Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Olde Coach House 4 stars

Main Street, Ashby Saint Ledgers, CV23 8UN, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Ashby Saint Ledgers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was good but breakfast was poor. Room was noisy, there were people standing right outside the window talking in the evening and the exterior door was constantly left to swing shut causing loud banging early in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at bar don’t pay attention to customers, to busy chatting with each other. Needs more of a head barman or woman , someone who looks after customer s and details. At breakfast girl to busy in kitchen, dancing probably to loud music, which you could hear. She couldn’t be bothered to clean tables for next customers, you basically do it yourself.

    Nice room, clean and comfortable. Bed a bit hard and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We let the reception know that the side panel to the bath had seen better days, but this was a minor issue in an otherwise great place, and overall the accommodation was spot on.

    Lovely, well-presented room, comfy bed and we appreciated the kit-kats and the hot chocolate sachets in the room! A very nice breakfast and great attention to detail with our request for a veggie breakfast - the chef tailored it to our needs, which was delicious. We were told that particular chef only works certain days, so do call them to check if you have a special diet as apparently the other chef can do a fried egg but isn't as creative in vegetarian cooking! Overall highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mix up with the Taxi the Hotel booked for us the next day which meant a slightly delayed departure which was a little annoying.

    This was a good Hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The evening meal was fine as was the breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of upstairs rooms is not of the same standard as the annexe despite similar price. We had issues with the showers for 2 days (no hot water) and whilst the staff did all they could this did impact on the quality of our stay.

    Friendly staff and good food, great place for a business stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we had lunch which was outstanding plus drinks.We where going to a wedding that evening were offered a key to let ourselves in should we be late.staff gave us local taxi firm to collect and return us back to the hotel. Overall first class service will look forward to visiting again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms above the building are no where near as nice as the outbuilding, and need updating. if you stay, try to get the annex building, then it's worth the price, because the rest is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to turn the radiator on in the room. Our Sat Nav didn't recognise the postcode so we navigated to the village and drove through until we found the hotel: it would have been useful to know it was at the end nearest the A361.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious room. Plenty of parking. Great food available in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was well appointed (and a superior room apparently) but small and cramped, and the sound deadening between my room and the neighbours rooms adjacent and above was pathetic: the four gents in these two rooms began stamping about and talking loudly from 6.25 am and might as well have been in my room! I was told they were "road workers" who left at 7.30 in their "orange suits".

    The staff, food and the pub were really great. I would go back but the room in the detatched block was seriously lacking....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling in the bathroom was sloped which made it slightly difficult showering, not ideal if I was taller.

    My overall experience was just brilliant, really friendly staff, fantastic location & great value for money. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    meal was either under or over cooked. More interest given to the cook than the guest. bathroom needed total steam clean - black mould on shower-head. Creaking bed. Fire security lighting in bedroom like Las Vegas!! Did not sleep well...

    private parking. room initial setup good- attractive modern snug. Mineral Water and hot drinks supplied in room. Hotel has 15 rooms - needs to establish their clientele.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal could have been better. Items we wanted from menu were unavailable and therefore had to settle for second choice. My meal had to be returned as it was inedible and therefore although the staff were extremely apologetic my husband ate his meal before a different meal was given to me and so I ate alone. As it was a special anniversary meal it was disappointing.

    Great breakfast and service for all meals was excellent. Staff extremely helpful from check in to leaving.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked here as a treat on our way North after a particularly trying week. The pub gets very good write ups so we were expecting 4 star with a bit of luxury in the bedrooms; rooms are described as individually designed in the converted stables, with pics as illustrations. There was no mention that "some" rooms are in the original building; our particular room being very dated, no heating in the bathroom, ancient shower, hard bed. We warned off for a late arrival (7.30) to find the room cold & unheated, the radiators having failed & noone having switching on the substitute electric heaters. Unfortunately the whole experience of a nice period pub was soured by what we found on our arrival, although the evening meal did it's best to revive our spirits.

    Food & staff absolutely fine although restaurant rather cold in the morning for some reason.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the pillows on the bed were too hard and very uncomfortable, but that was the only negative in many positives.

    Room was modern, clean and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast was one of the best I've had. Everything was fresh. The village is very pretty, worth a look around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was dowdy and lacked light. It also lacked a decent mat. (The plastic one provided was unpleasant to stand on) The wallpaper in the room reminded me of the cases stacked up in Auschwitz I'm sorry to say although this is always a personal taste and far from subjective. The breakfast menu included danishes but sadly, there were none available when we asked.

    Located in a small hamlet, the establishment was traditional and cosy. Staff were friendly. The bed was comfortable. The view at the front was very appealing. The hotel provided electric heaters because the radiators didn't work, and the electric alternative were impressively warm. The building clearly had a history but the hotel didn't seem to focus on this for travelers unless we missed it. I would have enjoyed learning more about its past.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Acoustics not great in external annex lodge. Strange smell in room like a chemical detergent. Ground floor window adjacent to car park did not close properly. Drinking mug had not been cleaned from previous visitor. Evening meal food was decent however portions were meagre for price.

    Bathroom was clean and shower powerful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows too hard

    it was clean and all you could want was there Also 10 minutes from the venue The staff ensured that you were ok at all times whenever they saw you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service was not great and everything had potential but did not quite make it....for example the berakfast. Some of the worst coffee I have had..... and could have been easily remedied. Service was mediocre and too few staff around so took a long time. Cgheck out for example - had to wait 10 minutes to be attended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was lovely though small with no surfaces to put things on. Quite a lot of noise came up from the pub underneath.

    Room was very clean and comfy with a good view. Food was lovely and service was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it was a great deal.

    Staff very pleasant, food and drink very reasonably priced. Evening menu had one fish dish, but they didn't have any, nonetheless meal was good. Pleasantly surprised their lite bite pizza bread and cheese ( £5.50) was a pizza and lovely and. Big enough for 2. Local village, home to the, gunpowder plot is lovely and area quite close to many nice places to visit .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 3 is llumpy

    The Hotel is lovely with great decor and ambience. A lovely location in the village. Staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Menu is varied and food cooked well. Ambience is warm . Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little old-fashioned for my taste though clean, well-equipped and warm on a very cold snowy night.

    Really nice characterful pub with nice atmosphere, good food & helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bath room was old and had pots catching dripping water from pipes, mouldy, and more of importantly the water was cold as the boiler was playing up! Although staff did try and fix it, we had to have freezing cold showers before our evening out. Restaurant was closed in the afternoon and no other food venues in the village, meant we had to drive be miles to get food They told us chef had gone but 10 mins later staff came out and sat on a table near us with meals including the chef! Sadly we won’t be returning, shame as it’s a lovely location.

    lovely location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy in the night, I could hear noise from other rooms, e.g. shower and hairdryers, steps on the floor. Also, the emergency light above the door in the night was a bit bright.

    The breakfast was fantastic and the staff very friendly. I would recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom (Guy Fawkes) was a a bit small

    The staff were very good, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was amazing and the Food was good for both breakfast and evening meal and a nice range of beers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs room in pub was a bit drab and dingy. Previously stayed in boutique room which we would recommend.

    Nice country setting, very good food with good vegetarian choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food a bit expensive for the quality, although breakfast was good .

    Nice comfy newish bed . Good size bathroom .Next room noise insulation could have been better good job it was occupied by one person!The village itself very pretty and quiet. In the Summer with patio door open could imagine traffic noise from a distance a problem .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very disappointing and breakfast was not good we were even expected to make are own coffee and tea with a tea bag in a mug. No tea pots and orange juice was horrible. No vegan options or dairy free milk available for our daughter who is vega.

    Lovely location and quaint character property. Rooms were comfy and nicely presented

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been a little bigger, but we're fine and nicely decorated.

    Polite friendly staff, who were cheerful and helpful. Restaurant comfortable, clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom was great it just didn't have a shower curtain/screen to contain the water so it splashed everywhere..

    Styling, comfy, clean, warm accommodation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were pleasantly surprised to discover such a comfortable and well presented room at the Olde Coach Inn. It was also so convenient to walk just a few steps to the bar and restaurant where we enjoyed a delicious evening meal and ample breakfast. The location is convenient to the main road and the inn is situated in a very quaint village with several thatched roof properties and, of course, the home of Guy Fawkes. The staff were exceptionally welcoming, friendly and efficient and we would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem was steeply sloping bathroom ceiling and poor lighting making bathing awkward at best.I raised it on checking out but got no reaction.Also towels tired.

    Convenient location easy to find.The staff were really helpful and pleasant.Overall food at dinner was good.Excellent mattress.Room very small but practical.Tea coffee water etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in pub aren’t shown in booking photos. Booked two rooms with kids but not allocated adjacent rooms (to be fair we didn’t request this just assumed it would happen).

    New rooms in annex are very comfortable and well done. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our group found a hair in his mushrooms (part of cooked breakfast). Pointed out to waitress who did not even apologise! Found several of the self service breakfast plates dirty which was very off putting!

    Good menu

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy bathroom plumbing! Slightly slow staff when serving breakfast but good quality food.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet pretty location. Attention to detail in the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did wet the toilet... maybe a shower curtain?? But really not a huge problem.

    The staff were exceptional. The lady who checked us in was super warm and friendly. We had a young man at dinner who made us a great irish coffee and apparently it was a new skill for him... he was great. Saw him again at breakfast and he was busy but still able to get me a decaf coffee. Oh, and your gluten free bread was fabulous. All your staff seemed great. We really loved the cosy friendly atmosphere of the pub. Top marks!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely beer garden, enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast, room was very comfortable, such a picturesque location, very good staff friendly and helpful, will visit again when in area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No conditioner provided and no one on the front desk until 10. We were advised to speak to the waitress about booking a taxi however she was busy with breakfast

    The extra long bath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Went to quick

    Bed was very comfortable, nice to have bottled water in the room both still and sparkling. Towels changed both days, spacious room. Good selection for breakfast. Plenty of car parking space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were young and inexperienced for a busy place, looked like lost sheep at times it could easily have turned into chaos

    Amazing village - great thatched roofed cottages

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Physically small but workable. Bed also small but comfortable.

    Staff accommodating - moved us to allow camp bed for daughter. Brought iron on request. Rooms small but well designed. Quiet. Delicious breakfast. Nice stroll in village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Could not fault anything.

    The room was very clean with all facilities, comfy bed, good bathroom. Very good for the price. This pub is based in the small village of Ashby St Ledger which is really pretty. Breakfast is excellent. This is our second visit and we will look forward to next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really cannot find anything to write here.

    Postcard picture location very friendly and helpful staff and a very very good restaurant, I booked for four nights and enjoyed my stay there very much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant choices not very good due to lack of produce and having to make your own tea and coffee at breakfast. also we found the bar quite expensive.

    very nice bedroom and bathroom and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived near the end of dinner service but were able to have a quick change and eat without any problem. The food was lovely. Good breakfast too including yummy hot croissants before we had to rush off, just wish we had been there a bit longer!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was on a level with the car park so we didn't feel we could open the window or curtains. The room was nicely fitted out but fairly small. I found the bed a little hard but that's a personal preference. Meal in the restaurant Saturday evening was quite pricey and service slow - but it was bank holiday. The food itself was lovely and home-made and, again, staff willing to take requests into consideration.

    Very clean hotel with lovely staff, who were happy to oblige with requests like early breakfast. It felt like very personalised attention. The breakfast was very generous, as were the tea/coffee supplies in the room. Food was consistently lovely, and home-made. The bathroom was great, amazing shower and bath. Overall, would be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They thought we had checked out a day early so we returned to find someone else in our room. Tad annoying but these things happen and the lad behind the bar did not make a drama out of a crisis and we sorted it out, and we got a room for our last night, not as nice as our proper room but it did not ruin our stay, which it could have quite easily done, but I was determined to view it as an adventure not a disaster.

    Did the job, comfy with a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disorganised at breakfast time. Coffee weak and service slow although staff were very pleasant, other than that a lovely venue for a weekend away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant was erratic - the staff were eager to please but they seemed a bit oblivious to customer's needs at times. I think some more customer service training would be a good idea! That said, they were all very pleasant, just at times they didn't seem to know what they were doing or recognised that customers were waiting!

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Check in and out was very efficient. The breakfast was delicious. The surroundings were beautiful - very pretty village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to inclement weather we were not able to enjoy the lovely beer garden :-{

    We travel extensively and its rare to have a welcome that exceeds ones expectations. This is very much down to a delightful young lady named Sally. On checking in we explained we wouldn't be taking breakfast as we had to leave early. Within five minutes on her own initiative she had arranged with the Chef to arrive early and cook us a breakfast ( which was excellent) before we left. This level of hospitality continued throughout our stay, every member of the hotel team were attentive and helpful, they also smiled, which in our experience is rare in the hospitality industry nowadays. We ate in the restaurant, the food was delicious. We look forward to another stay next summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had clear glass so you had to pull the blinds down and put the lights on to shower or use the toilet in the day time as the outside seating area was in full view. Also the window in that room didn't open, painted shut. The staff where not very friendly in the mornings. They also don't keep very good accounts as they insisted on charging me again, saying that no money is taken with online bookings beware! Booking.com did resolve this issue quickly.

    The bed was comfy and the room was a good size and had a real kettle! 😀 Breakfast was good and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a bit too hard for me! (But I like soft ones so not the hotels fault)

    The staff are very friendly. Food delicious. The first room I stayed in was much bigger, and very comfy bed. The second room was smaller but more modern. So it's individual choice I think of what you prefer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom in bedroom 1 needs some serious attention especially the toilet. Sadly the food was not the best and the sunday roast was even worse, roast potatoes not cooked enough, yorkie pud was so hard it resembled a biscuit. Varied menu would be good as our stay of 4 nights of the same menu not the best to tempt anyone with. Sadly when we spoke up regarding a burger being raw and asked for it to be cooked more the staff did not take kindly to it and the gentleman who we guess was the manager never even took the time to apologise, not good customer care. Food over priced.

    Cleanliness, majority of the staff very friendly, comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tray was a bit mouldy, windows had been left open in room when we arrived. It was cold and the room was full of bugs.

    Nice location, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather small and bathroom ceiling height impaired by the sloping roof.

    Room was clean, quiet and well decorated. Dinner and breakfast offered a good choice and ambience was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor We're told that there would be a table in the restaurant for us but when we went down there was not. We were seated in the pub and food was good but would've been better atmosphere in the restaurant. Looked later and it does say in information folder to book tables in restaurant but perhaps should be made more clear at book in

    Staff are excellent and friendly. Room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little room. and in front of the car park. So, if you have the choice, don't hesitate to stay in the room upstairs, it will be better against the noizes of your neighbours if you stay in downstairs room !

    Nice restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and quality of the room. There was only one member of staff in the morning doing breakfast, clearing tables, and reception check out. It was one of the worst staffing i have ever experienced . There was at least 15 people in for breakfast. Food in the evening was not much enjoyable either.

    nice village it was in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start? At the time of booking I requested an early check in as it is usually at 3 and we had a wedding at 2. I'm 9 months pregnant so anything to make things just that much easier. 3 days before we were due to check in I received an email from the manager confirming that it would be absolutely fine for me to check in from 1 onwards. I then sent another email confirming this mentioning that I was heavily pregnant so I would like to make doubly sure that this was all fine. It was confirmed that yes this would be no problem. So we get to there and it's 130pm. I arrive to absolute chaos. The wedding was around the corner and the staff were completely unprepared. The person meant to be checking me in was nowhere to be found until it became clear that person was the bartender! The bartender who was busy serving beer and completely ignoring the front desk. So I go to the bar and explain I would like to check in - he tell me sorry check in is at 3. I said yes I was aware and explained that I had been given an early check in. He told me it wasn't his problem and he was too busy at the bar. I was throughly taken aback but luckily a friend who was also staying there...and coincidentally able to check in allowed us to use her room to drop our bags and change. So we go to the service and decide to attempt to check in afterwards. Round two it is now 2.45 so very close to their official check in time. The man is gone and has been replaced by a woman who informs me that she's sorry but the keys to our room are no where to be found! She then begins to frantically call her manager who informs her the keys to our room have already been given out. Concerning because to whom is unclear. After much back and forth it is decided they will give me the cleaners key - which does not include the key to the main building so I am informed I will need to return before 11 as after that no one will be in to let me in. So I am essentially given a curfew.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a little on the small side but fitted out to a very high standard.

    All the staff were very helpful to my elderly parents, one of whom is in a wheelchair. The disabled room was also easy for them to use. Breakfast was very good. Ideally situated to walk around the beautiful village of Ashby St Ledger.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location. However the staff put us in a smaller room than we paid for a smaller bed, no desk,no WiFi connection, no walk in shower,bathroom smaller. When we brought this to the manager's attention she initially tried to say we were wrong. We showed her our booking reservation. She then refunded some money but it took the edge off our stay as we were in a room we hadn't booked and then had to prove to the manager their mistake. Also pipe work to sink sounded like the whole wall was vibrating when taps were turned on. We could hear this in the other rooms too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The comfortable room and the food was excellent. A nice location with the Lord of the manor in the village historically thought to be where the gunpowder plot was hatched.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff were very friendly and pleasant. For the prices charged, though, some of the staff in the restaurant were somewhat inexperienced. for example, on two of the three mornings we were there, coffee ran out at breakfast as they waited until there was none left and then started making more. Little things that meant there was a lot of waiting - not the end of the world, but still...

    Beautiful location, gorgeous old pub. Very friendly and professional owner. Good food in the restaurant. Very pleasant garden to sit in and enjoy a drink. Room extremely comfortable and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in our room on the hottest day of the year so far, in a four star hotel!

    Andy the chef went out of his way to help us when we went to the dining room at 7am on Sunday ( should be 8am our fault didn't read the blurb) he made us coffee .Then Andy made scrummy sandwiches for our long journey. This world would be a better Place if we had more "Andy's".🇬🇮

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, brilliant weekend.

    It was out of the way in a quaint little village (famous or maybe infamous for its connection with the gunpowder plot) everything we wanted, nice comfortable room looking out over open countryside

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated had a short bed. As my husband is over 6 foot this was not ideal! Kitchen refrigeration unit was just outside our room and was very noisy - could be heard all through the night. We did mention this when we were checking out and we're told that they are aware of the problem as they have several complaints and it should be sorted soon - so hopefully not a problem in the future.

    Very friendly staff Boutique style room Fabulous bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used this pub as a stop off on a journey to the south of England. A little more expensive than we usually book but we enjoyed the food and comfortable accommodation with excellent walk in shower in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked twin superior room was given twin disabled room with a view of the main entrance door and smokers standing out side window smoking . That I was NOT happy with

    Staff and food were ace deco of room to a high standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stylish but not practical. No chairs to put clothes on so we had to put them on the floor, then we found a stool under the dressing table. The mirror was set so low we had to crouch to see ourselves in it. The shower room floor and shower floor were slippery, no shower mat. Breakfast was unfortunate! We arrived to a full dining room, no one to show us to a table, eventually a table that wasn't laid up. Some poor (charming) girl was trying to cope with all of us and at least two couples had to eat in the bar. The food was good when it finally arrived. I would have thought that if the OCH was fully booked, which it obviously was, there should have been more staff.

    The bed was comfortable; we liked the decor. Staff were friendly and we liked the general atmosphere, relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little on the small side but this would not deter me from staying again as the place is wonderful.

    Beautiful village setting off the beaten track. Staff were genuinely welcoming,friendly and very efficient. Rooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Food was very nice in the evening as was the breakfast. The beer was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested breakfast for 7am by email and also the evening of our stay. We were advised that this was not a problem but nothing was open at that time the following morning and we had to use the fire escape stairs to get out of the building. There was finally someone about at 7.20am (the chef) which by then it was too late to have breakfast as we had to leave by 7.30am. He was so helpful and made us bacon sandwiches and gave us some fruit and yoghurts to take with us. No one had told him that we were needing an early breakfast.

    Love room and excellent meal in the evening. The morning chef was extra helpful!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal was very poor and overpriced. I ordered steak and ale pie, which was served with burnt pastry and was cold inside the pie. Vegetables or 'greens' as they were described, were just warm. The food was sent back. The alternative choice, sausage with mash was not much better, and again 'greens' were barely warm. Very bland food. No responsible person bothered to ask about issues or apologise. Breakfast presentation was also very poor. One young waitress trying to serve, set tables, clear, and attend reception for check out. Waited 5 minutes for a table to be set, had to request cups, had to request dishes for cereal. Another two parties coming in for breakfast had the same problems. The room was basic, but a secondary window frame next to the sash windows had not been cleaned in a long time. Broken window pane kept together with clear adhesive paper. Staff forgot to leave towels in the room on the second day.

    There wasn't anything to like.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I always intend to write reviews (good or bad) but never get round to doing it but we had such a pleasant experience here I just had to let people know how good it was. Would definitely visit again. P.S. More of the delicious Aero hot chocolate in the room would be nice! It is much better than the usual plain Cadbury one!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room did not have a bath plug and there was not one spare... whilst I don't expect a plug to be spare and located on a Saturday night the staff dealing with it did not really seem to apologise for the inconvinience of not being able to bath after a 2 hour country walk. That said the staff are very friendly and it's not the fault of the staff some idiot took a bath plug!

    Friendly staff and great peaceful village for a night away from it all. Lovely walks in the country all over the area. Will definitely be coming again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great interesting menu, a chef who doesn't feel that every meal has to be served with chips. Amazed to find such a lovely location so close to city centres.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Olde Coach House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: