Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oxford Townhouse 4 stars

88/90 Abingdon Road, Oxford, OX1 4PX, United Kingdom

#6 of 83 B&Bs and Inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 849 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Modern yet very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable There is nobody at the front desk in the evening, but I was given a solution to get into the hotel on very short notice

    Modern yet very small room. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Lovely short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Last minute stay in Oxford. The Oxford townhouse was lovely. Staff pleasant & helpful. Room immaculate with really good facilities, & some extras we didn't expect like a coffee machine, complimentary snacks & soft drinks. Breakfast was really good, can recommend the eggs benedict. Parking included & about 10 minute walk straight into oxford. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The Oxford Townhouse hotel was great with modern but traditional interior. Breakfast was very good quality with made to order cooked breakfasts and a variety of cereals, fruits and other items to help yourself to. Staff were very attentive and welcoming. Hotel had convenient small car park for those who have not used public transport. Convenient location, so it was easy to walk into the shops. Would like to stay again when next visiting Oxford!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    We had a brilliant time in Oxford made even better with this exceptionall accommodation.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we could have stayed longer. Nothing to complain about, couldn't fault anything

    From previous comments, everything exceeded our expectations. We have never stayed at a place where the staff were so friendly and helpful. Unbelievable. We would not hesitate to recommend to anyone, and we shall definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tariff. The room was far too expensive for what was offered. The breakfast was lovely, as were all the staff, but it really is very overpriced. We are professionals and have the money to spend but this accommodation really isn’t value for money.

    Very good breakfast. Rooms very small. Nice bathrooms. Place has recently been refurbished, so rooms are very modern but far too expensive for the general traveller.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable but very expensive for what is really a nice B&B on the way out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large enough but not what you expect for the very high cost. Could hear residents in room above walking around and snoring! Breakfast coffee was very weak. About 15mins brisk walk from town, ok in good weather... I know Oxford has limited accommodation but you don't HAVE to charge London+ prices. If it was less than £100 a night I would have no complaints at all.

    Friendly. Comfortable room, good parking, good variety of breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    Very comfortable and pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was looking for a single room but had to pay for a double room. Makes accomodation for the solo traveller more expensive. Unfair Poor facilities for smokers

    Clean comfortable bedroom. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Convent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    A Great Find
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good rooms, showers, toiletries, helpfulness and friendliness of staff. Very useful car park. Excellent breakfast- maybe squeezed juice would be an extra bonus? Would definitely visit again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location, perfect hotel, perfect everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waterfall shower is great, but the addition of a shower cap would be nice

    The Oxford house is a very pretty townhouse located less than a 10 minutes walk from the town Centre. The staff is very helpful and welcoming, the house is beautifully refurbished and maintained. Our room was lovely size was a large comfortable double bed. The amenities in the room are to a very high standard: coffee machine, designer hairdryer, flat screen TV, kettle, complementary soft drinks and water in the mini bar. Complementary snacks. There is a pretty sitting area, the decor is gorgeous and every piece of furniture looks like it has been individually sourced. There is a gorgeous shower room with a waterfall shower, luxurious hand wash, shampoo and body wash sourced locally. There are soft and fluffy bathrobes in the wardrobe. The breakfast is of great quality and plentiful. In fact, you get a list of ingredients to design your perfect breakfast! Overall a perfect hotel, and an address to recommend. Bonus: parking on site

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved Oxford and The Oxford Townhouse was clean, well located and staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi dropped in and out a bit.

    The Townhouse was quite recently renovated so everything was clean and fresh. The receptionist was fantastically helpful and friendly, providing great tips for where and how to go around Oxford. She also recommended an excellent pub 3 minutes away (the Home) and the must do other things. The breakfast room and fare far exceeded expectations with plenty of choice as well as full hot breakfast. She recommended we take the jump on bus around which was an hour and was a great start and oriented our later walking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.5
    It was very easy to find and the staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not a problem fo us, others may find the steep stairs an issue.

    It was very easy to find and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast provided was excellent. I had the nicest omelette during my whole European holiday! The room was snug but very tasteful with clever placement of a large mirror. Although we chose to walk into Oxford, there were many buses available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Quality stay for couples at Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only cons is the small car park, but we managed to get free space there.

    The service, the location and the breakfast are very good. Rooms are very cozy and there is air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Extremely clean, in a great location, easy walking distance...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small. I was traveling on my own and had little space for my case.

    Extremely clean, in a great location, easy walking distance to the center of town. Comfortable beds and well provisioned rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is very clean, well placed for town and the staff are extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no milk in the room ( room fridge or otherwise), which we had been given to understand would be available. The shower in the room was very poor in that so little water came through the shower head, it was difficult to rinse off soap or shampoo. The volume and pressure was inadequate.

    The staff were welcoming, friendly, efficient and professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Oxford townhouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and there was no lift but once the bags were in it was not a problem

    We had a lovely stay in oxford at the townhouses , rooms were lovely , clean and well appointed and very quiet , the breakfast was superb and the staff were friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Nicely located clean property in Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a weak point in both of our rooms. Price is on the high side but maybe that is Oxford.

    The property was located within easy walking distance to the center of Oxford. The staff was helpful. The parking facilities were fine. Nice to have the tea, coffee and treats waiting in the room. Breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First in first serve for parking which limited our plans e.g. if we like to take a day trip but no guarantee of parking when return!

    Well situated to visit Oxford. Modern rooms great bathroom. Excellent breakfast and easy walking distance to the centre of Oxford. Highly reccomened

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    It was good but not really worth the £206.90 we paid for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Nespresso machine was supplied with generic capsules. Only two of the capsules could be pierced by the machine, which was frustrating. Suggest reintroducing authentic capsules. When we stayed last year, a bowl of fruit was available to guests in the reception area. This was no longer offered. Pillows were lumpy and it took some time to get comfortable.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was plentiful, varied and excellent quality. The room is beautifully refurbished, and atmospheric.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and little touches of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a small double bed which is fab for a single room and had lots of little touches you often find in luxury hotels like free cookies and a good range of teas. Check in was super fast and efficient and welcoming. Room was lovely and clean, quiet with views over rooftops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Restful and great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rear exit and entrance for disabled guests? They could then just have the downstairs room and be on one level. Other than that it was perfect.

    Everything was just lovely. Very quiet on a night, comfortable beds and everything you need. Handy bus stop very nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Trip to celebrate special birthday at nearby Michelin star restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ended at 9. A little early for our group and some pastries had run out.

    Easy walkable distance into town centre. Parking was behind property and enough spaces. The staff helpful and friendly. Plenty of variety at breakfast. The king size room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic B&B, at walking distance from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. The genuine "B&B feeling" misses a bit, feels more like a small hotel.

    Perfect B&B! Very nice room (nbr 3), with large bathroom (shower). Very clean, and with hospitality tray, large tv, fridge... It could not be better. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing -- it hit the spot

    Smart, clean lines throughout. Extremely efficient and friendly service. I would definitely return. I forgot something in the room and they readily offered to post it to me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful bathroom, but shower head kept sliding down the pole! Such a simple thing, but it has such a huge impact on comfort.

    Beautifully renovated. We had a comfortable twin room. Crisp clean linen. Easy walk to cente of town. Liked the free bottled water and the bar fridge, which makes a big difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with comfortable room and tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small and the shower was a bit strange, but fine foe one night

    Convenient location to get into the city centre. Comfy beds with blankets and air con. Really nice breakfast and good in-room facilities, including fridge, complementary drinks and toiletries. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Free onsite parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say there was anything we didn't like.

    Very helpful and polite staff, lovely room and breakfast. Excellent location with parking facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    relaxing escape from london
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need to watch you head a bit if on the top floor (it's made up of two renovated adjoined houses so is a bit quirky in terms of architecture (but very nice finish). It seems a bit far out from the center but there is a regular bus service if a 1 mile walk is too much.

    they had a vegetarian option for the cooked breakfast which was appreciated (an not just leaving out stuff). Bed was really comfy. There was air-conditioning not needed with an open window. The staff were really friendly and no question to small for them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    A great, good value find in Oxford.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd have liked a desk in my room (but there wasn't much space for that!).

    Although I booked a single room, it had a small double bed. The room was large enough, the shower was also good. The wifi also worked well. The whole place was nice and clean and seemingly newly refurbished. The staff were also very friendly. The breakfast was the star of the show however!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant. I can highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a solid ten minute walk to the centre but taxis were cheap & easy.

    This property exceeded our expectations. The room was a nice size, the bathroom was clean, the breakfast was excellent. But the most impressive things about the property were the added touches... fresh home-baked biscuits every night, free sparkling water and an incredible selection of local products with breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    This is a good 3-star small hotel (around 17 rooms) in a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is located at about 1.5 Km from downtown. It is generally a pleasant walk, except during heavy traffic times. My room was a bit too tiny, I would have greatly appreciated if it had a small desk. My bathroom was small too, with a micro basin which was a bit uncomfortable to use for everything else except hand-washing. Shower was good, though. Overall, the property is a good choice if you look some something clean but simple. However I believe that it is overpriced (I payed 135 GBP/night, which, in my opinion, is not justified by the service offered).

    This is a good 3-star small hotel (around 17 rooms) in a classical terraced residential house. Rooms are located on ground, first and second floors. Dining room is in the basement. Unsurprisingly, no lift is available. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning. The bed was comfortable, the common areas and the room were all very clean. The public footpath along the Thames is easily reachable. It was nice to do jogging there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.5
    The Oxford Townhouse rooms were comfortable with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Oxford Town does not have a lift, but it does make you aware of that fact.

    The Oxford Townhouse rooms were comfortable with good fittings and appointments. The bathroom was small but functional with a very good shower system. The dining room was light and provided a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    FRIENDLY STAFF GREAT PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything from the checkin process to the cleanliness of the room, aircon and the staff were spot on. The management have obviously put a lot of time and thought into how they present the rooms and their service delivery. A special thank you to Aggie and the restaurant staff who were so polite and always eager to please - they were the stand out of our stay. Highly recommend this abode!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation but slightly overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I think it is slightly overpriced at £160 for two with b&b for one night. I would say it would be good value at around £120-£140 for two with b&b.

    The quality of the accommodation was first class, modern and spotless. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great location, 15 mins. walk from Oxford centre and very good value for this city. The hotel is functional without being luxurious but the staff are very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent room,great breakfast ,very convenient for city centre.Well worth the price.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room ,great air conditioning for really hot weather we are having.Great bathroom and very nice breakfast with excellent service.Not cheap but absolutely worth the price.No hesitation in recommending as very good place to stay 10 minute walk from city central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, good location for getting into Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the cost of the stay. It was a little higher than expected. But the hotel was excellent

    The location was about a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Oxford. It was also on a main bus route if you wanted to get a bus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant & perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower head was leaning over, bit top heavy, but not unmanageable. We informed them on our leave.

    Everything else, location, cleanliness, bright, good decor, very helpful staff, good breakfast area, good selection of food and quality food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a high quality establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit tricky and not overly powerful, but by no means the worst i've used and we did manage to work it out ourselves. Small criticism which didn't spoil our stay.

    The bed was large and super comfy. The products in the room were good quality and replenished daily. There was a good quality hairdryer, which had a fast speed. Large fluffy towels, plenty of storage and lovely furniture. The breakfast was tasty and a good choice, well cooked and presented along with a nice choice of cold/baked offerings. Service was efficient and friendly but not intrusive, I didn't hear any other guests when in my room. Really good and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame it isn't a little nearer to the city centre but it's right on the bus route, do no real problems.

    It was perfect in every way. Fabulous bed, Gorgeous breakfast and the room was really. Lovely. Staff friendly and efficient. 10/10 all round

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    3 bus stops to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    3 bus stops to the centre. Clean and modern with an excellent breakfast. The beds and pillows were very comfortable . Parking was good. Lots of munchies in the room all free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    This place is conveniently located within walking distance...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's tough to give a bad mark for an old building that has been renovated but the property has thin walls. However, most people were very respectful and there was very little disturbance.

    This place is conveniently located within walking distance to all of the city's attractions. The cook to order breakfast was fantastic. I highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The Oxford Townhouse was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Oxford Townhouse was a great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable and a fantastic breakfast. Good parking on site as well. Couldn’t fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, we will return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we were very happy with our room, the service and the location.

    Our short notice requirements were well met and the eggs at breakfast were cooked to my desired standard. Useful local information in the room made getting about very easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfy and luxurious, reasonably priced hotel in Oxford - yes it exists
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff was a bit difficult to communicate to, but this is a very minor point

    Pleasant atmosphere, really nicely refurbished and decorated old house, amazing view from our room onto boathouses. By far best hotel I've stayed in so far in Oxford.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Don't hesitate : This hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    We were a group of motorbikers. Everything in this hotel have been appreciated by all (6 people) : Parking for motos, cleanliness of rooms, size of bed, equipements, the decoration, sympathy and professionalism of the hostess (of evening), spacious rooms... and the Breakfast absolutely delicious for whom appreciates the English breakfast. I thank the hostess for his advice concerning the Restaurant 'The Folly' that I advice myself (less than 10 minutes walk). A little bit expensive (count 40£ / person) but very very good !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    I would recommended it as an excellent B&B to pick not far from all the sights of Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no lift but at least they upgraded my friend without charge, to a 1st floor room, which she could manage. We should have checked if ground floor accommodation was available. There were a few in the building.

    It was well furnished. Extras in the room e.g bottled water - replaced if used and free - facilities to make various hot drinks. Room security. Choice of soft or firmer pillows. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Excellent choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent friendly b and b
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy bed. Breakfast was great. I always rate a breakfast by the quality of the sausages and they were really good this includes the vegetarian sausages which were home made.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to walk from the back of the property to the front of the property with my suitcase to gain access.

    Good location. Really helpful and having car park enabled me to travel to Oxford and stay within the city centre. High spec room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great place! We had a twin bed room! Very nice. Rooms are airconditioned and breakfast was good as well. Short distance into town (10 min walk) Free of charge parking behind the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Superb.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only quibble would be about bike storage. At a time when we're all trying to encourage people out of their climate damaging automobiles, it would be wonderful if the townhouse had a place to easily store and get to bikes. Thanks!

    The staff was so wonderful and accommodating. Food was outstanding. My room was superb. It was a terrific experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Perfect! One of the best B & B's we have stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some traffic noise, to be expected really due to being near to city centre. This is not any fault of the Hotel. Anyone staying this close to a city centre should expect some traffic noise. Other than that nothing to dislike.

    We were provided with an upgrade on the room so actually got better value than expected. The quality of the hotel was far better than we expected, being recently refurbished and modernised, it was immaculately kept and the breakfasts and service was excellent. The location was spot on being 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre and the hotel had plenty of parking for guests. Overall top rated, highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    All staff were very friendly and courteous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the bed not comfortable for me but that's a personal thing

    All staff were very friendly and courteous Upgrade to a king size room was perfect for our wedding anniversary Breakfast was a feast and good quality products

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel without hesitation - in fact we already have!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful, tastefully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean. All areas looked as though they had just been decorated. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast delicious. Parking on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to not like

    this place has the best customer service and breakfast in Oxford. I cant rate it enough. The service is consistently excellent and they really care about your experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, stylish, comfortable, great staff and super breakfast - recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The welcome, the free and secure parking, the excellent freshly cooked breakfast, and even though we overlooked the road the room was both quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. If we did not have legs on the bed we would have no where to put our case without falling over it.

    Clean & close proximity to city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Room was well thought out and had everything you would need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking seems to be a sore point (based on other on-line feedback). The car park was not absolutely full when I was there, and when I was checking out in the morning but said I was not leaving Oxford till after lunch, that seemed to be a problem. The suggestion that I would like to stay till 1-ish, was reluctantly accepted. When I returned to drive home (before 2 in order to meet my commitment) the car park was empty apart from my car - so why such a problem? I can understand, if others with cars are checking in, the need to remove the cars of guests from the night before. But when the bookings don't necessitate it, then why be so mean about parking? I had the basement room next to the road. The decor and facilities were lovely. The extras (e.g. crisps and snacks; cookies) were a lovely touch. However, it is on a main road, and so traffic noise can be an issue. Also, I would suggest a skirt for the curtains, as light from the street creeps in, despite blackout curtains.

    Room was well thought out and had everything you would need. Breakfast was very good and staff accommodating - the woman who was at a table next to me ordered a Full English Breakfast Omelette PLUS a poached egg PLUS a vegetarian sausage and other sides (i.e. essentially 2 breakfasts) and the staff didn't have an issue. Unusual for a B & B.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Everything is just perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is just perfect The staff are friendly and the breakfast was very delicious Just about 20 min to the city centre by walk if this hotel located in the city centre I would rate 11 out of 10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Excellent and would stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in Room 3 could not be achieved in Room 15 !

    Exceptional standards throughout .. with a detail for the little extras and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely delightful and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small draught coming through the window. Considering how cold it was outside (March - Beast from the East!), it made quite a difference during the night.

    Free upgrade! Lovely clean room! Heated bathroom floor! Complimentary snacks and soft drinks. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    They upgraded my room with no extra charge just because the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t give it a 10 only because it’s about a 10-15 minute walk to the city center. Although, it is a very pleasant walk if the sun is shining! There are buses if you don’t want to walk.

    They upgraded my room with no extra charge just because the room was available. It was wonderful! All amenities in the room were complimentary. Towel warmer is amazing. The robes are nice and soft and cozy! Huge, modern shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Great accommodation, would recommend as one the best places...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a place to stay if you require leisure facilities and evening meal in hotel, but short walk to the city centre with plenty of pubs & restaurants.

    Great accommodation, would recommend as one the best places I've stayed in Oxford and having worked there for 3 years, I've stayed in a few!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful stay in a clean and comfortable room only a few minutes walk from the centre of Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from an initial introduction and meeting the people serving breakfast each day there was very little human presence. We could phone of course and someone would be there to answer our call, but it would have been nice to have had a front desk manned so that we could chat, ask general questions etc.

    The room was very nicely decorated. Super en-suite shower. Clean and really well presented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    A welcoming place, superbly located with a fab breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much!

    We had a lovely stay here. The staff were excellent; so welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast was very tasty too! A great location to walk into Oxford and avoid the traffic. We'd definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Comfortable and friendly. Enjoyed the lounge reading area. Rooms were good. Stairs were unavoidable but rooftop view was lovely. Complementary sparkling water etc was so thoughtful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great location with parking only 15 mins walk to Oxford town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing a perfect weekend away.

    Great location with parking only 15 mins walk to Oxford town centre, with great breakfast and comfy rooms , with a excellent receptionist she gave us all the information we needed including a taxi outside the door within minutes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing - great selection of food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was amazing - great selection of food available The bedroom had everything needed and was warm and comfortable - complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies also provided! Bathroom was very clean For the money that we paid this was a great place to stay - highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    No hesitation to go back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing missing was an evening meal.

    As someone with a flaky back I found the bed to be really supportive. My room was only one floor up so no great trek. Breakfast available over a sensible range of time 7 - 9 am. Room and bathroom immaculate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    heated floor in bathroom;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find the person at the office to check out (even thought it was 8:00 am). it is not very welcoming to have an office door closed all the time.

    heated floor in bathroom; heated towels. The fact that you could open the window.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We would stay here again
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were revisiting Oxford where we used to live and the Oxford Townhouse facilitated us having breakfast with two old friends. The service was friendly, excellent and efficient and the quality of the room and hotel was of a high order. It is a short walk into Oxford city centre and we enjoyed walking down memory lane.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    What a wonderful stay. We would not hesitate to book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The room was lovely and clean. Bed very comfortable. On suite immaculate.Coffee machine, biscuits, crisps, popcorn to name just a few of the luxurious extras. Absolutely gorgeous, could not fault a thing. The breakfast was also amazing too. I can highly recommend the eggs benedict. The staff were all so pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    An excellent gem of a hotel that was spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I didn't use it I think the carpark is small and limited.

    This is a lovely little hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable and there was a mini bar with free water and soft drinks. There were usb plugs too which was really useful. The choice at breakfast was good, I chose porridge which was served in its own little pot with syrup and fruit purée. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay with delicious breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhere to do laundry at the accommodation would be nice

    The breakfast was amazing and everything about the stay was wonderful. The bed was very comfy and the staff were lovely and always helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Would come again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to be able to leave my car for the day and not just until 14:00.

    Lovely breakfast options and the team made me breakfast to take away. Great hotel, newly refurbished, comfortable and smart.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    There were several little extras in our room for which there...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were several little extras in our room for which there was no charge. Bottled water, snacks and coffee and tea making facilities, which was a very welcome touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: