Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Old Barn Inn 4 stars

Magor Road Llanmartin, Newport, NP18 2EB, United Kingdom

#4 of 27 hotels in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 572 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean and comfortable bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was ok but not great. Black pudding at breakfast was raw and inedible but good eggs and mushrooms. Some staff seemed a bit put out when asked for anything, like tea or coffee at breakfast. We were also charged more than the booking.com rate. This was sorted out and wasn't their fault but they were grumpy about it and not very helpful.

    Clean and comfortable bedrooms. Bathroom was spotless and new with a lovely shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    A great overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only feedback was that the waitress at breakfast was very short with the guests; noted by several guests staying. Really wasn't much a problem for us as we had to be in and out quickly but I know it upset some so worth a mention.

    Rooms were lovely, clean and well presented. Room was really light and open and bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. We only stayed the one night en route back from the principality stadium, but we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big bathroom, plenty of storage space in the room. Good location for business and leisure as right by main roads, but far enough away as its peaceful at night. Food was nice in the restaurant and breakfast has a good selection to choose from. Very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The utmost in Customer Care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The utmost in Customer Care! The staff were very friendly and added a personal touch. The hotel was very comfortable with sumptuous beds to slumber upon. The chef didn’t know the meaning of the word small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Jackie the manager was ever so friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One ever so slight gripe that the two single beds in the twin room were right next to each other like a double.

    Jackie the manager was ever so friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculate and the Welsh breakfast was very tasty. Sausages were fresh and cooked perfectly. Definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Would happily return
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some facilities could have been better: e.g. sticky bathroom door.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable facilities, good location for a break from a journey along M4 - a couple of miles from J23A.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unfortunate the guests next door was having a domestic and was in and out of their room until early hours in the morning, the noise was horrendous, was unsettled. Breakfast was poor wedding guests were favoured and was left to cold food leftovers

    Restaurant was amazing friendly staff bathroom and room was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet wasn't great, I wish I skipped the cooked breakfast and just had some fruit and yogurt, the rooms are ok for a short stay but need a little updating. If there is a big wedding party it seems the wedding party guests staying a the main priority.

    Staff were really friendly, they managed to squeeze us into the restaurant when it was very busy, nice location just outside the hustle and bustle of Newport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Very pretty location easy access good parking food was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for double bed received two singles that had been pushed together when sleeping the gap was very obvious and uncomfortable. The bathroom smelt really bad moment we entered the room, may have been the drains.

    Very pretty location easy access good parking food was nice and the staff very friendly cannot fault. Clean room and good facilities overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    A gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location just off the M4. Attractive surroundings. Little motorway noise. Nicely presented rooms. Spacious bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities and nice decor.Extensive choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Warm welcome and friendly staff throughout the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome and friendly staff throughout the stay. Good breakfast and lots of choice other than fry up. Smart and comfortable room and new bath5. Very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    I was very pleased with the Old Barn;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was worthy of criticism.

    I was very pleased with the Old Barn; the room was spacious, comfortable and the bathroom excellent. Food in the restaurant was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The collecting of the glasses from outside and clearing them off the end of the bar in a more timely manner would have increased my score

    The rooms were comfortable. The dining area was good and the food provided was outstanding. The bar area and outside seating areas, especially on the Sunday afternoon, could have been cleaner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    OK for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (No1). Terribly noisy: poor sound-proofing (seriously disturbed by the people moving immediately above during the night), also woken early (about 6.00 a.m.) by an extremely noisy delivery truck right outside the window. Awful decor. No shaver point. Kettle too big to fill from the tap/very small basin in the bathroom. No slippers or bathrobe. Couldn't connect to WiFi (I had the code).

    Convenience for Newport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately at 12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately at 12.30pm on the day of arrival I was contacted by the manager to inform me due to a problem in the celler we were unable to stay. He had managed to book us a room elsewhere (did not inform me as to where)once we arrived we were given the information of the accomodation. I have to say I was dissappointed as he had booked us a room at the Days Inn at the services off the M4. Not somewhere I would have booked, but another factor was that Beyonce was playing in Cardiff so everywhere booked up. To there credit they offered us a complimentary meal with wine that night, which was lovely. A limited factor to us really enjoying this was the fact we had to drive back to the Days inn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Bedrooms were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the exception of the bedrooms, could maybe do with a little bit of updating but it didn’t detract fr m the feel of the place.

    Bedrooms were lovely...staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall great stay, let down by food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was bit of a let down. Dinner is a bit overpriced for what we had and menu selection slightly outdated, but it was nice. Breakfast on the Saturday was good but hostess had a slight attitude when we asked if there was vegetarian sausages (we’re not vegetarian but don’t eat pork). Breakfast on the Sunday was pretty bad. We weren’t able to order anything and had to have a buffet style with no alternative options and the scrambled and been left to dry out so only had a choice of mushroom, beans and hash browns.

    The location is great, very rural and relaxing but still close enough to main roads and routes to travel out for the day. The room was clean and comfortable. We both had a great nights sleep. Bathroom was lovely and shower was great. I liked that the rooms were in a separate building to the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    We had upstairs room, it was stuffy too warmuch even though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had upstairs room, it was stuffy too warmuch even though the outside night time temp was 5=6 centigrade. So much so we had to cut our stay short due to lack of sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    A Beautiful Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were celebrating our three year wedding anniversary and were pleasantly suprised with our room! The food was outstanding. We reserved a table and we were wished happy anniversary by the staff and the table was set up nicely with some confetti flowers and tablecloth which we were not expecting! The surroundings of the note were beautiful! And loved having a glass of wine outside in the garden! It was quiet and beautiful and just what we wanted. The breakfast was amazing and we cannot wait to stay again and hopefully in one of the suites :) :) Thank you for an amazing stay! Pleasant staff, beautiful surroundings, outstanding food and boutique style rooms what more can you want :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure the postcode helps with directions..took me a while to find but might be my Sat Nav!

    I was unexpectedly upgraded and had a lovely spacious room. Beautiful location and although I could see the M4 I couldn’t hear the traffic. Food also good. Friendly welcoming staff. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT, WILL RETURN WITH FAMILY NEXT TIME!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE QUILT WAS LUMPY BUT I'M NOT FUSSY AND IT WAS RATHER WARM ANYWAY SO DIDN'T BOTHER ME BUT SOME MAY NOT LIKE IT. SOME FOLKS LOVE A GOOD MOAN SO THIS WOULD BE AN EASY PICK. WE REALLY ENJOYED THE STAY THOUGH

    VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF, NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE AND EVERYONE MADE US FEEL WELCOME.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issue but the curtains couldn’t stop the bright sunshine! In the morning due to there design on the top floor.

    Very quiet with good value for money on food. Very good breakfast. The hotel was separate from the pub restaurant, a very small walk outside to get there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did get quite hot but a fan was supplied to make it better. It was a very hot day outside anyway so thats probably why

    The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Good full english breakfast and friendly staff through out the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    29th birthday treat in the penhow suite I think it was called (the bridal suite)
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to say about this place that's negitive at all.

    Lover every thing about this place it's more than an amazing place the views or amazing the room was spectaculer every thing I asked for we had My misses is vegan soo was limited to some thi gs but had a soo much to chose from for all types from every thing to vegetrian options or vegan options I had a lot of requests and was sooo pleased with the out come we both loved it made her birthday amazing the staff went way out of the way to do as requested defo will be staying again and we was the 1st to have the towels made like swans on the bed was mega happy with that food amazing staff very friendly and helpful also gose over and beond thank you soo much we loved our stay made the day amazing really would recon mend the barn inn to every one frends and family THANKS AGAIN SOO MUCH!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Tastefully Styled Rooms with Vibrant Restaurant on Site- Just Wish the Bedroom was Quieter.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise coming from the room above. It seemed to go on all night. Also the toilet brush was missing. Waiting service could be improved we ended up skipping our dessert beause the wait was that long.

    A spacious, neat and pleasant hotel room with a larger than average and very comfortable bed. Not having to search for a local restaurant was a bonus as there is one on site. The Chef and breakfast staff were attentive and served tasty and filling meals which was much appreciated especially as we ordered a vegetarian!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    A fair hotel for just an overnight stay with breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the restaurant for dinner was very poor. We waited for half an hour for our order to be taken. Then it took another 45 minutes for the food to arrive. We would not recommend this restaurant for dinner to any guests unless you love waiting in the restaurant.

    The Old Barn Inn check-in and check-out processes were quick. The breakfast was really good. The service at the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Best hotel in the uk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best accommodation I’ve stayed in. We have stayed in some incredible hotels such as the Mayfair, the shard in London, they were poor compared to service & food at the old barn in couldn’t get better anywhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Stayed in the Old Barn about 4 years ago and the service was excellent. But on this stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was very poor had to wait 30 minutes to have my order taken. Then another 35 minutes for the food to come out only to find the bacon very over cook, my toast arrived just as I had finished my breakfast after repeated asking for it.

    Bathroom needs updating as it looks a little tired

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    We had an excellent stay and would choose to stay in this hotel again. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was quite firm (although the mattress had a top pad) and I woke with backache. I appreciate that although I would have liked a softer bed, others may prefer a firm bed. I would have liked the option of softer pillows. The room with a bathroom had a long bath with vertical sides and a shower screen the tap end, which makes it difficult to relax and also easily operate the taps.

    The hotel was in a separate building from the restaurant and had ground floor and first floor rooms. I booked 2 ground floor rooms. The rooms were well appointed. One room had a lovely en suite wet room. I later learnt that a plastic chair is available for use in the shower upon request. The second room had an ensuite bathroom. The hotel is situated near the motorway but from within the rooms we were unable to hear the traffic. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a choice of different types of eating places within 5 minutes drive of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    The Old Barn, near Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to like? Not much, a good place to stay.

    Handy location for major routes, really clean and tidy, everyth8ng worked properly the shower was very good and the bed gave a restful nights sleep. Bar and restaurant friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing would definitely come back and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    The penhow suite was bigger than it looked on the photos which was a nice surprise, the bed was so comfortable and the jacuzzi with the tele was amazing and so relaxing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Even though the hotel had a very busy weekend with many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar service on the Saturday evening was very slow due to the volume of business.

    Even though the hotel had a very busy weekend with many functions we were given a friendly welcome and very well looked after. We had one or two problems with our food but they were quickly attended to and taken off our bill on check out. Very efficient staff and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    When you walk in you feel instantly welcome, lush warm open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing

    When you walk in you feel instantly welcome, lush warm open fire and very nicely decorated. Food was very nice. Staff are perfect and I was very pleased with the room it was much bigger than it looks on line and the Juliet balcony was nice would like to come back in the summer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfy and the bathroom was very spacious with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being sent into the wrong room and witnessing another guest in the shower! Very awkward start to my stay. I would of thought there would of been a complimentary drink/discount for the sheer shock!

    Bed was comfy and the bathroom was very spacious with very good shower and huge bath tub!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff - lovely quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal - fish overcooked - breakfast had to be returned - chef made us a fresh breakfast which was an improvement and good.

    Friendly staff - lovely quiet room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very warm and welcoming reception, check-in very swift.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small niggle, our bathroom did not toilet brush and the reason I could not score 10/10

    Very warm and welcoming reception, check-in very swift. Room was of a good size, well appointed and presented. Bed very comfortable and bed linen of a good quality. Lounge and bar area cozy and relaxing. A short stay this time, but I would not hesitate to go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    food very good, room very comftable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no hand rails on bath

    food very good, room very comftable . lovely bath room, very queit, polite staff and friendly, great breakfast and had great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice bar, good food (I was lucky enough to make it there before they stopped serving food - 8pm on Sunday). Good big room, comfortable bed. All clean, and a very good breakfast range too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was very cold and extra quilt we were given was really heavy

    We liked the customer service...room was great & bathroom was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay and really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drank a lot of Gin & Tonics and used a bottle of tonic each time which cost £2.60 a pop. Perhaps the option of tonic directly from a large bottle would be a good option. Not a problem though.

    The Nachos were beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely place. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and very good value. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We used it as a base to meet with friends who live in Newport. Perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside I can think of is lack of gym or pool which may not suit some people

    Easy access to M4. Good sized room. Part of a cosy pub serving lovely bar meals and breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Great accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not quite as good as we were expecting but I suspect this was due to catering for a large wedding party.

    The accommodation was very good indeed, the room was spacious and well decorated. The bathroom was large and the tea/coffee making facilities in the room were also good. A nice additional point was two bottles of water in the room, something so many other hotels fail to provide.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Overall excellent, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight negative was minor noise from morning deliveries to the hotel. Deliveries were around 8 am, so only a problem if you want to get up late.

    Breakfast freshly cooked and good restaurant for evening meals. Staff very friendly. Clean room. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfy small hotel with great restaurant .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we could have stayed longer!

    Great location near the M4 but in the countryside. Room really nice and comfortable. Excellent choice of food in restaurant and great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have no faults with the property or staff.

    We travelled from Scotland to visit Cardiff for the Ice Hockey. We loved the look of the pictures online and the location was great. The rooms were cosey and comfortable and the breakfast the following day perfect for our travels. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful location .
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal we were shown to a table and no-one came to take our order . After eventually getting our order taken the main course was very slow to arrive and my pie was burnt . It was changed but by the time a replacement arrived my wife had all but finished her meal

    Peaceful location . The included breakfast was cooked to order and was very nice .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    A very comfortabl hotel and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the toilet was very noise. Also, the silicone sealant around the bath needs replacement.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Steak and ale was very good as was the full Welsh breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at this excellent hotel with great facilites and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind at present.

    We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and it was excellent quality with plenty of choices for both veg and non-veg dishes. The range of desserts was very good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and so relaxing, can't wait to come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside balcony area was dirty and could do with a clean

    The bed was amazingly comfy, breakfast in the morning taste perfect and staff were lovely when serving, jacuzzi bath was so relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Exhausted after long drive, good welcome, nice staff, good room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My food in restaurant - risotto was grim ....

    Comfortable & fresh in bedroom. Smiling staff (despite Thurs night wedding ...). Couldn't sstop for b'fast, got de-charged for evening drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay. Hope to return one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments for The Old Barn Inn.

    Huge, clean, comfortable room overlooking the car park and a cute garden. Plenty of parking. Sited near to the M4 but not too close to have any problem with the noise. Friendly staff. Cosy pub style restaurant on site serving great food. Good breakfast also. Rooms are in adjacent building with card entry to it making it very secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Convenient, comfortable & friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very warm. We slept without covers, with the window open and with a pedestal fan that had been supplied (clearly others had experienced similar so at least they tried to do something about it). The fan helped a lot. It wasn't a problem for us, but some of the rooms are up some stairs so be mindful to talk to the Inn when you book if you have accessibility issues.

    We had the junior suite, which was on the 2nd floor of the accommodation block. It was a nice, spacious room with a sofa, large double bed, wardrobe, tea & coffee with kettle, a desk and a separate chair & table by the window. Bed was very comfortable, staff were really friendly and got us a ironing board & iron for the next day when requested. Breakfast was very good, we had the Full Welsh and it was served hot & fresh with a smile. There was also cereal, yoghurt, juice and the coffee was good! We had dinner there too which was good, not gastropub, just traditional family pub stuff but the cake selection was mindblowing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Inn is located just off the M4 but was in a quiet area.The rooms are of a good size and the large double bed was very comfy.Supper and breakfast were very good with a wide range of choice and large portion sizes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and welcom8ng.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but could be better for instance better quality sausages and black pudding needs more cooking. But the service was very good and a nice and friendly lady serving.

    The friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal menu said Sea Bass Fillets (PLURAL) I got a very small fillet (SINGULAR!!) but cooked beautifully could do better for money I paid

    All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location and comfortable rooms.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday lunch was ordinary with inconsistent speed of service. Lovely view from our restaurant table. Breakfast was tasty and well cooked. Service at breakfast was good. Very friendly and efficient staff at reception.

    Classy decor. Dignified without being snooty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant value for money - comfortable clean - nice and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write about.

    Brilliant value for money - facilities in the room were excellent plenty of tea and coffee - really comfortable bed - lovely bathroom well laid out and clean. Breakfast isn't a buffet but not a problem it's all cooked fresh and a good variety available - good service always attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, lovely people - always a pleasure to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The black pudding could have done with a minute longer cooking - but that is nit-picking!

    Lovely, well kept hotel. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Location good for Celtic Manor Golf, and the amenities of Cardiff are a short drive away. Near to M4, but still in a delightful location. Food good and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful beautiful place.
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful beautiful place. The staff were absolutely amazing, very clean, cosy! Stayed in the suite. Very spacious. I loved it. I got engaged here last night and it was absolutely perfect. Will definitely be back, very soon! 10/10!!! ❤️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Our favourite place yet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning breakfast waitress seems a bit busy and rushed and felt left unable to ask for refil of coffee. Shower head needed a better clean, and mould spray in corners - for price of room would expect 100% cleanliness - only one bottle of water with two guests.

    We got married there. So was a year on for anniversary, same outstanding service from staff and huge welcome. Food amazing as always.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    really lovely accommodation at an excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really lovely and staff at breal fast were very lovely and friendly. On check in had to wait a while and kept getting told someone would be with us. When we did get seen the gentleman was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Stayed in the bridal suite, lovely comfy bed, it's a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to vacate the room earlier than planned as the fire alarm went off, but only an hour earlier so didn't really spoil the stay

    Stayed in the bridal suite, lovely comfy bed, it's a fabulous spacious suite with a massive bathroom with whirlpool bath & separate shower! Wish I could have stayed longer than 1 night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice hotel but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk service on arrival was very poor - rude and extremely unhelpful / flexible Room above was extremely noisy. Floorboards creaked all night which kept us awake until 4am. Looking at previous reviews this was very common. If you want a decent nights sleep bring some ear plugs.

    Breakfast was great and room was of a good size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to stay, very clean, breakfast lovely and staff very polite. Didn't sleep very well but my problem, not there's !! Would recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    value for money breakfast was good. we didnt eat there due to a wedding being on and it was busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom extracter fan needs good clean bathroom needs small maintance jobs doing

    room was spacious but needs up dating in bathrooms.reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't appear to work.

    Lovely style of the renovated barns with old and new. The staff were all very helpful. The restaurant although very busy with a wedding reception, graduation party, anniversary dinner and birthday dinner. We received our food really quick, nice and hot and large portion sizes. The staff were very busy but always extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was just as good with plenty of choice. The room was a nice size with plenty of space. Very comfortable bed and even with wedding reception go on we didn't hear any noise so had a lovely nights sleep. Bath/shower was very good. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable accom would return if we needed too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Down side was noise from upstairs accommodation. Walking along the corridor and especially noisy plumbing of adjacent and upstairs rooms

    Extra comfy beds Great power shower Fabulous wine and dine Ideal for an overnight stay The floral displays all around the exterior were amazing. I wish I had the same gardener!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant nice, rooms clean but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors loud banging all night, need to change main door and room doors. Each time someone came in the door slammed and could hear people walking above room upstairs.

    Staff was outstanding!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautifully maintained and presented hotel. The room was spacious, very clean and modern and included a ceiling fan. Staff friendly and efficient. Two dining areas. Early bird evening menu excellently cooked and extremely good value for money. The full Welsh breakfast was epic. My husband says 6 stars out of five.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Overnight stay for family get together after family party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Options for choice at breakfast could have been better-missed out on toast, no croissants & porridge. Safe locked. Signage to outside seating missing or poor.

    Very comfy beds. Excellent value evening meal and very good food for family meeet up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable hotel at very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a ground floor room. Unfortunately you could hear every footstep of people in room above including 'visits' to the bathroom.

    Exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Great place and good value with one or two niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window wouldn't open properly, which, as well as being a fire-safety hazard, considering the heatwave weather we were having at that time, meant the high ceiling fan merely oven roasted us. The hot air just circulated with nowhere to exit the room, or to be replaced by cooler night air. The breakfast Salmon and scrambled eggs presentation was terrible, the Salmon was shredded into the scrambled eggs - like a youngsters meal. Despite ensuring our room door sign was set to 'please make the room up', it wasn't! Having already used our towels three times, we had to pick them off the floor and use them again - we simply couldn't be bothered to queue again at the busy reception for the Hotel / Bar and Restaurant, already proven to be a bit slow on check-in, just to get new towels. It also meant we returned to a room with an overflowing bin and no fresh tea and coffee. It was explained the next day that the cleaner had read the sign as 'Do not Disturb' - although when we checked ourselves seemed almost impossible to do.

    Friendly staff and breakfast included in the price. Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    the staff were very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff were very friendly. the food portion were huge and the food was very hot. lovely friendly environment. will definitely visit again and recommend to others

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    two out of 10 Never going back here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was appaulling, complained nothing done breakfast was bad cold beans bacon cooked in a pan which should have been washed . . complained nothing done

    Rooms were nice okay travel lodge standard,

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: