Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Olde Windmill Inn 4 stars

Waterend, Great Cressingham, Great Cressingham, IP25 6NN, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Great Cressingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault was the late reply to my email, which resulted in us travelling direct to our venue in our finery on one of the hottest days of the year. But when I did receive the email they would have allowed us in our room early.

    Clean, comfortable and the cooked breakfast kept us going until 8pm that svening. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Looking forward to next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about

    I stay at the Olde Windmill Inn every year, wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else, just love the place. So friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely characterful pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the morning of the 12th, the breakfast staff were hung over (from the English football semi final game on the evening of the 11th) and the service was a bit slow and attention to detail i.e. order for breakfast and coffee or tea were missed! I had to go to the kitchen to ask myself. Also room 14 was a little noisy from the road noise. Apart from these two niggles, our stay was very enjoyable.

    Lovely characterful pub. Lovely helpful staff. Good food and drink. Comfortable bed and room. we will definitely return if in the area again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I needed a quite break away on my own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one single thing

    Everything was so lovely. The staff so helpful. I traveled on my own and they even brought evening meal to my room. Will definitely be going back. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Super stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for a couple of days for our Wedding Anniversary. We were made really welcome by very friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Super food served all day. Big selection of real ales & wine. Large clean airy bedroom with very comfy king size bed, en-suite had bath & shower & nice toiletries. Fantastic breakfast cooked to order. Large beer garden with plenty of seating. Very large car park. Thoroughly recommend this place. Will definitely be staying again. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed springs pushing through uncomfortable Dog charges not clear on booking .com until u phone accommodation Hidden charges are not good

    Food excellent Staff excellent Cleanliness excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Relaxed, enjoyable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    very different property with its labyrinth of bars, brilliant. Room was spacious and comfortable with tea and coffee facilities as well as bottled water. No negatives at all, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was brilliant I was staying there because my son was getting married up the road & although I had enough to stress about as any mother would. staying at the windmill was perfect as was the wedding will definitely be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    waiter/waitress service was at time haphazard, one morning i had to complain as we were being totally ignored

    the rooms are very nice , well kitted out, excellent wifi . the pub+restaurant are above average, typical gastropub and the garden was a suntrap. you are miles from anywhere, but this is great place as everything is to hand , will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice room ok breakfast but won't be returning
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and springs in mattrese showing Dinner was awful Food out of a packet or freezer Starter was sent back Food not very good quality We cancelled our other dinner bookings We were told 'it's pub food, what did you expect? ' I have had better food on a roadside snack bar!

    The room was large and comfortable Clean bathroom Hot water Quiet overnight. Staff were pleasant Our dog loved walking round the garden and grounds Breakfast was olñ

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely rural retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very thin and well worn mattress which could not support my body from resting on the bed base board. This was disappointing in a lovely en-suite room which is otherwise of generous size and very comfortable with two arm chairs and a good sized working table and chair, and a large Sharp television. Internet service was not working except in the bar area at the time of our visit.

    A lovely old Inn which has been extensively extended. Cosy and quirky bars. Large and well equiped en suite bedroom. Wide choice of freshly cooked to order food in the restauants, mainly traditional english home style cooking with lovely fresh ingredients.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel/ restaurant, will definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedding was too thick for the time of year - a lighter duvet would have made sleeping at night more comfortable.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, food was excellent and the location was very pleasant and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, friendly, helpful staff, would definitely stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    This is a wonderful characteristic place which has been in the family for over 60 years, nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a family wedding and had my elderly parents with us, who also enjoyed the stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    A chance choice amongst many available and just our good fortune to have chosen the Olde Windmill In
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Pub is exquisite with many separate areas, parking is plentiful and off road. Our room was large by any standards, very clean and well appointed and the twin beds comfortable. Staff both family and others accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable with friendly staff,food was good with big portions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very good,the waitress for the Thursday was pleasant and for the breakfast Friday and Saturday again pleasant and very attentive,overall we had a good stay and would come again.The shower on both days the water was hot and u could have a decent wash,the bed was comfortable to sleep in so all a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited quite a long time for breakfast on the second morning as tables weren't ready, could be more organized, also finding crawling bugs in my room.

    Room was nice, staff friendly,had a nice dinner too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cramped for an executive double room and bed was no bigger than normal double so don’t no where the executive comes from but it was still clean and comfortable.

    Quiet position Nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very disappointing.

    Breakfast was the only thing that did not meet my expectations. Food okay, service good, but no coffee, no orange juice...waited constantly for the drinks to be refilled. Bar was great, dinner spectacular, room was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A place i wouldn't hesitate to recommend, excellent staff making it more enjoyable. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Numerous choices to suit all for breakfast and in the restaurant for evening meals, quality menu made from quality products, portions very generous and delicious sweets too. Rooms excellent with toiletries and tea, coffee etc. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We would definitely recommend to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The executive double room was spacious and clean. It included a desk and chair plus 2 more comfortable chairs. Very friendly staff, food was very good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    So much better than a travel lodge an unexpected gem in a remote location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast started at 7.30 but as we needed to leave earlier they made sure staff were on site to make sure we could get our breakfast before we left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our visit - would have liked to stop longer.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we feel is even lmportant to memtion. Maybe spring on room door could less ‘pushy’; it tends to catapult me either in or out of room! I should add that I walk with a stick...

    Quiet and friendly inn... have stayed here before and will again. Thank you...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have coffee at the table for breakfast in the same way that my companion had tea, rather than having to go and get it from the self serve area!

    Lovely room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Big room and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is good, but the portions are too big so only ever manage to get through about half the plate.

    Big room and comfy beds. Food very good pub grub and good selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great stay in Norfolk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to have a night away over Easter and we found this little gem. Lovely old inn retaining that quaint & traditional feel but with a great selection of drinks including a fantastic gin and beer selection. Lots to choose from on the menu and we both had 2 courses followed by coffee but recommend pre booking a table during busy times as this place is popular. Staff are all very welcoming and happy to help. Accommodation is spacious and well equipped, the bed was big & comfortable and facilities were great including tea, coffee and biscuits. Lots of parking and an on site camping area for those with camper vans or tents. It was just a shame the weather was typically English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Smashing 1650 Inn & food excellent - need to work of the rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather tatty with respect that the windows did not close properly. The radiator was on full with the valves closed. Two lights did not work. No shelving within the bathroom to place toiletries. This room (No. 8) you had to go outside and up a flight of wet stairs in the rain - no protection and very slippery !

    The food was very good with a very large choice of meals. Good selection of Beers / Larger at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    my wife & myself had a great break at the Olde Windmill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in room one ,nice room but next to boiler ,so room was warmer than we would have liked ,when we stay again I will request another room but still at the Olde Windmill as we liked everything else about the place..

    Meals in the restaurant were great very good food with generous portions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Everything about the the olde windmill it has the whole...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything about the the olde windmill it has the whole package. The free unrestricted parking (for high top vans) the free wifi actually works (the first hotel ive staid in that wifi works). Very important they have sockets beside the bed so you can chill in bed with your phone. The staff are plentifull and very pleasant. The food is worthy of a michelin star. Thankyou

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel and restaurant/pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot even with the radiator off. No noise from the bar but some from outside as late as 00.45.

    Lovely welcoming hotel. Excellent food. Very well equipped room with a very large double bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress.

    Very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere staff friendly and very efficient. Food was cooked and presented to a high standard with requests being accommodated without fuss. Room was well furnished and spotless. We returned at New Year and were not disappointed, we live locally but could have been anywhere if that made sense.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Great atmosphere and staff and food o and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a nightmare mattress didn't disguise the bed rungs even ,,,pillows so cheap and nasty and not enough to watch t v inbed..the only thing not really good. Mattress topper a good one would sort that.

    Friendly welcome ..lovely quaint atmosphere..sufficient staff..could tell it was run by someone who knew what was required. Strangers and locals seemed very happy and mixed. Deffo go back. Food good wholesome huge variety and price range ..sandwiches were awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    We will certainly come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Really warm bedrooms, comfy beds. Good breakfasts. Evening meal was fine- good quality pub food. Choice of Ales. Big roaring fires. Lots of lovely little snugs and dining areas. Very good quality for the price paid. Helpful staff who sorted out taxis for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Ver comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just think breakfast could have been included in price as was on our first stay.

    Very well heated rooms. Lovely ambience and a homely feel to the placw

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Booking.com website it said breakfast was included,well it was not.Please sort out your website or I will never book with you again

    The room was very comfortable,and the shower was huge.The food in the pub was great,and there were a great selection of beers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like

    Nothing to fault, the rooms were large, well maintained and clean. The food was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like.

    The bedroom was very comfortable, lovely and warm at all times - had to turn off heating at night. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice. Second time we have stayed and would return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Will use again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi

    Used this inn several times - really like it. Bed was a little lumpy (rm14) and WiFi kept dropping out which meant re-logging in every time. Other than that wholly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Short stay. Had a relaxing few days, good food and clean spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous rural location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and warm. Restaurant and bar popular with locals, food excellent, plenty of parking .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent welcome, food and comfort - very well run. Cannot wait for next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed at this property many times and find it gets better and better. Lovely welcome, relaxed oldie worldly pub atmosphere, with lovely comfortable beds, and excellent food. Location is a great retreat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    On the whole, this is a nice B&B with the food/service of special note - would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I sent an email to book ahead for an evening meal for the Saturday we stayed but, despite sending it several times, it was never acknowledged - although the table was reserved when we asked on arrival! The en-suite to our room was starting to look very tired and tatty and the toilet was not cleaned to a particularly high standard. One of our towels was dirty and unusable so, unfortunately, I've had to mark down for this in the general rating.

    This is a very attractive hotel with an unusual, interesting layout and a good menu selection and excellent food. Staff were very attentive but not intrusive. The bedroom we had was of a good size and well equipped - nice to have a couple of armchairs for TV viewing, and the TV itself was a good large sized flat-screen with freeview. Good Wi-Fi connection too - much appreciated! :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic as always- already booked for the Spring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was cosy, comfortable and spotless. Staff as always were polite, efficient and could not do enough for you. Peace and quiet personified!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Met all our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues.

    Good clean rooms well fitted out. Bathroom with shower over bath. On site bar and restaurant both very good with an extensive menu. Highly enjoyable stay and would highly recommend. All staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful relaxing weekend for both me and my little dog in beautiful surroundings. Superb!
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything to be honest.

    Everything, the staff were always available if needed and eager to make my stay as smooth and comfortable as possible. Being disabled, this was very important to me. The meals were fantastic and at a fair price. The whole atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Immaculately clean rooms and indeed all through the Inn. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value. A place with a clear aim to treat customers well and give good value.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ate diner in small space between conservatories. restaurant was heaving -obviously very popular -we had imagined sitting in cosy room with fire. Service very slow due to high demand. Staff lovely.

    loved room -well furnished comfortable -toiletries- tea and coffee - bottled water - biscuits

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed was without doubt the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in but I reported it in the morning and they were shocked and said that they would check it out, sadly no offer of a discount or reduction on a future stay!!

    Lovely location and very friendly staff. Quirky hotel with lots of additions that all add to the character. Food was very good and the service pleasantly attentive without being intrusive! Plenty of parking behind the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very warm welcome, a lovely old Inn with tudor beams, great food, and very well priced, all the staff made our stay excellent, would highly recommend this place to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Not the first stay and won't be the last!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hit and miss wifi reception, non-existent in the room. If you are on a romantic weekend, that may not be an issue at all but if you are travelling alone from abroad and want to keep in touch with the home front, it's more important.

    Very nice food and a great selection of beers. Very comfortable rooms are at the back of the premises so nice and quiet with no street or pub noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed with the food we had in the evening, but a wide selection on the menu, so perhaps we just made the wrong choices

    Location and the quietness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable room with excellent food made for a very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast croissants a little over cooked but overall breakfast was tasty and good value

    Very clean room and comfortable bed. Restaurant excellent food and value. Staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    We only had breakfast at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roads around the hotel could do with some improvement. Although we have been several times to this hotel, we always have difficulty at night finding our way back to it. One night it was foggy, and we missed some of the turnings.

    We only had breakfast at the hotel. It was very good. Also the room we had was on the ground floor, which was very convenient as I have had heart problems.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely traditional country pub which has extended to include eating areas without spoiling the ambience of the various bars. Enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Regular visitor because it so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems.

    Extensive menu, lots on offer. Food was very enjoyable and good size portions. Bedroom spacious and well thought out. Excellent stay overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    We had to pay £7-50 for breakfast even though I only wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to pay £7-50 for breakfast even though I only wanted Toast and Marmalade The only walk in shower they could offer was up outside stairs and as I am slightly disabled I found it difficult.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveything i couldnt have fault anything it was the purfect place for our little get away. It was just what we needed

    Thought it was lovely with lots of diffrent areas to sit and chat, to enjoy the garden and watch the birds or to just sit and watch the world go by. Loved all the diffrent qwirky orniments and signs kept us guessing on some of them. The staff were super friendly and always happy to help nothing was too much trouble. As for the food, great menue good portions and great value for money.the bar was so well stocked it had something for everyone.the rooms were lovely and big and very clean and the bed was so comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed here several times and love it so will be returning soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the bedroom decor could do with a spruce up and everywhere seemed so hot

    The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble and they were all so friendly. The food is great value for money and menu so extensive - recommended Especially dog friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay and good for exploring North Norfolk. Will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked to have seen a real fire rather than electric. Wi Fi was very poor combined with poor phone reception, very difficult to investigate area for activities

    Lovely pub and wonderful food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism is that our eggs on both mornings were pretty rubbish, poached were not cooked on top and the fried eggs were burnt underneath but snotty on top!

    We have stayed here several times and have always had a great stay, the rooms are immaculate, plenty of shower and shampoo products.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Perfect, affordable country getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were so clean and spacious and had everything you need! The staff were so friendly and the food was incredible and such a array of choice and specials on the menu! Had such a lovely week and would definitely book again or recommend to friends!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    Excellent- warm and friendly, old fashioned pub with rooms. The menu is basic but very good and the breakfast choices welcome. Bedroom was large and very comfortable, the bathroom good with a lovely large and powerful shower. You could feel the care and attention which the owners have invested here while protecting what is obviously a very long history. I hope to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Everything great no EXCELLENT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have had a walk in shower but the room would have been a little smaller so we chose the larger room. Being disabled a shower over the bath proved to be a bit of a problem, but it did not detract from an enjoyable stay on our way to a coastal holiday.

    Croissants were excellent All food was extremely high quality - portions very good even very large for us as we are in the 80 - 90 age group

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    A Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was way to large, and they couldn't possibly cook everything fresh as they would need a refrigerated lorry for all the food. Cut the menu down to around 10 starters, 10 mains & 5 deserts.

    Value for money! lovely oldy worldy coaching inn. This is a little gem just outside Swaffham, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet get away which is value for money, I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Our third visit and intend to return to this great pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Portions too large for us old "uns" Great if you are younger and have a big appetite

    Comfortable beds with quality bedlinen and fluffy white towels. Plenty of choice on menu for breakfast and evening meal as well as good selection of beer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.6
    Very disappointing, forgot to give us breakfast and hard beds!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 1 - had two very small windows. Very stuffy and warm. Requested a fan with male receptionist, as they advised in their brochure, 50 mins later we were still waiting for it! Rang again this time spoke to a female receptionist, fan turned up within 10mins. Bed was two singles put together which was fine but both really hard. Better bed protectors would be so much nicer. Room could do with a coat of paint and the bathroom could certainly do with a good spruce up. The cobwebs in the bathroom and room doesn't take much to wipe away! Finally, and most upsetting. We pre-booked our breakfast the night before for 9am. We attended the breakfast room at 08.45hrs. Lovely tea and toast but that was it!!! They forget to give us our breakfast. We sat patiently for 45mins and nothing. We then asked where it was to be told the kitchen was closed! They breakfast was in the oven! but they hadn't been told we were waiting!!!

    They rang to before we went to ask whether we wanted to book a table for dinner the night we were staying as it was the weekend and they get really busy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't able to check in u til 2:35 even tho check in was at 2! I asked for 6 pillows on my bed and got 4! I asked for a room with a bath and got a shower! One of the lamps in the room was broken on the shade

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful classic English pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed attention due to mould and a leaky bath/shower. There was damp in the bedroom walls from this. A cheap horrible shower curtain that attaches itself to you!

    Bed comfy and the room's classical decor was pleasant. Nice choice of cereals and fruits etc. Cooked breakfast was good. We didn't try the pub/restaurant for evening meal as we were visiting family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and overall good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy Saturday evening in the bar so a long wait for food but staff unerringly friendly and helpful and meals nice enough when they came.

    Great breakfast. Comfortable quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    great find,good food drink, accommodation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing,for the price you could not ask for more

    we stayed one night only,the staff were great, the room good clean and comfortable,the food in the evening restaurant was fantastic,good selection of drinks,very reasonable prices,breakfast was very good,lovely quiet place with a good atmosphere .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in lovely peaceful surroundings are great place to chill out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rooms nicely furnished, comfy bed, good choice of food from the menu, great portion sizes, well stocked bar with several real ales to choose from, 4 different lagers and a good selection of ciders. The staff were friendly and courteous, nothing was to much trouble. All in all a great run family business. Will definitely return to the olde windmill inn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, very quiet and staff lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Amazing pub/ hotel - lovely rooms, excellent food and staff were very helpful and friendly. Bed was huge and very comfortable. Quiet day and night. Idyllic location which we enjoyed exploring. We will definitely go again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Relaxed, welcoming and in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Leaving!

    The room was beyond our expectation for comfort and quality. The rooms were in a very nice section of the building joined to but apart from the main pub building. The staff were so friendly and helpful - made you feel like old friends rather than clients but maintaining a good service. Lovely evening meal menu, good selection - delicious food, wonderful puds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing and made to feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all

    The bed was perfect, the room and location was lovely but what made this visit wonderful was the amazing staff - so friendly, approachable and very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    A really pleasant place to stay and plenty of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit unsure about what the breakfast arrangements were, we asked for tea for two but only tea for one arrived.

    The location was quiet, the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a very welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Staff were lovely and food was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was so soft I woke maybe 4-5 times during the night and had to get up by 7am it was hurting my back. however everything else was great so that's why I still scored high

    Staff were lovely and food was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    A little gem of a hotel and would definatley stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had quite a bit of grease/oil on the plate as if it had'nt been drained for quite long enough. There were quite a few flies buzzing around our food which was quite annoying where we ate which was a pity as small indescreet Fly Killer units are relatively cheap and would have solved this problem

    Staff were really friendly and helpful and seemed genuinley happy to be there. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Food was very nice and service was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both liked everything about the pub.

    The rooms was very comfortable, the pub was very welcoming with a good atmosphere, food was great and so was the real ale.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: