Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Olde Kings Arms

41 High St. Old Town, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 3AF, United Kingdom

#6 of 18 hotels in Hemel Hempstead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent, especially the chef who catered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, especially the chef who catered for my Gluten Free friend faultlessly! Bed was also one of the comfiest I've ever had in a hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for our one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park a little walk up the road, safe but annoying if raining.

    Room 3 is very small but completly adequate, air conditioned, quiet & functional. Roomy shower, tea & coffee making facilities with option of fresh milk if required. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant with a friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was clean it could do with a deep clean. The wardrobe was full of dust the window sills were black and the air con was thick with dust so we didn’t use it. It would have been helpful to know there was a private party on so no food was available but the staff did help us find somewhere else to eat

    Staff very helpful and accommodated us when we asked for an early breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay and would recommend to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    Ben was quick to respond to any questions we had prior to our arrival. All the staff we friendly on arrival and throughout the stay. The pub had been refurbished keeping the old charm, but adding the modern touches including air conditioning in the rooms. The accessible downstairs room was excellent for our father with the wet room and twin beds, something you don't see in the other hotels especially the large hotel chains. The price was excellent and included full English breakfast. Many thanks to Ben and his staff for making our stay so welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Great price in comfy clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some bulbs not working in the room which should have been checked before letting.

    Good customer service, pleasant welcome, breakfast included for the price which was good, great location near to shops etc. Comfy bed, modern bathroom, great price. Has an olde worlde feel too. Serves food. I'd stay again, definitely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Large spacious room with super comfy bed and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large and absolutely beautiful with all the wooden beams left exposed. The bathroom also had the old fireplace and a bath which was lovely. Ridiculously comfy bed. Had a TV, coffee machine, kettle etc. Breakfast of a full english was really tasty. The pub was full of character with a lovely beer garden at the back, they even had blankets for when it got cold in the evening. Perfect location and really quiet. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable rooms and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian option not available in the evening

    The lady looking after us at breakfast was very friendly and did everything to make us feel welcome. The room was comfortable and in a good location for Warner Bros Studio tour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay with great staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike about this property or the staff. It sits in a nice quiet location but plenty of things close by to keep you interested, really not a lot more can be said.

    Nice location with brilliant staff, room was large enough and very clean. The food was first class and nothing was too much trouble for the staff to cope with, also ground floor room which was perfect as I have problems with stairs and Michelle said if we came back just to ask for the same room as it was just right for us. In all a nice relaxing break with no problems at all 10/10 many thanks David and Ann.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were extremely helpful and polite and made you feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no onsite parking although it was stated there was on Booking.com. As I tend to travel alone I prefer to book accommodation with onsite parking so this was the main reason I booked this accommodation .

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite and made you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and it had a cosy feel to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the building overlooking the high streets it was ver noisy when people were leaving the pubs and clubs

    The staff were friendly and it had a cosy feel to it There are lots of places to eat something for everyone’s taste although they don’t have parking there is public parking close by for a very reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. Very attentative and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. BBQ in beer garden was lovely. Room more than expected! Housekeeper was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and service excellent! Will recommend to friends. Location ideal for Harry Potter World just a few minutes drive away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Good spot for exploring the Chilterns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated and needed a good clean. Noisy if you are at the front. Parking was awkward. I had to leave the car in the pay and display car park which is only round the corner but then I had to go and top the meter before 8am everyday so not exactly convenient.

    Breakfast was really good. Location was great in the centre of the old town. Nice traditional pub for drinks. Good spot for exploring the wider area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Genuinely friendly and helpful staff, comfy room and great breakfast by Carole and Ben
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little limited in the area very close by, although there are pay car parks available and free parking is a 5 minute walk or so, so a little challenging with a lot of luggage. But you could always drop the luggage outside and then park somewhere :)

    The location, the staff, breakfast - everyone so friendly and helpful - Met four members of staff and the owner/manager - everyone I spoke with were so friendly and helpful, even when 'off duty' Would definitely go back for a visit..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean and cosy room, mattress softer than I would have liked but was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Lovely Full English breakfast & was made fried bread as requested which wasn’t on the menu. Happy helpful staff. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we arrived early evening and we're surprised to be unable to get a meal. This was due to a function that was on and the chef was too busy. Luckily a lovely barmaid working there managed to use her influence to get us in at a nearby Italian restaurant.

    Lovely staff. Good room. Lovely public bar. Great area for local pubs and eateries. Great stop off point on the way to London

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Genuinely friendly, cosy spot with lovely staff and comfy rooms - recommended! Will come back! X
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not great in the Old town - there are spots, and pay car parks, and some free parking but this is a distance from The Olde Kings Arms, so fine if you don't have a lot of luggage and no problem with walking a little bit.

    I arrived late, around midnight and was greeted by the lovely Jess behind the bar. Also met Andrew a barman, who wasn't working but who helped me find a parking spot!! Way beyond the call of duty, and so helpful at such a late hour, when I was exhausted and due to get married in a field in a few hours time! My room was number 1, which is a ground floor room in a small annex block next to the pub and with windows opening onto a cobbled side alley/street. The bed and room were cosy, and the ensuite shower good too. I met Carole doing the breakfast bar and Ben the manager/owner/chef who were both also so friendly and helpful - I would thoroughly recommend staying here. I stayed with my lovely boy Bailey (a dog) - Thanks everyone I met at The Olde Kings Arms, a lovely team who really made me feel welcome and looked after X

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Take sleeping pills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the first floor facing the street. The constant noise of drunken loud conversations and taxi pick ups continued until 6.30am. Almost no sleep possible. I can only assume there must be an all night drinking club opposite. Horrenduss!

    Room was reasonably clean and staff polite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff and good positioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking onsite, was in the process of refit so décor was a bit old and rough. Should be better from September 2018 on.

    Nice staff and good positioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    The room is small but nice and clean.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more space in the room would have been ok

    The room is small but nice and clean. It has iron facilities and hair dryer. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic Inn to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not working very well in the room.

    A fantastic historical pub and inn. Friendly and welcoming staff. Tasty breakfast. Clean and comfy room. A beautiful church located just opposite to the inn.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay however the locals' behaviour persuaded to commute from Northampton next time.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people. Perhaps the sunshine, the long drinking hours and the football turned a lot of the local lads in to complete idiots which unfortunately , took the edge off my experience.

    The room was cosz and comfortable, the venue and garden was really good, The garden came in to it's own in the glorious sunshine we had the weekend I stayed. The food was really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Great Hemel pub/hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Great welcome from Ben on arrival. Room was just what we required after a hectic day the aircon was a god send. Warm welcome at breakfast and the breakfast was just enough and was very nice. If in Hemel again would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Wish I could rate this place higher 🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all good

    Absolutely superb, we enjoyed every min of our stay. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, very clean throughout , great food .. lovely atmosphere here 🙂

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Great welcome, great food, great air con, room too small to work in or do anything but sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny. Grouting in shower was old and discoloured. Landing decor and carpet between pub and rooms were marked and grubby looking.

    Staff were great - helpful professional and genuine. Air con in room was excellent and a godsend, breakfast was great, bed was great. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great value and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous double room with en suite. Characterful but with every modern convenience including welcome air conditioning. Very friendly staff both at check in at the bar (it's a great pub too, by the way) and at breakfast. Could not have been happier with my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Michelle who made and served us breakfast was fabulous.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff checked us in. Less than friendly and I felt deliberately kept me waiting whilst she talked to the local guys in the pub. Annoying and rude. Not a good start

    Michelle who made and served us breakfast was fabulous. So pleasant and helpful. A delight and real asset to the hotel. Bed was comfortable. If it hadn't been for our initial encounter checking in it would be 10 out of 10. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Just Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff fine once they finished debating what time breakfast starts on a Saturday (9am) No restaurant. Sign outside says Pie, + Pub with Rooms No Pies only Burgers, Salads and Pizzas from outside garden shed. In a front Bedroom awoken 3am by about 20 revellers presumably just exited from nearby party or local Nightclub shouting. Breakfast small but OK but one staff and full dinning room meant takes 50 minutes to finish. Maybe norm in Milton Keynes but Pint Larger being £4.45 smarts a bit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    It was ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed too soft and it left me with an aching back next day. Pillows were cheap and too thin so not comfortable.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Good tea and coffee making facilities in room and very good full English breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Charming old English pub .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Charming old English pub . Hosts were so friendly and accommodating despite us turning up about 7 hrs later than we advised. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Exceptional hospitality. Learnt a lot about local history from very friendly hosts .Would stay there again in a heartbeat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good shower though some advice on getting...
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    External noise from people outside. WiFi did not connect

    Great location, good shower though some advice on getting hot water would have been useful. Breakfast was good but we needed to ask for the different elements; they weren’t offered as a matter of course

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    One night Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not the best as it looked like most of the items had been pre cooked and then just kept under hot light. Orange juice also seemed watered down

    Pet friendly which was great as decided to take the work trip with the pooch. Staff lovely and good location. Good beer. Coffee is also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Hemel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was too soft for my taste but that is just me.

    The staff at this friendly pub/ hotel are excellent. Breakfast was lovely and everything was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    A over priced pub in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little over priced and poorly organised. Meals were only ok and parking was in a public car park. Rooms were clean but basic.

    A good location in town and handy to London. The bathroom was new and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Beds comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures show a quaint pub with really nice looking rooms, we were really deceived into thinking that's what we'd booked. The reviews are possibly from the people who got those nice looking rooms - we didn't!

    Beds comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Total lack of information about the Hotel, the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Total lack of information about the Hotel, the local environment, the Wireless key etc Good cooked breakfast but no cereals or catering for people who do not want a cooked breakfast Price - far to high for what was on offer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff nothing was a bother, booked numerous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tight but was to be expected given the age of the building.

    Very friendly staff nothing was a bother, booked numerous taxis for us, great local information etc. Evening meal in the bar was delicious and great value for money. Only annoyance was noise from bathroom extractor fan which i only noticed on the last day could be turned off, but that was my fault as i never asked. Very enjoyable stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant overnight stay in a pretty location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little too soft for my liking . Breakfast could have been a little more substantial

    The location in the Old Town was excellent. Also enjoyed the evening meal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel overall, but left feeling unwelcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only comment I would suggest about the room would be to have a mirror above the desk/near any other plug socket. I struggled to dry and straighten my hair going back and forth from mirror in wardrobe and bathroom to where my appliances were plugged in. The only real complaint is regarding our treatment from staff. Our room on arrival appeared bare (pictures off walls and ceiling paint spilling onto the walls of bathroom). Nothing mentioned on arrival but noticed decorating supplies and said missing pictures later in wardrobe. Accompanying note to apologise and explain room was due for rennovation the next day. No problem, we shrugged it off as it would make no difference to our stay. Breakfast was good, except a minor alteration here or there received the response, "you do realise your breakfast will be very small." Is it that difficult to replace an item or two with an extra scoop of beans? Would have been more appeciated than the sarcastic tone we encountered. This was seen as a minor issue, and since then we had chatted about where we were from and plans during our stay. However, no more mentioned about the rennovation in our room. We went back to the room to let breakfast settle and get ready to leave for our planned day. We had a knock on the door at 09:30, I had just showered so my partner answered it. To which he got, "Do you know how long you are going to be? Because we have our decorating man waiting to get in here." My partner responded with, "Maybe about an hour." Being as he hadn't showered yet and knowing how long it takes me to get ready, an hour seemed doable as it would be well within our understood check out time of 11am. The staff member said "Ok," and left but again, her annoyance of us was obvious. We were in total shock by the whole morning and then felt rushed to leave. We had relatives staying in another room who had not encountered any such treatment.

    Clean and comfortable rooms with good heating. High quality shower. Lovely, quaint area, nearby to lots of places to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    A restful stay after a busy day in London. I really appreciated the exposed wooden beams!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the mattress on the bed had been better the room would have been amazing. Both my wife and I found the mattress uneven in places, and we to have some kind of mattress topper. I recommend the owner goes try the bed in a premier inn, that's a very good mattress! Also if I was being picky... more choice at breakfast (maybe cereal and porridge, fruit etc)

    The room was very spacious and the air conditioning was nice and quite keeping the room at our desired temperature. The bathroom also was spacious. It was good to have a pod-coffee machine in the room. Because the room is above the pub we were able to come in after a busy day sightseeing, get a drink from the bar and take it up to the room to relax in front of the TV.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Value for money, close to Warner’s, good option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion over third party holding room ammountcand also having to pay actually at hotel.Took several days to return funds.Woukd book direct next time.

    Friendly staff and good pub meal.Cosy bar areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff excellent and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side is lack of parking but this is clearly stated but would benefit the hotel if guests had space to park.

    Staff excellent and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    The food was excellent the staff were very friendly and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything wrong with the property

    The food was excellent the staff were very friendly and it was in the old town with beautiful view of the old church and not to far from the parkb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry nothing to dislike about property or facilities. Ben and all of his staff could not have been more considerate and helpful We will definitely use and recommend to our friends to use when in area

    Very convenient to all locations.Allstaff and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A great place to stay with a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking down in the public car park was a bit inconvenient but doable.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful, our room was clean and comfortable and the old town of Hemel Hempstead was very quaint. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Clean relaxed and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not available at the hotel but there is a small carpark nearby.

    We stayed in the best room in the hotel which was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, we will return again soon. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no coat hooks to hang out wet coats after being out in the rain. That's the only thing I didn't like but its just a small thing.

    Very informative booking arrangements. Easy to find and although we could not park outside the pub there was a pay and display car park on the next road and the parking charges are refunded by the pub. Everything was very well organised and the pub were expecting us and we were made to feel very welcome. We were showed to our room which was very nice and comfortable. The pub is in a great location. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic! Very nice friendly staff too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Made to feel super welcome by the owner, he was great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady working in morning could have been friendlier and made us feel more welcome at breakfast,

    Made to feel super welcome by the owner, he was great, overall great place and location, and lovely rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The pub is in an excellent location for the local attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clear on the booking information that meals are not served on a Sunday evening. However, there are a number of Indian or Thai restaurants nearby.

    All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Location good. Staff excellent. Free parking too.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the room was very scruffy. Breakfast was not available until 8.30 @ w/e, which was too late. 3 of us - but no single rooms available - so one cost the same as the double. Parking was free. but not easy to find - perhaps wotrth double checking before arriving as there's a one way system.

    Location was excellent for the middle of town. Staff were jovial & friendly - the manager (think it was Ben) sorted out a fan problem in the bathroom speedily.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Almost fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very limited breakfast, lacking a continental option, and only served till 8.30am.

    Friendly and comfortable, plenty of little eateries in easy walking distance and very easy to find. Lovely big room with a good bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Kind. Warm and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tables are quite packed in in the back room. Not enough milk in the bedroom. Nets did need a wash.

    Id recommend this if u are unfamiliar with area and are visiting Harry Potter it’s it far. Friendly. Historic. It was clean. Warm and resonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Would stay again. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold on arrival so that changing for the event we were attending was not as comfortable as it could have been. Breakfast was no frills but tasted nice.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    It was lush!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    The staff were very accommodating to us, with myself being gluten free they fulfilled my dietary requirements. They we're very helpful in advising us on what there was to do whilst staying with them, we went into London that was just a short drive (we had a taxi booked by the staff) to the train station nearby. The purpose of our stay was to visit Harry Potter Studios and staying in The Olde Kings Arms was definitely a bonus added to our trip. The both of us would highly recommend to couples and families of all ages as myself and my parter are in our early twenties and thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, as the pub is located amongst other bars and restaurants we were not short on choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Was a good p
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet had not been cleaned thoroughly from the previous occupant

    The breakfast and beer were good and the staff very welcoming.The car park was private and felt safe.The staff directed us to an excellent local Indian restaurant for our evening meal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Lots of character in this old English pub. Nice to stay at a place devoid of hotel bling .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why oh why do brits never have full cream milk available. I hate semi skimmed milk and as I am paying I would like full cream milk on my cereal and in my tea. No wonder uk has a problem with an increase in Ricketts.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Close to town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly any toilet paper - 1/4 roll left at best so had to ask in busy bar for a roll! Cold room & Air/con not the easiest to program.

    Close to town. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately didn't get to try Burger night because the chef went home sick but that can't be helped . Hoping to come and visit again soon

    The lady who served us breakfast was super friendly and wonderful. She made us feel so at home and so comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great staff and nice feel to the place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small issue with dogs not being allowed in the back bar area but our group of 10 could only eat there since there were so many of us. But of course, you can't really leave dogs unattended in hotel rooms. We compromised though so all fine!

    Staff were really friendly and great with the kids and dogs (2 of each!) in our group. Very accommodating too, making some changes to small things as needed since we were a large group. Thanks for looking after us so well, we'll be back and recommending you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    it was gorgeous here loved it stay and everyone was so...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was gorgeous here loved it stay and everyone was so friendly and welcoming will definitely be returning and will recommend this place to everyone 😍 thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing stay - little or no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street until 4 am due to late night revellers. Single glazed windows cold and drafty. Don't stay at the front of the hotel due to cars screaming up and down through out the night. Did not sleep at all. Breakfast limited. Ben was great really helpful re check in, parking and table reservation.

    Charm look great in pictures, looking forward to the stay but was disappointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our short break here and would definitely stay here again if we travel to this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean with really comfortable beds. The pub itself was cosy & inviting and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant Stay and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely comfortable perfect for what we needed staff when we came down for breakfast very friendly and helpful wonderful visit would come again 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, efficient staff in an authentic old pub in the historic center of Hemel Hempstead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The narrow winding stairwell from the ground to first floor was awkward with larger pieces of luggage and the hall lighting did not always come on when the hall button was pressed. Took a few minutes early one morning to figure out how to exit the building.

    The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient! Allowing us to put our dinner and bar tab on our room bill was also an added helpful feature! Breakfast was tasty and a good way to start each day! Room #8 was recently renovated and had a large shower with good water pressure. This establishment is really an authentic old pub!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful friendly people and very comfortable modern rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was welcoming and super helpful. I felt like I had come home. If I wasn't on a diet I would have stayed longer. Great food and local ales.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If i had to be picky... there was a slight bit of mildew in the shower but if thats all i have to complain about then i'm more than happy.

    The staff were all absolutly amazing people; friendly, very competent, and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was fantastic. Pub/restaurant was clean and full of character. And did I mention the staff... fantastic bunch of people. Really impressed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.5
    A very pleasant short stay in a charming historic building at the centre of quaint Hemel old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast coffee was insipid, and requires improvement as we all expect good coffee these days.

    Lovely warm welcome from hosts. I would have been more than happy to have stayed here on my own, which is not something I often say, as I felt supported. Breakfast good, but only a main course, rather than the more usual cereal/juice range additions. But still very good, at the price. We ate out, as my friend fancied a curry, but the pub food plus menu had some good options. My room (No. 7) was quaint, and charming, whilst still large. Both bedrooms clean and well appointed. Free wifi always welcomed, thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and welcoming.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, stairs to our room where very steep but they do have some rooms on the ground floor if this is an issue make sure you let them know when booking. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Really great staff and lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing isn't great, it's a little noisy, but it's an old inn so completely understandable.

    Staff were welcoming and helpful, the food was excellent, the bed was very comfortable and a good sized bathtub with plenty of hot water!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The Kings Arms is an excellent place to stay with both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative about my stay at the Kings Arms, was the poor quality of the wifi. It didn't bother me personally and I normally wouldn't mention it, but my 11 year old son couldn't do without it! lol

    The Kings Arms is an excellent place to stay with both wonderful staff and atmosphere. It has a cosy wee bar and lovely accommodation. I would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Good food great hotel and friendly and helpful staff and the area was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about my stay

    I am celiac and the chef went out of his way to make a meal and breakfast that i could eat .also staff were very friendly and if required nothing was a bother to them great hotel charm and history about the building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    The personal service was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would've liked a menu for breakfast or a buffet. It wasn't immediately apparent what the possibilities were, & we felt rushed because evetyone seemed to want breakfast at the same time. Because of the high level of personal service, the staff weren't so fast.

    The personal service was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff, really friendly barman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner - but it was ok for the money we paid.

    Excellent staff, really friendly barman. Great location for our visit. The garden area is fantastic - you can see they are making a huge effort with the outside bar and barbecue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    A kip with poor facilities and the staff left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    All as described above. It would be advisable for booking.com to remove it from their site as it is a kip and doesn't do the site any favours. I have always booked with booking.com however would be slow to do so again.

    Breakfast was not edible and when brought to the attention of the waitress she basically stated that she was on her own serving and that it was not a hotel. Poor attitude and the bar staff were in training and the poor lad did not have a clue. When we asked for a pizza on the menu the chef appeared to say it could not be made. The floor in the dining room was wet and although it advertised a beer garden it was actually a bench. This place is a dive. Take advise do not stay at this property. Oh and no seats at the bar and rooms are tiny. Worse place I think I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely littlw pub, Great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 7 has paper thin walls, listened to the entire staff meeeting whilst having a lie in! No bathmat.

    Lovely comfy beds and a homely pub..great english breakfast! Hemel hempstead old town is lovely for a short stop as well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok accommodation just needs a good clean and update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small, needs a really good clean. Bedroom floor didn't look as though it had been vacuumed. Rooms just need some time and care spent on them to update and clean. There was parking but wasnt right next to the pub it was up the road and cars are not visable from the pub which was a slight concern not knowing the area.

    Staff are really friendly, beds comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75