Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pegwell Bay Hotel 3 stars

81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate, CT11 0NJ, United Kingdom

#8 of 12 hotels in Ramsgate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on Pegwell Bay. Great view. Awesome restaurant right across the street, The Stanley Gray, right on the water. Awesome food & great service at the hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could find nothing to report badly about.

    Check-in was quick. The room was perfect and very clean. A lovely hotel and the décor is lovely. The breakfast choice was good and plenty .Excellent views from the adjoining pub across the bay towards Sandwich. The staff in the hotel and pub were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm. Radiators on in summer. We left window open (3rd floor) and closed blind as sun heated up the room during the day but housekeeping came in and shut window and opened blind so the room was baking when we got back. Some features were a little tired- a fresh coat of paint would be good. The room was a little dusty in places eg skirting boards and toilet roll holder, and there was some mould in the shower. We had booked to stay for a friend’s wedding but didn’t use their booking code as it wasn’t yet available when we booked. It meant we missed out on a 10% discount and free breakfasts. The staff were unable to add the discount in retrospect.

    Very friendly staff, and great views. The bed was very comfy and there were extra pillow available. Free bottled water in the room as well as the complimentary tea and coffee was a nice touch. The place was quiet and relaxing. The adjoining pub and restaurant were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was quite small for the price. It was advertised as a room with a bay view but mainly it was the view of the roof opposite. Although there is a lift, the hotel is not best suited for people with disability.

    It was warm and comfortable. The heating was on / it is unusual in hotels in the UK in May. The breakfast room was warm. The terrace out of the wind. Comfortable bed. Great meals. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the restaurant attached to the hotel are young and not customer centric. I made a small complaint about the quality of a meal and was challenged that I should not have said yes when asked if everything was okay, as I said to the young lady that would be hard to challenge when I had only had one mouthful of food. Two of the staff spent the whole evening chatting whilst another was rushing around trying to keep customers happy.

    The room was beautiful and extremely clean. It is a 25 minute walk into Ramsgate which is enjoyable when the weather is good. The hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast is served on a balcony overlooking the bay should you wish to sit there and the choice is substantial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything we would look for in a hotel of this quality and price were provided.

    The bar meals were well presented and tasty. We had the breakfast on the day we left in the bar, which was very good. Rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. Our room looked onto the car park of the adjacent business, but was not noisy. Housekeeping staff were very good and the rooms serviced every day. The reception staff were very friendly, on the first evening (Tuesday) she was extremely informative and couldn't do enough for us, even checking the local weather for the next day. Unfortunately the reception staff were not local, so couldn't tell us about the local buses and Ramsgate detail. But they tried to find the information we needed. Housekeeping staff were local and very knowledgeable of the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both our rooms were very hot even with the radiators turned off, and being on the ground floor, we couldn't leave the window open. The hotel is quite a way out which was fine for us because we were visiting family who live locally, but not a good choice if you want to be more central. Breakfast could be included in the price or at least a discounted price for guests?

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Had requested 2 ground floor rooms next to each other and that was exactly what we got, which was appreciated! Room was comfortable and everything worked as it should. Views across the bay from the road and restaurant opposite are great, especially when the sun decides to shine!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff very friendly. They accommodated a late check-out at the last minute when I took ill. It was a very nice 25 minute walk along the coast to the town centre and harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water from tap tasted big pants 😣 need to sort that one out

    The room although small was very cosey and comfy to be in. The views were lovely and breakfast wasn't bad either.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This was our second visit to this characterful hotel with excellent sea views. As before the staff were friendly and helpful; the room was a good size and comfortable, we slept very well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a little facelift and some updates. An amazing building with nice features. Some of the rooms could use some paint and refreshing.

    Location and views were great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was old and dated took me a while to work out why I had two remotes also it was positioned high up the wall was weird to watch the tv practically on the ceiling and was two small for the room

    The decoration was nice and the bath room was clean and with nice fittings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was autumn when we stayed there i did note there was no air conditioning,so during the summer months i would have to think twice about staying there.

    The staff were very polite and attentive.The food in the restaurant was delicious and good value for money.The room we were allocated had a wonderful view of the bay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were highly recommended by friends.The room was so small, double bed too small and we're not at all large !! No bar in the hotel, breakfast at an extra cost when we paid quite a lot for 2 nights.

    That it was located on the beach front .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was very high up made watching a tad awkward and the position of the chest of drawers made navigating around the beds difficult at times.

    Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious. Very well kept by the staff and enough spare pillows when needed. Easy to transit to and from the pub next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise generated by residents returning from work at about 1.30am on both Monday and Tuesday-although Tuesday was a little less noisier it disturbed both nights sleep and caused to leave on Wednesday which we had paid for and will be seeking a refund from Thorley Taverns Ltd

    Pleasant ness of hotel and pub across the road

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft. Room was too hot cldnt sleep, rooms are abit dated need upgrading. TV reception didnt work.

    Lovely location, room was clean. Pub over the road has nice terrace overlooking pegwell bay and serves good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fabulous, right on the coast, with two great pubs next door (one by a tunnel under the road from the hotel if it was raining) and a great coastal path from the door. Staff were really pleasant and helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. We had breakfast at the adjoining pub on the terrace overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the car park there was someone who seemed to be sleeping in their car (Duvet/pillows etc) who i had to park next to. I assume he was there for the wedding as the hotel was full but not nice to park next to, It made my wife feel a little uneasy.

    The food and the view in the dining area across the road were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At over 100£ per night we would have expected breakfast 🍳 to be included. 👍

    20 min walk to town ,and cab back . Brill views over the bay. Pubs across the street are ok for a night cap , good jukebox and lovely views out to the channel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to find something it would be the squeaky door handle to the bathroom!

    Brilliant breakfast and lovely staff super room with excellent views and quiet as asked for

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside the room window, wedding guests shouting and talking outside between midnight and 2.30am, then being woken at 6.45 with smokers outside the window then used smoke drifting into the rooms open window, being a non smoker this was extremely offense to me. Management should make sure paying hotel guests are not disturbed by non paying persons and should reposition the position for smokers away from room windows

    The room, the staff and the food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room and shower room was far too small, nowhere to sit apart from the bed and no room to turn round or dress in shower room. There was not much choice in the bar menu

    Clean and comfortable, and nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room sizes are very small and not much you can do about that but having paid £100 per night not including breakfast was disappointed Especially as couple we travelled with had got bed and breakfast direct with the hotel MUCH cheaper.

    Full English breakfast was good and staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm ?poor ventilation. Not the hotel's fault but had very noisy neighbours!

    Location of hotel, stunning sea view opposite entrance to hotel. Comfortable room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating and we couldn't fault anything. We were not able to eat in the restaurant but by all accounts the food is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only wish was that the bar in the hotel would stock more variety - maybe a Baileys nightcap. Next time I will bring my own.

    Very easy to book in. Lovely comfy room. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was on to the car park but not really a problem excellent stay

    The staff were friendly and most helpful. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Excellent place and location loved it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lift not working had to carry suitcase up two flights of stairs being 74 with respiratory problems even without case the walk up was distressing

    staff kept room clean and tidy reception were friendly and helped with Wi-Fi connection

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath room could have been bigger but not much of a problem. Stayed saturday night it was warm, so windows left open, quite a lot of noise from local pubs when closing not a problem for me but would be for others.

    Breakfast was very good loved the tiles in the corridoor.Bed comfortable .Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated right by the estuary, providing an exceptional view from outside the property. The beds are comfy and the facilities in the room were good. The price per night is pretty good for the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging £30.00 for early check in at 1.pm instead of 2.pm was a bit steep. Knowing we was with the wedding party and the wedding was at 2.30. Breakfast over the road the next morning. My friend was not told that it was a set price for breakfast at the start and charging £7,50 for a piece of toast and cup of tea was diabolical.

    stayed there for a friends wedding. Great hotel. Rooms were great. comfy beds. lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was nice we felt alittle more cold variety would have made it perfect.

    We enjoyed the extra little details that was provided in the room, biscuits, topping up the tea and coffees. The rooms were kept spotless, all the staff were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not be better.

    The setting was lovely tucked out of the way but full facilities in and around.wonderful views from the room.quirky tunnel from hotel to bar and resturant. Lovely breakfast room with views over the bay.breakfast was good pastrys cerial yoghurts selection of juices then full English or other choices off of menu.the staff were lovely .could not do enough for you.across the road was not just 1 pub/resturant but 2. Lovely cliff walks into pegwell bay or into Ramsgate.just a perfect break away.would stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a dislike - the bed could have been a little longer. I am 5'8" and I found it a little short. It also would have been nice if there was some room service facilities available. Like i said not really a dislike. We had returned from an event in Margate (quite late) and all the food places had very long queues. Unfortunately for us the nearest food place by the hotel was quite a walk away. We will no for next time to bring some with us :-)

    From the moment that we arrived the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very spacious with tea making facilities, biscuits and water at no extra cost. There was lots of storage and if you are holidaying for a few days then there is plenty of room to store your items. The bathroom was very nice with a powerful shower and we were given lots of towels. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast - there was an excellent choice of cereals, pastries, juices (local farm) and yogurts. My husband found the yogurts really delicious. The cooked breakfast was very nice also as well as a very generous portion size. Parking facilities at the hotel are very good and there is a lovely pub attached to the hotel that had a lovely roof terrace overlooking the sea. Will most definitely return

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't stay. I went to cancel on Thursday but it was too late to get a refund. I knew the hotel could easily resell the room so I thought why should l let them charge twice for the same room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a really hot day and the windows couldn't be opened, although there was a fan.

    Bed was comfortable. Shower lovely and hot. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small and the duvets were more winter-weight, though at the end of May in England that isn't unreasonable.

    We made good use of the fan which was provided in the room - a very humid night and difficult to sleep so fan was essential. We ate breakfast outside (surprisingly on our own) overlooking the bay and that was a real five star experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a 25-mins walk to the town centre and harbour, which can be a bit of a problem when you have tired legs. But it's not a big deal as it's a pretty pleasant walk and a cab charges only around £3.50 to the train station.

    The staff member who welcomed us very friendly and helpful. View from our room was great and the room was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money, £100 a night is too much for what they offer this doesn't include any food, the room was old fashioned which we didn't mind but could do with a good pain job, the cleaner did Miss cleaning our room even though we left the sign out for them to do it, and people on the same floor to us was smoking weed and fags and they did nothing until we brought it up. They knew it was going on and the person we told didn't really care

    The sea view & wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    USB port not working but staffer found an adaptor plug. TV was complicated but staff helped. TV stopped working again but eventually came on.

    Staffers were good and willing to help. Shower was one of the best I've had. Good strong flow.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had breakfast at the Sir Stanley Grey which is part of the hotel positioned across the road. Had to wait around 45 minutes for breakfast - which is far too long. When I asked, I was told that there was only one person doing breakfast - this was not explained voluntarily. Having said that, the food was very good when it arrived. Lovely outside area with great view.

    Very pleasant, cosy feeling hotel. Standard room was a reasonable size. Very clean room and bathroom. Good choice of tea/coffee and drinking chocolate in room - and biscuits! Complimentary water (no fridge). Very attractive building. Nicely positioned on Pegwell Bay in a quiet location. Good onsite parking. Very near coastal footpath.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very slow, compared to other visits, had to reorder teas and coffees as they got cold. We needed to get away early and we were running at least an hour late which changed our whole days plans

    Not our first visit, always recommend other members of our family to stay here when visiting the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet flush not working properly

    All fine modern and clean particularly thought the tea/coffee making facilities very good and a considerate touch

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice large room and very quiet. Excellent bathroom. Meals were served in an associated pub across the road, very nice terrace on the top of the cliff so great views. Dinner was very good and reasonably priced. Same for breakfast. Very convenient for the centre of Ramsgate, and only a couple of miles from Broadstairs. A number of official walking trails along the cliffs and seaboard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large dip from road to car park means low slung sports cars have to be careful!

    Great location, with views over the Bay. Friendly people in hotel and pub over the road (same ownership), rooms slightly small but bathroom big, perfectly good for a few days and slightly quirky

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were over looking a pub car park a bit of noise late at night from our room

    The view over pegwell bay location was good for ramsgate and close to a cliff top walk. The room was good size

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bath in the bathroom would be appreciated for a superior room. Also two chairs to sit in rather than one.

    We arrived to discover a 50th party was due to take place on site the same evening. We wanted a quiet stay! But the receptionist assured us it wouldn't disturb us and she was right. She showed us a couple of alternative rooms including one which was an upgrade for a small additional amount which we went for. It was lovely. We were not disturbed once and there was a nice view over the bay. So thumbs up for the excellent staff approach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for a basic offering - £90 a night .. without breakfast! £2.10 for a packet of crisps and a Twix?!

    It's a good location for my work trips

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car was damaged by another guest, the camera's in the carpark only cover a small area, which our car was not in, turned out to be a very expensive weekend because of that.

    The tunnel under the hotel to the pub over the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had been in contact via e-mail and was very happy with all the response from Katie. on my arrival I was checked in by Sarah, she was so so nice, helpful and caring , she really impressed me . this was amazing customer service . I had a very early start the next day my wake up call and taxi were arranged by Sarah. she was also to able to print a document for me giving me peace of mind for the next day 's flight .The gentleman who called at 4.45am was very nice and my taxi was there at5.00am so thank you to all and I made it back to USA .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a Seaview room got a partial Seaview room. They had Seaview rooms but said a bay view room. Was the same . It isn't. Disappointed. Advert was misleading.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was home from home, cosy, lovely view. Although it is an older property it just felt right as soon as we got there. Lovely and warm, especially after a brisk walk along the coastline in December! The staff welcomed us like we had been there many times before. 20 min walk into Ramsgate and back to your comfy room and some nourishment! New sea -view restaurant belonging to the hotel...seconds away under a carpeted tunnel from the hotel itself - straight into the restaurant. Very quirky! It looked so inviting to sit and have breakfast on the terrace but being Christmas Eve, it was a little windy!! Should imagine it is just the job in warmer months. Many thanks to all the staff who made our stay so welcoming. regards Chris and Paul Bexleyheath.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on first floor, sound proofing poor could hear staff below chatting clearly about a freezer defrosting. Noise a problem overall will take earplugs next time 😊

    Very welcoming helpful friendly reception staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we only booked for one night !

    The hotel is in a fairly remote position which we liked. That said, it was only a short run up the coast to get to Ramsgate and Broadstairs. The building had plenty of character and smacked of history. The interior was modern, fresh and bright. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great size room - fantastic bathroom. Totally made up with my view at breakfast. Pic attached They own the pub across the road food was pub fayre and good quality. Walked to Margate post breakfast. Good trip

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price, according to staff this was due to booking through Booking.com so this increased our bill by some £45 which made the stay that much more expensive, so not as happy as we would have been

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately this hotel only serves breakfast so you have to go across the small road to the Sir Stanley Gray Tavern (which is owned by the hotel) for other meals. Don't eat there. It's awful food. Go to the Belle View next door.

    Everything at the Pegwell Hotel was lovely. It is a stunnig building from the outside and is tastefully decorated inside. The breakfast room is amazing and looks over the Bay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridor door locking system, it was very hot in the rooms, the shower leaked out onto the floor, room 209 I forgot to tell reception.

    The location and layout

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with more space in the bathroom to store sponge bags etc. But probably not possible, given the size of the bathroom!

    Extremely friendly staff. Fabulous view from the window overlooking the bay - a particularly glorious sunset was a highlight. Out of season so unlikely to be noisy, but it seemed to be a pleasant and quiet part of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room became verry hot when the heating came on and at times it was difficult to sleep comfortably. We had to use the fan heater to cool down the room.

    We liked the location of the hotel. The sea view was nice . The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was healthy and hearty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a room overlooking the car park.

    Everything was very clean, from the towels , bed linen to the room. Right on the sea near two pubs/restaurants. The bathroom shower really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view was side on if you stood sideways to the windows, bit disappointing and the size of our twin room was on the small side, we had to stand back to pass each other.

    Very well appointed rooms and excellent service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was super comfy and away from roads so really quiet nights sleep, staff were really fun and friendly and helped with all our questions. Would definitely recommend! View was amazing too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    advertised bay view was in fact a side view the evening meal in a pub over the road also all the decent positioned tables had been booked went elsewhere!

    friendly staff helpfull

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coach drivers sitting with engines running in morning, being able to hear people in toilet of room next to you

    views, pub attached to the hotel just across the road

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly better/quicker restaurent service 1 cooked breakfast cold Bacon over cooked for my taste Smoking on the restaurant balcony

    Comfortable beds. Good sized room Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the bay Friendly staff Good food Room and linen clean Eco friendly and no smoking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night I was there a party was going on and there was very loud noise until 1.30 am . I complained in the morning and the receptionist was very apologetic and said she would tell the management and they would come back to me. The reason. I was annoyed was there was a porter on duty and I cannot understand why he did not do anything about the noise . i did not hear from the management so I sent a letter and still have not heard so am very disappointed that they did not take any notice of my complaint . I can honestly say I am not in the habit of complaining . Such a shame because the staff were lovely,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I particularly like the location and design of the hotel. 2 great pubs opposite with great views across Pegwell Bay. Took my binoculars the second night to watch the birds. Great walk opposite the hotel with great views looking across the bay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were welcoming. Balcony terrace in restaurant across the road was lovely and allowed us to have breakfast and dinner outside. Good location for Ramsgate, Margate, Broadstairs, Minnis Bay etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't park under the trees in the car park unless you have a bucket and a sponge to hand!!

    Happy and helpful staff, lovely sea view, delicious and fresh breakfast, quieter area on the outskirts of town, rooms comfy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot. The window only opened about 4 inches. There was a fan but that only blows hot air around Mattress on bed was uncomfortable, pillows were flat and hard. We were in room 102 and people stand outside talking and smoking. No breakfast included in rate.

    Room was too hot. The window only opened about 4 inches. There was a fan but that only blows hot air around

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have done with air conditioning, as it was the hottest week of the year. The fan in room did help, but was difficult to sleep due to heat.

    Everything at the hotel was of a high standard, from staff to food. Staff especially helpful, with giving tips of where to visit etc

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was fine, clean and had all the normal extras but it was small and a bit dated. It felt like you were sleeping in a friends guest room. The bed was quite small, a small double(I happened to have a tape measure so measured it). I think it was pricey for what is was and have stayed in far better places for less however was clean and comfortable and it suited our needs and would probably stay again should the need arise

    Hotel was clean, guy on reception was very helpful. We checked in late and left very early so didn't use any facilities, just went to and from our bedroom. The bathroom was large with plenty of room. Was told about the pub across the road in case we wanted to eat

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Think staff should advise guests to book a table at pub over the road if wanting to eat there, as there is nowhere else to go in the area. On the last night there we could not get a meal.

    Quiet, good parking, breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: