Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oak 3 stars

Coventry Road, Coventry, CV8 3AU, United Kingdom

#3 of 29 hotels in Coventry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.3
    Common courtesy
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room in the Dakota Had no safety for electrical kettle. The kettle was placed on the floor for you to boil hot water. Health & Safety for anyone this is ridiculous but placing a kettle on the floor in a family room is definitely a serious issue. I realise it’s a dog friendly hotel but didn’t like the idea when the owner told us if the dog stay’s with their owners in the rooms they can sleep on the beds 😳 He said well it’s cleaned and if people don’t like it don’t stay..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was amazing! The staff just couldn’t do enough for us. They were extremely accommodating and even provided us with free transport to the local wedding when the taxi company let us down . Free of charge! Nothing was too much to ask, food was superb and everyone was so friendly . Thoroughly recommended and will definitely stay there again if we are ever returning to the area. Thank you to all at the Royal Oak

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought I was a little ripped off at breakfast chose a lighter meal than the traditional full English I had two pieces of toast with scrambled egg when I paid I paid exactly the same as the full English with all the trimmings naughty

    Friendly staff excellent room great location for my needs bar pricing a little high

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely food very helpful staff great for dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I repeatedly struggled to find anyone to check out in the morning so left without a receipt and luckily the chef took a card payment for dinner the night before !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay at the oak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some broken and rusty items in the room including a heater that feel of the wall

    Comfortable, price value, wonderful vegan shepherd's pie, wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When described as a 'garden room' I expected to look out onto a garden NOT the outside smoking area with window that meant that the room could be seen be seen from the bar!!

    Very 'roomy' room, could walk around comfortably.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Very Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location a little close to the airport but we were not affected by the noise during our stay.

    The staff were helpful and we were able to access our room early.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, good food, sensible pricing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and the blind type (Roman) meant you can’t open the window for cool air.

    Good location for my work, good parking, good menu and pricing sensible. Clean room and hot shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for our needs. Parking good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the beds in room 11 was dipped in the middle. The toilet also should have been checked before our entry.

    The helpfulness of the receptionist. Our toilet wasn't working on arrival but she soon had this sorted for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Shame room wasn't as good as food
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls seemed very thin so could hear everything which wasn't good during the night as got woken up by banging at 4am then couldn't get back to sleep. Not good when needed a good rest ahead of a competition.

    The food served was very good. Good choice and tasty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, good service. Would use again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of fruit juice choice was the only downside. We had a noisy airconditioning unit running all the time across from our window which was a bit annoying. Water pressure in the shower was ridiculously low - when I mentioned this they knew about it and explained that they were waiting to get the problem fixed.

    There is a good selection of items available to order from your table at breakfast. Plus there are fruit juices , cereals and yogurts to help ypurself to. Unfortunately on our morning there was only orange or apple juice and no cranberry or grapefruit as shown on the menu. Food arrived freshly cooked and piping hot! Loved the style of the room which was slightly nautical with its blue and white decor - very nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    very good for a one night stay, Nice area and convenient for visiting family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds were uncomfortable in the room we were allocated at this stay

    the atmosphere and meals. The owners were on their feet for hours delivering meals to customers they never seemed to rest

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Exactly what we needed for our one night stay.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very kind and helpful. We arrived as the kitchen was closing (10pm) but they still made us scampi and chips. The breakfast staff were equally lovely rushing our order through as we were in a hurry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Easy parking, good choice of food in pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor rooms need some net at the window for privacy instead of having to use the blind in daylight.

    Easy parking, good choice of food in pub. Good location for visiting Warwick, Stratford and Leamington Spa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice,pleasant,easy going atmosphere.Ideally situated for many locations.Contemp. decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time had continental as full English is pricey.Was disappointed that fruit is only grapefruit or tinned mandarins,think a small fresh fruit platter or similar would be much nicer. Room light and airey,lighting subdued,could have been cleaner,bits on floor not mine !

    As a regular stayer,it is ideal for events I attend in the area.Refurbished very nicely,welcoming,easy atmosphere.Good value for evening meal.Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Mixed experience. Bar was hell that evening, but place is ok otherwise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions unfortunately were terrible. There was some kind if ‘office do’ on in the bar/restaurant. The many people filling the place had been drinking since 12.30, it was now 8.15pm. There was spilled drink and broken glass everywhere. The door marked ‘check-in’ was jammed with drunk smokers, broken glass and fag ends all over the floor. We went in, carrying our bags, looking for a reception desk. We were directed to check in at the bar, which was three deep in drunk people. We had already paid up front but were still about to leave and find somewhere else when an exasperated staff member, Gayle, (full marks to Gayle she was great) came to us, found us a quieter part of the restaurant, checked us in and then when we sat down to eat just kept us supplied with drinks without us having to go to the bar and made sure our food was ordered. The party was still going at 11pm but had quietened down a bit so we did actually enjoy our meal and wine. Next day, all clean and quiet. They do need to clean and re-think the entrances though, they are tatty and unwelcoming.

    The staff were mostly helpful and friendly. The food was simple and delicious (steak and ale pie, freshly made was divine!). Room were comfortable and tidy, bed was very comfy. It was also quiet ( especially considering the noise coming from the bar).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff and food were excellent and would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked with yourselves, hotel was 55 per room, but you took 60 out, then the morning of our night away, at 629 am you refunded £5. But then 632 you refunded it, not understaning. But not happy at being woke up at that time in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Shame about the music
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that there was live music on the first night. It sounded extremely loud in our bedroom and it did not finish until 11.30pm. Otherwise I would have Rated the stay as Excellent.

    Charming room with plenty of space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay after initial hitch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our shower did not work on the first day, so we had to move rooms. Little difficult to adjust shower temperature. Internet access bit patchy.

    Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and generous portions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    unpleasant
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    fix the plumbing problems before you book the rooms.

    there was no hot water from the tap. my son had very hot shower. We were moved to another room and the same thing happened. unfortunately we left a day early as I was not happy at all and I have fully paid from Saturday to tuesday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean, food good staff very friendly, room basic but OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom toilet seat was broken. Waste bin in bathroom hadn't been emptied since last occupant. Breakfast was chaotic our supposedly reserved table was not there. Our breakfast took 55minutes to be served.

    Food was good. Room was adequate,but not exciting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely decorated room and great service from staff when a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work but staff were apologetic and offered us the use of another room before we left and also compensated us.

    Lovely decorated room and great service from staff when a problem was highlighted

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Great food, great location but not the cleanest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cups and drinking glass in our room had been used but not cleaned. Lipstick on the glass not very pleasant! The shower was so hot we had to go without, very hard to use and could cause serious injuries at that temperature.

    Nice modern decor and comfortable bed. Staff were good and the food was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower the only downside, otherwise perfect!

    Staff were lovely Pub was great Food was delicious Room was spotless and good value for money Excellent stay and would stay again, a great find!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good find!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, comfortable accommodation. Lovely and quiet surroundings. Food was also very good and excellently priced. I would definitely return if ever in Coventry again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful lounge restaurant with log burner and comfy seats
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music in the restaurant was like a disco it hit on my nerves after awhile. Both meals could have been hotter. When I told the manageress she took on board what I was saying, but didn’t offer anything to offset it considering I spent a fair bit of money there 2 meals drinks and accommodation. I spent 56.50 it might have been nice if she said let me get u a free coffee

    The location, nice n quiet, the inexpensive food, the comfortable lounge area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall very nice will booking again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms very thin woken up by next room activities !!! Pillow a bit hard,

    Large room, staff accommodated an evening meal although restaurant was fully booked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for our needs and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets in the main pub got very messy but it was a very busy place

    The accommodation was lovely, clean and everything we needed and excellent value for money. The breakfast and evening meals we had were outstanding and good value for money, great choice, served hot and good portions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was very nice, clean, some of the stuff was very...
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old man how was served the breakfast was not so friendly at all and the shower was no pressure.

    The room was very nice, clean, some of the stuff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent full English breakfast, comfortable room and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal service slow but to be fair, it was a warm sunny day/evening and the pub/restaurant was busy. Had to wait over an hour for the meal which was very good when it finally arrived.

    Excellent full English breakfast, comfortable room and great shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Fab place to stay.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately only blinds at window so light comes around sides. Noise echoes as nothing to dull sounds.

    Food (super priced menu!) and atmosphere in Oak is fab. Rooms comfortable and include tea/coffee facilities, toiletries and a hair dryer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    ideal for Stoneleigh
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service was a little slow. Boiler was noisy, so take a pair of ear plugs if you are an early to bedder or a light sleeper.

    Great bed, very warm once the heater was on. Handy for the Stoneleigh exhibition centre. Hearty pub food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Won’t be back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was at the bar. I had to wait whilst a crowd of tipsy people ordered their drinks, changing their minds about what to have and complaining about the shape of the glass. Not ideal after a 6 hour drive. Two staff dealing with food orders, the bar and hotel check in on a Friday night not really what I would expect. Couldn’t find any staff the following morning to check out so just left my key on the bar. The window in my room was wide open with no heating on so it was very cold. Shower needed cleaning but by that time I was too tired to bother. No carpets anywhere so everything echoed. Water pump went off with each toilet flush every time someone got up in the night so a disturbed nights sleep.

    Good parking and acceptance of pets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice weekend at the Oak spent visiting our son.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fairly basic and needed some minor repairs, but comfortable enough. The wait for food was quite long but it was Bank Holiday Easter weekend and the pub was very busy.

    The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was good and the real fire was lovely. The location was ideal for visiting our son in Leamington Spa and also other sightseeing in Warwick and Stratford on Avon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfy , clean, good food and pet friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Staff were friendly, room comfy and clean, food was good in the pub loved the fact it was dog friendly if you wanted to bring your pet with you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely little pub to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was pleasant but a little slow. Wasn’t offered breakfast on the Sunday.

    Nice room, warm and quiet. Bathroom could be better but served it’s purpose! Great to just walk downstairs and have a drink or some food. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually continuous noise from boiler, stopped/started across every 10 mins. Mattress a little soft.

    Good location, excellent food and good value menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Cosy, good value and easy to book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have hot water but this was due to weather so couldn’t be helped and we got a free breakfast to compensate 😊

    The fire is lovely It’s my ideal venue as dogs are welcomed plus the Sunday ladies are excellent Been twice and both times those ladies made me feel at home

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn’t up to standard, ordered chicken dish arrived 52 mins later, had to send it back as it was creamated. Replacement dish was superior.

    The staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Good value but spoilt by the noise in the accommodation block
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must be the hot water boiler cones on at 3 in the morning and makes a real racket - I stayed 2 nights and second night in particular I was awake from 3.30 as a result .... not sure if it’s like that all the time ?

    Menu is huge and great value - staff were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Good pub, nice staff, will stay again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room suitable for dissabled, which we didn’t, need, no heat in the bathroom at all ,goodbig room with just a small wall convector ,not big enough,room was cold when we arrived ,didn’t heat up all evening

    Log fire

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were welcoming, the pub served good food in a nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast choice was a bit limited (but that's only because I don't usually take the cooked option).

    The staff were welcoming, the pub served good food in a nice setting and the room was clean and very well presented. For the room rate it was difficult to fault. Free WiFi and easy access to major road networks an added bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.8
    Good reasonably priced food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy due to the accommodation block shower pump being sited next door, thin walls and solid uncarpeted floors. Felt more like a hostel than a medium priced hotel. Our shower was jammed on hot and remained so during our stay. It was reported to reception on day one but they were unable to fix it due to parts being on order. This meant that one of the basic requirements of a comfortable stay i.e. a working shower was not met. We should not have been given this room and if it was the last one then we should have been warned about it before our stay or offered a discount.

    Good reasonably priced food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    The evening meal was good and the atmosphere in the pub...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the boiler which appeared to be located in the room next to me was making a loud noise all night. The TV did not work properly and there was a wet towel and a half empty shampoo sachet in the shower - so not completely satisfactory.

    The evening meal was good and the atmosphere in the pub itself was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, quiet and well-equipped room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure how radiator worked, but plug-in one did the job. Smoked haddock a bit disappointing for breakfast, a bit flat!

    Comfortable bed, quiet and well-equipped room. Very enjoyable dinner (liver and bacon).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    OK for the price but wifi didn't work at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertised free WiFi simply didn't work. It prevented me from completing work I needed to do. The table was very rickety, not big enough to work on and rather unstable for drinks etc.

    This was a decent room for the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value for short stay or business trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi absolutely dreadful - gave up. Needed light bulb in one of the bedside lamps. Shower door opening obstructed by sink.

    Stayed in Dakota annexe. Very clean, bright and airy. Stayed in much worse places in this price range. Excellent value at this price, but remember all places at this price have quirks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    A good stay in a cosy little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room we had (9), we were unable to connect to the wifi. And the shower head holder was loose and every time the pressure changed, the shower head moved and at one point even fell and hit my wife on the head.

    A very comfy bed and cosy room. The heater in the room didn't work but there was an extra heater provided already, which did the job. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and tidy. The breakfast in the attached pub restaurant was awesome too, and I can only imagine that the dinner is just as good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay, with a real friendly family feel, I for one will go again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed at the Oak previously and have always been extremely satisfied. On this occasion however, I felt the accommodation side of the venue was ‘tired’ and the housekeeping slack. In particular, the TV was falling off the wall making its angle difficult to watch, also the remote didn’t work, I reported this and was told to “use the buttons on the top of the TV”, this is difficult with a high wall mounted TV. The electrics in the room were a mess, trailing extension leads, etc. As the wall mounted room heating was broken, an electric heater was supplied, in fairness it worked ok, but not what one would expect. There was none of the advertised WiFi The shower stopped if anyone else in the building turned a tap on. The toilet flush kept jamming. Although the room was reasonably clean and tidy, the general housekeeping, towels, bed making, etc, was slack. In saying all that, I could have just been unlucky as I am sure all the above will be easily rectified.

    Apart from the accommodation side, the pub it self and the staff was both welcoming and inviting. The atmosphere is good, all the staff are friendly, the service is good and the food excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, but don't expect a deep hot bath.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thr first of my 2 nights was quite noisy with doors opening & closing ..people coming & going, which affected my sleep, however this was not a problem on my 2nd night & I slept well. There was very little hot water, allowing for only a very shallow bath despite trying both in the evening & mornings. I had to the kettle to add hot water to the bath.

    Staff were 1st class, very friendly & very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing, standards low since previous stay last yearBreakfast very good. Otherwise poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Declined since stay last year. Mattress too soft and bed not made on arrival. Shower cold. WiFi not working for duration. Noisy bedroom. Only 1 socket worked in room. Staff did not care about issues. Other business travellers experienced the same.

    Good breakfast and location for husband’s business trip

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Bar & restaurant very cosy, and food good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that when we turned the bedside lamp on, there were lots of cobwebs above the bed.

    Bar & restaurant very cosy, and food good value for money. Rooms were small but decorated well and had everything you could need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fenced in area for dogs to be let off

    Clear and not too hot, allowed to leave the dog's x3 in the room while we are out very tasty meals in the pub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    The pub bar had a good layout and atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not understand how to use the heating in the room but a simple heater was provided. The blind fell down when I opened the window. Still better than a box standard chain hotel. I would stay again if I was working in the area or traveling through. Great place really. More positives than negatives

    The pub bar had a good layout and atmosphere. Nice seating and open fire. The mixed grill was great and a good price Nice layout for the breakfast. Great staff. If you get a mixed grill you will struggle to eat a breakfast the next day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    A very nice pub that has a nice hotel with room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness was overlooked in our room I'm afraid. The majority was very good apart from a large covering of cobwebs at waist height and not hidden by the bed. A small table in the room which was easily moved and could be hoovered under, wasn't, and a mass of dirt and a sweat were found. I'm a dog lover, however, to have them barking away whilst trying to relax or even sleep was annoying. Pets can be left in the room whilst you attend a meal, but this shouldn't be at the inconvenience of others. The bathroom was a little tight, especially around the toilet and the shower curtain rail was so small that the curtain was more of an outfit than a protection.

    The location was very good for what we wanted to do. The facilities were very good for eating and drinking. The inside of the hotel was spotless in areas and smelt lovely, especially if you like disinfectant smell, which I do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay. Will return.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't an electrical socket near to a mirror. When using a hairdryer you cannot reach the mirror.

    I liked the size of the room,the fact that pets are allowed, and the food was excellent value for money. Beds were comfy too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely staff great value evening food menu with a lovely log fire. Rooms clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 10 mins from my venue indicated on booking.com was in fact 59 mins unless traveling at off peak hours so I didn’t have time for breakfast due to my early start very disappointed at this lack of accuarate info

    Staff very helpful, and food was good and great value for money. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable value but too basic to be entirely comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very basic. Laminate flooring in room made it feel cold Laminate flooring in the corridor was noisy when people walked past the door No heating in bathroom Hot water ran out mid-way through my shower The TV could only receive BBC The wifi wouldn't work Bed not very comfortable - cheap mattress I think

    Nice bar and restaurant area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Very happy and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at times from other guests coming and going

    We didn't have breakfast as rushed to venue. But our evening meal was gorgeous. Three courses and drinks, all beautifully cooked and large portions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location and welcoming staff. I would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was open and heating not on when got into room so took quite a while to warm up. Could do we more insulation for sound also.

    Very handy for business trip to Coventry. Clean rooms. Great pub with comfy seating and log burner. Good selection of food and drink. All staff very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant! Will definitely book here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable but I would not be put off by that as everything else was perfect!

    The welcoming and friendly staff, the general ambience, and the dog-friendly attitude. We enjoyed our evening meal, the breakfast was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues at all

    Our stay at the Oaks was excellent we would happily return when next in the area. Good parking. The staff, accommodation and food all very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Clean and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub itself looks tired but it would seem that an effort has been made with the accommodation. My complaint is that both the pub and the room was dark lighting was poor. The high ceilings in the pub had an abundance of cobwebs ready to fall into your hair or food! The food itself was basic pub grub and was priced accordingly. I had a twin room and it was just as well my travelling companion didn't accompany me as only one of the beds could be slept in due to an appalling mattress through which every spring could be felt. Time to ditch it On the bonus side the room was clean. Looking out of the window, some tidying up of the grounds is needed, not a good look!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Good food and breakfast was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really need to sort out the invoicing for your customers. Emailing after my stay was not good especially as I needed to submit my expenses the next day. Had to chase twice and tried phoning but the line was engaged for ages. Not ideal. You need to give business people a receipt when they leave.

    Good food and breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    At best I would say hotel was adequate for our needs.
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked courtyard and smoking area. Noise from machinery and local airport throughout the night.

    Good menu in the restaurant and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely clean room, great parking, comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast finished at 9am which on a weekend when you've been to a party is no good, so we had to miss! Fan in bathroom doesn't go off so kept me awake.

    Lovely clean room, great parking, comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Great room, excellent food and wonderful staff.!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was heavenly!!! All staff were really great and really made sure we were comfortable and happy. Really clean and a great location. My husband said it was the best beer he has ever had so what more could a chap want! Me, I liked all the assortment of biscuits and teas etc, it was a really welcome touch after a long drive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    One night was bearable. Convenient location for Coventry South.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Baginton Oak provided adequate accommodation for our one night stay. It is an economy option, basic and no frills. For those on a tight budget only. In our first floor room, the shower appeared to have insufficient water pressure and we could not shower at all in the morning! Also, the mattress was a lumpy old-fashioned coiled spring type and the room heater was not properly attached to the wall and did not work (although there was a separate mobile electric heater in the room). Only one upright chair in a double room - not enough space for an armchair. We were fairly certain the bathroom had not been sufficiently cleaned either. The downstairs bar & restaurant have a cosy atmosphere, although we did not eat there. No problems with the staff at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Good accommodation and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the service was slow in the bar for food, but nothing else and we would stay again,

    The rooms are in a purpose built accommodation block behind the pub. The room was good for one night, we didn't have breakfast but did have an evening meal. The service was slow we waited an hour for our meal but the food was lovely when it arrived. It was Friday evening so they was a bit busy but they didn't look bursting to us. It's also dog friendly in the bars and the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice pub, good food, rooms could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the 2 beds was not very good and there was a noise of a machine constantly switching on and off during the night, which was quite disturbing.

    Service was good, offerings in the pub/restaurant were what one would expect. Quality of food definitely was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower poor, bath panel falling off, double plug sockets don’t work, no plugs near beds, floor cover with bits and hair. We stayed in twin room 1 on ground floor, previous stay on 1st floor was much better.

    Beds comfortable, decorated decently.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    adequate but room could have been cleaner and hallways quieter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room not really clean; 3-4 dead bugs on ceiling and corners; floor behind portable heater had not been vacuumed in a long time

    decent food, good service,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    As we literally only used the room to sleep, had breakfast one morning only it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking in process! There was a function going on, very loud music, and we had to check in at a very busy bar. I wasn't seen for about 15 minutes because staff had to serve at the bar, we could barely hear each other.

    A very helpful young lady called Marina helped and means the ratings I have given are better than they could have been.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bedroom and once the pump stopped offered a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A noise from a water pump which I assume was in the roof that could be heard coming on/off every 3seconds and lasted until the last resident used the water in their room, then started up again early hrs of the morning. Very annoying and also heard in other rooms.

    Situated next to the pub , so the disco in the pub could not be heard in your bedroom. However made for a noisy evening meal in the pub restaurant. The meal was lovely though. Rooms tastefully decorated and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Average, but redeeemed by the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arival we found the room had not been cleaned, a mixup so they quickly found us another room. It was ok but could have been cleaner, grotty skirting boards etc. spoilt the look of the room. bed was comfortable but creaked and groaned everytime you moved.

    Superb breakfast, staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Oak traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: