Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Park Hotel 4 stars

Taw Vale, Barnstaple, EX32 9AE, United Kingdom

#7 of 16 hotels in Barnstaple

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    My visit was made so very enjoyable. "I shall return".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything !!

    It is modern, nice and light / bright. The staff are all great. I have stayed many times at one of your group hotels down the road. i.e. The Imperial. That was good, but The Park for me is just great. My visit was to enable me to meet my son who is stationed just up the road. We had a great meal and a few drinks !! Thank you all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable. Comfortable. Impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It isn't the cheapest Hotel, but once you get over the actual cost in real terms, it probably does offer value for money. It's just that you have to "shell that out" !!

    The Hotel was apparently re-furbished 2 years ago, but it doesn't look that long. Everything is spotlessly clean and in excellent condition. If we were going to Barnstaple again, we are more than likely going to stay there. And it's location is excellent. It is a 5 minute walk into Barnstaple town centre, with all of it's facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel. Wrong night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors need to be made soft/quiet shut. There was a wedding on the night I stayed and some wedding guests were continully going in and out of rooms to the early hours of the morning banging doors, kids running and people yelling up and down the corridor and knocking on wrong doors.

    The room was clean comfortable. Staff were very welcoming. The breakfast was nice. Plenty of parking and a great location with lovely view across to park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.3
    overpriced for a out of date part of room but very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were put in a run down part of the hotel. the bathroom was out of date. I wouldn't have paid that price knowing we were going to be put in that room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Disaster we only stayed one night and would not have done that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room ,stupid tiny wardrobe, not much room around bed, no where to put suit cases, only one easy chair in the room and could not see TV from it,big bath in bathroom leaving very little room to dry oneself,at broom door opened into bedroom and opened onto wardrobe door.Manager very arrogant and sarcastic, rest of staff ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room which was not in the main building but the Garden Court annex.The room was very small.Shower only no bath and there were no shelfs by the basin just the basin only.So good public facilities but poor accomdation.I expected more for £153 a night (this included breakfast).

    Staff attentive.Restaurant food good on the whole but we did have one dodgy meal -the Skate was not fresh and smelt of ammonia.The meals were comped but that’s probably not the point Bar area comfortable and bright.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    A little disappointed as a regular guest it would have been nice to have our usual benefits that mak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of the hotel we visit on a regular basis and normally have a room at the front looking over the park. The room was smaller than usual. We had just traveled for 6 and half hours and arrived at 1.15 we were told we could not check in until 2.30 it would have been nicer if we could have checked a little earlier just t freshen up after our long journey.

    The Hotel reception and bar is tastefully decorated The service in the bar was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel. Out of main area of Barnstaple but near enough to walk into Town easily.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was 30% more than I had paid before in Barnstaple but probably time of year? Top class hotel though.

    Upgraded to deluxe double which they were going to convert to a twin as requested, however the bed was so expansive we were more than satisfied ! Bathroom extensive, modern and airy. Toiletries more than adequate. Unable to take advantage of the Hotel facilities due to other commitments but bar area lovely and loads of comfortable seating indoor and out on decked area. Staff excellent very pleasant and welcoming. Will stay again but out of season. Bit expensive but needed room quickly. In my view superior to Barnstaple Hotel and Royal and Fortescue sister hotels.. Loads of car parking and nice flat short walk into Barnstaple. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant, good service we will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar man on the Thursday 23/8 shift refused to serve my sons an alcoholic drink even though they were 25 because they did not have their ID, he was very patronising

    The lady on reception was definitely an asset to the The Park Hotel she really understood our needs and made us feel welcomed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Avoid if you like quiet rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero sound insulation, slamming doors and noisy neighbours throughout the night. May as well have been sleeping in the corridor. Awful squishy pillows. Bad location for traffic getting in and out of town.

    Nice decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were located in the Garden Suite. The bedroom and bathroom were small. The bathroom in particular was tiny. It could have been improved if the large bath had been replaced with a shower enclosure. The shower fittings in the bath were particularly difficult, the water was either scalding or cold. I am of the opinion that these fittings should be replaced. At night this room was noisy with the door closures of other rooms being very evident, good fire precautions but not conducive of a good nights sleep .The hall in the Garden Suite has a step which is adjacent to the internal fire door this is dangerous and would be better if replaced by a small ramp. One night we heard a guest falling on this step. The basic problem with the Garden Suite is trying to convert a Victorian Room into a modern unit.

    Adequate parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our reservation was for the hotel but when we arrived we were directed to a room in the gardens centre which is a building located in the car park of the hotel. The room was clean and well appointed but quite small for 2 people with luggage to move around. The main difficulty was that the walls are obviously very thin as both of us had a very poor nights sleep due to being able to hear activity in the bedroom next door. The residents were not being overly noisy just going about their business - plugging in sockets, having a shower, flushing the toilet etc. but we could hear everything late into the night and had a poor nights sleep as a result. Not ideal and felt very tired next day.

    Staff very pleasant. Food and service in the bar was excellent. Hotel is within easy walking distance of the town and was easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location near town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small and mattress had a camber on it! Didn’t get a wink of sleep but management did resolve it well. Not good for £150 a night really.

    Good location near town Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Parking , location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WE were placed in an annex with no lift. The room was very small and cramped for 2 people . It was very hot with no aircon and we were unable to open the window by more than 3 inches. There was little pressure in the shower.

    Parking , location and cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was clean, comfortable and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a hotel charging £100+, at least breakfast should be included in that room rate, not an additional £10 per head.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable and modern. Also well located for the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Light, airy reception, rooms well maintained and clean. Bed was comfy too
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress did not advise that our main course would be delayed due to one element having been burnt and would need to be remade

    Manager quick to respond to delay in evening meal main course being served

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful boutique hotel with great customer service. It felt like a luxury break rather than a work trip. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had an enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, lacking a little soul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I initially thought it lacked friendliness. I arrived in running shorts and t-shirt after a day of travelling and visit to beach, and wonder if this didn’t fit with the hotel’s outlook. Went for run the following morning and received no acknowledgement or “Good Morning” from 3 reception staff on way out or back. Slightly better day 2. Just thought there’s more room for “heads up” rather than “heads down”. Those I directly engaged with, were pleasant.

    Very clean, business customer orientated hotel. All shared areas were well presented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Room quality doesn't match with main hotel + missing A/C and paltry restaurant plates
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given the last room left with an old / tarnished bathroom. The rest of the rooms have new/clean updated bathrooms. Because of this, we were granted access to another room to shower. This caused an inconvenient experience. Also, the rooms are supposed to have A/C. Ours did not. Because of this, the Hiring Manager placed a portable unit in our room, which didn't seem to work sufficiently. We were sweating all night long. The restaurant dishes are paltry. I ordered a fruit salad in the morning, which came with one watermelon slice, one orange slice, one pomegranate slice, two small strawberries and a small scoop of lemon sorbet?? I'm not a big eater, but I felt like this was insufficient at best.

    The hotel manager was entirely helpful and did as much as he could to assist

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisey. Sound transmission from hallway woke us up early as people were leaving other rooms early sunday morning. Ideally should have second door in bedroom. Two doors really makes a difference.

    comfy bed. air con, plenty of onsite parking.nice short walk to to town centre along side the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    all the young local staff were well trained very polite and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no faults.

    The bed was perfect .The bathroom not only had a large bath with overhead shower but a separate shower cubicle .the bathroom was the best I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at.We had dinner at the hotel the first night Brilliant food and service and good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Will try more Brend group Hotels in the future if the Park is anything to go by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did rain!

    Excellent decor, very good location as only short walk to town centre and park across the road with nice river frontage from park ,Good safe parking, What a breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable rooms- Barnstaple disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I had booked the rooms together and paid for them my travelling partner had to sign for his room. Also the extras were invoiced to his name even though I was paying. Antiquated.

    Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a great hotel with an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy wedding guests that locked themselves out in the early hours and hammered on the door. Not the hotels fault!

    The room was comfortable and great that it had a fridge as it was a very warm weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in room when we arrived, would have been good if they had put ac on before we got there.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel extremely clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location close to Barnstaple town centre.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was late as room was not ready. Feels very much a tourist hotel so lack of business facilities.

    Good location close to Barnstaple town centre. Looks and feels like the hotel has recently been refurbished with new carpet s and gleaming clean chrome everywhere. Free parking on site is a major bonus in North Devon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    This is the second time we have stayed and will be back and would recommend this hotel to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nuts and olives were brought to us while we having a drink we did not ask for them but was charged for them I know it was only a pound but liked to been ask as neither of us like olives.

    A lovely clean room also the staff were very polite and attentive food very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, pass on the breakfast though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a car crash! Tinned 'fresh' fruit, buffet poorly stocked, waited ages for tea, coffee & toast, cooked breakfast more 'Wimpy' than 4 star hotel, croissants and rolls never appeared, we just walked into a cafe in Barnstaple for breakfast on other mornings.

    Recently refurbished hotel with comfy, well equipped rooms & good sized bathrooms. We overlooked the park which was nice. Communal bar area had a great atmosphere & the staff most attentive - the bar manager was great mixing us some fab cocktails! Plenty of free parking on site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient location, very clean rooms a bit pricy for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast was unimaginative and not particularly good value. Recently stayed at an Ibis hotel on Glasgow where the continental breakfast had much more choice.

    The room was nice beds comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception on arrival was dreadful. Having been allocated an annex room and advised that we should have booked direct to get the best rates and rooms, we were charged an extra £55.00 for an upgrade.

    The Bar staff were excellent and did everything to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    One night in 4 star luxury, superb...!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...!

    Friendly, welcoming, large free car park, good location. Good menu, fantastic steak, fantastic full english breakfast. Nice room , fluffy towels. All the staff were just superb, nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive without being over bearing. Well done and thank you to The Park......!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    budget hotel with bling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it difficult to see why this hotel has a 4 star rating. Sure it has bar and restaurant but that is all. The room was small (only 9 ft wide). We paid £125 per night B+B which we considered poor value when the hotel experience is of a tarted-up old holiday inn express. It was frequented mainly by business men and did not provide the experience we sought.

    The staff and service was very good which made up for a lot. The food was excellent (we ate in the restaurant one night and the bar the next).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The garden rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely room, we were left alone and when we asked a member of staff for anything, they were very helpful and nice. Definitely coming back to stay.

    That we were put in the garden rooms and as we have a one year old son.That loves to crawl at any time of night, we had no one under us. So didn't have to worry about keeping people up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    We'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Everything was to an excellent standard from the quality of the bed linen and pillows to the food. Wet room was superb. Bed quality was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    High end service at Premier Inn cost.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor carpet - wow 😂😂

    Lovely clean hotel. Fine dining but the staff are what made staying here an absolute pleasure. From the moment I checked in to leaving they couldn’t have been more professional and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable even though it was very short this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hand basins in the room were out of use one had the plug missing the other had the plug stuck down making it unusable as you could not drain the water out. This was very disappointing as the standard of the rooms are very good. We stay on a regular basis

    Ideal location, the staff are always pleasant & friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Great breakfast though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although clearly booked as inclusive of breakfast, was given bill which charged for breakfast. When queried, was sorted but still should not have happened.

    Great breakfast though

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Well pleased overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a Senior person I would have preferred a lift to get to our room. The walk across the car park to get to the bar and Restaurant Was not good when it is raining. When I go again I shall ask for a room on the main building not the Garden Court.

    The food was very good and there was plenty to eat. The Bar was good and the guy behind it was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and friendly stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit odd that at reception there is a list of all the guest and the room numbers for anyone to see. We flagged it, but didn't really get a response as to why it was there. I found that a bit disconcerting.

    The service at the bar was lovely. Really friendly, helpful barman who made us feel very welcome after a long journey. The breakfast in the morning was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely return and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the boiler malfunctioned on my last morning so had to have a cold shower. Yes, these things happen and I am a hardy type but I felt the reception staff were inadequately advised on how to deal with this. Without this hiccup I would have had no complaints.

    Bed extremely comfortable and generous for a single. Bedding was cotton, pillows feather - all perfect! Generally, room was very well equipped as was bathroom - much appreciated as a single traveller as we often get sub-standard rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    I felt very relaxed and comftable as soon as I arrived and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn't like was that I couldn't smoke in my room.

    I felt very relaxed and comftable as soon as I arrived and I think the peaceful surroundings helped that

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to open the wardrobe doors as so close to the bedside cabinet, and could do with 2 comfy chairs in front of the window, with a table for drinks. Not a complaint, just an observation to make just that little better. :)

    Extremely comfortable beds, and the staff were fabulous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic business stay in a quiet and well-run hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I really disliked. Perhaps the music in the bar was a little bit loud, and constant TV sport i found a little boring, but overall it was fantastic and I have no significant complaints about anything.

    Helpful, attentive and friendly staff. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and facilities were very good. The food was good and bar was well-stocked. Easy to find, easy to park and a great place to stay on business.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Exceptional, nod so welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Everyone was so welcoming, we are so pleased our daughter is getting married at your hotel on the 30th of June. We are looking forward to our return

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    I would stay here again, but not in a single room, and I would bring earplugs!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was very small, nowhere to put toiletries, iPad, etc as there was no desk or table. I was very cold, couldn’t figure out the heating as there were no instructions. Also the tv was hit or miss, had to just keep pushing buttons on the remote until I got a picture with sound. A booklet in the room explaining the facilities would have been helpful. I was very surprised as this is the first time I’ve stayed at a hotel that doesn’t have that. It was quite noisy, I was woken up early both mornings by the maids outside my door. I think my room must have been right next to the housekeeping supply cupboard!

    The food in the restaurant was outstanding. All the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    The assortment of drinks available in my room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No faults.

    The assortment of drinks available in my room; friendly helpful staff who contributed to a nice atmosphere in general. Although I did not make use of the facility, it was good to know that the health equipment and pool etc; of the Imperial hotel a short walk away, were available to the residents of the Park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, very clean room with some nice extras...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer to have semi skimmed cartons in the room and not whole milk

    Very friendly staff, very clean room with some nice extras in the room. Good bar area and great location. If we are in the area again we loved to stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi is sporadic. Also i have used this hotel for years on a corporate rate, they have asked me to complete a form to qulaify for this, ive since used other hotels as a result. Additionally i can get the same rooms using booking dot com for the corporate rate price which is crazy

    works christmas party made it very busy with bar used as thoroughfare to dining, was a little busy when trying to have a quiet drink after work

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful since our little girl fell over and we ended up in A and E they couldn't do anymore to help. Rang and paid for Taxi and all staff informed which was Great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not unhappy with anything.sorry

    The restaurant was extremely good.the staff were friendly and polite.I would recommend the Park hotel to family and friends.we

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    I very much enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My boiled eggs were cooked to perfection . All staff were excellent. I especially liked the bar. The barman was welcoming. My son joined me for a drink and we ended up having three.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant surprise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor housekeeping issue but it was dealt with very well by reception

    Recently updated hotel - very smartly decorated with comfortable well laid out room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Highly Recommend!!!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Expensive breakfast 2. A little bit far from centre 3. Not much facilities in the hotel 4. A bit expensive (room)

    1. Big room and big toilet 2. Clean room 3. Big Tv with Sky 4. Free to use the Facilities in sister hotel!!!! 5. Good food in the bar 6. Very friendly and helpful staffs 7. Luggage storage service 8. Large double bed 9. Noce and quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent - cant wait to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were not sound proof enough....

    The room was clean and comfortable. the bed was fabulous, sky facilities and the shower was amazingly hot! Overall I loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Overall i liked and enjoyed my stay at the hotel however i would like the parking to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was small and when full it was hard to move the car around the tight space and when i wanted to park the car up for the night, there was not a single space available and a member of staff had to move their vehicle elsewhere to allow me to park.

    It was a very well presented and kept hotel in a good location with a comfortable room and good staff and it was very well priced for what it was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was nothing at all that I could fault.

    The hotel was excellent. The rooms were spotlessly clean and bright. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a real pleasure to stay at the hotel. There was plenty of parking, the restaurant food and service was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent and perfect for our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 303. A couple small issues, hairdryer handed into reception, dangerous condition with broken handle. Tap on washbasin very loose but understand difficult to repair without removal of basin, personally I would silicon it to remove risk of further damage.

    Location good for town centre. We stayed in the garden Room which we found excellent, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Would have been nice but for the noise coming from the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The raucous guests in the bar until 3.30am and shouting outside our bedroom on their way to bed. Two guests had asked some friends to come along for a nightcap which obviously the more they drank the louder they became. Finally got to sleep at 4.00am not a good night!!

    The hotel had been modernised and decor was very nice. The food in the restaurant was good value. The staff were also very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    It was the most relaxing weekend we had for a long time and not to far from town fantastic
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    The rooms the atmosphere the staff the food we no problems we had fantastic weekend we would definitely come again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Smart, modern, friendly, convenient and classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Park Hotel is in a nice, quiet location across the road from Rock Park and the River Taw. Walking into town only takes about 5 minutes along the banks of the River Taw - which brings you to the sweet local museum, packed with useful tourist information as well as exhibits on the history of the area. Park Hotel looks very smart and modern and my room, 312, was in the Garden Court block - which is across the car park from the main hotel. My room felt brand new: very smart, very well appointed and very comfortable. The main hotel block is similarly smart and modern. There is a big bar area that also serves food and a big restaurant on the other side of reception. Breakfast was served in the restaurant. There was a good buffet selection - including fresh fruit - and I had an excellent omelette from the menu. Overall I was very impressed by The Park Hotel: good location, plenty of parking, friendly, modern and great food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    fantastic short stay. lovely walk along the river, best bit location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to comment here. great stay

    great location for the town. What a bathroom huge wet room, water lovely and hot . great décor throughout the hotel. good atmosphere. would definitely return. over night stay very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay. Luxurious, warm, friendly, great discovery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu was a bit limited, but then they're primarily a b&b I think.

    Breakfast was fantastic - lots attention to fine detail in presentation that made it look outstanding as well as taste great. Staff team were very professional and fast. The room decor was on a whole new level, wife loved the furnishings. Once again, small touches that set it apart in presentation and comfort. Lovely view overlooking a park, great at sun up and down. Public areas once again look superb. It feels 4 star. Plenty of local restaurants for eating out. Good base for exploring Devon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Nice room, lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely spacious room with double aspect windows. Really clean but lacked character. The continental breakfast was great and had a big selection. The only reason we didn't choose a cooked breakfast is it was a bit pricey but we were very happy with what we had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was overall very stylish, clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft for my liking, but that of course is my preference. Loved the pillows and the sheets. The duvet was way too large for a single bed. The continental side of the breakfast was a little disappointing as there wasn’t any cold deli meats or cheese or any other toppings like cucumber or tomatoes for your toast. It’s the first time I’ve ever come across a continental breakfast table where these are not on offer.

    The hotel was overall very stylish, clean and comfortable. The gym facilities were good, although the equipment was a little out of date. They had a sauna though which was amazing (as a Finn it was heavenly for me)!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.0
    Looks great, but was sadly disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hot meal... the meat was tasteless, the veg was stone cold and the coleslaw was nothing but mayo. There were no staff in the restaurant to notify about this. They had the most uncomfortable bed in a pokey room, it was so soft and used I thought my spine would touch the ground. For £65 per night in off season and charging £29 for a meal... better can be found elsewhere. The decided not to charge me for the terrible main course, but after offering a dessert proceeded to charge for that!

    There was ample parking, it is a modern hotel with great WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it a little strange that when checking out, I wasn't asked if I'd enjoyed my stay or how I'd found it. They simply took my payment and said "thank you, bye!" - I'm probably nit picking but in every other hotel they ask "how was your stay" or something similar. Made me feel a little un-important to them. Also the wifi in my room was pretty much non-existent, kept cutting out and switching to 4G. I stayed in the separate building to the main hotel.

    The hotel itself was stunning, very modern, beautiful and impeccably clean. The staff were polite but not invasive. Parking was a breeze. I stayed in a separate building to the main hotel which I thought might not be as nice, but it was great and very quiet. Room was spotless and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excerlent modern Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of staff on hand all of the time. We stayed just one night but as we could not fault this Hotel we would book again if in Barnstaple. Took not of the other Hotels owned by this family group so we have details of when to book into if in the area of the other hotels. All in all an excellent overnight stay for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Very quiet and ca
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chance to have bar snacks all day would be a nice option

    The room was great and so was the bathroom.Very good restaurant ,with the best kippers I have tasted for a while!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again however...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would stay again however, the photos did not reflect the room we were given (we had small double overlooking car park) which was a shame because we did pay a lot with it being last minute, but we're happy to pay if we were having a room as luxurious as was being advertised. After our stay we searched all the room types being advertised on booking.com at the Park Hotel and all that is being advertised are refurbished rooms yet we had a non-refurbished room! Such a shame! Whilst the bedroom was fine (although bed seemed small) the bathroom did not have the modern refurbishment we were expecting, so no walk in shower or double sinks, an older bath with shower over plus curtain and older tiled bathroom however it was spotlessly clean so no complaints, just disappointment that we didn't get a refurbished room as was advertised. Again, for the price of the room I would have expected a shower head that didn't squirt in multiple directions or to run out of toilet paper on the first day of our stay. A few little touches like this were missing which I felt should be standard in a 4 star hotel including the soap marks not getting cleaned off the top of the sink. Bedding wasn't changed daily either, or at least was not in our room even after a visible mark was present on the corner of the duvet, the bed was simply re-made.

    Location. Free car parking. Free wifi. Customer service. Modern atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very attentive, room was very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very attentive, room was very comfortable and when I accidentally left my sons hooded top in the restaurant at breakfast on the last morning, the hotel contacted me to say they would send it to me in the post...which that did. Excellent service 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC is very anoying it swiches off and it will not come on again i need to get up from my bed and put it on again evrey 1 hr i told them about the problem they told my thats how this ac workes thats my only thing i didnt like

    The staff are very helpfull the price of food is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service on both occasions were of a low standard. Management were made aware on the first occasion but the problem was not rectified on the second sitting. No replenishments of breakfast cereals/pastries/juices/plates/glasses, slow delivery and lack of organisation meant we received breakfast late with no apology. We were offered a discount upon checking out, this does not justify bad service. Due to this, would not plan on staying again.

    Efficient and quick early check-in, room was clean, modern, air conditioned and supplied with basic toiletries/tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    It's conveniently placed, has good parking, is veryclean, has good facilities & a friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were so many cushions on the bed it was difficult to know where to put them all when I went to bed. It looked good but was unnecessary. I wasn't keen having to go across the car park for breakfast especially when it was raining as I was in a separate building.

    Room was very comfortable - everything was very clean. Staff were polite and helpful. I was served quickly and the bacon served with the breakfast was the best cooked I had tasted anywhere. Parking was good & easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I mentioned before I did not like the shower over the bath as I have difficulty getting in and out of a bath. I wish I had been aware of this before I booked. But there are plenty of grab rails so I felt safe getting in and out of the bath. As with most hotels there is always a gap under the door which lets in too much light, so I put a towel along the length of the door to make it darker.

    I liked the overall look of the hotel and the room I stayed in was across the courtyard away from the main building, which was fine. Everything was easy to access, the staff were friendly. I did not use the restaurant or eating facilities, I preferred to go into the town to eat with the locals. I loved the situation of the hotel alongside the river making a pleasant walk back from town. It is within walking distance of the railway station and bus station. There was a good supply of coffee/tea in the room and some lovely biscuits. The bed was comfy. The only thing I found difficult was having the shower over the bath. I have problems getting in and out of a bath and therefore would have preferred a separate shower but when I asked about that they are only available in the more deluxe suites. I wish I had been made aware of that when I did the booking. It was nice having the tv for the evenings when I stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice pristine place. I liked the look of it.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not a children's menu. The breakfast cost just as much for my child as it would have for me.

    The staff were ever so helpful and friendly. They get an A++

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: