Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Old Bakehouse 4 stars

South Molton Street, Chulmleigh, EX18 7BW, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Chulmleigh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 26 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suffer with a bad back and the beds were a little soft but other than that everything was lovely

    Friendly hosts, delicious breakfasts with fresh local produce and it is a charming property with many original historic features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very low in power and kept going cold to boiling. Impossible to get WiFi, plus the surrounding area isn't great for any sort of phone reception. Though lets be honest, I'm not there for the WiFi or to be disturbed by my phone.

    The couple who owned the place were absolutely lovely, their home and the surrounding area was beautiful and peaceful. The food was some of the best I've had in a hotel/BnB; would 100% go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why criticise for the sake of it?

    Warm friendly and cosy venue with a very friendly owners. The Owners were most accommodating; meeting some our specific requirements due to the pressing schedule we had on the morning of departure. Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all to dislike

    Colin and Holly were lovely hosts, very helpful with lots of local knowledge. The breakfasts were beautiful offering a very wide variety of food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Urm . . . Ur . . . perhaps going back home.

    Owners made us feel at home. Beautiful 1500's origin, quiet street, lovely sitting room, tea facilities, tele, comfy bed, just heard distant church chimes, birdsong, calming soothing area to unwind, two pubs with good food, tea room. Everything was there you could want or need. Made you feel like new again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little uncomfortable but that was it really.

    The owners were really welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was lovely and we had a really nice stay there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely historic b&b, warm, welcoming and run by the nicest couple. Good food and choice of breakfast is excellent. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great location for visiting my daughter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Breakfast options character of premises and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could not have been better

    Very well done lovely people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean b&b, loverly couple. Was made very welcome and relaxed. Can't fault it..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bed, excellent breakfast, owners very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    November issues to raise

    Friendly hosts Great beds Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and welcoming hosts. A lovely trip all round - and breakfast was delicious!! 😍

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely annex with lots of books. Very friendly hosts

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi. Television in room rather small picture.

    Nice homely feel.Very quiet even though on a main street. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could benefit from some Wifi was there is very little mobile phone signal

    The staff were very nice and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were welcomed by lovely hosts that Continued to be thoughtful, caring and friendly throughout our stay. The beds were very comfy! Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Would definitely recommend and stay here again my self.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful atmosphere and ambience. Our hosts were so welcoming and friendly. Attention to detail in the facilities was excellent, including reading material about the local area, torches for guests to use, real coffee in the rooms, etc. The breakfast was exceptional - beautiful, fresh ingredients (lots of it local) - and the menu was varied (I had the kedgeree, which I'm still smiling about). Lovely locally made preserves and jams. Also, close to very welcoming local pubs with excellent service!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing had been overlooked. Holly and Colin had thought of everything one might need and they were extremely kind. I was travelling with my elderly father who is quite deaf and Holly and Colin made him feel very welcome. Breakfast was wonderful and set us up for the day.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor was a bit dated and depressing but that is me being fussy and it didn't spoil our stay.

    The breakfast was amazing with more choice and quality than I have had in most places.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hosts, amiable and accommodating. Super comfy beds and a delicious homecooked breakfast. Charmingly English! A pint at the Courthouse opposite is also a must.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV's are very small in the rooms

    Excellent breakfast, which is always the highlight of our stays

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to not like

    Everything and the hosts were very lovely people. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS B&B.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast set us up for the day.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the owners

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was a bit over priced for what it was.

    location and quaintness of cottage.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts were very pleasant, the room and bathoom were well kept. The breakfast was really good with a lot of choices.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice couple very friendly and obliging.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    beautiful house in a very quiet location. Amazing breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Holly and Colin made us feel very welcome. Very friendly and helpful couple.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything and the beds were particularly comfortable. The breakfast was splendid.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not fault this, Holly and Colin were delightful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was a lovely old house owned and run by a lovely couple with great local knowledge. It was a lovely breakfast and very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved our room and the way guests had separate building and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Speed of running water

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    on street parking

    lovely village location

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small cramped room with thin walls (could hear voices clearly in next room), creaky floors. Couldnt park close.

    Breakfast was freshly cooked

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: