Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oriental - Guest House 4 stars

9 Oriental Place, Brighton & Hove, BN1 2LJ, United Kingdom

#19 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Super attentive staff + lovely quirky property + great location = perfect cheeky visit to Brighton!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the 4th floor and there's no lift in the building - and that means 70+ steps to get to the room on the top floor! We were made aware of this when we booked, so not a problem if you're relatively fit, but with suitcases and shopping bags it's a bit of a faff; especially in hot weather and as some of the stairs towards the top of the building are quite tight. The room itself was fine - airy and quite cool considering the warm weather albeit a bit on the small side.

    Great staff - everyone was friendly and attentive. Fabulous breakfast and we were offered a complimentary pot of coffee on arrival. The house is old and comes with quirky features; full of character and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    This guest house is in a great location, easy to walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite warm at night but they did provide a fan which helped.

    This guest house is in a great location, easy to walk to the centre and attractions. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby. The room was cosy and the staff were really friendly, helpful and welcoming. Would deffo stay again next time I’m in Brighton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Room was large, bright and big bed was very comfortable with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy, could hear other guests (&their dog) but didn’t stop me sleeping!

    Room was large, bright and big bed was very comfortable with nice sheets. Fan was appreciated for boiling hot nights! Charming room & bathroom in quirky townhouse. Good breakfast with fresh coffee & variety of nice food options. 2 mins walk from the beach, under 10 mins to Brighton Centre for conferences.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Great staff and good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 floor walk up = no lift. No AC. The area was a bit rough but once inside the hotel I felt safe and it was clean.

    Amazing staff! 1 block from the promenade and English channel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Depressing. Noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rather tired hotel with grubby carpets on the stairs and landing. The room was clean but cramped and small despite being the "superior suite". Very noisy throughout the night because the hostel across the street attracts a lot of people all night. Lots of shouting and drinking in the street. The hotel provides ear plugs but the windows are old and painted open. It's on a very dirty side street with no parking - not even for dropping off luggage. The car park will add another £18 p night to your stay. WiFi doesn't work above first floor. When I complained I was told stand nearer the wall! We had booked breakfast but got a bag of biscuits and an apple because breakfast is only served from 8-9 am and we needed to be at a conference by 8. The man on reception wasn't interested in the fact that we hadn't been told that breakfast hours are very limited. Pretty depressing place and scented bath oils can't hide that fact.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    A central location and a funky, friendly, very well managed small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure if the fault is the hotel’s or booking.com’s but parking is not an included amenity as it says on the listing. There is convenient parking a short walk away—four or five minutes, but it costs L18 a day. Not unreasonable or unmanageable at all—but if the parking accommodations were part of your calculation in choosing a place, as they were for us, then it’s good to know in advance what the situation is. Also—and we were clearly informed about this, so this isn’t a complaint, just a piece of information—there’s no lift and our room was on the fifth floor. Again, perfectly reasonable and manageable, but something to know about in advance.

    The location was superb; the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was delicious. We had a lovely stay, in spite of the heat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Good, central location, great staff and a welcoming, comfortable atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent and the artwork really interesting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Amazing! Over satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing friendly trustworthy staff, all understanding and helpful. Beautiful hotel really unique and had a nice layout. Wonderful! Would highly recommend to stay there and would definitely go back myself to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is charming, the decoration of every place is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is charming, the decoration of every place is very pretty and colorful, the bed was very comfy. All the softs drinks, tea, coffe are totaly free at the bar, the staf is very kind, and there was a "bubble bath" in my bathroom !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No highchair. Breakfast time was a little late but only as baby is an early riser.

    Quiet. Good location. Friendly staff. Helped with baby. Provided complementary snacks which was a nice surprise

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay in!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my room was on the top floor, and I am not used to that much exercise, but that's my issue and not the hotels

    Treated like you were the only person there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Quirky and interesting, a cut above the normal guest house/b&b standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff, excellent room (Suite room 7) although lots of stairs so not suitable if you have mobility issues, comfortable bed, great breakfast. Coffee machine and bowl of sweets in the room was a nice touch. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great value for the money. Excelent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing, very helpful and with a great smile on there face. The locaton is so great and the children playground on the beach 2 min walk away. The bed was realy good and the room very nice. I will defenetly come back for another stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Couldn't find a batter place to stay in Brighton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff with Luna, gorgeous Boston terrier, in charge ;) Delicious breakfast available also for vegetarians. Perfect location, a stone's throw from the beach, parking and pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    The Oriental, fascinating Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Oriental was just the perfect place to stay at Brighton, we loved it, and loved Lola . She is definitely the soul and heart of this enchanted guesthouse, always full of bursting positive energy, willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Thanks so much!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    relaxing and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot of room in the bathroom. No ledge for the shower gel but not a problem.

    Fabulous hosts. Little extras like lavender oil in the side light, lovely bathroom toiletries. Nothing too much trouble. Even Luna the dog was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent short break
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would prefer harder mattress on the bed but still was very comfortable

    Very quaint and beautiful grade 2 listed building with all the qualities to match. Located within walking distance of the Brighton Esplanade and the Brighton Centre it is an ideal place to stay. Would like to return sometime soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at the Oriental Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the 3rd floor lots of stairs and no lift, fine for us but wouldnt be good for elderly visitors

    Large comfy room, well equipped with tea making facilities and a basket of complimentry snacks. Staff very freindly. Breakfast delicious! Great location in Brighton, near town centre and sea front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location. The room was ideal for our needs. Would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal. Very close to the sea front and a short walk to the town centre and lanes. The member of staff on reception was friendly and welcoming, we were able to leave our luggage as we arrived early and also on our day of departure. We were in a twin room on the ground floor which was ideal. The use of space was well planned and the level of cleanliness was good. There was tea/ coffee and sweet snacks available in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Just an absolute Oasis.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lola, the owner is just wonderful. So accommodating, friendly and helpful. I could not recommend the Oriental highly enough. Amazing staff, wonderful room, great breakfast - fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the city centre and about 5-minute walk away from the beach. Harry and Lola were so friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the stay. Have already recommended to my friends and will definitely book again if I visit Brighton next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of stairs up to the superior suite at the top but they did let us leave our baby buggy downstairs in a storage area.

    Very welcoming host. Breakfast choice was good and included in the rate. Free soft drinks/tea/coffee refills all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    A very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The five flights of stairs to the room needs to be mentioned before booking, but thankfully we aren't too decrepit yet.

    Comfy well equipped room with everything you could possibly need for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    A really welcoming hotel, with some original touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast lacked some of the love seen in much of the rest of the hotel, and the funky looking built in seating in the bar/breakfast area looks great, but was impossible to get comfy on: the one instance of style over substance. It would have been really nice to have a small fridge in our room. Certainly not enough to put us off going back though.

    The complimentary soft drinks were a very pleasant and welcome addition, the owner's little dog was adorable, the aromatherapy lamp in our room was a nice touch, and there was a box of sweeties in our room. We loved the jacuzzi bath. The staff were really friendly too. All really nice touches that made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Free upgrade offered unsolicited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free upgrade offered unsolicited. Superb breakfast. Warm friendly atmosphere Very good location, easy walking distance of international restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    It was close to the shore.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was unbearable. It’s an old building and creaking is to be expected but unfortunately there was so much of it from the guests above me. The reception/bar area had a very strong dog smell which put me off having a breakfast. The owner really is a lovely lady and if I wasn’t a light sleeper it would have been fine.

    It was close to the shore. The sweets and water in the room were a nice touch. The owner is very friendly and very welcoming. Great place to stay if you’re travelling with pets!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice property bedding and towels very clean staff friendly very helpful close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a bigger room as we had a cotbed for a child in a back room not a lot of space for manoeuvring

    Comfy bed, nice shower room, food was good friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great. Walking distance to pretty much everything and you are far enough away from the clubs to not hear them or the people. The place was very clean and everything worked as expected. The staff were very personable and more than happy to help with everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    We felt welcomed, and help was offered whenever needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked the bathroom to be cleaner a little but that is all really!

    We felt welcomed, and help was offered whenever needed. The room was unique and beautiful, and little perks such as a basket of choc, crisps and candies wer provides. Water, juices, coffee and tea were available downstairs at all times. The location was perfect, and safe even at night times. Most importantly, we slept really well and it was not noisy considering we were in Brighton. We had two small kids with us and they were both happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Really lovely place to stay, clean friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, but Brighton is tough to park anywhere

    The sweets and tea and coffee facilities were great. Nice comfy and clean room. Nice touch with the fan as it does get warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Perfect - exactly what I was looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place! Safe and comfortable but much more warm and friendly than a hotel. Comfortable, friendly staff, spotless and great little perks like sweets and refreshments! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Homely atmosphere, great rooms, staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming hostess, tea and cake on arrival, unique, quirky rooms, very comfy bed and excellent breakfast. Couldn’t have asked for more from out stay there and will definitely stay here again when in Brighton next. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Lots of nice little touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are definitely ‘boutique’ in their size, but being so well equipped makes up for it.

    Lots of nice little touches. Nice items for use in the bathroom and a lovely little amenity basket of nibbles. Well stocked bar in the dining area, really friendly staff and our room was lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic boutique guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really cannot find anything negative to say about The Oriental, I loved it.

    Lola and the staff were very friendly and professional. The room was very clean and everything had been thought of in the rooms including nice little touches like an aromatherapy lamp, complimentary toiletries and snacks. The breakfast room/bar is a lovely space with some great art work on display. I would certainly recommend The Oriental to friends and if I return to Brighton will definitely return to The Oriental. Must say Luna the Boston terrier is absolutely gorgeous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    We've stayed here a few times now (once with pets) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like. We loved it.

    We've stayed here a few times now (once with pets) and will definitely stay more. This hotel is wonderful. The rooms are fantastic, all the staff are really friendly and helpful and breakfast is superb. Lola (the owner) and Luna (her very cool Boston Terrier) are absolute stars who make you feel welcome and at ease as soon as you meet them. You will adore Luna. She's so cute, and Lola is absolutely amazing. It's the happiest hotel we've ever stayed in. My Mum would have taken Lola and Luna home with her if she could. I'm not joking! The complimentary retro treats including Space Raiders, Fizzers, Freddo, Lovehearts, Fudge, Chomp and Milky Bar amongst others were a quirky touch which we enjoyed whilst we drank hot chocolate and watched a film in our room. We couldn't have stayed in a nicer place. If anyone at The Oriental reads this, "Thanks so much to all there."

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    A cosy place run by lovely people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very cosy, quite unique and attractive in it's design. The room was extra comfy and had everything a traveller may need. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. And if you enjoy walks by the sea at any time of the day and night-this must be your place of choice, as it is literally 5 min walk away!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    The staff were good and the hotel was clean. Breakfast was very good and well cooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loft room where we stayed was very small and the climb up the six flights of stairs is deffinately not suitable for anyone slightly unfit or getting on in age and the stairs narrow toward the top.

    The staff were very friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Unique, boutique and totally lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I was very satisfied with everything.

    For a hotel in that price range, the experience was sensational. Nice l'occitane products, an aromatherapy lamp and lots of other thoughtful touches. The room was quiet, clean, stylish and comfortable and the duvet was the best I have EVER USED. The breakfast was lovely with nice fruits. The owner was warm, hospitable and her little dog was charming (and I don't even normally like dogs) - not yappy or horrible! This hotel is a real little gem and blows all the competition out of the water. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Blissfully comfortable, great atmosphere, conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's a little bit of noise from the street, but that's to be expected staying in the centre of Brighton.

    The host Lola really makes the Oriental a wonderful experience. Friendly, helpful, efficient and attentive. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom surprisingly spacious for a Brighton B&B. The breakfast was delicious and Lola had gotten gluten free veggie sausages in just for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my birthday and we traveled to Brighton for the celebration. The hotel decorated my room with a “Happy Birthday” banner and balloons!! It was so thoughtful. Kirby was very personable and friendly. I would recommend 100%!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast and very friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairwell/carpet looking a bit tired. Room fairly cramped especially as sink was outside the ensuite and in the opposite corner of the room!

    Good breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place and people
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not think of it :)

    We had a very warm welcome on arrival from Lola. She and her staff (Harry and another girl) are very friendly and helpful. Luna is also a friendly dog :) Thanks everyone for a very nice time in Brighton. The breakfast/ tea/ coffee were wonderful, freshly made as you wanted. We got the twin room which was very cozy and clean. With three windows, it makes the room bright and bigger than it is. You can see the small garden too (must be lovely in summer). Most importantly, it perfectly fitted to us as we (colleagues) stayed together but we also had our own space at the same time. The place is nearby Preston street which provides lots of different kinds of restaurants and also close to the beach and British airway i360.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this place really. The only small criticism was the carpet in our room looked a little tired and worn - but nothing major. The beds were extra comfy though so that compensated for it! ! 😊

    Cosy and quirky boutique hotel. Lovely staff. Nice twin room with layout that suited twin beds beautifully. Basket of snacks , alongside normal tea and coffee was nice touch. Near sea and town but in quiet side street. Breakfast was great ( yoghurt and an abundance of fresh fruit followed by quality full english with deep yellow eggs and tasty sausages - a rare find these days !!) and served in lovely cosy and colourful, bohemian style chic, front room - with walls full of works from local artists. All in all great value for money and will definitely return 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator ... Hard when you travel with a big suitcase . I Got help from the girl at the reception though .

    It felt like spending a holiday in your grandma house. 😜😄 Very friendly stuff. Good location, calm except when someone smoke and set the alarm.😳

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly, clean etc. Would certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that disturbed me was noise in the hall late at night. I don't know if that was the proprietor or other guests but there seemed to be along discussion going on in the hall in the middle of the night. As a traveller alone I felt uncomfortable about that. I think a night porter/someone on the premises all night could resolve this.

    The room was very comfortable and much better than other single rooms I have stayed in. There was a very nice selection of coffee and tea and I had an iron, ironing board and hair dryer all supplied. Also a lovely selection of shower gels, shampoos etc. Moreover, I was told that I could help myself free to the soft drinks in the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    I have visited Brighton to attend a conference, which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have visited Brighton to attend a conference, which started early in the mornings. Staff were very friendly and helpful at The Oriental. They have arranged for the breakfast to be served a wee bit earlier, which I was very grateful for as it allowed me to arrive at the conference, well fed and on time. Even though, my room was a bit small, it had a comfy bed, both the room and the bathroom was clean and had everything I needed. Without a doubt I would recommend it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    they went out of their way to even get me Alpro light for...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they went out of their way to even get me Alpro light for breakfast the room was wonderful and clean, the extras were such a nice touch, we event had fresh homemade cakes on arrival with tea and coffee all included and was invited to help ourselves with the bar throughout our stay. thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Wonderfully relaxing so close to sea and shops!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all....

    Really good ingredients superb scrambled egg and great coffee! Staff are really lovely and friendly and makes for a really relaxing stay. Cocktails are also super amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and a nice house Stairs precarious and room small and really hot. Overall fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked knowing it was in the 4th floor. The stairs on the top 2 were narrow and winding Difficult with luggage and one of the hand rails was quite wobbly Breakfast on Monday morning was only available from 8am which was too late for us leaving It’s also quite late compared to other places we’ve stayed in Brighton We paid for B&B but couldn’t have it

    Lovely friendly and helpful staff Decor nice Great little touches with sweets and crisps, oil light

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Superb and friendly staff; fantastic, clean, comfy rooms and a great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was a little weird was the sink outside the bathroom and near the bed instead but it wasn't even that bad. It just felt weird.

    This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff were super friendly, the bed extremely comfy and the breakfast was excellent. I felt very welcome here and only wish that my stay was longer!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Quirky B&B in Brighton offering comfort and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quirky B&B in Brighton, seconds away from the seafront. The room we had was very nice and we loved the quirkiness of it. The host was amazing and offered us a tea/coffee or soft drinks as soon as we arrived. The reception area was lovely, lots of twinkly lights and paintings on the wall. Breakfast was cooked fresh and was delicious. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location, warm welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at the weekends isn't available until 9am and weekdays it's 8am. The timing is tricky for business folk who need to be up and away earlier than that and yet want to stay in a more relaxing place rather than a formal business hotel. Wi-Fi is ok downstairs but was really patchy in my room, so again not great if you are on business.

    I loved the warm and friendly welcome I received on arrival. Funky decor and lots of local art really make the place feel homely, quirky and fun. Lots of lovely room treats and the room was well equipped and furnished. Great location and really easy to find as it's located just off the Promenade and so really close to the beach. The guest house is dog friendly and there were several guests with several dogs. I was staying at the weekend for a business training course and needed to be away in the morning by 8.30am. They kindly provided a packed breakfast for me which consisted of lots of fruit, orange juice, yoghurts and sweet things, but not the same as enjoying the wonderful cooked breakfast I'd read about in the reviews and was looking forward to. Luckily my day 2 start was 10am, it was still a bit of a squeeze time-wise as everything is cooked to order and it was busy in the breakfast room at 9am when breakfast starts... it was delicious though. Ideally make sure you have plenty of time to enjoy this great boutique B&B. Fantastic if you are on holiday but if you are on business may not quite be the service and connection speed you are used to in a business hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff and nice little extras like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little uncomfy as the mattress didn't fit the bed underneath, bit of an over hang!

    Very friendly and helpful staff and nice little extras like free hot drinks and sweeties in the room. Good location and overall a great place to stay in Brighton.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing stay at the superb Oriental Guest House in fantastic location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all good! Only possible criticism was price but many events on in town so probably not typical.

    Superb bed, characterfully decorated and furnished, excellent coffee machine in room, great bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, good location, very friendly staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the balcony had a very small table and 2 chairs on but was so small you couldn't actually sit out there.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was extremely comfortable with chocs/sweets basket which was complimentary and bottled water. Jet Bath was fab. Parking facilities are 5 min walk away. Nothing was too much trouble for Lola and her staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    It played a good part in our visit to Brighton; we shall stay there again and tell friends about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing due to the circumstances.

    We found everything fine and have no complaints. Dare I say it, but we liked the funkiness of it (hope I haven't hurt anybody's feelings!) plus the fact that it was situated close to the things that we wanted to see and that the parking wasn't too far away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the 4th floor!!

    What a fantastic find the Oriental truly was! Delightful people (and dog), quirky decor, lovely rooms with very comfy beds, and lots of lovely little homely extras!! Excellent breakfast. Great location right by the seafront, and within easy walking distance of the centre of town. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great for a couples getaway for the weekend, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was that the bed was a little hard for my liking - but that is just just my own preference as I am used an orthopaedic mattress.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was beautifully decorated and clean ( I loved the original sash windows in the room), there was a great choice of breakfast options! The Guest House also isn't too far from Brighton and the Lanes (20 min walk). We would definitely stay here again when we next come down.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great for a couples getaway for the weekend, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was that the bed was a little hard for my liking - but that is just just my own preference as I am used an orthopaedic mattress.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was beautifully decorated and clean ( I loved the original sash windows in the room), there was a great choice of breakfast options! The Guest House also isn't too far from Brighton and the Lanes (20 min walk). We would definitely stay here again when we next come down.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Perfect guest house for relaxing short break in Brighton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to beach, the Lanes, bars and restaurants. Friendly staff, very relaxed, homely and quirky. Great breakfast, good quality produce.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired & I think the pictures misled us - it wasn't the large glamorous suite we had expected. (And there were at least 4 flights of stairs to reach it!) The toilet was broken & we were compensated for this, the owners were very fair.

    Lovely staff & excellent customer relations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Nice location, amazing breakfast, even more amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location, amazing breakfast, even more amazing staff! It's located just 100 meters from the beach with a big playground for kids. The parking is either a limited time street parking, or a underground garage 5 min walk away (~£30 per 24h). The city center is just 10 minute walking away, we managed to do without a car our whole stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly, and helpful and made me feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ground floor room had blinds but no privacy curtain. If I wane privacy the whole room had to be dark. So these would have been nice.

    Staff was very friendly, and helpful and made me feel very welcomed. Excellent breakfast. great location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Everything I needed and a very comfy bed, all in central Brighton and at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little bit noisy when guests were returning after their night out, but good ear plugs were provided and I guess every hotel in central Brighton would be the same.

    Comfy bed and everything I needed for my stay. The complimentary treats in the room were a very nice touch! I also liked the comprehensive recommendations about restaurants, bars, and things to do in Brighton.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.5
    Lovely relaxed vibes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet just outside the bathroom whiffed a bit of getting wet once too often. The stairs (the room was on the top floor) Could live with that though. i would stay again due to the strength of the positives

    Lovely relaxed vibes. Delightful staff. great coffee and soft drinks free on demand - you just need to ask! Excellent location. Turn left and you are on the seafront, turn right and you are in the City centre and the lovely long road from Brighton to Hove with some lovely places to eat, have a coffee or get drunk. Brighton is such a lovely city. Dog friendly. Street Parking expensive and very limited. Parking expensive in the centre. Just google cheap parking and you can work out where the paid-zone ends. I parked outside the zone on a side street and had a lovely 15 walk back - spotted the Banksy of the two kissing policeman and some other amazing street art on the way back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely quirky hotel with exceptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only bad points were that we found it hard to find and has to call the hotel but they were happy to help and even came out to find us! Our room was on the 2nd floor, but more like the 3rd! Lots of stairs which is a pain but wouldn't stop be staying here again. I'd probably pay more to be closer to ground level.

    Staff were very helpful and know a lot about the area. Full English breakfast was very nice, cooked to order. Rooms are stylish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Central location.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service didn't start until 8am. I had to leave earlier than that - 8am is quite late in my experience. Felt it was a little pricey for what it was although I was travelling in August so perhaps it was to be expected. Some of the decor looked a little tired.

    Central location. Pet friendly. Courtesy call the day before to confirm booking and prompt response to emails. Complimentary sweet treats and snacks on arrival. Clean and comfortable. Parking close by which is expensive but secure. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    The Oriental is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the very best Brighton has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for us, but for Brighton, height of season and in the location it is, it was a fair price.

    Location of The Oriental is excellent. Staff were helpful. Bedrooms clean and comfortable. We didn't mind parking at Norton Road car park, as we enjoyed the bracing walks along the seafront.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, very friendly staff, room provided with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a few long female hairs in the bathroom and carpet. Top floor, too many steps. Room a bit small

    Great location, very friendly staff, room provided with different types of tea/coffee/sweets/toiletries/towels

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Caters for owners with pets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had room number 2 and it stank of dogs. I was told that this room was pet free But you could tell dogs had been in the room as the smell was awful. I had to keep the Window up at all times when I was present in the room. When I went out for the day and returned the smell was still in the room. It would have been better to have wooden Flooring rather than carpet. The sink was also cracked in the bathroom which should have been replaced.

    Thought the breakfast was good. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    My 7yr old liked the sweet basket!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - 4th Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with a little bit of tlc.

    My 7yr old liked the sweet basket!! All complimentary items in room were good quality and condiments with breakfast also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay to attend a family 50th wedding anniversary celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very sunny and consequently was very hot. It was not possible to open the windows, but if it had been possible then the seagulls would have been very noisy.

    Very good location close to the British Airways i360.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Almost Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The timing of the breakfast was very strict. During our 1st breakfast, we were late less than 5 minutes but we were not offered any consideration. I am not sure what's the breakfast in this hotel. Fortunately, I managed to have breakfast in Andorra Hotel which I enjoyed a lot since it was like an Irish Breakfast. Unfortunately, the following days we have requested for a packed breakfast which doesnt justify the quality of the normal breakfast that the hotel could offer.

    I really appreciate the assistance provided by Lola. She made me/us feel welcome to the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Awesome place awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly can't think of anything, if I was forced to answer this I would have to say I'm just sad that I had to go

    Incredibly friendly staff, even gave me advice on where to go and what music venues to checkout. Awesome location, near enough 3 minutes from the BA flying landmark

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Check your room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are near the sea but the street is not good check your room before you pay, they ask for money up front our room was tiny and had no view Went down for breakfast but there was no room as it is laid out on small tables in the reception area, we were told we would just have to wait! Needs a booking system if there is not enough room to seat all guests

    Nice tray of sweets and goodies. The owner of the hotel was excellent in addressing some our disappointments which we appreciated

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: