not available in my room - was offered to connect elsewhere in the building but I wanted to work from my room

    Owners very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    10
    Weekend stay at Newburgh Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts were really friendly and accommodating. The room was lovely and clean. I would definitely go back to Newburgh Guesthouse if in that part of the world.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    10
    Highly recommended excellent NEWBURGH GUEST HOUSE HIGHLY RECOMMEND
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all everything perfect from start to finish

    The friendliness of the lady and gent running the b and b and there information in where to visit was superb it was spotlessly clean and the breakfast exerlent cannot fault any part of the weekend spent in Torquay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    9.2
    Ticked all the boxes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the window was a wall but the owners have told us which rooms to request when we visit next...

    Extremely attentive to our requirements, nothing was too much trouble...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    10
    A pleasant, comfortable and a very lovely guest house that has exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can not fault anything

    The property owners Adrian and Marie were very welcoming, made us totally feel at home. Room was perfect, very comfortable bed, warm and immaculate, and good breakfast. We recommend this guest house a very good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    10
    Newburgh rocks!!
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely fantastic time at the Newburgh Marie and Adrian are fab hosts room was perfect breakfast was beautiful will definitely use the hotel again soon! Also in a perfect location for town overall very happy customer 😊

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    3.3
    THE RECEPTION FROM STAFF WAS OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE RECEPTION FROM STAFF WAS OK. AS WE ENTERED THE HOTEL THERE WAS NO PARKING IN THE END WE SQUEEZED IN. THE ROOM WASN'T HOMELY, THE BED WAS AWFUL, THERE WERE COBWEBS EVERYWHERE. THE SHOWER WAS SEVERELY HOT EVEN WHEN COOLED DOWN. THE TV WAS SO SMALL AND WE COULDN'T GET THE TV TO WORK AT ALL. SORRY TO LEAVE SUCH A NEGATIVE FEEDBACK BUT I CANT SEE WHAT VALUE YOU ARE GETTING FOR MONEY. THIS NEEDS A VERY LARGE MAKEOVER. FELT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE HERE.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    10
    Really lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault it.

    Came on a weekend break to Torquay, and Newburgh Guest House was absolutely lovely! Staff were incredibly welcoming and the room itself was beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was fab and they even let us keep our bags there after check out so that we could explore the town. Would definitely go back - really lovely stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    10
    Like visiting old friends !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all!

    The warm, friendly greeting and the relaxed attitude of Marie and Adrian. Adrian's breakfasts were simply awesome, all cooked fresh to order.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    8.8
    great place to stay nice people to deal with,clean tidy and grat breakfast see you easter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely place,lovely room,breakfast great all in all a great place to stay,Marie and Adrian really nice people and helpful so good we booked our easter break and looking forward to it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice friendly guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very friendly guest house. Good location as not far to walk to the town or beach and harbour, and nice and clean. Great breakfast. We will go back sometime.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    10
    Cute, small, comfortable, and very accommodating Married...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Cute, small, comfortable, and very accommodating Married couple bought a B and B, and provide the best customer service. Great English breakfasts, and extremely hospitable. Real people that care about your stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely couple, lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to late planning of the trip, my sister and I ended up shring a double bed, normally not a problem, however, this double bed sounded as if it was going to buckle at the very thought of someone sitting on it, never mind two people sleeping on it (would be absolutely no good to honeymooners)

    The location was ideal, close to the sea front and the harbour, but also close to the South Devon highway, making visiting other parts of Devon easy. The b&b was clean and well presented (maybe in need of a little modernisation but cosy all the same) but what really won us over was the couple who run the establishment. They were so lovely and welcoming. Would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    9.6
    We really enjoyed this time! Great chef, lovely place, wonderful people! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the place looks better in reality than in the pictures, especially with the Christmas decorations on. :)

    The breakfast was always very tasty and impeccable presented. We really enjoyed this time! Great chef, lovely place, wonderful people! Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel + Lovely people = Perfect holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our time at Newburgh Guesthouse was absolutely incredible! We both had an amazing time thanks to the amazing hospitality provided by Marie and Adrian. They were able to provide us with plenty of information on things-to-do in the area and made our stay extra special by treating us like valued guests. Such lovely, kind people! Will definitely be staying again!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    10
    A place to unwind, relax and refresh,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing that we didn,t like.

    We were made to feel welcome from the moment the door was opened to us ... breakfast delicious .. nothing was too much trouble. A really nice to stay

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2016

    10
    Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls - could here very well into other rooms. No decaffineated drinks in room.

    Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful Comfy bed Good quality for reasonable price. Clean and fresh environment. Cute guest house atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    10
    We thouroughly enjoyed are stay here their was a group of 9 and all had a wonderfull stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners of the newburgh are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble the breakfast was excellent and more tea coffee and toast was allways on offer.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: