Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Ferry Boat 3 stars

Back Lane, St Ives, PE27 4TG, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in St Ives

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower needs replacing urgently. Generally the toilet etc is too small.

    The staff and management are excellent. Superb location on R.Ouse. Very good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi could have been more stable. The first night we were there both my husband and I spent a long time trying to set up our devices with the wifi. My husband got fed up with trying and could not use his tablet all the time we were there. I managed to set it up on my phone but not my tablet. It seemed with the tablets that it would say 'connected' but we could still not use the wifi. The phone was fine all week luckily because I needed the WiFi on a good few occasions during our stay.

    The bed was very comfy, the room and bathroom (rm3) were spacious enough for what we needed, I liked the overall shabby chicness of the place, and the vintage feel of the pub. It is a very relaxing place in a very attractive and peaceful environment. The food was good too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is a little bit small for 2 people, but we just slept there, didnt spend much time during the day there, so it was fine.

    We had a lovely breakfast and staff was very helpful. Brought drinks to our room which was very kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting. One of the two bedside lamps didn't work because there was no socket to plug into. The lamp was purely decorative. The lamp above the sink in shower room didn't work. The bulb was missing. The noise from the kitchen extractor fan. This was situated almost directly below room 5 where we were staying. It went on at 7 in the morning and remained on in the evening until past 10pm, though we were told it would be switched off at 9pm Do not stay in room 5 if you want to avoid being disturbed. The room is also next to the housekeepers lock-up. She tried to be quiet but inevitably we heard the door when it opened and closed in the morning at 7am and she got her things together to go about her duties. The coffee at breakfast. It was instant, not bean. Breakfast service on Sunday morning was very slow. Half hour wait for our order to be taken and a poorly laid table - no bowls or dessert spoons. Evidently, the hotel had to cope with an unexpected number of 'drop-ins' for breakfast. Everything was as it should be the next day.

    Very comfortable bed and lots of white towels which were changed daily. Excellent eggs benedict cooked to perfection for breakfast. The tariff. £170 for two nights, including breakfast, was good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have the full menu available even though it was being advertised on Facebook. A known problem between venue and whoever runs their fb page. A problem that needs sorting as there were a lot of unhappy customers.

    Fantastic location. Great value for money. Friendly & helpful staff. Lovely beer garden. Nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite could have done with some soap for hand washing and a little better cleaning.

    Lovely location, friendly staff and good variety of food. Compact room but lovely view over the river. Bed comfortable with nice linen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels seemed to be a problem in our room no idea why. There was only one hand towel the staff gave us another and hey presto next morning when we attended the wedding the towel disappeared again and we had to ask again for one. Why did the towel keep going back and forth??

    The bed was super comfy I slept well and the location was just perfect. Meals were delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault our stay .

    Everything exceeded our expectations. The location is wonderful on the edge of the river, very peaceful and easy to find. Plenty of parking, staff very welcoming and a quick check in. Room was clean with everything you needed. Food excellent, quick service very attentive service. Breakfast was a bonus a welcoming log fire greeted us and the choice of cooked food was very comprehensive. We will Certainly visit again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You get the feeling that Management/owners "don't care"! For example, the general cleanliness was very poor, ashtrays left full of butts and water (rain) and things like glasses, cutlery etc not cleaned away. Entrance area was messy with cigarette butts and should be cleaned up every day. Didn't look good. Tables wiped but not wiped clean with a cleaning product (surfaces left sticky). Staff shortage? Managers office looks like a tip and the door was never closed so public could see how bad it was! Standards here a not good and poor standards look to become acceptable! The pub has so much potential and the owners need to come in and have a close look, stay a couple of nights and assess the place for themselves. They might get a shock! The accommodation needs upgrading to, for the prices you pay.

    Very historical building and most staff were good though some others needed training. Saturday night dinner with family & friends was OK as was Monday breakfast with friends. Brilliant old pub with so much history & potential. Just feels like it's been forgotten by the owners (Greene King).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast chef, very small poorly fitted en-suite, thin walls, you could hear other peoples plumbing and speaking.

    wonderful old building, lots of character but it is now relying on its location, the décor is tired, we didn't expect too much from our room as it was a special half price offer but the en suite was very bijou and had obviously been squeezed in too small a space(no 2, Hemingford Grey)by a very poor fitter with poor standards. Bed lovely, room had twin aspect with lovely view of the river. Breakfast not brilliant, plenty of choice but soggy hash browns and hard poached eggs. Last nights dinner, however, was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff had clearly done their best but the light and fan cord in the en suite was broken so the light and fan were on all night. Satnav users are not pre warned about unhelpful route in the dark so it was tricky to find. The only mirror was in the bathroom so couldn't be seen when using hair dryer.

    Excellent bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room : There was dust behind the tv and everywhere. the shower hose was punctured, the glass in the bathroom was deburred around, the toilets was not super clean. Staff smiling but I think the hotel lives on the success of its past and that the rooms really need to be redone. I know there are many good comments on the guestbook but let's be honest, rooms must be review. So, I am sorry but it is too expensive for this comfort = £ 82 / night.

    The story of this pub, an old pub

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 5. Minuscule bedroom and bathroom, smallest ever and noisy kitchen extractor fan outside our bedroom window going all night which disturbed sleep. Ridiculous planning.

    The building is great as it is so old, definitely needs some TLC.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property could do with a refurbishment and efforts to provide more facilities to customer

    Staff friendly & helpful with location of property based in a quiet, secluded area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing wrong with the room and that was that it was above the kitchen extractor fan which was on continuously fro 6:30am until 9:30pm. We would love to stay there again but would request a room away for the noise of this fan.

    The atmosphere and the efforts of the staff to make our stay as enjoyable as possible was first class.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was a very windy night and the pub sign kept banging against our bedroom wall which meant we had a had a very disturbed nights sleep.

    Lovely old pub in beautiful location. Staff were very helpful and friendly, small issue with the room was dealt with straight away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place could do with updating . If money was spent on this place it would be a lovely place to stay as it is in a good area for walking or visiting st Ives and Cambridge. We were told it is lovely in the summer.

    The bed was very comfy.the room was clean but could do with new Windows we could hear the kitchen extracter fan but it went off before we went to sleep . The meal we had In the evening was value for money. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was closed both nights so we had to go elsewhere for dinner. We were looking forward to the food but unfortunately the chief didn't turn up so both nights there was no food. They did pay for a taxi one night so we could eat elsewhere. The young team where very apologetic and tried to be as helpful as they could

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening food was disappointing. They had run out of at least half the items on the menu, and what I did have was quite poor for the price.

    The room was lovely, the building is really nice. Excellent value for money. Make sure you check the directions they send - strugled to find it with just my sat nav.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With a double room they seem to have the same problems as a lot of hotels why not have two chairs!!!!???? The bathroom flooded when showering. Are facilities never checked to find out whether things are correct.

    Staff, Situation. Unfortunately the manager was under the weather, but when she did put in an appearance her people skills did not match her staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cobwebs in room on coving and wall lights. Toilet seat at an angle. No details about local taxis,just told to google it on their wi fi.

    comfortable bed, nice atmosphere in pub, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need pathway to be lighted up for access to residents entrance when pub closed. Pathway was very dark, difficult to see where you were going.

    Good position for summer, but not as good there in winter months. Room comfortable but small. Breakfast good Staff excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The attention of the assistant manager and his colleague. It was a busy night and the two of them coped very well. Hats off to them. The food was very nice and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in car park was defunct. Noise from kitchen extractor fan. Room was small; bathroom was tiny; and, shower cramped. Bed quilt not big enough. Food was poor.

    Price. Easy parking. Access to restaurant. All within was quirky.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was right on top of the kitchen extractor fan which was usually on full. It was like living on an airfield, the noise was really oppressive and in the end we were glad to get out of the room and go home. The brewery really need to sort this problem out, it ruined the whole experience for us. The staff would not allow the extractor to be turned down or turned off when the kitchen was in use. When it came on full blast at 0650 on the first morning it was a very rude awakening. Because of this I could not recommend that anybody stays at the pub, unless they are guaranteed a room on the opposite side to ours, which might possibly have helped.

    Apart from the issue below, we would have been very pleased with our stay. There was a very reasonably priced bar menu, good real ale, breakfast excellent, pleasant and helpful staff, great location and the bedroom was of a good standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was right on top of the kitchen extractor fan which was usually on full. It was like living on an airfield, the noise was really oppressive and in the end we were glad to get out of the room and go home. The brewery really need to sort this problem out, it ruined the whole experience for us. The staff would not allow the extractor to be turned down or turned off when the kitchen was in use. When it came on full blast at 0650 on the first morning it was a very rude awakening. Because of this I could not recommend that anybody stays at the pub, unless they are guaranteed a room on the opposite side to ours, which might possibly have helped.

    Apart from the issue below, we would have been very pleased with our stay. There was a very reasonably priced bar menu, good real ale, breakfast excellent, pleasant and helpful staff, great location and the bedroom was of a good standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked to be moved from my first room as the lavatory had been used and not flushed.. My second room had gauze shutters in front of the windows . These were covered in thick dust . The windows in the bathroom were covered by black mouled. The wash basin and taps were dirty . The shower curtain was held up by a shoelace .There was no chair in the room and no mirror . I decided to miss breakfast as the glasses for juices were filthy . Also the strong smell of disinfectant suppressed my appetite. £ 82 seems far too much for these low standards .

    Friendly staff .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly isolated location but beautiful and I don’t doubt that in the summer it’s stunning

    The breakfast was served timely and value for money the rooms are value for money and the pub well priced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room could benefit from an update.Bed not that comfortable. My sister's room next door was very small, with a tiny shower that had a huge step up. Very difficult to get in and out of.Very disappointing for Old English Inns.

    Being on the river was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.first morning no yogurts, eggs hard and crispy on the bottom.pastrys came out as we finished. Second morning better. Evening meal was fair but dog with no lead in restaurant.

    Cleanliness. Of room, and staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ‘room’ had hardly room to move. Musty - extractor fan not good enough. Loo very difficult to flush. Bedroom very cramped. Staff indifferent. Forgot we’d pre-booked a table for Saturday evening. Evening meals basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Very little choice as no pastries, muffins, granola (all on menu) and a poor fruit salad. Toast was burnt on my scrambled eggs.

    The inn had lots of character. The setting was lovely, by the Great Ouse. Our evening meal was very tasty! Good atmospheric pub. Service good.Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff. This is a very old pub that serves good beer and satisfactory food. The accommodation is tired and small; the former is a pity, the latter inevitable as this is an old pub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn was not easy to find: satnav recommended.

    Food was varied and excellent value. The staff were invariably friendly and helpful. Large, comfortable room. Picturesque setting. Of the 4 places we stayed at in the Cambridge area, this is our favourite, and we expect to return in future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the extract fan from the kitchen was adjacent to our bedroom window. The chef, who I believe was fairly new to the establishament, hadn't quite mastered the controls for the extractor so it was left on and hummed away all night! However, he was most apologetic when we saw him in the morning and his food was excellent,

    Food was excellent and staff very efficient and also very personable. Room was comfortable and decor pleasant. Bathroom was rather tired and in need of attention but functional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was very small and stuffy and the bathroom was awful the shower was not working correctly and it was so small as you bent over the wash basin to clean your teeth your backside stuck out in the bedroom and wet towels were not changed until we requested

    The location was first class and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the water in the hot taps: air lock or something--not just at first but throughout the stay. My friend had worse: he was in the shower, all soaped up, when the water went off! He had to phone down to reception for help. Eventually they got it back on. In the restaurant, please make it obvious to customers that you have to order your food at the bar. We sat there for ages waiting for a waiter/ waitress, and then suddenly it dawned on us we had to order at the bar!

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby and needed a good clean. The dust affected my husbands allergy. The bathroom window sill was extremely dirty and the shower rail was tied to the ceiling vent with a shoe lace!

    Good views from restaurant and very good food which was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and were told we had booked for two nights when our booking said threee nights. I thought i will look in it this later we went to room and was ok then i checked the bathroom the toilet had dirty marks in it and the bathroom was tiny i was ok but my bf who is not that big got wedged in when sitting down on the toilet. The free wi-fi does not work in the rooms if want to use it you need to go and sit the bar/restaurant. The location is nice but you need a car as it is 12 minutes in the car from most places. The breakfast well they didn't have half of thing listed on the menu i went a ham cheese toasted sandwhich on the first day which i asked for white bread it came on brown bread. The second day i went for the full english breakfast it took ages to come the bacon had more fat than anything and sausage was really hard it was like it had been cooked and warmed up.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the shower cobwebs in the room un clean kettle no bedside tables very small, the bar area is like a wacky warehouse full of screaming kids and apathetic parents

    Very small very dirty room especially the bathroom and shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and ventilation was not good . Kettle was dirty , bathroom was not very clean especially the window lots of cobwebs . No shower curtain when we arrived was put up in the evening . Fire exit by our room was blocked by boxes . Saturday , room was not attended to , and was only done on request .

    The pub and location was very nice . Staff were friendly and polite . Food and refreshments were very good .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room and bed were dirty which made you feel you really didnt want to sleep in the room. The carpet in the communal hall and stairs and the private function room were disgustingly filfthy, the actual pub seemed fine. The shower/toilet was extremely bijou!! with paper thin walls, barking dogs! in the room next door, and the tv didnt work properly. a noisy air conditioner was heard all the time however this did stop once the pub closed.

    The setting is excellent and food very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location right by the River Ouse, driving down the lane to the Pub past all the lovely thatched cottages and then seeing the thatched Old Ferry Inn. The car park is a very good size. The staff were very pleasant and willing to talk at the end of the evening when other customers had gone. The pubs history and looking through a very old visitors book dating back to 1947

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally needed more attention to cleanliness. Meals advertised until 10pm, but kitchen closed at 9pm.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff, beautiful location, easy parking, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small but it was only for 1 night and it was not The Ferry Boat's fault as they had not received our booking from Booking.com

    The Ferry Boat had not received our booking from Booking.com and did not have a double room available. They were very helpful though and gave us their last remaining room which was a single room with a double bed in it and just charged us the single room rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for an insect window cover as it is warm and lots of spiders near the river.

    Great staff, great restaurant food and lots of parking. Very old interesting history.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been good to have had some information about the history of the hotel as it is so old - not just a newspaper article about a ghost! Should have thought they could make a lot more about its' history as oldest pub in England.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Food extremely good. Bed very comfortable. Few things needed looking at - windows rather cobwebby, some tiles around shower bit mouldy. But shower was most powerful ever used I think! Small issues, bu they make all the difference.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated room, bathroom dirty, mould on shower/ bath seals, lots of items unavailable on menu and cooked breakfast mostly burnt.

    Location is very quiet, tranquil and near to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i can only speak about the room i was allocated (room No 2) but the on suite had to be the worlds smallest only the width of a single shower cubicle , and i couldn't stand at the sink and close the door.

    location ,staff ,cleanliness were all satisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room dirty and in need of updating, unable to connect to wifi. Was stay in room 1 near stairs very noisy. Will not be going back again.

    Good location, staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fans from the kitchen were just outside our bedroom.

    The lady at breakfast time was brilliant, very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Selection of fresh fruit was very sparse and not refilled. The service for breakfast was poor. Dirty plates not cleared from table when something new put down. Not enough tables set for guests. Watched other tables wait and be asked more than once what their order was - 3 times!! Another vacated table not cleared for over 20 minutes. Staff not visible if you needed something. Shower in bedroom so small difficult to get into. Anyone slightly on the large side would have real difficulty getting in.

    Cooked breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked Breakfast could have been better as poached eggs were over done but selection fine

    Staff were excellent and really friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldnt get wifi signal in bedroom on IPAD Decor in room a little tired Ensuite only just big enough

    Food was very good, beer excellent. Lovely location by the river

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower could have been better [low/variable water pressure].

    All the staff were really friendly, and the food and drinks were great. Well done Samantha !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom with bed up against one wall (we are in our 70's) not on booking.com advert!) and small shower room but ok for one night stay.

    Fantastic location. Excellant breakfast. Quaint. Spotless.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need bigger cups for coffee and tea

    Staff couldn't do enough for you really great service , beautiful building and surrounding views and lovely choice of food on the menu something for everyone.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little shabby cobwebs on ceiling dirty behind sink. Noisy room from door banging Tiny bathroom and shower although water hot and good pressure. No wifi in rooms

    Bar area and staff excellent nice location by river

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault personally friend thought pillows were hard but apparently being replaced any way

    Staff staff staff all lovely and so obviously enjoyed their job so all happy as nd friendly, good management

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our trouble started when we tried to find this place, The address given on Booking.com is wrong, It takes you to the wrong side of the river so after 45 minutes we actually found ourselves outside. We were Met by 2 happy girls behind the bar. I wouldn't really call this a room, More a BROOM CUPBOARD, Bad & Undercooked Food, Very Very Small Room, It was 4 metres long & 2.5 Metres wide (I am 2 metres tall) Bed was a small double & Ensuite, Shower was so small neither of us could even get into it (my wife is a size 14 & 5ft 4" Tall) The Shower Door opened to a MAXIMUM of 300mm or 12", The size of it was 700mm or 27" wide & 2-2.5 Metres or 8ft long Difficulty in using the toilet due to the narrowness of room, Which is probably why all the wall furniture was falling of the wall or it was very loose, The whole of the Ensuite was only 27" or 700mm wide. No attention to detail, The cups & there were no saucers in the room were both chipped. We were also over the kitchen & so had the noise of the kitchen fan going until 10.30. as I was going into Hospital the next day for a couple of nights & was being admitted early the next morning I needed a good nights rest, Unfortunately that is not possible here, Go elsewhere. I will add photo's later when I have time to show you what the room was like.

    The Staff where Helpful & Friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could have been much better. Had to wait an absolute age for food. When food eventually did arrive the fish risotto was like rice pudding, however, the fish was good. Stairscase cluttered - a kettle was there all of the weekend. Did get some money knocked off my bill but this did not really compensate. Staff not adept with the computer system for payment.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, although full, was not very appetising. Room was small and walls thin. You could certainly hear other guests.

    Bed was comfy and room was very clean. Ambience in the pub was very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a bit more care in the bathroom. Taps a bit old and not in their best shape, bulbs were broken, room a bit small. But even then, i would highly recommend the place.

    Very frienly staff, excellent location and very traditional old pub style. Food was great and beer was cold!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was The Cloud, where you have to enter a lot of personal details. I would have preferred a simple wifi password.

    Lovely staff, Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area/function room in need of updating. Were allocated room 1 - a very small box room with bed against a dirty wall - not nice at all. (Asked to change rooms & were given a superior room - twice the size with a big bathroom for the same price!)

    Staff were very pleasant, friendly & helpful. Food was good quality. Bar area very cosy - lots of comfy areas to sit around log fires. Lots of locals using the bar - always a good sign. Very old quirky characterful property with original beams & very creaky floorboards.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast limited on cold buffet choice - poor quality bread shower too powerful causing flooding and difficult to adjust temperature, too hot

    friendly staff and good bar and dining area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and room where breakfast was served need some updating. Room small.

    Lovely welcoming atmosphere. Good meals in the restaurant and good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in my room didn't work properly. Although this wasn't a show stopper for me the staff did offer me another room which was very pro-active of them.

    What a fantastic located Inn. Food was very good on the evening menu as well as breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't as clean as I like. Windows were filthly lots of cobwebs and flies. Used cotton buds discarded on ledge. Noisy at night when staff locked up and kitchen generator by room was noisy and disturbing

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from extractor ducting beneath bedroom 4 window. No access to riverside terrace due to overhead maintenance.

    Lovely location; helpful and friendly staff; laid-back atmosphere and excellent food!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room very cramped, double bed instead of single. No fan supplied. Poor ventilation. stayed Friday and Saturday. Saturday price jumped considerably. Probably due to being the bank holiday.

    Waiting and reception staff very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather small and not really able to work in it (as a business traveller).

    Lovely quiet location with the river and short strolls to walk off that big meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a very old building everything squeaked etc but overall it was good to be staying in the oldest operating Inn in UK

    Fantastic old place which we found because we needed a Laundromat - which we found in nearby St Ives

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was very warm in the room as it was a hot day and warm evening, mesh at the windows to keep out moths etc as located near water. would have appreciated a fan, although this may have been provided if I had asked.

    the location was gorgeous. the bed very comfy, very clean room,the breakfast one of the best ever.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and aspects of building are quite tired, and although price is standard the place is in need of brightening up/refitting here and there.

    Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Could not have been warmer/nicer. Superb and very restful location in meadow by river. (Warning - if using satnav make sure you use full North/West grid reference. Just using the post code takes you to the wrong side of the river. Do not follow a route that ends in Fenstanton. Go to Holywell. )

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Old Ferry Boat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: