Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Old Crown Coaching Inn – RelaxInnz

Market Square, Faringdon, SN7 7HU, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Faringdon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 440 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin Beds were very small and really uncomfortable. Room was hot. Bathroom was very under-equipped - no towel holder and nowhere to put them. Shower dated and tired and nowhere for shower gel etc. Vent fan was noisy. Woken up early by door slamming and floorboards creaking. Not the best stay here. Breakfast was average at best. It was also expensive compared to previous stays.

    Stayed here many times during RIAT so expected more from this property. Staff were friendly enough but the room was underwhelming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful and the jacuzzi bath was definitely a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful and the jacuzzi bath was definitely a huge bonus. We went out for dinner but had spotted Gluten free options on the menu so came back for dessert - the nicest Sticky toffee pudding I've ever eaten! Wish I'd got extra to bring home! Great history to the building. Wish we'd had time to find out more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    quirky but convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at 3pm. Asked for a sandwich, food stopped at 2.30. Had to go to Costa Coffee Single person paid £109 for night but breakfast not included?? Pricey Love Doombar beer but ran out after a pint😢

    The room,bed linen, towels etc were all clean and the bed was comfortable Staff were polite and keen to tell history of pub

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    It filled a need but was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff (minimal) were not very cheerful. The en suite toilet seat was very loose and swiveled round when sat on. The push button flush was broken. The pedestal still had labels stuck on! When reported in the morning the manager chided us for not reporting it before but it was faulty before we arrived... The chandilear (sic) in the room had one dud and 4 odd lamps. No soap at the basin, Only body wash.

    Though the ground floor room had windows onto a noisy courtyard of the pub the noise ceased by bedtime. There was parking behind the inn. The bed was reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    A great weekend !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the rooms need to be updated although they are very clean. Although I wouldn't want the charm of the old hotel to be lost the rooms could do with an upgrade.

    Very friendly staff and very knowledgeable about the history of the hotel which was very interesting. Buffet breakfast on the 2nd day was a great idea, easy to help yourself. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    Disappointed worst place l have booked on booking . Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance from car park very dirty, hotel very shabby,carpets I have taken better ones to the tip .Very small room no hooks or shelves in bath room only the floor to put toiletries and towels on.very expensive against other hotels with more Facilities and cheaper needs total refurbishment.

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed here before so cannot grumble about anything: okay, most of the rooms are a bit 'tired' but that is reflected in the prices.

    It has an old world charm and a friendly atmosphere. Private car park. Excellent breakfast and reasonable overall value. The new managers are clearly working hard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    A nice area to explore so we would definitely consider staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind

    Great atmosphere, great staff in a historic building. Not the Hilton but they dont pretend to be.They are just an honest straight up place who give travellers what they want. Good food, good beer and a good bed, and the odd ghost story. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful room, bed was so comfy. Staff and managers were lovely. Food great value and very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful old building, loads of history which managers John and Lesley were very knowledgeable about. Room was lovely and whole place was very clean. Food was really yummy. Lovely relaxed feeling about the whole place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and accomodating staff. The hotel is close to good restaurants and cafes and the area is perfect for walks. The hotel is very comfortable and convenient for business trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very noisy. There is a bar next door that played very loud music until gone 2am. Due to the single glazing in the room we could hear everything and got no sleep. If you stay here, request a room at the back of the hotel and between the music and a lot of drunk people outside its incredibly, intrusively noisy at the front.

    Clean and well located. Although the decore is a bit dated the room was spotless and it had an amazing shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.5
    The hotel provided a very comfortable base for visiting family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    Owing to difficulties with stairs the owners very kindly changed my room to a ground floor room. The bed was really comfortable and the room well appointed and spacious. Everyone was friendly and kind and I really enjoyed my stay and hope to visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    A good pub and comfortable bed, just what we needed while travelling between cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tap needs replacing it's damaged and difficult to use.

    Loved the history of the building. The staff on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Great old British pub feel. The room was small but well set up. Bed was comfortable and we both slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value B&B in a property with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are above the pub so be prepared for some noise in the evening

    Lots of character. Owners have recently taken over & are very helpful/friendly. Breakfast is fantastic. Exactly the quirky inn that you would expect for a property of this age. Don't expect perfection, expect a 17th Century coaching inn 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A drop dead gorgeous place to stay in the centre of town at an excellent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpark had large potholes, but mine hosts were newly in post and that apparently is in hand.

    The room was spotless, there was good sitting facilities - two armchairs and a desk and chair -the bathroom facilities were excellent, the towels were of a good size, the breakfast was outstanding, the public areas immaculate and the staff were were extremely friendly and helpful. Add to that the incredible cuteness of an ancient building and a very competitive price. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing and friendly stay and would love to stay again xxxx
    • Group
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was okay but wish it had been less so could of stayed longer but other than that it was amazing.

    The shower was a dream and the staff were so friendly kind and lovely and the did an amazing job of my friend's wedding. Thank you for the brilliant experience !!! Breakfast was bloody beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Worth the Money , very handy for where we had to go , right in the Centre of a lovely , friendly wee
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wee bit noisy--until about 11 or 12 at night, --but we were on business so perhaps I was a wee bit jealous of the others "enjoying" themselves !!!!

    Lovely people and caring---breakfast good and plentiful --beer good as well !!! rooms lovely and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth bothering about

    Excellent location, good value for money, rooms, great breakfast in the morning, free parking, the whole place has character! Excellent hosting from John and Lesley

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Carefull of first impressions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions were bad. I arrived at the bar to check in. The gentleman behind the bar studiously ignored me and continued to talk to another gent. I discovered later that this was the manager talking to a member of staff. After this staff were great.

    Old creaky Coaching Inn. What's not to like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Overnight stay with snow ❄️ , with party at local tapas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight stay with snow ❄️ , with party at local tapas restaurant (excellent). Room as described ‘comfy’, large, could of been a little warmer (heating). Room in a quite (time of year & snowing) location (court yard). Didn’t sample bar or food (be aware breakfast table has to be pre-booked night before).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Had we know about it ask for the COURT ROOM it is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that would effect our response to this stay.

    I would use the word QUAINT to describe RelaxInnz this is a very very old building with lots of character including John & Leslie your brilliant hosts nothing was an issue to these folks and we did ask some leading issues during our stay. Thank you to you both we will be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A lovely stay, bar food very reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet room, Lesley chose this one especially for us on arrival, had lunch, and a lovely cooked hot breakfast the next morning, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Interesting hotel with at least one great room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking was cramped and the bar was hit and miss.

    The room was huge and beautiful, much better than I’d expect for the price. The bathroom was great, with a jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    A lovely historic coaching Inn in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little disappointing. The new owners were very pleasant, but the quality of the English breakfast ingredients weren't 'premium' and there was only white bread.

    A lovely historic and very pretty place to stay. Lovely and quiet (we started in February).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the twin room shown in the pictures that you hope you won't get! The room was impossibly hot and we couldn't turn down our radiators - the window had to be propped open with a box of tissues. The room desperately needs renovation, as does the bathroom - lots of holes in the wall and the shower door didn't shut. The kettle was dirty and the element covered in lime scale. The walls are paper thin and the floor outside our room sounded like it was going to fall through whenever someone passed. Breakfast is grim - lots of random supermarket products on a shelf, an empty juice jug, and some miserable cereal in plastic Tupperware.

    Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Central location but lacking facilities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find the car park - no chef so no food available in the evening - very old & quirky building but needs some tlc

    Very friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.5
    Very enjoyable. We were visiting our daughter, and will return next time we visit her - if room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it would have been served between 7.30 and 8.30 a.m. and we didn't want to feel we had to rush up. Also we arrived too late for food at just after 8.00 p.m.. but found a good meal close by.

    Wow! We felt we were stepping back into history at this former coaching inn. It was full of atmosphere and the decor of our bedroom maintained this feeling while at the same time we lacked nothing in comfort and enjoyed all modern conveniences - including a jacuzzi in our bathroom. Secondary glazing ensured a quiet sleep even though we overlooked the market place. Delightful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Not the height of luxury but good value and perfect location for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head was loose and kept falling and the loo seat was distinctly wobbly.

    Second stay at this hotel. Comfortable room and bed. Staff all friendly enough and good beer in the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.8
    Some of the decor and fixtures & fittings were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the decor and fixtures & fittings were substandard: the plaster on the bedroom ceiling had 'blown' on one place; the toilet seat/lid was only fixed on one side (something I would have expected the cleaners to have noted and the proprietors to have fixed) and the bathroom basin 'clicker' waste didn't work. Also, there is a problem with pigeons nesting on the staircase to the bedrooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.8
    I'm afraid very disappointing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've never written a negative review before. But ... I can make do with no telephone and no iron (available only on request, though the website says 'All rooms include Ironing Facilities'), but I found The Old Crown's page on the Booking.com's website downright deceptive. It says 'Traditional English cuisine is on offer in the restaurant, as well as a Sunday carvery. Pub food may be ordered from The Rawdon Bar at the front of the hotel. Guests can choose to eat in either the bars or the courtyard'. But the Old Crown offers no lunch or dinner, only breakfast (which I didn't have). The restaurant is closed and the carvery seems to be. There is only one bar serving, and this is mostly deserted ((three drinkers at 9 pm), as is the reception area. The whole hotel looks and feels deserted. The staff do their best in this unpromising situation.

    The bedroom was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    location for the function we was attending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a room above the entrance and bar and for some reason with the bar empty the bar staff decided to turn the music up when we went to bed

    location for the function we was attending

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    horrible
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    To describe this as a boutique style hotel is laughable. The entire building is in dire need of updating. On arrival we found the toilet did not flush, this was fixed promptly. When we then returned to our room for the night we found it was dirty, with stained wallpaper, mystery liquid drips down the back of the door, the radiator did not work (it was minus 2 degrees outside), no phone in room, no hairdryer, one broken stool and no other chairs, no hooks for coats, and nobody on reception.

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a ground room floor, wasn’t supplied, but was given after we mentioned it No breakfast facilities on one morning, all locked up Flies in bedroom

    Location, close to family

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange smell in the room, i had to buy some odour neutraliser, i assume it was coming from the drains.

    The room was nicely appointed with a lovely large confortable bed and good quality linen. The bedroom was very warm with two large radiators and the bathroom had an excellent shower and expensive smelling toiletries. Staff were helpful and provided me with extra pillows when requested.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Comfortable room but disappointed regarding no breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having been informed that breakfast was served betweeen 7 and 9.30am, we were extremely disappointed to find the entrance to the reception and servery were all locked up at 8 am and no members of staff were present. We therefore had to leave without breakfast which was most inconvenient as we had a distance to travel home. I contacted the hotel to speak to the manager who has failed to ring me back.

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Luxurious stay after an unexpected upgrade. Thanks a lot!! :-)
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    um.... there were just a few minor issues with the room, which I reported, so they'll be solved by the time you arrive.

    Wow. I arrived and was promptly upgraded to what I assume was the best room in the place, as it had the same name as the town. What a lovely location. Wish I'd had more time to spend here. Very comfortable enormous bed, very powerful shower, and enough room to have staged a pantomime if I'd wanted to... Loved it. :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely basic. No chairs to sit on despite it being of adequate size. The lighting was hopeless. Shame really as the location in town centre is fine and with a little bit of thought and investment it could be perfectly fit for purpose. Glad we opted not to have breakfast as reports were of reluctant service and half-cooked bacon

    The hotel manager was the only thing to recommend this place. He was friendly and accommodating but fighting against the odds of a place in dire need of upgrading

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    It met my needs comfortably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoratively it looks a little tired but then so do I and I'm much younger.

    It is an old Coaching Inn which means it has character but it also means the facilities will not match modern layouts. For me that's a plus but if your movement is restricted check where your room is. There will be stairs to negotiate. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Could do better. Completely spoilt by noise from room above and poor drinks selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken up at 6am by the family in the room above as sound of footsteps was so loud. Went on and on and on. Up and down, up and down. It was like Chinese water torture. Drinks choice in pub was very poor, only two real ales, both of which ran out early evening (on a Saturday!). The one ‘interesting’ lager also ran out. Very poor.

    Room was very well fitted out, bed was comfortable and everything was very clean and well presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Great experience but expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of 2 beers in bar, rooms very pricey for their age/facilities and would be more acceptable if it were a bed and breakfast price but breakfast was an additional cost

    The age/history of the venue

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Rather funky coaching house in Faringdon, Oxfordshire
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can tell that the hotel has been increased in size over the years as getting to the rooms initially felt like a mental test but that's only a minor negative.

    The hotel staff are fantastic. The bed was very comfortable and the room I was in was quiet and snug. As a result if I was in the area again, as I was there on business, I would stay in this hotel again. The breakfast was tasty and cooked to order so nice and hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Too noisy at night and would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise after closing time in courtyard sometimes till 1.30 in the morning. Hall floors very dodgy and in need of attention. Décor dated and in need of the hotel doctor. No chef available so ate at the Bell .

    The history of the building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    The room was fantastic in the court yard nice to have chair...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 15 minutes to check in and the waitress had to wake the manager up to open the pub

    The room was fantastic in the court yard nice to have chair and table and a massive tv and after a few problems lovely freshly cooked full English will be going back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    Was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise from smoking area outside room window, staff not on the ball,

    Room was clean and comfy, although noisy from above and outside. Didn't feel I had £99 value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Booking.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com website advertised "Breakfast Included" ... it wasn't and cost an extra £8.95 per person - no mention of this on their website

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Great B&B great food and good stay will book again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great stay and the breakfast was excellent highly recommend it ... plus the facilities were beatifully clean and the staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    very nice and relaxed stay. Breakfast was lovely too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in room not brilliant and light was flickering in room.

    It is quirky old 16th century inn with lots of charactor. Diffrent floor levels. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Whilst I understand it is an old building, the decor could...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst I understand it is an old building, the decor could do with some updating. In addition, when using the shower you have to keep turning it off as the water doesn't drain quickly enough and could flood

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantastic

    Excellent staff, Excellent food, the best food ever, outstandingly clean, Everything was fantastic!!!! This is an old pub very well kept with very friendly staff that made sure we were having a nice time!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The staff are brilliant !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasnt there long enough !

    The staff where excellent ... I had a difficult transport problem but the manager came out to rescue me from my predicament and even cooked me a fantatic meal on my late arrival nothing was too much trouble . I understand the staff are new to the hotel which has bags of old worldly charm and im sure it will thrive in their hands Although this was a buisness trip, i want to return when i have more time to enjoy the hospitality .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Historical building, worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even the big chains like Premier Inn have occasional faults. The Crown Coaching Inn is an old building with uneven floors. There is always scope for improvement, I'm not going to be picky. If you want 5 star clinical luxury, perhaps this hotel would not be first choice.

    Staff were welcoming & friendly. Quality 4 poster bed & bedroom furniture. Great fresh cooked breakfast. Enjoyed our stay in Vale of the White Horse. Places to visit within easy travel distance, a regular bus service available to Oxford.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay for an overnight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quick check-in. Being an Old Coaching house the room are dotted about the buildings but easy to get to. Room was clean and comfortable and had all the facilities. TV didn't seem to work very well on all channels, but OK for what I needed. Evening meal was taken in the pub and the food was excellent. Breakfast was good although I didn't sample the cooked version.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    A quirky but comfortable place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a great welcome on arrival. Bed was very comfy and the bathroom was huge with a bath and separate shower. Room was large with a sofa too. Great location in the town within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Room was comfortable , interesting location and staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on first morning disappointing. Cold plates + kitchen some distance from b/fast room. Very limited choice of fresh fruit and no yoghurt until requested. Items needed to be topped up - urn/fruit juice. Second morning was better. Did not like entering bar area on Friday evening to check in - not a good first impression.

    Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. En-suite excellent - bath and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory for the one night stay and breakfast was first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were very welcoming. Not much selection on wines at the bar. Food menu very limited. When the hotel is fully renovated it will be a lovely place to stay but definitely needs updating very tired.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Fun and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available at lunchtime. Breakfast service could have been a little slicker. Old banana found on seat in dining room!

    Place has loads of character. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was a little hard for us (maybe a mattress topper would be good). Only one bedside light. A dessert selection would have been nice after dinner. Cooked breakfast was a little disappointing in quality especially after the excellent meal the night before.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The room we had was spotless and had everything we needed. Food menu was basic but the meals were well cooked and tasty. Wide range of choice for breakfast with pastries; juice; yogurts; toast; cereals and cooked options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.5
    Never ever will stay again I've stayed in better 2 star hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cob webs on a lamp in the bedroom,lights in the bathroom temperamental,staff drinking when meant to be at work,massive stains on the bedroom carpet,pigeons on the steps outside our room making nests,staff clueless,meant to be 4 stars I'd give a 1!!

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    Convenient place to stay in Faringdon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tiny room that was very expensive for what it was. The room was noisy, no hair dryer and the staff seemed disorganised. It was not obvious who worked there and who didn't (no uniform or badges) and they seemed to stand outside smoking quite a lot! No information in the room and signage very poor.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    wait for some time for all the eork to be done before you book on for a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Given wrong room on arrival not rectified for two days, shower broken, handles came off drawers, hairdryer broken a..no compensation given for putting us in lower grade room for two nights. No one knew what time breakfast was served or evening meals. When we finally were put in room booked the shower was smaller but at least it remained on the wall. The food wasn't very good so we ate evening meals out ,the breakfast was ok ,but shame tables hadn't been cleaned from function that was held in the room the night before .overall the hotel needs vast amount of remedial work done to rectify the problems both structurally and cosmetically .

    Close to oxford and Swindon. Nothing more positive to say

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Unpredictable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room but on arrival we were told they had overbooked and we were offered an upgraded double room which was very nice but at 5.30 pm on the third day we were told to pack our belonging and move rooms, unless we wanted a lady who had booked the room, coming into the room in that night after the wedding she had gone to. They refunded the cost of the room and offered a free nights accomodation.

    Bus stop and shops just outside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A good 2-star, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishing rather tired and rooms could do with redecorating. Broken lock to En-suite and handles missing on wardrobe doors etc.

    Location in town centre, beds the most comfortable I have slept in for some time. The Breakfast was excellent. The hotel as a former coaching inn is very old and looks deserted on arrival. Full of old-world charm and very good for the one night stay that we had booked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door did not fit allowing water to escape outside. Shower tray area needed deep clean to remove mould.

    Good ground floor bedroom. Large bed and good mattress. Good English breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed Faringdon and our stay at the Old Crown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A good breakfast but the food options in the evening leave room for improvement.

    The property had lots of character and all very enjoyable in a quirky sort of a way. The manageress has a great personality and makes every guest feel special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    It's a wonderful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a wonderful building. We paid £109 for a little box room and a very badly cooked breakfast. If it hadn't been for the fan, our room would been unbearable! You can't charge £109 for a box. Then the breakfast is a disgrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely sixteenth coaching inn in good location. Handy for Oxford and Swindon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooker had broken , so only breakfast available. As only one other hotel/pub seemed to serve food in evening choice was limited.

    The lovely room with a very big bed. very nicely furnished.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Upgraded room to one with a four poster bed. The hotel is stuffed full of original period features from when it was a coaching inn. Large fireplaces, wonky floors, wonderful court yard. Right in the centre of the quaint town of Faringdon. If you like a bland Travelodge, this hotel will not suit you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.3
    Different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible not enough staff on duty long wait for food ran out of glasses cups drink endless list

    It's a very old place full of history

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the bulbs were not working in the room, the walls were marked with water stains, there was no real ale that was drinkable available. Breakfast was a joke....there were not enough cups and when the staff were asked for more, we were told that they were just being washed. The coffee, orange juice and butter ran out and we had to ask twice for them to be replenished. The fresh fruit was basically an orange and a couple of apples in a basket. The order was taken for breakfast and the full English took about 20 mins to be served. All in all, a very bad start to the day.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Place needs a good manager and trained staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast was poor and very slow. Don't have it if you are in a hurry. Guests had to ask for top up for juice, butter, coffee, cups & saucers etc. This was never done by waitress without a prompt. Waited ages for cooked food, although it was good when it came. Same for two mornings at weekend. No sign of a resturatant, even when I asked. No one seen eating. No information was volunteered - e.g. meal times, how to get in if staying out late, Wifi etc. NO fire escape details in bedroom!

    Room was good and cooked breakfast was good, when it came!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Oxfordshire location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful old historic inn with loads of character right in the centre of the market town of Faringdon. Very good location to explore the Cotswolds. Not so full of tourists as some of the other villages. Because they weren't busy we were upgraded to an enormous elegant room Good breakfast served. Lunch and dinner also available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful old coaching inn with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a vein burst staying in hospital overnight and missing my breakfast

    It was my misfortune to have a arterial vein burst in my leg the staff couldn't do enough to help calling for ambulance and staying with me supplying towels to stem the bleeding.After I returned from hospital I had to keep my leg elevated and not walk far Sharron and her staff were very good to us bringing a meal to our room and the morning after she moved us to a ground floor room which was much appreciated and I can't thank Sharron enough she is a real asset to the company

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.2
    NOT VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ingrained dirt on woodwork/underwear found under the bed from previous? occupants/gave a menu for breakfast which indicated croissants/fresh fruit/yoghurts - not supplied - had to ask for butter for the toast - no jams / no spoons for the cereal ? enough coffee for us but none for other guests and unable to ask as did not see a member of staff for approximately 25 minutes

    bed was clean and towels clean and fresh - everything else below average

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor run down and noisy
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Black mould in bathroom, cracked tiles, run down facilities paper thin walls hearing everything from room and corridor. Breakfast was average. Staff were unmotivated.

    Breakfast was average but was served form 0700 at weekends

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Quirky Ancient Hotel But Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfasts good, Bars in and nearby excellent, Staff good, Buses outside entrance, Quirky hotel in the Cotswolds area, Faringdon surprisingly comprehensive amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: