Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Park Hotel

Grande Parade, Tynemouth, NE30 4JQ, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 hotels in Tynemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 680 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was great, well set out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly above an outside speaker playing music in the bar and it took us 5 or 6 attempts over 2 nights to get the outside speaker turned off so we could hear ourselves speak and the tv. Need to be a lot more considerate re the hose guests.

    Breakfast was great, well set out

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn’t open in hotel room so was very hot. No toiletries in bathroom.

    Lovely rooms, bathroom very modern. Bar in hotel was good value but rest of the hotel needs abit of a refresh. Breakfast was included An was nice but not enough drinks had to wait half an hour for orange juice! All in all a enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    A really relaxing and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were extremely friendly. Room was lovely,be dreamily comfy and breakfast delicious.Lovely hotel overlooking the sea.Also good outside area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are regulars at this hotel we were met by a pleasant young lady at reception and was told all rooms had been refurbished... we booked the admiral suite for 199. We got into our room to our disapointment the room was still in the same condition before the revamp as weve stayed in this room just before refurb.. the curtains were hanging off the rails, one window didnt have anything up this time around letting in way too much street light.. there was no heating on in the room and the jaccuzi bath was broken.. luckily we had the shower.. on a whole though the staff are very polite and friendly otherwise we wouldnt keep coming back.. its just a shame to pay so much money for the best room in the hotel to be still shabby.

    The new salt cove is fantastic, new heaters nd seating areas. Even do a cocktail masterclass now. The staff are very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    One of our favourite get aways
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room like a suite very stylish with smart tv and own fire, beds comfortable, bath and shower combo very luxurious room for a very good price. The new transformation of the bar and resturant looks like a palace now really wish we had more time to enjoy it. Breakfast was a winner with excellent customer service throughout our stay look forward to visiting again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Loved it! Beautiful sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is going through refurbishment so some parts are unfinished but all the places that matter, your rooms and the restaurant, are really lovely.

    Beautiful room, very modern interior. Very clean bathroom and comfortable bed. Breakfast was amazing and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Only problems I found was I had to re tune the television to...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problems I found was I had to re tune the television to be able to watch the news. The bed had a ridge down the center. Apart from that everything was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was obviously quite grand a few years ago but has seen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Currently the public areas of the hotel do not live up to the rooms. However, as I said it looks as though refurbishment is currently being carried out. If the public areas are completed to the same standard as the rooms this will be a really nice hotel. Buffet breakfast was adequate but appeared to have been on the server for a while when we arrived. The breakfast room was quite large (and rather dark where we were seated) and had the appearance of a bingo hall. If this is updated in the refurbishment then I'm sure it will be improved.

    Hotel was obviously quite grand a few years ago but has seen better days. However, it is clear that the current management (I assume that they are new) are trying to bring the hotel back to its illustrious past. The rooms have obviously been recently refurbished and are very nice, contemporary and comfortable. We had a sea view which was nice. Great en-suite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    On balance we thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed 3 nights. The first day the room was not cleaned., The manager offered to get it done in the evening, but my husband was not feeling well so I didn't want him disturbed. The second day returning in the evening the room was again not cleaned. The manager did a little this time, but this aspect of our stay was very unsatisfactory. On leaving the receptionist took our card without any pleasantries, which, while not necessary, leave you feeling happy rather than ignored.

    The location is excellent. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a good sea view. Breakfast was all we could wish, and food in the restaurant for one meal was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks at the bar a little expensive Could hear the metro train in the early hours

    Comfy room great view Very good breakfast Staff friendly and helpful Very close to nice beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    tired but improving, with luck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    There is obviously a fair bit of renovation going on at the hotel, which is fine, some parts looked good, others not so. Our room was functional, comfortable enough, and tea / coffee. It did really need a good clean though, as did a fair amount of the rest of the hotel. There was a bar of soap 'welded' to the side of the bath, must have been there a while, little things let the place down really, boxes stacked in public areas, just a general feeling of being unkempt, and mid restoration, hopefully will get finished soon, will be grat when done, fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Loved our room , the new restaurant /bar is amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our room , the new restaurant /bar is amazing .The staff are very friendly and always happy to help , lovely hotel and fab views , we will be back soon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic will return with the kids next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great 2 night stay for the Great North Run. Great breakfast both mornings and the hotel is situated near to both Tynemouth and Whitley Bay with great beaches on the door step.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    The room had no heating and the red light on the smoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no heating and the red light on the smoke detector, which was located directly over the bed, flashed a red light all night making it almost impossible to sleep. There is no telephone in the room to call reception. The standard of workmanship on the refurbishment is poor and will not withstand the rigours of a busy hotel. Basically it is a pub with rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Great value, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It may be that the room is a work in progress, however it would benefit from the following: A towel rail The bathroom fan being connected to the bank of switches at room entrance Proper hotel coathangers Removing the old gilt and pink velvet chair (it's out of place in such a superbly appointed modern room)

    The Park Hotel is situated just across from the beach and a large park. Our room had a sea view (I think that this would apply to most rooms). The hotel is being refurbished to a high standard with modern decor, furnishings and fittings. The bathroom is very modern and the power shower is simple to operate and super powerful. Having an attached bar and restaurant is a good bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    The renovations are great the rooms are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was still some renovation going on but it did not disturb us in anyway. It will be amazing when completed

    The renovations are great the rooms are lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Probably wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we didn’t get breakfast included when we did so we missed out on breakfast on our first night. Hotel refurb not up to a great standard but it’s still on going so hopefully will improve. Staff seem unorganised.

    Nice view on the sea front , good restaurant/bar in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Great north run stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired in main areas and rooms seem to have been done up on the cheap, finish on bathrooms was poor and already had slight mouldy seals around bath, decorating was again not finished to the standard expected of the price. Breakfast was nice and lots of choice but ‘chef’ looked like he’d been dragged thru hedge backwards!! Fairly sure I booked room 12 months ago at £110 (can’t find email to confirm☹️) but was charged £200, probably due to it being the GNR, however, is not up to the standards of a £200 a night hotel even with the sea views!

    Lovely location with fabulous views across the sea. Early breakfast was perfectly timed for us having to leave early. Some staff very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in a lovely, clean & modern spacious room with a fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that I was unhappy with.

    Room was spacious,spotlessly clean, very comfortable & modern as it had been refurbished. Shower was excellent. Bed was large and comfortable. The breakfasts were extensive and the food was of high quality. Hotel is undergoing refurbishment but this did not bother us in any way, no noise or disturbances.Staff were very friendly and I would definitely recommend this hotel based upon our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    The location on the seafront is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is still a lot of building work in progress. The hotel has a feel of being in transition. Signage is poor within the hotel. The bar is finished, but asking for a pint of bitter was a problem as the "correct nozzle for the pump" wasn't there. Latte coffee was not possible for some reason and the only cola was limited to one type. The breakfast buffet was not a buffet! Nice breakfast but would have been better served in the bar or the restaurant. Overall my opinion is that this will be a good hotel when finished.

    The location on the seafront is excellent. The parking plentiful. Friendly staff throughout. The refurbished room was very comfortable with a stunning view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Cheap but it needed to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    public areas were unappealing. There was a lot of noise from other guests. There was no phone in the room (so we could not contact reception about the noise). The view out of the rear of the hotel was a rubbish dump.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    An excellent find, and it will surely be a success when finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The final touches on the hotel are needed, the final touch ups on the paint etc. I would have thought that breakfast would be served in the bar area as it is beautiful and newly refurbished. They even serve food there in the day until 9 at night. However, it was served in an older part of the hotel which was very outdated. In addition, don’t let the reception put you off. Obviously it has been one of the last parts to be changed, I would have thought it would have been the first as it is your first impression.

    It is currently been renovated, the room which we stayed in was one of the new ones and it was beautiful! The bed was comfy and I loved the electric fire in the bedroom. I think the new rooms are excellent however they are missing some things e.g. a bed side table. Also I believe that because the rooms are still being finished there are some little finishes that are needed on the decorating. Just to make it perfect. The bar is excellent, the service was amazing. There is a wide range of alcohol and the view outside is to die for! One thing which I think they should add in the bar area outside is a heater and some blankets as this would attract more people to stay later.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was ok room was outstanding clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk from our room228 to reception and breakfast dissapointed the main bar wasnt openvery nice would reccomend to family and freinds

    Breakfast was ok room was outstanding clean and comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although renovation works are ongoing the doors and public areas are not clean. Raw sausages served at breakfast wasn’t good either and £130 for one night !!!

    Fantastic building and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously dated around the hotel. Smelled of chemicals and stale around the place. Breakfast was all kinds of disgusting, and dining room was awful. Cheap sausages, dried out scrambled eggs, I even found a black hair in it (I have a shaved head). Staff seemed to have no idea how to do their jobs... Just bad.

    The bed, view from window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was being refurbished so was noisy and dusty. They were Confused about the booking and we had to insist on our sea view and the breakfast buffet was poor. When we returned late we were left outside for 20 minutes trying to get them to answer the door. Hopeless

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    Ideas above its station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it. It's was a building site. No restaurant, breakfast was basic and cold. No staff about to ask. I paid for the room on arrival but still had to explain to the receptionist 4 times that i had already done so when checking out. The bedroom was ok but there was loads shoddy workmanship in the room and bathroom. The photographs on this site is very DECEIVING. NOT WORTH £130 for one night. I wont be coming back here again.

    The veiw and leaving

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Lack of facilities made the stay poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking we made showed the bar and restaurant was to be opened in May 2018 but it was not and though the current information on your website has been changed to August they are still not open on 18th August and are a way off being so I think. Hair drier didn't work in our room. The lack of facilities did not mean we had a price reduction. For £110 b&b for one night I would expect a finished hotel not a part building site.

    The room we were in had been refurbished and was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    Room was recently redecorated and was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building was undergoing refurbishment which we weren't advised about. Bar was closed. Breakfast was dreadful. Buffet style breakfast, most of which was finished and not replenished. It was cold and we had to scrabble around to find our own cutlery

    Room was recently redecorated and was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    In Short indian owners....who are Basically completely Clueless beyond belief !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attempt at "Continental Breakfast " was wholly pathetic !!....Cooked??...Breakfast was ..Deep Fried ,in obviously well used oil...it was Crap !!

    En Suite bathroom was great....Shower & Bath excellent....No toilet roll holder except one on wall..no towel storage....hotel was a building site !!...Unapologetic { Take it or leave it attitude }

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    They catered to my wife’s chemical sensitivities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    They catered to my wife’s chemical sensitivities. The room was great. The main issue we had was that the Park Hotel is undergoing major renovations. A lot of little adjustments needed to be done to our room but none serious. For example it would have been nice to ha e towel rails in the bathroom. The smell of fresh paint in the halls and other materials was there. I think the hotel probably has several more months of work. They had promised my wife a gluten free breakfast. With my wife having celiac we did not find their offering to be suitable and opted to eat out instead. Would we stay there again. Believe it or not we would. The quality of our room (bedding, comfort of the bed, no scented smells) was excellent and once renovations are done, it will be a beautiful place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Don't book if you need a hotel rather than a bed for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was undergoing renovation .The renovation was not mentioned when we booked .There did not seem to be much work going on to make the common areas complete and the hotel was an uncomfortable mix of the new and good ie the room and other parts of the hotel which seemed to be waiting for refurbishment.

    The room was new and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Part of the hotel which has under gone renovation looks ok -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially it looked like a building site however some rooms have been refurbished and are nice

    Part of the hotel which has under gone renovation looks ok - only one small section - the rest is dated and indeed a building site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location - directly opposite beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was undergoing major renovation work when I was there. Will be fantastic property when finished but I found it overpriced when I was there considering all the work going on

    Great location - directly opposite beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Great location - poor environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner/managers attitude. Very rude and on several occasion was witnessed been disrespectful to the staff working there.

    Location great. In desperate need of renovation which funnily enough is happening. Trouble is they don’t tell you this before you book.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    We had a lovely stay however I feel the overall image of the hotel on Booking.com was misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of cigarette butts outside the hotel, with a fair bit of other litter and a lot of weeds. The hotel is being refurbished which is causing a lot of upheaval and mess. A little time spent on the outside of the hotel would go along way to customers being less disappointed on arrival. Maybe a sign apologising for the upheaval would be good too. Breakfast is nice but limited choice (no fruit/yogurts etc, only fry up and toast).

    Bedrooms look to have been recently refurbished and look great however nice little touches, like USB sockets in bedside lights didn't work, (could not get plug in!) Location good for beach and views great. Staff friendly. Excellent showing in our room however others side they had no hot water. Beds comfy and our room was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    The bar was available with friendly staff up to 1 am and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is undergoing renovations and will be much better when complete. The temporary bar area is featureless, there was dust on shelves in our room and some fittings weren't yet complete

    The bar was available with friendly staff up to 1 am and our room had a great view of the sea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location, still work to be done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We knew that building work was going on. Our room had not been properly checked and there were a number of snagging issues. Windows not clean. Mens toilets dirty. Hope they finish building work soon as the hotel has great potential.

    Location cannot be beaten. It is an iconic building right by beaches and other leisure activities and close to attractions and restaurants in Tynemouth. My daughters room had been refurbished and well finished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    It has potential when the work will be finished. But will look for other accommodation next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have been told construction work was being carried out on it whilst we were there. Breakfast was extremely basic.

    Good location to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    Sea view and a decent shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place looked like a derilict from the outside ,the whole outside area was covered in rubbish with weeds coming through the cracked concrete on the car park . It didn't get any better once inside it stank musty in all the common areas and we didn't see any cleaning happening during our two day stay. In fact there was sand and a drinking straw on the stairs which remained the whole time we were there. The room had been refurbished to a reasonable standard but even then the light was out over the sink making shaving guesswork and the short screen had been sealed in position meaning you had to climb into the bath just to put the plug in, there was no daily room clean not even bed making. Breakfast was the cheapest bacon , sausage and pale tasteless eggs only the beans were ok. Definitely not worth the £100 a night were charged.

    Sea view and a decent shower. Nothing else to recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    It will be great when it is finished!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The promised refurbishment wasn't finished. The bits that were refurbed hadn't had a 'snagging' inspection, as there was drops of paint on the floor tiles of our bathroom and the view from our window included a litter strewn patch of grass. Where it looked like the builders hadn't tidied up. There was also a smell of damp around the building.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location for a short break and good value B & B accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously the hotel still needs updating in parts but they seemed to have made good progress so far in what is a very large and attractive building in a fantastic location overlooking the sea.

    We knew the hotel was being refurbished when we booked but we were given a newly refurbished room which was very nicely decorated with comfortable beds and great en suite facilities. The cooked breakfast was very good and overall it was an overnight stay that was good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Room lovely but the rest of the hotel needed some tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t come and speak to us at breakfast at all, so no tea/coffee Some items from room missing

    Amazing view from bedroom Quiet Good location next to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    The sea view room though the windiws were very grubby and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is being renovated and is far from finished. This hotel needs so.much doing to achieve even a reasonable standard it would take more than 6 months.. In my view the room charge was excessive when the hotel has no supporting services. The only area that looked nice was the room. The standard of finnish even in the renovated rooms is only moderate. The restaurant was not offered for food. Breakfast was basic. Coffee and tea were poor delivered by pump flasks. Cooked breakfast was not good quality self service. This was overall disappointing having paid for a premium room I was hoping for a pleasanter hotel environment. It was at best budget quality

    The sea view room though the windiws were very grubby and needex cleaning. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    I wont be going back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a 5 star hotel but not even 2 star in my books. The breakfast room was like a classroom from the 70s. The breakfast itself was limited, no variety for the hot breakfast and the cold was just a few cereal's on offer with bread available to toast- nothing more. I paid £200.00 for a suite fro 1 night. The room had a BO smell on the furnishings and the curtains were falling off the rails. The bathroom was large but not entirely clean.

    The gentleman who booked us in tried his best- very friendly but did everything from reception to serving breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Overnight by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still being refurbished- very rundown looking from exterior

    Refurbished room with excellent facilities - good location and ample free parking in busy area of the coast. Beach across the road

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    convenient and friendly but unfinished
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant breakfast was sketchy and undermanned

    The hotel is under refurbishment and is only partially finished but the staff were very friendly and helpful but at the moment it is work in progress.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    This was much better than I had come to fear from some very unfair Trip Advisor reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel could be outstanding when all the renovation is complete. At the moment the exterior looks like it is straight out of Royston Vasey. There is a lack of attention to detail eg nowhere to hang towels in the otherwise good bathroom. The breakfast could be better organised and with a broader selection.

    The room was clean. Location excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is being refurbished and it feels as if you are staying on a building site. The dining room for breakfast is makeshift. We had paid £130 a night for our twin room, which was at least £80 per night overpriced. After speaking with the manager, we were given £30 off the first night. We cancelled the two subsequent nights, for which we received a full refund. The staff on reception were excellent.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Room extremely comfortable, staff very pleasant and welcoming
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks like a building site and very offputting on arrival

    Beds were very comfortable, plenty of hot water. Lovely sea view. Huge cooked breakfast - very tasty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Specifically the room, beaches and surf bar made the stay great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel is getting refurbished and there is building work everywhere. This wasn’t shared with us prior to staying. At first we thought the hotel was shut down.

    You could tell the room had just been refurbished and it was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Beware working progress
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit surprised to turn up at a building site, work being carried out and smell in corridors

    Room was lovely, very new with good facilities and excellent bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely room if you don’t mind the chaos of the modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is undergoing a lot of work so some parts of the hotel resemble a bomb site , the breakfast was “adequate “ , I’m vegetarian so struggled a little bit , and the dining room is very dated ,I’m sure it’ll be really nice when it’s all refurbed .

    Room was really nice and clean and obviously newly refurbished

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Lacking atmosphere on outermost edges of village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to climb onto window ledge to open/close windows! Hotel generally a building site. No bar restaurant available. Room looked onto a derelict/dilapidated flat roof.

    Clean new bed linen & towels, good facilities in the room (except no phone)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.2
    Very Disappointed . The Photos of the Hotel are NOT as the hotel is and need changing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside of building needs repair / modernising. The Reception area / staff were very good . 1st impressions not as website . The Dining Room for size of the hotel was very basic . Food not good.

    The Room was excellent . Comfy . Bathroom and shower fantastic .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location, warm and helpful welcome, tired hotel on the ground floor, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High window which I could only reach by standing on the bed and stepping on to the windowsill. Even then v. Difficult to shut. Toilet seat loose. Bathroom door did not close. Tv at an angle that made the screen difficult to see. Lot of refurbishment going on which I would have liked to known about before booking/arriving.

    Good location, friendly and warm welcome at reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Having the window open all night listening to sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fortunately the rooms are getting done out. We had a bath that didn't hold the water.. But got changed to a spectacular sea view and room was good. But yeah. Once it's finished be really good. Would like that room again. Cause we just loved the sound of the waves.

    Having the window open all night listening to sea. Would like that room again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Good stop over for one or two nights can't wait to revisit when it has been fully refurbed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better quality, no real issue just seemed a bit basic low cost. Everything else was nice.

    The room was very comfy and cosy. Recently refurbed with ongoing works throughout hotel but looks nice what they are doing and would be great to revisit when all finished. Room was very big and bathroom and shower very nice. Good facilities. Right by the seafront too...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    In a shabby state, ask for a room refurbished room away from tram line
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location next to tram line. Hotel undergoing refurbishment that was due in to be completed prior to stay (dining area) but reception & stairwell was also tatty. Outside of hotel made me think it was closed.

    The newly refurbished room was to a modern standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of renovation work which is a temporary situation, at first we thought it was closed when we arrived. It was a sat/sun & no noise despite the works

    Staff were very friendly. Cooked breakfast was lovely & hot. Room recently refurbished. Lovely location short stroll into the town & a few minute drive to Whitley Bay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of building work going on when we stayed. Which wasn't mentioned when I booked

    The room was very modern comfortable and a great view of the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    This hotel is being refurbished and whilst room was fine rest of hotel unuseableStaff did what they
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast mediocre poorly presented and 1st day ate in an unattractive room without windows and npisy fan 2nd day moved to better room

    Room very good and with sea view very well cleaned -staff tried tried their best

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Shadow of its former self.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet not clean on arrival, poor reception facilities, most of hotel unavailable because of renovations.

    Comfortable bed and decor in bathroom. Breakfast was good and view from room good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money but still work to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room was over the entrance canopy and onto the road and then the sea. The top of the canopy was like a building site and really needs tidying up. Its an old 1930's (?) building and although it wasn't overly noisy, the windows really could do with secondary glazing

    The hotel is going through a massive refurbishment but all the rooms and public areas on the first floor seem to have been completed and to a good standard. Breakfast was okay but the breakfast room lacked atmosphere with very bright decor and no background music

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a dump and a construction site. The staff weren't helpful at all and the hotel needed a good clean. I would think twice before considering his hotel.

    The pictures on the website looked ok, the reality wasn't.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice rooms but the rest of the hotel is being upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once all work has been completed it will be a very good hotel. The room was very modern.

    The location was great, the food was nice and simple but substantial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    I was there only for a few hours of sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was miserable. the breakfast was worse ( nothing at all beside order warm ) no cheese, so fish, just dry bread and a few boxes of cereals and some small jam plastic boxes.

    The shower was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that couldn't be put down to the extensive renovation works. We were absolutely fine. The location was perfect and the room comfortable. Considering it's a temporary restaurant, they supplied breakfast very efficiently.

    We stayed when the building was being renovated. We had no issues. Our room was newly done and to a good standard, apart from a few odds and ends that didn't affect our stay. The staff were very helpful and cheery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Room nice, hopefully when all refurbished will be a lot nicer place to stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More information, longer time for breakfast

    Upon arrival we were not given any information regarding breakfast which resulted on the Saturday morning missing breakfast. No hotel information or places to visit etc in the room. Bed comfy, no remote in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel refurbishment meant outside looked like a bomb site. Limited food & drink. Very basic breakfast in tired looking room.

    Bed very comfy room refurbishment not finished, no bedside furniture, no mirror. No carpet in passageway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    A bit of a shock when we arrived but improved by the time we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above, plus the one member of staff we saw looked to be working the whole hotel on his own. He was not friendly or welcoming and did not speak or understand much english. Also, much of the hotel is a building site.

    Property is being refurbished. We stayed in a refurbished room and it looked nice. One of the other refurbished rooms however had issues with radiator top coming off and scalding water pouring out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a piece of plastic from a disposable razor on the side of the bath and some paper by the side of the bed...both were still there when i checked out 2 days later

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely sea view room obviously refurbished but my bathroom needs attention (room 210).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have been made aware that there were a lot of renovations being done. I’m afraid that outside it looks like a building site and do feel that booking.com should make clear on THEIR website about ongoing renovations. Renovations to date are fine but it will take awhile before ground, first and dining area is complete. A few issues with refurbished bedroom which was discussed with reception. Breakfast very average and needs better quality ingredients.

    Sea view, comfy bed and bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and refurbished room with sea view was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel undergoing necessary refurb. However created terrible first impression. Great room though and be great when finished

    Convenient and refurbished room with sea view was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic time would recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noticed that they are refurbing a lot of the Hotel but this did not spoil our break. The Hotel will be even better when all completed Thanks again for a great time.

    Fantastic views and lots to do on doorstep also lots more a short walk away. Beaches, boating lake, pubs and restaurants all with in 10-15 min walk. Breakfast was great. Would not hesitate to rebook for another break. kind regards Gillian and William Robson

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: