Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Old Schoolhouse Inn 4 stars

Castle Espie, Comber, Newtownards , Comber, BT23 6EA, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Comber

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Check out the curlews on the Lough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room, with plenty of space. Very quiet location close to Strangford Lough. No restaurant, but Terry, our host, recommended a local gastropub where we had a good meal. Excellent breakfast, good coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Confortable, relaxed and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that restaurant had closed. But owner provided details of a superb local pub/restaurant

    Location, friendly and helpful staff/owners. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    B&B only
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had hoped to eat on site. Entirely our own fault as we had looked at glowing but old trip advisor reviews & not realised that the restaurant had closed. Driveway very steep with variable gradients inconvenient for the motorbikes. No power sockets by the bed.

    Comfy bed. Good bath. Hot filling breakfast. Pretty location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    This is as perfect as it gets, a wonderful stop over and would like to stay longer next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We think the photograph in Bookings.com does not do the property justice, initially we looked past it - just a thought.

    This was an exceptional place to stay, not criticisms of any kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed at no restaurant at the properrty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 3 nights at this property because of excellent reviews of the food and restaurant. On arrival we were informed that the restaurant was closed. We would not have booked had we known this.

    Excellent breakfasts and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not good. Shower water was far too hot and could not be cooled down. I don't like to be critical but the general accomodation needs some additional attention, although it has potential.

    The staff was friendly. Very decent breakfast. The woman at breakfast was supernice and she even gave as a coupon so we could get a discount when visiting Stewart House and gardens. Room was very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Terrific - but better with a restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant has been closed.

    Schoolhouse Inn is a lovely place to stay. Warm, comfortable, spotless, welcoming hosts. We were, however, very disappointed that the Restaurant that features on this site has in fact closed. It was one of the reasons we chose the Schoolhouse. We were directed to a local pub which has Michelene stars, but it was packed. Did hear that guests can have an evening meal in the Schoolhouse Inn dining room, but unfortunately were not told this on arrival and finished up with takeway. All that said, it is a lovely place to stay at. The location is about 10mins drive from Comber, and the scenery is truly beautiful. The breakfasts are excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok. Disappointed about restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise the restaurant was closed from the site. When we asked once there, we were just told it wasn't open that Saturday or Sunday- not that it had permanently closed. A big disappointment. Found it rather dated in look. Prefer to have coffee/ tea in our room.

    Bed was large and comfortable. Well placed for nice part of the lough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.9
    Horrendous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed clothes were damp, room smelled of must as did the whole building, towels were like sand paper, no restaurant open, we booked for 4 nights and stayed for 2,possibly the worst place iv ever stayed,photos on website are not what we saw!!!

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    room/ensuite were spacious,clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tea/coffee in room have to go to sitting room for refreshments. No restaurant on site as advertised which was disappointing. payment was taken from my credit card and receipt brought to our room before we had checked out and were not asked if we wanted to pay by our card or cash which I found unprofessional

    room/ensuite were spacious,clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and hot. proprietors very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    Very good restaurant, attached but the rooms are a sharp...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't look like photos, needs refurbishing badly. Damp and cold with mold over painted. Extra heater provided but didn't really get the room warm. Shame as restaurant was excellent.

    Very good restaurant, attached but the rooms are a sharp contrast to this

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice friendly people who were able to let me drop my bag off...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you were going to use the restaurant late in the day. I only just squeezed in an hour before it shut on Sunday, but they did squeeze me in so I was grateful for that.

    Nice friendly people who were able to let me drop my bag off early. Breakfast was very nice, especially the big slice of melon to start with, and I was offered a lift to my net destination which was very nice of them. Restaurant is handy but closes early on Sundays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Special place and oh so special food
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Exceeded expectation - even to the little lounge stocked with teas, coffee and and biscuits with a warm fire where you could find company if you wished . The Restaurant was excellent in decor and food. A gem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    A nice stay but overpriced. Needs a Cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been dusted at all for some time as well as unclean mirrors. An exceptionally thin duvet with a duvet cover that had a rather large ripped hole in it and could not have been missed even by a blind person was rather disappointing. The bathroom tiles had also not been cleaned or washed for a while. The general appearance of the entire building was nowhere near what was portrayed online and did appear to look a bit run down. Disgusting smelly large waste bins parked at entrance was rather surprising. The entire building, especially and more urgently the rooms, really need a thorough cleaning on a regular basis. I feel the Schoolhouse is extravagantly priced based on the merits of its restaurant and not the accomodation.

    Service in restaurant was very good and the young foreign lady who attended to us was very pleasant and helpful. The meals however expensive were really tasty and presented very professionally indeed. Our breakfasts were also very good also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, quiet and enjoyable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Owner Terry made me feel very welcome. Booked late and arrived late evening due to mix up with another hotel booking. Very accommodating by placing heaters in room to heat quickly. Had a good conversation at breakfast and a bit of a laugh over something that had happened with a towel. Food good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Looking forward already to my next stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terry was a wonderful host and very friendly. Breakfast was more than enough and well prepared. Terry was knowledgeable about the area and history of the facility and surrounding area. Room was very warm and spacious. Will be back when possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. No croissants but lovely breakfast The restaurant was comfortable the staff very friendly and dinner both nights excellent. different cuisine but good choices and the food quality first class

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cups and bowls were not clean, in breakfast room and lounge.

    The restaurant was excellent. Very good value for Michelin Bib Gourmand standard cuisine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautifully decorated and so cosy. We even had bathrobes that smelt of lavender. The B and B itself was very homely with two lovely hosts. The breakfast was yummy especially the fruit salad. It is so easy to get to Belfast from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Delicious dinner and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so impressed with rather tired looking bedroom and covered passageway to bedroom smothered in bats' droppings. Tea room had wide range of teas but only instant coffee

    Delicious dinner and wine. We went for the food, as recommended in GFG, and were not disappointed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent nice quiet location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    The staff were so helpful and friendly the location was great. I slept very well. Bathroom was big and spacious. I wished I had eaten there, but I had other business. The staff were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    The most relaxing 4 nights I have had in living memory, the staff so helpful, .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant isn't open every night, though it allows a change from fine dining

    The Inn is situated a couple of miles outside town far enough to be peaceful,but not totally isolated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    A great restaurant with rooms. Book a table in advance if you want to eat here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here previously and the food is excellent. However, on this trip the restaurant was having a Gin tasting evening with a 3 course meal, cocktail and Gin sampling at £50.00 per head. Although fully booked the receptionist did offer to fit us in, however, we decided against it. The room and facilities are in need of some TLC. The shower thermostat control knob was missing and the tops from the complimentary toiletries were lying in the shower tray.

    Staff were welcoming, attentive and friendly. Breakfast had a reasonable choice of cold food and hot food was made to order. The homemade wheaten bread and jam was delicious. The Old Schoolhouse is a restaurant with rooms and the emphasis is on the food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Superbly comfortable overnight stay in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cosy, comfortable room with en suite bathroom. There was a guest lounge/sitting room with tea and coffee making facilities, reading matter and games. The breakfast was hot and delicious and the host(s)/manager/staff were all very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    a marvelous and unexpected treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The food at dinner was delicious and the service was excellent and friendly. The menu was simple and classic with local foods (strangford mackerel, mourne lamb, comber potatoes and wild salmon) all presented in a very attractive way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Mixed messages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommended restaurant was closed. We weren't told this when booking. No bar.

    Comfortable and attractive country cottage style décor. Good-sized room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Good Hotel spoiled by the Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant , could have been better furnished in the actual eating area ,the lounge area was pleasant. The food quality was excellent, however, the amount of food served on the plates was miniscule. I had Hake with Chips and was only given 5 chips served in a small copper pot, my friend did not do so well, he was only given 4 Chips ! with his meal .

    The room was good one , very quiet and comfortable . car parking very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Service by staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service by staff. The restaurant was completely booked. The staff managed to help us out. The restaurant of the hotel is excellent. Very nice, quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    A really great place for a holiday break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some hassles with the wifi but the staff made every endeavour to fix the problem. They were as frustrated as we were.

    We appreciated the very helpful staff, the excellent cuisine and the setting of the inn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath filling diverted to the shower stuck on shower a few times, making it difficult to run the bath, but this was a minor irritation!

    We were made very welcome and there was an excellent breakfast each morning, together with a guest lounge where complimentary teas & coffees were available. The restaurant dinner that we had in the adjacent restaurant was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Friendly countryside stay with good food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very warm, friendly staff and the location suited our purposes (which was primarily to pay visits to the gardens at Mount Stewart and Rowallane - the Old Schoolhouse was equidistant from each). Bonus to have a fine dining option onsite with the Schoolhouse restaurant, and also enjoyed very good food at the Poacher's Pocket in Lisbane, just a 4 minute drive away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Good location, enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust in bedrooms...( skirting boards etc). Large TV positioned in front of mirror on table for (e.g.)ladies make up, hair styling. Poor shower fitting in bathroom. No spare toilet roll in loo on evening of arrival.

    Good breakfast. Friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    7.9
    Stylish with substance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea making facilities were communual which meant getting dressed before making an early morning cuppa.

    The B&B adjacent to the high class restaurant. The set menu was extraordinary value. The food quality was exceptional and the staff attentive and willing to adapt the menu to suit personal preferences.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    We arrived a little bit early but the owner made no fuss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an old chicken bone sitting on the tray where our glasses and mugs were. Apart from that it was a lovely, peaceful stay. The staff were lovely

    We arrived a little bit early but the owner made no fuss. She was very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Good but not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view. Our room's window was obstructed with trees so it was a bit dark. One of the twin bed was very squeeky. The breakfast was ok, cereals, toasts, Irish breakfast. Good but nothing extraordinary about it. I think the website and pictures give too high expectations of what you really are going to get. If you go thinking you are just going to get something normal, then you will not be disappointed

    Very clean and comfortable. Quiet. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and cozy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner and his wife were great. Although restaurant not open on the nights I was there, they cooked a meal and made me feel very welcome. Early start on last day and they put something in the fridge so I didn't start the day hungry

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    6.7
    The price is affordable, the food menu isn't that great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception to check out in the morning!!!

    The price is affordable, the food menu isn't that great.. didn't have much choice, I told the staff that I needed to leave by 7, there was nobody around on reception.. or the bar! I think they need to make a clearer reception area!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    New year time 2016/2017
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing :) Just Restaurant food looks amazing, we liked main course the most just long time to wait between starter and main course but was busy this time of day. They offer good deal if you have room in hotel.

    Breakfast was delicious as never served by nice and helpful lady. Tasty coffee what i enjoyed. We had a twin room looks like on the picture was clean and size was fine for us. Quite place for relax.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far out from central Belfast meaning difficult to find means of travel during taxi peak times.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super uncomfortable and in real need of replacing.

    Beautiful location (It is in the countryside so be aware that you do need a car to get about). Large spacious room and en suite. Room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.8
    old school house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very quiet and no residents bar so after 23,00 all is shut up ,time for bed :-(

    Food was fantastic, staff were attentive and friendly, rooms were spacious and clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Luxury stopover near Castle Espie
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Room was well equipped and maintained. Extra heating available when needed. Breakfast was straight fry up, but freshly cooked to order. Chatty cook. Dinners were to die for. Really excellent choice, well prepared and served. Good wine list. Not cheap, but well worth it. Waiting staff well above average. On my list for a revisit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    A gem, friendly, clean, comfortable, great restaurant, food and wine. You will love it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything. The location, the property, rooms, facilities,the owners, the staff. Just a lovely place. The restaurant is excellent. It functions as a separate entity so you have people coming in just to eat. Great wine selection, the owner is a wine aficionado. Fire in the bar lounge. Great breakfast. Parking. Everything you could ask for and more provided with genuine friendliness and hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Past it's prime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired beds - past their best before dates.

    Great breakfast. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Gladly come back to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality, friendliness, the home cooked dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    the best cooked fluffy omflette so tasty !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed. Choice of teas excellent with the best and delicious cooked breakfast very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Location well sign posted so easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor dated.

    Location well sign posted so easy to find. Staff friendly breakfast good. Room large and spotless.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    had very relaxing and comfortable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very helpful and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Food excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Yet again we had a lovely comfortable stay and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yet again we had a lovely comfortable stay and great breakfast first class thank you 🌟👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The quiet countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So quiet and peaceful. Tranquillity at it's best.

    The quiet countryside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent cooked breakfast Comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Terry was fantastic and made us feel right at home. Lovely place in a lovely area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful. Recommended a very nice restaurant a mile away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat nav in car put us on a parallel road. Had to phone for directions but straightforward when we got these

    Pleasant helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Clean and friendly. Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a lovely spot. Good clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making in room

    Helpful advice on what to do from terry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Staff were really kind and helpful with beautiful scenery.
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated and shower was poor.

    Staff were really kind and helpful with beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    A very pleasant five days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Terry and Avril were delightful and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. If we go back to Ulster we will certainly stay with them again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    I will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure

    Food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Good restaurant.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Faulty shower reported. Upgraded room much appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Stunning location and the most amazing restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location and the most amazing restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Staff excellent.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Back to school
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in every way, the food in the restaurant was out of this world and I hope that you get the the recognition that you deserve.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    A very nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Definitely would stay here again and will certainly recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great.

    The owner was very friendly and gave us info on things to see and do. She was very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Lovely lady doing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wellcome just given key and told your room is down there .no tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Quiet location, comfortable room, friendly staff, great food.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location, comfortable room, friendly staff, great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    All quite good with the exception of the closed restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed because the restaurant was closed on Monday and Tuesday.

    Nice quiet place, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and accommodating people. Quiet comfortable rooms. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    The B&B was very pleasant and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The B&B was very pleasant and comfortable. The restaurant had the best food I have ever eaten

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent evening meal and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Beds very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very dusty. Rubbish from previous visitor evident.

    Beds very comfy. Easy to get to Belfast and Newtonards peninsula.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Really comfortable stay with great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better beer selection

    Impressive resteraunt, and the best cooked breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: