Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Warwickshire hotel reviews
  4. Hockley Heath hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Oak Hotel

Reviews of The Oak Hotel

8640 Stratford Road, Hockley Heath, B94 5NW, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Hockley Heath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1643 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2019

    9.2
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs a shelf for customer's toiletries. The opening for the shower door is very small and the shower did not drain away quickly enough so showers had to be cut short. Also, no hairdryers in the rooms.

    Lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    7.5
    Overall good will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered a bottle white wine had to go to cellar as none in fridge ,young girl plonked on the counter still warm had to ask for a chiller with ice ,felt like l was imposing not impressed

    The room was good value the event we attended went well buffet ok good sizwd room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    9.6
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was woken around 5:30 in the morning from walking around above I thought it may have been someone leaving earlier but this went on till I had enough and checked out. On Leaving I realised it was the cleaners from 5:30am to 10:30am I had no sleep from what can only be described as a heard of elephants back and forth outside my room and above.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2019

    7.9
    Good clean hotel with WiFi, bar, close to the NEC and great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I dislike about this hotel.

    Good clean hotel with WiFi, bar, close to the NEC and great value for money. Free parking as well. Perfect place for business trips to the NEC.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    10
    very convenient and a very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom door was a bit damaged.

    Friendly helpful staff, they were happy to serve me in the bar, even though I did not arrive until gone 11:30 at night and I was the only person in the bar. very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    9.2
    Well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor point, the room had space for hanging clothes, but no coat hangers. The receptionist was very busy on the phone when I checked in and could have done with a little help, yet she remained cheerful, friendly and very helpful.

    Overall, the hotel was worth more than the price I paid. The room spacious enough, bed very comfortable, shower was great and the breakfast really good. For what I paid, I expected something near to a mediocre B & B and got a good hotel ! The staff were great, very nice people.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    9.2
    Excellent value for money. Close to Motor way junction and NEC, Birmingham and Solihull.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is NOT a complaint, just obervations. These must be wieghed against the excellent value the room represents. So:- We had a large double bed made from two 3' singles. Mine was fine, my wifes was very lumpy, so much so that she abandoned to another 3rd bed in the room. Only one waste bin (1 in bathroom, none in bedroom). No light over mirror for 'make up'. No soap tray in shower. Breakfast was OK for English people but would not suit many Europeans (no cold meat, cheese, yogurt, chopped friut). there were Europeans staying and I heard no complaints.

    Excellent value for money. 2 for one meals were super both nights we dined in the restaurant. House red was also good. TV did not work on arrival, due to another guest leaving set to 'play station'. Reception cheerfully came along and sorted the problem. We had moved house that day and were very tired, so their cheerful response was most welcome. The room cleaning was second to none and we have stayed 4*. Super shower, really powerful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    2.5
    Awful they refused to refund our loss of one nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe in the room, the only place to sit was on the bed. There was no telephone in the room so we could not contact reception in an emergency. It was so bad we left one day early

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    9.2
    Friendly staff particularly at check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had a very limited choice healthy options. I was offered a cooked breakfast but no porridge. A bit more light in the room would have been nice

    Friendly staff particularly at check-in. Comfortable bed. Car parking. Value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    7.0
    Cheap and cheerful. Sort breakfast. And you will get away with small problems in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BreAkfast was extra. Which was not a problem as the room was a fair rate. Breakfast finished at 10. But very little left. Cooking bacon and sausage almost to order. It was a buffet !! it should be ready to go. ( cost saving ) .coffee was instant sachets. Poor.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    5.0
    It was close to the venue where my friend was getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of communication between staff after 3 different phone calls re early check in to be told I’d get a call back but didn’t so had to chase. On the final phone call told we could check in early and the fee would be wavered (due to no one being in our room the previous night) to get to the hotel and be told by the GM that he would not be wavering the early check in fee and it’s his decision. This would have been taken a little better had I not had to make numerous phone calls regarding this, being promised there would be no fee and then being made to wait to check in with no acknowledgement of me being stood at the reception desk to then be faced with this extremely rude character. To top this all off (after I paid the fee) we got to the room which was booked as a twin and it was set up as a triple. The room was very dated, the tv remote didn’t work, the toilet roll holder was broken as was the mirror in the bathroom. All in all a pretty dreadful experience which wasn’t helped by the attitude of the people running the hotel.

    It was close to the venue where my friend was getting married.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floor boards and dated rooms. I upgraded to what I thought was disabled access for extra space.... but we had a top floor averages double. Was a little disappointed for the price paid. Breakfast was extra and not that nice as tasted as it had been out for a while.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy location to find and free parking. Nice pub food with good size dinner meals.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    6.7
    Staff very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level in the bedroom from squeaky flooring. Seriously don’t expect to get much sleep. Neighbours walking around is sufficient to wake even a heavy sleeper. Bathroom very tired and room could do with a deep clean

    Staff very friendly. Restaurant food enjoyed. The place was strangely empty for a Saturday night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and rooms comfortable and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fine however what we experienced was creaking floorboards which the noise was coming from next door and upstairs . We went to reception and was given another room on the top floor . We still experienced noise from next room floor boards however we had a peaceful night sleep. The toliet seat cover fell off and the shower riser rail had insulation tape holding it up .

    Staff were friendly and rooms comfortable and clean . Nice situation

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    6.3
    Provided basic accommodation at a fair price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a room right next to reception, rather noisy as there was a function on with loud music playing till 11.00pm. No remote control for the tv as they had ordered them but they hadn’t arrived from the supplier.

    Good location, price was ok, staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    5.4
    I was disappointed to feel everyone was tarred with the same brush because some people steal things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee and the breakfast were poor. No remote for the TV in the room. No plug for the sink in the bedroom.

    Unfortunately, this hotel was positively average. It was basic and we got what we paid for

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    8.8
    Was very pleased with the hotel especially for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t aware cooked breakfast wasn’t available until 8am which made me late for work, but the lady tried to get it out earlier for me would of not paid the £7 each for it if we knew we had to rush it though.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    4.6
    They take money off your card for meals without checking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They take money off your card for meals without checking that you have paid first. You’ve already gone home so you’re trying on the phone to get your money back. They take payment by room number but when they check they just balance the till not check the room. Will never stay again, the manager says he doesn’t need the money but you have no chance of getting it back. We had paid for our meals by cash then it was taken off my visa two days after I got home.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel offering excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great and plentiful but let down by instant coffee.

    Comfortable hotel, room was clean, plenty of parking and hotel bar very good. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    9.6
    You get what you pay for. When something is this cheap, there’s a reason. If u can tolerate
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel must be made from cardboard. U can literally hear people breathing in the next room. Every single step that anyone takes in the adjacent rooms or corridor makes the floorboards creak in your room and it sounds like there is someone walking around in your room. I barely slept because of this. Our room was 3rd floor and u can hear each bottle being put in the bin at the bar as clear as being stood at the bar. Also, we weren’t allowed to take food to the room so ended up sat in our vehicle eating the food we’d brought. None of the doors are soft close either so there’s almost constant (unintentional) slamming doors.

    Friendly staff, good food, nice rooms which were very cheap.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    8.8
    Ok to stay at for a short visit but lacks comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparse provisions in the room ie no milk. No telephone or room service which was definitely needed when we arrived as large functions going on that evening and the bar etc was chaotic. Music wasn’t appropriate for breakfast ie rapping and very very loud.

    Comfy bed. Cleanliness. Overall maintenance. Location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet and the bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, quiet and the bed was really comfortable. The reception and bar staff were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our meal at the bar and it was a good location for the event we were attending.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    7.5
    Nice and clean and good access to M40
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed at this hotel twice and 2 different rooms the Wc seats are flimsy and cheap. On this visit there was a funtion and load music. The music finished at a decent time but still very noisey in the bedroom. The bad thing was that there was a lot of running up and down the corridor with shouting

    Nice and clean and good access to M40

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    5.8
    Could have been good but wasn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaking tap in bathroom. Dressing gown hooks falling off. Beds very uncomfortable. The length of time it took to repair the lights in the bedroom. The lights went out during the night meaning: 1. Had to visit the loo in the dark. 2. We both had to shower in the dark. My wife could not put on her make up. We could not open the curtains when it was light outside as we looked straight out onto the carpark.

    Evening meals were good as was breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need a car. Prices, choice and quality of food in restaurant could be better.

    Very good value for money. Clean and comfortable and well serviced. Easy drive from Birmingham airport. Close to Solihull shopping and Stratford=upon-Avon. Good parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    5.8
    Staff were really friendly 😀 happy to help with new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable with a very thin pillow (no second pillow in the room). Plug did not have a chain. Even though we changed the batteries the remote failed to work. The extractor fan needs looking at by maintenance

    Staff were really friendly 😀 happy to help with new batteries for the TV remote

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    3.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality room, broken lock on door, red light flashing on smoke detector all night, light not working in bathroom, shower blocked .

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.1
    A nice place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had mould around the shower tray and in the corners on the floor which was a bit off putting.

    The facilities overall was good and seemed clean. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating and the ambience in the restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    9.2
    Nice size room, clean bedding and towels, very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom right next to the bed , loads of very squeaky floor boards, loads off cigarette ends outside the bedroom window, swivel toilet seat.

    Nice size room, clean bedding and towels, very clean room. Breakfast was very good value.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    5.4
    Overall nice place. But they need new comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was absolutely terrible,with all the bed springs poking out,we ended up sleeping on the floor. Wouldn't really recommend to anyone

    Nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    6.3
    Could be so much better with a little thought for the customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No option for breakfast---full breakfast or nothing. Staff did not fulfill promise to deliver hair dryer to room. Bathroom extractor fan stays on for hours , made worse by noisy fan in room above during nocturnal visit to loo by guest.

    Good car parking facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    8.3
    Friendly good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom needed better ventilation as shown by the prolific black mould around the window.

    All staff were exceptionally good and made our group very welcome. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and comfortable, very clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet roll holder bar was missing and the hook on back of bathroom door fell off when we I went to hang my towell on it.

    We had an evening meal and was certainly the best meal we have had for a very long time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    6.3
    A barely average hotel that I can't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floorboards so creaky that at times it sounded like people were walking around in your room, to go along with generally poor sound proofing (I could hear the conversation of the room next to us). Bathroom was looking old and tired, but more over there was no shower mat or soap and/or shower wash. Breakfast was mediocre at best, but selection was bare minimum. Also tried to charge me (and friends who were also staying) twice for our room as they didn't know if we'd already paid.

    Bar area was nicely presented. Bed was really comfortable. Location was good, with adequate parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    5.8
    Disturbed night. Disappointed ☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Function downstairs with very loud music until 1430hrs. No receptionist available at this hour to complain.

    Bed was comfortable. Clean. Good location for purpose of visit

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    6.7
    The fact that the manager of the hotel was informed that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I booked a room for 1 night however upon arrival at check in we were not informed at the time that there was a function on this resulted in loud music from 10pm to 2 :30 into the early hours of Sunday morning when my wife rang reception at 1:30 in the morning the rude male member of staff told my wife that we had been told of this function when we checked in which we clearly had not.

    The fact that the manager of the hotel was informed that we we extremely unhappy about this and could not have done any more to deal with our complaint and offered a full refund on our room other than that the room itself was lovely as was the meal Saturday night and breakfast on the Sunday morning.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    5.4
    I got more sleep the night I was on labour ward!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got more sleep the night I was on labour ward! Party there went on until 3am, drunken guests came up to the room being noisy til 6am, then the guests in the room above us woke us walking around as the floorboards are so noisy! Absolutely terrible for anyone wanting to sleep!

    Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    5.8
    Nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an average hotel, but what made it worse for me is when I initially come to check in, only to be greeted by rude, disrespectful, impolite and impudent staff member(s). It leaves the worst impression. I come back down to get a room with more privacy, th staff member asks, what is the room looking out on? I don't answer _ my attention is gotten by saying, 'hello', in that talking down to tone. By reception staff with a can of red bull in hand . Lovely!

    It was an average hotel, but what made it worse for me is when you I initially come to check in only to be greeted by rude, disrespectful, impolite and impudent staff member(s). It leaves the worst impression. I liked only the location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    5.8
    We had a very good meal at a very reasonable cost in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the Receptionist when we booked in was very unhelpful. I requested and extra pillow and was told that there were no pillows in the hotel..... I am sorry but I have at other times when we have visited your hotel been given extra pillows without any problem!! I had a very uncomfortable night.

    We had a very good meal at a very reasonable cost in the hotel and the restaurant and bar staff were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party of 30 in another room alongside the main restaurant in the evening and after waiting for about half an hour for a table (that was ok ..we hadn't booked) but on being shown to our table we were told we had to wait another 40 minutes before being served. All the other guests were having to wait too.

    The staff were doing their best and were being as helpful as possible. Polite and courteous in the restaurant and at reception. We enjoyed our meal when it arrived! Very good value. Excellent location for visiting Stratford on Avon / Warwick Castle.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    5.8
    Great food, average room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and staff

    Excellent food and great customer service. Room was missing remote control for TV( apparently stolen), ripped duvet cover( changed on request) I'll fitting shower door. No razor socket. Very noisy floor boards from room above us, however, quality of food and good customer service helped with these minor concerns.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    7.5
    Very well presented throughout with good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was a bit grumpy when I checked in, but so was I as they had put me in the furthest possible room on the 3rd floor with no offer of help with my heavy bag.

    Very well presented throughout with good food. Mainly the staff were upbeat and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel, good rooms in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Hotel, good rooms in a quiet location. Interesting decor, corridors felt like 'The Shining' ! - REDRUM! All good though, comfy beds and friendly staff!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful 8 out of 10
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was meant to be payed for online by my friend . But on arrival it turned out it had not been paid sonhavjng to pay my ashy

    I enjoyed the pub down stairs . The location was great and staff were friendly .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel staff good but needs you to check your booking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put a lift in and make sure rooms are were they say

    Asked for a downstairs room as on crutches and also wanted three beds in one room yes that was fine phoned to check that was correct yes . When I got their the room was on the top floor no lift .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    The food in the restaurant was excellent, nicest meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was brilliant no complaints at all would definitely stay again

    The food in the restaurant was excellent, nicest meal I've had out in a while

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    8.3
    Overall I had a pleasant stay in good premises with really good friendly staff ,good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that menu items were not available (as above) and there were no biscuits in the room to accompany the coffee/tea. The buffet breakfast was not available on my last morning but I was still able to order a full breakfast which was very good .

    The room suited to my needs once the heating was fixed. The staff were friendly and efficient especially in the restaurant and the food was good .Unfortunately on my second night three or four items listed on the menu were not available.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    4.6
    Ok. Mattresses need urgent replacment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fine for a night or 2 I suppose in the future IF they decide to replace the mattresses they have completely had it and are in desperate need of replacement!! Also would recommend a room not on ground floor as it sounds like a herd of elephants when someone above is walking around. Other than that location,parking,food,bar etc is all resonable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.6
    A good location for visiting museums locally, good service and lively food..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift for rooms on other floors would have been more useful.

    My husband and his Father stayed at the hotel, so they could visit 2 museums of interest within a closer driving distance. they were very happy with all that was available at the Oak Hotel, although a lift to the upper floors would be useful considering my father in law is 82 and a little unsteady on his feet, but he managed ok.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    6.3
    Nice clean hotel with functional rooms and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed here a couple of times, and on both visits the beds unfortunately are past their sell by date. Sleeping with springs in my back.

    Nice clean hotel with functional rooms and good food. The bar area is relaxing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    5.4
    Convenient but needs decor refresh and better bar bar and restaurant ;staff fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly need decor refresh No hair dryer Not much atmosphere No decent ales Few people in bar ; not very welcoming Ng poor seating in bar Very limited restaurant menu

    Location for where I was going

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast, frendly female staff members at front desk...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bedrooms downstairs next to kitchen. Very noisy. Bedrooms both needed renovation.

    Good breakfast, frendly female staff members at front desk and breakfast bar. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    5.4
    value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stay at the oak was fine the food wasn't the best but value for money. The fact that I could hear what the next rom was doing wasn't very nice. but value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room, friendly staffs all around, the most worth to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaking floor boards, but good for Halloween themed stay.

    Spacious room, friendly staffs all around, the most worth to mention is the food quality which is fairly good enough.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy from the rooms above

    Friendly service and very helpful, restaurant staff were excellent and helped me take drinks and food to my room as I travelled with young children on my own who were tired. Brilliant service from everyone. Thank you for making the trip effortless x

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    6.7
    Creaky floor boards ruined our night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote didn't work. Asked for new batteries and they were replaced but it still didn't work. Reception (manager?) seemed reluctant to attempt to resolve problem. Floor boards on our floor were pretty bad. Slept bad as it sounded like neibouring rooms were in our room. Some staff not as polite as they should be when serving customers.

    Breakfast was very good value for money. The price of the booking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    6.3
    Bring your own pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed only had 1 very thin pillow each when we requested more we were told they don't have extra pillows. Very creaky floorboards that run throughout so you can hear every footstep of other customers

    Being able to park easily and get a drink.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.4
    convenient for our visit to the NEC about 7 miles away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floors of bedroom very noisy when walked on including creaking noises in our bedroom when someone walked in next door bedrooms. Unfortunately a technical problem did not allow us to book food and drink to our rooms so had to be paid for every time we bought something.

    Restaurant 2 for 1 was good value, including the steak night with wine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.8
    A smart hotel. Very good value for money, spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flimsy small plastic hangers in room. The manager and one or two of the staff could do with learning how to smile, greet and accept compliments with a bit more enthusiasm! We felt the breakfast selection was somewhat limited. Instant coffee sachets, choice of cereal and no pastries.

    Presentable appearance from outside, equaled by the internal decor. Immaculately clean presentable room. Surprisingly enjoyable evening meal which was excellent value too - two for one deal. Our waitress was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was worn out and needed replacing, very sparse room facilities, no hair dryer or tissues. Bathroom very sparsly furnished, nowhere to set down your wash-bag

    The towels were clean and fresh daily. Good on site food choice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.4
    Poor Room, good Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room 14 ground floor. We requested top floor when booking, ignored !! Double Mattress very uncomfortable, felt all springs , needs replacing. Heard every footstep from room above including his regular visits to toilet in middle of night. Stayed here at least 3 times before, probably not again.

    Restaurant food good quality pub food and great value. Good location for NEC.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    Cheer up, folks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bored looking staff who could scarcely raise a smile between them. We emailed them next day to ask about something we left in our room but did not receive a reply which was disappointing.

    Decent beer. Good breakfast at reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and great location
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grubbiness of bathroom around edges of shower and the bathroom

    We loved the location staff and eating there the cavery was spot Qn so was the evening meal the room we had was clean mattress needs renewing as very lumpy also bathroom was very old and dirty around the edges it needs a good clean ! We really did enjoy our stay though just needed a few minor tweaks to update room thankyou

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely food , just been painting nice and clean, set out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap toliet roll, no shelf in bathroom to put anything, or in shower, tv signal kept going

    Lovely food , just been painting nice and clean, set out well

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    good location & easy to find .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy due to lack of sound proofing Could hear every step from someone upstairs. Could hear every word from people in neighbouring rooms that were talking normally. Could hear switches being used. loo flushing next door room & doors closing & people walking along the corridor & I am hard of hearing ! Self service curry night buffet was not a good choice .

    Newly refurbished pleasant decor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    we enjoyed our stay and i know friends we met up with enjoyed theirs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing that could have marred our stay was the late [ish] breakfast we had to be at our function at 8pm fortunately they did breakfast there the oak don't start breakfast till 8am, but it was no big deal for us to have breakfast at the function

    comfy, clean room, pleasant staff and pleasant atmosphere, drinks and meals at reasonable prices The oak ticked all the box's for me

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    It was clean, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed this time, but there is a poor sound insolation. You can hear everything in the next rooms.

    It was clean, comfy bed. Food in the restaurant just great! Staff were friendly and helpful. Big and free car park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little disappointing no filter coffee and the bacon was hard

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Okay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very noisy, you felt springs as you turned over. The bathroom definitely needed more shelf space, there was no where to stand your toiletry bags . Also the shower could do with somewhere to stand your bottle of shampoo/shower gel. There was nowhere to hang a towel for the shower and no hand towel rail either !!! Basic stuff really not being met.

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room are always welcome. Could have done with more milks and maybe some biscuits though. A mirror with a powerpoint is very useful too ! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Microwave would be handy for heating breakfast.

    The whole experience at the Oak Hotel was very good. The staff in particular were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice place, but these niggly things put me off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was very nice but the bed was so uncomfortable, very lumpy and bumpy. I have thrown better out! Also, there was no Yogurts at breakfast and the plates were cold if you wanted a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    It was ok i do not think i would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant bar and reception area were very cold, the television in my room did not work, I spoke to the gentleman at reception twice and he never came to re set the TV.

    The bed was comfy, the room was ok, except the window was sealed with toilet paper, there was a hole in the wall next to a plug and the ceiling was stained where they had a leak, the reception, bar and restaurant were cold, the food was good, the cooked breakfast was cold.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    The hotel looks nice but thats about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the ground floor bedroom which we were given, their had been a marquee set up. which ruined the view as this was all we could see. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. you could hear the conversations of each surrounding room. in the night if someone in one of the surrounding rooms would go the toilet you could hear their movements. This went the same for conversations. you could hear people talking in the rooms around you. when you go to sleep you could hear the other visitors watching their TVs. Each day after i returned to the hotel i would need get my room key reprogrammed. the first day the woman said she was unsure why, the the second day the woman on reception said that this was the same for everyone and we should have been notified. on the final night of my trip the Marquee had a wedding taking place in it. which we could hear from the bed which went on until late. I didnt mind hearing the surrounding visitors untill this night when their was two babies staying two rooms down from us which you could hear through most of the night.

    Upon arrival their were a lot of wet paint signs. the hotel itself looked very neat and tidy. Although there were a lot of people in the main areas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Was comfortable the bed & room a good size
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for £78 per night needs modernising. No waste bin in bathroom, toilet seat hanging off & leaning to the side. Seal needs replacing around shower as it was black in parts. Key to door didnt work had to go to reception twice.

    Wedding that i attended at hotel was lovely. Food great & atmosphere great. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    It was lovely spacious room for 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids).
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one think we didn't like it was very noisy, you can hear everything behind the door.

    It was lovely spacious room for 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids).Lovely beds , very comfortable. Nice interiors. Only one think we didn't like it was very noisy, you can hear everything behind the door.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: