Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of iHOLIDAY HOTEL 3 stars

6 West Coates, Edinburgh, EH12 5JG, United Kingdom

#170 of 218 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.0
    Can't really rate this property, as we were moved to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really wish I was given a call from the host about relocation during the day, so it would not be such a tiring story. Thanks again for driving us to the flat.

    Can't really rate this property, as we were moved to another location in Leith due to the plumbing problem in our booked room. We were given a great apartment instead, but it was far away and the whole relocation story was a surprise. Luckily the hosts drove us there and even brought us back, which was very kind. Initially the original place's breakfast room looked very good, I think we would love staying there even more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Would have been nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unable to stay at the property. They had a plumbing problem and we had to relocate

    They had a plumbing problem and were unable to reach us while traveling. When we arrived, the were friendly and helpful. They made arrangements for us to stay at another property and provided transportation. Although we were only on the grounds and in the lobby, we liked what we saw and would consider staying there on our next visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    6.7
    Adequate accommodation at a reasonable price
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were constantly confused & unable to access our booking, we had to hang around for some time both when we checked in and when we wanted to leave in the morning which was inconvenient.

    Large clean room with a comfy bed, quiet at the back of the house.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.8
    Squeaking floors and noise bonuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaking floor everywhere, even in beds just turn and squeaking noises from bed frame was nuisance. Hear noises from rooms nearby, even noises from running water in toilets and bathrooms from other rooms. Very narrow walk way to get to room.

    Location just 10 min. walking to Haymarket area, shops. Have bus stop just across street and convenience to and from airport. Nice area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    4.2
    Dont book unless its a last resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms not made up Very very basic Front desk called and said we are going so leaving the room key Everything was old and needs refurbing desperately

    Location is a 15 min walk, that's the only good thing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    we are not going to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bedding, chairs in dining room, smell in the building, room furniture

    One lady at front desk was very nice and helpful on out 2nd and 3rd day. Zero information received first day re breakfast time. and no posting in the dining area. No toilet paper provided 1st night. It was a plumbing problem, sink was plugged. No bath rug or extra towel to step on the bath floor. Cheap towels and bedding. Very uncomfortable bed. Window didn't open to get a fresh air. All night constant noise of machinery in that room. Difficult to carry suitcases to the top floor. We are older couple, so they were very kind to move us to a better room downstairs for our 2nd and 3rd night and we got extra towel and toilet paper. Location is OK. Some good walking required to a restaurant or city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff tried to be so helpful but didnt seem to know what they were doing, which was a shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A deluxe room it wasn't, carpet threadbare and furniture looked like it was 3rd or even 4th hand. Tea bags in the room looked ancient, needless to say, we didn't have a drink Card payment was also a disaster, one was void and one taken however the 2 are still showing as pending payments from our account

    not a lot to like, unfortunately. The staff were nice but didn't know a lot. We booked a deluxe room and standard and when we were shown to pour rooms the member of staff didn't know which was which, although it was clear when you looked in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    good value for money, but needed new mattresses,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could not find the house as there is no sign outside; i could not sleep all night, because i had terrible mattress, bedroom was little for tree people;

    the bedroom we were in was clean, but very basic; good value for money; bus stop is just in front of the house

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Its a simple accomodation, but its well worth the money. I would book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are only cleaned before your stay, but this was also stated before the stay Breakfast is a bit simple. For example there is no egg or honey

    Good connection to Airport and City Quiet rooms Nice decor Wifi works well Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.3
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horribly uncomfortable with several wires of the mattress poking my back and neck, bathroom needs updating, old, dirty looking and uncomfortable, but the worst was one member of the staff who knocked on our door at 11pm just to say "hello", which scared us to death (we were two women). A couple of nights later someone knocked again - this time 8 min after midnight!!!! and because we didn't open the door, he did it again. This is unacceptable! Also, we stayed five nights and they didn't clean nor change our towels. I don't recommend it to anyone!

    .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff really helpful- since no early check in for a genius...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clearly mentioned in the website that other bed was SOFA bed only (4 people) no early check in as Genius member request.

    Staff really helpful- since no early check in for a genius member.he let us to use another room for few minutes to change our clothes to explore the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not good for car parking Breakfast was bad compared to that of other hotels. They do not care about the quality of the food. I cannot recommend having breakfast here.

    Staff was kind but not experienced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bright neon lights shining into our room at night beautiful on the outside not so great in your room great to be on the ground floor but noisey next to reception and constant noise all night from what seemed to be a water pump

    Friendly staff large rooms bus right outside Nice subtle Indian influence throughout this beautiful house Would stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    The size of the room was good and it was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with updating. A sofa in the room would make it more comfortable.

    The size of the room was good and it was quiet. Staff were always around and were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.3
    last minute booking of Indian themed hotel in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and some areas were tired as were the electrics and the opportunity to use the outside area not maximised as no seating outside . Booked the room for two nights stay but was shocked to find that the rooms are only cleaned and replenished every three days ! Breakfast in my experience was haphazard and had when I got there no place set no coffee, no bread and no jam . This is inexcusable for a continental only option and we didn’t book breakfast the following day. Parking is also a chore , a distance from the hotel on street and not guaranteed

    Large family room, location is a good walk to the Haymarket Staff polite and helpful where they could be

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and accommodating, if we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and accommodating, if we needed anything they were very happy to oblige. For the price we paid it was very good. A good base for a weekend break.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient hotel to get around the city/airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a pain to use, very hard to move (open and close) water would take long to drain and therefore you end up showering in a mini pool of your own soap/shampoo. Whilst the hotel is ok I think the facilities could do with a little improvement, especially the toilet. I would have also liked the option of a full hot breakfast as supposed to just continental.

    Convenient hotel to get around the city/airport. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.4
    The size of the room was good and staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. We heard noise all night, perhaps the washing maschine was located near the rooms.

    The size of the room was good and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service not provided as standard, you have to ask for it! Parking can be an issue, but you can take advantage of free roadside parking in front of hotel (9:30am - 4:00pm) and free side road parking (5:00 pm - 8:30 am). You have to move the car between the two places and for the in-between times pay £2.20 per hour in the side road.

    Very spacious and clean room. Extremely courteous and helpful staff. Good location for easy access to city centre by bus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    I don’t think I would go back again to far from city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the key not working and didn’t like sleeping with the door not locking Tha place needs to be done up The shower wasn’t very good and the curtains were a job to draw with out pulling them down so my room wasn’t that good but at the price I suppose it was alright .The Hotel wasn’t easy to find as the sign was covered with tree branch

    It was alright for one night It that’s all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful old house in walking distance to important spots
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are a lot of rumours all the time, coming from the climate system, water installation etc. as this is an elder house; so in case someone is very sensitive on this ...

    Nice Property near to Haymarket Station; it takes 15-20 minutes tu get to the centre; there is a garden around, so in case that there are hot days in Edingburgh .... nice staff, fine breakfast everything was o.k., thanks !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was friendly but couldn't speak English well, sofa bed wasn't made well. Furniture covered with dust. Pillow case smells. Even saw some cockroach in the bathroom.

    N/A

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff were polite and helpful and we loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a little tired but fully functioning and clean.

    Room was light and airy with comfortable beds and a beautiful polished floor - location was very quiet, walkable distance from city centre but also conveniently on a bus route and close to Haymarket Station. Rate was very competitive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice city house in need of renovation, decorating . Location ok, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing v noisy, bed too low, no bar nice

    Good location 15 mins walk to centre, nice big house, still needs a lot of renovation, plumbing old...very noisy, no hand towels in room. Staff friendly when asked for same. No bar, didn't eat there so no comment on that. Bed comfortable but v low.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not worth how much they charge. The bathroom tub needed to be checked for mold/cleaned for it better.

    We were able to walk to the center of Edinburgh easily. The room had a good amount of space however, some updates could be easily made. We appreciated them allowing us to have a late check in as we had a very late flight in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.9
    I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel failed on almost every aspect. Noisy, dirty, uncomfortable. Stale food and crisps on the bedroom floor, very noisy throughout the night with pipe noises, broken exposed electricals etc. etc. Room not serviced during stay, beds old with really old smelly mattresses and linen. Avoid!!!

    Not much. The address/location was as described.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Great place if you are Looking for something near the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place if you are Looking for something near the airport -only a short drive away from good restaurants . Fair enough for the price and very accomodating Staff. Good for one Night, which ee used it to coming in late from the airport and headed up the highlands early in the morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Don't waste your time or money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who met us was unprofessional and didn't have a clue what he was doing. He had no idea that we had already paid and then asked me to type in my e-mail address on his system because he wasn't good at spelling! Dirty glasses in rooms,not enough cups(it was a family room)for number of guests. Masking tape was still round wall lamps. Bath wasn't cleaned properly. We were having an early start on our 1st day so requested early breakfast,to be told that wasn't possible. I then asked if we could have a continental breakfast,rolls and coffee etc.,to be told the shop down the street wasn't open to 7am.(funnily enough the Tesco Metro was 100yrds away and opens at 6am!?) 20mins later the member of staff appeared with a tenner to compensate for us not having breakfast...we paid £378 for 2 nights b n b for a family room(3adults!) T.v. wasn't even connected, when we asked about it we were told the joiner had been doing work!? Booked this in advance for son's graduation. The Highland show was also on, so this was seriously overinflated pricewise,have stayed in city many times and had far better service and value for money.

    The only positive from the stay were clean beds and the room was a decent size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.5
    Terrible I will never book with your website again im so annoyed and this was anniversary weekend
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room where dirty, we didnt get fresh towels etc, the bath was dirty so as the shower plus shower wasnt working properly the lights where flicking off and on and the bed were fallin apart

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    book room with view to the front. you wont be disapointed...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has a early century Raj feel.. my room wasn't ready when I arrived so they upgraded me to a bigger room for one of my nights... enjoyed staying here a ten min walk to city centre, all good...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location for our trip to Edinburgh, can walk to Murrayfield and city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like bathroom, small and tired looking. TV didn’t work on most channels. Overall the place is in need of decorating and some decent repair work, poor DIY has been carried out.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff, good Wi Fi. Nice frontage and garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.8
    The Room was very Shabby for £ 80.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was very Shabby for £ 80. Uncomfortable bed and very sub standard Continental Breakfast. Horrible Towels and Naff Bathroom. Worn and torn Carpet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Hotel needs some beauty repairs performed dilligently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was broken, not only showering yourself but also the roof and the lamp above. Only a diy makeshift fix made it usable (thus, staff promised to have it fixed ASAP when told - cannot verify though as checkout was that night). The bed made horrible noises when sitting down on it or moving just an inch. Windows were not noise isolating, rooms generally needed a little loving maintenance.

    Good location very close to city center (just a couple of minutes by car/bus), with excellent connection to public Transport (airport bus leaves basically right in front of the entrance, haymarket station with trams and trains just 5 minutes by foot). Very clean rooms with nice Indian/colonial style. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    We were there only to catch an early flight. It did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was airless and I had to climb onto the dresser to open the high window. TV service was poor with multiple "signal is low" messages. No soap other than handwash! Odd.

    Location is good, easy walk into town. Staff efficient enough and friendly. Price was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent accommodation in good distance from the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the hotel can do about this but, the road is West Coates on one side and Osborne Terrace on the other which isn't made clear on the map.

    The room i stayed in was tastefully decorated with a nice view and the bathroom was a good size with a decent bath and shower. The water was exeptionally hot and had good water pressure, this was a definite plus for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel fulfilled our need of accommodation on main road to airport and quit close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room situated back from the main street was very quiet. It is an old hotel but bed was comfortable and big enough. Staff supporting. We had no breakfast because of very early departure at 6 am. Hotel situated on the main road to the airport - bus stop Airlink 100 nearly in front of the hotel. Very good connection to city centre - buses 26 and 31 going to Princes street directly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Unusual Indian theme in furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park a five minute walk away to avoid outrageous and inconvenient street parking restrictions

    Unusual Indian theme in furnishings. Very convenient for local bus routes to town. Agreeable and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful-would happily re-book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    The staff very helpful with our luggage. Advised us which bus to take to get downtown and because the buses were "no change" they were kind to provide us with change when needed. Very helpful with phone calls when our phone stopped working, As I am gluten free they provided cereal and bread so I could enjoy a good breakfast. When asked for items for the room they quickly provided them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We missed a refregreator in the apartment.

    It was a very good hotel. Friendly staff. Good service. Beds were comfortable. We loved the atmosphere and the style of this hotel. Inspired of India. Cosy apartment and hotel. We will return to this hotel when We`re going back to Edinburgh We will recommend this hotel to all our friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    I just loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like home it means a lot in itself. My stay was very comfortable and moreover I felt happy and really enjoyed the ambience. I would like to visit them again and will ask my friends also to visit Iholiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Eesy to get there from Airport with Airport Buss nr 100.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eesy to get there from Airport with Airport Buss nr 100. 100 meter from buss stop: Western Coates. Walking distans to HayMarket. Oposit Haymarket exellent resatruant La Brouchetta (closed Sunday and Monday) Walking distans to center/Prinsess street (25-30 minuits) Lots och restaurants all over the aria close to Hay Market

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really tired and run down decor! paint all over the carpet and worn out in places. nearly slipped and broke my next in the shower due to the rubber mat not being stuck down.

    good location, staff were friendly enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dusty including the bed linen. Despite, requesting room service the room was not cleaned. Overall, didn't get the best feeling staying here.

    The view from the room 'Rina' was very nice. Proximity to city centre made it the initial choice for us to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t exactly very far from the city centre but if you’re going to walk, it’s not exactly near either. There are buses nearby, though.

    The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Spacious family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the shower was very powerful and the bathroom was spotlessley clean with toiletries and big towels it could be better lit with a change of bulb. Also a bin would be good. We didn't have breakfast as it was extra and would be better included in the price.

    Incredibly spacious family room with 2 single beds for children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great for an overnight place to stay, easy access to and from city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with the heating off and window open we were too hot but for most people temp will be just fine. No views but fine if you just need a room. More light/extra lights in the bathroom would be good as very dark.

    Good value, we were able to check in early so not lugging luggage about, close to Haymarket, quiet area for Edinburgh. Bus stop less than a minute away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally didn't mind that but someone might find only vegetarian breakfast May 2018) a bit to little.

    Staff was very helpful. We asked for luggage storage and earlier breakfast and was provided with both without the need to pay any more. The Indian style interiors are very nice and the hotel intself has a soul.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    Poor and not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decoration throughout the premises.The bed linen was unironed, towels rough and worn out. No toilet roll and staff failed to provide one! We only saw one member of staff throughout our stay, who didn't inspire a warm welcome and suggested we look elsewhere if we required a cooked english style breakfast!! The property was uninviting and appeared deserted and without staff when we checked out? It's far from being a hotel, and is barely one step up from a hostel.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Friendly and helpful staff. We had the family room, huge!. Beds were comfy, it was warm and clean, shower was good. We were going to Murrayfield, 5 minute walk to stadium. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    It's a very basic hotel which is refelected in its reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly lit room. The corridor was so dark too. I couldn't see to put the keys in the door it really needs to be brighter. The doors to the outside were broken and staff had to come to open and close them.

    The room was huge. Shower was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reaching the city centre by foot was extremely easy, as you only have to walk in one direction for about 20 mins and you end up directly in Prince's Street. Also, the Airlink shuttle stops directly in front of the hotel, which makes it an excellent link for travellers. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy guests, resulted in a bad nights sleep. No one on the front desk to complain too - just a phone no. in case of emergency. Shower didn't work. Tiresome check in procedure

    The room was clean, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    A dreadful hotel experience. Stay somewhere else on the same street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the hotel is extremely poor. Upon check out they explained they have recently bought this hotel and are planning on renovating. We fed back that they should be clear about this and reflect it in the price. We paid £100 for a room - which was old and dirty, despite us believing it was one of the best in the place (top floor, large, nice views). There were two wasps trapped in the bathroom (making us wonder when they last checked the room), the blinds were broken, the shower old and broken, no phone in the room, no AC and the smell in the room was awful. My husband and I travel extensively, this was a £40 room at best. The hotel description on booking.com said there was parking, but this is not true. There is no parking on site. You need to use metered street parking if you want to park nearby. We paid an extra £16 for breakfast when booking. 'Breakfast' was a disgrace - a table with a loaf of bread and a bowl of strawberries. They do not have permission to cook on site so can't provide anything hot. We immediately asked for our money back, which they initially refused but then refunded cash when checking out. Given the location and the building his hotel has potential but unless they adjust their prices while they refurb, and ensure that the refurb is extensive, the inevitable poor reviews mean this place will struggle to get up and running.

    The only positive about this hotel is the location - but given it is in a row of other similar impressive buildings you would be far better staying elsewhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.0
    Pleasant, I am a tourist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it is cheap accommodation, nothing flash so if u want Novotel/Hilton it is not.

    Hot shower, warm heating, comfy bed, TV all the basic necessities. Priced right for cheap accommodation. Location good for access to rail and bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift, no problem for us but could be difficult for someone with walking difficulties. Although the bathroom was spacious and clean we had difficulty in regulating the temperature of the shower, which made the bathroom steam up and due to the heating being on in both the bathroom and bedroom made it very uncomfortable, The windows were the old period style sash windows which could be opened but had no facility to remain open so we had to prop them open to get air into the room. We only stayed 2 nights but we didn't have a change of towels or more coffee/tea/milk sachets (I think they forgot about us :) !) - but this was not a major problem.

    Staff were friendly and it was a very good location. The airport bus stopped at Wester Coates bus stop which was a few yards from the hotel. The no 12, 26 and 31 buses could also be caught at this stop which takes you into Princess Street. The cost of the service buses were £1.70 single or an all day for £4.00 (multiple uses). On your return it was easier to get off at the Kew Terrace bus stop as this was directly opposite the hotel. The walk into town took about 15 mins through the haymarket area where you had plenty of shops, pubs, cafes restaurants on route. If you are going to a rugby match this hotel is ideal as it is a few hundred feet away from the Roseburn pub and the entrance to Murrayfield. There is a Tesco extra opposite the Roseburn and also a few cafes. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so opted for the cafes instead. The hotel was also very accommodating when we requested a slightly later check out as we had an evening flight. The room was spacious although the mattress was a little hard for my liking, the bathroom was also spacious, clean and modern. We had a front facing room on the top floor. Overall a very nice place to stay and very convenient for the rugby or sightseeing in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable like home from home and will definitely be back! 👍😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!

    I couldn’t fault anything with the room it was perfect! The room was Lovely and warm bed was comfy and the shower was amazing with constant hot water. We ran out of tea and coffee and the staff were happy to give us as much as we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful and they made our stay in Edinburgh a delight. We have lived in Edinburgh for many years, so to come back as visitors a while later, meant that we were extremely fussy and knew very well what we were looking for and were not willing to compromise. The hotel staff not only made us feel welcome and comfortable straight away, but they also helped us with everything we needed and all our wishes were met instantly. I couldn't recommend iHoliday strongly enough. It's very close to the centre, right in front of the bus stop, the room was perfect and you're just made to feel at home immediately as you enter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    It was very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold. We had the flight on the early morning and when we woke up we had the unpleasant surprise to find out that the heater was turned off

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    IHOLIDAY HOTEL- Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly & helpful, went to concert were given nunber to ring if needed anything later, always someone available. Were also flexible with breakfast time so i could lie in!Room was really comfortale with amazing view - food from their restaurant was delivered in 15 mins & was delicious. Would highly recommend. Easy access to Edinburgh walking 20 mins/bus stop just outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The atmosphere is nice and the bed is comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warm water was not clean! White turbid all the time which is worrisome. Hope the hotel can investigate what happened

    The atmosphere is nice and the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    A great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were really welcoming and helpful, arranging a taxi for us. The room had a gorgeous view ( except for the weather!...no fault of the hotel!) The room was warm, had tea/ coffee facilities and there was loads of hot water for hubby to have a bath after a long drive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As hotel located in main road, traffic could be heard throughout the night.

    The hotel was lovely and warm and plenty of hot water. The bed was also very comfy. The distance from hotel to the tram station was superb and very easy to reach Princess Street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slept very well. Had a room at the rear and was very quiet. Excellent location for stay to visit Murrayfield and only a short walk into city centre. Only used for sleeping so no comment on breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient place to stay with everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gets a bit cold as heating is switched off overnight and there is no in-room control of the temperature. Beds were a bit tough which was not my personal preference.

    Great location to access the airport and the city centre. Staff was always extremely helpful (helped us find food late at night in the snow) and flexible when we had to book extra nights on the spot as our flight was cancelled. Everything was very clean too. Rooms are well supplied with the basics.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Just a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent staff, very willing and nice. Perfect location. Great connection to the airport. Perfect breakfast nearby and also local pub for evening relax. :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location but the hotel, which is under a new owner, needs updating and improving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices vary, but my stay was very overpriced because of the impending rugby. I just needed somewhere to stopover on my way to the airport so the rugby was an inconvenience... Breakfast could have been quicker and better because I was in a rush.

    The hotel is quite quirky - which I like. Based around an Indian theme and run by a Bangladeshi group. Good contacts with one of the best Indian restaurants in the UK which will deliver to the hotel. Good location for Murrayfield and Edinburgh Airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park. Free zone next block but you have to be lucky. If you arrive at the wrong time you'll have to park in paid zone limited to 4h...

    The location is convenient, walking distance to the castle. The room was spacious. The staff was helpful. The price is great too!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay from start to finish ..
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are lovely and all designed in a colonial Indian style ... I cannot say enough about how lovely the staff are and how well they treat you . My daughter and I are thinking of moving in on a semi permanent basis because of the proximity to her school So it is important for me to feel well looked after and this is indeed the case in this establishment.... I would highly recommend this place for anyone .. You are guaranteed a warm welcome and wonderful stay !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    This hotel had recently changed hands and it is in real need...
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel had recently changed hands and it is in real need of modernisation, hopefully the new owners will carry out the necessary upgrades. The room we stayed in was very tired looking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Location, building, rooms, bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody informed us about breakfast... we didn’t ask and nobody said...

    Location, building, rooms, bed. Bedding and towels were very clean and fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    The value for the room was pretty good as the room was...
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information about check out time and how long the continental breakfast was for would have been nice. Both mornings we were up by 9am and by the time we got to the lobby, either there was nothing left for breakfast or they had already put it up. There were some maintenance issues (clogged sink drain, light bulbs out, holes in walls from former art hanging) that could have made this place go from an "average" value place to a pretty good value place to stay. Being that the name had changed from the Booking.com listing, I am assuming they are under new management. With some paint, new carpet, and hiring a maintenance person, this place has great potential.

    The value for the room was pretty good as the room was comfortable and clean. It's a short bus to the city center or a 25 minute walk. There's a lot of potential with the property. The wifi signal was good. I also liked the decor of antique furniture from India.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Good Location, shame about the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is antique which is not a bad thing but it's all broken. Huge bits of furniture just put in rooms for a theme but doesn't follow through. Room did not feel like a thought out hotel. And everything was dirty, and damaged. No room cleaning or fresh towels during stay without request. Shame as a beautiful building in a great location but poorly done

    Great Location, short bus ride to city or can even walk. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.5
    Ridiculous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous staff. No one speaks English. Receptionist doesn’t know what is a booking. Doesn’t know what is doing. Room not cleaned, receptionist give a room to my family where the TV was on, floor dirty, and someone was living in that room. There was clothes and pertences that wasn’t from my family. Manager ridiculous, doesn’t speak English as well. No one should book this place.... never again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, comfortable place to stay for an overnight in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing... very good value for Edinburgh!

    Bed very comfortable, large well appointed bathroom, tea making facilities and water provided. Night porter let us check in after midnight. Had umbrellas at the door for guest use good idea in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent option about 30mins walk to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Maybe handwash for bathrooms.

    Very Friendly helpful staff who were flexible in terms of ordering taxis, luggage storage on departure day and providing an airbed for our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse iHOLIDAY HOTEL traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: